(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

anyone has a courier svc to recommend to collect stuff after 6pm? i need to collect my stuff fr linda and unfortunately my courier doesnt operate after 6pm.

let me know k if it's cheap n good..heee...

bluelily,

yea, just smsed her. hopefully she has a contact.

dun worry abt e sms...was quite last min to begin wif..

tks for keepg my books for me. *paisay*

cocoangel,

Any Sunday. As soon as we can gather enuf pple, will register for all. If not, then maybe suggest those interested to register at their convenience. It'll good if we can form a class of our own. More fun lor.

hen,
yup yup.. better if we can form own group.. then our babies can mingle together too

Re: Gymboree Trial Class

Day: Sunday
Time: 4-4.45pm
Place: Harbourfront
Fee: $40 for trial session
Membership is $50 if you want to sign up (then the trial will be free).
Promo right now is $399 for 12 classes

I asked abt the free trial voucher that some of you got thru GAIA, the person whom I spoke to said she is not sure, need to check wz her manager.

Those interested pls put name in list. If got 12 of us, will ask them for new class.

1. hentang
2. CSI_Fan
3. Gabby's mum
4. slimz =D

csi,

yes, rafferty garden's cereal are organic. i m not sure of their other products. My boy is eating rafferty garden's baby rice, multigrain n cereal with banana+apricot. the texture is very fine and it is not expensive, AUS$1.99/pkt.i like the packaging too! it is made of organic materials and can be reseal like ziploc so no need to transfer to another container. i find it handy especially if u are traveling!

csi,

rafferty's by far has e best texture to me..i love it n so does e bb..haa...too bad its not readily available here...perhaps nx yr, or so i heard. anyway, u can join sprees to get them if u like..tho i'm not sure if there are any ongoing.

I asked abt the free trial voucher that some of you got thru GAIA, the person whom I spoke to said she is not sure, need to check wz her manager.

Those interested pls put name in list. If got 12 of us, will ask them for new class.

1. hentang
2. CSI_Fan
3. Gabby's mum
4. slimz =D
5. fanny

1. hentang
2. CSI_Fan
3. Gabby's mum
4. slimz =D
5. fanny
6. Beng's Ma

constance, i like ur bb's pic! Cute haha..

Wanna ask, what else can I add in bb's porridge to make it more nutritious har?

Currently my mum adds
- white rice (bb have brown rice on alt days)
- threadfin fish
- vegy cube (either green vegy or carrots, sweet potato etc)
- red dates
- hong zao = wolfberries?

Jr loves the porridge! But eat liao he'll be too full for milk.. I'm worried he wont get enough nutrients.

Touching babies
I was just wondering what you would do when a stranger touches your baby, i.e. touch the face, hands and head. Do you let them touch or tell them nicely not to. Many would be offended when you don't want them to touch your babies. But, how do we tell them tactfully? I personally do not like strangers to touch my gal, cos you do not know how clean their hands are. If they touch her face, it could give her rash. If they touch her hands, she would put them in the mouth after they've been touched.

Any comments?

rach,
I'll also just smile and quickly move away, pretend to be in a hurry. And that's why, I'm always armed with a packet of Pigeon wet wipes (for hands and mouth). Then I'll whip one out and wipe the hand/face that has been touched. But in the meantime, I'll hold on to baby's hands to make sure she dun put them in her mouth...hehs...

jeelomeelo!

baby shawn wan not bad already. mine din cut since his full month. still hv a few stands of baby hair sticking out. like lalang in the fields.

My bag always have that Dettol sanitizer. It is good for using to clean dirty tables too... Me a bit phobia cos #1 kenna virus before. Those virus contacted thru mouth. Resulting him to put on drip and my birthday spent in TMC. =.="
Come home 1st thing straight to kitchen to wash our hands.

If the person looks clean and tidy, I don't mind them touching my kiddos. Cos I think it will be rude to reject. So far none touch their hands, cheeks or chin loh. So far most will smile and pat on the head.

Normally strangers would hold my boy's hand and touch his head. For hand - I would hold his hand till I get a chance to wipe it clean before he puts it in his mouth.

For head, I will bath him once I return home.

re touchy issue

my mom hates it when i get all hoity-toity.. =( she says its v hurtg to e person..she added tat if e bb isnt cute, ppl wont even want to touch lor..ya, like missylan, i do hv a sanitiser w me as well...sometimes i see my MIL lick her fingers clean b4 carryg my bb, i also gag..but inside. =( i can ask my own mom to wash lor..but to MIL, it's always more diff...twds a stranger, even worst..how to even open mouth i dunno..guess just got to b super watchful n then 'disinfect' e bb after lor..

Hi jeelo, constance & crystal,

Your babies are so cute!!! Isaac has only 1/4 of the teeth showing and not much hair...Wahaa....

my boy got 0 teeth and alot of hair! But his hair is v fine.. stick to the scalp kind. I love it! So soft like fur. :p

http://littlejerrell.blogspot.com/

His hair is getting long though.. esp at the ears. Can put behind his ears like a gal liao. Dunno when shd I bring him for his next hair cut? Think v diff to cut now leh. He keeps moving!

touch babies,
steffie, my mum oso says the same ting.. "aiyah, pple c ur girl cute den touch her .. y so tao"
boo..
i'm even more upset over smoking issue leh..
my mum's neighbor loves to play wif my girl and my girl has been poping by to their flat for at least 3x a week at nite..
2days ago i carried my girl walk along corridor n the neighbor opend her door and carried my girl in.. and guess wat, i saw the HB smoking in the hse ={
VERY DEPRESSED lor.. my girl has to take in the 2ndhand smoke leh.. i stood there, outside the house c my poor girl in the smoke filled hse.. booooo ... den i went bk told my mum n dad..
duno how to save my girl out..
den my dad n i went over stood o/s their flat, my dad said "ok lar, dun disturb aunty.." but the neighbor said "its ok lar, we wan play with her" FAINTZZZZ
its like almost 15mins later dan they RELEASED my girl .. den i told my mum n dad, do not let my girl go over again.. esp wen that HB is at home .. BOOOOOOOOOO

oh slimz! Same here... I esp hate the smoking part! My dad loves to bring jr to coffeeshop. Then there's once he came back.. I smell his head.. got cigerette smell!! Then i nag nag nag... now he still go coffeeshop everyday.. but think my dad will stay away from the smoke le. Bo bian hai...

Re: touching babies
THanks mummies for your sharing.
My dad always tells me that it's my right to disallow strangers from touching my gal cos what if they have just touched a cat and then, with all the germs in his/her hand, touch my gal's hands and she puts it in her mouth? Cos sometimes when I'm out at the beach, I don't have my wipes with me and can't clean her hands. There was once a lady, who's not very clean, who wanted to touch my gal and I told her don't touch. She was so angry and asked me, "what? I can't touch her?" And wanted to fight with me. I got such a shock, but still stood my ground. My hubby then said that my baby will scratch her if she touches her. He had to quickly think of something to say otherwise, the lady might pick a fight with me. GOsh! People should just respect others and not go around touching babies without permission. If their hands are clean, it's ok, but we never know, will we?
My hubby then said next time someone touches our gal's face, we will touch their face in return, see if they like it or not. haha!
Granted that they find our babies cute and so want to touch them, but we can't just let them go touching them on that premise.
When I was in pri school, many of the older girls kept touching my face whenever they walked past me and I hated it. Cos it made my face so dirty after that and I had pimples after constant touching. So, I won't want people to do that to my gal too.

Slimz,
If you find someone smoking, take your girl out immediately. Say that you don't want your child exposed to smoke. But, if you want to be polite, tell him your girl has to go home already. We should just stand our ground. In our society, we're always so afraid to offend, but if it concerns the well-being of our child, we have to do something about it.

re : touching issue

Personally, i dun like strangers to touch my baby cos you really dun knw where they have been or wat they have done with their hands prior to that! i have seen women gng out of toilets w/o washing hands so i know, you cant judge a person by its look! Also, with the HFMD and so many virus gng around, i really wan to try protect my boy as much as i can.

Even myself, i will try make sure i washed my hands or wipe my hands when i handle my boy hehe... boh bian lah.. clean freak.. even hubby also cannot tahan. my family knows me so they try 'abide' to the rules hehe... even mil also 'scared' of me.. will purposely say 'i washed my hands liao, can carry you!'

Slimz.. i'm so very very particular on lettting my baby smell 2nd hand smoke, even smoker who touches him (esp his little fingers), also sends me jumping up the wall!! imagine my baby sucking his smoke-stained fingers

That said, however, its difficult to turn ppl down when they wan to touch or carry our baby, i will try say things like 'dun disturb aunty' or something like tat, or pretend to look at something (in a mall) and turn away. but sometimes, ppl just dun get it
once, this sec school boy was so happy to see my boy that he kept wanting to touch him, even when i try calling my hubby and moved away, he still follows!! scare the hell out of me ah!!

What i do is, use Pigeon's mouth-and-hand wet wipes to clean my boy afterwards!!

Rachel Wee,
oh my gosh...she actually asked "can't touch her?" wah...think I'd have argued with the lady. Of course cannot touch lah! Who is she?? not the grandma mah...wah seh...

hehs, I realise I'm not the only one out here with such mindset. hahaha. My hb and I are the same. But my MIL used to think the 2 of us are weird. She'd always say our standard so high etc...and nag. Then...her 2 grandsons (1.5 yrs and 2.5 yrs) came down with some viral infection. Now, she listens to hb and me. hahaha. Now she actually sterilises the boys toys with dettol. hehs...

bluelily,
handsome boy man! wa.. u still have time to update blog ah... ever since my twins are born, i've really no time to do such stuff! huh, more tough for me cos i have 2!

btw, hv u started planning for your darling's 1st bday bash? any idea where to go? we are thinking of not doing at home lei cos may be quite a big crowd. thinking of hotel hi-tea buffet of hotel function/ball room... any other ideas?? my crowd prob close to 100, including children.

Rachel,
The lady actually argues with you? how can she be so thick-skinned when you already turn her down? I dunno how I will react if it happens to me

CSI,
Sometimes I also wonder if I am being too paranoid, too protective cos some ppl feels tat exposing to some germs is better so they can grow up immune to it. Is it?? To me, I felt that I dun have to expose them to this kind of danger in order for them to be strong...
My hubby not in same mindset as me but still above my MIL lah.. so at least I can still expect him to 'tell' her off if she's too unhygienic (heng she's not taking care of my boy) hehe...

dodo! Long time no see! Aiya.. urs is twins no fight. Sure much busier than us. I cant imagine if I have 2 lil monsters! 1 is enough terror already. :p

I'm thinking of booking chalet.. maybe 1 day only. But dun intend to invite much ppl.. mostly family only. Dunno will be boring anot? :p

Show us ur twins latest photos leh...

wah...dodo...big crowd you have...

my crowd also big...abt 60 pax...so we'll be splitting into 2 days. otherwise, everybody want to see baby, but wun have much chance. very tough ah.

Think you can do a hotel function or a chalet. A chalet would be easier (IMHO) coz at least you can stagger the arrivals of the guests. Different bunch at different times. Then not so messy...and you can say hi to all also. Hotel function rooms, will be limited by the timings lorh...so all 100 pax will have to arrive between the times. But chalet means got lots to bring over also lah...

CSI_fan and cocoangel,
yes, she's not very right up there, I think, cos she doesn't behave very normally. That's why I didn't want her to touch my gal. Cos her hands looked very dirty. But, after that, I felt so bad. Like I was discriminating her. But, what to do? I can't just let her touch if I can see that her hands are dirty. There was once when I was at Orchard MRT with my baby in a stroller, waiting for for my hubby, when suddenly, this man while walking past, stopped suddenly and put his hands into my stroller. I got a shock of my life and quickely wheeled away. And that man also didn't look quite right in his mind. So scary!

I also thought I was being too paranoid with cleanliness, that's why I asked for feedback here. At least now I know, I'm not being overly protective.

Cocoangel,
I also do not believe in exposing my baby to germs to build her immunity. I think that's nonsense. Cos in that case, I might as well expose her to HFMD and all the other viruses as well. When I was 20, I didn't want to offend people and I trusted that if the person wanted to come near to me, that person would be well to do so. But, some people can be very inconsiderate. My friend actually hugged me and I was infected by her chicken pox. One of our friends had the pox and he went around infecting everyone till so many of us came down with chicken pox.

crystalz,

hope your trip goes well and u are able to pump regularly! i know its really tough when u wanna pump and can't find a place. I used to be working and couldn't pump for more than 6 hours... felt like my breasts was gonna explode manz...

constance,

yr #3 picture is very cute! he does not look like heibi leh!!

gals,

i'm also paranoid about ppl touching dylan but it happens all the time. Got no choice but to be armed with wet wipes to quickly clean him up after he is touched. There was once, I witness a relative scratching and touching her toes before touching my son's face! I nearly died!! I had to wrestle him from her immediately even though she was not ready to relinquish her hold on him. eversince then, whenever I bring him to my in law's place for a visit... I watch them very closely and make sure dylan does not put his hands in his mouth when they are carrying him!

Rachel,
If that women is not right in her mind then its our duty to protect our little one from it, dun feel bad. imagine, if you allow her to come near then something bad happened, you will feel worst off! we just gotta try be tactful when we turn them down, not like i hve the courage to open my mouth to say "no"

I also agree with you that the exposing-to-germs-will-build-immunity statement is nonsense but its not easy to explain your views when so many ppl (esp elderly) are trying to preach you loh..sometimes even hubby say that *faintz*

ya, thot of chalet too but the logistics would be very tough lei cos we hv 2 babies somemore!! that is why i think hotel function rooms would be easier. just go, everything prepared for you, after that, pai pai pi gu, go home liaoz, keke...

Bluelily,
Your Jr very cute and handsome leh hehe...

Dodo,
How have you been? I am already very busy with Kyrell liao.. and you got 2!! Cant imagine hehe... well, take care and pls keep in contact.. hopefully can see you again in our next gathering

Botanist,
I think I will cry on the spot if that relative of yours touches my boy!! So disgusting!!

Heng, most mummies same mindset like me phew... must go home tell hubby :p

re: ppl touching bb

hate it when strangers touch my baby. happens whether in carrier or in pram. now i use the excuse that my girl is sleepy, so better not touch her else she'll cry. it's true anyway (when she's sleepy). and nobody wants to make a baby cry hehe.

eww..scratch toes then touch your boy..some people really!

It's really difficult to tell the person to wash hands if it's our relative, but I will do it. I always tell me FIL to wash his hands before touching my gal. BUt, when i'm not looking, he will touch her without washing, and touch her fingers some more. *Faint*

coco thks ah. jeelo.. no ah.. if u see close up, his skin actually not gd. There's rashes on his chin for 1-2mths already.. on off keep having. Think cos of his saliva, food, etc. Even though we keep wiping.. still like tt.