(2008/08) Aug 2008

<font color="#CD3278">Hello mummies!!</font>

Am back fr Tokyo!!
What's the current hot topic?

<font color="#CD3278">Catherine</font>
Hmm.. Cold! Winds made it worse.. But the cold weather kinda made Ashley a little 'hibernated' hahah

Ashley was okie except she hated the stroller to the core *bleah* She was very happy in the Scootababy.. Realised going on a vacation with bb must lower expectations, either
a) cover less places but more thoroughly or,
b) cover all the places but touch &amp; go

She was quite easy during take-off &amp; touch downs.. No need to latch on. But when she was tired &amp; the extra noise (the droning engines were gd though) on top of the lack of space to walk to drive her to sleep, made her cranky.

Oh yah, if there are ppl, particularly those who dislike bb &amp; sit near the bassinet seats, who stare at you when bb cries, stare back! They ought to know better than to choose those seats..

What time is ur flight? I was staring so hard at the luggage the night before we left, so manymany things to pack.. hahah

Nini,
the hair tonic is called Wella Professional Exilir Serum .. for nite one. The shop shld know. They sell 60+ at salon but same price at 36.90 at Venus, same as the Serum for day that celyn is using.

I am planning to go get the day one cos mine is at nite and have to wash out in the morning.

Celyn,
Yu Ze where got Jia Liao Bi? He so active, can crawl, can move here move there non-stop action .... need alot of energy know ;)

Solids. Kai seems like he is not keen on puree leh ..... so far i tried rice cereal, sweet potatoe and pumpkin (today) .. he always give the disgusting and wan to vomit look then cry. Does that mean he dun like?
i make vv water liao, add alot of breast milk inside oso ... but he takes only 2 mouthful the most and he is more keen to play with the spoon. I tried to put it in his mouth but he holds the spoon and then i cannot put into his mouth. His grab quite strong one. Some more he'll cry ... means he dun like is it?

If dun like puree then how? start with porridge straightaway? Porridge must puree oso?

Me dunno what to do cos last time maid fed my #1 , i dun remember what instructions i gave her liao.

celyn,
your hair got much improvements not ah?
i still drop hair but i think lesser but hubby says i drop alot wor ..

i see baby hair but before i use oredi have, just tat it is quite long liao, maybe it helped to stimulate growth faster?

When using the trains to get ard in Tokyo, look out for the yellow signboards which wld direct u to elevators &amp; escalators.. Otherwise u might need to carry the stroller up the stairs. If the flight is short, still okie, but some are really long..

While waiting for trains at the platforms, there are some signboards tt indicate the location of elevators &amp; escalators (according to the car number) of your arrival station.. Tt's really helpful coz you 'waste' less time searching for one when you arrive

shint
May not be that he don't like puree/cereal. I had the exact same problem as you...then later realised he was too full, so no appetite. I cut down his milk feed and no problem feeding the solids liao!

celyn/ shint,

which is the hair serum that is gd for hair loss? got day and night version? can buy at venus only? i'm using biolage now but can only get it at the salon in chinatown, so if the other one is easier to buy, i might just try that one out.

rata,

is it too late to get the panels from you? hb and i decided to get it after doing some measurements. is yours blue and red? and u're giving the door or the panel with toys?

hisstory

My flight is 11.30pm but very cham must go at 7.30pm
Cos my little niece &amp; nephew wants to go there for dinner to send bernice off. Haha. Think they love going airport. Ya very stressed with the amt of things to bring for bb alone. Too much look like so kuazhang. Too little worry she not enuf to wear.

feeding:

anyone giving solids 3x a day already? and serving solids during mealtimes, i.e. brekkie, lunch, dinner? i'm thinking of doing a total switch in jonah's feed schedule...dunno if it'll work out but this is what i have in mind:

8am: breakfast (cereal + fruit)
10am: snack (milk) - if he's still awake
12pm: lunch (porridge + side dish)
2pm: biscuits (if he can eat them...he has no teeth yet)
4pm: snack (milk)
6pm: dinner (porridge + side dish or potato + side dish)
8pm: snack (milk)
10pm: milk again?

i haven't deviated from his normal feed times but just decided to feed solids during breakfast/ lunch/ dinner timings. thought this would help cut down a little bit on his milk intake and also get him used to eating at meal times. the idea is to use milk as a supplement rather than main meal. but looking back, i seem to be feeding him almost every 2 hours!!! i'm hoping to eventually drop the 10am, 2pm and 8pm feeds, else it'll be so tiring feeding him so frequently.

i might start when he turns 8 mths end of this month. hopefully the change is not too drastic for him!

heheh.. Dun worry, there's ur hb &amp; ur mom ard to help out with all the luggage
Have fun &amp; take lots of pix with bb Bernice k?

Hope she guaiguai sleeps on the flight to &amp; fro &amp; is the apple of the eyes of all the stewardesses

Oh dear! Cold in Tokyo sounds not too nice! My flight to Tokyo is also 11.30pm tomorrow like Catherine. I am not bringing Amber but just my son, Alden. Catherine, I understand how you feel about the packing!! Though Alden is 3 yrs plus but he has sensitive nose so I am worried about the cold weather for him. I leave it to my hubby to delete what is not needed. I know the stewardess would be serving food at 4am!! Surely my son be sleeping rather than eating...it's his first flight and on SQ A380 so hope it be a memorable flight for him. My hubby has done the internet check-in...yippee!!

i'm supposed to pump at 12am but my nap from 9pm, turn out to be a good sleep from 9pm till now. so i;m up for pump now. hehehe....

timminbuzz,
don't know leh. apply a bit on the chest does make him sleep better. didn't apply everyday lah, only now cos of his flu.

shint,
he eat so much yet no weight gain, so jia liao bi loh. maybe he got high metabolism.

i think the serum work for me leh. still drop hair but so much lesser. i think even lesser than pre-preg days.

kai hold his spoon, i think he want to feed himself. yu ze does that too. or your feeding is too slow for him. feed too slow, yu ze will cry. i don't do puree at all. porridge, i just grind to smaller bits and cook. maybe you can grind and cook, then its eaiser to be soft or cook very long for it to be soft. if you want to grind, must wash and sun it first.

krex78,
i'm using the day one and shint is using the night one. i saw both selling at venus. the rest of the place, i don't know.

i also like feed him every 2 hours cos i try to give milk between solid feed. i want to start 3 meals for him on weekends, not sure about weekdays. maybe babysitter already started for him liao.

catherine and earnestmum,
have fun and enjoy your trip.

celyn,

so the name of the hair tonic is called Wella Professional Exilir Serum? then they will indicate whether it's for day or night is it? if i wash my hair at night, then i suppose i shld get shint's one?

do u feed yu ze solids as a meal now or snack? and timings wise do u feed during meal timings or snack timings?

krex78, nope not too later is not taken yet. yes is standard blue &amp; red with yellow connecting part. i m selling the panel of door. u stay punggol?

i'm up again at 6.40am to feed yu ze then cook his porridge and breakfast for myself. now pumping. yu ze didn't go back to sleep after feed but was playing himself on the cot till he fall asleep. heheh....

krex78,
the one i use is wella's system professional energy serum. glass bottle and look silver. i also wash hair in the night on weekday but i still use this lah. the one shint use looks gold in colour and is supposed to be more ex when you buy from kimage (that's why i buy the silver one cos cheaper, heheh). later i try to find the link for you. i posted before on the thread.

i try to feed yu ze during meal time.
7am - 170ml bm
9am - porridge
1pm - 80-120ml bm
3pm - porridge
5pm - 80-120ml bm
8pm - 200ml bm

something like that. his in between milk, i will feed around 1.5-2hours after porridge. i don't know how to add in the 3rd meal cos if i give porridge again at 5pm, there is no milk in between loh.

krex
from wat i've read, milk is still supposed to be the main food diet for bbs till they're 12mths. solids are complements. i'm always wondering if ethan is drinking enough. very worried that he's not drinking enough cos he's taking to solids very well. he's takes bfast, lunch &amp; dinner now after his milk feeds.

hisstory,

welcome back!!

Cat,

as u r gng to Hokkaido, it's a must to hv enough for ur gal. Not to worry about needing to buy if needed, look out for 24hrs megamart. Shinjuku has drug stores n lots of convi stores.

Enjoy ur trip!
PS...... temp drop agn, so pls take care esp sunset n after.

shint,

as long as less than 100 per day, dropping of hair is ok.

I think the hair loss as u said is help grow hair, nt drop hair pah? helping the scalp to hold the hair?

any mummies need

Pumpkin Patch summer 09 catalogue? There r 2 x 30% off coupons in each catalogue ( valid till 30/04/09).

I hv 2 copies.

<font color="#CD3278">Cat &amp; Earnestmum</font>
Enjoy your trip k?

Earnestmum, it was cold but still manageable.. Think coz we mainly stayed within buildings or in areas where there're lotsa buildings (cuts down on wind speed) aft sunset, so not to jialat.. Hope ur little boy's nose wld be fine &amp; tt he can enjoy his trip!!

<font color="#CD3278">sylvia, timmin &amp; Rei</font>
Update u mummies later.. Me going to upload pix first

<font color="CB3558">Nini</font>
I don't really know what defines overstimulation actually. I'm guessing too much play, too much new experiences, too many pple talking too much to him. I don't think he gets too much on weekdays cos I don't go out everyday. Daddy come home oso never play with him until very excited. I always try to find quiet places to feed him and make him sleep when outside cos he's v easily distracted. I think it's quite moderate ba.

Just when I thought Isaac can sleep thru, he woke up after I logged out - cried from 11:15-12:45. We made the mistake of trying to feed him at 11:30 when he won't stop crying. And like in the past, mouth won't budge means won't budge. He was just happy we carried him. Feels like back to square one again. I knew things were too good to be true.

<font color="CB3558">gayle</font>
You got the camera from Taka bb fair? Think I'll go again later to check it out. I want to see bb when he's trying to fall asleep.

<font color="CB3558">celyn</font>
You missed your pump and can tahan until 4am? Wah! Last night I only missed my pump by half hour and I leaked ald. I hate it when leak. Anyway, I've been trying to delay my 4:30am pump until I wake up say around 8am, but can't seem to do it. 6am oso good, but I keep waking up - as if subconsciously worrying about leak or discomfort.

<font color="CB3558">hisstory</font>
You upload pix to FB? Can't wait to see them. Did Ashley get to play in the snow? So envious. I oso want to play in snow.

<font color="CB3558">Cat &amp; earnestmum</font>
Have a safe and good trip!

<font color="#CD3278">Brie</font>
Me in the midst of uploading.. No snow in Tokyo, but no rain too, till the yday morn on our way to airport.. So very thankful!!

<font color="#CD3278">Brie,NiNi &amp; Timmin</font>
My fellow buddies in sleep training.. Haiz, just when i thought things got better with sleep, things have taken a turn

She slept thru the night when I was at my parents before our Tokyo trip, except for 1 night. Then before we left, things were still okie.. In Tokyo things were haphazard, some nights were gd, others were really bad. Particularly the final night, she just woke up &amp; cried so badly.. Even after nursing her, she wasn't ready to settle down. Had to sway her in the end.. Dunno if we are to attribute that to her tiredness??

And last night, also the same.. Haiz!! I told hb to let her CIO.. And so she did at 230-250 &amp; 545-630 this morn. I really dunno what to do.. Feed or dun feed, carry or dun carry (coz sometimes she still cries badly when carried)

I think HB is almost concussed

Interrace No prob!

Update on Play Yard
Sorry wasn't able to update last nite as baby was fussing and refused to sleep fm 9.30 to 12am *faint*. I did call CC yesterday and the latest update is that they have ordered 20+ sets from supplier and hope to receive all by next week. However, they cannot confirm if they will receive all 20 plus stocks at once. They will only update me next week once the stock arrives and they have reserved 9 sets for us now.

As for better price, I asked for lower price but they say best price liao. I will try again next week when they call.

<u>Play Yard : (CC=$140, KP=$149)</u>

*Rata got 2 panels

1. Vern - 6 Panels
2. Krmeow - 6 Panels
3. Dongle - 6 Panels
4. april - 6 Panels
5. jojobar - 6 Panels
6. babyemma - 6 Panels

Total - 9 sets

<font color="DB4C30">taking care of bb alone (really alone)</font>
Who was it that hb was outstationed ar? How do you do it? Got help? My hb is going away end of the month for only a week and I'm beginning to freak out! When I 1st learnt abt it I thought ok, I can do it. I will be able to handle everything myself! He ask me want to go, I even protested cos I think travelling with bb to Paris will be difficult. Then now as the date draw nearer, I'm starting to get nervous! The thought less housework to do cos now got PT cleaner, and a new wallet that I'm free to choose online (dun even have mood to choose now) doesn't help anymore LOL *laughter in pain* Having someone around to backup take care of bb is so important! I feel like such a horrible mum to be afraid of being left alone with my bb for days on end.

<font color="#CD3278">Brie</font>
Hmm, my hb was but only for 4 days.. But next week, he's off for another 4 days. Am going to take refuge at my parents' (again)
U wanna stay with ur parents?

Jocelyn
as per what Rata posted its $140 for 4 panels, $210 for 6 panels. It's 1 box - 4 panels, $140 at Cheong Choon (CC) and $149 if you buy from Kiddy Palace (KP).

This is a collective order for purchasing from CC so that 2 mummies can share 3 sets so that each can get 6 panels. 6 Panels makes a nice rectangle that should fit most rectangular playmats. If you take just 1 box or 4 panels, you get a square only. Even if you have a big playmat, no point getting 8 panels, as it will prob be be too big.

Buying from CC also cos got free delivery and they are will to split the boxes and deliver for us. So must have even number of mummies to share. But if Krex doesnt that Rata's panel, odd number is ok cos one of us just needs to take rata's 2 extra panels

*Phew* Hope that clarifies, do add your name to the list if you are interested and I will check if I can get more sets for CC. No promises though
Sorry to the other mummies for being so long winded haha..

<u>Play Yard</u>
6 panels - $210 (price from Cheong Choon - will try again for lower prices)

*Rata got 2 panels

1. Vern - 6 Panels
2. Krmeow - 6 Panels
3. Dongle - 6 Panels
4. april - 6 Panels
5. jojobar - 6 Panels
6. babyemma - 6 Panels

Total - 9 sets

briebaby,
my last pump before 12am was 9pm. so up to 4am, its 7hours still can. cos usually i will pump around 1130pm and next will be 6am, so this is already about 6.5 hours. so ok lah.

sometimes on weekends, when i feel lazy, i only pump at around 7am. so it still about 7 hours stretch for the night.

<font color="DB4C30">hisstory</font>
My dad works a lot, and I'm afraid my stepmum and I might kill each other if we spent too much time alone. Hahah. That thought is even scarier than being alone with Isaac *another painful laugh*.

Most mums here have problems with their MILs, I have problems with my stepmum which feels v much the same. Just that my stepmum never had any children herself which makes me not bother much about any advice she gives wrt child rearing - I listen oso only to give my father face. Also, I can't stand it when she tries to be close with my bb. I secretly wish everyday that Isaac rejects her. She likes to put her hand out for Isaac to smell as if he's a dog. Sheesh!

<font color="DB4C30">celyn</font>
My pump intervals are usually 6hrs. But I dunno why, it always revolves around the 4:30AM session no matter how I miss the time during the other pumps.

vern
thank for ur clarification, yup got confused only after reading the last thread... hehe

hmm, am considering whether to invest in playyard after all...since $210 is not cheap ar. when is the last day to revert?

hisstory: Ya I know it is not easy to start all over again.. But i believe if got the "foundation" already, it will be alot easier to re-train. But it is a torture to hear their helpless screams n cries.. I for one is quite soft-hearted so sometimes when i heard my Braiden CIO, i also weeped. haha :p

BrieBaby: Slowly ba.. Takes alot of patience. I believe our efforts will be paid off somehow
Both my niece one 8 mths n one coming 2yrs old. Still NEED to be carried to sleep. At least now I am allowing my son to learn to be independent, learn to disover his new ability that he CAN sleep by himself. Just that for now, like what timminbuzz said, he is just too used to us.. So try the gradual extinction method. I am s00o looking forward to the day I can go on night-dates with hubby again like timminbuzz! haha

Last night also very drama again..haiya dun say liao. Endure endure endure!!!

nini,
was doing a search on exersaucer &amp; happen to see you selling yours. Does Braiden like it? seems that the price is quite reasonable... me thot of buying one for cayla but dont feel like spending more than $100 for something she wont use after she starts to walk lei...

Sylvia,
The gold color one - Exilir (forgot how to spell) .... it's to prevent hairloss and improve hair growth.
It seems to work for me in the hair loss(i see lesser hair loss when i wash hair with normal hairloss shampoo) and also got baby hair growing.
not sure if the baby hair is due to pregnancy grownth and hubby had tried it but he said no effect, he's balding!

The one i a\m using is helping to reduce hair loss as well as promote growth. Now i have alot of baby hair on the front part of the head, above the forehead .... it's about 2 inches long liaoz.
Then in the middle, hair parting portion, back of the head, I can see baby hair as well.
Doesnt matter if it;'s due to pregnancy or what, am happy that it is growing back.

I was also like going Botak .... thank God now it's ok.

Rata, Yuuri,
Just now i tried feeding Kai with pumpkin again, this time slightly before his milk feed.
Then he abit eh eh so i know he hungry liao. But he still dun like leh, had only a few mouthfuls of quite watery one as I added more breastmilk to entice him.
In the end i still give him his milk feed as he was oredi crying quite cham.
Is he not ready?

Krex,
My one is for nite use and gotta wash out in the morning. Sometimes i have no time i din wash out lor.
Thinking of buying the day use one then can use both, maybe can promote more hair growth? i lost alot of hair liao, now can feel it's so thin as compared to my previously volumous hair - people call it naturally big hairdo which i am so proud of. haha.
Venus is at AMK, outside the AMK hub and Clementi oso has one.

Celyn,
Your bottle still left how much? Mine, 1/3 left cos hubby was using and he used alot each time.
I think i not slow. Kai takes the spoon and plays with it. If i try to force it into his mouth,he will hold it tight tight i can't even put it in, i have to use another spoon.
Then he give the disgusting look again .. today,i added more breastmilk and still he like dun quite like it, shortly cry and wail and wan to sleep ... though he woke up not long before ... then i fed him milk.

Kai sleeps alot leh, sometimes can sleep 2-4 hours per stretch.
At nite oso ok one, the most wake up 1 time and then after feeding, sleep again.
from 10+pm till next morning. I fed this morning at 5am and din feed till 11am.

timminbuzz,
Milk is still the main food till 12 months? really ah .. good! hehehe.
I so tired know ... milk is so easy to feed and prepare.hhaha.
I gotta go search and read more on this .. cos now i abit stress that Kai is not really on any semi-solids yet and he dun seem to like the things i feed him.
Perhaps it's the way i prepare it? I only steam it and then puree it ... add breastmilk to it before serving.
Oh, this week i must find time to go collect my HT cereal from u liaoz. Maybe he will like?
Prob Wed or so. we can meet for lunch at AMK hub?
OKie mommies,
I gotta go to a relative house for dinner liao.

Brie, celyn,
My pump can now stretch up to 10 hours ok ... cos sometimes i have to bathe, feed and put Kai to sleep, then feed, bathe and put #1 to sleep and read story .. before i can pump ... all these after work. By then 10pm liao.
So from the time i pump in office ie 12pm or 1pm ... it's oredi almost 10 hours.
Milk still the same ... no increase. I suppose there is so much a breast can produce eh.

shint,
i still got about half a bottle left.

you power lah, 10 hours. by 8hours, i already can feel it liao. if need to stretch so long, must have lots of things to do to distract me man. heheh...

shint
My boy also hated the pumpkin I made...but I suspect its cos I did such a bad job. He's ok with cereal and heinz puree though. Perhaps you can try those first before confirming he doesn't like puree.

brie, nini, hisstory
yes. there are good days and there are bad days. enjoy the good days and hang in there on the bad days. cos the good days will come again.
ethan's having a bad day. he started crying once i put him down to bed again. dunno y. he has been going to bed without any crying for the longest time. i thot he didn't hv enough during the final nursing and i went in to feed him. once i got in and picked him up, he was quiet! so i knew he wasn't still hungry. he still wanted me to hang on to him. i tried nursing him, but he didn't want anymore milk. no choice, i kissed him and put him down again. as expected, he started crying again. i feel so heartpain. cos he's having a cold. dunno y he's having such difficulties gg to bed tonight. but i tell myself that i need to be consistent. so that i make it easier for ethan to learn. so see...even ethan has very bad days! hang in there gals!!!!

hisstory
aiyo...can feel ur pain! jia you!!!!
i tink most imptly, discuss wat's the method that's u n hb find most comfortable and then use it consistently. if u find patting is OK for both of u, then use patting everytime. if not, it might be confusing for ashley if sometimes she gets patted, sometimes get carried, sometimes get milk or sometimes get to cry.

my boy finally went to sleep after almost half hr of crying. oh well...@ least he's sleeping now. *phew*

shint
hmmm...wed i can't leh. got a bday party to attend. so kai is one of those who prefer milk to solids. ethan's opposite! milk...BLEH...solids... yum! haha...
i also just steam then puree.

timminbuzz,
yu ze also very 'yang oh' these 2 days cos he is sick. still got running nose, just put him down to sleep. will wake him up for medicine at 10pm and feed him.