(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

reminder that Feb mum Outing at West Coast park is on 4th Mar 10am. It is near NUS and Haw Par Villa. If you are driving, take AYE, exit NUS along clementi road all the way until you are at a T-junction, turn left into West coast highway. less than 100m there is a carpark on the left with McDonald in front of it. If you are taking bus, takes bus no 175 & 176. There is bus-stop in front and opposite the carpark.

Garfield and Tubao. Count you gals in. See you there this sunday ya.

i prob cannot make it. will go if i can.

For those who are driving, be prepared for the crowds. If you can and want to be sure of a spot, go earlier. West Coast Park gets really crowded on Sundays. The alternative parking is either across the big traffic junction or have to backtrack via 2 u-turns to the parking area BEFORE the mcdonalds.

hello mummies! been mia for a while now able to post cos stuck in the darn traffic jam at jurong since 830, haven't even go up aye.sigh. so tempted to just call in n not go to work. anyway just bk from taiwan on tue night n haven't gone back to ofc yet since both kids got v sick in tw n remain sick still..sigh. overall was a bad trip due to the weather, din visit the desired places of interest, every rain..my sky was v grey..zz..somehow felt everything not going smoothly since start of this yr..really need a lot of positive energy to keep me going..also plan to change job(still
looking) n move hse too(looking)...

jeannie- where u moving to?

Apple,

wah.. congrats on bb #3!
Sorry never use a confinement lady before so don't have anyone to recommend..

Qingling, you went to Taiwan in March and it was raining? Thought the 'mei yu' season starts in June? I should be more worried, I am going with my extended family in June. :p

Apple, sorry, couldn't help in the end since my CL is already taken. :p Congrats!

Hi, Apple

Congrats!! Woh....... we can have more topics to chat!

PM you my confinement lady for Emma time already. Don't know her availability. She or her sister did confinement for a few of my colleagues also.

apple,

congrates! you are a brave mum!
hehe.. my confinement lady is the same as pauline's. so i don't have anymore contacts liao.

pauline,
read that your parents and brother are moving closer to you. congrates!
but also means we won't see each other so often loh.

Xy, ya lor, so sad. We must meet up more before they move. I really love your playground there too. I can just stone on the bench and the gals can slide and climb on their own cos the playground is meant for 3-5 yrs old. My newly refurbished playground strange layout, the slide is on the 3rd storey and all the kids must climb a firemen ladder to go up, only a narrow way up. Every min I must watch over them cos scared they fall off the ladder and land on another kid.

By the way, after they move out (probably Sept hols), my parents will renting out their unit. If you know anyone who wants to rent, let me know ya? Not taking comm from my parents lar, so direct tenants preferred. hehe.

Pauline,
Taiwan cold and raining due to change in season.

QL,
The children are sick in Taiwan? Flu? Can visit their specialist 耳鼻喉科. They are very good, I think they are far better than our GP. furthermore, can claim from travel insurance if you bought any. Changing job? Moving? What happen?

Pauline,
Moving nearer to you better right... Don't need to be sad. Can find excuses to visit XY loh.

Apple,
Congratulation. I go and check with my MIL on the confinement lady contact. Let you know tomorrow...

Blueginger, the taiwan tour guide said 'meiyu' season moving further in July or August. I do hope it's true. Ya, find reason to visit XY. kekeke.

Apple, jia you! You can do it, seasoned mummy liao mah. Will learn to do things more efficiently and close 1 eye when necessary. hee.

Hehe..... I am very free at office, until tomorrow afternoon.

share some of my experience, apple, hehe....most of time I feel my words inappropriate as I seldom talk for the whole day/probably whole week.

For both bf and twins delivery, I read up whole archives of forum posts---related subjects. For bf, I read 'elusively expressing', hehe.....I never posted and never asked advice from fellow forum mums at that folder; though I do latch-on . Those posts are like history, I learn techniques from others, failures cases and successful cases.

Well, if others encourage you to bottle feed, take it that they think for your own body and health. Bfing is additional hardwork.

QL, i moving to my in laws place.. logistically easier for me since i run ard for tuition and usually work late.

Apple, congrats! U noe the sex already? Its good to get "everything" over at one time. Gonna be tough ( to be honest) since ur #2 is still young but sure they will have a lot of fun playing together. I very keen to have #3 but really no space at in laws and i probably nd to get a helper and with all these changes in maid rules i think i can forget abt it.. so will wait till G enters Pri 1 then have #3. Prob will go back to teach too.. Most imptly i hope to spend more time with K, he is so duper cute now that i dun want to miss him growing up..i am quite lousy w sharing my time and love at this stage..

tubao
just curious, did you bf the twins? my friend going to have twins in april, she's not sure if she will have enough BM for both...

genice
the changes in maid rules, haiz.. dunno how those of us with a few young kids can cope if they really do take 1 day off every week. my hubby suggest we give ours a day other than sunday, so maybe will do that. or maybe i will negotiate half days for her...
u know the letter to ST forum that you liked on FB? I actually got pple on my FB condemming it. Lo and behold, it's pple who don't NEED maids lor.

btw i think there is never a "good" time to have a baby, don't wait until too late cos our bodies are getting so old so fast looking after the kids! lol.

Tubao:-heh a friend of myself actually succeeded simply by watching youtube lolll.

heh thanks genice and tongtong.Gender not confirmed yet but did see something poking out between legs during scan at week 12. sigh me too I find that I don't even have time for 2. Every night when I reached home, I only have like 1-1.5 hrs to spilt between the two of them.

aahah tongtong that's nothing great about me leh. its an accident ahhaa

I must kow tow to you on how you raise your boy to reject sweets!!

apple! lol! he is still eating sweets though, like those lo han guo , soft type. actually very easy, dont buy then they wont get to eat lo!

apple - congrats!! #3 is indeed challeging, even though i love kids but for now i think 2 is enough.

genice - i see, so selling ur current hse? Ur MIL hse still in same area? gd for u that u can still of #3, i have no such courage
. indeed i find the boy so cute

bluegin/pauline - haiz..din enjoy the taiwan trip at all, feel v lousy in fact, din get to eat n taste much of local stuffs..
, even 50 lan bubble tea only drank once!

bluegin - wana change job ever since #2 was born, din feel that i am learning anymore in this company, and boss sux. moving - need a bigger hse, plan to live with my parents.

tong - my #2 loveeeeeeees sweeets, he gets loads of it from offers from aunties outside and he dun stop, v bad. so i try to find healthier alternatives (my fren recommended this yougurt goji berries selling in Meidi-ya, i tried before, very nice, taste like chocolate but its yogurt.

iso,
going into third trimester soon, the aches and pains are coming earlier this time around... maybe because i'm older now
time really flies, now left with 12 more weeks... prep for #2 really nothing compared to #1, as I still keep most of the stuff from #1... heheh...

btw, re maid - i think it would be good for us employers to discuss with the them on how they want to utilise their off day... maybe your maid also don't want the day off and prefer to get additional cash? depending on individual motivation. oh, can i ask how much you are paying your maid now? is yours a filipino or indonesian ? wondernig what is the market rate now.

jeannie,
I thought you leave nearby your in laws? so did you rent out your current place? good way to get passive income

tongtong,
lo han guo is still healthy food lah... not sweet... your boy is really a role model, btw if he gets sweets from school let's say... will he eat it or he doesn't like it ?

tubao,
i'm also more of a silent reader on thread for #2... heheh... i guess for #2, i'm taking it easy.

I didn't read bf and any related info prior bfing E; and succeeded tbf by trial and error.

Afterwards I read, mainly to give myself emotional support to get encouragement from mums from exclusively pumping thread. Well, it's not good feeling at confinement that no single relative from my side around.

For twins, I read 2010 archives, not other years. Since actually my parents side family has one twins history, the only one. but one twin and mother died at delivery process; the survived one is adopted by my grandma. Well, nobody at my husband's family likes to recall that my younger SIL is one of twins, my MIL lost another one during pregnancy. How to battle the negative experiences/memory ALONE, I spend lots of efforts.

Hehe.......just give apple some encouragements on putting more efforts, if 'd like to do it. Though not a big deal, if not do it.

ql, hope you are able to find a new job soon!!

tute, yea shaun's school has a many bday celebrations every now and then and he will bring all the sweets back home. He always ask whether it's vegetarian or not. OK la, I admit I'm bad, I told him it's not, so he doesnt eat any. Last time even funnier, I told him they are decor, not edible, and he believed me too. :p

Breastfeeding twins
My Sis delivered twins @ 28 weeks and both fully breastfed. For a start, both bbs in ICU but she makes it a point to deliver ebm to the hospital daily. Delivery by herself or her DH or FIL. She also latch directly when she visits them in the hospital. When they returned home 2 months later, she nursed directly till 7 months before she decide to call it quits..

I've nursed dd1 for 3 years, including 8 months pregnant with ds2. Stopped bfg at week 34/35 as I had early contraction, so was worried of premature delivery. Bf ds2 for another 2 years. With dd3, im still nursing her and enjoying it.

No need to worry about supply. Breastfeeding has a simple formula ie demand = supply

Tongtong: I don't give but the grandma and daddy give....then there was a period I was really strict and AManda knew I don't allow her to eat sweet. There was once she ate sweet while i was at work and when she heard me opening the main door, she panicked and ran around the room not knowing what to do and later spit out the sweet and threw it to MIL before sheepishly came out to greet me hahaa (my hubby told me about it)

Reena: My problem is always with latching. Can't latch properly or babies cried murder when I latch.

Pauline,
soon the kids will find the playground not interesting enough. :p
we have been visiting playground further away cos they are more interesting.

joining us coming Sunday gathering @ west coast park?

<font color="ff0000">11 Mar (Sun) 10 am West Coast Park - See you there everyone!</font>
-tubao
-blueginger
-vinegal
-xiaoyun
-anymore?

just bring your kites, sand play kits, groundsheet, snacks...

apple,
ya. breastfeeding is about demand and supply.
lots of the time breastfeeding fails is because confinement lady is too good that wants us to rest more. in the end the supply suffers.

genice,
you moving to your inlaw place again? so renting out your place?

tong,
you planning for #2?

qingling,
come here chat more. dun let the negative feeling bottled up.
read the book 'secret'? use the positive energy to attract positive result.

apple,
have you consulted lactation consultant about latching?
my #2 doesn't latch very well in the beginning. as she's impatient and milk doesn't come fast. always shakes her head in the when she just latch on.
furthermore she didn't take the aerola (correct spelling?) very well, she easily gets unlatched.
i just keep trying and she latched better after 2 months. she's now going to be 20 months, and i am still nursing her.

tongtong,

Admire you.....need to learn from you to provide more healthy diet for my girls and family. ^_^

Reena,
Follow your blog, knows that you and your sister influence each other on cooking/baking also?. Hehe....ideal sisterhood.

Iso,
I didn't tbf twins. Mainly expressing, only enough for half of the milk needs; both latch on ok, but I don't have time to sit there; all written clearly at my blog. I didn't try harder, as I experienced much slower recovery than E time (painful at womb area for 1.5 weeks, 2 days only at E time); helper quit at 2nd week; my mum talks bad words of my SIL(my brother's wife) all the time; confinement agency cheated on 1st confinement lady as she never handled twins before.

Well, I wished that I did tbf them, guess that I could. No choice, got to have regrets. I can only recall the time latching on E; hehehe....for twins, I face medela freestyle mostly. ^_^

xiaoyun, probably will wnt to try for #2 few months later.

i like what you wrote: use the positive energy to attract positive result

Xiaoyun,
yah I went down to tmc to consult a random lactation consultant. She took one look and said " wah your baby bite you till like that" hahaah cos my nipples are cracked and a lot of bleeding marks. She said my baby is very impatient and told me to give my nipples a break and pump out to feed. she said cupfeed but nobody at home is able to help me cupfeed so I pumped exclusively and slowly supply becoming less and less as I cannot keep up with the pumping.

So in the 2 months that she did not latch well, did you bottlefeed at all? I was back to work after 2 months also. Hope I can take longer ML this round/

apple,
it must be really hurts.
during #1 time, although she latches well, my nipples hurt for nearly one month, sensitive to touch. i let my nipples rest on alternate feeds. use bottle on and off. apply breastmilk on the areas that are very red.
for #2, i guess the skin around my nipples are quite thick (I bf #1 for nearly 22 months, rest 8 months). so it doesn't really hurt despite her poor latch. so i didn't bottle feed her during 3.4 maternity leave. just latch whenever she likes.

it's tough to keep up with the supply using pump especially you are busy at home for the other 2 kids (i find it hard to squeeze out time to express too), at work (you know you are very busy at work).

anyway, just try your best. no regrets.

i think the type of pump also affects a bit right?
#1 i borrowed my SIL's pump which is now something like 9 years old. maybe the first generation PISA. It hurt like hell and i thought that was the way it was supposed to be until another friend lent me her (much newer than 9 YO) ameda lactina. by that time i think ss already not v much and i should have just latch...

oh well

Xy, mine no leh, they still love that playground esp RL, haha. This sunday, I am going to Phuket, making use of Marriott Vacation Club promo again so not able to make it for the gathering.

Genice, renting out is a good option if you don't intend to sell, hope the second move in will be smoother.

apple,
congrats congrats!!! #3 wow!! i also want :p

someone look g for negative ion clothes, here s the link. My sil buys fm this co.
http://www.nefful.com.sg/products.aspx?brand=B&amp;cat=27

maid issues
hmmmm....u mean we need to allow for once a week off day or negotiate with our current maid (for the purpose of nxt yr) even though the contract is signed this yr?

what i heard fm my agent is that the current mkt rate for non experience maid is abt $450. so exp!!!

Pauline n xy, I think u all have better memory than me!! I was scratching my head n wondering when did I shift in w inlaws b4 and did I even share when i saw xy post n then saw pauline post then confirm..Haha..o yar that time when I was doing insurance n worked weird hrs too.

Yup yup , rented out my unit! Sealed the deal! Haha.. Tute, e extra income def is gd. Now we taking over all bills at inlaws place.. But the best benefit is the convenience, can just leave e kids, go for a run, go for supper w/o worry :p . By right can have more couple time.. But we not having much yet cOz was bz shifting, storing stuffs and renting out our place. Finally can settle down..another reason is for the school.. Got to plan ahead.. Very ks I noe but sigh just can't help it.

But u all gonna see more grouse and rambles frm me on fb.
It's not easy to stay w in laws, sigh.. I am sure u all understand. The Hse is def too small for so many of us. I nd a
bigger Hse, will eventually move to a bigger Hse n hoPefully
it's landed so I can have dogs!!
but e only landed I can prob afford next time will be ulu sembawang..:p

Ql, where u intend to move too? U gonna enrol h in e new sch frontier?

Apple,must update us on the gender k! Seems like gd chance for a boy! How will ur childcare arrangements be like? I couldn't latch too for both but K was slightly longer abt 2 mths. Stopped bf at abt 6-8 mths for both.. Tired n lazy, if I can latch it prob can be longer. Anyway, I feel boys can latch better!! Haha coz they tum Jia!!!

Leila, nice to see you again. Must thank Apple, after she announce her 3rd pregnancy, hope more old timers come back to post.

By the way, if $450 is for a new Filipino maid, then if $450 for a 3 yr ex sg Filipino maid is not bad right? My agent said nowadays Indo maids are equally exp. Anyone knows how much a new Indo maid's pay? Asking cos my dad is getting old and my bro is thinking of hiring one to help look after him.

Genice, oic, good move. Got to endure the inconveniences. Just think of the rent every month and the days will pass faster.

------Bf
My Gynae and nurse when delivering E are wonderful. Especially the nurse. She put E latch-on right after my natural delivery with epi at delivery ward. And I latch-on at hospital stay most of time, on 2nd day that my milk haven't come and baby cry murder, I ask nurse to feed E after my latch-on.During the hospital stay, I asked every nurse show me how to latch-on, hehe...... different nurse have different techniques and views. My milk ss is established at day 5?.

During follow-up appointment(2 weeks? after) with Gynae, I tried different pumps at TMC parentcraft, bought pump since FBI(first born incentive) entitle 15%? off.

For 2nd delivery, I asked latch-on direct after delivery. Guess that it helps that twins had no problem accepting latch-on. The lactation consultant at KKH is very good, shows me different techniques, I explain my problem (very painful at womb area, probably due to over stretched for twins pregnancy). She taught me 2 techniques of tandem feeding at lying down. By that time, nurses can't help much, since most of them don't have experience on tandem feeding.

Hehe......try to learn as much at hospital stay, and let baby latch-on right after delivery. ^_^ It's not difficult.

Pauline, leila
I got my helper end Dec. New one from Indonesia, $450 per month. Hehe.....I am praying that my FIL has good health, so that we can stop hiring helper when twins go to CC, though girls and I like this soft-speaking, intelligent helper much despite she is way too petite. She figures out how to speak mandarin already. ^_^

Tubao, oic, that's good. So it is really $450 for new indo maid huh? Looks like it is true then. Thanks. Is it true that indo maids r more likely to accept no off day compared to Filipinos?

Pauline,

Sorry, I don't know. Don't hire Filipinos before; and the maid agent that I was with can help to get indo much faster than Filipino. So I chose Indo one. Still don't really like to have a helper at home, think that I am not good at managing helper.

Genice,

Landed property at Ulu Sembawang, good idea! The neighbor at E's CC bought his 2.5floor landed there at 800+k 3 years ago, now it is worth 1.5million. Hehe...... he has another condo property bought 4 years ago, and the value doubles too, though he will sell his condo property anytime now. One year older than me, average regular income.