(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

rc_cola,
ya was super super paranoid last time, and kept calling to check on charlize till the nanny became paranoid and stressed tooo, oops..that now when charlize has a little bump/bruise, the nanny will "report" to me, apologetically..
I understand its not as easy to check or talk to your fil as i did with the nanny, afterall he is your elder and he's being helpful enough to take care of meg..

Mel,
yes, so me the pic, may wanna get a few, esp my kitchen also the bi-fold type

Mel,
Ya if you dun mind maybe can post the pict here..

Actually for bifolded door, you can lock the door first, then when you are about to shut the door, pull it up a bit.. and it is locked from within.. if need to go toilet, pull the door up slightly, and it is open.. my FIL taught us.. kids shouldnt be able to do so..

Glee
Ya.. i am thankful they help.. just have to close one eye and keep hoping that meg is well taken care of, tho i know they would love their grandkids as much as they could.. and this thought actually calms me down..

nining, wah! child dentist is very expensive to think their teeth very small..hehehe!

re : ballpool
we have small "ballpool" at home, my SIL gave the pool as a gift for his 1st bday, then we just bought 3 bags of colorful balls (100 pcs per bag). steve loves going inside with either me or hubby or even grandma then he will throw the balls everywhere hahaha, then we need pick the balls 1-by-1, he will also help to pickup the balls at times. it's fun having the pool at home, but then you need to be patient to teach yr kids how to pickup and place the ball in the proper place else it will be all over yr house.

re: going to kitchen
steve loves to go to the kitchen. he loves going to the fridge as we have collection of fridge magnets, he also has the leapfrog word whammer. i think we need to post the thing somewhere and maybe buy a safety gate that will separate the kitchen and living room.

Cola, dun be angry with your FIL. Sometime it can be really tiring to take care of a child full time esp he's not that young. Even for myself i will doze off at times and i know it's really dangerous. So when i'm really tired i will put Shannon into the playyard and then i Zzzz. So far i find the playyard is my best investment

How abt you setup an area for Meg to play something like what Nining have or a playyard. So when your FIL is tired, he can put Meg there. At least Meg will not have access to dangerous things.

Glee,
hehe, I still remembered u said ur hb went to do spot checked and the nanny saw it...hahahah.

cola,
Guessed ur FIL also quite tiring taking care of Meg 7days/week. Ur gal playing alone w/o adult guarding also quite dangerous.

cola - ya, very depressed cos like whole wide world is like downsizing and not employing people leh. Sony going to cut 8,000 staff...

Sometimes I think the companies are trying to take advantage of this recession by downsizing and cutting people's salary..employers world now.

Cola,
my thought is having a maid at least they can take turn to watch over meg. but yeah Ivy's solution will work too.. THat's what my maid does when she needs to do her work and Ike is full of energy, she will put him in the play yard so she can do vacuuming or mopping..

Jessel,
it's not the quantity, its the quality hahaah.. u know we adult go to dentist cos we know we need to, no need persuasion etc.. kids are different maaa.. their problem maybe not as big as adults but to get them open the mouth and not be scared is the toughest job of all!

Nining, Ivy,
Ya i think i should invest in a play yard... i cant find any corner in my home that i can set up a play area.. so with a play yard.. perhaps it's safer...
Anyone wants to sell the play yard????

Loh,
Ya.. i know it's quite tiring and i do understand.. but you know.. i cant help being worry about Meg!! especially she is not a baby who can sit and stone!!

The gathering seems so fun, so sorry I was unable to attend.

Cola,
Ohhh.... I understand that sometimes we are just too tired and tend to dose off but it was so dangerous of ur FIL to leave Megan unattended, especially they are now in the "curious about everything" stage. Just few mths ago, my frd's 2yrs old gal woke up from her nap, went inside the toilet and drank blench while my frd was still asleep. She was hospitalised for >1 week. Sorry... I'm not trying to scare you but sometimes unexpected things just happen unexpectedly and we wouldn't want to live in regrets right?

Morning mummies..

Ytanh..
Blench? U mean bleaching agents?? Luckily she is okay now.. hm.. ya i know sometimes we don't want that to happen but it just happens
that is the sad things.. will tell my FIL about it, coz all my bleaching agents/detergent etc are in the cabinet below our kitchen sink, it is locked (the lock is like the one turned upside down), Meg can open yet at this point in time.. perhaps must buy a fencing to kitchen.. my toilet no water already, just some dried pails..
Your fren must be feeling real guilty.. another way that i am thinking of is to buy a playyard, but hubby doubts she is willing to stay there for long

cola,
As a mother, we always worry abt our kid, cannot 100% fang xin if taken care by other people. safety playard might not work for meg bcoz she will not used to it, later end up crying.

cola: your kitchen entrance got door anot?
usually even when I'm alone at home with Tricia.
I will close the kitchen door. All bedroom doors except for her playroom. so I can minimise the number of places she will be at.
I feel is safer this way.

New game of Tricia
1965986.jpg

1965987.jpg

rccola,
that's frightening! think u need to childproof your house..so u can at least limit the access to dangerous things...if meg won't stay in playyard cuz she's the curious type, maybe u can go ikea and buy their childproofing gates/locks etc? hard to make sure certain doors are always closed i think, but childproofing may be better..i always get scared thinking about bad things tt can happen..did any of u watch the grey's anatomy episode where miranda bailey's son who was crawling pulled down a bookcase and he had all these internal injuries?? what a nightmare!!!

zhuzhu,

Tricia seems to really know how to use the kitchen utensils...I saw her pics in FB...look like a big girl cooking in the kitchen...

Mel: I think she often sees my mum and I cooking.
So she knew how to play with the kitchen playset even though I din teach her

Loh, Glee,
Ya i think more for both of you since your babies are not at your own home where you can still at least babyproof the home..
Again.. nobody would want accidents to happen....

Lilyn, i think i need to really lock the cabinet under the kitchen sink, coz a lot of hazardous cleansing items are inside.. bleaches etc.. now Meg doesn't know how to open the usual lock that we have.. but i think when the time comes, she might know how to open it by observing what we do..
Toilet no water.. other than that.. stove has got a cover as well to block her hands to touch the stove buttons.. cabinets in kitchen (where we keep all the utensils are also locked with childproof items).. relatively safe but i scared she will walk behind the tv..

Oh i should also lock the window grills.. tho she has got no stepping stone to climb up window grill at the moment, who knows one day she pushes dining chair and climb up! Just play safe...

ZZ
My kitchen hasnt got any door.. If i am at home, normally i am fully alert and will put her near to me.. at least within my eyesight when i am busy in the kitchen..

Cola,
Ike also will complain if he kept inside his play area for more than 5 minutes but I told my maid to let him complain.. he must learn sometimes things do not work at his command hahahah.. so my maid will thicken her ears and keep doing her chores.. Now he complains less , although still do! he's been kept like that since he started to crawl, when my maid is doing her work.. and now , that is like almost a year after training, he still complains! kids are kiasu! hahaha..

IMHO for childproofing kitchen, safety gate to the kitchen is one fool proof item that is more effective.. Securing drawers are painful! Cos I secure all drawers in his bedroom and each time got to open its not convenient hahhaha..

zhuzhu,
wow little chef tricia!

GLee,
I cannot see the video lee.. maybe cos office lappie.. later try at home! hehehe..

nining,
ike is persistent! at least he doesn't scream or anything, just complains and whines ya? what did u use to secure drawers btw? we didn't get the ikea ones cuz needed to be screwed in and our place is rented, so cannot destroy the cabinets like that...

lilyn
indeed..she loves most things associated with "play" and that day she didnt wanna get out of that ball pool even when i had to grab her from inside. Yee Heng is jus not used to the ballpool, soon he will be, who knows he may wanna try "diving" too :p

rccola,
yes, definitely lock the window grills! you remember a while back there was this case of a japanese lady who left her sleeping toddler at home whilst she went downstairs to pickup her older kid from the schoolbus and the toddler got up and somehow got out of the window and fell and the mother discovered her??!!! god what a nightmare!
lesson: childproof, childproof, childproof! think we cannot take for granted what our kids "don't know" yet..yee heng is always closely watched when we're at home..never out of our sight..as u can probably see, i'm always super kiasee when it comes to these safety things...esp since my boy is one that also cannot sit still..

Ohh so busy at work!!

Nining
what is IMHO?? I'm just wondering how to fix a gate to block the kitchen and living room..

Lilyn..
Ya rented place is quite difficult to fix this and that.. most of the childproof items need to be at least screwed in.. like what i did for my kitchen cabinet..
Same, I am another kiasi mum.. if i am at home, i've never let Meg out of my sight more than 1 min.. coz she would normally follow me anywhere and everywhere around the house.. if i walk to kitchen, and 1 min after that she doesnt follow me.. i would need to check what she is doing..

I think she is also very kiasi.. everytime after napping, she would look around for ppl, if cant find, the first thing she does is yelling and crying for ppl..

Btw, who is taking care of YH now?

Cola,
Ya, blench agents. my frd is realy guilty especially her gal is often sick and has been in/out hospital a couple of times after tat incident.
I agree on the window grill, I rmb a case happened to my ex-neighbour about 20+yrs ago, their 5yrs old son was waving goodbye to them from the kitchen, fell down from 6th floor and died on the spot in front of them.
Talking about childproofing the house, I'm also headache. When i tell my mum do not fill up pail with water in case chloe decides to bend down and play with the water inside, she said 'wouldn't happen lah', whatever i said about childproofing, she will say 'wouldn't lah, wouldn't happened lah, we are always looking at her'. Sigh...

IMHO = In My Holy Opinion???

Ytanh,
hm.. talking all about childproofing bla bla bla... sometimes i think it's better to be safe than sorry, i told my FIL to empty all the pails, and he agrees. altho he told me she never goes into toilet.. but dun wanna take any chance at all..

I will tell him the story about your fren's kid.. coz i also had those detergents and bleaching stuff underneath the kitchen sink.. so worrying rite..

This morning my colleague told me her nb (now about 4 mths old) is taken care by her new maid at home.. hm.. if it were me, i think i would be paranoid all the time.. she didnt even install any camera or whatsoever at home.. now at home, there is only her baby and the maid.. can the maid be trustable? I dunno i think it depends on individual, but if it were me.. i would rather send to infant care bah.. if given no choice...

just got time to check out the thread, will read slowly. so pity missed the gathering last sat, seems you guys and bbs had fun.

my kitchen also got no door but we bought those gate to lock the gals out. cos about $80. Maybe i go n take a pic for u gals , wait ha!

Lilyn,
we use the screw type one.. just the internal part get drilled for drawers. but safety gates nowadays are pressure mounted so u better use safety gate.. really more fool proof than securing each door and drawers

Cola,
IMHO as per choco said, in my humble opinion
Ike was with maid since he was 4 months old and I got to get back to work.. first few weeks my mom was in Spore, then subsequently the maid and Ike were alone.. I take cue from many things i.e. before hiring her I spoke to my friend who employed her before. Also I see Ike is fond of her, meaning she treats him right, in fact she spoils him and buys him toys from her own monies..
I dont want to install camera at home. For me, if I dont trust, I just dont hire.. why give myself all sort of headache?? Working oredi gives me enough stress hahaha.. If she runs away I can just cancel her WP and she will become illegal.

All my maid's salary I also direct transfer to her account, and she has her own atm card.. I think employement is not a jail she can choose to resign anytime she wants to and use her moneys in whichever way she wants to. When she told me her concerns that her cash is kept on flowing cos her bro asks for it, I taught her to open MySavings Account with POSB and auto debit monthly a certain amount, and cannot withdraw until she wanna close the account.. that way she can control her monies and not lying when telling her bro she got no immediate cash..
Food at home also I dont separate hers and ours.. Prev we stocked ben n jerry ice cream or haagen daaz, now we keep walls or magnolia so she can eat and I dont get paranoid hahaha.. If we want ben n jerry can eat at the outlet before watching movie at GWC hahaha..

twinkle,
ohlala so the older one bite the younger one?? Did Meimei cry? Now Ike gets frowned and spanked if he bites us.. he really BITES!! I had some bruises too! And yep, that is similar to our safety gate to kitchen, althouhg we choose lindam cos cheaper kakakaak..

Twinkle - yours girls very fierce leh...they will continue fighting lor, like how my sis and i fight from food to toys to clothes to shoes..haha - that is very common

Twinkle,

Thanks for the gate pict.. the size seems to fit perfectly.. i think i need a wider gate, because the doorway to my kitchen is pretty wide.. i think about 1m or more..
Oops, the 2 girls fight? haha.. most of us here do not have such an experience yet.. our kids are normally lonesome at home with adults hahaha.. so nobody to fight with them..

Perhaps when my #2 is born and is about toddler age, the fight will then start hahaha.. although i hope Meg can be nice to her bro :p they would have different toys if #2 is really a boy :p

Nining,
Ya i agree, at least you have known her for sometimes, and i do agree that not all maids are bad.. of course there are nice ones (my mum's maid is also a nice one.. very young but very hardworking but sad to say her mum asked her to go malaysia and work after her 2 yr contract with my mum end.. my mum was telling me should have asked her to come to sg and work for me instead..

Ya.. i think dun separate their food and ours, my mum's maids are eating same food like us, except for pork, and if they want they can cook themselves.. every teatime, my mum bought them some pecel or beehoon or sometimes they get to eat ice cream as well haha.. once a week they will go to supermarket buy their stuff :p

Goldpiggy,
Haha.. ya i fight with my sis for things as well, i think it's me who was bad, i just cant stand her holding any of the thigns and i have the tendency to make her cry hahaha.. what a bad sis I was.. the main reason is because my sister is super fair and everytime she cries her face turns red like a tomato.. i just love to see that.. hahaha

Cola,
if u go to kiddy palace, they have lindam gate with extensions, the extensions also have various width u can choose nearer to your need and then adjust at home.. Our kitchen door is also slightly wider than normal..

Cola,
my friend who is experienced in hiring maids said best way to sort maids is first find out which kind of trade she was brought up in? the best maids usually come from farmer and fisherman family.. if she was brought up in family where her father owns shop or something like that, usually not hard working hahaha..

choco,
the train ride is free for 1 adult and 1 child if you spent dono $50 or $80 in T3, i cant rem already. It doesnt move around T3 also, just very short distance.

Cola,
all safety gates have extension panels that u can buy seperately. mine is the standard size, no need additional panel, hah save money! u can measure and give your measurement to the sales gals in those shops. my cousin bought those kind like "metal" type, but after a while ,the white paint fall off (like shen1 xiu4)

my terrible gals fight for everything everyday, toys,pillows,books....etc Then sometimes like good friends,hug, talk to each other(in baby language of course) chase each other..then fall on top of one another ...then the crying starts..haha..me super tired

have any one of your kiddo not wanting milk very much now? what r they feeding on now? how many solids, milk..etc. My gals seem to start rejecting milk unless they super hungry.