(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

monday again!
i can't wait for E to go to sch :p

anyone been to underwater world recently? any idea if it's far from the car park? from their map looks like the car park is on the other side of the beach. and not near the train station. will bring the boys there one of these days. esp since it's free for under 3 YO. haha.

clover,
that's really fast. jia you jia you - final leap already.
dun know why i miss the time that i stay in the hospital after delivery... :p

fairfield,
i guess as long as help to excercise, should ease the constipation.

iso,
no sure about freezing ebm onboard.

pauline,
still not recover yet? very long already....

Hi ISO,

The walk from car park to the underwater world is not very far. About 5 minutes, but you have to walk up one rather steep flight of steps!

Xy, yup, technically I never really recovered since was coughing for 3 weeks Liao but two days ago start to have cold symptoms again. Really duh lor to be sick so long. Even my masseur said I lost weight. :p

Xy, yah. Really need to go over my long to-do list! :s Coz for u, u had ample rest in the hospital, right?

Pauline. Take care. See tcm for yr cold n cough?

re: maid
have intention to change mine coz she start to chut pattern to irritate me and mil.

anyone knows what r the processing fees involved? my agency is first 6 months unlimited change. e.g. insurance, checkup?

I'm coughing too n will c tcm again tonight. Must really 戒口 n the only thing I can resist is chilli!

Bx, I think there is some refund of insurance but not sure of the procedure. Is yr helper still working well despite irritating u? Mine is distracted at times but I close 1 eye.

Xy, clover, ql,
Many lil things..
1) vain - buy toe ring, wanna buy spaghetti strap top so that she wears a shirt unbuttoned, hint to mil her ear hole closing, cut her fringe, refuse to keep her hair short
2) poor manners - dun say thank u, nvr ask p ermission to do things, see me come home juz sit there. And like to compare us with previous employer. And like to kpo by asking my mil where me and my hb go.
3) getting lazy. Starting to "geng".
4) forget that she is a maid. Go my Mum's place, sit there leaning against the sofa with legs stretched out. Go out to eat, after eating lean back and cross her arms.

I think I was too lenient from the start. Many things I din spell out. Now it's too late to correct her.

bx,
i think best to check with your ageny as each agency charges differently? especially if your maid is still within the 6 months specified in your contract. For me, i'm also going to change my maid but since her contract ended so i am incurring the same charges all over since i am opting for a new one again. the only downside for changing i believe, is that you don't get much options? most of the time it will be those that are "on the bench" here in SG? I could be wrong though...

btw, have you spoken to her about you not happy with this behaviour?

QL,
answering your question in fb... hee... didn't want to clutter bkk's fb status... my parents wanna go back next year so i am literally leaving C alone with maid for 0.5 day every day... C will be going to school starting jan.

iso,
how about getting E to spend more time with his dad? and at home is he ok to play by himself? i consciously try to leave C to play by himself so he doesn't always feel i need to be there with him...

btw, do you still have orajel excess? me running out liao... if you don't have it's ok... i'll get from bp or spree

tute - ic
my fren changed job, also her parents can't look after her kids for her, also had to leave the kids with maid for more than half day (cos she comes back late in the evening). She says the maid cannot managed/discipline the kids, and now the kids are very badly behaved..sigh..she also wonders what is the maid doing behind her back..probably should install a spy cam at home.

ql,
haiz me too... one of the reason we cannot opt to put C in CC full day is that both mine and hb's job tend to be long hours... but i will make an effort next year to cut down, even it means taking up less responsibilities... and i'm planning to install a spy camera... actually this is the main reason i'm changing my maid - i feel my current maid is not focus in taking care of my son. i'm getting a new one who is older and has 2 kids of her own so hopefully she is more responsible - was toying with the idea of getting a new one for a while now, but only doing it now. I am also very hesitant to leave C with maid, but no choice as my parents need to go back, not fair to them also by keeping them here and for me to quit at the moment is not an option yet...

bx,

if ur maid checkup is due, and if u intend 2 send her back 2 her country, need not do the checkup. but rem 2 bring the letter 2 the agency in case in the end after talking 2 the agent, u decide 2 let the maid continue 2 work in SG, the agent will need the letter 2 do the checkup 4 her.

if u intend 2 let her get transfer 2 another new employer, rem tat u r still liable 4 her during her stay in the agency till her work permit under ur name get cancelled. u hv 2 pay the levy, lodging.

my previous agent told me if the maid got sociable problems, then better send her back cos the agency aso dare not keep tis kind of maids (i mean my previous agency).

bx:
Better don't let her know that you have the intention to change her. Treat her as per normal. Just in case she tries something funny. Paranoid lah, scare maid take revenge by putting washing powder in bb's milk.
I'm not sure about the procedures but there could be some fees involve ba. Yup, gotta be very strict with them at the start. Like how you manage your class on Day 1. Set out the expectations... along the way can slowly close one eyes if her performance is not too bad lah... luckily mine seems to be better recently. *fingers cross*

Mummies:
I have lost my hospital list. Can anyone share it with me please?

clover:
Me too. Got prob posting here yesterday.

jass
are you due soon??

tute
sigh, i think he is just looking for attention. some times he can be entertained by daddy, but sometimes he's quite unfriendly towards everyone. just hope this phase passes soon.

i think i only have the fruit splash left, no more thomas, sorry!

Bx, couldn't post that day. Wanted to say that my maid also super hiao, keep buying sleeveless tops cos she said very hot. But I told her can only wear at home. Luckily, I trust my hubby. :p

jass
haha i think 2nd time, easier lah. just think abt what u need to use there.
disposable panties
clothes
slippers
books
laptop to surf since you will have some time away from #1 (hahah!)
maternity pads
etc.

genice
saw your post in the other thread, i completely know what you mean abt affecting relationship, i think hubby and i also went thru bad patch because i every day so tired and grouchy! i think looking after 2 has really been q an experience for me. some days i still v grouchy though, ha ha.

hi ladies!

dunno what came over..drowned by a a wave of work

Maid
Mine is siao siao one...she was behaving badly last month, suddenly this month she was quite ok.

BX,
think u need to call your agency and ask what are the charges for changing. Becos it's not totally "FOC" within the first 6 months. For me, i still had to pay the language test fee for the new maid ($80+?) and also 1 month salary and her lodging of $10 everyday at the agent. also 1 month levy. Machiam like giving her 1 month notice in lieu of immediate firing. of cos u can 'save' on that latter 2 by really giving her 1 month notice and still keep her at home, but who knows what she will be up to!
My take is to get rid of her -- no second chances from me.

oh yeah if your replacement comes already then as Esty said, pay double... but will be pro-rated.

was busy marking the end of year papers so didn't check out the thread. thanks everyone for ur advice. i think these few days she can sense that we are not happy with her. she seems to be more "well-behaved" and polite. she also took initiative to come and carry Ashton from me as she see me marking.

lemme monitor her over the weekend. if really still CMI, i'll call up the agency.

bx,
hope she's getting better now.
can she finish all the housework assigned with good standard?

re: childcare issue
it seems like everyone is facing the childcare issue. be it the maid, the husband, or the work..
hai...

this may come too late - MPH having sales for children's books 30% off if you buy min 3 until today.

not bad if you buy those small2 books... can save $1-2 each.

iso,
no worries... i can order from BP

I've having serious childcare issues myself. So bad dunno where to start. Some days just want to throw in the towel...but I can't, for now.

MAID
Lazy. Space cadet. Liar. Everyday must spot check. Must check her work at night. Any chance she got, will be skivving, takking to other maids, or using hp. Waiting for transfer maid.

MIL
Mil hates the maid. To the core. Full of complaints. I also hv my issues with maid but u really dun need to come home to hear more. Worse thing is mil go to her own house, refuse to bring maid but STILL got lots to say about maid. Amazing. Ask me to do things like ask neighbor whether maid got bring other maids home etc. So aunty. As if i got the time!

Mil now look after 2 girls full time. Ever since sis delivered, my mom doesn't come anymore. Mil feeling the stress. I also stressed cos from last time where both sides come to my house to look after, now mil completely want to change routine to bring them home. Only this week that hb travelled, she stayed in my hse because i cannot bring 2 grouchy crying girls home in the car alone.

Now I and hb to rush thru work or cut short our work to rush down to mil house in time to bf Sarah and bring both home, put both to bed before we can resume work.

Well, all the inconveniences on adults is ok. We can take it. It's the traveling up and down on the children that's

Sarah waits for me until she's so tired and sian, want to sleep but too tired to fall asleep. She ends up crying all the way in the car. Kate gets mang zhang, she wants her sis to sop, so she shouts at her.

Because mil refuse maid help, she do everything, a lot of things fall thru. I feel damn shitty, damn fed up but I cannot do anything. Powerless, helpless, useless. Everything just shut up and accept.

Mil relations at all time low. Irritation at all time high.

PT
Need to go pt soon. Sooner rather than later, at the rate things go. But I dun wanna offer pt yet...various reasons aargh. I'm taking one day leave almost every week, machiam working 4 day week liao. Until leave runs out.

SS
So stressed my ss dropped drastically. No help Liao. Pump pump also so little. Sigh. Feel sad that my bf journey may be ending soon

First thing is get rid of this space cadet maid.

Having 2 kids really makes all the issues come to the fore...childcare issues, mil issues..it's not easy to manage (the issues, not the kids) but end of the day when I see both together, it's still worth it

Bkkgal, no wonder didn't hear from u for so long. Jia you! Really not easy to juggle work n all the childcare issues.

Aiya, mil will always prefer to look after the kid at their own house. Mine even when she was looking after raeanne back then also refuse to take care of her at my house. With 2 kids I know I will have to move to her house at least in the day if I want ils to look after the kids so in the end decided to hire maid so that I can look after them in my own house. Even though we stay only 5 mins walk away, I prefer my own house and I am sure my mil feels the same. :p

Try pt out for now since u have an option, my previous supervisor did not allow for pt arrangement or else I would not have quit after almost 8 years in healthcare.

Bkkgal,

*pat pat*; grit teeth for one more year, by then Sarah can go to childcare and Kate can attend full day CC, maybe it's less of CC issues.

Ever since people knows that I am having twins, some of them asked me whether I will quit my job. Well, I normally tell them that my husband may plan to help out by SAHD since he is physically more suitable. Haha…….all of them got puzzled at my answer and didn't probe any further. Actually we also have tons of worries on Child care arrangement, but how….. 走一步算一步 (walk one step a time).

Hello all!!

Just wana come in n give some encouragement! Endure endure! Me also on single mum mode at night when the hub almost work till 2-3 am last few weeks.everyday reached mum's place 8plus,gobbled dinner,bath, then take taxi with maid to bring 2 kids home.. Then rushed to put kids to sleep..sigh.. Dead tired!!

Now hub out of town for work
Somemore.. Sian..

bkk,
*pat pat*

will your MIL accept local nanny to help?
for a short term, you may consider hiring babysitter to your MIL place:
http://www.a-team.com.sg/services_and_rates_babysitter.html
it's not cheap for everyday basis. but at least can ease some of the stress that she has till your maid is changed.

how about let K goes to CC full day?

you work very late? can let sarah sleep for a while at your mil until you come back?

my MIL will not come my place to take care of the kids because she feels out of the place. when my hb on reservist last time, I moved over to their place to stay together with C.

pauline,
read your question about ceiling fan @ Jan08 thread.
I am using the ceiling fan. take note of the following when buying one:
(1) length of the blades (suppose longer the stronger wind)
(2) # of the blades (suppose more blade stronger wind)
(3) the bulb better not covered (although it looks better with covered bulb, the whole living room is not bright enough)
(4) warranty of the motor (some brand offer lifetime warranty)

I saw advertisement got a babyfanz (6 blades with colorful design), you might want to consider? (but the bulb seems is covered).

qingling,
my hb was out of town 3 weeks recently too. i can't handle 2 kids in the evening alone. in the end went over to my PIL and with the help from my PIL and sis, I also rush like mad. furthermore, I am on ML. :p

yeh!!
finally raining!
the weather is so HOT and HUMID for the past 1 week.

pauline,
mine is ELMARK.
can't remember the price liao - it has been 5 yrs++
clean it like every few months. vacuum and wipe. less frequent than the stand fan. i am considering install 1 in the study room - future kids room too. but that's too early to do because no intention to move them out of my room yet.

so coincident that my PIL's ceiling fan spoilt last week - 1 blade fell down. luckily didn't hurt anyone and big C was just nearby when it fell. that's why i took a look at the advertisement and saw the babyfanz.
the shop has one outlet at tampines, but i don't recall the actual address. i think about $300 can get one.

bkk
yikes, not good at all! sigh, the logistics of looking after kids is really no joke. let me know if i can help in any way, and we are always here if you need to rant

XY
have you used a-team before? i will need some PT cleaners, considering them. ah ma on wheels is like almost twice the price!

kitsune
we have KDK fans - big one $500+ for living room, for bedroom and study smaller ones, about $100+. we hate standing fans, cos it takes up so much space and not as "good".

bkk,
jia you! hope you get a good maid cos i agree with clover - a lot of the issues will be resolved.

fellow mummies,
was chatting with hb about our own child care arrangement woes, and that of our friends.

and my hb said - just remember that next time when we are grandparents, we must not give our kids the same kind of problems. i love my hubby for his nuggets of wisdom.

something for all of us to think about.

can i ask for some advice, i feel like switching school for E to half day CC in mornings that is near my ILs place and where my nephew goes. which is actually what i intended to do before delivering #2, but hubby didn't want because he thinks nephew is not a v good influence and the school at our new place is not bad.

now he is attending nursery 3-5pm at my own place (for the last 1 month), but we are still staying with ILs half of the time, so like today, #2 is there whole day, because i drop hubby, come to new place, have lunch and put E to nap there. whole day away macham like i go to work and leave bb at home like that. otherwise i can't handle both on my own, esp now that E is v attention seeking and difficult at times.

if i just switch school for like 6 months, would that be difficult for E? otherwise i will need to get a maid liao, and we all know that comes with a whole new set of problems.

i really regret not insisting that E go to nephew's school earlier in the year. he only started at this sch last month because they only accept from 30 months onwards.

Hi Iso,

What is the proposed arrangement when you move into your new place and how long more before you move over?

Cos I think it depends on how long this interim period is going to be before you decide whether to switch schools

bkkgal,

looks like u hv a big serious pro. sigh... i aso tell hb last time when i was so stressed out, tat wif 2 kids, alot of issues seem 2 surface out. didnt anticipate at all. or rather not far sighted enuff 2 spot them earlier..

hope u can solve ur pro soon.

iso/xy,

if ceiling fans, hw u install ur lightings? L-box? or normal lighting shifted 2 one side?

my new place is gg 2 b renovated soon. tinking of installing ceiling fans.

i like ceiling fans alot and same as u, iso, i dun like standing fans 4 the same reasons. plus i tink cleaning ceiling fans are much easier. my dad's place clean once every wk, 4 fans. less than 10minutes.

gar
actually it's ready already, we're staying here half the time, but we can choose to stay on more at ILs place. argh, i really regret not putting him in sch near ILs place earlier. sigh.

esther
ya, L boxes and downlights. only bad thing is HDB ceilings a bit low. if it was higher then the fan wouldn't be so close.

iso,

close? is tat so? my dad's place, i find it ok leh not low. my dad's fans are the short one. duno wat is the term for the part tat attached to the ceiling. So i find it no pro. urs are longer one is it?

i reali tempted 2 do the L-box 4 the rooms. but worry abt budget. my hse in the end is doing a total overhaul. none can be kept. sigh.. hb's pocket gg 2 get burnt wif a big hole liao...

btw the way, ur living hall hv the lights tat shine up 2 the ceiling? my ID proposed L-box lightings plus the lightings shine 2 the ceiling so as 2 create the cosy effect. i wonder if it is useful anot. i more worry abt the dust and pests nesting there leh...

iso,
i never use a-team before.
if you just need PT cleaners, more economical to consider those recommended by friends. you can save the agent fee and hourly charge also cheaper.

however, i did hire 1 PT cleaner from agent. Is from filipino one. so so but the cleaner change everytime. so got to teach her what to do all over again. Not sure if A-team is the same. Maybe can call up and find out more?

esther,
my light is together with the fan. i dun have false ceiling, so don't want to lay so many wires on the ceiling.
key is not to let the blade block the light, or else you will get flickering lighting.

i was tempted to get L-box last time too. but just started work, no money, in the end didn't do much renovation.

still so HOT and HUMID despite the morning heavy rain.

XY,

so urs is wif light. my dad's one is place slightly away frm the ceiling fan. so no flickering lighting. tot of doing tis way 4 my new home to save $$. but heard frm gf, say L-box is nicer. keke....

Tink will hv 2 ask my ID 4 advice...

Ya lately super hot. I jz wish 2 on air con 24hrs! keke...

Xy, aiyoh, blade fall down, so scary. :p thanks, I am trying to google babyfanz but like not much luck. :p

Thanks, iso, I was thinking of kdk too but domeone said very short blades, got to stand under the fan to feel the breeze so I am a bit scared.

Thanks for your encouragement.

When things are down, they are really down. Last night, K vomited 6-7 times. We changed bedsheets until scared. Until I can't tahan, make hb bring her to A&E. But K refused to go hospital. She was so scared. Lucky we ran into hubby's fren working there, managed to get a prescription for suppository. Brought home and sup her ourselves. On way home, she vomited on the road. After sup, she still vomitted. haiiii!!!!!! This morning, she kena diarrhoea. haiii!!! Afternoon, went to PD to get more meds. Come back, kena fever. haiiii!!!! why lidat???

Sat hubby came home from KL, fell sick, followed by me and now K.