(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

lena: yap, that is the article i was referring to. after reading it, i decided to buy a new 2nd set of pump to put at home for use. am glad that my 1st set of pump (PIS) is also brand new.

it is quite true wat the article said. i am a biological science graduate so the more i think abt it, the more paranoid i am. so have decided to buy a new set as backup.

anyone know where got sale or discount for Medela pump? Me want to buy Medela Electric Plus Pump

wah, didn't online yesterday, so many posting to catch up!!!

Ocean, pst, nining,
Ivy is selling her lansinoh milk bags. Can contact her if you want. [email protected]

Brought bb for 6-in-1 jab last eve. He has fever since midnite, Tepm was 37.7 at armpit!!! No medicine given. Now fever gone down to 37.1. Have to monitor. If fever more than 24hr, hav to go hospital lioa. Anyone bb got fever aft 6-in-1 jab?

jang,
Am oging back to JB tomorrow morning, might MIA for 1 week. So if milk bag reaching, PM me as i might miss ur posting.

btw,
those storing frozen EBM shall thaw 1 bag and let ur bb drink first, some bb might not drink it coz the taste is terrible!!! Later store so many and bb rejecting!!!

Loh,

My gal also have mild fever after the 6 in 1 jab, I thk its ok...we monitor her and jz gv her panadol, she was fine after 24hrs. Same as my boy last time, usually will hv fever for the 1st 24hrs de.

loh,
thanks.. will contact Ivy.. thanks also to remind me to try it on baby hahaha else I may get into trouble for nuthin

Loh, my bb also got fever dat nite after the jab. OK after i gave fever medi, juz 1 dose ok liao. how come no medi given? U can either go bk to the doc to get medi or go pharmacy buy. Fever is normal coz the body is combating the jab. but got to monitor though.

abt frozen EBM..first time i thaw the EBM for her..she drink..that was about 1 mth ago..recently when i thaw another pkt for her..she refused!!!...die i got at least 10 over packs there....i will hv to try again to make her drink...somemore i added in some fresh ones..

Hi Loh, looks like only you and Jete manage to catch my posting...

Hi Ocean, pst, nining, paisei all reserved by Jete's friend liao.

Nining you will be next if Jete's friend drop the order.

inu: did u mix your frozen ebm with fresh ebm? some bbies are very particular so try to mix more with ebm.

i gave my bb frozen ebm when he was 1 mth old, he finished it though the smell and taste of the ebm is soapy. Will start to give my bb the frozen ebm in dec as my oldest frozen ebm is 1-9-07. Hopefully, he will take it well.

Bbies' temperature is around 37.5 so if ur bb's temp is 37.5 or below, then it is not fever.

inu: i got abt 100pks of frozen ebm. so if my bb refused to feed them, then i also die ah!!!! hopefully, i will have more than enough fresh ebm for him if he refused to have the frozen ebm

Ivy,
thank u

Inu & garfield,
maybe can use frozen EBM for the dreamfeeding session? looks like I can cheat Ike during that dreamfeeding using Fm, maybe can cheat him with frozen ebm too kekekeke...

feeding him while he's asleep but not waking him up kekeke.. very very efficient!! Ike can drink 120ml in 15 min, usually takes like 30 min for that amount if he's awake

Hi loh, already wrapped up your milk bag but paisei hor, look a bit "tai ko" coz use the tape to tape the sides, scare the singapore post ppl accidentally tear the side. Hope you will receive it 1 piece.

wah...100 pkts...that's alot!!

nining, when i df her, she only drink less then her usual amt le..and it take abt the same time

garfield

ya, i fixed frozen n fresh for her..and she refused

think my daughter is the most efficient drinker already(or should i say impatient?).she can down 120ml at 10min everytime,unless she's too distracted by other things...bottle feed of course la.

nining

how's the gynae checkup?

ocean

haha mei mei now;-)at least neat la.i like chatting with grace(the hairdresser).she has a 1ye plus daughter so we exhanged tips etc.she even gave my baby an angbao!but i've known her for ard 5 years already la,even longer than i know my hubby.

an_gal

she charges $12 for haircut.but hor she won't do housecall if its haircut only la.her specialty is rebonding!

jete

i like the fishhead joke.hahahaha

sunbloom

just remembered aabt u commenting that u married a sofa.pai sei but when i read that post i laughed so much that my baby(was carrying her while reading posts)was jerked all around...

had a very bad afternoon, jaelynn just kept on crying..wanted to be carried. fed her changed her but still crying. hold on and walk ard (which i normaly dun do), she also cry. finally she fell asleep in my arms for 15 mins, and i tot she in deep sleep, i put her down, she immediately woke up crying. she cried till her eyes and nose are red. i am alone at home ..dunno wat to do..i also cried with her...i cant even put her down to take things..the moment i put her down, she cried even louder...duno where this anxiety comes frm. finally i just put her down, let her cry and fetch some warm water to wipe her down and change into her PJ at abt 7. qickly change new diaper, change into her pj and swaddle her and leave her there to lie for a while. while she still crying, n me crying too and hushing her..finally she calm down n drift into sleep. 20 mins later she finally sleeping and i put her in the cot. now i am here typing n crying agian...sometime i wonder if i know wat am i gettign into by getting preggy. so tiring..so demoralisig when she kept on crying n u dunno wat to do. just want to vent my anger as husband not back yet..he always come back and found her asleep ...i think most hubbies dunno wat we went thru in the day..

garfield,
Forehead reading is 37.5. Doc told me armpit is 37.0 then considered fever liao.

Ng,
Just buy the normal panadol or special one for baby fr gaurdian?

nining, garfield, inu,
me also got lots of frozen EBM. Fed bb last time, he drank the yakky milk. Friend told me when bb gets older and know to differentiate, then will refuse drinking.

Adeline, Ng,
Doctor told me if fever over 24hr, then better go hospital. He said bb better dun take any medicine if possible, so didn't prescribe panadol for me yesterday. My bb has fever on and off, afternoon temp went down to 36.7 then now is 37.1 with armpit measurement.

Ivy,
Hehe, hope will receive it in 1 piece. Thx for the postage.

jang,
Ur bb also BM jaundice? Mine most probably yes.
Then do u still dare to feed ur bb withthe confinement batch of frozen EBM? I fed once last time, then his face turn yellow 1 day after and the stool more to green colour. So dunno dare to feed or not, but throw 1 month of frozen stocks sounds PAINFUL!!! Asked PD, she said no need to throw la as BM jaundice not due to ginger, DOM ...etc

inu & leoh: i bo pian. have to work hard during my 3 mths maternity leave cos i know once i go back to work, my ss will def drop which is wat happened when i had my elder gal. so i worked harder now to stock up more. hopefully, will be able to breastfeed my bb for at least 6 mths (i bf my elder gal for only 4 mths). if can bf for 1yr then is bonus liao.

loh: i agree. bb will be more fussy with their food once they grow older. so it is best to let them drink frozen ebm regularly to let them get used to the taste. i did tat for my elder gal and she was able to finish my whole stock of frozen ebm till she was 4mths old when my ss dropped drastically causing me to stop bf.

inu: i understand how u feel cos both my elder gal and bb also like ur bb. my bbies dun sleep well and sound at all. the moment they hit the bed or sarong, they will cry. and they always cry and cry and shout at the top of their lung even when i carried them. i had already fed them their milk, changed their diapers, changed new clothes etc...all no use one. they will still cry. and when they are tired from all the crying and shouting, then they fall asleep. i also wonder why i so stupid to give birth to 2nd bb when i already had nightmares taking care of my 1st bb. why i so stupid din learn from past mistake...*SIGH*

but when bbies grow older and they are more manageable, u will not think this way liao..so must bear with it. if really need to, come to the forum to vent and cry it out. u will def feel better.

leooh, wah ur baby is super hardworking drinker hahahahaah... Gynae check up was just talks after the pap smear and the discussion bout contraception, plus breastfeeding.. then she said ok we touch base in 1 year time, unless I have any probs beofe that or expecting again hahahah.. ur post just reminded me to call grace, she hasnt replied my sms yet...

garfield

high stress job ah?mind saying what kind of job?

loh

oh oh,will be taking enci for the jab next sat..hope she;ll be ok and i don't have to worry...fingers crossed.

inu

oh no,poor gal...hugs!
i totally can understand how you feel,sometimes its hard to pinpoint why they cry sometimes(but is she feeling uncomfortable due to maybe reflux?when enci had that she was so cranky and clingy too!),but we just have to hang in there.all mummies have some good days,some bad days.hang in there!maybe u should sms/call ur hubby when it happened so that he at least know what u went thru and will be mentally prepared to come home and sayang/comfort u.

whenever my baby gives me a hard time,i'll think definitely don't want to go thru it with a 2nd child again.but when she wakes up adorable and coos and smiles at me,i'll think not bad to have another baby...

must take care of urself first.gethubby to help so that u can rest a bit.hope ur baby sleeps til tomorrow morning and wakes up fresh and guai guai again.

nining

i already know that she's a very impatient drinker from the time at the hospital when i gave her my boobs!she suck like there's no tomorrow.and from the first hunger pang she'll scream for milk,totally cannot wait for a few minutes one...gynae told me she must have gotten her temperament from either me or my hubby.sigh,think its me la,no impatience too.must send her for chinese calligraphy lessons when she's older so that she can learn to be patient:)

wow..din follow up y'day n there's so many posts...
brought carene to the dr y'day as she was having nose block and wed nite till the wee hrs...she woke up every 2 hrs and trying so hard to get rid of the mucus in her nose...so i tink before it get serious i better consult the dr...thurs morning went to the dr...she has milk thrush too..given medication to clear her milk thrush, syrup to loosen her phlegm as well as nose drop to clear her block nose...now she is better..hope tat she gets well soon..onli 7wks+ haf to take medication..

RE: 6-in-1 jab
i m really confused..hw many doses are there and when do we go for it?
i ask the nurse y'day n the nurse replied tat its given at 5th mth....haf to jab 5-in-1 first(which 10wks old muz jab) before 6-in-1..the package for 6-in-1 is $150 and 5-in-1 is $120..can anyone enlighten me..coz polyclinic says choose either one but the pd says tat shld take 5in1 den 6in1....
i intend to take 6in1 so when shld i bring my girl for it?

whose bb is drinking mamex gold formula?
juz wondering do u gals follow the instruction for making the milk...
for eg 90ml = 3 scoops izzit? izzit too thick?

piangz..my bb super know how to choose ppl when wan to sleep.

he drink milk at 8.30pm, then i change diapers for him, but he still cry cry cry. put him at my chest, he burp but still cry, carry him walk ard, rock him, all no use.

then MIL come into rm carry him, MIRACLE, he stop crying and within 10secs fall to sleep in my MIL arm.

haiz...

woof

i follow.

starting 1 FM for bb at night and he can sleep for 4 hrs. if BM only 2hrs. hmm..did they add sleeping pill into the FM??

Woof,

I follow the rules on the tin. 90ml = 3 scoops. Tried not to overscoop though otherwise too thick.

Choco,

My baby on BF, and around 10 am drink about 80 or 90ml. Sleep through til 5 am or 7 am in the morning.

Think it is the baby's pattern, nothing to do with the milk. But I find if my bb took FM, her feeding time is longer, perhaps more fulling

Adeline,

Yup i find my supply now not so bad. But still havent reach your limit yet hehehe..

So far, my record is 280ml hehe.. but why I still need around 40 mins to drain everything eventhough i use ameda?

For ameda user, how do u adjust the suction and vacuum. I gradually turn the vacuum to max. But suction only up to point before the middle point.

Is this the correct way?

Chatty,

Yup the lady quite nice
I think it has got to do with the sales target as you mention.

Haiyah, I am going back to work on Monday. Think I am gonna miss my baby so badly.

An_gal,

I have got my prob solved. My FIL will be replacing my MIL to take care of bb when MIL is in indo. Yuppie
baby will always be with us!

This week is really not my week, first all those things leaked on Wed & I scalded my thumb, then yesterday, I bought a green tea fruppaccino from Starbucks, and the waitress didnt put the cap onto the cup properly so the liquid leaked all over my white pantsmy only consolation was that at least the green spots were the same shade of green as my topso at least I had matching stains. Now flu, and walls and ceiling leaked today with the extremely heavy rain in the afternoon. Hopefully, tomorrow will be a better daythats provided my neighbours contractors dont make a mess when they come over to repair the damage theyve caused over the past year, while constructing my neighbours houseimagine, they even have to replace my warped parquet floor

Ocean: Thanks. Ill transfer money directly to Ytanhn tomorrow when I get to an ATM. Today, down with flu, so spent the afternoon sleeping. Luckily my aunt was around to help me take care of baby

Jete: Wow! You must have been really young when you met hubby 14 years! Ive only known hubby for 12 years, and married for 9 years.

My sympathies with the JL deliveryinitially, I wanted them to deliver everything I purchased, but the cashier asked us to bring back the small items like the Angelwipes cause it might get lost in transit. So tomorrow Ill be waiting for JL to deliver playpen. They called yesterday morning and told my mum that theyll deliver it in the morning. Then they called me twice in the afternoon and told me that theyll deliver in the afternoon. Then my mum called them to clarify, and they said theyre not sure what time theyll deliver and would get back to herbut of course they didnt get back to her at allmost disorganized.

My mum said that the Robinsons Nursery Sale is on this weekendWill check it out tomorrow afternoon.

I agree with your hubby. Washing and sterilizing is still the bestthats why I invested another $100 to buy extra funnels for Ameda pump. Otherwise, the whole day Ill be washing things. My aunt even better still, every week when she comes, she will take everything, wash and run the sterilizer twice. She said that when she sterilizes her equipment in her clinic, the autoclave machine actually states specifically that the more things you put in, the longer the sterilization process, so if we stuff the sterilizer to the brim, we must sterilize for a longer timeplus she believes that insufficient sterilization is one of the reasons why my baby had oral thrush.

Playtex account: Did you use a credit card with US billing address? That was my problem because under billing address, country had no Singapore listed. Thats why I emailed to them to check and they said they would have to bypass the system to add it in. Delivery address was no issue as I have several alternate delivery addresses in USA, including VPost. I suspect thats how Angelia orders her stuff, because I remember her saying that she would ask her friend to place the order for her, so I guess her friend must be in the US.

I think Im even more kiasu than you. Ive got 8 boxes of drop-ins & original soft disposables, some of which were given by my in-laws. I could ask some of the in-laws who work in SIA to bring the goods back when they visit LA and those living there, but a bit pai seh as the last time I did, they refused to accept payment for the drop-ins they purchased from Cosco. So this time round, Ive decided to buy the extra teats and nipple rings myself and get it delivered to Singapore via VPost. If theyre coming over, Ill order on-line and get it delivered to their home in LA for them to bring over. I know they wouldnt mind shipping over via US Post, but Im sure they wont accept payment for postage cost

Sunbloom: Already taking fenugreek for the past monthdont see any difference leh. The fish and papaya soup, as well as cooked salmon seems to increase my ss by a little.
Actually, sometimes I wonder whether all these things even work at all, or whether our ss increases simply because it naturally would from time to time, and it just happens to coincide with our taking the herbs or soupmy friends who live overseas dont take anything special, they just let their babies suck and suck and eventually the milk comes indoctors also told me that I just need to drink lots of liquid and let baby suck to increase supplyno matter, Ill try anything just to increase ss, which is why Im now taking both fenugreek and the soup everyday.

Garfield: You could try checking with Parentcraft at TMC to see if they have any 2nd hand PIS. They didnt 2 weeks ago, but they may have now.

Muddypie: Youre welcome. Friso is not bad, no problems with bowel movements, and dissolves easily in water, unlike Enfalacat least for me.

Nining / Jete: Stylux showroom also sells the minifridge. Not sure how much it costs, but it acts as a warmer and cooler. Someones letting it go at $75. http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/268785/536335.html?1190278802

Ivy: At least you still find time to cook! Im so exhausted from the pumping and caring for baby, I just want to relax the rest of the time.

Adeline: Maybe we can meet up again some other timeI also had to rush home to pump and feed baby

Inu,
sorry bout the tough day.. hope u can take a good rest now..

Chatty,
the one I saw in www.newmaternity.com was only S$49 hehehe..

ladies who thinks abt buying 2nd hand pump, the motor is the most expensive part so if u can get good deal on the motor, just get the perishable new from the distributor / shop then it's just as hygienic as new..

Today my baby was dreamfeeding the whole day, so frustrating took forever to finish one or two ounces of milk, couldnt do anything else. Now hes still sleepingbeen like that since receiving his 5-in-1 and Rotavirus vaccinations on Monday night.

Garfield: I realised that after examining the pump systems, that its okay to purchase a 2nd hand engine as no milk goes through it, but for hygiene purposes, its best to buy new funnels and bottles, esp for models such as medela swing which has parts that the milk flows through but which are hard to clean. For PIS, Medela Mini Electric Plus or Ameda Lactaline, every part that comes into contact with milk can be easily taken apart, scrubbed and sterilized, so I think its ok to use 2nd hand ones. If you want to buy new pump, try Mothercare, JL & Robinsons, as these places were / may be having sale. For Robinsons, if you know when the next sale will be, you can actually reserve beforehand and go back and pay on the day of the sale. Thats what I used to do with clothes and other stuff.

Pst: When I use single pump (medela swing), I always wear the medela breast milk collection shell on the other breast to catch the simultaneous letdownsometime can collect quite a lot.

Inu: Poor u! Hope things are better now. Its really frustrating when one has to guess what baby wants, sometimes its hard not to shout.

Woof: Poor Carene, hope shes better now. You either do the 5-in-1 and then the last jab later on, or you can just do the 6-in-1 at 5th month. Either way, you get all 6 types of vaccinations. Not sure how many doses there are of each, I only know I have to bring baby back for 2nd dose of something in 2 weeks time.

Always level the scoop for FM. Never deviate from instructions as that could cause problems later on.

Re_cola: Not sure about Ameda. For me, I use the Medela Swing method of pumping to adjust my Ameda, i.e., max speed for a few minutes to stimulate breasts then medium speed to pump. As for vaccume, I use maximum, esp when I use the handsfree set with it, otherwise itll just come off easily.

Your FIL not bad, can take care of babies. Ive got no MIL or FIL. My mum helps with baby, but my dad is too afraid to touch him lest he hurts baby accidentally. Luckily my aunt helps out when my mum cant, otherwise I dont know how Ill cope in the day, when hes most demanding.

Nining: I think $49 for the fridge is a very good price, but my hubby feels that it's not too useful as it can't hold much. Its still better than the Pigeon Fridge-to-go though. A mini-bar fridge (like the ones in hotel rooms) costs $200 and can hold much more.

wooow chatty, I read ur post bout your series of unfortunate events.. so sorry to hear that.. hope u feel upbeat still..

for mini fridge, I only intend to use it for storing EBM anyway, and to place it under my desk.. so dont need the mini bar size..

Wow, Garfield,
100 pks of frozen EBM?! Am very impressed! Ur hardwork had pay off.

Nins,
Ur bb can drink so fast when asleep? Mine still the same... But if wake up, think she need an hr to drink 90ml.

Leooh,
Wow, ur bb drinks real fast! Wish mine can drink like tat... but she took 1hr and recently, worst, she drinks almost 4hrs interval... but without increase in milk intake.
Glad tat u r happy n mei mei again. Do grace do coloring n hihlightin?

Inu,
Sanyang sangyang!
kao_kiss2.gif
Dun cry hor! Hugs n kiss! Jus to let u noe it is common to hv a cryin bb when all the things u did liao, n they still cry. Dont stress urself, but am glad tat u share this with us. Hope u r feeling better.

Loh,
For panadol, get those pink syrup one frm pharmancy. Dun understd y ur PD dun giv u to play safe. Last time my elder one, went kkh for jab, they give a bottle to standby n tell me oni giv when bb's temp was more than 38.3... Stupid to listen n my gal tat time really hit tat... This time, i'll giv immediately to prevent my bb frm havin fever..

chatty

using spoon instead of shaking also reduces the air trapped inside,so that baby don't get so much wind.tip from an auntie.

ocean

she does colour treatment after rebonding i thinking.but u'll have to ask her...(haha i should claim advertising fee from grace!)

hmm haha will be nice if baby is efficient rather than impatient..see what she's like when she grows up.think will be quite interesting to tell her in future what she was like when she's a baby;-)

Cola,
u startin work on mon? Me too...
Sianz.. need to wake up at 530am n leave hse at 630am so tat hb can drive us to my mum hse to "deposit" my 2 gals! So early...

Chatty,
Think only left u n i not paid cos Mesh mentioned tat she already paid ytanhn liao. Nebermind, we can hv some fishhead curry if ytanhn decided to hang fishhead. Hahaha..

O, u better rest well n recover fast fast k.

leooh,
I called grace but since my home is in jurong she will prefer me go to her home in jurong west which is also salon.. she told me the addy, I asked her to sms me the addy but till now havent smsed.. our appt supposed to be next tue at 2pm.. but dont have addy how to go
-birdnest head momma

nining

well it'd be easier for her to wash ur hair,and no need to sweep the hair up if u're at her place;-)so u'll be mei mei next tue too!then we'll be spaghetti mummies haha!

leooh,
there's no way I can be mei mei, too fat and too old hahaha.. but definetely will be easier in the eyes kekeke

ocean: thanks! but 100packs of ebm will only last my bb 9days so have to work harder...hehe

chatty: thanks. i still prefer to buy new pump as i think some diseases are air borne so it is possible the bacteria or viruses may stay inside the motor pump which may contaminate the bm.will look out for the sale at the places u have mentioned.