(2008/06) June 2008

Crystal, actually I dun really like Glen Ong, dunno why. In fact years back when I was only 16, he read my 'letter of the day' dedication when he was in 98.7FM. To me, he is a bit beng but I like the way he always talk about his wife lovingly.

Crystal and Tera, dun envy lar. As buk ku teh has lots of garlic, I only take a little bit lor. Anyway, my MIL will not add kidneys in one, so Crystal, dun need to drool for the kidneys, haha.

Crystal, you good leh, can go around eat and eat. I am a glutton, and everyone who knows me know I love to eat. I just contacted my UK colleague yesterday and she told me, the only thing she knows about me is I simply love to eat, as in what I had done when I was there. Haha, she was surprised I was off food for the past few months due to morning sickness.

tera,
5-6kg to me is lots already, m already bugging my gynae to death on how i can lose the wtg tat i put on, jus tat she refuse to entertain me on tat area.
yes, i ve mac or kfc daily so much so tat hb tells me tat both mac n kfc may consider giving me VVIP liao.
i tried before to give mac a miss before bedtime but cant cos the craving simply got even worst then before tat i ve no choice but to call for delivery if not i cant sleep. it is like my comfort food in preggie time...not good actually...

ellysia,
good tat u can still go wif tofu n veg. i cant. i used to ve salads for lunch n mainly veg for most of my meals. meat to me is a once-in-a-while thingie cos dun like them tat much. since preggie, whenever i ve veg, even i force myself to eat, i will still throw them up after eating. now detest vegs like anything n cant stomach them, hope my diet can revert to pre-preggie after delivery, if not i sure die...

mine will be epi c-sec but nurse told me they will put up a screen at waist or below bust area so tat i cant see the actual process, neither can hb.

tat reminds me, would u happen to know if hb can take pic of the bb's wtg while bb is on the scale in the OT?

veniz,

the 1st things tat i can ve as soon as i possibly can after delivery or confinement, i wanna my pig's kidney (in bak ku teh style) n my bloody clams.... kekekekkeee.....

yur statement of me going round eating n eating is reai comical cos now i mental visual myself as Pacman liao....kekekee...like in the game, pacman keep going round the maze munching on the unsuspecting preys. hahahhaaa....

crystal,

Try to skip the fries if u can, it help to reduce the weight gain if u eat fastfood. Tats wat my gynae recommend.

Also try to avoid those carbonated drinks. Opt for orange juice or just plain water.

crystal,

Not sure if hb can take pix of bb on scale.

Actually i used to be a heavy meat eater, i dun really like veg. Now forcing myself to eat more veg for goodness of bb and myself.

Crystal, haha, but hor, u c section, you can only eat bloody clams after a few mths hor. cannot touch seafood for 1st 3mths or so after your delivery leh. But kidney, eat all you can lar (buffet style, haha). And also, if you go for brestfeeding, clams sure nono, so have to consider this lor.

About pacmac, make me think of when kiddo time, we have this tibit of pacmac shapes in different colours. I used to get that to eat, also the ET tibits...

Ellysia, I cant force myself to eat vege now leh, no matter how hard i try. last preggy still can eat, this time, completely off. But I like to take spinach fried with ikan bilis lor. I will be going for meat eating again this coming Thurs after my re-scan. making me drool just thinking of that.

So far have jus been reading all your postings.. Interesting conversation.. ^_^

Diapers: Will take your advice. Will try MammyPoko and Pampers for my baby.

FYI: My fren told me if eat Mac, try to avoid nuggets as they are mix of loose meat so not so healthy. Instead, burgers with meat patty is of whole chicken leg so its not considered processed meat. Therefore healthier..

is there any difference between huggies n huggies ultra?
me haven start to research on diapers yet... so needa take advice frm exp. mummies.
wher to buy cheap diapers?? other than supermarket, thot of buying if in the area recommended for diaper bargain. might not go to expo fair for bargain cos scare to squeeze wif ppl. hb hates crowded places.

crystal
I think we have the same taste. I luv pig kidney and cockles too. But nowadays, its difficult to get nice pig kidney mee sua and hb banned me from eating cockles since we know each other. Once he relented (b4 preg)and I got to eat but he kept making the 'urgh' face and nasty comments until I have no craving to eat it, v sao xing.

Hi gers,
Hb went for Company dinner, so alone at home..

Ellysia, Veinz,
During the end of my 1st trimester and starring of my 2nd trimester, I had problem taking vege and fish. Keep thinking of eating meat every meal. Now it is better, at least I am able to take vege and fish.

Oh ya, I realised that my tummy seems to have ballooned overnight wor. Today, my tummy felt so bloated and tight, as if I would explode anytime. But I really think that it has grown alot recently.

angel_z,
MammyPolo & Pampers are more expensive, you might want to try if other cheaper brands are suitable for your bb, especially during daytime..
Or at least that is wat I am intending to do.

mrswrx,
Do you noe what time the place at balestier closes? Tot of dropping by tomorrow or Thursday..

i love cockles oso but had become 'forbiden' food since preggie. I love to eat pig intestines oso which my hubby real hate it. Everytime i eat, he sure make comments on how unhealthy food i was eating.

Confinement period sure can eat lot of kidney, liver. hehe....

My colleague told me his frien gather a few pple and buy direct so that it is cheaper. The last time he ask me I was only 10 weeks so too early.

Anyone interested? Not sure what brand but will check if got mommy interested.

felicia
I also luv to eat pig intestines, but the small ones. I like to go to tiong bahru and eat the Koh Brother stall. Seems that women are more adventurous with food compared with man. My hb dun used to eat spare parts at all till he met me. hahaha

Zuen,
me hb went dinner n drink aso. huhuhu, alone @ hm relaxin n watchin tv... away for 2 days conference (so tired listenin n noddin head) baby avenue op frm 11am - 9pm, tats wat they state.

felicia, muffin,
i deeply luv pig intestines/pig liver especially 'kueh zapp', those braised in black sauce... yumm yumm. my 4mths of morning sickness make me throw up everythin i eat expect kueh zapp. every sun mornin is a muz. but i heard many ppl disapprove pregy woman to eat intestines becos its dirty n alot of bacteria. i hav not touch for few wks liao.. (droolin n floodin here liao) kekeke

connie,
i dun mind buying direct, but wats e brand n price and any min. qty required?

hi girls, have added most of you to Facebook already. i will create the June MTBs group tomorrow and include you girls into it.

those of you who would like to be included, please add me [email protected] to your Facebook and remember to indicate that you are from June MTB so i know to put you into the June MTB group.

maryann,
yup, am on facebook now. thanks for creating the group!

crystal and all,
i also like pig's intestines, liver and stomach. however since preggy, only can take the stomach. have not been brave enough to try clams tho'..maybe after preggy will try, hehe.

crystal,
re weight gain - since you really cannot stop eating fast food, then like wat the gals say, try not to eat the fries/nuggest too much. for mac's maybe go for grilled chicken foldover or fillet o fish? that to me is like the more healthy food at mac's la.

Zuen:
I thought newborn got sensitive skin so its better to start with better diaper brands.. then when baby is bigger (few months older) then can try other cheaper brands?

No? =P

Since on the topic of food: has anyway anyone here try 1)crab, 2)steak (but not well done, maybe like medium well?)

I have been told that preg ladies can't eat crab (and other shell fish) and must eat fully cooked food so can't eat steaks that are not well done..

But I have cravings for steak whether i walked past western restaurant..

Anyone has eaten? Trying to convince hubby to let me eat...

Or not advisable?

angel_z,
I've eaten steaks a couple of times since preggy. Do ask for well-done steak cos if not cooked properly might have bacteria.
I usu take medium well pre-preggy but since preggy, will ask for well-done just to play safe.

Zuen, just now I had some spinach but then when back home, felt like tummy not well, anytime can throw out. But then, baby's very active now like as if she throwing my food around the tummy (blaming on her again, haha).

Anyway, i do love cockles and recently also like kway chap. Angel_z, I do take welldone steak but then, i think once i asked for medium well. You same as me, walk past western restaurant only will crave for steak.

Tera: Oh ok... but well done not too tough to chew?

Veniz: Ya loh.. Whenever i walked past jack place, will envy the ppl inside eating steak. Heehee.. Oh.. So you eaten medium well steak before? When was that? 1st or 2nd trimester? But now you stopped eating la?

So well done steak still as nice as medium well? not too tough?

angel_z, ya, not only jack place leh, any restaurants which serve moderate good steak I will drool and crave. My 1st preggy, i took medium well, no prob untill in my last trimester, three days before my c-section, i went sizzler ate medium well steak and the salad bar, went back with horrid flu and block nose. May be due to the food or the sickness was coming all along only attack that time, I dunno. But play safe, eat welldone.

Jack's place's welldone seems to be a bit hard, but just inject more energy in chewing. If you dun mind paying a bit more, can go Hog's cafe for their welldone prime steak, not hard, but soft and moist without any blood, etc.

I am open to medium well steak if I know the particular restaurant I am at always overcook their steaks, like that, by the time I get to eat, the steak can pass off as welldone one. Will stop medium well when in my 3rd trimester.

toking abt steaks, i din rely dare to take chance cos system not tat strong nw comparin to pre-pregy.. has been drooling over steaks n miss the taste of e tender meat!! been replacing sliced beef to ease the craving....
mention of food, my stomach is playing drums loud enough for my neighbour to complain.. goin to attack my fridge for any decent food liao cos hb refuse to buy food back!

Morning feifei,
Always the earliest..

mrswrx,
Thanks. If I managed to knock off early, will go with hb tonight. But oso worried that I will get better deals during some other fair. ;p I saw on the newspaper that some of the sales item seems quite worth it.

angel_z,
Some bbs tend to have more sensitive skin compared with others, regardless of how young/old they are. I think one way will be to buy small qty of different brands to try. If your bb can use the cheaper brand, why spend more? The cost per piece can differ by $0.20 wor. If the bb needs 7 to 10 pieces per day, it adds up to almost $2 per day wor. Can get a double cheeseburger from Mac. ;p

Veinz,
Hopefully the food has been fully digest.. ;p Last night I had dinner but still felt hungry. Ended up munching on tibits, so guilty. Put on 0.5kg this morning.. Now I regret.

Oh ya, any remedy to ease backache?
I get upper backache (right behind the chest area) for the past 3 days. I used to get that before preggy, one of the PMS. Used to apply yoko, yoko. However, yoko, yoko contains camphor, which is supposed to be unsafe for bb (some MTBs mentioned). So trying to tahan. Sob..

muffin/ mrswrx. tera & all lover of pig intestines,
we just luv pig spare parts! Next time had a gathering of pig spare parts.haha....
Well, actually is high in cholesterol loh. And if did not wash clean clean, might had bacteria oso , so better limit our intake. Me oso had been weeks din eat, miss it! Aiya, but today company give free lunch, else sure get my collegue go to eat.

Angel,
My hubby dont allow me to eat crab. I think he's pantang about old wives' tale where eating crab during preggie will caused bb to be more ' duo shou' -like to touching thing around. But when eating seafood during preggie, is better make sure we are immune to it.

ZuEn,
Oh dear... poor ger...how abt doing some streteching exercise?

I also feel abit of pain on my rite chest today...duno y..mayb bb is pressin gon my nerves..hiaz..

Felicia,
True lor, my hb also dun let me eat crabs BUT i managed to eat 1 gong last wkend during a buffet..yummy...=)

Veniz: Ya.. If one day, i realli can't stand the craving of steak will take your advice and try the premium steak at hog's cafe.. Heehee...

Mrswrx: Ya.. i esp missed the feel and taste of tender steak.. But dun even say medium well steak, i'm not even allowed to eat those 3/4 cooked eggs at yakun toast (which is also my fav), cos not fully cooked.. sigh..

Tinyfeet: Congrats on your minnie!

Zuen: But when baby first born, should try better brands first? In case baby got sensitive skin? Or can jus start trying diff brands?

But i walked ard while shopping hor, the diapers small pack has ard 10++ pcs, if going to try diff brands, will take a long time?

I also got backache everyday! Esp in the morning when i got out of bed.. Been tahan-ing all this while.. Anyone got remedy?

Felicia: My hubby dun let me eat crab cos got one fren told us that crab, sotong, etc got very high mercury (or some thing, can't reali rem) as they eat dead bodies in the ocean so their meat not very healthy for preg ladies to eat. So to play safe, hubby forbids me to eat loh..

Zuen, last night food properly digested liao. Now munching on Crunchy peanut butter bread.

Mrswrx, y your husband refuses to buy food back home? You can store some breads, biscuits, healthy snacks and fruits at home for emergency.

angel_z, ya, can try that, its so nice that I am going back again tomorrow evening. Just hope its still as nice. As for crabs, I try not to eat, coz like Felicia said, I scare the old wives tales abt the many hands and legs. Been eating quite a bit of prawns due to CNY and now limiting myself.

Babycupid, I today going IMM for lunch, I will take a look at watson for you for the wet wipes.

feifei, wat is 1 'gong'? Are you refering to 1 crab?

me oso hvin backache especially in the morning when wanna to get up tat time. Then later evening will feel my waist is like going to break.
I dont think had any remedy coz my gynae just said this is very normal for preggie lady.

Veniz,
hehe...the "gong3" is the front leg of the crabbie..hehe..where most meat gather ones...keke =D...Yummy, me long time din eat peanut butter liao =D..

angel_z,
I also hear that abt crabs lor, but hor, if we crave for something must eat de, if not bb will drools...hee

Ok feifei, I got it. that part is my fav too. But then hor, there is always someone fighting over these gongs with me if I having crabs with in laws. My hubby and parents will always let me have them, oh my, I am missing Ah Hoi's Kitchen fam crabs now. Heehee, the peanut butter is holland made, got my director to bring it over last week, its rich but not as sweet as the ones here (having sweet tooth currently).

from the pasta yesterday to pig intestines, steak then to this morning crab, is making me crazy!
Aiyo, already want to ctrl weight but you all keep mention food, like that how to ctrl!

wahahahaha.. me oso nd to ctrl my weight.. my last visit on 16 feb - gained 12kgs.. yd weigh gained another 1kg.. shit man..

Felicia, I can dream and think of the food leh, seems like at this moment, I dun have to control my food intake as I am still trying to replenish my lost weight, haha.

Oh, just to make you go hungier, I will be going suntec tomorrow lunch for the porridge buffet, then evening to hogs breath for my steak. heeheehee, I am real bad ya!?

Veniz,
Talkign abt crabs makes me drool...hehe...Me also hv sweet cravings..loved those cakes, emi cakes , durian cakes, chocolates now...but must control cos scare of my weight gained =D.

Re: Bloom photography
-------------------------------------------------
LATEST LATEST UPDATE: LAST CALL!!!

***** BP is closing TODAY 27th Feb at 5PM. We have reached 15 mtbs, any mummies interested in the BP but has not contacted me yet may do so at [email protected] *****

*** Mummies who have signed up with me but yet to pay the deposit please do so by TODAY 27th Feb also. For whatever reasons that may cause you to delay your transfer please email me and let me know. Thanks ***
-------------------------------------------------
Will need minimum 10 MTBs for this BP to take off. They are offering us for the same price at $160 for 1 super 8R photo, 5 5R photos and extra 3 more 5R for this BP. For photos that are selected, the soft copies will be given back to us. For mummies that are interested in keeping all the photos taken during the photoshoot, you may also purchase a CD with all the shots taken on that day for $250 if you are a forum member which we all are here...

If there are more than 15 MTBS who sign up for the bloom BP, the CD containing all the shots can be bought at $200 instead of $250. If we only have 10 mtbs, the previous offer still stands

You may refer to this link for their pricing details http://www.thestudioloft.com.sg/rates/TSLoftRatesY9T04N7.pdf

To look at their work you may go to:
http://www.thestudioloft.com.sg/
or
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/594409.html?1164635256

** Do check out their biz thread (link provided below) in the forum, They have just posted some new Bloom photos **
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/586645.html?1203572993

** All mtbs who participate in this BP will get 20% discount off the basic package as a returning customer if they bring their newborns to studio loft for Little big shot photoshoot in future. Check out their photos for newborns and infants**
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/586645.html?1203575836

Mummies participating
-------------------------------
1. Amy (Apr mtb)
2. Yo (Apr mtb)
3. Gervynne (Apr mtb)
4. Wish Come True (May mtb)
5. Piyo (Jun mtb)
6. Veniz (Jun mtb)
7. Mogudog (Jun mtb)
8. Chewy (Apr mtb)
9. Jer (?? mtb)
10. Juin (May mtb)
11. Serene123(Apr mtb)
12. Jellyfield (Apr mtb)
13. Pinkbunny (Jul mtb)
14. Prawnie (Apr mtb)
15. Jia Jia (May mtb)
16. Eifrus (May mtb)

***Anyone else?? BP closing TODAY 27th Feb 5PM!!!***

feifei, emi cakes' D24 durian cakes are the best so far my families have eaten (there seems to be a few good ones out there, but I dun eat durian so no crave to try others).

Felicia, yes, indeed I am. I am thinking of what to have for lunch later. Anyway, sooner or later, I will be on strict diet with the rate I am craving and going around to eat (just let wat Crystal mentioned, like pacmacs, chopping in the maze). So dun be so angry with me lar, hor (wink).

zuen,
do u hav any brand or model of strollers in mind? cos e range quite wide, veri hard to decide wo.. im there for 1hr n shortlisted 2 strollers onli(pre perego n mcclaren). tink im goin to stick to these 2 choices cos i dun wana c other strollers n make myself tempted.

felicia n intestines lovers,
pls pls pls... lets eat intestines buffet sometime soon!!! i cant wait! but muz be delicious la. kway chap!!!!

angelz,
me simply luv half-cooked egg. sunny side up, half boiled eggs all part of my favorite food! same as u, haven been eating cos gynae said NO! But i had 1 3/4 cooked sunny side up last wkend, super satisfied. amazing taste. hahaha

veniz,
hb said nothin to buy at tat hr liao! he is jus lazy to stop over to buy la. me all along dun like bread, biscuits, those dry food.. ate mandrain oranges lor.. + some fruits dun last long in fridge wo.. actually haven been doin marketing to stock up fridge. kekeke

Mrs,
you are looking for strollers? i'm looking for elec yao lan also. i heard amk cnetral near by polyclinic got selling all this stuff...