(2008/08) Aug 2008

avocado, i hope so but is too early to say coz onli going 9 weeks. i hope so too coz my mum got no ms in both her preg.

Avocado,

i lost my 1st at 23 weeks.

Hi Ratatouille,

yup looking fwd to the gynae visit

Krex78,

good to hear that

As for the fetal abnormality test. There are 2 screening tests:

1. Nuchal Translucency scan (also known as OSCAR)
consist of the measurement of the baby's neck thickness, nasal bone and the free HCG & PAPP in mother's blood. It's said to be 90% accurate. But this has to be done from 11-13 weeks

2. Triple Test
Measurement of the baby's head diameter and mother's blood (but cant rememeber wat content in the blood) This is only 60% accurate. Can only be done from 16 weeks i think.

If any of the above shows u are at high risk (meaning lower than 1:300) u will be recommended to do the amniocentesis or CVS test. But most pple who are at high risk turns out to have normal babies when they did the amnio or CVS test.

I will be doing the so call OSCAR test. In TMC they call it OSCAR test. For my gynae in gleneagles they dun call it OSCAR but they measure the same thing.

Ratatouille,

the blood test is it a compulsory test - test for HIV, hep A etc? If yes it's different. Actually many young mothers choose not to take the fetal abnormalty test cos young so risk is low.

Anyone getting maternity insurance. I thot of getting one. But so far only found this insurance in NTUC income and AXA. But AXA is damn expensive. Some insurance policy requires u to sign up before u are pregnant. But NTUC one allows u to sign up even when u are pregnant. But i find the coverage not that much.

avocado - i shd be abt 7 wks bah. appt end this week. thanks for the printable calendar. it's so useful.

by the way, any mtb here got asthma? i got difficulty in breathing lately.

hugme,
hahaha.. you can really eat a lot...

rat,
seldom hear people got buttock pain, isit because you sit down too much or your chair not comfortable? i got backache & shoulder ache some times...

my gynae said that i will be doing a detailed scan at week 11 and then blood test at week 15... think should be OSCAR cos im aledi in my 30s...

anyone knows dr adrian's consultation hours at TMC sengkang? can't seem to find it on their website

Avocado, I think I still prefer a gal this time round leh...hee hee....But different behaviour did trigger me to think the same as u lor.

Initially I planned to goto my gynae only after that 10th week, but I cannot tahan that nausea feeling already. So me ks abit, seeing him this afternoon. hee hee.....

hug_me,
KKH har? That will depend on the pkg u signing up already. I remember my ex-colleague sign-up a pkg which treated her like pte patient also, and the cost is not very much diff from mine lor. According to her, KKH is ever ready with specialists incase ur gynae is engage with another patient.

snow, so u want 2gals and then close shop?
For me, #2 boy or girl I will still close shop as really cannot tahan the expenses and stress.

avocado, me too.
1 is too lonely, 2 is enough. =)
Its like working 24hrs w/o rest leh, furthermore I'm already in my 30s.

Hi avocado,
Maybe bcoz of age and also another kid to take care, thatz why we get tired easily this time rd…

Hi Rata,
My gynae recommended me to do the Oscar Test in end Jan liao…I’m not above 35 yet but I think according to gynae 1…

For stretchmark cream, I used both Mustela from Robinsons and Mothercare 1 and really no stretchmark too…this time rd, I’m using Mothercare coz cheaper…heehee

Hi Krex,
I dun have MS so far, just a lot of burping after meals…I’m still wearing my pre-preggie clothes although I have already got some maternity wear ready in case my tummy SUDDENLY show up 1 day…

Hi Snow & Avocado,
Same here, #2 boy or gal, I oso CLOSE SHOP liao….thinking to ligate too…
I’m oso in my early 30s…next Fri is my gal’s 4th birthday…big gal liao…

I was tested positive last Sun..

Have not seen a gynae yet. First appt on 17/01 @ NUH, seeing Prof Yong.
According to my calculations, my EDD should be around late Aug or early Sept.

m2b, i suppose your maternity wear is from your first pregnancy? hmm...wonder when my tummy will begin to show. hopefully only in 2nd trimester since this is my 1st pregnancy.

i'm beginning to feel a little uncomfortable...maybe it's the onset of MS. this week is wk 7, so i'm starting to look out for signs :p

Congrats! skinny_pig.

M2B, its easier when the age gap of both kids is not so near leh. Hee hee...my gal only 2 year old, yet to really understand what is baby. =P

krex, dun worry too much ok? Not all pregnancy will encounter MS one lor.

Skinny Pig,
Congrats to you!

Krex,
Hahaha, I gave away all my maternity wear after 1st pregnancy liao coz we only wanted 1 kid then but who knows as our gal grows bigger, she started to ask for a sibling so we decided to give her 1 and thatz it... :p

For my 1st pregnancy, I only started wearing maternity wear at my 20th week...this time rd, think by 10th week, must wear liao...heehee

Regarding MS, dun worry, dun have is a blessing, doesnt mean bb not growing ok?

Hi Snow,
Talking abt understanding, my gal kept asking me when is Aug coming coz she can't wait for bb to come out...she kept changing her mind abt didi or meimei she wants though...

M2B, that is why lor....
My gal slapped the baby inside the mag when I showed her, she just told me "dun want".
Ha ha....she dun understand that baby is younger and need to be sayang yet. Hopefully she will understand by the time I gave birth lor.

Think my tummy is going to show liao also, how come so fast this time har? =(

Avocado,

Hehe... Ya lor ya lor... But my EDD is just my estimation cos my 1st gynae appt will be in mid Jan... So I just popped in to Aug MTBs thread to kay-poh lor...

M2B, wah, 20 weeks is quite long leh...abt 5 mths. i think my tummy can only tahan up to 12 weeks, haha. some of my pants getting tight liao. but my weight has yet to increase leh. i noticed the most growth during the week of my missed period, then everything became quite stagnant. so strange.

what is the age gap between you and your first child?

hi rat
my EDD is 1 aug, i stay in the west, seeing Dr Douglas Ong, delivering at Mount E

abit sian now with the MS...taste buds super duper bland ...i hate it..
my gynae mentioned it on my last visit (week 6) that the next 2 weeks, week 7 and 8, will be worst in terms of MS...now approaching week 9..still have the feel...so sickening..im really hoping one day when i wake up, suddenly i have all the energy already..n i can eat all i used to like...

hey peppermint
i did think of getting the maternity insurance b4 i got pregnant, but they are really expensive..and coverage is pretty much the same...so i didnt get...i was wondering...i have the AIA pink of health insurance (the hospitalization one) ..can i claim for that one when i deliver? cuz i hospitalized mah...? any one knows?

hi YLN, i think it shld end by week 10 bah. i'm at wk 7...have uncomfortable feeling every now and then but still can eat. seem to have new craving each day. today feel like noodles with ketchup. i think i must be yearning for something sour these days, heh.

Hi Snow,
Dun worry, try telling your gal more about bb from now onwards and she will begin to understand 1…Think 2nd pregnancy sure very fast show 1…my coll’s 2nd pregnancy started wearing maternity wear b4 3rd month too…

Hi Krex,
Yap, I exercise a lot when I was pregnant with 1st kid so maybe tatz y tummy show up later?! Heehee…never mind lah, this time rd SURE show up earlier 1…

I’m 28 when I had my 1st kid and my gal will be 4yo next Fri…

Hi Hug,
I also get hungry easily these few days so I tried to eat more frequent small meals…hate the frequent burping after eating…feel like a toad…

hi rat
yup..douglas ong at ten mile junction..thanks

krex78
i went out for a while just now...n puke in the toilet in the shopping mall..so depressing...all the sour sour stuff...yukky..my cravings are limited to fast food..dunno why..suddenly love macdonalds and MOS burger and all that...u dun experience throwing up? (touch wood)

YLN, so i m right coz if i not wrong he was from bukit panjang plaza last time then shifted to ten mile junction. He onli deliver at mt e? Hows the rates of his package? This is ur 1st preg?

YLN, that is why i bring along a plastic bag with me no matter where i go now....incase need to puke on bus or in the middle of the road.

Rat, just came back from my gynae and was told my edd is 20th Aug. Thx.

hi rat..
yup..he moved from bt panjang plaza to ten mile junction...his clinic is always packed..
i think he delivers at mount a as well...not sure cuz i will be delivering at mount e..i havent signed up for package yet..but his fees are pretty steep..first consultation + scan + medication cost about $180..second time..down to $130 cuz i didn't buy folic acid...scan cost $50...i think the first time was more ex cuz his consulation was $100!..then second time was at $60...i bought the folic acid from unity pharmacy at $2.95 for 100 tablets...! so much cheaper than buying from his clinic...oh ya...1st pregancy

hi snow74..
i normally try to control not to throw up...but the more i control, the more i want to throw up...i think i will take plastic bags with me the next time i go out..otherwise vomit along the road like so unsightly....:p

snow, ok will update it tonight if i ve the time
hows the visit?

yln, mine is not cheap too. consultation is $55, scan $50

Rat, same old story from my gynae lor.
"Remember to eat more veggie, fruit, and meat.
Start to eat egg also, avoid carbo and salty stuffs. Rest more, and do less stressful thing."
I everyday reach home gotta play catching with my gal leh, how to rest more? =P

yln, mine is almost same pricing too.

hi Aug08 MTBs,

dropping by to say hi, i'm around 6 wks plus and my EDD still not sure yet. been to my gynae but he did not tell me on my EDD. anyway, think should be able to know in about 2 wks time when i go see him again.
this is my 2nd pregnancy.

Hi all MTB,
this is my first post in the motherhood forum... Am 9 weeks preggie, EDD 1st August. Did my scan in the 6th weeks and managed to see baby's heart beating.. it's really a very amazing feeling..

Not much MS, just bad gastric and headache... Don't like meat and tau fu, only stick to veggie... not sure if bb will get enough protein or not??

Also my doc has given me Duphaston even though I do not have any bleeding.. I'm not sure if this med is safe for pregnant woman as many research has shown that it's not recommended to consume it during pregnancy.. Anyone taking the same med? Should I just stop taking it for the safety of my bb?

Dear ladies,

My spotting is gone for now....feeling ok. Have made appt with Joycelyn on 3 Jan, thats her earliest slot.

Was on MC yesterday, have allergic nose and lungs need to be on inhaler occasionally to control condition but since preg have stopped medication and now coughing badly cannot sleep at night.....haiz
Called GP and he says take the medication only if really necessary. Sounds like its not good for bb.

Therefore, i went to chinese physician today and taking chinese herbs. At least i feel herbs not so chemical and harmful to bb. Wish me luck that i will get well soon....

Oh i seemed to have lost my taste buds and now have craving for things sour and strong in taste.

hi all mtb

came back fr gynae today. abt 7 wks. got heartbeat - the nurse says. i din see for myself anyway. hmm....

my est due date is 15 aug. but only estimated. so far at kkh. this is my bb#1. gynae still pending leh.

doc say if i un wanna eat but feel hungry can eat antacid leh. Heng ah. can't stand the hunger pangs anymore.

<table border=1><tr><td>Mummy</TD><TD>Zone</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>BB#</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>EDD </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ratatouille</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Dr Clifton Chan</TD><TD>Mt A/ TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>1-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dongle</TD><TD>Bishan</TD><TD>Dr Ang Huai Yen </TD><TD>Glen / Mt A</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>1-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>Agnes</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Lee Keen Whye</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>1-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>YLN</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>1-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>M2b</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Dr Lee Wei Hong</TD><TD></TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>3-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>Peppermintt</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>4-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cutie</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr LC Foong</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>5-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>June</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Kee</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>9-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mini</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>Dr Loke Kah Leong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>9-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>Crazy</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Soong </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>10-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>Happy</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Chan Kon Hon</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>11-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yuuri</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth </TD><TD>TMC / Mt A</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>11-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>Earnestmum</TD><TD>North East</TD><TD></TD><TD>Mt A </TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>12-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lindsay</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Kowa</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>14-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gayle</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>14-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>15-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>Anne</TD><TD>South</TD><TD>Dr Chan Kon Hon</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>3</TD><TD></TD><TD>Mid Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>Avocado </TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>19-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>Snow</TD><TD>South</TD><TD>Dr Gordon Lim</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>20-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>Munky</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>21-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>QiQi</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>28-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

hug, u can fill me in wif missing infor like zone. As for gynae update when u confirm.

peipei, congrats. We got the same edd
there is a no of us with the same edd. you wan to give me ur details to add to the list?

Gemini, Congrats too. Fill me in wif details after u confirm

hi Rat - thanks for the update. me fr NE.
i just popped in 2 antacid. i think the hunger caused by the adundant gastric juices is abnormal leh. i deceide to eat antacid instead of stuffing some more food. i feel so sick after eating also. at least antacid gives me some relief fr all noisy churning and growling stomach. haiz.

<table border=1><tr><td>Mummy</TD><TD>Zone</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>BB#</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>EDD </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ratatouille</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Dr Clifton Chan</TD><TD>Mt A/ TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>1-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dongle</TD><TD>Bishan</TD><TD>Dr Ang Huai Yen </TD><TD>Glen / Mt A</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>1-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>Agnes</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Lee Keen Whye</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>1-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>YLN</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>1-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>M2b</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Dr Lee Wei Hong</TD><TD></TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>3-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>Peppermintt</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>4-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cutie</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr LC Foong</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>5-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>June</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Kee</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>9-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mini</TD><TD>East</TD><TD>Dr Loke Kah Leong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>9-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>Crazy</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Soong </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>10-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>Happy</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Chan Kon Hon</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>11-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yuuri</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth </TD><TD>TMC / Mt A</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>11-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>Earnestmum</TD><TD>North East</TD><TD></TD><TD>Mt A </TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>12-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lindsay</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Kowa</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>14-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gayle</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>14-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hug</TD><TD>North East</TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>15-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>Anne</TD><TD>South</TD><TD>Dr Chan Kon Hon</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>3</TD><TD></TD><TD>Mid Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>Avocado </TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>19-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>Snow</TD><TD>South</TD><TD>Dr Gordon Lim</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>20-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>Munky</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>21-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>QiQi</TD><TD>West</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>28-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

YLN,
i also bought the pink of health insurance from AIA, checked liao, cannot claim for elective surgery like childbirth &amp; cosmetic surgery etc..

Went for my 3rd appointment today... baby grew from 9mm to 27mm within 2 weeks... heartbeat is 170 beat per minute... i have lost about half a kg of weight due to nausea and my gynae prescribed me with Metoclopramide to curb the nausea feeling so that i can eat more... think my gynae charges the cheapest consultation around here... only $40, scan is $50...

my gynae recommended me to take light snacks like cereal bars or hot drinks like milo to curb my in between meals hunger pangs...

Patient f Dr Adrain Woodworth,
I would like to find out the payment mode at his CCK TMC clinic? Anyone knows?

Ya lor, dongle. Mine just a little ball from the ultrasound scan ysterday also lor, its hiding in 1 corner and unable to really takes its actual length yet. =P

My gynae advised me to sleep abit more upright to get away with that heart burn feeling, and I think its sort of working this morning.