(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

kitsune
i don't live in a big house so i think the fans are ok, can do its job, haha

esther
i don't have any lights pointing up, only got down lights, so i dun have any experience, sorry, haha. for the fans, i think it's of cos safer if the ceiling is higher lah. but i think hdb all q standard one? and KDK has only a few models which are shorter, for HDB. someone said that actually if it's too short (as in distance from fan to ceiling, not blade length), you don't get as much wind also.

bkk
OMG you must be super super tired!! poor thing!! did the PD manage to figure out what she's down with? why does she need a suppository? take care of yourself too, yah!

Iso, haha, I mean if the fan is above the baby cot and only works if you are directly below it. Then Raelynn will enjoy the breeze but RaeAnne will still be hot cos she is sleeping against the wall. If I still need a standing fan next to RaeAnne, it's like back to square one. Cos I don't want the standing fan to be blasting at them while they are sleeping. :p

Aiyoh, poor K. Why kenna diarrhoea and fever? stomach flur? Hope she is better and resting now. You are also sick, must try and rest more too. Can take CCL from work?

Pauline/iso/fairfield
May be stomach flu..maybe a bug hb brt back!! She needed a suppository to stop throwing up cos even water will throw up. Its the next alternative to getting a jab. I'm better already thanks...

Fans
Elmark is a good brand. My mom and my house all used elm ark. Lasted many many years. For my house, i got a wooden blade one with lights but find it not so good cos it's heavy and doesnt give much wind. No flickering of lights but its not so easy to clean. For the rooms got the normal basic white blades. Very good and powerful! And easy to clean!

Optimum blades are 5. My place now has the white 5 bladed with lights under neath. It's powerful.

Dun bother to get the remote control. I find u pay extra for this frill but it doesn't work as well. Sometimes sensor cannot detect lah, sometimes battery run out. Just the turn dial or the string to pull will do.

My 2 cents worth.

pauline,
my PIL's one is many many years liao - at least more than 10 years..

another brand my sis is using is Panasonic. I feel the wind very strong. btw it's Malaysia house where the ceiling is very high.

bkk,
hope K is better now. it's real tiring when you have to change bedsheets so frequently.

my parents got a fan with pull string and the string breaks after < 5 years. in the end got to change the whole fan because can't turn on the fan without the string. on contrary, we like the remote control. the battery lasted 5 yrs till now leh..

Thanks, Bkkgal. So you find your bedroom fan with light bright enough? Cos common complaint is that the light is too dim to read. Why white colour one easier to clean by the way? I thought the dust will show up faster? :p

Think I got to get a remote control cos my room only has 1 set of wiring, if using pull string or turn dial, will need 2 sets of wiring, not sure if it is true.

Last time when sheila passed us maids' biodata, we are very surprised to see our present helper look very much alike my MIL.

Though we liked her experiences, initially I was hesitant to get her since I can't stand 3 similar characters people at house(MIL, my husband, and helper). But my husband said that most of time MIL faced helper, so never mind. Don't know whether it's luck or face alike means easy understanding, it turns out quite ok for their relationship. Haha……. they talked more than I talked with helper.

When searching, I liked a helper from Nation website, and my husband quickly disapproved by saying that she looks like my style——maybe not careful/detailed enough.

Just 2 cents' experience.

New maid coming tomorrow.
Haven't tell space cadet. I stopped correcting her liao. If she smart, she will realize something is up.

If new maid dun work out, i will quit and stay home. Can't take it anymore.

Pauline,
I think white is better cos can see its dirty. Ask maid to clean. Other colour u might think it's clean but its actually not.

Xy
Wah! Ur parents pull very hard is it?

bkkgal, I see. Also true, but my hubby hates anything white for the same reason cos he said dirty easily. Let's see if I can get cream or other colours that he approve.

Not easy to let go of your job when it's challenging and you've already climbed up the ladder, I guess. Maybe you wanna try PT first? But depends on your direct reporting also, some supervisors does not like PT. Even if they let you go PT, they expect you to be at their beck and call as if you are FT. If that's the case, better to quit. :p

Thanks, XY, but I think I cannot get those with hanging light kit cos the fan will hang too low and RaeAnne can reach it easily when standing inside Mei Mei's cot. She likes to climb in and play with Mei Mei sometimes.

I was thinking of something like Elmark LMD1. Does not hang low and comes with light. Not bright enough for living room or bedroom? Do you know what is the wattage?

Besides Elmark LMD1, I'm also looking at these fans currently. Am considering Fanco Aroma http://www.sgappliances.com/index.php?opti...0&amp;Itemid=77, Amasco Empire http://www.amasco.com.sg/products_detail.a...43&amp;scID=1or Alpha Baby LK1 http://www.alphamalaysia.com/, KDK baby fan or V touch? The Alpha baby LK1 looks so cute but I think sure not enough wind cos the blades are so short. :p Is the KDK baby fan the one you were talking about? But that one has no light leh. Hiaz...

pauline,
LMD1 is what I have. You can choose any wattage for the bulb as long as it can fit inside. I am using 14 W x 2. But still very dim loh..

the Alpha baby LK1 is the one i saw on newspaper - babyfanz.

Hope you all still remember me. It has been quite some time since I log on to read and post on this thread. Wow so of you are having another bb. Any next gathering schedule? Do keep me update.

Thankful and V sending regards to all mummies &amp; toddlers

Hi, thankful, sure, I still remember you. How's your prince and princess?

XY, oic, I'll check out and see how bright the light looks. Hopefully since mine is in the bedroom, will not look so dim. Apparently, there's a Eunos warehouse near kaki bukit that sells cheap ceiling fans. Did you get yours from there? The LK1 very cute hor? But the fan blades looks like fabric, wonder if it'll be easy to clean. :p

Hi Pauline,
They are well. They have gone thru lots of things and trials. How's your little princess? Who is delivering soon? I'm kind of lost now.

Good, good, both my princesses are down with cough and cold.

Err... I know Jass is preggie, EDD Jan11. That's the latest one I know. The rest, I also cannot keep track. :p

Oh now you have two, right? The last time only one right? This shows how long I have gone missing already. Haha.... Time really flies

Gathering
Ya long time no gathering Liao. Hubby says Mei Mei is less sociable cos zero play dates unlike cheh cheh who had at least 4 (jeannie bkkgal tute marche) plus baby gym sessions. Shall we organise one soon?

Music for tots,
Anyone has any recommendation? Was thinking of trying music for young children (MYC) anyone tried that before?

Bkk,
Hope the new maid turns out well. All the best!

Xiaoyun
Wish i am as knowledgeable as you when it comes to ceiling fan, then at least can give my mum some advice when she installed one years ago. The one at my mum's hse is really lousy. Cant feel the breeze at all unless one sits directly below it.

Bkkgal
Hope your new maid will be good.

Re: parents/parents in law staying w us
Personally i feel everyone prefers to stay in their own house. Even my mum who stayed w me during maternity wants to stay at her own place after i started work. Itz tiring to brg kids to and fro everyday. I guess itz a compromise btw me n my mum. I cant expect her to sacrifice everythg, including her choice to stay in comfort of her place, just to care for my kids. Of cos there are parents who willingly move into your place to help take care of kids ( like bx's). If this happens, itz a bonus
. Just my personal opinion.

bkkgal, when i read ur post can totally understand the frustrations that you are going thru. Hope everything will work out fine for ur new helper. I think if possible opt for pt arrangement, dun quit lah.. wasted...

Re: 2 kids
Phew... its really not easy, even as a pt SAHM , i find the shuttling of babies so difficult and tiring. Now i am working 3 x a week, sometimes 5 x depending on the schedule but this is only for the 1.5 mth or so.And i am already so tired cause i have to stay at my in laws place, pack stuffs there, bring 2 kids w lotsa stuffs, unpack, rush to pump milk feed bb , put b b to sleep and it doesnt help that at 4 mths coming to 5mths, he doesnt sleep long anymore, very fussy ( maybe teething) , always wants to be carried. So practically i dun have time to do my own things.

@ hm e daytime w 2 kids, i have to prepare G for sch, bring her down, come up pump milk,feed K, bathe K, entertain him, get lunch, try to put him to sleep, feed and entertain, in between rush to do some chores, laundry, check my mails, surf a bit net. Before i know it, have to pick G up, bring her to playgrd for a while, come up change her , try to get her to do some activity but very difficult cause need to feed K. Then dinner downstairs which usually stretches till 8 plus cause G eats very slow.. come up settle down for a while, bathe and sleep.Sometimes i think i am such a failure, din do much constructive stuffs w my kids, just bz with mundane/miscellaneous work, at times like tis , i do wonder it might be better to hold a regular job, at least can bring some "bacon" home.

Sigh.. even @ hm also so bz liao, can imagine if i work full time, i will be so tired. If only i can get a helper to alleviate my chores and look after K. But finances doesnt allow and helper comes with lotsa problems too.

I think most prob we will be staying with my in laws in the future once we can sell our place,so dun need to rush here and there esp when i have tut, need to send bb to my in laws place, like most in laws, they prefer their place.

Sigh.. hope all our "problems" gets settled soon!!

Re:gathering

Where? when? Shall we have it in Nov at some function room? Avoid the popular dec period where all rooms are booked? Can bring both tot and baby along. How?

Garfield
Ya, long time no gathering. Think partly becos 2nd time mummy started giving birth one after another and thus energy/discussion tend to focus on pregnancy/baby talks. Looking forward to one and hope can make it.

re: ceiling fan
pauline,
can I have the exact address of the Eunos warehouse for the ceiling fan. we haven't buy yet - FIL keep dilly dally..
was thinking to tap on to your research on where to buy the cheapest. :p
how about we 'BP' for that? buy 2 fans at once got a little more discount or not? :p

in fact, i think you don't need a big fan for the bedroom as they are normally quite small. do you want to go and take a look at the LK1?

stephie,
we have been using ceiling fans since young.
when i bought this house, the first thing i want to do is to change the light in the living room to ceiling fan loh.
what's the brand your mum got? why so lousy?

Thankful,
still remember you. how are you?

re: gathering
i want i want! but seems everyone is so so busy...
Nov seems very busy, every weekend got wedding dinner/lunch to attend.

re: yakult factory visit
yakult auntie said the Dec one is fully booked.
got to arrange in Jan liao.
hope you all still be joining in Jan.

genice,
i think you have already done a lot of educational stuffs with G. I rarely got time to sit down to read book with her nowadays.. busy with her potty training, food preparation.
worse of all, i already stop preparing dinner for her in the weekdays - my MIL cook porridge for her instead.
getting too lazy now... :p

re: potty training
I am glad to announce that big C is half potty trained!
she's now not wearing diaper to school since yesterday.
why is she made such a great progress? because I bought a pack of strawberry shortcake briefs for her as a bait. told her this is the reward if she manage to get all the stars for her potty training star chart.
hehe.. I am so happy...

XY, here it is. I copy and paste from Reno Forum, not sure if it is correct. Cos I never try to call. Haha, good idea, bulk discount for 2 fans.
But I can only go down on weekday nights or Sat night. Not sure if they are still open. :p

Eunos Warehouse
3 Kaki Bukit Rd 2 #01-08A
(opp Geely Showroom)
10am - 9pm
9880-8447

XY, very near to my mum's place too but I only go on Sunday evenings, and the kids are hungry and cranky by then, cannot go shopping. :p When you go, can help me check out prices of the few fans I shortlisted? Fanco Aroma, Amasco Empire, Alpha LK1? Thanks.

Hi hi mummies!
It's like sunshine after rain, k is much better today, went to school le
. Ty all for encouragement.

Tonight we are doing The Great Maid Exchange!!! Hahaha.

I'm apprehensive, scared, relieved, all at the same time. Scared dunno how to break the news to space cadet, apprehensive whether the girls will accept new stranger in the house,how to explain to k where aunty is, relieved i no longer need to handle the space cadet. Hai hai, macham big event in my life. Lol!

This morning, hb went to create big drama with maid. Discovered she had many Tagalog romance novels (actually we already saw it since sat). He used it as excuse to ask where she got it from, who gave her, does she know there's a complaint against her to the management, another employer complained against her etc. Scare her abit. Ask her why she asked neighbor maid to send SMS for her. Neighbor discovered it on their maid's hp. Tell her she's under investigation, she cannot go out of house without permission.

Drama right? I didn't watch, can't stand, brought k to the car and wait, k very perceptive one, she will wonder what's happening and askqns.

Thankful, hi, long time no see!

Genice,
U are doing great, IMO. No maid, must shuttle, v shiong and u do quite a lot of edu stuff with Gwen. When I'm home with 2, also find that time whizzes past so quick. Always wonder watdid I accomplish at end ofday. Literally spent time watching the 2 girls.

Playdate
Want want! How about changi airport t3 coffee club? Got a large space for them to run! We can literally take up the whole club if we hv numbers. Haha!

Staying with parents/ils
That was an option hb suggested. Before all the stress with mil, i was actually 50% quite in favor...but now after this period of great irritation, think definitely bad idea. Relations will go down the drain man...better we all stay in own house.

I can understand everyone wants to be in their own house. Sometimes can't be helped, logistically. Eg imagine if kid is sick, hv to shuttle up and down, lidat lagi sick right? Worse, puke in the car, more work! Better the caregiver come over 1-2 days. Must give and take. If caregiver sick and no one else, then of cos everyone gotta go so that caregiver no stress.

bkkgal,
your hb's confrontation with maid was really drama.. lol

playdate at T3 coffee club sounds good.. let's set a date..

xiaoyun,
re: yakult factory visit
will it be on wkday or wkend in Jan 2011 ?

It's good that big C is half potty trained.. Well done!
Mine still on diaper 100%...

pauline,
will check for you if i manage to go there this evening.

bkk,
ur hb very scary leh. if i were the maid i sure scared.

h@ppymum2b,
it's weekday. no weekend visit for yakult as they are not in production on weekend.
potty train cannot be rushed. lots of stress created among us prior to that, suddenly she decided that she wants to be a big girl..

xiaoyun,
thks for the info on yakult factory visit.. ok, shall see how is the response from others.. we still need to gather 40 pax right?

yes, my son was also potty trained suddenly. we tried to train him but was always unsuccessful. I think that his teacher in school also helped in a way. so i am going easy with my gal as well, will wait till she is ready..

jeannie
how long does G go to sch for? these days i really have no time to do anything. even right now while E is in sch (which is only 2 hrs long), A is making some noise while on the playmat. hahah..
you can even find time to bake! not bad leh.

Iso,
Meant to give you my two cents worth. Think no harm changing cos it's not been that long that E would still be settling in. Also if the alternative school is likely to be a medium to long term option then all the more should consider changing.

Genice,
You are doing a great job as PT SAHM! Agree with iso, still have time to bake! I don't even allow Hubby to leave me alone with the two kids :p

bkkgal,

Luckily your husband acts as "bad guy". My husband always asked me to be "bad person". It needs at least half day for me to muster up energy+courage to tell helper her fault.

Good luck for your new helper!

I can't think of quitting to be SAHM; worked for 10+ years already.

Hi hi..

What a time to login n catch all of u n organising a gathering!! Me too ok!! Can pass some of u the puzzles too!!

eliaw.. o no.. i totally forgot abt the puzzles!!! I think u have ordered already hor.. oops.. if got extra then u tell me and i will get it. else u organising again pls do tell me.. so sorry, i really forgot abt it with all the shuttling ard plus no laptop with me..usually log in with phone.

iso.. gwen goes to sch for full day.. from abt 9.30 am till 5 pm like working like that.. haha but that is the much needed time for me to clean the hse, pump milk, entertain K and do some stuffs. But next yr she will only go from 230-530 since she going kindy , have to tweet her schedule next year. I think like what gar says if gonna put E in the other sch for long term then shld just go ahead and change, no pt dragging longer unless u can find a better alternative.. Actually ur sch at ur place no childcare? full day ? Since ur hubby is working so near ur new hse plus kindy below, i thot it will be a gd idea to have ethan @cc below and get a helper then u cna really enjoy ur new home. Afterall u all just shifted in, but definitely helper comes with a lot of problems but sometimes that extra pair of hands just to carry the baby is really so "HELPFUL".

bkkgal, gar,xy and iso. Thanks! But i am not as gd as u all think. I think mummies like Reena is amazing, can take care of 3 kids plus all her cooking and baking. For me.. paiseh to say, i can only bake when the 2 kids are not ard .. and when i attend lessons . still need my in-laws/hubby to take care of them. I think my in-laws are totally NECESSARY in my childcare arrangements which also makes me feel a little bit confused @ times.

I do very minimal stuffs with G nowades, too tired.. just try to read bks before we sleep ,sometimes i keep thinking that when i wake up from my sleep, my 2 responsiblities will just disappear.. haha.. that will be great! :p I think i am so stress that when i carry K along the corridor, sometimes i will wonder how it is like if i throw him down.. what will happen to him... heng i do not have pnd, else i will prob do it man.

Can u all advise me:
Is it stupid that since my in laws can take care of my 2 kids , i can jolly well go outside to work, take a regular job , earn more $ instead of insisting that i wanna take care of them and just chose to work pt time/ad hoc?

I wonder whether they think that its wasted to stay at hm since we are at the prime age of earning $$ for our retirement and whatever plans. After seeing a lot of retirees recently, i am thinking abt my retirement plan too!!

Its a conflicting thot, i wanna spend a little bit more time with them yet at times i feel so lousy staying at hm while most of my mummy frens are working, earning $ and have kids as well.

How, counsel me.

hello mummies...

bkkgal,
hugs! hope the new maid is turining out ok.

I'm back at ILs place for 1 week cos hb is outstationed... all the stress/tension also comming out. previously i was still quite in favour of selling our place and moving back with ILs, cos like some of the mummies here, ILs are a FUNDEMENTAL part of my childcare arrangements. also i had a good r/s with them when i was staying with them for the 1st yr. but now that i have my own house, tasted 'freedom' and prolly becos i have aged a bit n developed my owm temper, i feel differently liao.
haiz.
actually it all boils down to weather if i want to ren live under someone's roof with no voice,no choice and no opinion. i think i was able to do so for the 1st yr cos all 'new' to the family and parenting, so lost so just suddup and comply. but dunno if i can bring myself to do this for the next x years if we were indeed to move in with ILs as a choice now.

Genice, r u giving tuition now? Or still selling insurance? Both ways r good ways to make $ and u dun think there is a 'prime time' for these 2 careers. Can earn more than being a teacher if u work full time. Think of it as taking half load for now to spend more time with your kids. You can always put in more hours at work when kieran is older.

Genice,
Don't think of crazy things like throwing K down hor? When you are stressed, take a deep breath, come to forum and rant, we will help you destress!

I can totally understand your dilemma abt work and staying home. Maybe if I stay home, I will also look enviously at the green green grass on the other side (work). But right now, when I'm on the work side, I look at the home side and think how nice and green the grass looks!

But seriously, I was telling Gar the other day. Money can earn back anyday. It's just how much money we think we need. But children's growing up years are not forever. There will be a time when they won't need us, dun want us, by then will we regret not spending more time with them? I feel extra heartache these days because I'm not just missing 1 girl's milestones, but 2. Last time, I felt a kind of missing feeling and envy when my caregivers tell me "oh K took her 1st step today" or "K did this today" but it's not like the kind of heartache that I feel now. This time round, I really really feel it deep.

Waiting a few years to enjoy the kids and then catching up later for earnings is worth it. To me lah. I think the kids at this age, have such simple needs, a bucket of sand, a pail of water, just having us around, makes a holiday for them already. So, we can afford to be more frugal these few years while we the mummies are not working or not pulling in much dough, and STILL be happy. Time with kids = PRICELESS.

Hi Piglettail,
Thanks! how's eevrything working out for you? yeah, agree with u, once you are out on your own terms, hard to live on other people's terms huh?

if we wanna work, then ILs are FUNDAMENTAL to our childcare arrangements lor, esp at this young age for our kids. Once they go to pri school and more or less independent, I think the grandparents can take a backseat. GP can still supervise but maid do most of the work?

MAID
Tubao, hb called me at work yesterday evening and isntructed me to go and sack the maid. !!! he said he set the stage for me liao, just go and fry squid. wahlao!!! So, I kena have to go home, ask FIL bring K to the garden, ask MIL to stay in the room with bb (dunno whether maid will breakdown and go hysterical or not mah...), and then tell the maid.

But no, space cadet was cool. Cool as a cucumber. Just ask me what is the reason. No tears, no sorry, just a bit red faced. Hb came back and made her return the novels to another maid in the other block. Then he waited with her downstairs for agent. She heard K's voice at the door then she wanna cry.

I went through her drawers. Found out that her BF (in philippines) has been sending her all kinds of things, cards, shoes, slippers etc. All without our knowledge. She used one of our towels and claimed I gave her. Ok, nvm just let her keep it. And then one whole drawer she stuffed it with 2 shirts (hb's), 1 dress (K), 1 blouse (MIL's) cos these are clothes she ironed/washed and spoilt, she didn't know what to do, she just stuff it inside. Damn jialat this one. Like a kid trying to hide her mistakes.

Hb said when he sent her off, told her that she is unhappy being scolded everyday, we also unhappy scolding her everyday, our family is in disharmony, better she goes. She should not take it personally. If we see her on the streets in Spore, hope she can still smile and talk to us. This is for everyone's good. She agreed.

So that's that.

hi all...

been reading all the while but hard to find time to reply...

re: staying w/parents,
i think it makes a lot of difference when the parent/in laws agrees to move in with you as oppose to you moving in to their place? in my case, my parents been living with me for hte past 3 years and so far so good.. both me and hb are very thankful they are willing to do this for us... but i do get them to go on breaks and during this period usually i will ask my MIL to come over and look out for C.. I think i am pretty lucky in that way yeah... but might turn out differently if it is the other way around i.e. me living in parent's home :p

bkk,
I think it's good for your hb to give your maid a piece of his mind... it's good for her too, she cannot just go thinking she has done well... how was the great maid exchange? i'm nervous about mine too, particularly since current one has been with me for almost 3 yrs... i think she will break down, well... hope for the best only!

gar,
your hb very wise... i share that with my hb too and i completely agree, we must be willing to do the same thing for our children when we are old... hoping that we will still be in good health !

jeannie,
i think you are already doing great - can take care of the 2 kids by yourself... i think i'm pampered - i hardly bring C out myself... most of the time together with hb or with my mom/maid.

btw - it is not stupid to consider working to earn more $$, particularly if you help to support your ILs financially. but it boils down to your priorities

iso,
no worries about orajel - i've ordered from bp

re: gathering,
yeah let's do one... been a while since we meet up, last one i went to was the one at polliwogs.

btw mummies,
any ideas where to buy disposable toilet seat cover? Since C is now toilet trained (though we still put him on pampers at night and when we go out), he refuse to pee2 in pampers when we go out... this gives me a different headache because he cannot pee2 standing up yet, he needs to sit down and some places are just so dirty
Thinking if i should buy portable potty (like those in BP) or buy disposable for now. I have already armed myself with the toilet sanitizer but still don't think it's clean enough.. am i too paranoid? :p

bkk,
wah read your maid story - really like drama... but good you sack her early and know this now... it is tiring and emotionally draining having to be on your toes everyday... has your new one arrived? hope you'll get a new one and things will change for the better for you.

Tute
I just clean the seat for k with sanitizer or wet wipe and keep telling her dun touch the seat, the sanitary pad bin, dun touch toilet paper holder, everything dun touch!! And then wash her hands real well after.

Iso,
Sorry I think you shared before but I cannot recall. Which dentist is good for our tots? Preferrably in the east? Is smile good? Thanks!