(2007/10) October 2007 MTB

if he gets cranky, usually i change hands to let another person carry him. n i realised that nowadays babies like to be carried slightly upright so that he can see the world and stop fussing.

garden_dreamz,

you're not alone. My baby hardly sleeps in the day. Always want to be carried and gets cranky throughout the day. I find that carried in the upright position works as he doesn't like to be cradled anymore.

Luckily, he spent so much time fussing in the day, he can sleep more in the night. He only wakes up at 2am for one feed and 6am for another feed then it's a start of another loooong day.

I usually hold him upright and rock him to sleep in the day. But night time, he goes back to sleep after his feed. I'm also wondering when he can sleep thru the night. They say usually by the 3rd month?

hi mummies.. finally back after MIA for so long.. sob sob. am starting work 2mro cos i only take 2 mths maternity leave and am taking e balance 1 mth over e next few months.. now i m regretting it cos i already start to miss baby even though i m only starting work 2mro! but guess i need sanity check ba??

garden_dreamz, my baby also sleeps quite little in e day. can be cranky most of e times and she sleeps at 9pm+ at nite??? she slept at 11pm on sat! aiyo... lucky for me, she's with my mom at nite while i go home to sleep for e past month. poor mom of mine, she's so tired. so when i slept over with hubby for e weekend, i almost died.. haha..

dun worie about carrying him and rocker and watsnot.. yup, they might get used to it but hey! didnt lots of other kids get used to these forms of comfort and yet 'weaned' off it? u will give urself too much stress by worrying too much gal.. so do watever u can to let baby sleep! dun forget they need all the sleep time they can get so as to function & learn new things! so wat harm can some 'bad habits' do? =)

Hi Fitty,

Mouthing is different from teething. Teething one is too big for BB to handle. There a centre kown as Explorer that sell a 'P' tt is small enogh for them to hold.

hippo, i love your idea! lol...

was just trying to get my bb to adjust to a new schedule....sleeping his nap time from 9+ (an hour or so) then, 12+ to 3+....yesterday he did ok...=D but he slept again from 5+ and woke up 6 to drink milk. then cos i have yet to wipe him down cos was at in-law's place having dinner...sighs....i had to wake him up to wipe him down later.... he became very cranky after that. want to sleep but cant find suitable position. sighs....so jia lut...

My bb is a big bully, usually when the grandparents not around, leaving me or both of us, he will be cranky at night....try everything also cannot...but when the grandparents came back...everything goes normal...it is not that the grandparents cuddle him or anything..it just stop and he will quietly go to sleep...so angry with that

hey hippo i totally agree with u! My first boy slept on bouncer, always carry, craddle , rock,eat pacifier, sleep sarong, and all sorts " bad habits" .. and he turns out weaning him off all these is not that difficult at all..he is still a happy baby!

Eventually all these habits will be wean off as he gets older.. so garden_dreamz dun fret so much and care so much abt wat other ppl says! just do wat u deem fit..

hihi mommies

good to hear they can be weaned off....hehe...but mine already kena spanked, scold and yell at her....so poor thing...cry and cry...then after that..sob and sob....stop for a while..then start sobbing agagin...like she think about it then start to sob again...so poor thing

re carrying uprite....i was told by some aunties not to carry uprite, coz it hurts the spine and makes it curved...but ive been carryin my gal since maybe 2-3 weeks....she dun like to be cradled one....she likes to see everything....anyone knows if its true about spoiling the spine and causing pain?

re sleeping in the day....do ur babies have days that they just sleep the whole time? im wondering if its normal..coz these last few days....if she sleep, can sleep the whole day and wake up short peroid of time...but when dun want to sleep, really whole afternoon can be awake one.....im thinking if the whole day sleeping is to make up for the whole day not sleeping previously....any thots?

thanks lots for all your support and advise. had an eventful day today tat i can't help but to vent out... bb was super cranky this whole morning n noticed his milk rash very red n the skin peeling off. panicked n wondered if his cries are triggered by the discomfort of the rash on the face? so rushed him to PD with my maid, hubby working, couldn't go. went there n realized tat it was not my regular PD but was desperate so went ahead wif it.

PD said milk rash is v.MILD (Though my bb's entire check is red n peeling, he call it mild?) n it will get worse. if use cream, will still come back. asked him is it coz hygiene (my maid keep using her face to touch his face n her face is oily), he say its hormonal change, not hygiene (could see my maid smiling smugly at me fr the corner of my eye, v.piss n the conversation dun sound v.comforting to me already... PD not v.gd, i thought). ok. point noted.

told the PD i v.concerned tat my bb cry though feed, burb, carry, sing, swaddle, pacifier, everything all give alr. PD said - he's only 5 weeks, old, will get worse. if bb cry, means he wan to carry n be played. i asked PD won't i b 'spoiling' him n let letting bb know when shd b play time, when shd b nap time? PD say - no such thing as spoiling. just carry n sing song, play (even in the middle of the nite, i thought to myself... is he mad???). he reiterated again... bb will get worse.

told him sometimes i can c bb is tired but refuse to sleep. his reply - tat's means he's not sleepy lor!!! (i was about to go bonkers with his replies by then... bb hasn't sleep day n nite n he's not sleepy???) he said - when bb is tired, they will sleep. but isn't tat bb need sleep to grow? and tat we shd try to get bb to take naps, instead of carry n play, which make bb even more cranky fr lack of sleep? his parting shot - listen to the bb when he cries, its not difficult to understand his needs.

i went out of the clinic feeling like i've just paid so much $$ to be given a slap on my face just coz i was concerned about bb, plus a maid who's smiling smugly all the way back, like v.happy tat the PD told me off, tat it will get worse, only 6-8 mths then better. told her sternly in the cab, well... she has to be prepared to carry n play with him day n nite then, to wipe the smile off her face!

then... to add further insult to injury, when i reach home, carried n sing song to him as 'kindly' instructed by PD, he did a big poo onto my hand. took off his diapers to wipe him down n he pee-ed onto the clean diapers n all his clothes and regurgitated some milk as well. after completing all that business, bb gave me a contented look!!! guess he doesn't know how his mum was made to feel like an idiot (in front of a PD and a smug maid) n she had to be poo-ed n pee-ed at by him! what a day...
kao_frustrated.gif

dreamz,
i cant help but laff at ur bb pooping on ur hand!
hehe.

My pd gave me a cream called "zaricort" to apply on lyn's neck. She had red rashes then, and some fungal infection. It cleared up by the next day!
My frd told me her pd prescribe that to treat her bb's cheek rash, which made the bb peeled, but recovered with smooth smooth skin.
You can get zaricort at pharmacy. Think its over the counter.

i'm from the Nov thread with a 18-day-old baby. sorry to interupt but i need advice from u all abt BF.

i'm directly latching baby. i seldom pump unless baby took only 1 side. will my milk ss remain same or even decrease? is pumping out after every feed the only way to increase my milk ss. thanks in advance

bbunny, i have a friend who's baby sleeps a lot one day, and doesn't sleep the next day. maybe your baby like hers??

garden_dreamz, poor thing! i also kena lousy doctor before, so i know the feeling. very frustrating hor! just hang in there ok...

wah garden dreamz, pengz...wat an eventful day for u...
re milk rash: even if its not caused by hygiene, i think ur maid should not touch bb face wif her face/hands...bb skin so sensitive..a little oil etc will cause blemishes liao..

sigh, all babies seem to have same prob lei..cannot sleep by themselves in the daytime...
Sean whole afternoon kept wanting to suckle..when fallen asleep, i put him on bed beside me, less than few min, cry to suck again liao...give pacifier oso dun wan..
wonder when i go back to work, his nanny will not be so free to carry him to sleep manz..

another round of venting fr me again... this time damn scary. my maid had made the mistake a few times of not putting in the teat n closing the milk bottle securely, so we always check n correct her till recently quite ok. then today, she made the same mistake but i was holding my bb as i wanted to feed him so didn't have extra hands to check the bottle. also,thought she had already knew wat to do by now.

i feed the bb a few min n he started struggling, the next sec, milk gushed out fr the teat n the milk bottle into his nose, mouth n my bb choked. i tilt his head forward n milk streamed out fr his nose n bb cried n cried. i screamed for another helper who takes care of my sis-in-law's toddler for help. she immediately sucked the milk out of the bb's nose while my bb cried his heart out. can u imagine how traumatic it was? i started crying as well coz the bb could have almost choked n died in my hands. how i was to know that the bottle wasn't secured properly? i had checked on the maid so many times n it was alright but the same mistake happened yet again n this time i didn't check on her n this happened. this is really the worst day of my life... i really am so so lousy at being a mother...

garden_dreamz,
dun be so upset about it. all of us make mistakes at times. i let slip my boi just yesterday while in the bathtub. lucky just half his face kena water and he din even cry! i felt so upset too! hang in there...i am sure we will all get better and better each day...

welcome new mummies tat jus joined

karrie, u try ring chinese/english newspaper hotline, may b they r able to help in a way, if really cant then bobian hv to pay for pest control, no joke if its a huge python faster get rid of it for safety sake...

hippo, agreed w wat u said : "so wat harm can some 'bad habits' do?" tink some bb jus fuss for few mths, once they out-grown is ok, depending on our 'luck :p

garden_dreamz...so sorry to hear wat happen, tink u hv to talk "nicely" to your maid, tell her not 'face to face' to bb & must tighten the milk bottle after preparing (in case u r leaving bb in her care after your ML over)... knw cant b too 'hush' to these maids, if nt, they'll 'zuo guai' unless u preparing to find another replacement.. dun get too upset its not your fault, bb cried bcos he got shock, lucky your helper is fast to react..

gardendreamz,

hugz hugz, its not ur fault, dun blame urself. We are first time mums, surely leg like hand, hand like leg. We learn and get better each time.
Thank God ur baby is fine due to ur fast response...
re maid, see if its possible for a replacement?

zhen zhen...dunno leh...maybe..but at least mine not the only one..hehe..makes me feel better

gardendreamz...think all of us feel the same....yesterday i scolded my gal so badly and left her to cry and cry and i felt so bad..coz i told her i would throw her away...

think its a process we will have to learn slowly...coz it's our first time...just got to keep trying and learning from our mistakes

btw... can ask..anyone who's baby still vomiting after feeds? i feel like bringing to pd to check again...coz keep vomiting after feeds..but she's putting on weight tho...and still very happy after her vomiting....

gardendreamz....don't be sad...we are all learning to be mothers. For my boy, he sometime feel hot will also cranky, so I have to change the sleeping place or carry him...

Sometimes, when my boy cry so much and try everything also cannot, i will try as much to burp him and infact, it is really that he burp not enough and feel discomfort. I usually put him in those adult pillow at 45 degree to prevent him from vomiting out milk.

I dunno you all believe in Jing Feng San, I do give my boy abit when he easily got shock.

bbunny, do u mean real vomit as in projectile type? then my boi no have...but he does regurgitates milk now and then still....tho the frequency is less now. =D

nans, jojer & junnie,

gardendreamz, big hugz... dun feel so upset, affects e baby too u noe? sayang.. u can try e california baby calendula cream for baby's rashes.. reali worked wonders for my girl when she had some rash on her hands & scratches on her face. and i m trying to stock up cos my mum wants it too as it helped her rashes as well.. and to prevent milk rash, u can wet 2 pieces of cotton wool and wipe baby's mouth after every feed. that's wat my mum taught me since day 1 and erm.. touch wood, my girl hasn't kena milk rash yet..

nans....not projectile...but it gushes out like alot...from both nose and mouth....sometimes a little..but those i dun worry..its the ones that's alot that i worry...like i just fed her and it all came out thru the nose and mouth...but she still wants somemore....
mine seems to be more than when she was a baby

but i dunno if its linked to the fact that she also wants to poo and stretch while drinking milk at the same time...and i cant seem to stop her from doing that....

bbunny, could be the reason. when my bb stretch, sometimes the milk aso come out. =D well...it takes some time for the stomach to strengthen. part og growing up process i think. =D

Thinking of a best gift for your kids? How about a book shelf or a toy box? Here's something beautiful, functional and affordable. No one else has as many designs as us in town.

Every single pc is specially designed by our inhouse designer. Material used are of safety feature and good quality.
Origin: Made in Singapore (All hand made)
Delivery : Approx 3-4 weeks.
More products coming up soon....
*Custom made are welcome.

If you're interested to view the items, they will be displayed at:

Family Lifestyle Exhibition
Singapore Expo Hall 5
6-9 Dec 2007 (10am to 10pm daily)

Special offer : From now till 9 Dec 07, we offered a special 5% discount for any item you ordered. Hurry up for the offer! We see you there.

Please refer to flyer here:

1105754.jpg

1105755.jpg

Hi all, regarding the rashes on face, my sil recommend using fresh breast milk to apply. i tried it on one side of my bb face for her heat rash and it works! for the milk rash, think it's because the milk mixed with bb saliva, so cleaning after each feeding would help. it improved for me.

morning all

perlicia...same same, i also shift bb around the bed on/off cos his back 'too hot' he'll make noise, and i also rest him on our soft big pillow 45deg cos he cant be lying down all the while v boring... sometime i find he more happy tat way!! ya, i do rub a little bit 'jin feng san'in bb's mouth after bath or b4 nite sleep if find bb too cranky... tis will help bb to 'calm down' as was told by MIL... infact, i hv sent bb to nanny hse alr to familiar w environment cos i going bk to work nxt monday

bbunny.... my bb throw out milk thru nose tooo... did u chk your teats or did your bb suck v fast? i find mine suck v fast, so now i feed 150ml, will pull out the teats on/off or let him tk half then burb him, or at least let him catch his breath b4 finishing the whole bottle, i find he throw out lesser. at times, he'll 'er ni' immediate after burp. like wat nans said, stretch/pooing when bb assert force will also cause milk to come out.

hippo, i am also going back after my 2 months of maternity leave cos my other colleague in my team is going on leave... sighz... and i choose to go back lor and take the 1 months for my bb's check up for the next few months..

yesterday went for check up, baby gain 2 kg since birth... keke... he is almost 5kg now and going 2 months old on the 6th.

re:milk rashes
my boy also got it now.. sighz.. just notice it yesterday.. now applying the aloe vera gel on this face lor.. hopefully will go away

Garden_dreamz, understand how frustrated you are...that PD is really insensitive!! And everyone knows that at night we should try not to stimulate baby too much to send the signal that it's nitenite time!!

Velvet, no i'm not SAHM...wish i am! returning to work end of jan...hope got enuff time to train my maid by then. I'm perfectly fine with carrying baby when he's upset and crying for whatever reasons...i also don't believe babies at this age can be spoilt; they need to know mummy n daddy are there for them...but it's a different thing when it comes to cultivating good sleep habits-- even when he's not crying, my mil also carried...now, if we put him down to sleep on his own, he will cry. so gotta carry and pat pat. sometimes gotta walk around then he will calm down...

regarding the python...my hubby like damn bochup leh. ask him call pest control, i pay, he also procrastinate. sometimes his habit of procrastination drives me NUTS.

karrie, my hubby also have this procrastination habit!! i also beh tahan. heh.

wow, u returning to work end jan! took annual leave as well? My boss keep pestering me to come back earlier even before i went away. so now going back to work mid-jan. sigh, feel kinda sad that i'll prob not be able to catch all the "first" moments!

re jing feng san - does it really help? for those who use it, do u also use the pacifier? hope the pacifier habit will drop leh...wonder when that will happen.

Garden_dreamz - why that pd like that one, not being very sensitive and reassuring at all!

hello mummies... need your help!! my baby is not drinking milk from the bottle.. how ah??? i am going back to work this fri.. and i tried changing the teats, use different bottles but he just dun wan to drink from the bottle, just wan me to feed him!! we give him bottle and he cried until like choking like that.. how ah?? any one can help...

Enfalac milk powder on sale!

im helping my sis to sell off her balance 10 tins of Enfalac milk powder (all unopened, expiry @ year 2009) as she went back to Aus already. Market price selling ard $33. She offers $300 for all the 10 tins.

Please let me know if you are interested. Self collection at yew tee

thanks lots for all the consolation n kind advise. will try to take up some of the suggestions for the milk rash.
tat PD really v.terrible. i walked out feeling none the better n even more at the lost in decoding bb's cries!!! me today super paranoid, follow my maid n see everything that she does n i insist on checking every milk bottle she prepares before handling it over to me. got her making the same mistake twice before finally getting it right. i warned my maid that she make mistake, we can correct n perhaps give her a chance but bb only has 1 life. anything goes wrong, there can no be any space for correction. this episode made me realise that i cannot depend on my maid totally and i have to watch her all the time. sigh...

junnie,
where can u get the jing feng san? is it good?

garden dream, yeah i tbf him but we did bottlefed him before and he's ok... it only until recently then he started behaving like this... reject bottle totally!! i tried the nuk teat (the brown one right?) also no use~ how ah??

karrie..huh, then the python still there? if so, better close your doors/windows tight... if really no choice,jus call pest control yourself. sometime, i also in wrong frequency w hubby to do certain things tat need to be done, i'll jus proceed myself.

frosty..may b u wait till bb hungry then feed, see if he drinks? or it cud b his tummy got wind, try rub w ruyi oil 1st b4 feeding...

garden_dream, ya, jus like wat unice said can buy fm chinese medical shop. there r many brands & prices, i bought the one in red packing called 'hou zao zhen zhu ba bao jin feng san' $10, the shop sell me $9. u can refer cover for more instruction, basically it says traditionally used for reduce fright, fever and vomitting. but i dun fllw exactly the dosage, i jus put a little bit on my index finger & rub on bb's mouth, only gv when bb cranky. try only if u feel comfy w chinese medicine, i used it bcos MIL/SIL recommended since they said it helps during their time. so far no prblm of me trying.

velvet, my bb still tk pacifier, he'll throw out after asleep. every bb different. last time my gal tk abt 3 days to wean off @ 2.5yrs old.

Feeling very sad and worried as my bb was down with mild bronchitis. It started with a bit of cough and evolved on the next few days. She must have got the flu virus while she was out. She has been out shopping with us whenever we are free and over the weekends....

Last Friday - realized bb cough a few times but was very mild
Sat Morning - Brought her to PD and she was still alright, chest not infected and was given cough medicine and nose drops.
Sun - Mon - Cough seems to get worse and she has such a hard time every time she cough and also starting to get choke while drinking milk
Tues - Brought her to PD near my place ( waited for 3hrs to get to see the doc .. was so angry and bb was still suffering) and PD diagnosed her as having mild bronchitis as the chest -airways was already infected. Tried her on the inhaling device and it seems to work a bit for her at the clinic and hence now have to do the treatment for her at home for the next 2 days ......doc say if she gets infected by a bit more and if she stop drinking milk, wld have to admit to hos liao.......:-(
Praying hard that her chest wld be cleared and her cough and finally the stupid phelgm can get out of her body fast !!!

Feel so lousy that bb got so ill when she is just 2mths and 1 week old!! And I barely went back to work for like 1.5days ...so now wld continue to stay at home until she gets well.

Started to think that my bm is not helping her, I know it's only once or twice a day that she takes my bm but her immune system does not seems to be better. Worse thing is that bb got the stupid sinus/allergic reaction like me and that is probably the reason how a simple flu can get so bad! I only started suffering from blocked nose a few years back, don't tell me my bb have to suffered from this since day 1 .. what have i done to her ..

totoro, dun be so fast to reproach urself....may not have been ur fault at all...just be there for your bb can le....she needs all the assurance u can give her and feeling lousy isnt going to help much...will be praying for all bb here to be well and happy =D

karrie, me also going back to work end jan. my mil is looking after my bb....anyone helping u out?

garden_dreamz, my mom advocates jing feng san, but my mil say no chinese medicine. so none for my bb lo since she is the one taking care of him later...

frosty, maybe ur bb knows u going back to work ba? so now take all the chance he has to suck ur breasts...lol....just let ur mil feed him...he can smell ur breasts if u feed him...

morning mummies

nans...hopefully not too long...coz so poor thing see the milk come out from her nose...but i find it hard to stop her from stretching...bo pian lor..just have to be fast to turn her when she vomit...

junnie...mine suck super fast..but from breast...she suck got super loud sound one...from downstairs also can hear...everyone know she drinking her milk...now i try to pull her off it and restart....ya..mine burp finish still will er ni also...sighz...thot once burp ok liaoz..who knows....so now...our favourite fren is the nappy...haha..put all over our shoulders...

totoro...dun feel so upset and blame urself k...babies will get sick now and then...its part of growing up....just be there to cuddle and hug her k....u take care too...dun fall sick urself...

bbunny, u are bfing? then if got sound means latch wrongly....try another positon? bfing should not have sound de...

after drinking i usually carry my bb for about 15 min to 30 min to settle the milk in his tummy...then if he sleep, i will put him on his side so that he doesnt choke on his own milk...=D

totoro, don't feel bad about it...my colleague's baby also got bronchitis, but she recovered already and is still such a healthy and happy baby. so take heart...like bbunny said, take care of yourself too.

Velvet and nans, yeah finally managed to negotiate for end jan. initially my principal wanted me to come back in time for start of school (and take the last mth of ML at a later date), but i was having problems making childcare arrangements, so my HOD managed to persuade my P to let me clear all my ML one shot...I've confirmed a phil maid yesterday, going down to do the paperwork today. she will arrive by mid jan...hopefully got enuff time to train her.

the python has been caught!! after much nagging my hubby finally got another quote which was much more reasonable at $160, and they came down to remove it. whole process took 1-2 hours coz the snake was hiding inside our covered drain; they had to smoke the guy out then catch it. i tink the snake got high from all the DDT being sprayed at it hahahaaaa....

1107156.jpg
1107157.jpg
1107158.jpg

morning all

totoro...dun worry, your bb will b alrite soon, their immune system is low as still young, try avoid bring her to crowded places for time being...u can try rub some vicks (for kids - can buy fm pharmacy)over her chest & foot then wear sock, last time my gal i did tat everynite it helps her to breathe better, she also got bronchitis abt 2yrs.

bbunny..haha..same same, i also standby nappy while feeding/burping, hv to 'lay' it over shoulder & 'insert' handkerchief + tissue in btw bb's neck is easier to wash the nappy/handky rather than change & wash so many clothings...

karrie...wow, its a huge snake arrrr... lucky u get rid of it liao & at a lower cost!! btw, how u all find out its existence in the 1st place huh? cant image u 'yu ser gong chu' for so many days!!! hahaha...