(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

lilyn: Agreed

An_gal: PD says that not every one poos every day. ZQuite normal to do it once in 3 days...

Nining: Baby doesn't need to learn to lift his head, its something that happens naturally as he develops. Therapy is needed only if he doesn't do it at all...in which case must also check if he's lacking in other areas.

hi pst

yep. i find the book quite useful. i used to read " what to expect when u r expecting". that series really help me alot so i bought this 1st year thingie.

i thk we sometimes stress ourselves up with bm. i nearly went into post natal depression during my confinement becos of that. cos i keep stressing myself that i must give baby breast milk. but as i learn to relax n let go at the advice of my frds, i find that my supply increase. so fret not, the most feed your baby with fm. i grew up drinking fm n i am ok overall. : )

Jang,

I bought the hygiene kit from states. I just upgrade my Ameda pump to a used Avent Isis Duo(pump is bought in May but only used for 3mth+), I bought it at $370, its much stronger and faster..can clear my both breast within 10mins. Thats Y I'm selling away the extra kit which I dont think I will be using. Anyone intrested can let me know.

Ocean/garfield,

I also adjust my pumping time a few wks before I start work, now I'm back to work liao...I will pump 6.30am in the mrng, thn in office I will pump at lunch ard 1pm thn rush home to pump ard 6.45pm and thn last ard midnite. Each pump can get ard 10oz+/-.

An-gal,

My gal now poo only once a week after I gv her total EBM. As advise by doctors, as long as baby stool is not hard, its not consider constipation and thy can dont poo for as long as 10dys, thats consider normal.

cola...

congrats, finally yr supply is up...I told U to stay relax and stress free..it will be better for sure.

chatty,
do take care of ur hands n b careful in future, don gan cheong, cos i notice tat with baby, the more gan cheong, the more we cant get tings done..

cin,
totally agree with u on bf, my confinement oso stress by my mil abt bf until i cry n cry.. now immune liaoz.. jus giv wat i hav haha..

nining
that's the fridge i want!! i've been looking for it and cant find it in store with store front. if you look at ebay and yahoo, there are some cute designs too, one in the shape of an egg. :p

this hello kitty fridge would be cute for my girl.

the mini fridge is good for office or home, but will be hard to carry it around when you go shopping with no electricity! haahaa still need a fridge to go for going out.

hi ah gal,
u r a sahm too rite?

helo ladies
for those who r sahm, how do u spend your days? i am really not used to it. initially when i work, i thot it would be great to be a sahm. but now that i have resigned, i feel so bored! contradicting rite?

on one hand, i am busy with baby but bored cos my life seems to revolve around baby n hubby. every afternoon for the past 2 weeks, i feel that my life is feeding, bathing baby n then in the evening wait for hubby to return. now to thk abt it, i m not sure if i make the rite choice in resigning.

so what do u all normally do? i thk i feel this way is becos i m cope up in the house eversince i gave birth till now that i yearn my freedom. but of cos i still love my little boy. : ) no doubt abt that.

sunbloom,
i heard of tat too...but i m now trying leooh's method of using gripe water...will monitor and see how..

chatty,
ya i tink so too..i put ru yi oil and she farted a lot..y'day nite was hell too..she refused to sleep till we use the bouncer and rock her to sleep..usually her right after her last nite feed, she will doze off but dunno wat went wrong y'day until 1+am...n shw woke up ard 5+ for milk den sleep and 8+ for milk again. play for while and doze off till almost 12...changing her pattern again...

inu

read that it is better to intoduce FM to bb gradually rather then completely. which means change one BM feeding to FM for a few days then to 2 feeding then 3 feeding and so on.
and wow, that is so brave of u to bring bb out alone. do update us on ur outing.

mommies who give partial FM to bb, it is stated on the tin that content has to be discarded 4 wks after opening. do u follow so strictly??
cos i have the intention of feeding my bb FM once a day, so that when i go out i will feed FM instead of EBM(very difficult to find water and heat the cold EBM) then i think i will not be able to finish within 4 wks.it will be such a waste to throw.

Adeline,
U have lots of ss leh.. So u pump 4 times a day? Given these two days trying to make adjustment, i think i properly end up with only 2 pump per day at 12pm in the noon and nite time ard 11pm-12mn.

I cant pump at 6.30am cos at ard 6:20am, i need to start to go to my mum's place to leave my BB and gal there. So, now am considering mayb i shld go office earlier (start work at 8:30am n pump in the mrng). Am plan to pump at lunch ard 12-1pm and ard 7-8pm....

Urghh.... dun noe how lah, nxt wk start work liao still figuring... My target is to leave office latest by 7pm. Hope i can make it after i start work cos i used to stay as late as till 11pm...

Chatty,
What a bz morning for u. Guess everyone of us have a BIG "low" day. River jus had hers when the stroller give way... It is really a shock to me when i read it like from a far away story, but yet this happen to someone so close to us. Then Ng's BB din let mummy rest, etc... Hope ur hand r better.

An-gal,
thot is expected if on FM, bb dun poo everyday. Tat time me dun noe read what books, n it says BB on BM poo everyday, and she did poo everyday, but after her 1 mth, she din. So... hahhaa... the rest is history!
Lucky, u not super KS like me. Since it is common for 10days no poo, dun worry as long as poo is not hard. Maybe ur BB absord every single nutrients inside the FM, so got nothing to poo lor!

Abt BM,
Agree with lilyn tat being a mum is SOOOO much more than giving milk! Afterall, we r not COW mah!
Hahaha....

Talking abt being <font color="0000ff">COW</font>, me going mooing liao... Still wish i can jus press my breast, and out came all the BM. No need to pump and it take only a few sec... \clipartcrazy}

Nining, Jete, do u think the mini fridge can hold 2 ameda bottles with funnel? Pigeon can, that's why I bought it.

cin, I'm not sahm, but now during my ML, I watch tv and read books while feeding and pumping. Othertimes, log in here, sleep or do housework...my brains already beginning to atrophy liao...by the time go back to work, gone already...

choco, when`I first started feeding FM, also gave once a day. Bought small tin, and finish in less than 3 weeks...

Thanks Ocean. Ran out of ice, so now thumb is covered with toothpaste...butv less painful than before...

Agree with Lilyn too! R/ship with baby and our mental health more impt.

Chatty,

U interested in the hygiene kit? I'm selling the set at S$100. It consist of 2x4oz bottle, 2tubings, 2 funnels, 2 top white caps, 2 bellows, 2 white valves, the tube connectors and also comes with a manual handle that work as a manual pump, its 100% new. you are not able to get this set in Singapore. If you buy from mums in mind, thy are only selling the parts seperately and notice thy only sell bellows, valves and the funnels only and its more costly that way. Let me know if U are interested or else I will just put up for auction in yahoo.

An-gal,

If yr baby is on formula, thn make sure baby hv enough plain water in between to prevent constipation. If baby is mostly on EBM...thn its like wht I tell U, thy can dun poo up to 10dys as advise by PD, as long as their poo is nt hard, its ok.

Ocean

yeah, I pump 4x a day...initially I pump every 3hrs during 1st few weeks and notice nt much milk..thn slowly I adjust to 4-5hrs...supply go up...thn last month I started to adjust to my work schedule..I pump from 5-7hrs....sometimes 5hrs I alrdy pump which only hv 220mls..if I pump at 7hrs, I can yield between 240-280mls+/-.
U better try to adjust...dont wait till U start work, it will go hirewire...

Adeline, Alternatively, I'll be in town tomorrow afternoon or where do u live. I live in Upper Bukit Timah...if posting to me, let me know cost of postage.

Ocean,

U will be surprise U knw...really can use hand to express leh...2dys back, my store powerpoint got faulty...I got panic...as I was half naked on top and as I check the powerpoint, my bobs start leaking like tap...I got no choice but to use hands to express my stone hard boobs...takes me half an hour to clear both boobs...and out came over 10oz of milk which fill up the avent 260mls bottles over the 260mls marks and nearly touches the caps. I was shock that I could do that also...but my hands aches lor..bo pian...

Chatty,

where will U be in town? I am working in raffles plc, I thk its better to self collect. if I post it..it should be parcel post cost I scared thy will break it. U can SMS me at 97696081, so confirm U taking? Thn I will bring it along with me tomrw.

Adeline,
I hand express b4 for my 1st one. At the end, express for almost 1hr, only yield half of wat i pump using machine. So not goin to tire my hand.
But u super... Envy again!!
REcently i been envyin lots of mum here! Think i got pre-work blues!

Hi Adeline: I'll be in Orchard Road for a haircut and urgent shopping tomorrow afternoon. Maybe I'll see if I can take the train down to Raffles Place MRT afterwards. Wat time will u finish work, so I can arrange my appt?

Halo mummies, managed to get a nap while he's napping. My gal is with my mum now, so got a bit of time.

Seems like all of the wking mums here are starting to go bk work gradually liao. sianz....mine in 2weeks time. Also need to do something to my hair and get some new clothes. hopefully can find some time in the nxt 2weeks before i start wk. dun wan to go bk office looking like siao cha boh. but go bk looking GOOD!

Mummies, how much seems like so many of u need to get mini fridge or fridge-to-go bag? ur office no fridge meh? Wat i do is to leave a tupperware box in the office fridge. will leave the bottles of ebm there. after wk, transfer to cooler bag and head hm.

adeline: i envy ur ss!!! so much milk!!! sigh...i shld learn to let go and not be stress abt milk ss. i am really working hard to bf my bb and really hope i can bf him for 1yr. sometimes i really wonder what is the real reason for me to really want to bf my bb? i think hor, my real reason is because pple can bf their bb for at least 1yr and i wan to follow suit too. *SIGH* ...peer pressure

adeline: i am going back to work in 2 weeks time, so shld i start to adjust to my working schedule now? or shld i start 1 wk later?
me intend to pump 4hrly during office hr.

hi garfield

no lah, i thk u r a great mother. bf reallt takes up alot of time. its your love for your baby that makes you have the intention to bf your baby for 1 year.

Garfield, i agree with Cin. U are a VERY hardworking mother. I'm impressed that u actually set alarm clock for ur pumping session! For me, i wait for engorgement to wake me up. if not, i will most likely sleep thru. hehe

Let's all try to contd bf. aim at 6mths first. now we are already half way thru! if can contd frm 6mths, then it's a bonus! If really can't, the FM nowadays also got alot of gd stuff in it. i'm sure our babies can grow up well too!

Jete,
am thinking to get that mini fridge this weekend, but will check up yahoo auction first..

Chatty,
if you have 2 can of soda, can try line them up and put the ameda bottle-funnel next to it, see the measurement and agak2 from there..

Adelyn,
office has fridge,but too many stuffs there oredi. I also use space there for my HL milk so paiseh to hog it with EBM hehehe.. besdies if I buy the mini fridge, can put just under my desk and I will remember to bring home the EBM.. me v forgetful lately...

sunbloom,
hahaa.. i like ur description on ur hb..

cin,
i started chloe on play gym when she was ard 10 weeks old (although it's written for 3mths+). she doesn't reach out for the hanging toys yet, but she looks at them amazingly for around 10-15mins before 'crying' out for carry. Past week around the same timing, i 'upgraded' to playing nursery songs, sing to her, touch her & she can play for around half an hour, followed up with 1-2 minutes of tummy time which she never failed to cry for help..

Ocean/Nining,
dun mention... also gotta thank ocean for collecting too. btw, u may transfer to me via OCBC Savings 516-7-025120.

Chatty,
oh my... a series of unfortunate events for u.. do take care.

Woof,
Chloe sleeps yao lan in the day since she was around 8 weeks old.. I find it cooler & she can sleeps better too.

Re: BB Poo
Chloe is on TFM & she poo 1x daily around 10am-1pm.

Hi Adeline,

Yup my supply goes up. Since i am going back to work on Monday, think i will need to set time for pumping.
Maybe morning once, afternoon once, and around 6 pm. Lazy to pump midnite ler.. any suggestion or not?

Made up my mind will go buy electric pump, ameda. Hopefully can make good use of it

wah have a super tiring day bringing jaelynn out on my own. well, we went to vivo city to meet my 2 gfs n their bbies for lunch. the ride there was ok, i was driving while she sits in her car seat behind sleeping. she only wakes up when we reached and that's becos i hv to carry her out of the car seat. I sling her all the way..fed her at secret recipe using my nursing shawl (hmm i getting better at feeding her using the shawl, initially was quite awkward). then she fell asleep in my sling till i finished eating. then we went to coffee bean for decaf kopi n cheese cake, and she was sleeping too. after that, i hv to send one of my GF to raffles city to buy some stuff, i nursed her in vivo city carpark b4 weleave cos she fusses.
when we reached raffles city, she was quite cranky..fed her again the in the carpark then she poo BIG one. changed her in the car front seat..haa...funny position but no choice..cos she really poo a lot. then sling her to walk ard in raffles city. cos she started to be cranky..guess she wanted to sleep. after a while she did fell asleep..then i went to pick up hubby from work..and she still sleeping in the car seat. so my whole outing is like that..er..i would considered that she quite well behaved today. in fact, she didnt eat much n i kinda worried and sleep so much. i think hor, bbies really like to be carried and walk ard..they can sleep a lot when llike that.

anyway now my back aching cos of slinging her whole day. next time i must try putting her in stroller..:p..it actually not too bad bringing her out alone but dun bother abt shopping..cant do much.

now i just fed her again .changed her to PJ..and just finished puttign her to sleep. she prob will wake up for her night feed at 12 plus..

inu,
i read somewhere that babies like to be carried for a walk cos it reminds them whrn they were still in the womb..

wow inu!!!
amazing leh! i admire your courage to bring your baby out alone. i still dun have the courage to do that.esp the thought that he cry when i drive.u used the sarong sling or the littlepod sling? was it comfortable for baby?

Mums,

Thanks for the info..At least I know its not strange my baby has this black butt... Cause u see the MamyPoko commercials the baby butt is skin color really makes me wonder how come my baby butt is blue black..

Any mums using Friso. I got a free can and thinking of changing cause find it cheaper and the supplier can sell me Buy 5 get 1 free...Find it a good deal but worry its not good,..

Anyone can also tell me how do we know if baby is not suitable when we change the fomulae milk...

hi ytanhn
thanks for sharing. i have the toys that u mentioned too. but i tot my son doesnt like to play so i didnt bother. cos like yours, he will cry to be carried if i put him down on the play gym.

everynite without fail during the nitefeed, i will sing to him. i thk from my son's prospective, he must be thking who is this mad woman with messy hair n awful voice waking him up to feed him n change is diaper. sometimes i seriously thk he cannot recognise me at nite. cos my hair will be in a mess n i only wear my auntie glasses at nite. trying to keep myself awake so i sing until i croak while my head keep nodding from left to rite.

your daughter call chloe? i love this name. i already told my hubby that i will call my child chloe if its a gal.

cin

i always worry abt whether baby will recognise me without my glasses.i'm different from you,i'm in auntie hairstyle and auntie glasses most of the time unless i go out.haha.

so today i took off and put on again while playing with her.haha

an_gal/woof/chatty

took enci to the PD today.he said gripe water is just peppermint so okay to give her once everyday.i dilute one teaspoon with 40ml of water.since uits sweet she usually finish it too.

and i checked with him,he said the white thing on her tongue is not thrush but milk.no harm cleaning it using gripe water,but not necessary too.to check whether its thrush,look into the mouth and see whether its white where the cheeks are,and the roof of the mouth too.if its only at the tongue,not thrush.

an_gal

my gal is on TFM,she poos once every 2 days too.doc said if its not hard never mind.but good to train baby to poo every morning.lift her legs and put our one hand at the feet so that she can push against it(child-bearing position),and then massage the intestines position(its the lower left corner of baby's tummy)so that it irritates the intestines and make her want to poo.tried just now but nothing leh.think needs to do it everyday for effect lah.

Ng

i brought enci back to kinderclinic.will be going there for the jab as well,cos i think Dr Lim is really quite good.reassuring,very gentle voice,takes time to explain and answer my questions,gentle to my baby as well.(haha he said she was cute.MIL very proud of that!err...me too la)so i think i don't change la.expensive also bo-bian.i just have to work to earn the money back;-)

chatty
thanks for the review on the pigeon fridge to go, guess i wont be buying that. hubby preferred the pigeon one originally cos he said it didn't look like carrying a fridge around, he thinks the fridge to go as a fridge look. my fren bought this fridge to go and tested it. she said she put 3 cans into it and by evening it was not icy cold but still cold.

i knew the ameda pump was cheaper in the US but quite troublesome since the voltage will be different. didn't know it was by playtex though.

i am eyeing a crib selling at robinsons. went there last sunday to buy it and the salesperson told me there will be a nursery sale around the 26th of this month. this time around the sale was quite annoying as some items were on sale and some were not. have to ask them one item at a time if it was on sale.

have you used more than one tin of enfalac? could it be just that tin? i on the 3rd tin and haven't encountered any problem dissolving it.