(2008/09) Sep 2008

Yoz mummies count me in for the gathering!

btw what is zhua zhou? izzit some traditional mooncake fest rituals which im not familiar with?

Date: October 3rd, 2009, Saturday
Time: 2 - 5pm
Venue: Tampines Street 83, Blk 865
1. Kym + Scarlett + Hub
2. Liz + Kaiden
3. Eileen + Isabelle + Gabby
4. Rachel + Kydric
5. Breadmum + Ethan : Zhua Zhou
6. Angeline + Carine : Zhua Zhou
7. Peiling + Jonathan (+Samuel?)
8. Jane + Simon + Samuel
9. Mamyvelle + Lovelle + Niece : Zhua Zhou
10. Traz + Jvel
11. Dmbb + JD (+ hub?)
12. Charlene + Kaleb + Hubby tbc
13. Millie + Alston- Zhua Zhou
14. lilboymum +CH + CY

breadmum,

That's quite normal to me! Sometimes Kydric only eats like 5 small spoonful of the whole pot of porridge (lunch & dinner)! I concluded that my cooking didnt taste as good as IFC! hahaha.. (I think I tend to add a little too much fish/meat.... )

1. Kym + Scarlett + Hub
2. Liz + Kaiden
4. Rachel + Kydric : Zhua Zhou
8. Jane + Simon + Samuel
10. Traz + Jvel
11. Dmbb + JD (+ hub?)
14. lilboymum +CH + CY

Kym,
U need any help in gathering the things for the zhua zhou ceremony?? Let me know k.

1. Kym + Scarlett + Hub
2. Liz + Kaiden
8. Jane + Simon + Samuel
10. Traz + Jvel: zhua zhou
11. Dmbb + JD (+ hub?)
14. lilboymum +CH + CY

Heh Lilboymum!

Welcome back!
Zhua Zhou is this traditional thing where our one yr old babies pick out an item from a basket and that determines their future destiny (not connotations of religion or race whatsoever) ! It is a Chinese custom and is still practiced in Taiwan and China! I thought it might be fun!

Traz,
I need a stethoscope, a real one!.. hahaha.. can find one?

Millie,
It is actually accessible by foot~ Walk through the stadium and across the park, my place is just right across the road from the park.

Oh Yes,
I need some 'Ang Ku Kuehs' and 'Red Eggs'
Any mummies can prepare those?

Before our Zhua Zhou, Mummies lets guess which babies will pick what !!

Zhua Zhou (抓週)

意義

書: 會讀書,適合做學者、專家
Book: Studious, May become a scholar, professor etc.
筆墨 : 會成為作家、畫家
Pen and Ink: Writer, Artist, Publishing
印章: 有權勢,會做大官
Seal: Has Authority, Politician, Judge etc.
算盤/計算機: 會當商人、會計師,適合從商
Calculator: Merchant, Trader, Broker, Financial Officer
錢幣: 將來會很富有
Coin: Will be extremely wealthy
雞腿: 有福氣,表示一生將不愁吃穿
Chicken Leg: Prosperous, A life of satisfaction
尺: 表示將來可成為設計師、建築師
Ruler: Architect, Product Designer, Land Development Surveryor
蔥: 代表聰明
Spring Onion: Very bright (May amount to any careers due to brightness and braininess)
蒜: 代表善於計算
Garlic: Good in accounting for and calculating (May amount to any careers or personality that requires this trait)
芹菜: 代表勤勞
Celery: Hardworking and Steadfast (May amount to a personality that values hard work)
稻草: 適合農事工作
Wheat Grass: Agricultural, Horticulture, Natural careers
刀劍: 能當軍官、警察
Sword: Soldier, Policemen, careers in the airforce, navy, infantry
聽筒: 適合醫護工作
Stethoscope: Health Services, Doctors, Vets, Nurses

Hi Kym, pls add me in for the zhua zhou.., thnks!

1. Kym + Scarlett + Hub
2. Liz + Kaiden
8. Jane + Simon + Samuel
10. Traz + Jvel: zhua zhou
11. Dmbb + JD + hub: zhua zhou
14. lilboymum +CH + CY

Kym,

Wah! There are so many items in the Zhua Zhou ah? Too bad I can't join u on 3 Oct. Tink my gal will definitely take the calculator. It's her fav toy! Or is there a interpretation for handphone? =) Hps are her all-time favourite!

Rach - i think he prefers my mum's cooking cause he will finish up whatever she cooks. My mum commented that my porridge is too bland.

Mooncakes flavour - i will bring either pure lotus with yolk or choc praline. dependant on what hubs eat. wahaha.

Ang ku kueh - think buy la. we can all split the cost.

Hi Kym - i called the ang ku kueh stall and they are closed from friday onwards till 7 Oct. Ji Xiang confectionery. For baby's lunar 1st year old. must buy a pair of palm sized ones. And its tau sar.

kym
wah...i dun hv doctor friends or relatives to borrow a stethoscope from leh...toy stethoscopes i hv 2...must be real one ah?

Kym
Zhua Zhou sounds fun, for a while i thought it sounds quite scary...

i see if i can get a stethescope. it should be somewhere somewhere. but eh. sorry did i miss the addy?

jojobar - my little e also likes mamil gold. So am switching him.

Mummies - any ideas if its ok to mix formula? i.e. day Mamil, night Pediasure

cause i heard pediasure can increase appetite for all age groups.

breadmum
pediasure doesnt increase appetite, it is a bti like meal replacement. children who have poor appetite use it as meal subsitute.it has double calories compared to normal formula.

think it's ok to mix

lilboymum - thanks. its meal replacement huh? wa like that will bb be FAT? if totally on Pediasure.wahaha.

i am toying with mixing so to increase his weight. he is 8.7 kg and is in the 90 percentile range for his height. PD says he must be 9.7kg at lest. So am thinking of ways to fatten him besides giving him whatever he wants to eat.

Jojobar - can call abbott. free 400g tin as sample. Alternatively, you can ask from your PD. i got a few sample packs of 45g from my PD. So that u dont waste money buying a tin which little one may not consume.

breadmum
think the point of pediasure is to fatten up children with poor appetite :p... but hor, not all children take to it. i wanted to give it to my fb but he hated it. and when i tasted it, it tasted like cardboard.literally!

lilboymum - the classic vanilla is the worst taste of all. choc is the best. Golden honey, i've not tried yet. Maybe that will taste good? I'll try and tell u.

agree, not all kids like all brands of milk. Mine hates sweet stuff with the exception of marshmellows

re: pediasure

i hv tried giving pediasure to my #1 years back as he was underweight and had very poor appetite. But it didnt help much in his weight gain.

Recently i tried giving to #3 upon her 1st bday...she didnt like it at all! I tasted a bit and gosh! Its so thick and sweet! Just saw the pd today for meimei's 1st yr jab, she also mentioned that jvel is a bit small at 7.5kg at 1 yr old. She is at the 10%tile. Then she suggested giving pediasure too..and agreed that it's thick and sweet. She suggested diluting it a bit..
will try later..

Breadmum,
You mean it's a must to buy palm sized ang ku kueh on bb's lunar 1yr old BD ?? Sorry i know nuts abt chinese tradition . Can enlighten me ?? U mean ang ku kueh got diff size or juz buy tau sar ang ku kueh can liao ??

traz
ch is on the 10th percentile too.
... doc told me not to worry just as long as she doesnt slip further. at around 10mths, she was 7.1kg. havent weigh her since. but she should be the same weight as jvel now. but then her korkor is a 3rd percentile bb, so doc just say..well, think it's in the family (wonder why not happening to mummy and daddy)

breadmum
ive tasted the choc one. and its still yucks leh..havent tried the honey...but since then my boy has been lactose intolerant (though hes better now) so havent been giving him cow's fm..

Millie - i also know nuts about chinese tradition. its when i called the ang ku kueh place then they told me that for 1 year olds , they must specially make the palm sized ones and must be a pair and becos of the size, they can only make tau sar vesion. One is $2.50, a pair is $5. So out of curoisty, i told them to make me one pair. And since hubs and i like the peanut version, we bought some small ones , just to eat.

I will post the pictures later tonight.

lilboymum - Pediasure is suppose to suit even lactose intolerence kids, says abbott.

erm ... pediasure can help in weight gain ? will check with my pd whether got any samples anot. cause if taste yucky dunno my girl will drink anot. she weigh 7.5kg at 12 mths.

hopefully will help in her weight gain. she's drink 120ml of milk every 3 hrs , is that too little?

Kym - Cordelia has volunteered to contribute 15 red eggs since she is doing for her son's bday that night. i will bring them to your place. Thanks Cordelia.

Mummies - here's the palm sized ang ku kueh.
3050924.jpg

breadmum,
so wat do u do wif the akk? feed bb some? this yr becos of the double 5th mth on the lunar calendar, our bbs' lunar bdays will be LATER than the normal calendar...so i suppose most of our bbs here hv not celebrated their lunar bday...a simple ceremony will be eating red egg right? wat else? (ok, besides zhua zhou) I never celebrated 1st lunar bdays with my #1 & #2 actually..

cheesecake - i fed my little one with the akk. But traditionally according to the nice uncle at the akk shop, little one is to step on it before he eats it. But i find it unhygenic to do that.who eats akk that is stepped on? LOL.

i heard red eggs and mee sua is what we can feed our little ones on the actual day. besides zhua zhou.

any mummies can enlighten?

all the discussion of traditions for the bbs lnar birthday is interesting but help! anyone can tell me when my bb's lunar birthday is? He was born on 25 Aug 08?

Hi Dseptkon,

Your bb lunar birthday is 8th month chu 25. haha..i wonder if u understand what i'm trying to say. anyway....yr bb lunar should fall on oct 13 this month...

have fun....would love to join...but abit too far.....and my gal has her playgroup around that time....

hi mich

thanks a lot! then i guess jon can participate in the zhua zhou thing at kym's. cos kym mentioned that it should be carried out before bb turns one by the lunar calendar. whoohoo! should be fun

so can i check - are we supposed to be bringing mooncakes or akk to kym's place?

dseptkon - just bring 1 mooncake and some akk, if you can. then Kym dont need to go and get akk.

am bringing 2 mooncakes and a small loaf of bread. And cordelia's 15 red eggs.

mummy nana, yes.....i see the chinese calender till blur blur....dseptkon - so sorry abt it....so it should fall on sept 13 .....

For this saturday's gathering, bring a clothing change and diaper change if your babies want to play by the water pit! I will set up the water-pit outside and the babies can all play together =)

Breadmum,
I oso love the peanuts version. BTW, wat do u do wif the palm sized tau sar ang ku kueh ?? Oh...Alston's lunar BD is on fri...think i'm not in time for the kueh...

Mamyvelle,
Alston drinks 240ml every 3 or 4 hrs. But i oni cooked porridge for him for lunch only and he drinks oni milk with cereal 4 dinner.

As long as the Zhua Zhou is held in the 'lunar month' of baby's birthday, it's good to go!

Scarlett was born on 'Ba Yue, Chu Yi' 1st August

Kym,
OIC, anyway ,2moro is Alston's lunar BD, but din get any ang ku kueh or red eggs for him
BTW, i haven received ur address details yet, hv u sent out ?

im contributing one box chocolate mooncakes...
see ya!

kym
eh would you be bringing out your lunar calendaR? coz im not sure when is ch['s lunar bday...she is born september 20th...

l'l CY^^l'l CH (lilboymum),
CH's lunar BD shld be ba yue er shi yi (lunar 8mth 21st day ) ,cos alston's ang mo BD is 13 sept and lunar BD is 8mth 14th day).

Mich,
I tink Kym meant her doter's lunar BD is ba yue chu yi cos scarlett's ang mo BD is 31 Aug and if i dun rem wrongly, last yr lunar 8mth 1st day fell on 31 Aug 08.

all u mummies are making me see green..hahaa... i want to bring my gal to play too....n she loves to play in the water...hahaa...

<font color="aa00aa"> Morning mommies! Those going for the Zhua Zhou at Kym's this weekend - enjoy!!
Take more photos to share &amp; lets the rest of us know which baby picked with item ok! Too bad we aren't going, but i think Kieran would most prob end up picking the book</font>

just came back form kym's pl...
her new pl is very soothing and comfortable..and i like the colours..
kym
thks for having us..sorry that we've messed up your new pl..and it's not easy to organise the zhua zhou activity..well done!
can email me jvel's zhua zhou pics? Cos i was with her and cldn't take any pics.
my email: [email protected]
u can add me in facebook using the same email address too.
let me tidy the pics i took a bit first, b4 posting them here..
not very good shots, cos all done with jvel in my arms...she was so sticky..didnt want to be left alone at all!