shint,
usually, he don't go on sat lah. cos this weekend, hubby away for camp. then yu ze is sick yesterday, so babysitter say she help me to look after today so that i can rest. so just now, she came to fetch him loh.
thanks everyone for ur answers on my maid questions!
briebaby:
ya, got night vision..so can see v clearly even w no light. it comes w a light too, just tap the stand to on n off. camera looks like a flower..quite cute
Hello ladies have been following the thread this week but never have time too post. You're either too fast or I'm too slow.
Many interesting topics I see. Never realise this thread so many glam mommies.
Agree with the saying that every child is different. So it is best to follow your maternal instincts. Books many say one thing, other people have their own opinions but at the end of the day it is the mother who knows her child best. There is no universal guidebook that applies to all as every child, every mother is unique. Many months ago when motherhood was still new to me by GP's wife gave me this piece of advise: decide what is right for your child and be confident with your decision 'cos nobody will know your child like you do.
Brie you very brave! Still dare to latch Issac. I see Dominic's teeth like so big and sharp. Scary I don't dare to try. Ha! Ha! Like Little Red Riding Hood 'What big teeth you have Mr Wolf?'
Shint have you tried Napisan? I use that to soak my baby's bumwear. Suppose to kill germs and remove stains but is more gentle than bleach.
Tree
Yep, jus placed orders for SureClean.
Will be collecting from Pris tonite.
I'm getting the Germ Clean (for cleaning toys) and Kitchen Clean (for cleaning kitchen food prep table).
As for floor, i'm now using Kiwi Kleen. It's pretty good, so won't be getting the SureClean one.
I have sucessfully change my bb's milk powder from Enfalac to Enfapro. Now I have a new tin of Nan 2 which I just receive from Nestle. Any mummies who is coming to my place for Northeast Gathering can take it if you have not try Nan 2.
celyn
lazing around also shiok! i always love it when my hb takes over and i can laze around or take a nap. heehee...
wat meds is yu ze on ah? i've been giving ethan runny nose & cough meds. cough better. but nose still runny. sigh... 2 days already. is yu ze feeling better?
celynlee/shint: no choice..sometimes have to be hard hearted to achieve it. When he cries, i ask myself m i doin the right thing? cos his cries like screaming for help..so 'qi chan' like that
Pei: Thanks for your advice.
I also struggled for quite sometime before doing CIO cos both me n hubby were so exhausted n when bb didnt sleep well, i didnt rest well, my hubby didnt rest well, it becomes a family problem. And i am a SAHM coping alone so i just "had to do something about it"
BrieBaby: Your Issace sounds much like my Braiden! He is not hungry, not cold.. He just want my company! It really pains my heart to hear his cries..i feel like crying too! Today he slept at 7.30pm woke up awhile later to cry... I let him cry for awhile before i go in to comfort him.. I jus lie beside him, pop his paci bk to his mouth. He fell asleep hugging my boobs..haha. Maybe he is afraid of the dark??
ruixuan,
happy birthday! u wore brown top today and went taka baby fair with SL ? think i saw u at the avent booth.
vern,
sorry hor, pls remove me from the playyard list, not buying liao. final decision. pai sey for all the trouble caused.
cat,
i gave him the peas with the brown rice cereal today, think i make it too watery with milk, but he finished everything. good sign that he likes it? i din taste it..tomolo then try. lolz.
celynlee,
see doc, scared scared loh.
pinch whatever u eat to yu ze..trying to fatten him up izit?
re : taka baby fair.
saw a maclaren stroller gg for 98 bucks only...many mommies to be, i got my stroller, so not very convenient to move ard.
nini,
i'm using wella's system professional energy serum. this is supposed to help reduce hair loss by 37%. used this to apply on the scalp after wash and leave it. it will have a cooling effect when you apply. i use my normal shampoo.
shint is using another one that helps to promote hair growth but i don't have the name of it. maybe shint can let you know what is it.
timminbuzz,
later i check the medicine name for you. he seems to be ok. only see the watery mucus after bath and before sleep. i'm pumping now, leave yu ze to self entertain himself in his cot.
interrace,
i don't think i need to fatten him up just need him to increase his weight loh. i think he eats a lot leh. 2 bowl of porridge + 700ml+ of milk a day.
timminbuzz,
just as i was typing the reply to you, yu ze cry loudly for attention but stop very fast. now its silence in the next room. don't know what is he doing. hehe....
celynlee/timminbuzz: ahh my boy like very scared to be left alone like that. he will keep cry when he see nobody ard. Like jus now he cry again but i move over n see him.. he saw me n went back to sleep.
nini,
i think its normal. maybe he is so used to have you around so when left alone, sort of scared. also now that they are able to relate things and people so will be more responsive. yu ze will also cry when i leave him alone even in the day. bedtime is not too bad for him cos i think he is used to it liao.
timminbuzz,
i must say, he is quite good at self entertaining himself. its just a matter he wants or not. he can play on his own for very long in the day as long as we are nearby. i put him to bed at 8pm cos by the time he is back from babysitter's place, its around 7pm+ liao. so play a while then sleep.
he eats a lot hoh. i think he 'jiak liao bi' one leh.
NiNi
hmmm...i tink if he's used to having u around when he sleeps, then when he wakes up and no one is around, then cries i tink is normal. cos u're his comfort? if i fall asleep with my hb by my side and wakes up to no one in the middle of the night, i also will kena shocked.
i've always placed ethan in another rm and ignored him when he wakes @ night...so maybe he's used to it? does braiden use a security item when he sleeps?
celyn
can self-entertain is gd!! i make it a pt to let ethan self-entertain for a while everyday. need to train. heehee... but hor...he'll then start to "hunt" for my cat. haha
mine also eat quite a bit. my hb & i both tink he's eating us broke. haha... he's on 3 meals now. u put yu ze on 2 meals?
celynlee/timminbuzz: so i will use the gradual extinction method.. delay the time of going to him... may take longer to sleep train but most importantly is the final results..
timminbuzz,
his medicine is chlorpheniramine (he only take 0.6ml of this due to his low weight. he should take more for his age) and oxymetazoline (nose drop)
i want to start him on 3 meals but don't know how to slot in the 3rd one.
celyn
hmmm...i tink he's taking the same runny nose med but 1.0ml. the meds supposed to be drowsy, but i don't see that it has an effect on him! haha... he takes his usual amt of naps and still active! but doc didn't give him nose drop. shld have asked for it! he was given it the last time. but my usual GP on leave...so i had to see the locum. hmmm...if his nose still dripping by mon, i tink i'll call up to ask for it.
i just started the 3rd meal this week. bfast after 7am feed, lunch after 11.30 feed n dinner @ abt 5pm.
timminbuzz,
yu ze can't take full dosage of the flu medicine cos his weight is too low. so doc give a lower amount. that's why doc say he small loh. yah, like not much effect on him too but he does nap 30mins longer. its so difficult to put the nose drop and i don't i manage to do it. i will apply vicks on his chest when he sleeps so he can breathe better.
his 1st meal is around 9+/10am and 2nd meal at 12+/1pm. its ok to feed at 5pm? maybe i will try tomorrow.
Yes, it is the comb sweetcorn.
I blend it together with the porridge, so there's still little broken pieces but my gals can still take. It give the porridge the texture.
<font color="CB3558">Sleep</font>
Tonight is night 7 for Isaac and he slept without crying! It's been 1hr since we put him into his cot. We don't dare to go in for fear of waking him - I think I'll wait another hour before gg in to check on him. Hb and I both so happy, but have to contain our excitement
Haha.
There wasn't any night waking at all last night.
In the last few days, I notice he seems to be to be a little less cranky. He also seem to nap better even though we haven't established a routine yet. I'm gg by observing his sleepy signs.
My only complain is don't tell me now if I'm out no matter where I gotta rush home before 8 to get him into bed? And also during the day I keep wondering if he's napping well.
<font color="CB3558">Nini</font>
Does Braiden get a lot of stimulation during the day? And does he nap well?
celyn
oh ok. i know what u mean abt the nose drops. but i feel that it's effective. esp with helping with blocked nose. the last time, it really helped him to recover a lot faster. vicks can??? i thot they're too young for vicks??
brie
yay!!!! feel so happy for you!!! good on you for persisting!
no night wakings last night too!! woohoo!!!
ethan's routine has sorta changed a lil' over the last week. i tink he's able to stay awake longer now. he still takes a 9am nap, but 2nd nap moved from 12pm to closer to 1pm. and if he takes a longer 2nd nap (1-2hrs), he doesn't need his 3rd nap!
how much approximately is he napping in total in the day? ethan takes a total of abt 2-3hrs.
yeah...i do get home b4 6.30pm to start his bedtime routine. i found that it works for my family. cos hb and/or i can go out to galavant. heehee... i wld tink try to not get him over tired to reduce chance of night wakings.
Briebaby: so happy for u! Did u use the gradual extinction or the total extinction? Braiden naps little.. avg 2 hrs a day..
Overstimulation- sometimes when he play with his daddy.. Kinda crack him up n laugh loudly in excitment. I try not to give him too much pro-long 'lol periods'
Timmin,
You mean u go out after he's asleep? Then who'll look after him at home? We are feeling kinda trapped at home after he sleep now. Not that we got anywhere to go, but usually we don't get home so early if we're out for dinner or shopping on weekends especially.
I never actually kept track of how long his naps were before. There is no routine for us yet since he started sleeping 12hr nights. Sometimes 2 naps, sometimes 3. And they range from 30mins to 1.5hrs. Cummulative nap time I'd say about 2-3hrs as well.
We use the total extinction method. We wanted to do the gradual one at first, but we couldn't tell if it was making any progress and we weren't very consistent at it. We were also very impatient as we're both already very exhausted from weeks of night wakings.
brie
yah...we try to have "date nights". supposed to be weekly...but cannot make it. just told hb that got to make it @ least once a month. most of the times, we put him to sleep @ inlaw's. sleep skill is transferable as long as bedtime routine is constant. once, a friend came over to bbsit for us.
ur parents live very close by right? mb can ask ur dad to help u once in a while?
cos ethan sleeps early, when hb needs to be out till late...i don't feel "trapped" @ home...cos @ least i can do my own thing while he sleeps.
i tink if he sleeps 12hrs @ night, 2-3hrs naps are sufficient for day.
take ur time to find a routine that fits you & isaac.
<font color="CB3558">timmin</font>
yeah, my parents live 1 floor down from us. I guess I could try to get them to bbsit. Just that experience tells me I'm better off not trusting anybody at all. Shall try when the routine is more set... what wrong can they do with just doing nothing right?
BrieBaby: total extinction is said to be more effective... must really harden heart ya? i feel so heartpain when he crying n yet i cannot go to him.. Will be doing gradual extinction then total extinction. Cos i did total extinction yesterday n he scream like kill pig like that...
yes braiden is still sleeping n i noticed he make alot of groaning sounds in his sleep.
My good-willed aunties keep urging me to get a 'fu' from the temple so Braiden can have a good night sleep.. Ahh...
My boy has slept with pomelo leaves under his pillow and crystals tied to his cot before. Haha. Those were his colic days somewhere during 2nd and 3rd month. Thanks to my stepmum.
brie
yah...do it only when routine is set and you know that he is able to sleep thru. when me & hb 1st put ethan to sleep @ inlaw's, we try to be home b4 11pm. cos frm exp, even if he cries, it'll be after that. seriously, it's only house sitting. cos bb will be sleeping anyways. heehee. and i tell them even if bb cries, leave him alone. just call me. so far no calls!
ARRRGGHHHH packing for a baby is so stressful. one minute i feel i'm bringing too much that the luggage is exploding and next minute i worry that i dont bring enough and she don't have enough to wear !!! stress man !!!