(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

by the way, i checked out the lansinoh milk bags at mothercare when i was there on monday. a box of 25 bags is $18.

Update:

enci is 5.724kg at 7 weeks!woah!1st thing i asked was whether she's overweight,but dc said 90percentile but not overweight la.she's tall so he's not worried abt it.

but these few days she hasn't been eating well,and a bit of reflux also.i was worried so took her to the doc.doc said some babies will reach a stage where they decide that they are not going to drink so much anymore and self-reduce the intake.but because i'm still feeding her the same amount,milk can't digest and became reflux.she's uncomfortable and because drinking milk eases the discomfort and thus she cries for more.but drinking more worsens the reflux...and it's e4 xing4 xun2 huan2.

so am under strict order not to feed her past 800ml per day.and see whether the reflux gets better.think doc should be correct cos she no longer fights the bottle or seem to be uncomfortable drinking milk.

but the bad thing is she cries for milk every hour!have to be strong and not cave in...so use water to distract her instead.sometimes she can't be pacified and still cries.sigh...hellish 2 weeks for me man!i still have 1 more week to tahan before hubby comes back!

nose-cleaning:

doc said for dried nose-dirt,use either saline or sea-water spray once evry day to soften the mucus,and it'll come out when she sneezes.advised not to use cotton wool strip or cotton bud cos usually it'll push the dirt further in.can use tweezer or tissue to wipe it out when its nearly out.

cin
i am a sahm and i love it, well at least i love the sah part. haahaa. the mom part is tiring. right now hubby is not working so it's nice. we hang out or go out, but when he starts working, we'll need a different schedule. i'm hoping that by then when babty takes a nap, i can go back to doing some crafts. i used to spend a lot more time online, since her birth really suffering from internet withdrawal, hardly have time to go online now.

chatty
not sure. the mini fridge looks quite small. if you take it apart maybe can, the whole thing my guess is cannot. my friend just bought the ameda pump and like you she also said there are too many parts to it.

training baby's neck:

coincidentally doc asked me to start to train baby's neck by putting her on the tummy...said that's the fastest way to train the neck's strength.

ocean:

not sure whether its you who asked what is reflux.its baby's heartburn.because some babies' digestive system are not mature enough,the milk becomes acidic and,it goes up the esophagus and irritates it.baby might vomit,or sometimes there's milk curd stuff in baby's mouth after a few hours.babies will want to suck to ease the irritation but it'll worsen the condition.

jete

haha we're both taking time to read and reply one by one,...i'm going to bed to catch some sleep before waking to do her next feed at 3 or 4am.you sleep early too!sweet dreams..

leooh
i wanted to add a chat function to the forum but haven't figured out how to yet. that will be nice to have around when we are online at the same time.

still cannot sleep yet. miss piggy is still fussy and refusing to sleep. hopefully she'll be asleep before 1am. i have one more pump at 1.30am then i'm going to hit the sack, tomorrow must get up early to wait for JL delivery.

haha i still went to sneak a look at your forum first so still online.would be fun to chat!that'd be your challenge;-)

still must pump ah..wei3 da4 de mummy...ok i really go sleep liao.goodnight!;-)

nite leooh!

ytanhn,
I've tried to add the OCBC account into my payee in my DBS IB, but I need to know the OCBC branch that you opened your savings at apparently.. cannot create payee without it.. Pls let me know? THanks v much

Jete,
yep, like crazy woman like that kekeke.. my hair is naturally wavey with volume.. so now that I dont put stuff like anti frizz etc, it looks like birdnest oredi..

cin, i used the MIM sling. ok to use...not too bad lor.

pumping now..so engorged..from 830 pm til 230 am...6 hrs...initially shld be pumping at 12..but fell asleep only just woke..hubby helped to dream feed her at 1 am...heee

morning all, me pumping now.

jete: i am using PIS all along since I started bf my bb. However, I think I will a new set of Medela Electric Electric Plus Pump soon. PIS will be placed in the office for officie use while the Electric Plus will be placed at home for occasional use.

cin, i'm a sahm, every morning i will rush to do urgent housework, then from 1pm-5pm, i will spend time playing with my baby and putting her to sleep. When she takes a nap, i will quickly log on to internet, heheee... my fav time. Ard 6pm i will quickly cook dinner and wait for my baby to wake up for her next feed. Then i will have my dinner while watching TV. (And... my leg will be busy rocking the rocker) Abt 9pm, i will Zzzzzz. My hb will take over from there if my baby requires feeding.
I don't go out from Mon to Fri but it's a MUST for me to go out on weekend & public holiday

Btw, i find that time passes so fast, i was reading this thread at abt 5:30am and now it's already 6:30am.

morning all!waiting for the hairdresser to come.nining,i'm rebonding my hair today!hehehe...mine is birdnest bun now cos i always bun up.super auntie!!!

leooh,
your hairdresser can do housecall? can advice the contact and price please? heheh am lazy to go to salon n sit there for hours..

Gd mrng everyone,

Step in office ard 8.40am, hv my brkfst thn go thru the threads.

Garfield,

I thk U should start to adjust yr pumping schedule ASAP as U need a few days to adjust to the comfortable timing. For me, I start a month earlier as I don't wnt to suffer, just wnt to pump and relax at work, so I could maintain my supply.

Cola,

Happy to hear that U are getting a electric pump, U will be at ease with that pump whn U start work.

Leooh,

I was thinking my Chloe is over weight too but doc say its ok. She was 6.3kg at 7wks, guess now at 11wks she is about 8kg alrdy.

Jete,

I was surprise that I have huge supply for my gal, maybe god is giving me this bonus as I struggle so hard at the beginning lor. When I have my #1, my supply was half of what I have now, my boy still need to add on with formula and thats why he is not as big as my gal at this stage.

Puming now.. see.. cant stick to office hr schedule...

<font color="0000ff">Chatty /Nining/Mesh/Jete/ ocean

<u>Payment for the Body Gel to Ytanhn</u>
Pls transfer the following amt to <font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">Ytanhn's OCBC Savings 516-7-025120</font></font>.
1) Ocean - 5 * S$27 = S$135
2) Chatty - 1 * S$27 = S$27
3) Nining - 1 * S$27 = S$27
4) Mesh - 1 * S$27 = S$27
5) Jete - 1 * S$27 = S$27

Btw, jus saw someone posted can get $28 for the gel. Was thinkin lucky we got 10% discount, so still cheaper.
The BP here sometimes is really not cheaper than mkt hor!

Adeline,
Chk with u, do u pump both breast at the same time n how long per session?
Think it is really hard for me to adjust and me going back to work next Monday liao! Haiz...
Yap, Garfield, u shld try to adjust 2wks before cos like me, i just started adjust 1 wk before and finding hard to do so as sometimes my BB/toddler's schedule do not allow me to do so.

Leooh,
So u gonna b mei mei after ur session loh! Yap, how much is the cost?
Btw, thanks for explaining on the reflux. Was wondering what it is cos recently had been hearing alot abt this. Thks

Ocean,
do u know what's the ocbc branch the acct is from? I tried last night to setup payee for Ytanhn through my DBS/POSB IB and couldnt cos dunno the branch.. Can I choose the OCBC center as option?

Leooh, u went bk to Kinderclinic ah? think as long as u comfortable n it's convenient for u lor. for me, will be going to the Yishun PD fr now on.....so much more convenient.

Bird nests?? hahahha my fav man, eat alot during preggie that it's also growing on my head now! Whose hairdresser can do house call? I want also leh. planning to perm my hair. or who can recommend a gd hairdressor? want to perm those "taiwan mei mei" style one leh.

Inu, steady lah. i can't drive so always hv to go with hb. can't imagine taking public transport with bb. he's over 6kg, sling him downstairs a while, i want to fainz liao.

Chatty, ur thumb ok? must be careful, try not to be kan cheong.

Nining, juz now i took a long shower too. so shiok.....

hi cin,
yeah, i m SAHM for the moment.. dono wen 1 2 go n look for job leh, actually don feel like working haha.. i don mind staying at hm leh but i tink cant.. yest overheard mil asking hubby on the fone whether i m looking for job, lagi more sians.. don wish 2 leave my bb with my mil to take care leh.. "she bu de"..

ocean,
mayb my bb poo pattern oways change tats y i wori.. haha oways like to wori for nothing.. tat time he poo on monday and i waited till saturday then he poo again.. so long man..

adeline,
my bb poo is not hard so i tink is still ok.. oni ting is he can many days don poo.. now feed him plain water he will scream and cry like hell
so i gav him gripe water mixed with plain water, lucky he drinks..

inu,
after reading ur activity sounds so tiring, somemore u alone out with baby, peifu peifu...if mi i tink half way i head back home liaoz haha..

leooh,
yeah, mi feeding gripe water dilute with water to melcolm at least once a day now cos he refused to take plain water.. lucky he no reject.. now will monitor his poo pattern c hw isit..

wow, ur bb 5.7kg+ at 7wks.. i last weigh melcolm at home at 12wks oni 5.7kg.. haha.. tis wkn wen he take the 2nd jab of 6in1 mus ask dr whether he is underweight liaoz.. hehe..

Jete,
saw the egg shaped mini fridge, too expesnive hahah cos I'll need 2 units, one for office and one for jakarta's home cos we sleep upstairs and no fridge in the upstairs..

ocean & adeline: thanks for your advice. I will start my office pumping schedule next week as I going back to office on 7th Nov.

cin
Envy you can be a SAHM! After staying at home for the past two months (on my ML), i dont mind to be a SAHM cos it is a joy to see my boy everyday. Can feel a great sense of satisfaction. Daily routine is like bathing bb, feeding him, putting him to sleep, washing milk bottles & breast pump & pumping milk. Told hubby that i will quit my job when we have the 2nd one.

Now already starting to worry what will happen to my boy when i start work in Jan 08. Have decided to send him to infant care after much consideration. He is very attached to me. Really must treasure the time i have with him cos i guess once i started work, i would not be able to give him so much time liao.

Puppygal, Friso is gd leh. it's v close to bm and lesser cases of constipation. like my elder gal, i intend to let bb take friso gold 1 too. If u want to change FM, got to change gradually. like 1 feed a day, then increase. got to monitor.

Nic wants attention these days. like now, i can hear him "calling" for me. When he sees him, he will wave his arms and kick his legs vigorously. then start to coo and smile to me. very fun to play with now. i better go, hahah if now, his eh eh eh will become louder.

hi jete
wat craft r u doing?its not that i dun like to be a sahm but i feel that all the years of education that my parents put me through seems to go to a waste. i love my son very much. but i feel lonely esp if hb goes for o/s trips. i cant go out wif frds cos they r all working n wif a baby its tough.its really a big change n i m still trying to cope. luckily there is still this forum which i can browse n read.my main concern is i am scared that i will become auntie n outdated.i have got an auntie who used to do very well in her career. she gave up her job to be a sahm. now that her children are big, they find her naggy.everytime she is angry , she will keep bringing up the fact that to her hb n children that she gave up alot esp her career for the family. i thk there is alot of resentment in her. i really dun want to ended up in her stage cos she is so unhappy. i thk if i really cannot tahan, i will go back to work again.

<font color="0000ff">Nins</font>,
U mean ocbc need the branch number?
I also dun noe leh cos i dun hv IB, that y i asked Ytanhn to help to pay first cos the BP told me she cant wait for me to pay on Sat due to high risk (too many orders).

But am planning to transf using my ocbc account via atm this sat cos when i used POSB atm, i neber see any option for tranf to other bank.

If ocbc atm can transf directly to another ocbc acc like the POSB/DBS, i dun mind help u to pay Ytanhn first. But me can only pay on Sat.

<font color="aa00aa">Pig Pig</font>,
U only start work in Jan'08? How come? I also dun mind being a SAHM, but first thing i mus learn to cook! Hahhaa...
But then, financially, cant do that. However, i do think if a couple could afford, maybe can do so at least for the first few years as these are the foundation time.

<font color="119911">An_gal</font>,
Talking abt poo, my bb din poo yesterday. So mayb today she will poo BIG time. I do hope she poo today lah n dun accumlate for me cos i tired of changing bedsheet due to poo leakage!

O, so u really need to start looking for job? A lazy way is update ur resume n then send online first via those online recruitment agency such as monster.com lah. At least, u r looking mah! Hahaha... Sianz hor...

<font color="0077aa">Jete</font>,
The milk bag is so expensive ah!
Din noe that. Recently think someone is arranging for an online spree for the milk bag. Was looking at it and thinking of buying but seeing the price... give up. Now, it does appeared online spree is cheaper.

Adelynn: There are several fridges in my office, but I tend to forget to take things out once I put them in, and things that go in sometimes disappearwouldnt want that to happen to my BM

Nining: Gd ideaam contemplating getting either a mini-fridge or a proper small fridge (bar counter sort)

Garfield: Actually I think its wonderful that you want to BF for 1 year, regardless of whether its due to peer pressure or not. BF is hard work and it takes a lot of determination and perseverance to do it for so long, esp if ss is low. I find it admirable that you can wake up in the middle of the night just to pump, as Ive tried it unsuccessfully. One way or another, I think youre doing a great job!

How do you intend to sterilize PIS in office?

Ytanhn & Jete: Thanksfeeling better now that thumb stopped hurting at 9pm last night. Before that, couldnt do anything except put ice on thumb as it was too painful. Hubby and mum had to feed baby and wash bottles

Rc_cola: Yes, bought Ameda lactaline at 20% discount from mothercare. Not sure if sale is still on, but should be. Why not call Mothercare before you go?

Leooh: I think babies recognize their mummies by smell & sound more than by sight. Their eyesight wont be fully developed (20/20 vision) until 3 years of age, so right now, we kind of look blurry to them Gripe water according to my aunt the doctor, the contents of gripe water has actually changed over the years. When we were young gripe water actually contained some alcohol, until doctors objected to it, and they removed the alcohol. Then some years later, they removed another ingredient. Now its just one ingredient, but works just as wellThrush starts on tongue, then spreads to side and roof of mouth. At first I also thought my baby had milk on tongue, but it wouldnt go awayusually milk will go off by itself in between feedsthen thrush spread and spread, even to lipsReflux: My baby went through this stage about a month backsame problem and same solution (smaller and more frequent feeds throughout the day)

Jete: How long the Fridge-to-go stays cold depends on the ambient temperature of the room you are in. If your room temp is 24 degrees celcius, then it will last 12 hours, if not, the meltdown time will be much shorterHence, I think for those mums who work in super cold offices, Fridge-to-go is fine, if not better buy a proper mini fridge.

Robinsons the last time I asked, they wouldnt say when the next nursery sale would be. Had I known it would be next week, I could have waited and gotten a few more chops towards the $50 vouchersigh!

Enfalac used about 4 tins (big & small) alreadysame problem everytime. Less clumps with freshly boiled water though.

ocean, ytahn, can pm me on the payment and collection details for the gel pl? me no time to check regularly, scared miss your post.

Ng: Thanks. Thumb much better now, almost fully recovered after 7 hours of ice-packs.

Ocean: Not sure if I can do interbank transfer from DBS to OCBC at ATM. Will try this afternoon. If not possible, then can pay by cheque?

i'm finally back!

my flight to Sabah was good.. jaeden slept from check-in at Changi to Sabah when we board the car! (7am-11am)

the flight home made my stress level so high. he wasn't sleeping at first. from experience, he will feed, then stare ard for 20mins and start crying endless until someone walks him ard. luckily, for the first time, he slept without any help for 40mins. the flight home was the most stressful 2 hours in my life. i dun even feel that stress during exams.

dunno what happened, the night before we leave Sabah, he was practically screaming as he was tired and couldn't slp. it happened again yesterday and this morning. previously, we could easily rock him to slp and he doesnt scream that much.

Ocean,

if u are interested, i hv ordered extra one pack (100pcs) of the milk bags. have to wait though. not sure of the total price yet.

Jete, Loh, rainy5,

milkbags already reached vpostUSA. hopefully it will be here within the next few days!

ng..i like driving ..i will tell hubby to give me car as and when he can..wheni was preggy..i drive till i deliver hee..

an_gal..ya it's sctually quite tiring..at the end..hardly want to walk..just sit somewhere with my gfs to drink lemon tea..but then bb fussy..so i hv to walk ard to shut her up lor..

re" SAHM.

actually my hubby did ask me b4 if i want to quit my job..i tell i dun thin i can take it. i love jaelynn but to stay at home whole day and look after her..i really dun think i can tahan. i think i will loose my sanity. this is just me, and i know some friends who are contented just to stay at hm n look after kids, i really admire them. actually my sis in law is one of them...she stayed home and looked after 3 girls, she quit her job when the 2nd one was born.

Loh,

jaeden's jaundice cleared ard 5 weeks. not sure what category of jaundice, but it cleared slower because of TBM. this considered BM jaundice?

yours not cleared yet? dont eat ginger, chinese herbs, carrots, papaya.. mine cleared within a few days after i stopped these food completely.

re:SAHM

i'm definitely converting to SAHM. cannot manage also must manage. its for the good of my boy. although i do prefer going back to work.