(2008/06) June 2008

Ellysia,
When u bringing ur boy for 6in1 jab? Me bringing my ger for her 6in1 jab next wk, heard that some bbs will hv fever aft this jab..hiaz...going to get tough...

feifei, according to my gynae, the long 20 hours of labour causes it, coz my girl was trying to push her head down and down and my cervix doesn't dilate. Thus causes the pelvic bone to expand quite a bit. I only use the binder for about 5 days to support the c-sec wound. I dare not even go and touch the c-sec wound. C-sec cannot massage so fast, the extra 10kgs donno will stuck with me till when

Mogudog,
I see...dun be sad lor, I also c-sect mah...Just started massage on tues onli...so tummy still there..That day i went NTUC< got one promoter was promotin gdiapers, i went to hv a look, she can ask me "when u giving birth?"!!!..I told her I GAVE birth liao...she apologised..so can imagine my tummy lor...haiz...

Felicia, look to hear good news from u
Thank god, my little girl can suck now, though I still have to struggle about 20 min before she finally can hold the nipple and suck. But now my nipples sore, plan to buy nipple protector for BF

feifei, today my girl only Day12. She drinks about 70 to 80ml. I not so fast out of "jail". So far every 3 to 4 hrs I pump, can pump 80 to 100ml. My CL supplement her with FM in the night when she wakes up. I only latch her on twice a day. Can see that she getting more frustated with my breasts already, 1 side I can only latch 10 mins.

feifei, wah piang, why the promoter so blunt. We sama sama la, hope to get massage after I outta jail. You enjoy your massage

feifei,
GNC selling 2 bottles of fenugreek for $44. Each bottle costs $29.50 so can save quite a bit.

I believe with the massage, u shld be able to shed off some of the tummy fats. I'm almost done with my massage, left 1 more session. Tummy is still flabby but much flatter. After i had delivered and before massage, i looked 6 mths pregnant lor!

Mog,
Did u have the v-pain before delivery? Actually I had towards end of pregnancy. So like what rooller said, the joint there is somewhat worn off. In serious cases, there is a 2 to 3cm gap between the joints.

The weight loss will take time but the good news is breastfeeding helps. So with ur breastfeeding plus massaging, u will prob be able to shed the extra kilos off. Dun be sad!

Sharon, she charge $50 for 2 solid hours. My hand was weak cos i went to touch cold water when in hospital cos need to wash hands, she really can tell u wh part of your body has more wind or water. Like i use my right leg to push too hard than left, she also knw.

Soyabean, ya, me super super tired. I becum kkh regular customer almost everyday n everyweek!

MLP, I think by 1.5 week, my stinging feeling gone by 1st week. Esp if u sit or walk too much, lagi more pain. Tat time i had to kp going kkh n stand so much..so if u dun move much, shd recover better. Also, my lochia is brown (ending) by 2nd week. Stitch still there.

Roooller, latex is more soft (like breast) for bb, but wont last long than the silicon. U nd to change more often esp it wears out (tear) faster.

Mog/feifei
Massage is good lor... my belly button when give birth looked over stretched and tummy looked like 4 or 5 months preggy lor..... after massage it shrunk a bit lor... now waist still at 33" hiaz... still long long way to 27" lor...

I still got 6" to lose lor... all my pants can wear except that i cant button haha....

Dunno full month how... Will be doing it at chalet got no clothing to wear.... Haiz...

feifei
so good outta of jail liao... mi still got 8 days to go... counting down liao....

Mog,
me also csec and was told to wear the binder and me wear till now (day 22) liao. But my wound ok by 1st week liao, me also long labour like yours (20+hr)but v-part ok no pain. Maybe u 1 2 ask r doc y your still pain? Me lost all my preggy weight liao now back to normal but still have tummy lor tats y now still wear the binder whole day and try to tighten it also.

TF, Ok.. Guess I may contact her for massage. btw, do we really need to take off everything for massage? Can wear on bra, underwear?

christina,
i'm also caesarean. now is my 16 days after delivery. everyday have to wear binder too. then the massage urut no more liao. cos ppl say if caesarean better don go for lady massage. haiz...now i got tummy with me with brownish colour lor... mad.

Christina...
so shiok... tis sat out of jail liao....

liew
for massage after c-section.. better wait till wound heal liao then massage bah.....

sharon...
think can put on underwear... if you are breastfeeding, make sure you empty your breast first before massage cos i experience leaking during massage... haha... got to put extra towel on our breast... this is wat i did lor...

some massage may massage your breast one lor... so think bra dun need....

bizz,
before u go for delivery dr yeo nvr ask you for ultrasound scan? cos it can tell whether ur bb kena the umblical cord or not. i did went for this scan before a week i delivery. you have to endure the pain and end up c-section. so hard for you thr... well, as long bb and mum healthy.

priscilla,
ya. but don know how to judge whether recover or not. i'm aleady take shower after7 days confinement days.

sharon,
my post natal massage, only wear disposable underwear cos still got blood discharge, but no bra, cos she will massage my back, bra will obstruct, but hv to empty breast, cos its really painful having to press on the engorged breast, so that she can massage the back

hi fennie, thanks for the info.
Yep, mine is a Jaret with 't' instead of 'd' and also a MtA baby
Might have met ur Jared when on 16 Jun 08 cos I was very curious and visit every baby in the nursery when fetching Jaret for bf.
I always bathe Jaret before feed but he doesnt like it. Tot of changing it to bathing him after feed.

Veniz,

thks for yr info on the wipes. The Komodo wipes not so good i find, but quite cheap the promo.

grace,

Wats tat website? the flash card is it black and white types?

rooller,

pre-natal class recommend we get silicon teats. Cos it make bb suck harder then bb will work harder for bf too.

feifei,

I be bringing my bb next week too for the jab. But heard tat this coming jab is not the fever one. the fever one is the 3rd mth jab.

Those who finish confinement, do yr locha stop immediately or last a few days more?

This weekend my confinement end but i still have to wear pad. dunno when will it stop.

soyabean,
Did you try latching bb b4 desperately hungry for milk? When they're frantic, can have problems latching. Tummy to your tummy, hand on back of bb's neck, then when bb open mouth, quickly stuff nipple in.

Rizty,
I'm so relieved, yesterday evening finally manage to get my girl to accept bottle. So scared I end up going home every lunchtime from work to feed when ML over! With #1, I literally went back every 3hrs to feedntil 5 mths cos workplace v nearby, but this time cannot.

Ellysia,
V hard to summarize whole book in 1 post. Got a few pointers from what I recall:

1. Never let bb be awake for more than 2 hrs.. (Golden rule, v v impt when bb less than 6 mths old!) Start soothing to sleep b4 2hr window.

2. Watch out for signs of tiredness, e.g. yawn, spaced out, not moving much, start soothing to sleep. By the time bb cry and cry (and you know it's not hunger), bb is already overtired.

3. Don't overstimulate bb when bb is awake. After a few wks old, bb will become more social and try to keep awake in order to play, then get overtired easily.

4. It's normal for all bbs to have periods of fussiness. This will peak at 6-8 wks and then eventually disappear. It's thought to be possibly due to imbalance of serotonin and melatonin homones. Bb not producing enough melatonin, sleep hormone.

5. After bb is 1 mth old, can start developing a fixed routine of naps and feeds. This part v complicated and changes with bb's age.

Methods to soothe to sleep are personal preference - rocking, patting, pacifier, suckling, swaddling, etc. For my #1, I started late, so used sarong and sarong sling cos nothing else worked. Now for #2, I use the 2 hr rule and watch carefully for signs of tiredness. If she gets really cranky, I put her in the sarong sling and she will sleep within 5-10min. Usually, I will carry her inside for at least 30min-1hr so that bb gets at least 45 min rest and is in deeper sleep, before putting down gently. Sometimes, the moment I put bb down, will wake up; sometimes will sleep another 1hr. For #1 sleep training, I didn't put him down in 1st week of sleep training until nap times were established. Then he became like alarm clock, come nap time, sure yawn and sleep easily. Nights became easier after that.

I'm starting my girl early. So far she is quite ok. She will get fussy at night too, but if somebody carries her, she will sleep. Last night I latched her at 11pm, midnight and 1am. Was so tired cos she wasn't sleeping well and had to be carried. I also scratch my head how come she feed and feed. But she surprised me by sleeping from 1am-7am. I woke up leaking BM and had to pump.

Tera, yes, I had the V pain in week 39 and 40. Wahhh, 2 to 3 cm gap very serious lei. I hope to shed the total 10 kgs by full month but I think very impossible liao

Priscilla, my belly button also over-stretched and now look like a miniature crater lake except no water inside, hahaha. I also looked like 4 to 5 mths preggie loh, haiz, now I still wearing preggie clothes lei.

Christina, my doc says my case is SPD, will take about 2 to 3 weeks to heal, if no improvement need to go physio. Envy you lei, so fast can shed all the preggie kilos.

Felicia, pls update my boy detail leh

Name: Keegen
Wt: 4.3Kg at 1 mth old

Feifei, im also out of jail liao. so happy but still cannot take cold drink leh. Did you take alot of plain water during confinement? Bcos old folk take too much, tummy very difficult to be flat leh. Mine totally flat like pre preggie during confinement. Dun worry, ur massgae will help

Tera,
i told my gynae abt the pain b4 delivery

he say that's bcos my body is preparing itself for delivery.

how did u noe if there's a gap?

hey ladies...

re: breastfeeding

me initially had a great prb with the MS issue...
for first 2 weeks...had no prbs latching on my bb but becos maybe im too enxious tat my bb dun have enuff BM...i had to alternate btw BM &amp; FM...tat result to her regurgitation after every feeds...i was almost on the verge of breakdown due to this.

It's been a long time since I logged in.. just delivered my ger last thursday..finally got time to come in and read. Now on confinement, keeps perspiring, cannot take it. bb on TBF, so back to being a cow again..

Hi Tera, roooller and Mogudog,
re: SPD
I have SPD for my 1st and 2nd delivery. FYI, there is a jab that can be given at the v area to alleviate the pain. Both times, my gynae gave me a jab at the v area and the pain disappeared immediately. I just got jabbed this time round on Tuesday when I went back for checkup. Now, I can get up n down wo feeling the pain, pressed on the pelvic bone area also not painful anymore.

Hi babyD..great to know ur bb is acceptg bottle feed..maybe nd some time to adjust...if not beri siong for u to kp goin hme to feed lor...
1 mth can fix routine naps already? took some time for my 1st boy to get into routine naps...*pull hair*
Actualli i did try ur tips ..and it does works..like te bfdg and let bb latch for comfort..heheh..got more tips share share ok...

Hi mummies !!
congrats to those who have popped !!!
Now that i have a little more time on my hands,
my birth story:
4am - ish - felt contractions
7am - 10-15 min contractions, decided to drive to MAH.
8am - Admitted to MAH - 4cm dilated.
Doc arrived and predicted that i'd deliver late afternoon.
12pm - only 5cm dilated !! was wondering why it was taking so long to dilate !! i was walking ard labour suite, trying to be as mobile as possible !!! on hindsight, contractions were bearable, so maybe sld not admit to the hospital so early (the next time
2pm - contractions 5 - 10 mins apart and pain !
230 - asked for gas. used it only 4 times cuz it was too troublesome
3pm - bearing down sensation, was told that Doc was on the way.
320pm - Doc was positioned in front, and told me to push whenever i was ready. I had a mirror positioned in front too, so i cld see baby crowning !!
335pm - baby out after abt 4 gentle pushes, tore slightly and needed one stitch.

someone told me that having babies is an addiction, and i think i'm addicted !! haahaa, am already planning for the next one :pP

mummies who wish to increase MS, can try motherlove products - www.motherlove.com,
can buy from vitakids and the pharmacy at Camden - I took the more milk plus when nursing #1 and found it very useful.

Rizty, yes, here i come with her news.

Felicia's News!!!

Felicia has given birth to a healthy baby gal at 1.00pm via C-section, spinal epi. Baby weighs 3.58Kg and length is 49cm.

Congrats Felicia, who I suppose is resting now.

K Ong, u may ignore my qn. hehe...
will keep this in mind if I really need to increase my BM.

So far, if my boy latches on both breasts during feeding, he will be contented. I have not tried pumping during this period to store EBM. As i'm afraid if I pump out to store in fridge, he will not have enuf to drink when his feeding time comes. Do u ladies face this? How to make sure he has enuf to drink and still be able to pump out EBM?

roooller : heehee yeah, i wanted to see the process of birth this time round !

MLP : i bought more milk plus, and also goats rue - and both worked for me !!
but i used it only when i had to pump more to prepare for the return to work.
If your SS is enuff to meet baby's DD now, then dont rock the boat, cuz oversupply can lead to engorgement !!!

u can actually pump after each feed to empty the breasts, but i personally wont pump at this early stage, cuz you may then encourage the breasts to oversupply the milk !! maybe in your second mth, u can do this to store ?

dont worry abt baby having enuff to drink, the breasts will make more milk, if baby suckles at it

*piyo* and felicia,

*piyo*
Oh, there's a jab to alleviate the pain?? Will one jab be enough? And it's permanent?

rooller,
the 2 to 3cm gap is those very serious kind which most of us do not fall under. i guess prob need x-ray to ascertain.

K Ong,
Haha, so fast and u are already thinking of #3!

aprilmum,
I am not sure when the GNC promo will end, i am assuming end of the mth, just a guess on my part. :p

Congrats to all who have popped! Welcome to motherhood and welcome to the world precious ones!

To all who will be popping soon, jia yu! Sending over lots of ELVs over!!!

A huge warm welcome to all mummies who just joined June 2008 thread! Congrats and welcome to motherhood too!!!

For all mummies who have came out of the confinement jail, congrats!!! Freedom....so envy!!!

Birth stories - Thanks so much mummies for sharing your birth stories with us! Wah, can't imagine that giving birth is addictive...ha!ha!

SPD - I also will have to ask my obgyn to check if I have SPD or not. Thankfully the pain has become lesser.

babyD - Thanks for the info. I learn something new each time I log-in!
Yup, sarong sling really works wonders. Just put my little one in it and voila! sleep liao.

just come in and shu ku...

Cant stand my MIL liao... She keep saying baby is like this one and like that one... But i know my baby better mah.. cos taking care of her since birth...

My gal has develop a funny pattern, after 5 plus 6pm feeding, she will stay awake till 10 plus or 11 plus.... My MIL dun understand that once my gal awake nothing to do will search for nipple and she will make noise but not cry...

She keep saying bb is hungry or thirsty... but its my baby lor i know what she wants lor... she jus wat somebody to carry only lor... so i told her its ok she is like tat one... she is not hungry....

jus now feeding at 6.30pm and she cannot sleep liao... at 8pm MIL told mi to feed her water or milk... i told her cannot as she cannot drink too much as baby stomach very small... She can tell mi drink water can no problem one wee wee come out liao.... *pengz* she not taking care of her mah of cos say feng liang hua mah.... Then i no choice get CL to get feed her EBM and she only drink 40ml and doze off liao... after cleaning her up she is still so wide awake lor.... Now have to wait till 11.30 for her next feeding before she sleeps lor...

Then when she carry baby she rock and rock and pat and pat... then i tell her that not to rock or pat her cos it will be difficult for mi to put her to sleep next time.... She just dun understand lor... i dun want baby to make it a habit that someone need to rock or pat her to sleep and her funny pattern also let pple carry too much liao...

Think i too stress till pump also no milk come out and jus now have to go buy milk powder to tong for the night...