(2008/09) Sep 2008

Angeline Goh (angeg): mine a long way to go! plus mine is first child, I think my contractions are so mild that I don't really feel them at all, cos I'm so immunned to my monthly menstrual cramps! Hmmn, this is your 2nd child yah? then you may have a better idea of whether it's a genuine contraction or BH. For me, I'm still blur about it! But according to my mum, the sudden backache that hovers at my lower back that spreads to the front, is an indication of contraction. She had the same thing when she was expecting me. Keep monitoring ok?

bacon&egg (baconegg): I don't think Ava planned hers cos she went thru 12 hours labour. Shall wait for her to share her birth story when she's back!

Bigtoes... congrates on the arrival of ur prince...

Ava.... congrates on the arrival og ur 2 princess...

wow... making mi excited......

shazz

confirm my mucus plug drop coz just now while in the toilet can feel something coming out & its in a bigger chunk & with slightly more blood stain..but my gynae say this doesnt mean anything as for some,it may take 2/3 weeks before labour kicks in..he only interested in the contraction interval..just now i almost thought i can go hospital liao coz the interval getting shorter like 10/15mins...but who knows now pass 30min liao still no contraction yet...tink doesnt count ba..i am getting confused liao over the need of when to go hospital..

shit!just as i say,the next contraction kicks in..painful man...*scratch head* i ask my frens but all with different experience lei..haiz...really wish the waterbag break now..

Ava
CONGRATS!!! You managed to avoid a C section after all!
Was it stil 69 position or both engaged?

Sarah May
yep, as Flos says, Isabelle is the name of my older girl! But I do think that Isabelle and Gabrielle sound nice together! Hee

Goldfish
I stopped taking milk during confinement when I did TBF and baby had rashes (but it's vey common for them to have rash though). PD advised me to stop dairy pdts. So I took calcium instead. And I didn't take crabs (anyway I dun like crab) and avoided prawns when i cld. And I avoided nuts too.
I took rice wine, but I didn;t drink it, MIL used it to fry confinement food. But no tonic wine (DOM, yomeishu) for me. MIL tried to boil entire chicken in concentrated DOM. I only ate the flesh (which I did grudgingly cos no choice) and my baby was so sleepy for TWO whole days. So she din dare to cook it after my FIL commented on the DOM... Lucky for me.

Angeline
So have u popped yet?
Dun worry, my first one I only went to TMC when it was 1 and a half min apart, though it was really intense by then. But I dun intend to be so garang this time cos 2nd one supposed to be much faster!
And I think u can buy the 'float' from the TMC hospital? That's where my SIL bought hers.

Isabelle: Oops. hehe. Anyway Gabrielle is a very pretty name..and I realise I is your nick not your real name. Hehe. I rber your real name now.

Flos: Thanks!

Bigtoes: Congrats!!! can't wait to see Kieran!

Goldfish: How have u been?

Bacon& Egg: Wow ! Sounds like you've been pampering urself! good on u!

Angeline: Jia You! Are the contractions painful? How do they feel like? I don't seem to have BH even. I think my body had enough of BHs and contractions from the last time I had preterm labour scare. Hehe.

Shazz: Yes! Squatting is very good exercise. I actually ask my gynae if I can squat to give birth. Hehe. Anyway, good to bump into u today. All the best! Wait to hear your good news and account of a supernatural delivery!

Hi Goldfish, guess it depend on ur gynae....my #1 was from natural to emergency c-sect, it was my gynae who suggested semi-conscious so that my hubby can go in...however, my fren's gynae from Raffles Hospital refused (oso from natural to emergency c-sect)....said unless is planned c-sect...

Congrats to all the mummies that have given birth.
The baby photos look so pretty!!

I haven't been dropping in for quite some time due to constant falling sick.

Mummies who have done c-sec:
May I ask how is the c-sec procedure? Is it scary or painful?
Do we actually need a binder ??

angeline
i didnt have show and my waterbag didnt burst. just had the backache only
like shazz said, just monitor

ava/ bigtoes
congrats! you did it!
update us soon ya

Hi Gals..

Just want to vent, really boiling...

My MIL who is so anxious to see her grandson.. since my 35th week, whenever she sees me, she'll ask me 'How come have not given birth?'.. Today is the ultimate lor.. she went to tell my hubby to ask me not to be stubborn, better go for c section, baby too long in my womb already... I'm only 38 weeks for goodness sake... she thinks she's so smart.. ARGHH....

hi mei,

chill chill, at least you mil is anxious!!!
mine couldn't care-less. She doesn't even bother to ask anything about me.
First trimester she made SOUR Pineapple + kiwi jelly for me
She only calls and ask about how my hubby is doing.

hopes this cheer you up abit

lovebug
You know, I rather my MIL ignores me.. she pokes her nose into everything, bugs me so much, passes so much unnecessary remarks & does so many idiotic stuff that my blood always boils. Actually she doesn't care much about me, she also doesn't ask after me, just keep asking about baby. I'm just a baby-making machine to her... she boughts loads of branded clothes for my son but not even a shred of bird's nest or whatsoever for me. That's why I rather she treats me as transparent.

But anyway, thanks for your comfort.

yo mei,

then just treat it as one ear in one ear out.
Its your baby anyway, you have the ultimate say in what you want to do, how you want to discipline it... ...

You just have to make sure that when your kid is out, you put your stand if not there will be a fight between ur mil and you for the kid.

Yeah mine don't even bother to buy any clothes for the baby or birdnest for me, she gave me MEATLESS soup while my hubby has a whole bowl of meat soup! Ridiculous now my blood boils keke :p

lovebug
Haha.. yes, I always one ear in, one ear out.. but today really ultimate, that's why I just want to vent, then I'll be fine.

Oh yes, when it comes to baby care & all that, I've already made my stand.

mei,

when is your kid coming along?
girl or boy?
feeling excited?

I am feeling rather freaked out knowing that I have to undergo c-sec
I have low pain resistance!!! :p

Congrats to Ava and Bigtoes!

SarahMay,

I'm not too concerned abt the Strep B thingie. Only "issue" is that I delivered J#1 in abt 6.5hrs, so typically for #2, we assume abt half the time (~3hrs). According to my gynae, she needs the IV anti-biotics to run for abt 4 hrs to be safe, that's why suggestion to induce to have a controlled situation. J#2 is estimated to be abt 3.3-3.4kg in abt 2 weeks time, so should be a decent birthweight. Initially, she wanted me to admit myself as soon as labour starts. Then she remembered I was induced for #1, so she's afraid I can't even tell when labour starts and by the time I realized it's too late...

Goldfish,

I did the same thing as Isabelle when J#1 was on TBF. Now I don't even have DOM at home. No rice wine either.

Initially, I did take milk as lactacting mummies need abt 1200mg of calcium a day. Later on, J#1 came down with eczema and was having diarrhoea-like symptoms i.e. 5-6 poos a day(which all the medical practitioners assured me it's normal for tbf babies but I found it strange as he's already 5 mths old). The day I stopped my diary product intake, his situation improved tremendously. So for J#2, I will not take diary products simply because my hubby and J#1 are all lactose-intolerant. Think it runs in the family!

RXmom,

I finally got my Britax spares (chest clips, shoulder pads etc) from my friend in the States. Can retrofit my Britax Royale, so happy!!!

Kym: guess by the time you read this you would have popped! Congrats! How is the little one? Do share your birth story when u can!

Emergency c/sec: Hmmm. I always thot emergency c/sec will be under GA. Looks like it depends on doc as well as situation. I shall go double check with my gynae what she practices just in case.

Floats: Erm. I'm a bit blur. What do these floats help do? Relieve pain at the perineum after the episiotomy? Are they like those ppl use for piles?

Preggie: You know, just reading ur birth story makes me realise that you are one of those lucky ones who have had epi work like a dream!!! Not everyone who uses it experiences ALL the lovely benefits without side effects. I know a few ladies for whom epi didn't really work out as smoothly. Just the other day, i heard a poor lady retching away from epi's side effects when I was visiting storeberry. So you are really blessed tt epi worked so nicely for you!

JUST VENTING...

Aiyo...rber we were speaking abt parents who do not discipline their kids who make a nuisance of themselves in public? Just had an encounter today.
These two 9/10 year old girls were running up and down the aisle in the bus with their balloon. A balloon slipped from one of the girls' hands and floated down to our seat. We heard their father, seated at the back, telling them to come over and pick it up. The girls refused.

My mum , being the nice person, wanted to pick it up and return it to them. Unfortunately it popped. Because a popped balloon is no fun. Their dad stopped asking the girls to come over to pick it up. Finally, three stops later, I had to alight. Coincidentally, the girl was whining to her sister that she had lost her balloon. So I decided to pick up the popped balloon and the stick and return it to the girls.

I returned the burst balloon on the stick to the girls, who promptly looked stunned, and said, "Here is your balloon."

Guess what the father had the cheek to say?!!!

He glared at me and said threateningly, " Don't be rude, m'am."

I glared back and replied, "Does this look like a giant dustbin to you?" Then I turned and alighted.

I was soooooo very disgusted with the father. Really hope ppl like them stop making babies.

Taslyn: Thanks for info on the Baby Bonus thingy. Hehe...Yeah I am a bit late. Was just re-reading posts to see what I've missed so just saw it.

Lok: Huh?!!! Antibiotics must run for 4 hours to be effective? What is my labour is super short like 3 hrs - then how? Must go ask doc. Maybe ask her to retest me to see if still have GBS.

congrats to Bigtoes and Ava!

Preggie: face up hard to deli very right? is it need more time to push baby out? My gyane told me that my baby also face up leh..last week told me face up and I tot is head up..really blur blur nowadays..

SarahMay: some parents are like that one..better don't botter them...those parents really need re-educated!

Hi Blackberry

According to gynae is harder to deliver. For me, bb was face down until last part of delivery coz contractions too intense so he moved quite a fair bit. But nevertheless, shouldnt be a problem just prob take a bit more effort.

Sarah:
Epi worked like a dream during the labour. But the aftermaths sux ... my bottom hurts till today from the soreness and it hurts big time. Besides the bb i think i carry the float most often
Nurses were telling me those that endured the pain during labour will not have this problem. Also it took me one full day to pass urine. Not coz of the pain but think it is the aftereffect of the epi. Had to force myself to pee pee. That was tough. Now have to force myself to poo poo. Not painful but just difficult.

Farnie no one mentioned to us preggies the aftermath of birth. I suppose the bb overrules all the shit that happens to us.

lok
how come u won't know when labour starts even though when u were induced? But there will come a time after the induction when some signs of labour begin rite? Like wanting to poo? Feeling crampy? Labour wun start straightaway rite?

preggie
u have difficulty peeing and pooping due to epidural or episiotomy? Is that the side effect of epidural? But my colleagues who went for epi din mention this. They just said they had to lie down for the next 24 hrs or something like dat.

I had natural tear during number 1 so I used the float my SIL passed to me. And yes, it is horrible to pee! I wld take like at least 10 min in the toilet just to pee. Stings like hell!!! Luckily I din tear near anus area, otherwise I dun know how I wld have pooed!

Hi everybody , I'm quite new to this thread , going to due in 22sept. hopefully someone could answer my question , is it common for 1st pregnancy to be due slightly earlier? cause i dunno when to take ML. and did all of u choose natural birth or c-section before delivery or? really kind of confuse.

isabelle,

because I took epidural from the start (abt 1 cm dilation)... So too numb to know much..

preggie,

I didn't really encounter the problems you described with the epidural as well. Yes, indeed, I had difficulty in urinating the same day due to the numbness. Thereafter, it was ok. It's probably the episiotomy or haemorrhoid that is causing the problem. My gynae did a superb job with the epi stitching, so no problem with pee or poo.

sarahmay, that idiot should be ashamed of himself! he should be grateful, apologetic and very very embarrassed that you, a heavily pregnant lady, had to pick up his kids' burst balloon instead. stupid, stupid idiot.

hi chantelle, welcome to the thread. some of us here are already on ml to rest and prepare for bb's arrival; it's your preference, really. as for c-section or natural, most of us already have an idea of what we want and have spoken to our docs about it. has your doc asked you anything yet?

i have popped on 29th evening, natural w/o epi. my prince laurent weighs 2.92kg, hc 33cm & length 50cm. shazz, pls help to update. thanks.

as mentioned in my previous post, i had "bloody show" in the morning. went ahead to do shopping, lotsa walking. had gynae appt at 3pm, in labour ward at 3:30pm, delivered at 5:45pm. super fast labour, no time for epi!

congrats twendy! wow! so fast your #2 come out liao! somemore no epi! you're fantastic! will update the table and wait for more mummies to update me then post up the latest table!

hello ladies,
was finally discharged after staying in hospital for a good 10 days... the bill came up to 10k+... and that's just MY bill, not counting cadence's intensive care bill. anyway, it's all settled.

Congratulations to Ava, bigtoes, twendy, preggie, storeberry and all who've popped!!! It's now time to breastfeed and breastfeed!!!

Although i'm supposed to be doing confinement, i have to deliver milk to cadence at the hospital everyday and also latch her on at the hospital. yesterday before i was discharged, i carried her in my arms for the very first time since she was born. I couldn't describe how i felt. i could only cry. cry from knowing that i had to leave her in the hospital and for holding her only 4 days after i gave birth to her. she was so light and so tiny. and it was not that easy to hold her coz she had all those tubes and wires attached. but today when i visited her, she was off the drip already! Thank God! And her sucking is very strong. Even though her mouth is so so tiny, she was able to open up wide enough to breastfeed. It's a good sign coz her PD said only when she can breastfeed properly can she be discharged.

Actually, perhaps it is a better idea that she is still in hospital. it buys me and hb some time to get things ready at home since hers was an unexpected early arrival.

Also, this gives me a chance to get out of the house and not be confined for the entire month! hehe.

C Sec is really horrid. Perhaps because this is my third time, it is super painful. and i am bloated like crazy. hb said i look like i still have another bb in me!! GRRRR...

and after reading xuanting and grace toh's post abt names, i was laughing and crying coz it is PAINFUL TO LAUGH now... cannot cough, cannot sneeze! suuuuuuuuuuuuuuper painnnnnnnful...

dseptkon,
i see. my gynae prescribed valium for me throughout my stay before birth and after my breakfast everyday, i'm basically knocked out. but i did pop by to your room after i woke and realised you were discharged already. so jonathan is quite cheeky ya?? carry then sleep, put down then wake... so you are latching him on directly? if you try to give him ebm at night will it be better??

sarahmay,
that man was soooo rude!!! your reply to him damn sart lah. some more you got off and he couldn't say anything back to you. i agree that pple like him shouldn't give birth to more children!!!

shazz,
thanks for updating the table. more info abt bb Cadence.

Head circumference: 30cm
Length: 46cm
Weight: 2.010kg
Delivery via: Emergency GA C sec
Gynae: Dr Patricia Sim

Thank you everyone for your nice compliments abt cadence and encouragement. i'm eagerly waiting for the day i can bring her home!
now, i try to sleep as much as i can other than pumping at 3 hour intervals and going to the hospital.

After MIAing for sooooo many days, i finally got the chance to touch the PC...

I have given birth on 27/08/2008 @ 12.47pm to a mickey..
Weight - 3.765kg
Length - 55cm
Head circumference - 34cm
Assisted delivery with epdidural.

Very busy with baby... No time to sleep at all..

Congrats to twendy and skinny pig!!!

So exciting. We r popping one after another!

lok
The pain kicks in so fast? I was also induced that's y was a bit puzzled. I went home after induction and went to sleep. Didn't feel a thing until hrs and hrs later. Hmmm... i wonder if effect of induction works differently for diff ppl...

alabone
JIA YOU!!! Way to go!

sarahmay
totally agree. This kind of ppl do more harm than good when they have kids!!! Somemore he doesn't even think he's in the wrong! KNS

Have been trying ways and means to pop but to no avail.
Going for walk in the park now. Hope the hilly terrain helps me to pop soon! Was thinking mebbe cos have always been v active and walking lots and stair climbing r a normal part of my daily work routine so nothing seems to work.
Mebbe I need to go stair climbing at Mt Faber, somewthing out of the usual routine to trigger labour! Sheesh

isabelle,

maybe it works differently for different pple. they monitored me on the CTG for a week or 2 and there are clearly very strong and regular contractions (i.e. hit plateau). Somehow the cervix is still not open, so the moment they started the induction, it came fast and furious.

Btw, why so eager to trigger labour?

Mei,
MIL issues..always tough to handle. My MIL hinted that she was upset that she isnt the one who takes care of her daughter's kid after confinement. We havent broke the news to her that ours will be taken care by my mom too! Anyway we do whats best for our junior..period.

Shazz,
Any other sign since your "show"? I am getting restless..junior is v comfy in mommy's tummy..i have no sign or whateverso..

Sarahmay,
Am thinking i should go out to eat whatever i want these few days before induction date. Trying to make full use of the couple time we have before life changes
how abt u? which week are you at now?

congrats to all mummies who popped!!

i hv started my ML today and starting to feel bored at home oredi (EDD 5sep).. grr.. juz had Pine Garden lychee martini cake for bfast (slurp!) and trimming my fingernails now.. hv been telling minnie to give me some signs these few days..

next checkup is this thur.. prob i shd know my fate by then keke..

congrats to all mummies who popped!!
This is getting more & more excited!

Mummies who have given birth, need your expertise... i experienced intense pain at my lower back ytd afternoon and it lasted till this morning 6plus. Couldn't sleep for the whole night. The pain subside when i start walking. But it came back when i went to lie or sit down. Is this a sign of contraction? Didn't sleep the whole night & have no choice but to take urgent leave today.

Sarahmay: That man was really rude! He was a bad example in front of his kids too. Can't imagine what kind of ppl his kids will turn out to be...

Yo mummies!!!

congrats to all mummiues who have given birth. must be exciting (though tiring) for you. but at least the journey has started.

epidural
my epi experience wasnt good for my fb. i was one of those that reacted to it. so with every contraction i had to try not to puke. i did of course puke a couple of times so the bowl is always at my face when i was pushing. must be a sight.

i wish my delivery can be faster this time round so i dun have to use epi. haiz. but easier said than done lah. just pray pray pray loh...

isabelle
hahah..when is your edd? how come so urgent to deliver?

janf
enjoy your boredom. rem you wont get such feeling anymore until your child reaches 21 yeasrs old, is married or away for study...our last honeymoon!!!

morning everyone!

congrats, twendy and skinny pig!!

i had been feeling rather lousy cos both my feet swell so much lately. it's painful to walk till i felt like crying yesterday cos felt so sorry for myself. :p still so long to go before my EDD...

lok
what is hit plateau? Oh, ur induction is by IV drip izzit? Heard that this type of induction mtd tends to trigger stronger contractions. Mine was this prostaglandin tablet the nurse inserted at abt 9 plus pm, monitor CTG for 1 hr, then I went home to zzzz... Labour din start till like 530am.

I hope to birth soon cos I've already started my ML, and no matter what I'm gg back to work the last week of Oct after Term 4 ends (me in teaching) and will continue my ML in Jan and Feb.
If baby still doesn't come, means when i go back to work she'll be less than 2 mths old and I'm not really keen on that...
But now I'm back from my walk, and even carried my daughter too, but this doesn't weem to be working!

Bacon&egg
yes yes do go eat whatever u want. I'm thinking of ice-kachang. The one at Adam Rd is very nice cos the ice is sooo... fine and the colouring just stays there. I definitely can't eat that for a whole mth!
Think I'll go bake some cupcakes later too to eat.

thks for all the well wishes. i was discharged frm hosp yday but baby is still in hospital.

my darling underwent a major op on sat nite after docs discovered tat his stomach was completely blocked n his intestine was twisted. All these were not detected when I went for my detailed scans during my 20th n 28th wks...

it was one blow after another... first was the heart abnormality n then his stomach/intestine. Doc said his heart abnormality is actually quite common (happens to abt 6-7 babies out of 10) n this will go away on its own within 2-6wks (i'm praying hard tat it'll go away soon)...

I cried so hard when the docs told me tat they hv to operate on my baby... he was only 3 days old n still so tiny. i felt so helpless n my heart really ached when i saw him wz all the tubes.

His operation was a success n he's in NICU now. Docs say he'll hv to stay there for at least 1-2wks. He is breathing on his own but he cant feed cos he's on the drip n this means tat he'll hv to go hungry.

It is alrdy the 3rd day after his op n docs say he can only feed when he's able to pass motion on his own. I've been praying everyday, hopefully he'll recover soon. I know my baby is a strong boy n I've faith in him. I miss my baby so much but I cant see him everyday cos i'm in confinement.

i'm really looking forward to the day he can come home n i hope it'll be real soon.

To all mommies who hv popped, congrats.

I'l CY,

I was very nauseous as well. Finally puked during the pushing stage. But I thought it was due to the gas which they made me breathe in (smelled real bad). My gynae only needed to inject a tiny dosage of oxytocin and it took me 6.5hrs. If I want it really fast, then probably just increase the dosage but the pain will be quite intense without epi!

eve
oh dear. So sorry to hear abt ur little baby's surgery. Can imagine how heartaching it must be. Hope he recovers very soon.

eve,

Take care. Will pray for u and your little one.

isabelle,

OIC. Yup, administered oxytocin via IV drip.
On the plateau thingie, if u look at the CTG graph, it is supposed to resemble mountain ranges if it's regular. But my CTG came back with plateaus i.e. hit the max that it became a flatline but still cervix is closed and no pain...

haha, some pple say try making out or spicy food or stimulate your nipple etc.. Good luck!