(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

chatty: i will sterilised my funnels and bottles in the morning before i go to work. after using the funnels in the office, will just wash with tap water. for the next pump, i will wash the funnels again with hot water. in fact, i have been doing this at home too.
some mothers that i know will keep the used funnels (din wash the funnels) in a ziplock bag and placed it in the fridge for the next used.

Ocean,

My pumping per session is 20mins if I use my Avent Isis Uno in office...thn 5mins using hands to drain out everything(thats for both breast). At home, now I'm using Avent Isis Duo which is faster, takes me 10mins to pump thn 5 mins to drain out both breast.

An-gal,

As long as yr BB stool is not hard, dont have to worry so much, as they are growing and absorbing more...guess is ok for them to pass once every few days.

Garfield,

U never steralise your funnel and parts after each use in office? For me I use the microwave steraliser in office which I thk its pretty convenient...takes 5 mins only thn I will throw the funnels and parts into a tupperware for my next use.

Hi mummies, my baby gal has been refusing to drink from e bottle for the past 2 weeks.I am returning to work in another 2 weeks time and have been trying to subsitute her afternnon feeds to e bottle. But she just refuses and will struggle to spit out the bottle with her tongue and cry and cry. Everytime I have no choice but to latch her on as I can't bear to see her cry till her eyes full of tears. I'm now very worried as I know my MIL will not be able to handle my elder daughter and this 2nd baby when I am back to work. Any mommies with the same experince and pls advise how to get your baby to drink from e bottle....

Jang,
Thanks for the offer on the milk bag. Chk with you, how much will tat be for 100pcs? As I dun stored BM in freezer for my bb, reason for getting was to store some for my sis if i still had extras when i go back work. So was still thinking whether to get milk bag or to use bottles.

Glad that jaeden's jaundice had finally cleared. I think this should be BM jaundice cos it usually lasted for one to two months according to books n usually this type of jaundice no need to worry too much.

Chatty,
If DBS atm can transf, let me noe cos i prefer to transfer using my POSB as it got more money cos salary is paid to POSB acc. Hahhaa...
Me expert in traf from POSB atm liao cos been buying lots of "nonsense". Jiat luck... mus control...

Garfield,
I'll also use hot water to "run through" the funnel if I am pumping 2 seesions in office.

nining

yes she does housecall,and charges not expensive.for my super thick hair,its only $130.but most importantly,both her rebonding and cutting skills are good!i don't let anybody else cut my hair because only she can cut until its very nice...

her name is grace,hp is 97921349.think she's better in mandarin,but she knows enough english to communicate la.

ng

she doesn't perm hair though..

ocean

yes,must be mei mei to meet hubby at the airport next friday!;-)haha but actually to make myself feel better too.bad enough i can't go out to shop.at least i don't look like monster now already;-)

an_gal

my gal just broke her record,didn't poo for the 3rd day already.oops...

jang

welcome back!i know the reason cos enci went thru that after i went back to my parent's place for 5 days.change of environment and she was feeling insecure.just have to tahan la.and give the baby lots of cuddle to comfort him.

chatty

she was indeed better after we increased no. of feeds.heng ah!

also i heard of someone who left the EBM in staffroom's pantry's fridge and it went missing!they had to bring up the matter during staff meeting.so e3 xin1!imagine someone stealing your EBM!

Ocean,
Pls do the payment to Ytanhn for me and I will transfer the $27 to ur POSB, how bout that? pls advice your POSB savings/current acct #.. many many thanks girl!!

Jang,
phew!! you made it, flying with baby!!

Chatty,
hope u didnt get frost bite? glad it's recovering..

Inu,
I know what u meant for sudden change from working to be at home.. I told hubby I may loose my sanity but I also wanna stay at home and look after Ike.. that's why I think I will go to work first and try negotiate a better agreement with my co, see if they're willing to let me work at home at least 50% of the time.. I used to travel all the time and a week a go my boss called asked me if am gonna be ready to travel by end 2007 and I said NO, am BFing with no excess supply, how to travel hehehe..

Ocean
My ML will end in mid Nov 07. Taking my annual leave till end Nov and no-pay leave in Dec to spend more time with my bb.
With 1 kid is still affordable to send him to infant care. But with 2 or more, it will be too expensive liao. That's why will stop work if next one comes.

Hi ladies, I'm back again. At my mum's place now, so managed to log in.

Jang, you flew with your bb? How old must bb be to fly? Heard that if too young, the pressure may heard bb's eardrum.

K, gotta go again, bb is up and crying.

leooh,

now he wants to be carried most of the time, even slp also cannot put him down. here i am, typing with one hand and carry him with the other. i think i can lose alot of weight just by carrying him ard the whole day. he shld be more than 6.5kg now.. aiyo..

hope it gets better after a few days..

Nining,

it was the most stressful 2 hours i've ever experienced. i will not try flying again until he is prob 1 yr old..

Muddypie,

its ok to travel, not sure hv to reach how old though. the air pressure may cause discomfort for the BB and cause them to cry. my bb was slping when we flew over, so no probs as he slept thru. when we came back, the taking off and landing caused him to cry abit..

leooh, muchas gracias!!

Jang,
I'll have to fly to Jakarta in Dec and to the US in March.. I am so scared!! Jakarta maybe ok, the US trip may drive me nuts..

Jang, if Ocean is not interested in taking the extra milk bags off you, can I take them? Read the thread too late to join in that time when you taking orders. :p

Adeline, which microwave sterilizer you using? Is it the Avent one? Am thinking of getting a mocrowave steriliser as well. I just bought a PIS second hand from a forumer, gg to use in office. You using a PIS too?

jang and adeline

haha your babies win already,haha.heng1 ah,my baby is not the heaviest.

nining

no prob!she drives so i think she'll go everywhere.she lives in clementi so more convenient for her to go boon lay than come amk to my place.she's quite popular so book early!

Ng,
today tried feeding my baby the first Friso feed but she totally reject it. Think the taste is dfifferent.. San nao jin... open the can wasted liao jus 1 feed.

Anyone knows besides this method can i mix formulae milk?

Nining, u so steady ah, can tell ur boss NO when asked to travel. when my boss ask me, it means i have to travel lor. Last time, i did a biz trip while still bf-ing. vvvv inconveniemt n can get v frustrating. Flying to US is no joke! BB is abt 7mths then, can get some toys n biscuits to entertain him.

JJfamily, my bb was like dat too. I let hb feed him, and we give him the bottle when he's really hungry. after few attempts n discarding bottles of ebm, it seemed to work. cannot give in leh. PD says some babies will reject n go thru milk strike, then end up losing weight. U try again see how? Are u staying with MIL? if not, got to let bb get used to her too, else got stranger anxiety.

Pst,

I am using the Avent microwave steralizer, I bought a used one from auction...only $15, pretty new. I am using the Avent Isis Uno in office and Avent Isis Duo at home. I will leave my steralizer in the pantry...easier for me, also the pump set I leave in office, I jz bring a cooler bag home niah...

Leooh,

I thk my gal is the heaviest now...doctor say my EBM is wonder milk...haha...

nining, hv not replied u sinces ages ago. am at boon lay too! but am at jw central 1 - near jurong pt. seems like only 2 of us in jurong west.

Puppygal, u reminded me leh. i got to start my boy on his 1st FM soon too. PD says if wait too long, they'll reject even more. fainz....

So my bb is not the heaviest? 6.34kg at 6wks plus but PD says his overweight leh. If i start FM, he will baloon even more, then how? uh-oh...the grandparents will be happy to see a rounder bb.

adeline,yeah! am thinking of getting a used avent microwave sterilizer too!

guess wat guys? am multi-tasking now - feeding bb, pumping and reading/posting at the same time!!!

pst,

how many hands do u hv!? can't imagine how u do it..

i bought 200 bags for myself, if u want, i can let u hv the 100
100 can last me quite a while..

hahaha you guys post so fast, i can hardly keep with the thread. so if i dun reply or something - apologies in advance! ;p

think all mummies are SUPER MUMs!!!

Leooh,
that is great!! I am waiting for her reply then :D I didnt call cos dun wanna disturb if she's working..

pst,
I lieve in summerdale, we should be able to meet up sometime when we're out of this crazy situation with Ike screaming all the time since monday.. looks like he wanna have more milk or teat with more flow.. tried the 3 months plus avent teat and he finished his milk in 15 min, a record!!!

Adelynn,
u know, a year ago, a senior engineer who's at his 50+ told me (he is also travelling heavily) that we have to say NO sometimes when the need calls.. so I exercised it kekeke.. besides, I've been in the company much longer than my boss..

jang, great! let me know when, and how much to pay you and your account details.

hahhaa my left hand pumping my left breast using avent manual, then bb under my right arm (football hold) on brestfriend breastpillow, right hand used to type and scroll/refresh page. hahaha

chatty, my Isaac also has the whitish stuff on his tongue. His gums looks whitish - but its the kind of white coz the teeth is behind them kind of white leh - looks normal. doesn't look like its a coating of stuff. so, to play safe, we bring him to see GP can already issit. no need to go all the way to see pd, right?

Adelynn,
my Ike rejects FM all the time, even when I mixed it with BM.. I gotta try all the time in case my ss drops..

adeline: i haven't go back to work yet. still at home on maternity leave. however, i dun sterilise after each pump. i will sterilise once in the morning and maybe once in the afternoon. after each pump i will just wash with the pigeon detergent then saok the parts with hot water and keep aside. when i want to use, i will use hot water to soak again. have been practising this method since my elder gal's time. in fact, like i say, some mothers dun even wash the funnel and parts after use. they will just keep it in the ziplock bag and put it in the fridge for later use. i dun like this method cos i dun like the oiliness on the funnel and i dun like my funnel cold.

nining, that's d condo opposite the fire station issit? very near! was just there few weeks ago 4 a bday party! yeah shd meet up smtime! your ike is also Isaac, right?

Hi Adeline,

Bought the medela already. Tried already, so much easier. But one thing have to hold with 2 hands!!!
luckily the time for pumping is short haha.. i get my normal flow though around 200 ml per session.

Chatty,
The disc offer is no longer on. But told the lady, one of my friends got it at 20% of last week, ask whether she can give me the disc or not. Amazingly yes!! so nice... but she asked me to keep it to myself though ehehe.. i stil post it here :p

Since i have Ameda already, gonna sell off my pigeon pump. Somehow, the pigeon pump looks nicer :p

Anybody interested in manual pump?

An_gal, how's ur job search so far. Me still have not started yet. My MIL also wanted to take care of my bb but i really don't wish to let her take care. *sigh*

cola

why not buy the handsfree set from mumsfairy?then don't have to hold and you can surf net while pumping haha

Cin,
aiyo.. i kept laughing when u describe urself as a mad woman with messy hair, singing to ur boy, head nodding from left to right. hmm.. i think this applies to me tooo!! except i dun sing to chloe during night feed cos i'm afraid she will respond & refuse to sleep after feed... ya, my gal's name chloe. in fact my hb & i decided on this name while we were in the labour ward.. at least still can think straight while having contraction.. hahaa..

leooh,
thanks for ur info on milk residue, thrust, nose cleaning & neck training.

ocean/nining/chatty/mesh/jete,
ocean, thanks for splitting out our orders. my ocbc is balestier branch. u gals may also transfer to my POSB savings 148-11054-9 if it's too troublesome to transfer to OCBC.. no worry, take ur time, i wouldn't go paste paper at ur or ur neighbour's house. Owe $$ pay $$

48hours since i last saw my chloe.. am here in msia office to rush a accounts report.. miss her terribly.. cant wait to go back spore tomorrow to hug hug her..

sign.. whenever i'm not at home, my maid seems to be giving some problems to my mum eg black face, sleep until 7 etc. today while i was on the phone with my mum, i can even heard my maid stacking the drinking glasses "bing bing bong bong". She seems to be obedient with me around, everything also "yes mom yes mom"... sign.. too bad she still owe me $1700, if not i'll sure send her back.

ytanhn

no prob;-)

u're still shuttling between singapore and malaysia ah.must be tiring ,in addition to missing ur baby.btw i voted for chloe as well.i love he beautiful eyes!

ur maid so attitude ah?did you tell her straight that she should be respectful to ur mum as well?she's sure "smart"hor.

Ocean, Ytanhn: Tried to transfer money from DBS to OCBC using ATM, but cannot lehdo you have a DBS / POSB account?

Adeline: It was really nice meeting up with you todaythanks for the BF tips : ). One day all of us August mummies must really have a gathering with our babies !

Garfield: Oh I see. I also learnt about putting funnels into fridge in-between sessions from Jetes forumthats why I purchased the pigeon Fridge-to-go as it can hold two Ameda bottles with funnels attachedSo for rinsing with hot water, you have to boil the water right, or do you just use hot water from tap?

Adeline: I also think its best to wash and sterilize after each use, but this means washing all the time, so when one pumps frequently, one would end up being a part-time dishwasher unless one has an extra set of funnelsWhen I attended the TMC Pre-natal class, they strongly discouraged use of microwave sterilization because of radiation etcpersonally I think it should be okay plus its really convenient, h/w, my hubby is against it. He feels that if one cannot steam or boil to sterilize, then the next best thing is to soak in freshly boiled (and therefore very hot) water for 10 minuteshot water from tap is not hot enough for him

Jang: My sympathies! U must be exhausted. Over the weekend, I brought baby out for 8 hours at a stretch and then ended the day at my parents place. Baby cried and cried, as he was to exhausted to sleep and eat, plus environment was unfamiliarMy baby also cries going up and down the lift, probably because of air pressure in the years. Maybe thats what happened to your baby?

Leooh: Good to know Enci is better nowreflux is really a headache to deal with. I know how it feels, as I had very bad reflux during my first trimester, so it must be even worse for the baby.

Yah Lor! Really disgusting that people will want to steal EBM. Im quite wary cause my yogurt and drinks have gone missing from the office fridge before. One of my friends also told me that in her office, someone mistook EBM for milk to be added to their coffee / tea, and actually used it for that purpose! So grossbesides, it can be quite embarrassing going around asking people if theyve taken your BM

Ocean: Can I also tompang, i.e., can I transfer money to your POSB a/c and u help me pay Ytanhn ? I dont have OCBC a/c. Thanks.

Nining: Thanks. Luckily fully recovered now with no frostbitephew!

Muddypie, Nining: Everytime I fly to the US, for some reason, the flights are always full of babies, many of which are newborns or just a few months old. Most of the time, they sleep through the flight, but some cry when plane ascends and descends.from what Ive observed, it seems that if you are traveling really far away, best to take the most direct flight with minimal transits. For US, I like the SIA direct flight to LA and NY. Ill probably take that once more when I fly to LA next June

Puppygal: Ive tried different types of FM with my baby. Whenever I change over, I do it gradually over 2 to 3 feeds. For example, when changing from Enfalac to Friso, and baby was on 3 ounces per feed, I mixed 2 scoops Enfalac with 1 scoop of Friso for 3 feeds, then 1 scoop Enfalac with 2 scoops Friso for the next 3 feeds, then 3 scoops Friso thereafter. Of course this is possible and easy to do because the proportions of water to number of scoops for both types of formula is the same. This is actually the same method I use for changing cat food for my catsit allows baby (and cats) to gradually get used to taste of the new formula. So far its worked for my baby.

Pst: I think most GPs would be able to diagnose milk thrushits very common. Milk thrush is like patches of tiny little white dots

Rc_cola: Wah! The Mothercare lady is really nice. Guess competition is really stiff too! Better to sell something than nothing at all. Who knows, maybe they earn a commission for every pump they sell. I also bought the handsfree set from mumsfairyworks okay, but adjusting the strings can be tricky and if you move a bit, the funnel comes off your breastI saw the handsfree bra for pumps at Mums & Babes today, costs over $60, but looks more effective and comfortable than the handsfree strings and rod which costs $34. H/w, Ive spent too much on pumps and accessories already, so wont buy thisu may want to consider it. Dont forget to use your FBI discount card to buy it though.

I've finally managed to obtain a Playtex store account...couldn't do it initially because my credit card has a Singapore billing address, and they don't ship to Singapore, so couldn't enter info on website. H/w, I contacted them and they set it up for me. Just FYI.

If anyone wants stuff from Playtex, let me know as I'm going to order things for myself this week, to be delivered by VPost...silly me didn't think of asking my in-laws to buy it before they came over, so now must order...sigh!

Hello Ytanhn,
Feel terrible for you missing your baby.. Everytime I go out without Ike, ends up I buy something for him always, that means our mind always think bout the kids hahaha..

re-maid, always always be straight forward with maids. I do that even we treat her like auntie to Ike, but I am very straight forward, if she touches Ike and I know she just came from kitchen, I asked her have she washed the hands? TOld her also anything broken she must tell me, no worries bout replacement but I dont like it when I find things broken when I am about to use it. So she does report to me all the time. This straight forward attitude I learned from my mom hehehe, she's expert in managing maids!!
So you need to tell her that your mom is her boss ttoo, not just you, so you won't excuse any disrespect towards her..

not worrying bout you painting anything outside my place hehehe, but I worry bout my short span memory lately.. so I've done the transfer to your POSB:
To Account POSB Savings
148-11054-9 Ytanhn SMH Forum
Amount S$27.00
Transaction Reference 1401553396

thanks very much, really appreciate it!

Pst,
yep that's the one, opposite fire station.. Didnt know u're nearby, if yes could've come over for bbq 2 weeks ago.. Sometime we have to have gathering ya, all of us in this forum.. I can play host and we do bbq.. of course when our babies are more playful so they can play with each other..
Yep also, Ike is the short of Isaac, like Luke from Lucas..

Leooh,
I haven't got a chance today to call her.. will do tomollow.. Need to see gynae tomorrow and also blood test for my possible diabetic from the GD before..

Adeline,
so in office urs is a single pump whereby u pump 10mins per side and move to the next side loh. Wow.. 20mins for both to yield 280ml...
Tat's fast and alot!
And at home u jus use 15mins??!! Envy envy.... No wonder ur PD say ur EBM is wonder!
I totally agreed!

leooh,
How's ur reboning session? Already a pretty young lady ready to meet ur hubby? Wait he cant recOgnise u, how? Then only saw the BB to realiase that the lady infront is his wife!

Pig pig,
Ur company quite good hor, allow u to take unpaid leave. Hmm at least by then, bb bigger already. Yap, infant centre fee r quite expensive n not everywhere there is an infant centre. So, u sending ur bb to infant centre?

pst,
how u do so many things at one go (feeding bb, pumping and reading/posting at the same time)? Can teach me? I need that...

Nins/Chatty,
No problem, can. I'll transfer to Ytanhn using my ocbc account this sat. Oh, let me try first cos never transf via OCBC before! hahhaa...

Urghh... my elder gal got fever. No wonder she being very cranky since last nite. Bb crying now. Talk to u all later when i pump milk lah.

pumpin now..

Nins,
yap, jus saw that ytanhn had posted her POSB acc for us. Din realise u had trf liao too jus now liao.
I think I'll also use my POSB to do transf too cos ocbc is a joint acc with hubby!
So can dun use better, if not, he grumble at me too. Hehehee..

Chatty,
Can trf to ytanhn via her POSB savings 148-11054-9. No worries, she wun paste paper on our wall. Hahaha...

ytanhn,
Agree with nings n leooh. U need to tell ur maid tat ur mum is also her boss, then at least she will respect her.
Btw,i'll trf the amt to you on Sat. Pai sei.

whole body pain pain. today is hubby and my anniversary. been tog for 14 years. we left the baby with my parents and went out. very unromantic, we went to play badminton. haahaa too long never exercise. must start going to gym next week, paid to join the gym, if we dont go, it'll be a big waste of money. :p

so annoyed with JL. today they are supposed to deliver the things we bought on Sunday. delivery is set for 9-1pm, of course they'll come at 12.45pm right? worse is the order is incomplete! 2 items were leftout. after many phone calls with JL then got resolved and they will deliver the items on Sat. Another day to sit at home and wait. *argh*