(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

GoldPiggy,
Ike has some rashes and dry skin too, but he doest have fever and it doesnt seem to bother him so I let him be..

I guess now better start bring them to dentist to clean the teeth properly if they refuse tooth brushing done by us like Ike?

nining - actually, they are saying the other side effects might come later like 5-12 days after the MMR jab - just hopefully nothing else comes up..am worried..haiz

choco - ya, my boy literally keep his lips super tight and will use all his strength to push my hand away when i try to put in the finger brush the 2nd round since he happily ate all the toothpaste..haha, kids being kids..

goldpiggy,

Charlize took her MMR last week too, today is the 6th day, i'm worried abt the effects, crossing my fingers..
Btw are u joining the gathering on 6 Dec at Altantis delta?

Tiny, PST, GLee and any mommies with July/Aug/Sept 07 bub,

I am getting a private swim coach for Ike in Summerdale, 30 min only, every tue 2.30-3pm. Anyone is interested to join? I am now enrolling him one on one and it's quite ex S$250/ 4 lessons, if can get another bub then $150 each only, 4 classes per month..

Received this through email today, thought it's worth sharing....

The mayonnaise jar and the 2 glasses of wine theory

When things in your life seem almost too much to handle, when 24 hours in a day are not enough, remember the mayonnaise jar and the 2 glasses of wine theory...

A professor stood before his philosophy class with some items on his desk in front of him. When the class began, wordlessly, he picked up a very large and empty mayonnaise jar and proceeded to fill it with golf
balls.

He then asked the students if the jar was full. They agreed that it was.

The professor then picked up a box of pebbles and poured them into the jar. He shook the jar lightly. The pebbles rolled into the open areas between the golf balls. He then asked the students again if the
jar was full. They agreed it was.

The professor next picked up a box of sand and poured it into the jar. Of course, the sand filled up everything else. He asked once more if the jar was full. The students responded with a unanimous 'YES.'

The professor then produced two glasses of wine from under the table and poured the entire contents into the jar, effectively filling the empty space between the sand. The students laughed.

'Now,' said the professor, as the laughter subsided, 'I want you to recognize that this jar represents your life. The golf balls are the important things; your family, your children, your health, your friends,
and your favourite passions; things that if everything else was lost and only they remained, your life would still be full.

The pebbles are the other things that matter like your job, your house, and your car. The sand is everything else; the small stuff.

If you put the sand into the jar first', he continued, 'there is no room for the pebbles or the golf balls. The same goes for life. If you spend all your time and energy on the small stuff, you will never
have room for the good things that are important to you.

Pay attention to the things that are critical to your happiness. Play with your children. Take time to get medical check-ups. Take your partner out to dinner. Do one more run down the ski slope. There will
always be time to clean the house and fix the disposal. Take care of the golf balls first; the things that really matter. Set your priorities. The rest is just sand.'

One of the students raised her hand and inquired what the wine represented.

The professor smiled. 'I'm glad you asked. It just goes to show you that no matter how full your life may seem, there's always room for a couple of glasses of wine with a friend.'

GLee,
I am thinking to move to saturdays but only after Jan, cos I want Ike to focus on the instructor first and weekday he's less likely to get distracted by other bigger kids hahaha..

Cola, if you put her in your room better not to lights off i think that might create fear in her.
According to Super Nanny method, we can create a naughty area, it can be a red mat or a red chair or anything but must be for this purpose only. whenever the child is naughty just bring the child there. different ages will hv different timings.

Re: Toothpaste
Shannon also love to eat toothpaste

Ivy,
you understand my worry, i am pretty scared if she gets phobia to darkness, think next time i will just leave her alone.. let her fan xing fan xing (wonder if they know how to fan xing).. keke...

But at this age,even if we prepare red chair/red mat, do they really understand what the purpose of it? Hm.. getting naughtier and naughtier..

Life as sahm. sure you face shannon's naughtiness more than i do, how do u deal with it? or shannon is a good girl never make you angry?
hehehe.. i note that when there are only Meg and I at home, she is well behaved, but when there is somebody else around, her pattern shows!
Headache.. now preg, always get angry.. dunno how to control.. i usually just try to breathe in and count to 10.. then look at her in stern face! Dun want to keep scolding her also, but want her to understand that i am angry with her..

U coming to gathering??

Ivy,
I need to keep reading that cos I worry too much over small things and keep missing out the bigger picture..

TALK
look like quite a no of kids talks quite well liao. my gals don't talk much leh! Worst of all,
cannot call mummy, only call papa & ah ma, so sad!

MMR
Took it last week. Doc say fever comes between 5-7days. So their fever starts on the 5th & 6th day. As for rashes, i still on the look out.

BEHAVIOUR
When alone with me, still bearable
But very funny, jiejie very naughty when her papa at home, whereas meimei very naughty when grandma at home.

BITES/FIGHTS
jiejie is into biting now. bite me when i apply teething gel for her, bite her meimei when they snatch toys. Think they got very different characters although they r twins.

Re: Gathering
So sorry I can't attend the gathering this sat. My bro just called and said he'll be coming over for dinner and mum has appointed me as the chef since she has run out of ideas what to cook.... what a pity, would like chloe to meet more friends. However if other arrangement could be made, i might just turn up.

Twinkle,
Dun worry, my chloe doesn't talk much too at 16mth+. Just mumbling, but sometimes when she called 'mama' and hugged me tight, I melt.

Re: Behaviour
I totally agree that they are getting naughtier and naughtier. Chloe is more well behaved at home but when we are outside, she's too distracted to listen to instructions and likes to do things independently. Today she even managed to break thru her 5pt harness seat belt and stood up on the stroller *soo.. dangerous*

Re: Brushing Teeth
I think Chloe has the least no. of teeth here, she started teething at 1yr old and now she only has 4 1/2. She likes brushing her teeth too, using pigeon toothbrush. At first I used the finger toothbrush but she kept her mouth shut tightly, no chance to squeeze my finger in. Now she enjoys brushing and eating the toothpaste too.

Gold..piggy,
Since Chloe still doesn't know how to rinse her mouth yet, what I usually do is to rinse the toothbrush instead for 2-3 times and let her brush again.

twinkle,
No worry, Ivan also not talking much.
He only say papa and jie jie very frequent. Only called me 'mama' 2-3 times when he was 6-7mths old. No more calling me after tt. He will say 'mum mum' (food) if he is v v hungry

Twinkle2,
Wanna join the gathering? woudl be fun to see both your gals together..

Ytanh,
Oh.. so sad.. ya wanna bring meg there to meet frens :p if you can come, then come k..

MMR
Oh so rash is also one of the side effects? oh my gosh.. pray hard when meg takes hers, she would be fine!
She will be taking on 12 Dec...

Behavior
So my observation is correct, most kids are well behaved when nobody is around.. but when someone elses are around, they start to be naughty..

Talk
I think some babies speak faster and some are slower, no need to worry..
Twinkle haha so sad they don't call mama.. you are at home everyday with them kekeke.. (see i am so bad!)
I think Meg's speech ability is inherited from me. My mum said by 2 years old, I was like a birdie.. can say whatever stuff already.. super chi cha..
Hope my #2 will also speak faster hehehe.. so i dun need to guess what they want exactly :p It's easy to toilet train them when they can speak, coz when they want to urinate, they would tell..

ytanhn, yes, thats what i do. i will keep wetting and rinsing the finger brush then try to get into his mouth but he just keep it super tightly shut!

Just read the article on lo hwei yen and found it a pity that her life ended at such young age and one thing is for sure, she is very very lucky to have a hubby who love her so much. the article title read as 'She was my entire life', this itself is already her greatest achievement in her life...so sad for her.

Glee
My co blocked face book.. will look at it at home..

Goldpiggy,
It's all fated.. nobody will know when time is up.. just cherish life for what you have right now..

Glee,
Really? That toddler must be a genius!

I everyday told me, this saturday we are going to meet your frens.. i think i am more excited than she is haha... she gave me that blank look and go to hug her frens (her dolls) instead.. :p

rc_cola,

Indeed a genius!
I'm looking forward to sat too! Hope Charlize will not affected by MMR's effects.. today is the 7th day

Glee
Ya hope Charlize is okay with the MMR jab :p dun worry too much k..
We mummies are more excited than babies hahaha...

Gathering
For the gathering, I am not sure if I will turn up, as I will bring my boy for his class alone on saturday, not sure if hubby will want to bring Chloe down, will check with him tonight. Yvonne, hope you and chloe will turn up for the gathering...I also hope to go leh...

MMR

Chloe wnt for hers last saturday, so far so good...hope she will nt catch any fever. I try to boost her immunity by giving her cod liver oil everyday. She weights only 10.1kg and 82cm tall at 15months 3.5weeks

Talking
She only know how to ask people to come by saying..lai..lai..lai.. and call mama when she want something to eat from me..kekeke..

re: talking
steve cant talk much also. he can say some works like, but most of the time he just 'shouts' specially when he wants us to reach something for him. my mum says that when a baby walks early then talking will be much later. im not sure if that is true, but steve started walking (few steps) at 12.5months, so maybe that is why now at 15months he can only say few words.

re : behaviour
actually i think our kids are smart, they know that if there is no one around then no one to look at them when they move too much, so they behave more. at home, when its only my mummy who's taking care of steve, he is behave, like when changing nappy, he will just stay still until granny finishes to change his nappy, but when im around he will move too much even walk with out nappy on and ill chase for him =) he knows that is more than 1 person looking out at him so he can just go-go-go.

Jessel

Re: talking
Not really true (at least for my case), Meg walked when she was 11 mths, and by now (15 mths) she can express to us what she wants in words..

Re: behaviour
My girl is a worm,she will run around when i (only me!)want to put nappy on her, thank God now she does not need to wear nappy when she is not sleeping..
She will stay still when my MIL/FIL/Hubby puts nappy/bathe her.. She really bullies me!

I just remembered, i have an appointment with my gynae at 3pm on sat for pap smear, i just received sms today for reminder...its been long overdue...hehehe...maybe we'll follow, 4pm onwards. i have met Glee before so maybe once im in ill go to Glee and meet you all there. we'll try our best to come, but dont count us in just yet.

Cola, yup understand .. greatest concern is it might cause some side effect like phobia of darkness.

Me huh .. think my tolerance level has become very high now after being a SAHM for 16mths.. hahahahg..

hi cola,
very much wanna join the gathering but my gals having fever due to the MMR effect. so will wait and see how on sat ok?

Cola/adeline,
Ya.. will turn up if I really can. Want Chloe to make more friends too as she seems to go around making friends with other kids when we are out nowadays.

Wowww... Ike is the only boy boy there + a super handsome one. Think the rest of the girls will be going ga-ga over him.

jessel
i've also heard the same thing from many people, kids either walk first and talk later or talk first and walk later. P is def talk first and walk later. she started saying her first word when she was 7m old, 15m then started learning to walk with support.

Ok, we will be there at the gathering...

Nining,

My big boy will be going, so Ike is nt the only boy lah...but he is too old for the rest of the gals..kekeke...

Wah...saw you order 2 pair of crocs of the same size worh... rich mummy...

giant(i bought from vivo) having gain iq promo. its the new design one.....1.8kg for 49.99..
NTUC is selling 52.40..

i bought from NTUC already and i buy again from giant