(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

zhenzhen,bbwow..re schl fee.. ur per term is how many mths?

btw, any mummy can advise wat's market rate for primary schl tution? they charged per subject or per lesson?

dodo,
the "ready teacher" referring to u leh, u can play piano right? =)

maruko,
nvmind, got the $50k liao then jian fei! =P

Dodo, must take care of yourself and try to recover quickly. Then you can really enjoy all the yummies when you come back soon! And zq’s school sounds very pro leh. Got so many programs not just for the little ones but for the caregivers too!

Re: Kindergarten
Hannah is going to attend Newton Kindergarten. Want her get more exposure to Chinese....

Junnie, not fitted comforter, but fitted mattress protector. I saw it online, but so far haven’t seen it in stores.

Re: Term
I think 1 term = 10 weeks. Follow normal school term.

today on leave cos going for check up.

now ard 28w+ and peanut is ard 1.1kg. this week started to feel the braxton hicks contractions coming in very frequently ard evening/night time. cant remember it being so frequently when having yz.
gynea commented if have 3-4 times within an hr, better make a trip to hospital! making me very paranoid!! another 10 more weeks to go, hope #2 can guai guai stay in tummy!

doobom: oh dear, hope u n J will have speedy recovery! drink more water and try to cut down on oily/fried food for time being though it must be hard! i love junk food too! fast food/chips/chocolates!! yumyum!
dun worry too much abt the 1kg off J though must be heartpain to u.. kids will gain back the weight soon with proper meals again..

hippo: yz is currently attending learning vision. not cheap ard $600 per mth after subsidy. @_@.
we are thinking of letting him go for another year (2011) and then will let him start N2 from Jan (2012). have shorlisted 2 kindys at east side so my mum can bring him home/he can take school bus (short trip) back after that. being kiasu, think we will register him for 2012 class early next year liao hah. kindy fees are cheaper ard 500-600 per term and they follow primary school calendar from wat i gathered from the principles..

ecookie, same! i also got more braxton hicks contractions this time ard. last time don't even remember having them leh. got them again this morning and started to worry that i'm going into labour soon. haha...

toilet-training: yz still not very ready to be toilet-trained though he can speak up but he chose to poo in silence in a corner then continue playing. only upon asking him, then he will said he poo! think he still v resistant of pooing anywhere but inside his diapers. im thinking of trying to train him during my maternity leave. hope wont be too messy and he will catch on the idea fast! *fingers crossed*

zhenzhen: ok , i started getting them ard the same time but on a daily basis. sigh. will just try to rest more from now on bah..

Zhen zhen...I purchased my fitted mattress protector for both Marcus' cot and Tiffie's single bed from Spotlight in Plaza Singapura... you may want to check it out.
really useful... furthermore... it is waterproof.

petit gars, that's exactly what i'm looking for. want a waterproof one to prolong the life of the mattress. do you know how much the cot version costs? thanks for info.

zhenzhen: he just said to monitor and if more than 3-4 times an hr, better make a trip to hospital. im not sure if he 's over-reacting cos he's always been more of a everything-ok kinda gynea... can only try to rest more cos i realise when im seated/lying down, the contractions wont come or be gone fast. only when im walking then its will come..

zhenzhen,ecookie.. re..braxton hicks..tis bring bk some memories... yes, cfm #2 more prone to hving it.. i everyday 'half sit' to sleep at bedtime during last trimester cos cannot breathe.. #1 dun hv such encounter... both of u must 'ren ren ren'...

ecookie... yz's cc X cos u said is LV mah!! kekeke... btw, safra eager beaver is shifting to ex bt merah swimming pool fm jan'2010.. tat plc gonna b renovated to some entertainment ctr too!! anyway u letting yz go cc @ eastside, so tis info might not b useful..

chersam.. tat's good one!!! so maruko.. no worry... continue to eat value meal!! or r u eating now??

me going out lunch le... will catch up later..

eunice.. sorry, cant call u for lunch date tis wk, abit busy in office.. my colleague go malacca holiday, monday then come back.. gotta do her work...

Junnie... not sure about the rates for 1-to-1 home tuition...cos I have always sent her to group classes. paiseh.... can't help.

petit_gar.. oic.. really hv mattress protector & is waterproof arh?? zhen zhen.. faster go & buy... i may drop by spotlight one of tis days to chk it out too...

zhenzhen.. so the payment per term quite similar to payment @ those high end cc... & urs include material fees somemore.. u'll b surprise hannah will reply u in mandarin nxt time aft she attends schl =)

ptiti_gar.. u mean group classes tution for english,math,science,chinese or enrichment class? i also wanna knw the rate if u come across... TIA.

tis time really going out lunch le... will catch up later..

travis cc juz called to say he kena bitten by another kiddo when he pushed the kid away from the sink to wash his hands. Got a teeth mark on his right arm. Too fast for teacher to react. Sigh...

ecookie,
10 more weeks to count down, tats fast!!! decided on didi's name already?

junnie,
evil me leh =P

zhen zhen,
agreed with junnie on hannah's mandarin learning. tats wat happened to my 4 YO niece, fm dunno how to speak to now quite fluent speaking until her english educated daddy also can't understand! haha

<font color="ff0000">*muacks*</font> mummies for the kind input!

zhen zhen, ex hor? 900 per term! woah.. i already tot adri's sch fees are exhorbitant. itz $600+ per term and doesnt help dat my mum keeps comparing to those days where i attended the same kindy! hahahaha..

dodo, siao bo!!! 12 k!!!!!!!!!!!! *ouch*.. heart super pain. but from the way u describe the classes, it sounds super fun &amp; enriching.. go buy the piano! if i dun rem wrongly, u can play the piano too right??? then u can teach him ar! or take it as "re-emphasizing" his lessons.. keke

bbwow, cool leh! hope J &amp; sean can be classmates! just like lleyton &amp; shanice.. so cool to always see them photographed together..

junnie, paiseh leh dear.. not too sure abt the rates but can ask my cousins how much they paid for their tuition teacher.. for how many subjects?

ecookie, u mean K1 in 2012? not nursery right?
and 28 weeks liao! time reali reali flies...

maruko, ouch! poor travis.. hope the mark goes off soon...

Junnie: Reharding group classes....I paid around $1300 (include GST) per subject (English &amp; Maths) for 20 lessons (2 hrs)... works out around $65 per lesson. As for Chinese... it's $888 for 20 lessons (3 hr per lesson), about $44 per lesson.

zhenzhen: dun worry, im sure clever hannah will pick up chinese very fast!! their lil' minds absord things so fast one!

chersam: yah lor, 10 more weeks. hope time passes faster cos now abit worried. hehe. name will only be decided after delivery cos need to suan strokes. currently calling him peanut/豆豆。got a feeling that the 豆豆 will be stuck like 虫虫for yz hehhe

maruko: teachers at travis's cc got try to teach them not to bite? but i guess its hard cos toddlers' actions really fast at times and they still dun really know wats wrong at this stage.. just have to continue guiding them. hope the bite wound on travis not too deep...
last time i always kena bitten by my cousin when my gramps take care of us both. we were 1 mth apart and i always bring home alot of "watches" according to my mum.. hehe

Junnie... really useful to protect the mattress... worth every penny... I manage to save my cot mattress after Marc vomitted on it yesterday... no stains at all.

maruko,
oh dear, hope the bite is not too much deep.

hippo,
hey, i'm curious hw much ur mum paid for ur kindy fee during those days =D

hippo: sorry im so blur!! im mean i will let yz go LV for another year 2010 and start N2 in 2011 hahahahah. so will go register for his nursery next Jan.. wah all the DHA i taken kena absorbed by peanut. i keep on forgetting where i park my car nowadays too!!

chersam, i shut my mum out whenever she talks abt the diff so never reali hear but in the region of $100 or less??? kaoz.. must go ask her again.. keke..

ecookie! hahahahahahaha.. u dun "lose" ur car while out shopping ar.. i hv seen preggers searching the whole car park for their cars okie?? kekeke.. anyway, dat will only mean one thing, ur peanut sure super smart like kor kor!

ecookie,
豆豆 sounds soooo cute! like taiwanese kiddies leh, most of them got a nick. my sis ever met into a taiwanese lady on flight &amp; the lady's daughter is very adorable. so my sis asked for the little gal's name &amp; she is known as Xiao Ma Yi (Little Ant). kekeke!

chersam: little ant is very cute leh!!

hippo: yah i hope that wont happen to me!! need to make conscious effort to remember where i park before exiting to the shopping mall nowadays. tsk tsk. dun say hor, maybe will be ur turn soon. hehe

ecookie: I fully agree the kindys followed more closely to the primary academic standards and calendar.. I changed Tiffie to a church kindy after she turned K1. Before that, she's in half day childcare.

chersam, aiyoooo! the xiao ma yi is so cute! kekeke..
and hor, if i dun shut my mum up, my heart will be bleeding leh.. hahahhahaa! must check with her again man. maybe she was talking abt m,y bro's sch fees instead? tsk tsk..

ecookie, whahahahah! my memory has never recovered since the day i got pregnant with adri leh.. LOL!

ecookie &amp; hippo,
yes indeed, xiao ma yi sounds cute!! hee

hippo,
dun need to feel heartpain, last time &amp; now cannot compare lar. as the old saying goes "last time ma ta wear shorts" LOL!

petit_gars: i like pat schoolhouse curriculum but they are not cheap! ard $900-$1k after subsidy. my ex-coll's wife is working in pat's school house and she seems like those genuinely interested in children's welfare pple. hehe then i become biased somehow and feel pat is good but too ex and location not convenient for me so drop the idea..

Junnie ... my gal's Chinese i pay only $20.00 per lesson and she is really good ... but only at Beauty World as for Maths I dun have any at the moment ... English she went to Jan &amp; Elly abt $395.00 per term very ex ... think i will stop this the next time i come back ... and it will only help if yr child already very good in english ... too deep for my gal liao ...

I will need to find Maths &amp; english tution very very soon

BTW the chinese tution teacher also tell me not to bring kids in Pri level to the BIG school etc etc those playing and learning thingy cos no use at all ... will I find it right too la ... tution is along with the text book so better too

"sign" I think Carissa is not going to do will in her exam again ... sobsob ... dun no want to do man ...

And someone also tell me not to look at a Pri 1 or 2 result ... cos the real result will only come out in Pr 3 !!! really??? so meaning i can fang xin for now ??? sobsobsobsob

Hippo,
Which kindy Adri is attending? Sekali is the same school with my sister who is a teacher there too. Her school is a church kindy near Aljunied MRT station. Very good teachers but hor the playground old liao lah.

jas, u like dat say ar.. confirm is the same kindy as ur sis liao lor! geylang chinese methodist church kindy!!!!!! i like the area there.. last time the classes were on the ground floor without the carpark there.. now they converted to a carpark.. tsk tsk.. i could run around freely in the sch compound last time one leh.. hiaks hiaks!!

CM, u know dat itz not impt urself ar.. u just have to psycho and remind urself time &amp; again dear! parents nowadays have it tough leh.. child's exams = parent's exams.. poor dear!

eccokie... for Pats...after subsidy, it's around $800 for half day... and I get to use Marcus' CDA account... so only $400 per month. I really love their curriculum. Now wondering whether to take up or go to Tiffie's kindy.

Ecookie, i know what you mean. When resting, the contractions not too bad. But when I’m doing housework etc, then it’s more intense. Anyway... ren ren ren. Very soon, it will all be over and we’ll have a new set of “problems”! BTW... if you want a Chinese Kindy in the east, can check out Holy Grace Kindergarten. That was one of my choices. Only thing is that it’s so far from my place, but very near my parents...

Junnie, Chersam, ecookie, I agree our little ones pick up languages very quickly. Hannah is currently attending mandarin playgroup twice a week at Julia Gabriel, and she has picked up quite a number of Chinese words already. She knows the different parts of her body, simple colours and shapes, and quite a number of Mandarin songs! I think her Mandarin is going to be better than her daddy’s soon. She has already stumped him a number of times. Very funny!

hippo, cannot compare with last time lah. the prices for kindergartens have really shot up over the years. i also feel very heart pain when i think about the school fees. but then again, it's what we're paying to send hannah to JG now. and at newton, it's 3 hrs everyday. so it's actually more affordable. hopefully she'll enjoy it as much as her JG classes.

petit gars: yah really ex! but i like their curriculum too.. u may want to give it a try 1st? and see if marcus adapt to there well. which branch are u looking at?

zhenzhen: im the opposite of u, i want yz to pick up more english! his command of chinese is quite ok so im not too worried. but wheneven i talk to him in english ( he can understand) but he tends to answer back in chinese.. so im looking for a church kindy that will allow him to pick up some nice habits and preferably a better command of english!

zhen zhen, true true. i was working it out with hb abt the fees and itz comparable or much cheaper than what we will pay for gymboree and stuff so ok la..
hannah can stump daddy with her chinese?? cool! daddy is reali an angmoh version of chen hao la.. hahahaha

ecookie, dat reminds me of something! do search for ur N2 school of YZ soon ar dear! cos alot of children will move from N1 to N2 naturally in the same school so places will be filled super quickly...

ecookie... but in Pats, their teacher-to-child ratio is 1:10... kinda high for playgroup huh? Whereas, Tiffie's kindy pre-nursery is 1:8, and the fees are so affordable. I am looking at the new whitley branch...nice place...and they have having open house on the 14 Nov. Going there to take a look.... location wise, kovan branch is better... but school is a bit old, but they gonna renovate soon. Over-protective hb doesn't like wat he saw in kovan... he claim the school is too old, and the ground is too rough...too hazardous for Marcus...hahhahaha :D

petit_gars: yah better go for open house to find out more. and trust ur gut feelings!

hippO: yah thats y i contacted 2 kindys liao and will be going down soon to take a look and making the registration next jan for jan 2011. the principles said should have no prob securing a place.. hope so!

petit gars, heard that different pat schoolhouse have different standard. my cousin pulled her kid out of one and into another because of that. might want to go down and check the branch that you're interested in.

ecookie, yz is definitely the opposite of hannah. hannah speaks mandarin like an ang moh. got accent!

hippo, ya! my hubby's chinese really cannot make it one. so not difficult to be better than him. unfortunately, hannah's chinese is often limited by me. cos she'll ask me what certain things are in chinese, and i don't know!