(2008/06) June 2008

Tera - Thanks! Will ask DH to get it soon.

hi soyabean..wats a LC?

i was thinking of going back to the hospital ward and see if i can show any nurse if im doing it the right way.

Hi Elaine..i am using INFACOL wind drops for my gal too..it works wonders...u r rite can save $$ for consultation..:p

Hi Veniz, when i had my 1st boy..whenever i pump out milk to store..this old folks will ask me to throw away sayin its not fresh...once kept in te fridge hv to gif..alamak tat time i was so stress..but i tot in the olden days ppl gif BM wan leh...duno why now they say FM better...Am confused!!

tinyfeet - Maybe you can go to ParentCraft and consult with the consultants? I think they do charge for their consultation...not to sure.

Rizty, I know from my mum's generation, that time they fashion Formula Milk, so they prefer to give FM and say BM no good. Now after much researched, we found that BM better, be it freezed or chilled. So the pple will think otherwise lor. I really hate it, No milk, they complain, now have milk, they also complain. Dunno what they want. I have to stop thinking of their remarks and be more persistence in increasing my MS.

Veniz,
Not sure when promo ends leh, maybe try to get it soon.
Cos can save quite a bit. Now a bit confused abt the dosage cos it says 1 to 2 capsules per day but i hear ppl taking 3 times a day.

Yah, some older folks still think FM is fine, no need BM. So u really need to turn a deaf ear and just persist.

tinyfeet,
u can call up thomson parentcraft for an apptm and a LC (lactation consultant) will see how u latch on baby and correct u, if needed. tink the charges is around $40 plus for a 45 min consultation.

tinyfeet,
LC means lactation consultant i think, when in hosital,they will come n teach u how to latch bb on, if not, you can call counselling helpline from :www.breastfeeding.org.sg or check out ameda website, there are some info on Breastfeeding

i asked my bb's paediatrician, she said its ok to give bb water n BF alot so they can urine, n it will help bring down jaundice

veniz,
pls dont b affected by other ppl's remarks, u know what is good for your bb, in fact BF bb will not make the bb overweight, n healthier bb, dont get sick easily.

Haha..Veniz...the child is ours..we stick on to wat we wan lor..my mum oso says why te BM so cold, why tis why tat,why never gif lotsa plain water..:p ...i jus close my ears...(mentalli)...as long as child is feeding well..dun b too bothered hor...which mum doesnt wan to gif their child te best rite.....

<font color="blue">hi ladies,
finally managed to get to logon to the forum..thks tera for updating for me.. i am still in TMC..super sian..nothing to do..luckily i brought my laptop here..

here's my birth story..

06/21 @ 7+pm - felt slight pain at lower abdominal but thought maybe my pants too tight so didnt bother

06/21 @ 9+pm - felt the same pain again but only for less than 30sec didnt bother

06/22 @ 3am - woke up to watch eurocup match between Holland n Russia. Felt the same pain again but this time more intense and lasted longer. I told my hb, he asked me cld it be contraction, but i said dunno leh..cos no experience mah..somemore lasted around 30sec then no more liao..so dun bother lor..then during halftime, the pain became more regular, happen every 5min..n suddenly got the urge to poo.. so went toilet poo liao then realised got a bit of brown discharge..only then i realised i might be hving contraction n gonna go into labour soon..i decided to hang on until end of the game..

06/22 @ 5+am went toilet to check but tis time no discharge..so i tot cld be false alarm..went back to rest.. but pain come back again after every 5min..cannot even sleep..

06/22 @ 7+am cant tolerate the pain liao..decided to wash up then get ready to go TMC.. but pain suddenly subside after i bath..so i delay longer..went round cleaning my kitchen n do my laundry..

06/22 @ 8+am pain back again..woke my hb up to go buy porridge for me n told him we will go after hving breakfast.. but after eating pain became not so regular..from every 5min to every 10min..so i think can wait lah..then stayed home until 11+ then go TMC

06/22 @ 1130am reached TMC and was sent to labour ward, nurse checked i was oredi 3cm dilated..so juz strap on CTG to monitor and given medication to remove poo..

06/22 @ 2pm pain became more intense so i asked for laughing gas..

06/22 @ 3pm gynae came n checked, he said i still @ 3cm..very slow..he broke my water bag n suggesst i take epidural cos my cervix still very tight..i am not relax dat's y cant dilate fast.. since the pain get worse i decided to give in n used epidural..

06/22 @330pm doc came to administered epidural.. dat's when my nitemare came..i felt more pain n contraction is almost 2 -3 min liao..but cos of my size, doc find it very difficult to put in the epidural..he took very long to administer it..during the process the contraction is super pain..i almost cried..

06/22 @ 4pm epidural finally in but i can still feel the contraction on my right abdominal..the left side cant feel anything liao..the doc said the medication got blocked somewhere in the body..they tried to let me lie on my right so that the medicine can flow through but no use..i still have to depend on laughing gas..

06/22 @630pm gynae came back n checked..i dilated to 7cm liao..cos now very relax but bb's head is too high n there's a drop in bb's heartbeat so he suspect something is wrong..he suggest i go for emergency c-sect with GA since epi dun work well on me..

06/22 @ 7pm sent to OT to do emergency c-sect

06/22 @ 720pm my bb is out finally..bb's umblical cord went round his neck dat's y bb's head remains so high even when i hv dilated to 7cm..

sorry for such a long story ah.. hehe..

tinyfeet,
try email breastfeeding.org.sg
usually they will response within 1 working day
i email them in regard to jaundice too
they say just keep nurse, n let bb flush ou.

n true enuff, my bb jaundice drop n now no longer need to b follow up

JP and Tera,
not sure whether i'm hving SPD is Pelvic joint pain (symphysis pubis dysfunction) anot leh
cos all this while, i thought its becos of the stitches that causes the problem.

i posted b4 i got difficulty to even wake up fr bed.
the pain came from (backside). n yes, pain when i try to lift my legs lor. even sitting also pain.

lately i'm been wearing those 'high-cut' undies, n the condition improved greatly.

do i hv the symptoms of SPD?
how do i know whether i'm a sufferer?

wow bizznow,

solid that u able to keep delaying
most impt bb is healthy!
congratuls again!

seem true abt has to relax then u will b able to dilate faster.

my gf told me, after abt 12hr, she's only 3cm dilate. then after taking epi, within an hr, she's fully dilate.

mummies..

any of you suffered from engorgement whereby latch baby also no use, pump and massage also no use har???

I couldn't get rid of my lump for two days liao... then nipple sometimes got stinking sensation...

is it something wrong or infection???

priscilla,

for last few days, i had the same experiences like what you encountered, use cabbage leaf, hot towel pump also still pain, i think its blocked duct, cos when i pump, dont see milk flowing out from the centre of nipple, but for my left side, can see milk flowing from few places of the nipples, i tried massaging the "lumps" last night, and felt relieved this morning as the pain is not there since i wake up,maybe you can try

for those who has sore or cracked nipples, try using Gerber Breast Therapy gentle moisturizing balm, to relieve chapped,tender nipples:its lanolin-free/no need to wash off before feeding baby/hypoallergenic,i had cracked n sore nipples for 1st few days, then after every feed, i apply the gel(like a glue stick)onto my nipples, and now no more cracked nipples, not sore when bb latch on, btw, i bought it at Moms R Us located at United Square, not sure if can get in places like Kiddy Palace, can try

Fennie
tried massaging liao...still no use leh.. latch baby on and will relieve alittle but the next day again same problem...

Anywhere can get help to clear the blocked ducts???

Priscilla,
MLP shared that cabbage leaf helps in clearing blocked ducts, but i tried on mine, it doesnt work,did you try calling the bmsg helpline?i called yesterday but no one call me yet

bizz,
congrats once again! when will u be discharged? do post ur bb pics soon ya?

rooller,
when u seeing gynae again? maybe can check with him or her to ascertain the cause. actually i found out abt SPD on internet and it sounds like what i am having.

pris,
got to massage very hard. another way is to let bb suckle, it works for me. if still persist, think best to see a LC and make sure no infection.

<font color="aa00aa">Riz, i just came back from Dr Ang's clinic. No dilation. So, tonite will induce liao.
Dr Ang was very confident with his induce, but for my case, he said chances are i might ended up c-sec again coz my stuborn cervix and due to my previous scar, he'll not give me full dose of induce pill.

Anyhow, if after tomolo morning dilation is only about 1-2cm or even least, he'll do c-sec for me liao.

Bizz, when u discharge? Wat is ur room nbr? I'll be goin to TMC tonite at 10.30om for induce.</font>

Felicia,

I hope my MIL can at least take care until BB is older then if really cannot then send to infant care but at least at a older age. Cos if too young send to infant care can easily get sick. Also dun tink infantcare can give breastmilk to bb.

Priscilla,

The best way is to push yr lump very hard and massage when u are latching bb at the same time. Everytime when latching trying to see whether there is lumps or not and clear asap dun wait for it to accumulate.

rooller,

I understand from nurse tat why give epidural can dilate faster is bec' with no pain, mother tend to relax and thus able to dilate faster. if tense up will dilate slower. dunno true or not.

Ellysia,
seem v.true for my gf.

for my case, this round i keep practising the 'breathing method' to make myself 'relax'.

not sure whether is this why i manage to dilate pretty fast

Re: cracked nipple

I also have this prob.. tink one of my nipple maybe bleed a bit too. Been applying Medela lanoin cream regularly and sometimes i skip latching tat breast for one feed so tat it can recover.

i am new. just delivered to my bb gal, danielle in TMC last Tues.

now seeking advice on breastfeeding and bottle feeding.

was not successful in latching on during the first week, and managed to pump 110ml fr both breasts every 4 hours. have tried latch-on with the use of my brest friend yesterday, and so far so good, just that she latched on for a long time - 40mins, and i get too tired. since latched on, pump supply went low to 30-40ml every 2-3 hours. also supplementing with FM - similac, i am not sure when to change the amt to give her... please help to advise.

also also, would need to look for nanny to take care of danielle after she turned 6mths old.. i stay in marine terrace.

Irene

Initially my bb also latch v long. But after few weeks of latching he cut down to 30mins (15min each side) and if my breasts are engorge he just need 20mins or lesser.

Try to massage yr breasts while latching, it can increase the milk flow speed and thus reduce latching time.

i think cabbage works more to relieve engorgement, and not to clear blocked ducts. but hor... take precaution in using them too much cos they hv been known to cause decrease in MS.

another way to try to get rid of the lump is to fill some hot water (not too hot) in a small bottle and massage it on the lump while latching/pumping.

Congratulations to All mummies who have popped!

Felicia, Jia You!
Me will only induce tml, will have my checkup and admit to hosp straight. Wow, me very stress leh. Only left a few of us yet to be pop and somemore, I have piles for two days liao, hoping by tml will be ok.

Hi Felicia..doesnt matter if eventualli nd to csect la..as long as u and bb are ok can ler la...don worri....tink u cant wait to see bb hor..hehe

kp smiling..waitg for ur updates...Gd Luck!!

thanks ellysia!
so far i have no engorgement. just manage to pump abt 30ml from each side.

now that supply is low, i am feeding her like 1 time BF (sometimes with FM), 1 time FM, 1 time EBM + FM

lee may where are u delivering? TMC? i checked in on 16 june nite 11pm to avoid additional day charge as advised by my gynae. but my pkg wasn't cheap. i was induced in the morn 930am, then another time at 4pm, admit at 11pm, labor pain till 5am, then took epi as dilation only 4cm. by 6pm, dilation only 4.5cm.. so after 19-20hrs, i ended up c-sect and danielle was born at 7.12pm. not a very good experience, but kinda experienced alot abt.. labor, ethanol, epi, then c-sect.. the heartache is the bill... hahahaha

but not trying to scare you, what i learned is to take it easy. i have insisted on no epi. and in the end, after this experience, i think unless ur cervic is soft and dilating fast, it could be a better idea to go for epi, as it helps you to relax and improve dilation speed. this way, you can still go natural.

i must still say i am thankful for my gynae's patience. she let me persists as i reallie was hoping for natural.

Irene,
I will be delivering at KKH. I may consider epi coz my #1, I also have epi. See how coz till now, I still dunno my cervix dilate already or not. Doctor will check for me tml.
Hopefully, I dun nid to go for c-sect.

Prsicilia,
Maybe u wan to find the LC at TMC for help? that time my engorgement got real bad, both side like stone like that, got blueblack also, then armpit there got painful lumps, i made appt with e LC, and went down...The lady Ling massage hard for me, pain but after that i feel so much relieved lor....

Felicia,
Jiayou ya...Keep us updated! U are a brave mummy =D

Irene,
I also experience the same ting..My bb also reduce her latching time to 15mins per side, then can last her for 2hrs b4 she cries for milk..

Ellysia,
Hi ya...hows things? hows ur MS? Got pump out?

Hi Elaine,
My #1 not a light sleeper... I realise when #2 cries she is like automatic will wake up too. #1 also want me give her milk when saw me BF or bottlefeed #2... I think this is sign of jealousy. Hope as days goes will be better. #1 is not so clingy to me now as compare when I was PREG! Prefer her to be clingy to me
Now she is like who go out she can just follow and say BYE Mummie and Kiss goodbye! So upset...

rooller, the SPD pain is somewhere near the V area, the pain is like get up when you are sitting down and lying down will be painful.

Tera, kudos to you, 3am can wake up and pump. How's your MS now ? Try to drink more soup, have a hot drink before you pump, it will improve.

Soyabean &amp; Rizty,
I find that if I massage before I pump, continue massaging edges of breast when I pump / latch, let down is v good. After the milk flow seems to stop while pumping, I stop and massage again, then can get another let down. Now only 1 week, I can get 60ml per breast. Maybe you can try, esp on breast that has particularly sore nipples. I'm latching on correctly, but nipples still sore because bb sucks v hard and kind of flattens the tip of the nipple against her palate, so blisters came up in a row. I tried changing her position and ended up with an "X", another row of blisters! It was getting better after the blisters became a scab, but then the scab fell out 2 days ago and the nipple was raw and sore to touch, so no choice got to alternate pumping and latching to let it heal.

I got different problem, bb only 1 week old but absolutely hates the bottle. #1 also had this problem. Bb would fight and fight when drinking milk, choke on milk cos bite the teat. That's why this time I decided to start her early, at least 1 bottle a day, if not scared later same problem I cannot go back to work after ML.

Fennie,
One of the other things I learnt from a book called "Healthy sleep habits, happy child" is that bb cannot be awake for more than 2 hours when they are less than 6 months old. For newborns, can be 1-1.5hr, depending on how long they last slept. They get overtired easily and when that happens, they cannot sleep well, so they will wake up soon after you put them down. Quality sleep / rest is at least 45 min continuous, otherwise it doesn't really count. My #1 used to be a terror, scream for 1-1.5 hrs before bedtime, refuse to sleep in the day, and wake up every 1-2 hrs to feed at night until 5 months old. I read the book and started training him to take good naps in the day, then suddenly he slept much better at night and eventually slept thru the night ard 8 mths. My girl goes through her fussy period and cluster feeding in the day / late evening, but night-time is quite ok. She can go 3-4 hrs between feeds even drinking from just 1 breast, so I wake up 2x every night only. I hope it lasts and keeping fingers crossed that she will sleep thru the night earlier than #1. I'm already v thankful that she's easier. For my #1, I was v blur, everything also dunno, make all the mistakes. This time find it much easier, so hope that sharing this helps.

babyD...
sigh... my problems are so opposite of urs. mine jus refuses to latch... like torturing her like that. everytime i try to latch her i'm confident, but after 5-10 mins of struggling and seeing her cry until so tortured, i reali feel bad and give up.

hehe... some babies can be real biters... :p

felicia...
all the best to ur induction tmr...
keep us updated...

Thanx bbD..for the infos..will sure try...wah 60ml per side is alot leh..so envious..must be beri painful hor if bb suckle too hard..
my coll's bb oso don like bottle feed..oni wanto latch..everi lunch time she will go home..and feed..
she tried all kinds of bttle still cant help..
in the end gaf the bottles away

BabyD,
thks for sharing, my #1,as far as i remember, he sleeps thru the night quite early, this #2 sleeps alot too, sometimes can stretch to 4 hrs, and he only wakes up for milk, and then goes back to sleep again at the end of his feed, just difficult to put him to bed at night, he sleeps well day time in his play pan, without aircon, hubby suspect its the aircon in the room at night, or maybe the jamu smell which is still there after my massage

babyD,

My bb can stay awake for hours but drifting sleep and awake easily. Maybe is wat u describe..but we simply dun have any solution to make him sleep.

How do u train yr bb for better naps during the day?

feifei,

MS has dropped ored, still can struggle to feed bb but not enuff to pump out extra. however i need to start pumping extra, have to stimulate more milk then.

Irene,

Yr Q is to me is it?

My bb latching time reduce to 15mins each side after around 1-2 weeks of regular latching. After my engorgement phase, my MS increase but milk flow is still slow. Later i try to massage while latching n milk flow is faster. Also bb learn to latch n suck faster.

rooller,

Bottle - BB doesn't need to suck and milk flow is v fast.
Latching - BB need to suck n milk flow is slower, also need to pause for breath.

When bb has nipple confusion, she will treat yr nipple as bottle and expect milk to flow v fast and also will not suck as much. When milk does not come v fast she will be frustrated n refuse to latch. she will pull off nipple or throw tantrum, and push breast away. This is wat happen during nipple confusion.

bizznow.. congrats!!

hi soyabean
I had the same problem with u.. baby refuse to latch on until I gave up.. have been feeding him EBM exclusively for 5 weeks liao, no latch on.. until past few days I tried latching him and to my surprise, he does suck now. Now I try to latch him on abt once a day just to stimulate milk flow... maybe ur bb still young duno how to suck, give her a few weeks and she will learn