(2008/09) Sep 2008

kns.. I am on tbf and my menses came back to haunt me today! And I totally detest having menses cos I will keep goin to the toilet for big biz..

I did a bit of googling and it seems that if baby latches on lesser (esp at night), menses will return sooner. And recently Reyes has been sleeping for abt 5-6 hr stretches at night. And he's not even slping thru the night yet lor!

And one of the "signs" is milk supply will decrease. I haven been pumping cos I'm fully latching on. So yesterday I had to go out for a short while and have to leave Reyes at home with hb. I had to pump milk out for hb to feed. I was super shocked when I realise I only had 80ml!! Cos I can usually manage abt 200ml even immd after feeding. And I was so worried that it was something that I'd eaten that had decreased the milk supply.

http://www.breastfeed-essentials.com/menstruation.html

XMAS SHOW FOR KIDS

isabelle/lilboymum/alabone/lok

opps must have missed the posting for this. are u mummies having another gathering? with both FB and SB? keep me posted i may be brave ennough to try even though HB not back yet

momoko, i knoe how u feel cos ur situation is like my family's, except that we all gather at my bro's place and now its dropped to once/twice per wk..
As my mum's immunity is quite low (she gets the flu and cough very easily), my bro has resorted to forcing her to see the doc everytime he hears a cough or sniffling of the nose from her! haha.. too many little ones at home to risk it!

hmmm.. signing is something new. I tot it was spelling error for "singing".. oopsie!

ya boy.. flashcards, cloth books and now signing.. gotta go read up on it liao..

sharing time later at springz house ok?? heee..

<font color="ff0000">Xmas Gathering:

Mommies who have transferred funds to me - thanks!
Will email you gals the map with the driving/public transport directions in abit.

Mommies who have not done the fund transfer, pls do so ya! Thank you! Meanwhile, remember to look out for that small item for the gift exchange!</font>

<font color="119911">Today's gathering – hope you mommies had fun!!

Flos (flos) – yah, I have to do some reading up on semi-solids and when it is okie to start. A good source of info that I refer to is BabyCentre.

Jeraldin (hppymom) – toy rental – think it makes more sense, though cost wise, its not any cheaper (rental for about 2-3 months = cost of the toy itself). The only plus point is that we don’t get saddled with bulky stuff when baby outgrows them or lose interest, and no space in the storeroom. However, if there are many cousins in the family, I rather just buy a new set then pass them on.

Springz (springz)- medela parts – the Mum &amp; babes store at AMK Hub carries a full range of Medela parts.

storeberry (storeberry) – blog link on baby food – share share! I cant imagine how much more troublesome it is when we have to think about baby food. At least right now, there is no option or variety – either BM or FM.

Autum (autum) – noted your point on not mixing milk with cereal. Hubby asked cos that is what one of his friend is doing to make baby sleep thru the night.

SarahMay (sarahmay)- Kieran can hold his head whilst on the Bumbo already, but if not, then maybe u can put the bumbo against the wall, and have a pillow between the chair and the wall for head support?
Yes, Kieran is on TBF, but he has started waking up 1-2X again for night feeds! That’s why I was wondering if he is going thru another growth spurt or just wanting milk for comfort.

LC (faintz) – I used to read to Kieran with him propped against me (his back on my chest) when he was abit younger, but now that he can more or less sit, I just put him on the bed with a pillow behind his back and read with the book facing him.

KymKym T (pebblez) – Letlet is so cute! Think Kieran wants to book both Letlet and Jas's Rachael.

crayonshinchan - wow, quite surprising for the menses to come back so soon since you are on TBF. I have also been worried that my milk supply is insufficient for my greedy boy so I really hope I don’t get my menses anytime soon. I am still latching on about 6-7 times a day but he is on EBM at night. Decided to continue BFing for as long as I have milk, and hopefully for 6 months.</font>

Think something is wrong with the thread. I could not log on using the PC. I've to used history on a mac to log in.

Springz - Thank you for hosting us. Your home is beautiful. We all had fun.

<font color="0077aa">Yesss... springz house is beautiful!! Love the magnetic wall! I had fun talking to all the mummies! Wish I can stay longer to chat!

Me took bb to Charles &amp; Keith warehouse sale last evening at 6 pm. Still a long queue, but I managed to buy 3 pair of mules. They are NOT cheap at all. $20 per pair of flipflops. Don't really like what I bought but well, since we were there, just yisi yisi grab a few pairs.

I'm also curious about signing. And who is this Eric Carle fella?

Isabelle: I've read Philip Larkin, and believe his works are stashed somewhere in my junkyard. I've Dylan Thomas, Sylvia Platha dn Ted Hughes too. Somewhere out there. Honestly, I won't read adult poety to babies, cos the underlying messages are often too dark, too political, too religious, too complicated (sexual disorientation in some cases), too sombre...Most poets and authors hv warped sensibilities most of the time! Read Grimms Fairy Tales or CS Lewis also better lah...

I am happy with abab pattern, the 'Enid Blyton-ish' world of reality, if u will
Very interested in the link that cloud posted above. Are they available in NLB? U saw Eric Carle only at PageOne? How abt Dr Seuss, Leo Lionni, et al.?

autum/isabelle: how diff is the handheld Braun blender from the normal type?

Gunibabe: but those babycubes will come in handy cos his grannies can cook them lockstock&amp;barrel on a weekly basis and store them in the freezer, or if u doubt the freshness, chill them for a week or so. So siong to blend everyday and mix into guniboy's porridge. In the long-term, gerbers and heinz are going to be costly rite?

X'Mas shows for kids. I just saw the programme for this year and wonder if it's impractical to take Isaac to the shows? WIll he be sleeping thruout? Or worse, wail thruout?

Springz
Tks for opening up yr beautiful home!!! It's so spacious and comfy...can we do more gatherings at yr hse?? :p

CY..tks for the flashcard demo!!! I'm going for the preview later at Little Neuro Tree, shall update when i am back!!

I also uploaded the pics in FB liao so chk it out!!

Hi Breadmum and Storeberry - Tks for your compliments! Just alot of cupboards to stash away clutter la
Breadmum! Should have chatted with you more about baking, totally forgot that you are the guru! Storeberry you must be proud that Zane was hot! Grabbed by the pretty Janelle lei!

I enjoyed myself too - still in admiration of Alabone, Lok &amp; Lilboymum handling todds plus babies..

And thanks Lilboymum for the demon &amp; tips on Flashcards plus sharing video of little CY distinguishing pancreas from gall bladder!! Amazing lor.. haha also thank you for bringing your hubby.. think my hubby enjoyed chatting with him

I like CS Lewis too! Yup adult poetry are too political etc.. But thanks to my Lit background, I am not particularly keen on certain nursery rhymes too! Humpty Dumpty, Jack &amp; Jill &amp; Rock A Bye Baby are pretty morbid.. all had something broken, either heads or body that can't be put together! Then there is My Little Bonnie.. I'm crazy here but 'lying over the ocean and bring back my bonnie'? The image conjured is not someone out at sea but er a floating er... (ok I'm the morbid one) Actually most of these nursery rhymes were made with hidden political agenda to mock the sys then.. Rock A Bye Baby for e.g was abt change of monarchy.. I've the same reservations abt Walt Disney where pretty princesses live happily ever after with prince charmings.. Having said all this, I'm like heck la, don't think Shauna will be able to pick up the nuances! But if I can, I try to keep to silly rhymes like Pat a Cake, To Market etc which appear harmless haha

Saw the pics on facebook. U mummies had so much fun!!!

springz
same here. I just can't stand rock a bye baby! I told hubby and my mum not to sing that to #1. Actually strangely when #1 was a baby, she wld cry each time my mum tried to sing that to her. Ok, so my mum was out of tune too....
And bonnie gives me the creeps!(U r not morbid at all!)
And I like C.S Lewis too, but i've only read limited books of his. I'm not a "litty" person and i dun read much... :p
#1 is into princess stories now, but the other day i was just thinking i dun wan her to grow romanticising abt handsome princes! Am i worrying too much? I guess so. Haha

flos
woah, i wasn't thinking of reading adult poetry to the babies! Nope, not at all! But then again, I heard that the original Grimms "fairy tales" were rather dark. Is that true?
Hey, enid blyton was and still is one of my fav authors (ok, childish me, but i grew up on her books! heehee) Hmmm, i guess regression is one of my fav defence mechanisms!

I only know page one cos when i brought #1 to watch very hungry caterpillar, they were selling eric carle's stuff. So i dunno what else they sell...

okie, #1's naptime!

What's wrong with this forum??!!!

Flos
YOU ARENT going to read sylvia plath and ted HUghes to you bouy?!?!?!!but actually hor..i do like his 'crow'

rhymey-ness of seuss..
Was thinking about it..it may not be nice for todds, but wont it be nice for bbs to listen to words rhyming?hmm..havent tried it on CH though...

isabelle
i dun mind pooh bear....it's a bear and i think CY will like it...

what german french??of course he doesnt understand..if only he could, i can retire liaoz..

wah, kuishinbo..the 2006 sahm are all talking about having a mummies gathering sans todds there!!!

nono..i dun teach lit. i taught boring ol' GP

humpty dumpty
isnt it actually about the king and queen of france (?) or was it marie antoinette ?? who had their heads rolling that inspired this nursery rhyme?and ring a ring o roses..wasnt it about the pandemic somewhere during the dark ages...'atishoo atishoo, we all fall down' (die)...

sunrays
hey, keep us updated on LNT..wanna see if i can bring both my kids there!

Wow, need to learn loads of things from u mummies...baby signing, flash cards, etc. I actually bot flash cards and nursery book but 2 lazy to do it consistently. Also, my boy seems uninterested in flash cards leh...

SarahMay,
My boy was born on 13 Sept. Tot urs on 17th ?

springz,
Thanx for hosting us!
Your home is really spacious and neat. Remember to baby-proof your kitchen when Shauna is able to crawl. I think Joshua enjoyed it very much too --- still telling me today "there are so many babies". Jonas also had fun, was tired out and slept thru (for the 1st time) last night (9pm till 6am)! Let us know how much is the bill ok?

Mummies, u all read so much into rhymes huh? I just read them to expose J to words. Maybe this is really ignorance is bliss

<font color="0077aa">Isabelle: I also grow up with enid blyton books! Love it!

Sunrays: Yah, let us know more about the preview you are going!

Rock a bye baby is creepy! I didn't relly realised the lyrics until I played the children songs CD &amp; when I heard carefully,its about baby dropping from his cradle!

Aiyoo... I am seeing the kaisuri-sm in me liao!</font>

yipee. the forum is up and running again.

Springz - anytime we can talk about baking. When i am near your home the next time, i'll definitely call u. Since the famous Tanjong Rhu pau and the wan tan noodle place is just a block from u and the uncle with gout makes great coffee.

ya- do tell how much we need to pay you.

Lok - Joshua is a fun kid, we all enjoyed him as well.
My hubby says your hubby and you look familiar. By any chance you go to OLPS for mass?

Aiyo, I left early and missed out on the sharing session!

Springz, thanks for hosting and I really love ur kitchen! Makes me feel like whipping up a storm everyday.. I couldnt help but kept gushing abt it to my hb and he just ROLLED his eyes and went "yah yah yah".. haa...

Was nice meeting some of the new mummies ;-)

Breadmum, I'm also learning to bake. But so far, the cakes were either too wet/ too dry/ too sweet. BAH! Its tough..

Seeing all the toddlers tat day, I really cant wait for Reyes to grow quickly so that I can communicate with him. Joshua, CY, Nat and Jared are sooo cute.

Limay,
I'm puzzled too! I'm on tbf and almost 100% latching. Wonder why I got my menses so soon. I think if u keep up with the pumping and latching, shdnt be much of a worry. The drop in bm only happens a couple of days prior to the onset of menses and maybe a couple of days into the menses.

ZZZ, my FIL is at it again..

They just have to make our lives so difficult, staying together with ur ILs really is giving ourselves more trouble than convenience.

I really am not so concern about the reason why my baby cry anymore (i can more or less decipher her cries by looking at her routine), she already cries much lesser than in her colic days. but my ILs just cannot take it that we are letting her cry, and will always try to be the smart alec and tell us what to do (at the end of the day, baby still cries just as much). FIL was shouting why why why, don't force her to sleep, bring her outside!!! and he actually wanted to dash in (luckily i locked the door before he could) you could imagine how scary when he turned the door knob and it was locked, almost like the monster is coming to get us..

I really think more contact = more trouble, my FIL/MIL always praise how their other grand-nephew is so 'guai' and so easy to take care (come on, they see Scarlett everyday yet they only visit that nephew once a week for 2 hrs.. seriously have they actually seen when the baby fusses or is crying for something)

I have 9 days to my first HDB appointment, after that 5 weeks to getting our keys..........

<font color="0077aa">Springz: Yah man, am so proud of Zane! Especially when I drove home alone, he was at the back sitting quietly enjoying ther scenery &amp; then dozing off... Keke.. Scarlett, have competition liao leh...

Crayon: Am pumping when MIL feed Zane with bottle at least once a day cos I don't want Zane to reject the bottle if I go back to work. Now sometimes based on his mood, he still don't want the bottle...

Lok: Can see that Joshua is really excited in seeing all the babies!!

Yipee! My sis just gave birth to a princess! Went with Zane &amp; my family to see her &amp; Zane started fussing &amp; crying at 745pm! His non official sleeping time. Aiyoo.. whole hospital can hear his cries!</font>

Springz..
hb and i love your house! was very very impressed with the very intelligent concepts, eg maids room, the steel magnetic board, the overhead projector even!!! hb says next time when we do reno must approach your hb for advice!!!

kym
wow, that must be some drama! fil dashing in and the locking of door with scarlett crying in the backgroun!!!!

cool it once you are out of their house, they will seem nicer!will even look less of a monster!

breadmum and baking mummies
yes, we should all get together to bake!!kekeke...okok im not a good bake ok...i used to bake loads until my hb then boyfriend told me straight in the face that he appreciates my baking but just doesnt like anything pastry, or cake or cookies

lok
joshua really sweet lah. dramaboy!he really warms up fast!

storeberry
wow, now you can ferry zane wherever whenever liaoz..no worries...

<font color="0077aa">l'l CY^^l'l CH (lilboymum): Yah man,hope he will continue to like his car rides! Kerke.. What about the maids room? Didn't go in there... Share share...

Thanks for the link, email u...

Kymkym: Cool down yah? Think of the positive side , you are moving out soon!!</font>

LC,
Yes, we can meet there..can PM me your mobile?

Mattel Sale
Went ard Lok Yang way to check out the place..if you are there and do not see the Company Name Mattel...do not be alarmed. The sale is taking place at a factory warehouse named - Lim Manufacturing..just check with the security, they will direct you to the sale area. Btw, it is near to KC Dat and Nippon Paint.

Solid food for BB
I went out to CK Tangs and bought a food container/warmer for bb (Zojirushi - spelling might be incorrect). They are having sale now..but i think there is a BP ongoing too. Need to get those cubes, anyone know if there is ongoing BP? Can we also use those small tiny tupperware to store the puree and freeze?

Gunibb,
BB bottled purees must be consumed within 48 hours...a waste if bb cannot finish the puree within 2 days..

phew,finally can access the thread again...

it was great meeting all of you...finally able to put a face to those nicks liao.. alabone, u r 1 great mum with 3 kids n yet looking good..u look very young lei..maintain very well..

Springz

thanks for opening up your house..very big n spacious n nice colour combo..cosy feeling.

btw,i cant stand the long nails n went to cut it at night in my tiredness state, i accidentally cut her 2 fingernails.
she fussed for a long time...1st time i cut their flesh..

isabelle

i went to the taka poohbear liao..dun go there coz theres no show..only meet &amp; greet only. just take pics..have to queue up.no purchase required.i oso went for the hello kitty show at bishan.if going,dun seat near the 'xmas tree board' near to the G2000..unless u want foams in your hair..abit messy..

Hi, Mommies

Finally manage to get in to this thread..

Hi, Lok

I came to sprindz's place late and you had left.. thanks for the pointer on IFC..

Hi, Springz

Thanks for offerin your house. It is very nicely done up..

Hi, KymKym

I take back my words.. I feel your little one takes on more of your look..
Staying with in laws is never easy.. endure a bit more, you are moving to your own nest soon! Yippeee!!!!

KymKym - Hang in there. Your ordeal will be over soon. Small world, realised your hubby and i are ex-colleagues.

Springz - i not baking guru la. compared to my friends, am way below standard. But i enjoy baking. Hey, can pass me the contact of your contractor? Am thinking of redoing my kitchen and i like what he did with yours.

crayonshinchan- dont give up, sometime its all about being in the mood and accurate measurements plus temperature of oven. The recipe plays an important part as well. Go to www.realbakingwithrose.com. Her recipes never fail.

l'l CY^^l'l CH -Yes, lets organise a baking session, just that the bbs will have to be looked after by their dads. you must be very good it it. aiya, your hubby dont like sweet stuff la.

Angeline - its ok. i cut one of my boy's fingers too. Yesterday, my mum was the one who trim his nails after realising what i did to her grandson. So she did it while he was sleeping and now he can be hands free without mittens,

Yeah finally can go into this thread.

Yeah yeah! Finally can see the mommies le! All look very young and energetic lor. Its good to know that we Sept mommies are hanging on together, heehee.

So many babies! Even my hubby was a bit overwhelmed at 1st, haha.

May I confirm Ava is having twin girls rite? I wonder did Ava go to Changi airport T3 or not cos i saw a mommy with twin girls who like like Ava's. Hee.

Saw Dawn Yeo at T3...hmm, never mind, not related to this thread, haha.

lilboymom: Are you making your own flashcards? What should be on those flashcards? Letters of the alphabet, Chinese characters, numbers, animals, colours, simple nouns? Where do you get cardboards and do u laminate the cards? I feel like making my own flashcards, cos I think I can paint better than most of the gurus, after checking out their drawings at the bookstore ytd!! *AHEM*

Humpty-Dumpty - it's british, not french, so the 'marie antoinette' analogy is not correct
it alludes to some canon on the wall that fall apart and all the king's horses &amp; all the king's men couldn't put the canon back together? Ring a ring o roses was, yes, referring to the great plague of england.

Nope, won't read Sylvia Plath/Ted Hughes to kids lah...so morbid, more morbid than Humpty-Dumpty, Ring-a-ring o roses, and My Bonnie. However, I do sing Rock-a-bye-baby + Row Row Row Your Boat, which aren't all too rosy either!!

Springz: your house looks like a standard church prayer room, or seminar room! Do u organise religious congregations at home often?

Kymkym: calm down...u need the energy for your renovation! Are you going to leave a room for your PILs then? Mine flared up 6 yrs ago when they saw there wasn't a room choped for them, cos I hacked the 4th room! They now bear a silent grudge agst me and will never stay over at my place to take care of Isaac (despite my warm welcome)

isabelle: where is kuishinbo and where is jewel box? I'm a food court person.

OH, I also like Lewis Caroll. hehe

Goldfish: On the contrary, my Isaac responded very well to flashcards and board books at the bookstore ytd! He was falling asleep in the stroller (as always) but when we read to him, he immediately woke up and chuckled at the colourful pictures and at our high pitch voice! We got tired and got the maid to read to him, but her reading skills as we soon discovered are not so good (not rhythmic, poor intonation, plus Filipino accent).

<font color="0000ff">Just what was wrong with the forum?? sighz...

wah.. seems like u all enjoyed urselves at Springz. A pity I couldn't join

Anyway, Sat was the 1st time both hb n i brot Max out shopping. It was a great experience tho quite a hassle when he decided to poo while drinking milk. hehe.. 1st time both of us were interested in nursing rooms... it was nvr on our 'things to look out for'

Babies rejecting bottle / milk
are any of ur babies rejecting the bottle or milk after drinking for awhile. Max is doing it everyday from thur / fri onwards. he will start drinking but after abt 60-90ml den he starts to fuss and refuse to drink. will juz scream if we force the teat in. i realli dunno wats wrong with him....</font>

morning mummies ,
been missing the thread for a few days already and my laptop was send in to HP for repair .. so accessing with school laptop.. keke ..

So much posts ..

SpingZ ,
missed the gathering and your house .... keke .... can have another gathering there .. I am sure to go .. keke ..

Kym ,
" Ren " .. So u getting a new flat or resale flat ? If resale ... still have to factor in the time for reno ? But sometimes , PILs are a great help when u have to run some errands and can place your little one with them for a few hours of break ..

SarahMay,
how is macau ? Getting colder right ? are u stuck at home or going out everyday ? Getting a PT A-yi is good at least you dun have to worry about housework .
I dunno anything about poetry .. so dun think i can teach zac and zen .. keke .. not a Lit person .

Isabelle ,
i would like to knoe where Kushibo is as well ..

Sasa ,
my zenneth rejecting too .. feeding him 2ounce per feed and more frequent feed .. so that he dun reject .. he vommitted last week and bought him to see pD .. was prescribed only one medicine to stop vommitting n PD says zen is allright ( cos he smile at him all the time) and asked me to feed him more frequent and 2 ounce ore feed till he is better ..

Flos ,
u can paint ??? keke .. me trying to print out and make the flashcards at home too .. since i am free this holiday ..

i tried posting these message a few times and failed .. hope it succeed this time round ... wonder what is wrong with the thread ,.

<font color="0000ff">Qiuling
I wouldn't mind feeding him lesser but on a more frequent basis but problem is.. even if he's drinking only 90ml.. it can last him 3 hrs sometimes even 3.5 hrs. tat day was calculating his total intake in a day... juz about 600ml onli leh.. based on his weight now n the calculation u mummies posted before.. he should be drinking about 900ml.. sighz</font>

sasa - my girl also sometimes does that. then she'll want us to carry and cuddle.. after awhile will fall asleep.. that's why i think is not rejecting bottle, is more like they are tired and just want to rest? just my experience with my baby..

Qiuling: yes, I can paint better than Eric Carle! haha.

I bookmarked the Sept thread-specific URL, so got in thru that.

Can I ask u abt buying maids SIM card? My maid has a mobile phone she brought to SG. She wanted us to help her buy a SIM card using her EP/passport and of course, deduct the cost from her salary. Should I oblige or just get her those 1-time Phoenix calling cards (using my house phone)?

If she has her own SG number, will she be texting to her friends in her room in the middle of the night, whilst I bathe/nap? Will she be on the phone all the time? Will she therefore exchange nos with other maids she befriends when she goes out to buy my groceries? Last week, I saw her exchanging eye contact in the lift with a fella compatriot who lives at the 4th floor, but they dunno each other lah. Am I being too paranoid and '霸道' if I disallow her to hv contact with the outside world?

Kym: agree with Qiuling 忍忍忍!U will need them if u r to return to the workforce! That grand-nephew is 内孙 or 外孙?

sasa: jalanjalan very fun rite?!
After a while, your son will be accustomed to the baby carseat (it's like car seat = gai gai = BEHAVE = SLEEP UNTIL ARRIVAL OF DESTINATION, SONNY!). I also got a lot of distracting musical toys/window shades to keep Isaac entertained in the carseat. He's also gotten used to stroller = shopping = BEHAVE = SIT STILL UNLESS HUNGRY OR POO/PEE.

sasa (sasa_xie), hi. im having e same problem with my boy... he's been drinking very little. he shld be drinking 900+ ... now only 600 - 700+... how old is ur boy nw? mine 3mths 2wks.... dun know wat happen!

<font color="0000ff">nelc
hhmm.... sometimes it happens with him. he juz wants to slp.. but other times.. he juz keeps using his tongue to push the teat out. den after tat will be so happy.. can start looking around, like as tho he's full and contented

Flos
oh yes.. hehe.. jalan jalan is shiok. but abit guilty lah.. coz in the shopping ctr hor.. no air ventilation.. den so many ppl around flu n cough.. aiyoh.. hehe. anyway, it was a good experience for him too. he was tired but yet wanna fight to stay awake to look around.. so cute!! ended up he succumbed to sleep.. haha

Jane
same!!!!!! My boy was born on 19th Aug so he's about same age as ur boy leh... what's wrong with them???

U noe.. i even suspected that someone / maid has been feeding him some other things besides milk!!!!!</font>

Jane , sasa ,
according to my PD last week , once infant reach 3 mths, the calculation changes:
That is previously ,
150mlx weight = daily total intake
after three months , decrease calculation ,
130ml x weight = daily total intake ...

that is yhe ask me not to worry too much when i mentioned Zenneth taking only 18onuce = 540 ml of milk per day .. he mentioned zenneth reaching 3 mths in another 10 days time .... so it is normal for him to decrease the intake ..I spend $60 just on this assurance n the vomit medicine to take when needed .. hmm ... u gals might want to verify with your PD ??

Flos ,
My maid has her SIM card ( cos i ask my cousin maid to help her buy one , those singtel HI card that cost 15 dollars, previously 10 dollars/card).. i did not buy for her ...she need her passport to register but her passport with the agency i think .. hmm .. anyway sharing my arrangment , I gave her 10 dollars extra allowance per month for her calls back home ..she buy top up on her own from 7 - eleven and top her own SIM card when needed. no calls during the day but she can check her sms at night and communicate with other friends in sin or sms back to phili ( apparently cheaper than calls ) when she has her free time at night.
So far, she called back like once a week/ two weeks .. dunno to BF or family and sms nightly .. I dun invade her privacy but she did inform me that she is calling back. need not inform me when she sms. Guess it depends on how u want to arrange with her.
According to a lot of experience mummies , better not let her interact with the outside world too much or let her buy groceries too often cos they will be smarter .. blah blah ... but i guess as long as she finifh her work .. she should have some form of communication with the outside world / friends .. else she might vent her anger at my child .. keke ..

Mandy
you read her blog?

Flos
humpty dumpty..o i wrote that..kekek..was meaning to say jack and jill. read somewhere that that's what its about. i used to love lewis carroll.until i realise he was pedophile.poor alice :p

breadmum
haha, no im not good at it at all. i only follow recipe!yes, hb doesnt like sweet stuff. he doesnt even eat bday cakes, will patronisingly eat a bit then pass it to me when the host isnt lookin...haiz..

isabelle, alabone, 2006 mummies
so which show are you looking at???

sasa (sasa_xie): my boy is 17 aug
. i tot he doesnt like my EBM anymore

Qiuling (chewy_ring): oh! thank you very much for e info!!

<font color="0000ff">Qiuling
sob sob.. based on the new calculation, my boy still not drinking enuff
did tell my mum to check with PD (her boss is my boy's PD
) but den PD say it's fine coz he's weight is ok. sighz.. how come suddenly like tat de.

Flos
oops.. didnt reply u on the maid n hp issue. juz to let u noe, MIL's maid has a HP for which she buys her own SIM card. but den ah.. she's on the fone whenever she's free. when she was staying at my hs during my confinement and after that, she was always on the fone in the afternoons and at nite, after my boy is asleep. her fone will juz ring at the same time every nite.

but den again, if u think abt it.. all these maids are so poor thing. they leave their family to come to a new place to work. the fone is their only means of communication with the outside world (be it frens or family members). so i think it's like some time-off for her. esp if she has to help mi look after baby. u noe lah.. it can get quite frustrating looking after bb day in day out</font>

Hi Momoko - Sorry missed out on your post earlier and super delayed reaction.. how is little Cayden? I would be really mad as well if one of my family members behaved like your BIL! Hope Cayden is better... does he need a nebuliser?

Isabelle - haha I grew up on Enid Blyton as well! Shh.. there were a couple of times when I was really bored and wanted some mindless stuff, I brought out my Magic Faraway Tree to relive Moonface and the various lands above haha.. hmm have not done so since I got married though!

Kym Kym - counting down time! Jia you in ren-ing!

Flos - yup hubby and I wanted to avail space for church gatherings. Bot an older flat and he designed it in such a way for that purpose. We were teased abt it previously as we have the keyboard, guitars and projector screen, really like a church! But so far we have not had many meetings here. But whenever there is a need, we are more than happy to open the place..

Btw, we just gave our helper an old nokia handphone so she can call her family and contact us on off days. She is to buy her own Hi-card. I'm also wary and threading on soft ground - wondering if she will use the hp often/ text often etc too!

actually thinking about it, so far the church gatherings at our place was more for makan, movie marathons and just chill-outs

Breadmum - you can teach us to bake? hee, can use the counter-top in my kitchen but I only have convection oven!

Lok - Great that Jonas can sleep!
Wanted to tell you your new helper seems quite good with the kids and her English is quite good for an Indo!

Hi mummies!!

Springz, love ur home! spacious n v well done up, love the kitchen!

Breadmum, love to have a baking session! i like to bake too! but hate the cleaning up, and the cakes, muffins n cookies are consumed by myself most of the time. so hardly get to bake nowadays that i'm on diet! lol!

Mandy, my hubby was very surprised when he came to realise that the gatherings i've been to is all sept babies! All along he tot its just mommies gathering with babies of different ages!

Flos/Qiuling, check this out. Think isabelle went to this kuishinbo. btw, the food there is DELICIOUS!
http://www.res.com.sg/restaurants_view.php?v=8
Jewel box is at Mount Faber, havent been there yet thou it looks really nice on the outside.

Magic Faraway Tree - MY FAV!!! specially bought the series few yrs ago! couldnt stop myself from getting it when i spotted the book!

wow, mass matchmaking session at springz place!
all the babies and mummies look so good! wished I could join you ladies but was busy with spring cleaning in office.

springz: your place looks so spacious and neat from the photos! just kpo, how much did u spend for your renov?

Flos &amp; Bacon&amp;egg: will decide on what to feed GuniBoy when it's time for semi-solid food.

Quiling: thanks for sharing that 3 mths and above baby, the formula is different! GuniBoy taking about 500 to 600 plus ml of milk per day now too.

Sasa ,
Maid issues .. hmm .. i still think it is reasonable for them to use phone in their free time .. eg like at night after 8 , if they are free but absolutely not during the day ..
very disruptive when they are hogging on phone esp they are looking after our bb ..

Yan ,
thanX for the link ..how come suntec rates are cheaper than the great world ? ambience ?

Isabelle ,
I brought zac once for the Act 3 international for drama trial class and he doesnt seems to enjoy .. hmm .. but i heard their play is good .. last trial was FOC with them .. keke ..