(2008/09) Sep 2008

Yan, mine is Epidurial.. hubby will go inside with me, he is also a dumb dumb one.. but will feel secure when he is with me althrough he wont talk much.
BF can't drink cold stuff ? then will only consider BF one month..Iam the person who will get mad without cold drink.

Heard from other mummies that bleed a bit after VE is normal

sasa
think you can hire a CL now? what about approaching those confinement agencies? or asking your mum back, just tell her the truth, that mil hardly drops by and maid is inexperienced and you are not having a confinement at all...

yun, yan
bfg cannot drink cold water? no lah. the chill from the water will gone as it travels through your system. else how does people bf for more than a year? more than a year wo cold water is crazy in singapore.

waiting game
im still nearly a month away from edd. any mmummy the same? cant stand the waiting game but dun wan bb to cme too early coz havent finish prepping...

the wait is the worst!

l'l CY, sure ar, everyone told me cannot drink cold water. or is it just for confinement cannot drink cold water? dun worry, still got a month to edd. as long as baby is good inside you, its better. rather than like me, baby dun wan to grow inside me, now have to such short notice to c-sect bring her out at 37 weeks. originally i still thinking have to wait till 24th sept. fate is playing with me now. haiz!

yun, i also the kind that cannot go without cold drinks. and also i cant tahan not eating normal food like ice cream etc and not bathing or washing hair!
My hubby also like that lor, dumb dumb one. i really worry la for epi-c sect. but then, i dun wan to miss the moment when baby is out. i think i will get jealous if hubby or MIL or any other ppl see my baby before me!!! =X

yan,

If I'm not wrong, what they are saying is that u are encouraged to drink hot beverage before bfg to stimulate the milk flow. Not that you cannot drink cold water at all. Confinement --- typical belief is no cold water allowed.

Yan, Talk about Ice cream, I still got one box inside the freezer..will finish it later. can't eat and drink anymore after 12midnite... Iam afraid that I will forget coz I used to drink a lots of water after pee pee.
Iam half worry + nervous + looking forward to tomorrow.. pray for me hoh...

Lilboymum, I also wonder how people can BF without Cold drinks for a year...its impossible for me.

Isabelle
Thanks for the info on dairy pdts and dom. I hope rice wine is fine cos we got 10 bottles for CL lady. My friends told me rice wine not nice one.. as in cooked wif food lo. I hope it turned up to be fine for me.

SarahMay
I m fine, thanks for the concern. I just came back from the CTG visit from gynea. It is quite lame... lying down strapped for 20 mins and i m oledi bored to death. The nurse told me that i need to be strapped up liddat all the way till i deliver. Okie.. tat sounds damned BORING!!!
And talking abt squatting, i asked the gynea today and he said it will help to strengthen the muscles to aid delivery but if my bone structure is narrow, there is nothing can be done one loh. So for u gals out there, start doing squats!!! For me, i decided to give it a miss.. :S

Mei,
Just saw ur post abt ur bochup MIL. Understand that u just wanna to vent nia.. bt keke.. u are not alone. My MIL oso another bochup one loh... i thot MILs are supposed to be super caring and attentive to preggies DIL rite? Bt guess it onie happens in dramas maybe? LOL

Lok,
So, it is not recommended to take milk when bf? I am abit confused wor.. bt bb can take formula milk? Or FM is different from cow cow milk?

Preggie
Ouch... i can visualize how ‘salty’ it is to pee over the wound!!! OUCH!!!

Isabelle
Your gynea allowed u to go home after inserting the prostag tablet? I was told that if i am induced next Monday, i have to go to Mt alvernia to insert tablet and wait all the way till labour leh. I was like wondering does that means i am paying for the hospital bill WAY WAY BEFORE the labour process starts!!!

Eve
Oh.. so sorry to hear abt ur bb condition. Hope he will have a speedy recovery real soon!! Bt the good ting is that the operation is a success!!

Sasa de Mouse
Ouch, sounds like ur MIL played u out rite!? My friend oso experienced tat before! Her MIL agreed to help and den last minute back out!!! Too much loh!!! Bet u must be feeling very helpless... wanna to tell ur MIL off oso hard rite?

Yan,
Wow.. ur gynea told u tat u nid c-section liao? So conclusive? He is not letting u to try natural? My gynea told me i can try for natural though he categorized me under THE NARROW BONE STRUCTURE category tat will have problem wif natural, bt he will let me try wor. Wat’s ur problem? Bb too big? LOL. Ur hubby sounds like mine. I am sceptical what kind of word of encouragements will he say to me inside the delivery ward. He often tell me ‘dun worry lah, so many mothers out there oso give birth before’. That does not sounds very inspiring to me loh.. and at times, it turns me OFF big time!!! :p

yun, ur c-sect tml is wad time? mine is 12pm on wednesday, Dr say no food after morning 6am.

Lok, i must try to ask my mum for cold water once a while. hope she can give in to my tiny request lor! hehe!

Goldfish,did ur gynae told u the success percentage of trying natural ? how if ended up emergency c-sec ? the hospital bills will be more and more.(sorry i didn mean to pour cold water on you)
At least ur hubby will tell you to dun worry.. I guess my hubby will only keep silent and hold my hands only.

Goldfish,

I think u have to assess the situation based on how your bb reacts. FM is usually derived from cow's milk. Even amongst cow's milk FM, there are different grades e.g the HA type which I mentioned earlier where the proteins are further broken down to make it easily digestible. Or thicker formula to prevent reflux, special formula for premature bbs etc.

There are also soy (which my #1 is taking)or goat milk formula. Even oat milk. The main reason I am skipping diary products is due to family's medical history of lactose-intolerance.

yan, mine is about 11am tomorrow, must admit to hospital at 9am. nurse told me no food n drink at all after 12midnite today. and have to shave the public hair..haizzzz

Mei/Goldfish, my hubby just now called to say my MIL wan to come my house tml to help me with washing of clothes! i told him i have done everything this morning already and i can manage! hope she dun come tml cos i wan to have my own time and space to relax cos i'm so emotional now i dun wish for ppl to disturb me tml at home! i thinking he's abit upset about it. but if his mum is coming, it means that i still have to answer all her questions, and listen to all her nags and advice, and spend time accompany her!

Goldfish, this morning gynae checked my cervix, he says its closed and its tight or hard or wadever i dun understand la. he say if try for natural later baby cannot come out will end up c-sect also. My baby's SMALL, not growing and now only at 2.4kg. anyway i decide to go with wad gynae says cos i dun wan to end up going for emergency c-sect. that would be the ultimate already! my hubby dunno how to comfort me one lor. just now he sending me to work after the check up, he keep cracking joke or asking me questions in a way wanted to make me relax, but in the end, i get more agitated and he still can comment say that my veins in my neck are pulsing super fast! -_-!

Flos
The Lychee Martini cake is from Pine Garden
You can check their website
http://www.pgcake.com/

PILES
Anyone kenna piles?
I dun hv constipation yet i got it.
Went to see a GP and he says baby pressing on my bladder thats why i got it. Its v painful!!!!!!!
He suggest i remove it during c-section together. That will be double pain lor!
Anyway I emailed my gynae regarding this and he is not supportive of the idea of removing it together during c-sec. I will see him tml and he will see if could do anything abt it. Hai......
so sian.. Anyone with similar prob or know pp with this prob???

yun, you have to shave yourself?? how come my gynae told me no food n drink from morning 6am only? i also admitting ard 9am then the operation at 12pm. should i call and check with the nurse again???

Mrs YAP,
My gynae told me at least have to wait 6 weeks after delivered then can remove the piles.
But normally the piles will gone after gav birth ,so see how later lor..

yan, u better check again.. its weird lor.. from 6am to 12pm its only 6hours leh..I tot normally hav to cut off for at least 8 hours before operation.

Yun...
Aiyo.. with this kind of pain... 6 weeks is a torture man!! I ask the GP if it will go away or not after pregnancy.. he straight away told me it will NOT.. cos mine is a dunno what 4th degree piles... I really do hope it will go away naturally

Shazz, i think u should call ur gynae or go for a CTG scan.. I have my "little show" this morning and nurse asked me to go down immediately...

i juz woke up from nap and today is only Day1 of ML.. yawn..

wah mrs yap, u had lychee martini cake too!! shiok ah! at 1st i was thinking can eat cake loaded wif martini anot but well, heck!, juz eat lah keke..

flos - Pine Garden is at AMK Ave 10..

lok - i had spicy laksa for lunch juz now.. hope bb will give me some signals..

Dun worry, I also got very bad piles during this pregnancy (thats why I choose c-sec)hehe..
I can tell you it will pain you 1-2weeks.
I was in hell in those days and soak myself in the warm + salt water twice aday..it will reduce the pain and dun forget to apply the cream.
Ur gynae might help you to push in the piles if u see ur gynae tomoro..but it will out again after u pee pee or poo poo.

Mrs Yap,

I had piles for #1. It's really a pain in the ass!! My gynae did warn me it will get worse during natural delivery due to the exertion and pushing. But thankfully, it wasn't as bad as I thought. Anyway, it's very common for preggie to get it. And lots of ways to ease it. Don't worry abt it too much.

yun, the indo restaurants here don't have what you crave for?

dates & longan
how much did you guys buy? does anyone know the opening hours for those shops around the bugis area?

janf..
ya lor.. i also heck care... i crave for any kind of cakes...

Yun
So u are ok with yr piles already? No need to remove it? yrs is how many degree?

mickey, i had a choice to do it now or later tonight.. so tonight is a better timing for me.. i hope the night wont be exceptionally long..

Lok....
haha... really lor... its PAIN IN THE ASS...
stupid hubby still got the cheek to say... now u know the ASS is the BOSS!! Cant sleep for whole night!!

Xuanting, maybe have but diff taste for sure.

Mrs.Yap.. Iam okie already ..althrough the piles is still there but its become smaller and painless.
I tik I still need to remove it after deliver. Mine is also 4th degree.

Yun...
Okie... thanks for yr assurance...
its really helpful
I thot i am the only sway one to kenna... cos nv heard anyone of u mentioned it be4...
Its another 11 days for me to go before my scheduled c-sec... i'll pray for the best

Jaymickey: Hope it'll be a short night for you too.. So exciting! You can see your littel one soon..

Re piles: Gynae is able to give glycerine bullets for insertion after our delivery. Very effective..

Mrs yap,
sure u r not the only sway one...
but must remember not to strain when u poo poo or it will become worse.
and If u happen to be bleeding badly from ass or piles turn black then must let ur gynae know.

sarahmay, this time is my #2. for my #1, i was in labour ward for ard 7hrs. this time only 2hrs! got a shock out of my life when i felt an urge to push, 1/2 hr after nurse said i'm 4cm dilated. 6cm dilation within 30min, that's 1cm per 5min or every contraction?!?!?

i dun think bigtoes can go online. TMC is undergoing renovation, so wireless connection got a bit affected. we also couldnt get online during my hospital stay there.

jaymickey, what are u doing now? i really don't know what i will be doing if i already know i'll be checking into the delivery suite in a few hours. all the best!

Yun
According to GP, 4th degree piles dun usually bleed... so i dun expect it to bleed... so scary
Turning black??/ my goodness... I dun even dare to see... its hard to look at yr own ass anyway... I just leave it as it is for the moment. Let the gynae decide wat to do tml

Yun, i will call up the clinic later to check again for the cut off time to eat.

Jaymickey, all the best for tonite!

Yun
Gynea told me based on his experience (guess it is his feel inside me??!!) that usually may end up c-section. Bt he said for first timers, he will always go for natural first, if cannot den c-section. I will try for natural first, if cannot den LL liao. Oppz.. i not sure how much expensive if natural convert to c-section wor. Think nid to stay longer in ward oso rite!!!?
Lok
Thanks for the clarification. I saw the HA thingie before. I think NAN is HA version one rite? So in other words, HA is much ‘safer’ something liddat?
Yan
Hey! Tat is wat my gynea said abt my case. Today he lagi ultimate, he poke me again, this time i dunno whether did he insert his entire PALM inside me or not lo.. bt it is damned painful and he keep apologizing and den tell me ‘i am helping u to open ur cervic. Think it is open by 2cm’ I nearly fainted from the pain loh. I think probably he is using his finger to wriggle it open mah?? Bt i seriously wonder tat works leh! My gynea oso said my bb is small, bt my bone structure ‘narrow’ so abit hard lo. LOL. I think ur hubby is trying to cheer u up hoh? Tat time when gynea told me i mite c-section, my hubby oso tried to ‘crack’ some jokes bt i dun find it at all funnie, bt however, find it offensively irritating! :p

Goldfish, so this is ur first baby also hah... me too leh.. very nervous hoh...
My gynae also encourage me to try natural but Iam really can't tahan pain one.. (sleepless everynite to tik of natural) until I decide for c-sec then my mind is peace.

Goldfish, yah, my hubby ask me, so c-sect will have scar hor? - wad do you think i should reply for that!!! OMG he is so insensitive i cried again. then he try to joke again saying got a small girl standing behind me wan to talk to me, she keep looking at me. ask me to talk to the little girl. i wan to faint man! he is soooooo no word to describe! yah, hubbies are so not farnie when we are already so stressed!

SASA MOUSE,
u sounded like me when i was doing my first confinement! hahaha....tell u frankly, tat was the start of my POST-NATAL DEPRESSION... i just needed someone close to my heart to be beside me! my mom, my siblings, my buddies...etc. hubby can also do the job, but men being men, they aint tat helpful esp when they dun undstd the PAIN like backache, pain at V...etc.

is ur mom able to come stay and help u for another week? if she is working, can she apply leave so last min? or at least work half day for another week? or can ur female buddies be reached on phone as and when u need to talk to someone?? (i did it with my mom's help during the confinement period & constant sms/phonecall with my buddy) it helped to take my mind off the mental stress.

at this moment, u must be very frank n direct with ur feelings, coz u r at your most vulnerable now. i tear easily esp when my family called me.. you just burst like a crybaby, RITE?! if u cant handle, u must voice it out, tell ur mom tat u cant do this all alone.

lack of sleep during confinement is bad enuff, not to mention the unexpected/additional mental n physical stress tat comes along with it. our hormones just go haywire like nobody's biz during this confinement mth.

even during normal days, lack of sleep can cause high blood pressure, migraine, low in iron...etc. so not to mention after delivery... u really need to rest and hv a clear state of mind.

this is just my 2cents worth... u must take care and seek help asap. how do u know u are okay? - when u stop "tearing for no apparent reason"!

JIA YOU, my gal! u be strong ok... if u need to talk or email, u can PM me ok. take good care!

hey ladies, this is limay's (bigtoes) hubby. the thomson medical centre's internet is down, so limay has asked me to put up a pic of our baby kieran here, while i'm home for a while doing some daily chores.

1681067.jpg

both limay and little kieran are fine. thank u all for your concern. we'll be discharged tomorrow. limay will put up more pics after she gets home.

Alabone: Hahaha...you are very funny! Don’t think you want to use my body lor. You are taller, fairer and slimmer! Better not take the risk...the photo shoot was more tiring than I anticipated. Did i tell you I spent the entire NEXT day just sleeping? Btw, good planning on the ML! Nov and Dec no need to take leave cos work is minimal. Clever clever!

Ade: Hope to hear your great news! All the best!

Jessi: I think feet swelling and numb fingers are part of the preg...my friend also said all these tips don’t really work. Hehe. My fingers are feeling really ‘sng’ when i try to close them into a fist.

L’l CY: My hubby still not back yet. Was very annoyed with him today as I was trying to clean the house. Feel so fed up that I have to do it myself...but thank goodness for my parents. But I can’t help being grumpy. Sighs. Maybe I shall make him come back earlier instead.
That strange father I think works for either the army or police force. Why else would he address me as ‘m’am’?! Eew.

Bacon&Egg: Hehehe...Double cheeseburger from where? Yummy...makes me want to eat Carl’s Jnr Guacamole burger. I just LOVE guacamole . Hehe. Maybe I just go buy nachos and guacamole dip.Sashimi? Have you indulged in it throughout this preg? I know storeberry has..but I’m still a bit chicken. Dun dare push it.

Mickey: What about trying StudioLoft, Maryann? I kind of prefer her approach and style to dphotofolio? But to each her own I guess. If you schedule for weekdays, can still get Maryann. Not really sure abt dphotofolio.

Eve: You’ve got a great PD! That really helps. Yes, your bb will be back with you soon and he will have such great health ahead!

Qiuling: But reporting for duty and just signing attendance sounds ok. As long as you dun have to do any silly SEM reports and the like.

Sasa: AW! Hugs hugs hugs! Must be really hard on you. Aiyo. Can talk to your hubby abt your concerns abt your MIL, and maybe he can say something to her? Can you also get your mum to continue helping you out? Or arrange some schedule where at least your mum can help out on a few days a week, and get her to teach the maid?

Shazz: Patience...patience. Who knows maybe it will happen tonite!!!

Yan: Don’t stress! At least you know that it is not going to be emergency c/section. GA means your hubby can’t be with you, and you may be knocked out for a while and won’t see and hold your bb when he’s out. Epi allows ur hubby to be with you, and you can hold your darling as soon as he’s out. According to the other mummies who gave birth via epi c/section, you can feel some tugging during the procedure but cannot see the gory process. Why don’t u discuss with ur hubby? Just dun stress! Go spoil yourself with yummy food and pamper yourself from now till Wed!

Yun: All the best for trow! So exciting!!!

Flos: Which katong laksa shop did you go to? Have you ever tried the laksa at Island Cafe at Tangs? I really like that a lot! Find the katong laksa standard has dropped q a lot.
As for bratty kids and nincompoop parents... occupational hazard. I just couldn’t help it. Anw I was glad i ticked him off. Too bad there weren’t more ppl on the bus for him to be embarrassed.
No, my darling not back yet. EDD is 17 sept. He’s only coming back next wed. Feel like making him come back this sun. I’m just a bit fed up with having to pack stuff on my own. And most of the things are his.
Oh oh! I just went to the Chinese Medical hall yday. And guess what? Was told that this is the best time to ‘bu’! You shd continue to eat your cordyceps etc cos bb really absorbs those nutrients!

Yun: Why must shave yourself??? Isn’t that hard to do? I mean I can’t see myself down there. Hehe. But shaving yourself can save money or not?

Twendy: Wow!!! Power! I also want 2 hours! But I’ve got to be on antibiotics drip for my GBS. Wonder if short labour will be a problem.

Jaymickey: WOWOWOW! You will be holding Janelle soooo soon! All the best!

yay, feel so happy! Just baked two batches of cupcakes. Butter cream cheese and Choc mud cupcake. I'm glad i did beofre birthing otherwise how to bake when baby comes? Hee hee

bigtoes
kieran looks sooo cute!!! Rosy little cheeks! Hope u're doing well!

twendy
alamak, ur epidural was so wasted then!!! Machiam paid for nothing!

goldfish
yah gynae let me go home cos i asked if i cld. Was trying for a drug free birth and i din want the nurses poking ard me either. Somemore they will charge me for staying! The later i go to the hospital, the less inteference i will get. And so i stayed at home and did what i wanted before i went to the hospital.
But it depends on your own style, whether u feel more comfortable having the professionals ard, and if u want ur baby to be monitored in case it goes into distress etc. And if ur gynae is comfortable with it too. Some gynaes r very controlling.

Usually if u dun ask, no birth plan, then they will give you the std procedure. And of course they will most likely ask u to stay cos if u go home and something happens, u might turn ard and say it's their fault. So think they will always play safe lor.
But i went back the next day a bit late though. I cld hardly walk from the carpark at TMC to the reception though the distance was like so short. had like 3 or 4 'contractions' in that short distance... I dun want this to happen this time! But gd thing was I that got to labour ward at 9am and at 1051 my girl was out. I din even have time to change into hospital gown!

Preggie
u can buy a sitz bath from hospital pharmacy. It fits onto the toilet bowl seat and u can soak ur underneath in it (just add salt to the water and it stings less)

jaymickey
all the best!

Tried to upload photo of baby Kayne but file was too big

Birth story:-

26/08/2008 (Tues)
10 am - Admitted to NUH delivery suite @ for induced labour. Was already 1 cm dilated

11.30am - Inserted first pill for dilation

3pm - Went back to ward for rest

5pm - Went back to delivery suite again, supposedly for 2nd pill. But was already 3cm dilated. So went back to ward again

7pm - starting to feel contraction and lower back pain but still bearable.

11pm - Contraction starts to get more intense, tried to get some sleep but couldn't make it.

1am (27/08) - Cannot tahan anymore. Told ward nurse I need epidural!!! Nurse faster wheeled me to delivery suite. Still 3-4cm dilated

3am - Epidural finally came. Phew - It was damn shiok lor.

5am - Ruptured waterbag

7am - Already 7cm dilated!!! To progress the dilation, they inserted dunno what medicine into my drip.

10am - Fully dilated and starting to feel some pain near pelvic area cos baby's head is descending downwards. Started to push for 30 mins but I guess I pushed the wrong way using my facial muscle.
Requested for a short break.

11am - Gynae reduced the epidural effect so that I can feel the contraction and pushed properly. But I still cannot make it in my pushing. Baby's head is big and I got no energy at all.
Ended up, he took off the epidural.

He said I wasn't pushing hard enough cos I wasn't sweating in the suite!!!

Meanwhile, I keep begging my gynae for forcep or vacuum to bring the baby out.

1247pm - After close to 2 hours of pushing, with my consistent begging for vacuum delivery and a very deep episotomy, baby Kayne is out on 27/08/2008 weighing 3.765kg with 55cm in length

I was TOTALLY shagged after the pushing. And I was rewarded with my precious baby, a deep episotomy and 2 piles like the size of grape!!!

hi isabelle

does it help when i pass motion? it doesnt hurt now when i pee. but i bleed terribly when i pass motion. could be the strain that is causing the stitches to hurt and bleed. not too sure. i wish it would go away soon then my confinement would be perfect with just spending time with bb and hubby