(2008/06) June 2008

<font color="aa00aa">Felicia,
no worries...

Fennie,
something wrong wif yur a/c? it seem to keep re-posting yur query.

Soya,
much as i make the effort, i still spend a ttl of less than 3-4hrs wif her on wkdays. i jus feel so guilty.</font>

roooller, I suspect my bb got red dots due to our hand sweat. so wondering is it ok to cover her whole body in such a weather with direct aircon.

regards on face pimple, my girl got it in her 2nd wk. 4th wk she got scaly patches which turn out to be eczema. have visit skin specialist n applied on some lotion now her face is so smooth. i always wipe bb face after each feed with boiled water (rm temp) with cotton wool. even if she vomit milk I also use. never use tap water. whatever to do with face r cooked water. maybe u should try. dont apply anything unless doc give. I read book it say will worsen it

Hi Soyabean, my bb is a natural suckler but he suckles very impatiently and my milk flow is not quick enough to keep up with his demands.. so he ends up suckling, then falling asleep at my breast cos it is so tiring, then crying impatiently cos he doesn't get anymore milk... it is a vicious cycle. so these days, I just depend on PIS to express milk... then feed him with the BM loh.. I'm feeding him expressed milk for half of his feeds.

any1 know how i can put up my rarely used Ameda Dual Electric Breast Pump for sale on the forum?currently using Avent Manual Pump and very comfortable using it, thats why like to sell the rarely used Ameda away.

i got a qns... bb needa burp everytime after feed?? my bb seldom burp these 2days leh. CL said ok not to burp... i wonder she lazy to burp her anot. then i tried burpin my bb, she aso no response to burp.

wats e best way to burp a bb??

mrswrx
my gal also seldom burp one esp when drinking BM... only long long one time then burp...

But i will always try to burp her after every feed even when baby doesn't burp...

<font color="aa00aa">mrswrx,
my bb also dun burp / difficult to get a burp out of her. my PD said tat it could be due to the following: -

1. if bb latch on direct, lesser chance of him/her taking in "wind", hence, no burp.

2. if bottle-fed &amp; the teats are anti colic eg: NUK, AVENT, etc. then again, no burp or not much cos no / lil "wind" taken in by bb.</font>

Can I check what bottles are u all using to store ur breastmilk? I currently using Pigeon storage bottles and note that the box indicated that storing is up to 24 hrs. I tot we can store BM for 48 hrs? Becoz of that, I dun store my BM more than 24 hrs.

mei...
BM stored in normal chiller fridge can be kept up to 48hrs. i'm using a mixture of my medela bottles and playtex storage bags to store my EBM.

cactus...
good to know u r trying ur best at bfg.
jia you ok? how often do u pump? u hv to pump regularly to meet the demand of ur bb...

<font color="aa00aa">mei,
i use pigeons bttles as well but normally make sure bb finish the milk within 48hrs. if i intend to store longer, will usually use the pigeon milk bags &amp; store in freezer which can then be kept from 3-6mths.</font>

she drink frm bottles wo. i using pigeon bottles.. n got 1 avent bottle.. so she use both brands. sometimes drink EBM n somtimes FM...

then tdy abit cranky leh. dun wana sleep n cry when wake up. then not time for feeds aso. jus sleep half hr then cry... then eyes wide open n cry for milk. then drink liao sleep abit n wake up again..

cactus,

I took a lot of epidural but my bb is v alert. Maybe it depend on how much dosage at the pushing part.

I also dun have the chance for bb to suck after labour, becos of my low BP incident. But still manage to get full BF from 2nd week. So dun worry too much. Try to latch diligently every 2-3 hours and pump for awhile after tat. Then watch out for engorgement.. after tat supply shd come.

To increase yr speed of milk flow, try massaging while latching. Massage in circular motion n push towards nipple. milk will flow faster.

My full mth celebration on last sunday, me not happy at my MIL. Cos she is like v scared tat bb will be close to me and my mum, then she jealous my mum take care of bb during confinement so she bo hiu my mum. Then my mum still try to tok to her and make peace. I see like tat v unhappy at my MIL. Then my MIL keep asking whether bb recognize me or not, she scared bb will be close to me. Then she also complain tat bb is small size n not fat. But bb got grow and in fact is overweight according to PD. Tell her liao she still argue. Then anyting good of bb she say is like her son my hb, anything bad she hinted at me (by saying tat my hb is not like that one etc).

U know when we come she never invite us to sit then also bo hiu me and my family members, even want us to bring bb stroller to put behind her chair when she is sitting at a dead corner.. how to let other people see bb if put at corner...
My mum still try to please her by carrying bb to her then chit chat with her etc when she bo hiu us.

then tell her bb v hard to take care etc. she like dun believe, FIL even say we exaggerate.

Then i say cannot drink too much milk else bb will vomit milk.. she say every bb also vomit milk one..

Me v scared she will keep feeding my bb milk when she took over after ML to take care.. then my bb become v fat.. cos my MIL keep tinking fat is v healthy.. tok to her how also no use.

She didn't even ask abt me.. from hosp stay she ored concentrate so much on bb. I feel like watever concern during pregnancy is not sincere towards me but is meant for my bb.

No wonder people say whether MIL is good or not must see long term.

If my mum can really take care of bb long term after my ML, i really dun want my MIL to take care after seeing her attitude at my mum. But my mum can't.. so have to let my MIL take care after ML. SIANZ.

Cactus, Congrats!

Crystal, my hb like that one lor. Cynthia said I pampered him too much liao. In fact since young, everything he got his mum to do (he thinks his mum can do everything, me too, but dun forget, his mum last time not really working, and their generation diff from our generation now)so he thinks I can do also. I think I too soft to him liao, I will get him to share the teaching of #1 since my hb also always criticize that I am not clever, only study till diploma level.

Ellysia, MILs like to say good things of bb belong to their genes and no good ones are intended to be ours. Dun take it at heart, just let her say. After a few times of my MIL such remarks, I learnt to be quick, asked around relatives of hb or her to know when hb or his sis young that time were like wat patterns. So if her remarks seems ironic, I will tell her last time her son or daughter also like that, sure like them, not me, she also no choice but to swallow back her words.

I do feel if you think that your MIL is not suitable to take care Yu Zhe, its best either get your mum to look after him or get a nanny staying near you.

Veniz,

Tat day my hb's uncle contradict my MIL statement n say my hb also not so guai, then she keep protesting n insist she is right. So i dun tink i contradict her will have any use.

I have no choice but to let my MIL take care lor. Nanny i even bu fan xin cos stranger. But sianz to let her take care cos i got to pick up bb everday then see her n hear her remarks. Last time buay song can avoid seeing her, now cannot liao.

I dun understand why MIL will say these kind of remarks.. then our mums will not say these kind of remarks hor.

mei

i use pigeon, avent n medela storage bottles. I keep 24hrs only regardless wat bottles, if its in fridge. freezer section can be keep to 3mths i tink.

hey,
anyone bb's cord haven drop off? my bb tdy day 11, e cord stil hanging strong there. wonder when it wil drop? seems hard to me. PD got gif powder to sprinkle on frm day5...

i thot normally take abt 7-10days for e cord to drop? any1 can advise?

Ellysia
My MIL also like tat... She even can tell baby infront of mi that next time mummy not around, you can eat as much as you wan....

I nearly scold my MIL lor... I nearly tell her to stay away from bb lor.... Hb and her only know how to play with baby... They dun even take care of baby lor... Everyday early go out and late come back then tell mi leg very pain walk alot...

Next time mi ML end liao dun think fang xin put maid with her lor.... When she got flu, she can tell mi she fine liao and the next moment i see her blow her nose with her hands (not tissue) and clean on the t-shirt and carry baby....

Wah... I really cannot take it liao... then bring baby see doc that time, husband ask how come baby got flu and cough and i told her its your mum lor and he can actually dun believe mi....

Prcillia,
I went to do rebounding afew days b4 my bb shower =D..

Ellyisa,
Bo bianz lor, haiz, tink all e while, DIL and MIL sure hv probs de...Last time I get on quite well with my MIL, but ever since she do confinement for me, my impression towards her changed...Now my kitchen cabinet sticky and oily, me so sad...MIL still staying at my hse cos i oding malay massage so need her to take care of bb..hiaz...ren yi ren lor, wat to do..

samsoon,
My bb also drink ard 120ml of ebm every 2hrs, then if 120ml of FM, will be 3hrs ..

Crystal,
Ur PD charges abit ex hor? My ger/s PD is $440 for 6in1 jab..Will be bringing my ger for her jab this thurs as well...Did u give ur ger drink baosheng b4 she goes for e jab?

mrswrx,
Its a MUST to burp bb leh...Share my experience with u, this happen when my bb was in 3rd wk. I was feeding her FM in the bottle, then i realised milk kept flowing out of her mouth, so i did not take out e bottle to burp her. Kept on feeding her, until she got choked, then milk flows out of her nose! It was so scary leh, her eyes open big big to stare at me, faced all red, like gasping for air...Then lucky she managed to cry to breathe lor...Really scare e hell out of me...

So I learnt my lesson, must burp bb when we see them not sucking milk lor...say after 30-40ml, must burp once...Now my ger drinking 125ml of FM, I burp her at least 3 times to make sure her milk goes down.

The best way for me to burp my ger is to put her over my shoulders, then I stroke her back. Must be careful and make sure that her face is above my shoulder lor so that she can breathe...

mei,
I using medala storage bottles...But my BM not alot so we try to clear e mil kby 24hrs..

<font color="aa00aa">cactus, i'm facing the same prob as you. My ger oso very impatient in sucking especially i had flat nipple. I'm using the nipple protector but if she not able to suck the milk as per her demand, she'll cry loh. So i make sure i had to pump out the milk to feed her via bottle. But i was worry without direct latch on, not sure if able to keep up with the demand, coz i heard latch on can stimulate more milk.

sarahteddy, so i just need to buy the pumpin' pal's original handsfree strap, then i dont had to carry the bottle? Wont the shield be loosen? Coz it seems like cannot 'stick' to our breast leh.

mrswrx, dont worry! I remember my #1, her bb's cord only drop when almost 2 weeks. So, dont panick, ok?!

For those for feed their baby with EBM, can i know how often you pump? Yesterday nite , my breast milk leak and my blouse was soak, kana my bedsheet as well, coz i was too tired to wake up and pump. But if i diligently pump every 3 hrs, then dont had this problem, but it was very tiring to pump every 3 hrs leh.</font>

Felicia n cactus,

Its like tat bb will get impatient esp if u use bottle sometimes, they get so used to the speed of bottle then they dun like latching. Tats nipple confusion. Latching can stimulate more milk.

u can try to train yr bb in latching then avoid using bottles.

felicia,

its standard to pump every 2-3 hrs. I latch my bb every 3 hrs. if skip 1 feed, will also get soaking milk leak out.

i read in article tat first 3mths is v impt to establish a good supply. if miss more than 6hrs without pumping or latching, it will reduce milk supply.

feifei,

now bb back is not strong better dun burp over yr shoulders, try the craddle method (sideway) instead in case u hurt his back.

actually if latch there is not much need to burp. but if bottle have to do so.

ya lor i oso used to have a good impression of my MIL..now drop liao lor.

Felicia,
U din buy the breast pad? mayb u shd get afew boxes of e Pigeon breastpad, i using 4th box liao...bery useful...As for pumping, me also find it tiring, so onli pump ard 5-6hrs...this is y my MS still low...

Ellyisa,
really? but hor, if put over shoulder, she burp faster wor..hmm...how to burp bb craddle method?

Hows ur MS now?

Priscilla,

wah.. must take foto of yr MIL then show to yr hb lor..as evidence.
see liao v angry hor.. dun see better.
dunno if put at infant centre better than her take care hor.

me have no choice.. cos i tink infant centre dun feed BM.. i try to let MIL take care.. if after 6mths of BF (3mths of her taking care after ML) then i assess whether need to send infant centre or not.. i hope no need n she can take care to my satisfaction.

feifei,

I tink i accidentally took dang gui cos the newbaby catering has some dang gui n i dunno. my MS has dropped and i trying to increase it so i can keep spare milk for use after ML.

craddle is how u latch yr bb position then u rub his back.

me didn't use breast pad at home, waste $$, if leak i change clothes just wash. if leak a bit then i ignore.

Ellysia,
Oh dear...how u increase it? take fenugreek?

i nv try burpin gbb this way leh...hehe...shd try liao...But my bb now has some phelgm lor, duno how to get rid of it leh...

<font color="aa00aa">ellysia, i think i can only depend on EBM, coz my ger is very impatient with my flat nipples and my baby crying really make me panick. (thou this is my 2nd baby, but stil cannot stand baby's crying.) Then i really had to diligently pump every 3hrs liao.
Btw, how you know your BM is fully pump out? How long we need to pump?

feifei, i got the breast pad, but was thinking very troublesome to wear bra when sleep, so i din use it. Tonite really had to set alarm clock liao.</font>

hmm..
my hubby bot the RIDWIND the colic drops frm guardian pharmacy.. and it seems work for my boy.. he getting less cranky today and drinking well.. not struggling to feed him already..

hmm.. gripe water instruction actually put 1tsp for 1mth to 3mths old.. so i gif abit to my boy only.. my mil actually wanan give 1 tsp and i stopped her.. she said last time she gif 1tsp to her kids oso..

i tink all of us having prob wif mil.. haiz.. she will be taking care of my boy too.. quite reluctant.. but no choice.. haiz..

tummy binder..
the binder is to cover the belly button after ru yi you rite? nw i rub ru yi oil above the belly button.. can i start rubbing it on the belly button already?

mrswrx,
my boy cord dropped on the 12 or 13th day.. PD said it will takes 7 to 14days to drop..

Ellysia
my gal cannot put at infant care... i actually told husband that i wan to find nanny for baby... but he say maid better cos can do housework... but i say yr mother dunno how to take care of baby cos there's once i saw my MIL feeding baby drink water while baby is lying down on the bed, she didn't even bother to carry baby up to drink.. I was so pissed lor... I told her it could choke baby lor...

My husband can tell mi... 'I did not ask my mother to look after the baby.. My mother job is to make sure maid does her job'

I really got nothing to say lor...

feifei...
rebonding and dye hair think use chemical leh... i not too sure can a not leh... my mama told mi not to... but i really a bit buay tahan my hair colour liao... since preggy cannot dye till now got two tone liao...

Will be going to do my hair this friday...baby shower on sunday and need to bring baby to my mum's place to pray to the god on saturday...

Felicia
Normally i use breastpad and wear nursing bra cos scared boobs sagging.. hehe....Breastpad already finishing soon going to buy another packet liao...

BabyCupid...
I dun understand applying ru yi oil ON the belly button... I just drip two tiny drops on my palm and rub till hot and place over baby stomach only then rub whole stomach lor... They tummy binder is to cover the belly button after the oil...

Normally i will apply the oil each time i change diaper so that she will not have much wind in her stomach... and i find that after applying she will start farting.... hee...

I also have problem with mil n my HB never supports me. he listen his mother till think is my faulth n I'm the one creating trouble. his mum is good in talking. if she's wrong will say until correct. n whatever thing she find that we done wrongly she would say n say n want us to listen n follow. she also very sturbborn. when i changing bb, she help but i dont need her help l. if i need i will ask so i told her no need to help n i do myself. sturbborn lor, keep on helping. i appreciate her help but i just want to do myself lor. i also sturbborn one. these 3days mil look after bb as my mum went oversea n these 3days was a hell. tml she's going back. thank god! but worest thing that she's going to take care with effect august. how I wish I could let my mum take care. i can't stand her! I find that she always talk to my HB dunno what n end up I got scolded by him. yesterday, she again start her nonsense. went to talk to HB. then he suddenly come into room with a fierce look n went out. at that time I was feeding bb. I dunno what she complain. after I feed, I wanted to hint her that I can't stand her keep complaining. i say loudly "what wrong with u? what i did wrongly again?" HB diam diam. my mil should know I'm hinting right? but she thick skin act nothong has happen. I so angry lor. always want to make HB n me querrel. she very bad one. she actually got complain to my HB that my mum this do wrong, that do wrong. different ppl different working style what. n when my mum nv say this, she tell HB my mum say. very bad lor.my HB should know his mother pattern but when she mention he forget about it n scold me n when i told him my problem with her, also scold me which I think is unfair to me lor. so what should i do? keep everything in my heart lor. say out also no use since he nv supports me.

sry for such a long complain. I keep in my heart for very long time.

thks gers, i wil keep a look out for her cord to drop. waiting patiently.

rdgs to burping, me stil not veri good at it. wil try to burp bb more. CL has been doin e feeds. sometimes she burp a while n bb not burpin n fell asleep, she wil stop lor. she said as long as bb can sleep means ok liao. dunno wat logic aso.

priscillia,
wat i meant is after rubbing with both palm did u put over the belly button? or the area above it.. cos all the while i put area above the button cos the button not dry up yet.. now dry up liao wonder nd to place button there anot..

Hi Felicia!

here i am, reply you and at the same time expressing out the milk. : )

I have been using the handfree strap since the arrival of my 1st child, now nursing my 2nd one. Very useful.

The shields will not be loosen if you adjust the strap accordingly. It takes a while before you are used to the strap. Pai Se to take photo with 2 funnels hanging to my breast, otherwise can show you it is pretty user-friendly.

FYI, i am using Medela PIS. : )

The strap can hold 1 or 2 funnels.

Ellysia,
u still on the newbaby tingkat?
now they using new menu leh
then thought the drink now got dang gui.
er, how does dang gui look like?
though dang gui can 'clear blood' or 'pu qi'?

Ellysia, so sorry to hear that you are unable to contradict your MIL about her remarks and also not very keen in getting outside nanny. I do think that your planning of getting your son to infant after 3 mths of her taking care is good, he can learn faster in infant care centre, at least not like me, now #1 stuck with MIL, I am unable to convince anyone to let him go Childcare. I have been vomiting blood in teaching him to write his alphabet A probably as his strokes are wrong written and he claimed his ah mah teach one. Headache.

mrswrx, you observe Tasha on her burping and if she doesn't burp, does she always pass gas or later on vomit/spit out some milk or not. If she always pass gas or spit milk out, that means she really need to be burp everytime after a feed. If all is well, just do a light burping. I have a niece who does not need to be burped as its natural in her that no matter how many ways they do the burping, she just won't burp. Her mum is also like that.

Felicia, I just bought the handsfree strap from Mumsfairy and paid $7.00 courier service to have it sent to me yesterday. 1st time use still ok, only that have to position the strap and the two loops holding the funnels properly to pump. Not bad. Check out the illustration here. Its similar in real life also. http://www.mumsfairy.com/product_info.php/products_id/29

gd mrng

my gal doesnt seemto be sleepg well past few nites. there seem to be phelgm in her throat n she wld b mkg sme whining n cryg every few mins. sigh i wndr wats wrg.

veniz,
she no vomit or pass gas leh.. she usually sleep soundly after milk. N she is on bottle feed all e time, either EBM or FM.
i aso dunno she is comfortable anot. my CL dun seems to care abt if she burp anot.

Ellysia,

Know its kinda tough for you having such MIL since day 1. Also know will be Bu fan xin if let nanny look after. No matter how grandma is safer. Try to open up a bit. When I have #1 I was very very sticky to my gal. What MIL do and say cant goes into my ears &amp; eyes to see! Even hate her more than before. But as time goes I let go myself and now just close one eye. No matter how we have own method of taking care &amp; educate our child. Sometimes I even worry MIL take care my children outcome will be what.

Now with #2, again MIL will be taking care. I felt I must be glad &amp; appreciate she is willing to do it and nothing really happen so far for my #1. So I tel myself let go more lo even till now I still don bear to part my #2 to her! Even want to just keep to myself spend more time and don't work. BUT all these not workable. So now learn to let go. I know saying is easy doing is tough. Take sometime for yourself okie

mrswrx,
my bb also seldom burp. I can keep stroking her different position and sometimes HENG will have a loud one.. but seems to be every few days once lo. But I just make sure she don spit or vomit milk and lift her higher for 15m-30mins before putting down.. I think not all bb will burp.

ok cynthia,
thks. jus wana check it out wif u gers.. cos my mum n mil insist needa burp then CL says its ok not to burp. then i aso dunno... then i scare after 1st mth i takin over dunno can handle anot.

then any1 bb ear got yellowish substance comin out?? my bb right ear got yellowish discharge, like ear wax when harden. gotta clean every mornin after bath.

Hi ellysia
Actually, would it be better for all of you if you put Yu Zhe in infant care? Else you will have more probs in the future cos child caring is going to get more diff with issues like eating, sleeping patterns and training. Dun let this become an issue that creates drifts btw u and your hubby.
Some smaller issues give &amp; take lor..

Hi sharon
I used to keep quiet too... Not that my MIL is bad, but we do have differences in views at times. But it is not healthy. I try telling MIL myself, she says "no wont one". So I bring it up to hubby who in turn will tell his mum and the prob get solve immediately. I believe son and mother will talk better.
But ultimately, cos we have to depend on MIL to care for our children, we cannot and should not insist they do things OUR way. Sometimes, have to close one eye if not both lor. Think of it this way, they also not very used to our way of living right? The way our kitchen is cleaned, the way we put our stuff etc... I remember when my MIL was staying with us, my kitchen also quite messed, but see it that she is helping us in another way lor by taking care of our child so we can work in peace.

Hi veniz
Is your son attending school? I think they do teach in school mah. Just re-inforce at home lor. Use that as an reason. I mean we can't go wrong with what was taught in school yah? cannot be only ah ma is correct mah.

My girl is quite close to me, but got its 'disadvantages' too. everything got to be done by me lor...sometimes i wish i hv 2 pairs of hands. And me &amp; hb had not gone anywhere w/o her for past 4 years...cos we cannot leave her with others for the night. honestly sometimes i wonder where is couplehood. But luckily hb seemed to share my ideas/directions... he had never complained (or at least directly to me lah)

mrswrx,
sounds like ear infection leh... check w doc.

re: burping
I agree w some mums here not all babies burp. My #1 dun, no matter how we do it, if she does, we strike toto. #2, easy, lift him up and he burps. Just make sure you dun leave baby in another rm by himself, leave him in the hall so tt if he vomits or chokes, someone can hear or see.

Sharon and Ellysia, its true like Cynthia said, we have to close an eye when MILs taking care of our little ones. Sometimes, even though we do not like how they talk and treat us, we still have to believe they will provide unconditional love and care to their grandchildren. Yes, sometimes I do hate to admit my in laws love my son very much till he seems more like their son rather than my own, but most times I see that the love they provide to him is very much there, so I am happy. But still, I have to enforce them not to pamper him too much, communication with MIL also counts, like MIL will tell me what happen, I will tell her his funny/noti story when he is with us, etc. It can be real funny though talking about his funny incidents.

But also, as babies are now very young, we may tend to not see eye to eye in certain ways they do or handle babies. We also have to think this way, its good that they take care our children for us, otherwise if outside pple take care, we also dunno anything may happen or wat (touchwood).

Linda, ya, we have to tell him do/write the way he learnt in school. This morning, I just called his teacher and told her to help me take note of the wrong strokes he wrote. She said they are re-capping the alphabet A this week so she will help me go through with him. There is also another problem which is the friends he met in class. He is especially close with this boy who he claimed always teach him funny words and those 'not so nice' words. Haiz, I have make extra effort in the right upbringing him now.

Glen hospital bill is not cheap. 4 nights in hospital, elective c-section, hospital charge 5757, anethe doctor fee 850, PD fee 770, Gynae fee 3000, total 10377, but have to say, Dr. Tanny Chan operation skill was very good. medisave 3650, self pay 6727. Hubby shall work hard to make more money lah

mrswrx,
I not sure if you have done this for Tasha's burping session, this is what I learnt in prenatal course and find it works well for my #1 &amp; 2. you sit baby upright on your lap, facing one of the side. hold to her back and one hand cup her chin. Then rock her slowly from her left to right and left for awhile. Use your hand (make it like scooping water shape) and pat a few times on her back (slightly below shoulders in centre), not too hard though. Then rock her left right left again for awhile. See if she can auto burp.

I find this better way, even my CL now also copy me since her method cannot work very well.