(2008/08) Aug 2008

Sabbath,

my bb also sometimes 4 hours sometime 2.5 hours.. i will just warm n tell her to be patient... if can estimate n know her pattern, i will warm in advance... warmed bm can last 4 hours in room temp

Hi Faithmum,

Thanks for sharing. Btw, forgot to let you know, polyclinic is cheaper by about $70-80 compared to neighbourhood PD, but you must bear in mind that polyclinic doesnt provide development checks for your baby - PD normally will run a check on baby before the jabs.

I went to amk polyclinic for injection. Everytime, they will direct me to the doc, who will do a check on the baby leh...

there is also a pg on the health booklet whereby we need to answer the qns regarding our bbs' development..mth by mth..

hi sabbath,

hi there.
polyclinic do have the development check, it's done by the doc. after the jab has been given by the nurse, you will need to see the doc for the assessment. my #1 got done before. actually hor, find that polyclinic doc (GP) is more detailed in doing the development check than PD, maybe the polyclinic doc is still v green, so check more thoroughly...

Not drinking water
==================
not sure whether is it becos of teething, my boy suddenly refuse to drink water, the moment we put the teat in his mouth, he will play with it or push it out. previously, he still ok with drinking water.
now, my mum has to resort to feeding him with a spoon.

gemini
actually its not too bad that u r feeding water via spoon..cuz eventually when u feed cereal..it will be easier for them to take to spoon too...thats my personal experience..
...cuz my bb now taking cereal..n she is not very used to spoon..keep sticking her tongue out...have to slowly teach her how to use spoon...

krex,
during ML, i was doing a combination of direct latching & pumping so frequency is abt 8 times ie. every 3 hours... i went back to work on 7 Nov & i started total pumping & only managed to pump 4 times a day... guess the frequency dropped so much, milk ss will drop too... im short of a pack of abt 120ml per day...

nevermind la, our baby aledi 4 months old... in 2 months time, we can start to subsitute 1 meal with solids so not so bad lor... cheer up ok?

X'mas Babies bash'08

Venue: Boon Tiong Road (near Tiong Bahru Plaza/MRT)
Date: 14 Dec 08
Time: 1.30pm

Event include
- Temperature measuring, maybe check for HFMD (to be safe for the babies hee!)
- Name tag will be given to the babies and Parent (Can provide the name just like what I did for mine below. So I can prepare the tag. Thanks!)
- Catering Neogarden ??
- mingling
- Phototaking of the babies
- X'mas Gift exchange for the toddler and babies (budget = $15 or more as you wish)
- Gift opening?

1) msapple(E-Ling) + 1 toddler(Amabel) + 1 baby (Aisleyne) - confirmed
2) balugu (shirley) + 1 bb (Gerlene)
3) celynlee (celyn) + 1 baby (yu ze)
4) vone (??) + 1 toddler (??) + 1 bb (??)
5) M2B (Lillian) + 1 toddler (Lorraine) + 1 bb (Maegan)
6) aurora (??) + 1 bb (Reagan)
7) missysz (sereen) + 1 baby (Jonas) - confirmed
8) Roiv (??)+ 1 toddler (Xavier) + 1 bb (Allivier)
9) snow74 (??) + hubby (??) + 1 toddler (Nynn) + 1bb (Zynn)
10) whatodo(Samantha) + Mom + 1 bb(Yu Min)
11) Shint (Cynthia) + 1 toddler (Quan) + 1 bb(Kai) + 1 helper
12) Fitbaby (Lina) + 1 my mom + 1 bb (Trudy) Confirmed
13) Happy mummy (Katherine) + hubby (??) + bb (Adel)
14) vern (Laverne) + hubby (??) + bb (Izzy)
15) krex78 (karen) + hubby (??)+ 1 bb (Jonah) + 1 helper (KIV)
16) catherine + bb(bernice) confirmed
17) cocomo (??) + hubby (??) + 1 toddler (Jayden) + bb (Shervalle)
18) april + bb (Denzel) - confirmed
19) megan + hubby +1 4yr old(megan) + 1 bb(titus)
20)hashisan + hubby +3yo (ryoutaro) +1 bb (misaki) + helper
21) Shay + bb (Ashton)
22) Nini + bb (Braiden)

Total= 31 adults (excluded maid) + 9 toddlers + 22 babies
For who will be coming with ur mom, I do added to the above (31 adults). Let me know if dont need to cater for them.

Those who bring along maid. Do let me know whether to cater for your maid.

X'mas Babies bash'08

Event include
- Name tag will be given to the babies and Parent (Can provide the name just like what I did for mine below. So I can prepare the tag. Thanks!)
- Catering Neogarden ??
- mingling
- X'mas Gift exchange for the toddler and babies (budget = $15 or more as you wish)
- Gift opening?

21) Shay + bb (Ashton)
22) Nini (Winnie) + bb (Braiden) - confirmed

For who will be coming with ur mom, I do added to the above (31 adults). Let me know if dont need to cater for them.

My email address: [email protected]

Re: Kindermusik Trial

Sch name: Kindermusik - Trial session for Jan09 intake
Trial Lesson : Tues 9/12
Time : 11.30am (45mins)
Cost : $25.50

Date: 9 Dec
1) Catherine
2) Yuuri
3) Fitbaby
4) aurora
5) valnsw
6) Briebaby
7) Megan
8) Jen
9)twin stars
10) snow74
11) msapple
12) Ruixuan- hubby bringing

I have all the contacts left only megan. Can Megan pls contact me with your details so I can send to kindermusic tomorrow. Thanks

thanks to all mummies for your compliments.

I have send out the soft copy of sesame street alphabets to mummy who had requested for them.

my babysitter just told me not to send fbm to her liao. her freezer is bursting liao. ops... so now, i need to transport fbm to fil's place liao cos my freezer is going to burst pretty soon too.

warming milk:
i use avent iq warmer. when i warm 4oz of milk, i will set to 5oz temp then the milk will be just nice for my boy cos he likes it a bit warm and not room temperature. for warm up i will keep for max 1 hour, any longer i will throw them away and warm new one again.

bumper mat:
i finally got my bumper mat today. mummies who have it, how long does the creases takes to go off huh?

hands free strap:
there is no size for this. its the supershield flanges that has sizes.

bm ss:
i still try to maintain my pump sessions to 8 times a day if not 6-7 times on weekends. on weekdays, it will be between 5-6 times a day. with this, it does help to maintain supply.

X'mas Babies bash'08

Event include
- Catering Neogarden ??
- mingling
- Gift opening?

3) celynlee (celyn) + 1 baby (yu ze) - confirm.
21) Shay + bb (Ashton)

msapple
u are all the while inside my msn liao ah...hee hee....so, u forgotten ya? =P

me so ks u noe, already bought gift for our x'mas bash liao.
so those who are bringing 2 kids, gotta buy 2 gifts rite?
u still catering from neogarden?

X'mas Babies bash'08

Event include
- Catering Neogarden ??
- mingling
- Gift opening?

9) snow74 (may) + hubby (bw) + 1 toddler (Nynn) + 1bb (Zynn) - confirmed
21) Shay + bb (Ashton)

Re: Kindermusik Trial

Sch name: Kindermusik - Trial session for Jan09 intake
Trial Lesson : Tues 9/12
Time : 11.30am (45mins)
Cost : $25.50

Date: 9 Dec
1) Catherine
2) Yuuri
3) Fitbaby
4) aurora
5) valnsw
6) Briebaby
7) Megan
8) Jen
9)twin stars
10) snow74 - hubby bringing
11) msapple
12) Ruixuan- hubby bringing

ruixuan
ur hb gotta partner liao, cos my hb will be the 1 that bring zynn to kindermusik trial.....hee hee....

want to ask for opinion, will you rent the exersaucer ? I'm tempted as I don't know if Bernice will be interested and i dont want to spend so much on it and she dont like it. But I'm also abit worried about hygene, cos rented means been to many people's hse. And esp now when Bernice likes to put things in her mouth.

X'mas Babies bash'08

Event include
- Catering Neogarden ??
- mingling
- Gift opening?

6) aurora (??) + 1 bb (Reagan) - confirmed
21) Shay + bb (Ashton)

Catherine,
I asked my colleague who rented toys like jumperoo for her son. She says it's clean cos they sterilise it.. but if we like we can still clean it again.. maybe with dettol?

Hehee.. went to FOX sale just now. Not tt crowded ard 4 plus. Hmm.. not many boys clothes leh.. end up i bought quite a bit for my niece instead. Adult clothings not very suitable for me.. got 2 bottoms only.

My hubby not coming along. Reduced to 30 pax below.

X'mas Babies bash'08

Event include
- Catering Neogarden ??
- mingling
- Gift opening?

14) vern (Laverne) + bb (Izzy) - confirmed
21) Shay + bb (Ashton)

Total= 30 adults (excluded maid) + 9 toddlers + 22 babies
For who will be coming with ur mom, I do added to the above (30 adults). Let me know if dont need to cater for them.

<font color="aa00aa">helloooo mummies!

really feel lost! haha. was busy taking care of raeann. she fell sick last week aft her 3mth jab.luckily she recovered the 2nd day, felt really helpless. cn only monitor her temperature and sponge her to bring down temperature.

uh, gonna pass on the xmas bash. have smthing on that day. Enjoy ya, post pics after the event.

celyn,
can i have the soft copy too? thanks

ML:
so 4 mths include weekends &amp; PH ya? I'll b going back work next week...So fast, oh no. hate to b separated from raeann...sure kena 'miss raeann blues!'

Catherine,
Well I just rented from rent a toy last week. Leapfrog excesaucer $45. It look quite clean however I still used dettol to wiped over before letting Kae use. initial she oni can sit for 5 mins but now 15- 20 mins 5 to 6 times a day... She seems to enjoyed very much. hubby sae is a Gd way to test if baby like the toys. Like u, I bought the fisherprice swing, but kae dun like it, the moment I put her in, she scream, now the swing is more like a white elephant at home. Perhaps u might wanna consider to rent also then baby got more toys to play without us spending too much $

YLN
Ooh, the brown top's really sweet.. So sayang my ger can't take the colour..
I saw the ad from the blog which Vern shared earlier.. I think she posted on Monday. Or u google for 'Tualobang'? Rem to bookmark the page to have updates on sales ard SG *heehee*

Hi Hi Mummies,

Hereby confirming my attendance..=)

X'mas Babies bash'08

Event include
- Catering Neogarden ??
- mingling
- Gift opening?

8) Roiv (Ivey)+ Hubby (Rony) + 1 toddler (Xavier) + 1 bb (Allivier) confirmed
21) Shay + bb (Ashton)

just to share for mummies who stay in or near ang mo kio, pigeon breast pad at $7.90/box (36+6).

i got this from the shop that sells baby stuff near ang mo kio polyclinic. i think this is the cheapest so far cos usually with sale it still cost $8.90.

jocelyn,
i have pm you cos i need your email to send.

Long day, didn't log in. hee lotsa happenings around here!

BTW, for those mummies interested in the wall stickers that I got from a BP here, the BP organiser organising another again.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1943998.html?1228313257

Just saw still hv the other design that I wanted, but was said to be OOS.

Anyway, I got this: http://picasaweb.google.com/fuusha99/MadeInKoreaKids#5257399420055221250

I didn't paste Eeyore on the same side as Pooh, pasted him on the other wall, hehe. Noticed the price increased from the last time I ordered.

Sigh... prices are increasing everywhere!

so many posts see til blur.

Cat,
I think renting is a gd idea. I bought the bumbo seat, end up Chevelle doesn't quite like sitting too long in it. Hv to train her, nowadays slowly sitting into it longer and longer.

jocelyn,
oh dear, what happened to raeann? Anybody sick in the house and passed the virus to her? That's how my gal fell sick :S

sabbath,
Thks for the link! I'm gona bookmark it

RE: Fox sale
Seems like most mummies got gd loots! I think I might skip it. Sigh... hv to squeeze w people, plus my mum's gona nag at me for buying more clothes for bb! Chevelle still has not worn those new sets I bought from Fox for her -_-""

wing wing,
So far, I nvr answer the questions in the health bklet. Left it empty.

RE: Jab
Chevelle will be taking hers next week, keep fingers and toes crossed that she'll be ok after that. Thinking if shd give her the panadol first to "prevent" the fever from coming. Anybody did that before? and does it help?

msapple,
if you ordering from liang catering, you can order less pax cos i got quite a lot of leftovers during cayla's full month party...

happy mummy,
you can add in yourself too... anw, i added for you liao...

=========================
X'mas Babies bash'08

Event include
- Catering Neogarden ??
- mingling
- Gift opening?

8) Roiv (Ivey)+ Hubby (Rony) + 1 toddler (Xavier) + 1 bb (Allivier) confirmed
13) Happy mummy (Katherine) + hubby (faroek) + bb (Adel)
21) Shay + bb (Ashton)
23) dongle (connie) + bb (cayla) - confirmed

Total= 32 adults (excluded maid) + 9 toddlers + 23 babies

sabbath,

try not to keep for more than 2 hrs coz bacteria might start to form. your bb may cry 4 other reasons. maybe trying to pacify him 1st and see how. for me, i discovered my bb likes ppl to talk to him and he loves looking at his reflection in the mirror!

faith,

he wants to be carried. he's past his colic stage already. my hb is very insistent tt bb learns to sleep on his own, so he refuses to let bb be rocked to sleep, sigh.

dongle,

i pumped 6x a day during ML and now i've reduced to 5. i'm contemplating whether to tbf him on weekends so i dun have to give fbm. u think it will be enough? sometimes i dunno if he's full from feeding from the breast coz he tends to struggle towards the end. sometimes also cry.

celyn,

u very diligent leh! yu ze is lucky to have a mum like u! i'm already struggling with 5 pumps a day on weekdays. only having 5 hrs of sleep everyday. very tired!

Hi Hi Happy Mummy,

Dongle has added your hubby name in already.

Details of the X'mas Babies bash'08 as follows :
Venue: Boon Tiong Road (near Tiong Bahru Plaza/MRT) @ msapple's place

Hee Hee..Baby Allivier can meet Adel and the rest of the cute babies soon..
Excited!!

Celyn,
Pls send me the soft copy too!

Krex,
I think can train bb to sleep by himself..mine initially also need to be carried to sleep..then about a week or 2 ago, suddenly can fall asleep himself! I was so amazed..all I did was tell him to wait for me to finish my things then come and carry him to sleep...and he fell asleep waiting for me! haha

<font color="aa00aa">hey another exciting warehouse sales!
http://www.motherhood.com.sg/product_news/baby.html

valnsw,
my gal went for her 3rd mth jab so feverish after that. i heard that myth too, to take paracetamol first so they wont have fever. i'm scared alrdy so will try on her the next jab.

celyn,
havent got ur pm. can u send it to [email protected] pls? tks again

yuuri,
how old is ur bb now? my gal still need to be pat to sleep. now that she is getting heavier, i find it a challenge to carry &amp; pat her...how i wish she cld sleep on her own like urs.</font>

Jocelyn,
My boy is 4 mths 1week. I was getting a backache from carrying him to sleep! I tried all kinds of things like facing him and closing my eyes so he will imitate, yawning at him, etc. What worked for me is just telling him nicely that he's a big boy already, must try to sleep by himself, etc.

sabbath, faithmum,
From what I read, warmed BM milk only 1 hour.
Expressed bm in room temperature is recommended 4 hours but I do give up to 6 hours.

Celynlee,
me same as you, set the avent iq to the next level ... for 140ml, i set to 170ml cos sometimes it is still cold!

This morning just wasted one feed of 150ml cos when KAI stirred at 2am, she went to warm up then he slept until now, still haven't wake up - stirring oredi.hee.
He slept from 10pm last nite till now ;))))))

Handsfree strap
The supershield i am selling is L size lor, anyone interested let me know.
The handsfree strap has no size and it's the one that keep you handsfree.
The supershield is supposed to make it more comfortable for your breast as it's an attachment to the pump and the shape is slanted abit so u dun need to sit so straight.

u can check this website out.
Buying from us(cos we bought from US) is cheaper than buyer from SG shops .. haha.
Me supposed to post in other threads but so busy!

Milk SS
Mine is ok, still managed to maintain supply.
Pump schedule
530-7am - 1st pump
12pm - 2nd pump
8pm - 3rd pump
12am - 4 pump

*Sometimes I might pump twice in office, then i might have 5 pumps.
I noticed that if I am rushing then i get lesser milk.
So have to try to relax more. Normally i take about 30 mins for 1 pump(from fixing the pump onto me) - excluding the preparation part to get the bottles, etc.
Sometimes after pumping, still can hand express to get a little more ....
So far, ok to sustain KAI's feed and occassionally then need to use Ebm.
But i asked helper to use it sometimes so i can make new ones.

The old ones from Sep vv oily.

Krex,
Yea, i agree that babies love talking! They have nothing to do - so boring ma. Each time i talk to him, he wan to respond. So i talk then i tell him "Your turn to talk" and he will start. hehee. Must give them air time ma.

My post so long --- just finished pumping ;)

Joycelyn,
Me oso try to put baby on bed and then face him and then tell him "Close your eyes and sleep" then i close eyes, sometimes he imitates and blink! eyes closed.

He still need us to carry to sleep but he's quite a fast sleeper, carry short while can liao. Have paci oso and he oso suck for short while only. My #1 used to suck vv long.

I carry him and sit down, only stand up and walk ard if he complains. Helper will carry him and dance him. told her not to but she sometimes do.

He's heavy - [email protected] so must sit down ;)
Me not complaining - He's my baby, he aint't heavy. hehehe. i feel like i am carry a 5 months old but always remember he's still a baby! cannot deprive him of his entitlement to be carried, etc. #2 oredi, getting lazier. bad mommy.

Krex health visitor is a qualified nurse with specialist training in community health. They are there to give mums advise and support until the child is 5 years old. We don't see a PD here unless there is a medical need and usually need referral from our GP. The baby's health mainly co-shared by the health visitor and the GP.

My HV told me that signs to look out for is when baby appears unsettled after milk feeds. You might find this sample plan on weaning useful: http://www.healthvisitors.com/parents/weaning.htm and also pick up a tip or two under the FAQs for sleep.

Yes it's nice to have someone whom you can get advise from and share your concerns with. Especially invaluable to me as I am alone here. Ha! Ha! My HV must think I'm a pretty kiasu mum as I usually bring Dominic to him every 2 weeks for weighing.

faithmum my son has also been sleeping thru the night since he was 6 weeks old. It started out with him sleeping thru from 10 pm to 4am. Now it is like 9.30 pm to 8 am. So almost 12 hours without a feed. I suppose as long as your baby is growing well and putting on weight as he should there shouldn't be any need for concern.

This 3am mommy has upgraded to 5am ... hehe.
KAI has gone back to sleep ... me waiting for him to wake so he can drink me fresh EBM. That's what all our hard work are for, isn't? ;))))))

Fox sale
Din browse too much tat day cos sooooo crowded.
I enjoyed the chatting session with happymum more than the sale .. but i bought quite a number of tops for my #1 instead.

Maybe i go again to check out the bottoms for myself ... but cannot try ... I remember Fox stuff all for "slim" people, my thigh so chunky ... dunno can fit or not.

For baby clothing, i only found 1 piece for KAI but it's 6-12 months, so dunno how long he can wear. Happymum got 3 pieces of nice ones too.
They dun seem to have rompers which they used to sell, maybe they'll release new stocks.

Might go down again if i free cos it's near my place.

Solids
U all wanna start them on solids oredi? Me so lazy ... the longer the better. heee.
Milk so easy ma.

sorry sorry, that's $$ u paid me last time for the buffet.. oops. Gimme your account no then i transfer the $12. Thanks for organising!

shint, me pumping also. using one hand to type now, heehee.

yuuri, i shall try then. last nite, hb and i swaddled him and put pacifier. he resisted and cried a little but with some music and me making constant shh shh sounds, he eventually dozed off. woke up 2x for a short while and had to coax him back to sleep. then at 11 plus, gave him his last feed and he hasn't woken up since. that was, for us, a pretty peaceful nite. most of the time he would be wailing away coz hb refuse to carry or rock him to sleep. sigh, so poor thing!

mrs n , tks 4 the link. will go read it later

shint, i plan 2 start mine on semi solids after cny. milk ss dunno can make it or not by then. i'm still dreaming of bf him during visitations, then no need to bring out ebm since can't last that long.

Halo Mommies!
I saw some mommies ordering the CNY clothings for your princess..do note that the sizing is abit small...I order M size for my SIL's gal who will be 1yo in Jan but seem too short and small for her so I'm keeping it for Mae instead...tried on Mae and it looks ok leh.