(2008/09) Sep 2008

Talking abt hb.. haa.. why do all hbs ask silly questions?

Reading about what some of ur hbs and what my own hb say really makes me think why men and women are so different.

haha.. last night i threatened to hang a 3kg load on my hb's balls(hee) when he said "poor thing" to me as I was struggling to stand up after sitting on the platform.

He can even ask me "are u scared?" *pengz* who wont be?

I really wonder what he'll come out with during my labour.

eve,

Your little fighter will do well. Don't worry too much. BBs are a lot more resilient than we think.

Mandy,

Guideline is 1 cm per hour. But this is really just a rough guide. That's why pple can hv very long labour or very short ones.

storeberry
congrats on ur baby and jia you on the bf. U sure have a healthy milk supply!

skinny pig
woah, baby looks huge! Hmm mebbe by the time my little Gabrielle decides to come out, she might be that big too! Cos after this Thurs, she'll be overdue... And still no signs!

grace,
dun worry so much. For me, the induction was quite a pleasant experience. But mine was not oxytoxin drip. Mebbe u can ask for the prostaglandin tablet to be inserted up the cervix, think it's gentler than drip which tends to produce more intense labour. My labour was less than 6 hrs and only the last two and a half hrs or so was really intense.
In fact, now at the back of my mind I'm thinking shld I go for induction again cos labour is taking so darn long to start! I'm getting finicky...

lok
r u choosing to be induced this time, or no choice? Me wondering how now... This morn hubby just asked me so how when is baby coming? Aiyah, just go induce lah. He's tired of waiting too...

goldfish
Yikes!!! How to pry open cervix? OUCH!!!

sarahmay
u also like the black durian mooncake from home's fav? I like it too!

<font color="0000ff">Hi mummies,

thanks for all the support and suggestions. My mum has taken up all her leave. She's actually able to take unpaid leave to help me but her boss unable to find replacement so last min.. so instead of letting her feel obligated to her boss.. i told her i could manage lor.

complained to MIL abt the maid sleeping in the afternoon. guess wat!!!! MIL say.. "if u feel ok in the afternoon, den let her go rest". wah piangz.... cannot stand it lah.

And guess wat, MIL has packed office work for me to do at home. aaarrrgghhh... i'm already short of rest and i still have to do work.. how irritating.</font>

isabelle, grace
i rem for my labour, the prostaglandin pill didnt work at all. they inserted two to three cervix still thick...so in the end have to give oxytoxin.

isabelle
heheee..i heard hor, girls are usually more laid back. they like to snuggle in the womb long long time, boys are hte ones who like to hurry come out...

sarahmay
when is your hb coming back? by sat?

eve
you lil kieran looks sooo cute. nice chin!!!chins are really impt when they smile next time...must have nice chin..kekekek...congrats!!!

hbs and strange comments
yeah, talking about it. you know my hb never did cut my fb's cord? when my gynae ask him to after delivery, he was busy filming and said 'no need lah'. when i asked him later, he simply said 'but all umbilical cords are the same, ive cut so many already!!"

i mean, that's HIS SON!!!it's not for him!!!!!im still nagging him over it now, and he still doesnt get it

crayon
i just came back not too long ago from my walk. Walked up stairs, etc etc, then it rained so i even ran! But nothing's happening!!! Grrr...

lilboymum
oic. Guess i was already dilated 2cm for more than a week when i was induced. And mebbe i was gonna go into labour soon anyway. Just that my amniotic fluid level dropped so low i had no choice but to be induced...

Talking abt hbs and silly comments,

My hubby and I were talking over the wkend, can;t rem what we were talking abt but he actually commented : giving birth only what.
So qian bian right?
And he thinks that he's doing me a favour when I ask him to massage my acupoints to induce labour. I coldly told him. Excuse me, this is not a favour, it's teamwork okay! Wah lau! So felt like kicking his stupid ass.

sasa
i think you should talk to your hb about this. what is this doing work during confinement? is your maid on confinement too?if you are waking to do night feeds, then she shouldnt be taking afternoon naps! that's the basic understanding why you have maids in the first place!!!

im all for fair treatments of maids, but confinement is special time, and if i cannot rely on the maid to do something useful thenmight as well not have a maid.even companies have times where they are shorthanded and all employees have to chip in to do extra work? i think your mil should be understanding...

and if im not wrong, the maid is supposed to take care of your child after ML?i think you better reconsider. a maid who needs so much sleep usually cannot do work well. for such maids, if you overwork them, they will simply complain and leave after a while.

isabelle,

2 reasons why I'm likely to induce:
(1) Jonas is estimated to be ~3.4kg by 38 weeks. Any bigger and my gynae think I will have problem delivering naturally (given my size).

(2) Strep B positive, so need the IV drip to run for abt 4 hrs. My #1 was delivered in 6.5 hrs, so if we go with nature, she's afraid there is insufficient time to administer the anti-biotics.

sasa
oh dear, so ur mum is working. Do stay strong. Ignore her bo liao comments. No use getting worked up. Just treat her as transparent lor, as long as hubby is on ur side.
How come ur MIL can pack office wk for u? DO u work for her?

Crayonshin: Haha! good idea! Hang a 3kg load on his balls! My hubby yday also exasperated me with "I know you are strong enough" when i was telling him i was a bit anxious abt labour and abt how diff it is for me to pack his junk!!! Feel like boxing him. Fed up.

Isabelle: I never tried black durian mooncake leh. But sounds v good hor. What makes it black?

L'l Cy: But it is HIS son lor! I agree. Aiyah...the men just don't get it sometimes. We can just be thankful that they lvoe us and the children and are good providers. Sometimes cannot expect too much of their cognitive processing abilities.

Sasa: Like I suggested over MSN, use your mum to pressure your hubby to stand up for you! I cannot believe it...Aren't u entitled to ML tho it is family biz?!!!

sasa,

Is there someone else u can turn to for temporary help? Confinement agency? Any sisters? Part-time help?

I must say my hubby might be one of the better ones. He doesn't make such ridiculous comments. Anyway, he has his lousy bochup days as well. They just have to learn like we mummies do.

sarahmay
not sure how come the snowskin is black, but think it cld be black sesame paste?

lok
oh yah. I rem at canele thinking u have very slim bone structure! Wow, 3.4kg at 38 weeks sound quite big! All the best!

sasa, its your MIL for real?? She actually did not lift a finger to help and still tabao WORK for u to do during confinement. She's ultimate leh. And dont tell me u are going to do the work?

Sometimes I really wonder. We are all women and they have been thru pregnancies and all. Why are they behaving in this manner?

Like in school, just last week, one mother came up to me to discuss abt her daughter's results and all and at the end of it she said this "I think your class is totally not motivated bcos you are pregnant"
And so, its my fault to be pregnant and teaching lar?
And on friday, the last day of school, she came up to me again. Not to tell me to have a smooth delivery or to wish me luck but to ask me "So who's the relief teacher?"

Horrendous parents!

crayon
i thot u started ur ML already? How come u still went back? I dun want to go back cos I dun wan ppl to ask me how come u still haven't given birth yet?
I think that was just a selfish parent u met... The world revolves ard her only...

SarahMay,
Gynea used his fingers to wriggle inside me and I was literally ‘torn-apart’ loh. I dunno why he choose to open my cervic manually lo.. probably I am still 6 days away from my EDD?

Mandy! Same as u! My gynea will induce me on the 8th Sept if no show from now till then. I decided to start taking my ML starting tomorrow. The on and off cramps is making me uneasy in office.

Eve, did u hear the sound of ur tummy kena cut out and sewed back? Some creep out there was telling me can hear such stuff one leh! Issit true? How bad was the after-effect of c-section??

Crayonshinchan,
Keke.. u know wat? My hubby kept sanging ‘HAPPY BIRTHDAY’ song to my tummy yesterday before I visit the gynea. He wants the bb to come out yesterday bt he was running a flu and I told him ‘yah, u are sick. I rather bb is inside’. Bt somehow he dun get it lo.. and I was abit ‘irritated’ by it. I dun wanna the bb to caught his virus and scully he is being rejected out of the delivery ward and I am HOME ALONE inside??! I hope my hubby do not say ‘nonsense’ things to me when I am labour pain few days later from now…I will have ZERO threshold level of nonsense stuff lo :p

goldfish
when my hubby talks nonsense and i get pissed, he'll say i'm petty, got no sense of humour. He's even taught my daughter to say "Mummy petty, bad tempered. So naughty!"
#!%&amp;%#

isabelle,

Hope u will deliver very soon.
Jonas put on ~600g in 9days. He was 2.9kg at 36 weeks. That's why estimated to be abt 3.3 to 3.4kg at 38weeks. His kor kor was 3.38kg at birth and so far, his wt gain is better than kor kor.

l'lCy, i think they find that the first one will be exciting and all.. So will willingly cut and for the subsequent ones, they'll think its the norm liao and hence simply don bother! Men!

isabelle, hee.. my ML will officially begin next Monday. This wk if school needs me, I'll still have to go back.
hee.. and if my hb says "giving birth only wat!" I think i'll smack him silly! kns! haaa..
And if walking doesnt help, go have sex! I told my hb and his reply "You SIAO ah".

Sarahmay, ya ya! I detest it when hb says "i know u are a strong girl" Thats not wat we need at this moment! Maybe we can suggest parentcraft to include a module on "WHAT HB SHD SAY/SHD NOT SAY" just for the duh fathers.

haha.. goldfish.. ur hb is funny lah..can sing bd song somemore. And when I am stressed, I will have zero tolerance for nonsense as well and I am kind of worried that i'll snap at the midwives / gynae.hee.. I dont want to get thrown out halfway thru delivery.

Congrats to those who have just popped!
The NBs are so lovely..
Feel like giving each of them a hug!

Sarahmay: Doing my maternity PS again cos this time round there's my little girl to kiss didi on the tummy mah.. PLus, my girl like to give didi "food". Will place the pacifier and her bottle on my tummy to fee didi.. I thot I shd keep these memories.. And I do want some soft copies for scrapbooking..

Flos: here's the webbie for the Black Durian Mooncake from Homes Favourite
http://www.homesfavourite.com/promotions.htm

Isabelle: it's me who loves the mooncakes! the black snowskin is made of edible charcoal powder which is darn popular in Japan for health benefits, can't remember what exactly it's good for though. hehe

Sasa: aiyo, I used to think your MIL not bad leh, now she's just as bad. Maternity still pack work for you to do. Just ignore her lah, leave it aside. When she comes to visit, smudge some dark eyeshadow under your eye bags to "enhance" your already dark eye rings! Tell her you dun even have time to pee and poo now! See if she gets the hint anot!

SarahMay: Eamon was 3kg last mon, and that was an increase of 400 grams per week, as my gynae suspected, this boy is capable of growth spurts, it has been more than a week, so I'm guessing his weight to be at least 3.2 to 3.4kg now. And I can feel my tummy stretching so much more since my last gynae visit, and i know he's much bigger now, cos of his size, his butt and legs are much higher now, even though he's engaged already. Hubby noticed the growth in my tummy size, so he forbid me to indulge in the durian mooncake. Which, for your info, is made with pure durian pulp, so it's as good as eating like 5-8 seeds of durians!

haiz...

second time mummy, eh, are you sanitising those new born toys your fb played with when they were younger?

i wanted to do that, then look at the pile and very sian.

now my off days from son all taken up with packing and cleaning...arghhh....

Flos: I was too tired to go to office today! But will go tom since I'm seeing my gynae and it's just next to my office. ;)

skinny_pig: Kayne is so cute! His body looks so solid and nice to touch! auntie shazz wanna molest him! keke

eve: kieren is a fighter indeed! he looks so adorable!

SkinnyPig: I just saw the reading on the scale! Kayne is a big baby at 3.765kg!! Wow! Well done!
And very nice and shiny complexion..

IICY: I will get my maid to wash them in mild soap again.. You do it slowly lah. The NB won't be playing with the toys so soon.. So you can take your time a bit.. No stress..

Keke.. I think Crayonshinchan suggestion to include a module in PARENTCRAFT for DUH DADDY is a good idea!

I just came out from office toilet and realized my Sanitary Pad is stained wif blood lo… bt not a lot loh.. abit brownish red
Is that supposedly the SHOW? No rite? The bloody show is reallie BLOODILY MANY rite? Can someone reassure me on that???

Goldfish: Nope, cant hear the cutting at all. Dunno issit bcos the docs n nurses were talking so i didnt hear. My hubby was also beside me talking to me... the only thing i felt after the c-sect was the uncontrollable shivering tat i mentioned earlier.

After the epi effect went off, u still wont feel any pain if u dun move too much. U'll feel the pain once u start to get off the bed n walk. I hv a very low threshold for pain n i cried when i start to walk the 1st time. Its true tat u must force urself to walk more even though its painful. The pain will become bearable gradually. I could walk slowly w/o help on the 2nd/3rd day

Goldfish: forgot to reply your questions. After my 1st VE last mon, I've been bleeding, mixture of reddish and brown blood followed by discharge which is milky with mucous. I also had cramps, and gynae said it's normal. I lost my mucous plug 3 days after the 1st VE. The next day, went to see gynae cos I thought it was a show, but it's not. Was strapped on CTG and it showed 2 mild contractions in a hour. So was sent back home. Till now, I'm still feeling crampy and passing out the milky discharge, 2 days ago, I had some red blood in my discharge but it was only 1 time off, so this time I didn't bother to go see gynae.

something about bloody show: http://www.whattoexpect.com/pregnancy/symptoms-and-solutions/mucous-plug.aspx

btw, mommies who r giving birth in TMC... the nurses there r really 2 thumbs up! They were really helpful, caring, supportive, friendly, etc. Too many gd points to list
I didnt regret choosing TMC at all

mickey
My EDD is on 12th Sept. Still waiting, no signs of labour at all. My checkup is this afternoon, I might ask about induction today.

goldfish
think you better call your gynae...just ask him since it's already near your edd and your gynae is so keen to deliver you

thanks Eve and Storeberry for your story on c-sec.
I have really low pain threshold, and the fear of c-sec has been creeping in these few days

Is the uncomfortable feeling of pulling the baby out bearable????

What other things on c-sec can you advice
thanks!!!

DH and strange comments
i totally agree with everyone's views about how our DHs seem to crack up under the stress of us giving birth. I told my own DH that if he made one more stupid comment in the delivery ward i would hit him. and he looked so hurt and said "i'm only trying to cheer you up". aiyo i dont need cheering up i need pain relief!!:p

PILES
i got piles before delivery too and of course they ended up even larger after, but they do go away.
alabone, do you remember how i was sitting all funny in the hspital? it was the PILES lor
and sarah, that's what the float is for. think you can get it in any pharmacy, so that you are not sitting on the piles and in constant pain
also the gynae will usually prescribe a sitz bath which is kinda like a basin that you put on the toilet bowl and soak your tender bits in ...hehe. the ice is supposed to numb the area and reduce the inflammation

DH and strange comments
my hubby only tease me about looking and walking like a penguin. he thinks penguins are cute, so he calls me that. hmmn, thanks to the pamphlets and little guidebooks for new mums that I've been leaving around the house, my hubby started reading them and then realised that the process of pregnancy and labour is not easy. So he keep thanking me for carrying his baby and ensuring help is near whenever I need them. He even asked me what he can do to make me feel better during labour, I said I dunno, cos I'm not even there yet. Perhaps he should ask the gynae. Hee, but I kinda suspect, i'll probably say, if u can take over my place, it'll be great! haha

<font color="0000ff">l'lCY
now the maid handles the nite feeds. but i dun really trust her on that. coz she tends to be quite impatient. a few times i observe when she's feeding, she will keep telling him to faster finish. so i told her off.. muz give him time to breathe oso. of coz my tone wasn't that fierce. am so afraid if she gets annoyed, she will harm my boy instead when i go back to work.

my boy is currently drinking abt 80 - 90ml per feed. she didnt wake me up (i told her to wake mi up each time my boy cries) n decided on her own how much FM to feed my boy with. In the end, only fed him 60ml and was staring at him when i woke up to pump n check on them. den told her to make another 30ml. To her - as long as my boy falls asleep while drinking, he has had ENOUGH! How to trust her?????

Isabelle
I'm working for my inlaws. it's a family biz.. but den, it's still NOT RIGHT for me to work during confinement rite???? I mean.. shouldn't i get the deserved rest?????

SarahMay
I've in fact been complaining abt my MIL a few times in front of hb le.. but each time he juz keeps quiet. think he has nothing to say, sighz... how sad

Lok
now abit too late to get confinement help rite? my sis only 21 y/o this yr. still studying so not able to help. Guess i juz have to 'tong' another 14 days...

Crayonshinchan
i've got no choice. if i dun do it, the staff all got no pay leh.. tmr is pay day!!! And yes, i hate it tat she doesn't bother to lift a finger. she's a super big NATO!!!

Shazz
i tot so oso leh.. now i noe her pattern. She will still go for her classes and all. nvr bother to help mi look after my boy. sighz... so these days she talk, i give her face wor. No use de lah.. tell her i'm tired, den she will start saying, last time when she gave birth to hb, she went back to work 2 wks after birth, coz tat time FIL had to go for reservist and no one to care for the biz. like i care... hmph!!!</font>

sasa de mouse: poor thing! you can always share your woes with us. sigh, MIL are tricky people to deal with. really need to talk to your hubby before this upseting situation balloon into post natal depression.

goldfish
it's prob normal to have this sort of discharge esp since he pried u apart by 2cm!
I also lost the mucous plug after my first VE during previous preg.

Gynea update
My junior is near engaged..not dilated. Gynea did an insertion to check..really painful! CTG only picked up few mild contractions. But I am scheduled for induction on Thurs..woohoo..getting really excited and thinking hard now how to get a "bb sitter" for my furkid when we are at hospital...hmmm..

Went out last nite for my ice-kachang..tonite..maybe get a snow skin mooncake?! Any good place to eat ard Harbourfront, West Coast area?

Sarahmay,
I got my cheeseburger fix from macs
love carl's burger too..had guacamole with nachos at cha cha cha last friday!
Just go for it..satisfy those cravings..hee

Flos,
3M hooks work fine for the mozzie net, i put it up like 3 weeks ago to make sure it doesnt fall onto the cot. The net is generally v light and the 3M hook could take up to 3 kgs i think..
I got expert -Goodrich to wallpaper
they are pretty good and have alot of variety in designs

sasa
u poor thing. Think u shld try ur luck for a confinement lady otherwise it's so stressful!
Ur MIL is so jian(4). She knows that u're too nice not to do the wk cos this concerns so many other ppl's pay. And if u dun do it, she can always heap the blame on u for delaying the pay!

bacon&amp;egg
yummy! Ice-kachang!!
I'm thinking of getting my sushi and sashimi fix at Sakuraya at Pasir Panjang.

sasa: poor thing u...u just gave birth on 19 Aug and your workaholic mommy is already packing work home for you to process? You need to check from time to tim whether that maid is drinking up your son's milk! My bro's maid slurped up his son's puree and all these were caught on webcam! She was too impatient to wait for the bb to finish up the puree, so she took matters into her own hands and digested the bb food herself! LOL. She was also given a milk feeding checklist which requires her to sign off each time she finishes a certain amount of milk feed. Of course, my bro gave her the benefit of the doubt that when she puts down 120ml at 12noon, it is not 90ml lah...

SarahMay: U studied around Katong area? Whereabts? Haig Girls? TKGS? TKTS?

"Two large grapes" was in reference to skinny pig's description of her piles lah! Alabone's one is like cauliflower. I hope I dun have a veggie or fruit down there...LOL.

Goldfish: your gynae seems 'rough'...ouch!!! I think you might hv a show already? the bloody stains?

skinny pig: what are your initials? I can't seem to find your Photo before pregnancy. J something is it?

Jaymickey: Congrats to the birth of your lil princess!!!

cloud/Mei: u two are with KKH? Same due date?

lilboymom: NO leh, mine is a boy and he is a lazy and sleepy boy who prefers to stay inside mommy's womb till full-term...My DH is hoping he'll pop next Thur which will be his birthday. Like Goldfish's DH, mine's been serenading the happy birthday song to my tummy every nite, hoping that daddy and sonny will celebrate their birthay together year after year...hehee!

Btw, why did u mention that your DH has cut the umbilical cord several times already? Is your DH a gynae?!!

"you know my hb never did cut my fb's cord? when my gynae ask him to after delivery, he was busy filming and said 'no need lah'. when i asked him later, he simply said 'but all umbilical cords are the same, ive cut so many already!!"

alabone: ur MIL hasn't visited u yet? How come she is so uncaring one? tsk tsk...

eve: do u rem who at TMC did the scan for u? Anyway, your bb is such a fighter! Got a nice chin too
dun worry too much! he'll be in the PDs good hands

crayon: u sure are hardworking! Work until u pop? the other teachers are already resting at home leh!!!

congrats bigtoes, your bb looks v cute with rosy cheeks..

storeberry,
are you back home resting? do you latch on and pump out at the same time?

bacon&amp;eggs: u sure are a thoughtful mom!! Got Goodrich to come by and fix up the wallpaper for u!!! I just bought decals and will not stick them up until I"m done with my confinement... I'll ask my DH to buy those hooks to hang the canopy! tks!

ICE-KACHANG?!!! Yummmmmmmy...Hv u tried the Pasir Panjang hawker centre? Is it closed for reno? Dun really know where to eat at telok blangah. try redhill hawker then

bacon&amp;egg: i like Turqoise Room at Gillman Village area.
congrats! you're gonna see junior soon! I'm still a walking time bomb! haha

Am really bored at home. Itching for a spree.

Any mummies keen on getting California Baby's Calendula Cream? This website is having a 20% sale till 15 sep. With shipping and all, the cream should be around $15-$16. BP selling at $17-18 cos there was a price increase recently.

California Baby's Calendula Cream Spree - only for mummies in this thread!

http://www.newlondonpharmacy.com/california-baby/calendulacream.htm
Cap at 32 tubs
shipping within US is $16
Exchange rate: tentatively at 1.43, will charge according to actual credit card rate
Collection: self-collect at Toa Payoh or mailing after confinement period is over in early Oct 2008
Calendula Cream at US$8
1. shazz - 6 tubs