(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

Loh, zz, woof,
Ya 6th Dec is a very good day. I have a fren getting married on that day as well, but in Indo..

Ning,
I dun think we need to book, maybe call and enquire what is their capacity first?

an_gal: i dread bringing the little one cos it's noisy and ends late!! Then tricia nvr stops moving which makes it so hard to eat and chat.. haiz...

Nining,

wow, u so daring bring Ike to watch movie, haha, so funny he loves alex and hates the old lady, I dont like her too..

Xman,
I told hubby we had to expect not watching it till finished, and anything more than 30 min is extra time for us.. hahaha..And Ike always loves lions.. U know I let him chose his sandals at bata, and without hesitation or confusion, he right away chose the one with lions on them..

mommies,
the atlantis city at Delta price is as in this link: http://playtime-recreations.com/playcard.htm

THe playcard is not transferrable and the total of 6 hours for S$20 can be utilized within 3 months. I called the place and the person said no need booking, and our timing 3.30pm is just nice cos that give them time to do clean up after the party..

Hi mummies, goodmorning!
i have a question/concern..how do you keep your child's teeth clean? cause i brush my son's teeth everytime he takes bath and before going to sleep i clean his teeth with spiffies...but lately he keeps biting my fingers and now difficult to clean his teeth.
this morning, when i check his teeth, i saw some brown spots - which i believe is start of tooth decay =( sooo young to have tooth decay...how to stop it? how to ensure that my son's teeth are clean and free from tartar and tooth decay? i felt heart pain when i saw his teeth this morning...and to think he only has 8 for now...2 are about to come out. any advise?

Nining,
Thanks for calling up the atlantis. I would probably go for the s$5 per entry. Not sure if my Meg will like it.

Ya we should expect not to have a peaceful movie time by bringing bb in.

Jessel
Do u use toothpaste to clean his teeth? It's better to use toothpaste. If you brush using toothbrush, he shouldnt be biting you. Pigeon toohbrush is quite good, you may wanna try.. Meg has her teeth brush every morning after milk, and every nite before milk (oops).. so far stil okay, i dun let her eat too much of sweet stuff, and i make sure she always drinks water after drinking milk, so at least those sweetish taste in her mouth (cum teeth) can be rinsed away by the water...

Cola,
it's $5 / hr, not per entry hehe

Jessel,
Ike refuses me brushing his teeth by clenching his jaws since he has molars, so I bought those angle brush and give the brush with 1st teeth toothpaste on it.. it's quite effective since it has 6 sides of brush so any part he bites he will still brush his teeth.. but I get him do that every time after a meal..

Cola,
which toothpaste do you use? Ike doesnt know how to spit out so I still use 1st teeth.. any other brand that is safe to swallow on daily basis?

Ning,
Still on first teeth toohpaste.. other brands that are in the market, seems like it is for 5 yrs and above, and for those below 5 yrs, use small quantity (which i assumed is not so safe if it is swallowed), i think i will continue with first teeth, untill she knows what is meant by "spitting out the toothpaste residue"
Pigeon step 2 toothbrush also have all the gears at all side of the brush hahaha.. normally when she bites i will just encourage her to brush her own teeth.. she will then open her mouth and do the brushing action, after which mummy will take over again :p

Ya it's per hour haha sorry typed wrongly :p

i use toothbrush and 1st teeth toothpaste for steve every bath time, then at night before going to sleep use spiffies...i think now i need to brush his teeth morning and evening+use spiffies. i stopped using the tootbrush with the different angles, now i use the toothbrush similar to adults but intended for 1yr old, and at times use the brush included in 1st teeth. hopefully more frequent brushing will stop the tooth decay from spreading as im thinking its still in the early stage. im so sad...seems ive been a failure in taking care of my son, feel really sad. =(

jessel
cheer up lah. at least u r already brushing his teeth liao. u r trying to prevent already...some things r really beyond our control one. my boy until now still sucking his toothbrush and toothpaste like a lollipop... =P
dunno how to teach him to stop tat...heh...in fact my sis was suggesting whether it is possible to floss his teeth juz now coz she spotted something machian like stuck in between his teeth...haha.

Jessel,
dun mention that.. i believe you have tried your best!!!
Some milk teeth tend to decay faster than others....

nining,
Ivan has the same sandle as Ike.

re brushing teeth,
Ivan likes to bite me when I am using the finger tooth brush on him. He likes to see me screaming..whahahhaha

thanks all. my hubby was saying better I saw it early at least we can still prevent decay.

an_gal, better start brushing Melcolm's teeth, how many does he have now?

now im searching the net how to prevent tooth decay...some recommended to see dentist as early as 1 yr old. think i might need to bring steve to one. any recommendations? keen on somewhere near city area.

been sometime since i last drop by. my gal also paranoid of the sqeaking shoes, we bought it even tho she was crying while trying on. din get the hint, tot she just dun want to wear shoes. Recently, went to kiddy palace to let her try non-squeaking shoes, she refused to wear. she only wear her old shoes (soft soles), dunno how to help her overcome her fear
btw, my gal still cannot walk independently

crystalgal,

can you take out the squeaker? I just bought one recently. For mine, at the side of the sandals, there is this plastic plug that can be removed. So now you just see a hole there. THe salesgirl informed me cos I asked if she had one without the squeaker and she showed me how to remove it. Thank God cos it can be quite noisy...

Loh ,
hahaha Ivan is so cheeky!!

Crystalgal,
Ike was furious with shoes too when he starts to learn to walk. in fact we bought 2 pairs of soft sole shoes and none got worn at all!! So when he really started to learn walking more with support, I brought him to OG, tried all kind of 1st shoes and he finally "approved" the clarks pair.. So we bought the clarks shoes and sandals.. expensive but it was worth it.. then now he's OK with any kind of shoes or sandals as logn as they're not squeaky.. I guess when they learn walking, some of them prefer one specific way ie. can feel the grip of their feet and clarks translate this well. Now that Ike has the confident of walking, then he is OK with any shoes.. OF course after getting them clarks, I told everyone in the house that he should not walk or learn to walk without shoes.. hahaha.. make sure he knows the rule..

crystal gal
my boy also dun like to put on shoes one but i dun care. i made it a habit to put on shoes when go out and will try to distract him like talk to him, let him play with hp, eat biscuits. finally he forgot abt the shoes. now no problem

crystalgal, you can try shoes with character images those your kid can recognize. choco is right make it a habit for your kid to wear shoes when going out. for steve every time we go out he knows that he needs to put on his shoes, he will point to which shoe he would like to wear.

P has 8 full teeth and 2 half out (molar?) and the 2 before the molar on each side is popping out as well. i was quite surprise to see the 9th and 10th popping out cos she wasn't as cranky as the 5-8th (all 4 at once). when those 4 came tog, she was sooooo cranky and needy.

jessel
we started out using spiffies as well but always forget to use. when she have 8, we started brushing at night before bedtime with the first toothpaste and brush (the one that came with the toothpaste). that only lasted a few days cos she was biting hubby. lol so hubby dragged us to kiddy palace and bought the pigeon toothbrush. it's like a mini version of adult toothbrush. the brush is quite firm, i was a bit worried it's too hard but it didn't seem to bother P so we continue to use it. After 2 weeks she seem to enjoy the brushing, she'll willingly open her mouth and clap after finish brushing. my theory is she likes to eat the toothpaste!! once she got used to the night brushing, i added in the morning.

nining
prob cant make it to the gathering as we already have plans on that day. look like i am attending alternate gathering. ;)

re: toothbrushing..

i brush yee heng's teeth daily as part of nightime routine..he gets milk, then toothbrushing with 1st teeth toothpaste and the fingerbrush...i think that just like paige, he likes eating the toothpaste! i'll also tell him to show me his teeth and make it into a game.we have this song on a dvd that he LOVES, and its about toothbrushing! not sure if any of u heard about this guys called raffi? american singer for kiddies songs..look for it on youtube..he's great! we bought the young children's concert dvd for yee heng off amazon cuz he loved listening to the music and seeing how all the kids in the audience enjoy themselves..and as a bonus for adults it much less annoying than barney!
anyway, the toothbrushing song is in there..and it goes like this "if u wake up in the morning and its quarter to one..and u wanna have a little fun, u brush ur teeth!"...its really cute!!

i'm seriously tempted to buy crocs for yee heng now....just saw some sprees for overseas sites so its less painful on the wallet!! let yee heng try them when we were at parkway parade isetan yesterday and he didn't want to take them off! but there was NO way i was gonna buy him a pair of $55 shoes (we tried on the wall-e ones, so more expensive)..

lilyn,
yeah all these licenced character crocs is super ex.. Ike got his 1st spongebob crocs C4/5 at jurong bird park when they had 20% off and it was still $48. And now they're oredi too small!! I was tempted to buy another pair for him but thot it was so ex.. but hubby liked them..

lilyn
what's the title of that sing along tooth brushin song?

Jete,
hahahaah yeah looks like a pattern kekekek..

I have a clarks $5 voucher...expiring on 31st Dec 2008. Anyone wants it?? But it has to be bought from CJ Connection @ united Square..

Jete,
Meg is just like Paige, she loves eating the toothpaste as well! Meg's 9th and 10th top molars popped out without sign, and because they are deep inside, i only saw them accidentally and the bottom molars seem to be erupting (swollen on the bottom gum)..

Lilyn,
I agree with you, set a routine for them on everything :p Meg knows that after changing pj at nite, she would have her teeth brushed, after i take the toothbrush, she would say "Sit" (i would normally sit on the dining chair, put her on my lap, and brush her teeth).. she is fully aware of all the steps..
same thing as when we wanna go out, she would want to change clothes, find her stroller, shoes, and then we went out hehe..

I am not gonna buy croc shoes anymore for Meg until she is big enough.. bought her first pair at S$50 but now it is too tight for her now.. kinda wasted..
Meg doesn't really picky about shoes, so long as she can wear them and it's comfortable, she is fine with the shoes.. i didnt buy soft soles shoes since she was 9 months old, because the support is not good, and she has started walking since 11 mths so hard soles would be better..

Crystalgal,
not to worry, some babies don't walk until 18 mths or even 21 mths.. you cant force her too much, just be patient k..

Nining,
How do you do the time out method? now that meg knows i can be bullied, if i told her no, and don't let her do the things she wants, she would beat me!! I tried not to spank her, coz hub and I think that she most likely learns from us on the spanking.. yest she was so naughty, i put her in my room, light off, and count for 20 secs, before I released her out! Wondering if this would cause phobia for her or not..

Need to be lor soh again.. this morning when i went to work , she cried like mad calling mummy mummy mummy... clang onto me and dun wanna let go..

when i asked her "can beat mummy", she told me "no no.." when i asked her "can love mummy", she immediately hugged me.. oh it makes me dun wanna go to work! When I asked her, "who does mummy love most?" she told me "megan".. now i miss her like crazy!!

sad to say but i am not able to attend the gathering this sat...

i had a bad cough...shall not go and spread the gems to the little ones

An_gal
I have the crayon type at home already.. wanna look for the water color, ya maybe i go robinson and see.
Thanks for informing!

Cola,
Ike used to hit us too, but everytime he did that we said NO in very firm tone and told him if he's naughty we will not play with him.. I used to spank his fingers lightly when he hit me, but I further think he hits learning from being spanked! You know, if we're unhappy with him we spank him, so if he's unhappy with us, he will spank us?
So now the time out method is :
TIme out when in bed going to sleep - he will crawl, stand on bed, pull my hair , try climbing up: I will tell him go to sleep and give my back to him i.e. I lie down facing the wall not facing him for about 5 min. Then he will be a bit upset; so I tell him go sleep then mommy will face you. Then he will slowly lie down..

When he is naughty while playing; hitting me or hubby or slap away anything I pass to him: tell him if he's naughty we will not play with him. I still let him wandering around but told my maid and hubby dont pay attention to him. So everyone ignoring him. Then he start be nice and come to me or his daddy and stroking our arms or legs.. And I ask him "maaf?" then he will put his hands over his head , his sign for apologizing. hehehe..

Nining,

Actually what i normally did is quite similar to your method.. yest i was so angry that i closed the door and put her inside the dark room!
Normally if she is naughty, i will put her down immediately, and walked away, she will be upset and cry, after awhile she will still walk to me calling "mummy mummy" if i asked her to say sorry first, she will put her hands on her head (sorry sign same as ike hehehe), and then hug me and give me a kiss.. after which she will give me a big smile, to show that i am no longer angry with her..

Ya she learns from us, coz when she is naughty, we will told her "naughty!" then spank her hand (palm).. i noticed she really copies us, she will talk to her doll and told them "naughty" after which she will spank them! oh my gosh!!! so hub and i agree that we will not spank her anymore..

talking about the toothpaste, wanted to ask long ago. My son also keep eating the toothpaste and he don't let me rinse his mouth with water. So he swallowed the toothpaste and its ok right?

His right side molar tooth erupted also. Suddenly noticed it and nowadays, he like to bite people, bite me on my shoulders when i carry him, to be precise. like a vampire..haha

What's the difference between the spiffies and the first toothpaste?

Oh, i brought him for the MMR injection last week and he developed rashes, i read that this is normal and his skin like becoming dry...

Any other babies here took MMR and show signs of rashes too?

gold-piggy

my boy also swallow the toothpaste lei..and he loves it cos its sweet, when ever i put my finger in, he will suck all the toothpaste and pull his mouth away to 'enjoy' it

thanks for all advise. we can force the shoes on her but she'll refuse to walk and we're afraid to hinder her walking. maybe time will solve the problem

choco,
take care. think the virus is quite bad, my gal got virus from dunno where and had a fever of 39.3