(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

hmm..I what i know is that once your ss is established that even if u pump only 3 times a day your total output will still be the same thats y usually 1st few months must be very hardworking to make ss high then once establish, when we go back to work pump 3 times a day (before gg to work, at work and after work) enuf liao...

Wah,,ur ss 120ml/3hrs not high meh? Mine used to be 40ml/3hrs leh...really damn pathetic lor...

Ivy,
I live at punggol field.how abt u? Hmmm, which part of sengkang is ur PD located? are u takg 5 in 1 or 6 in 1? How much does it cost?

I thought you say now you are abt 150/ml? Now still able to match my gal's drinking amt..but scared once I go back to work full time, then ss will drop..coz i heard tat's usually the case ah..

now can match her volume also coz my GP says to let her only drink 120 even though she's quite a big bb..at birth she's 3.6kg..now she's 6kg..coz my CL overfeed her during her 1st mth (there were times when she gave her 150ml/2-3hrs!!!) Now say already still angry...haha..but that's another long long story...

Yah...now my ss has increased lah..but last time very little.. Your bb born at 3.6kg..my boy was born at 3.878kg! haha! this week then I started giving him 100ml per feed...

jete,
no problem..did dr wong did pap smear test for u during the review? she did for me todae....after tat given a contraceptive booklet..haha..oso given an appt after 1 yr for pap smear again....

leeoh,
wa..i tink i still very tradition hor..still use cotton balls and water...

An_gal, today i buy again, sponge hair curler S$6.90 (don't even hv time to go for a proper hair do so tot if this works, it might be good if i need to go for wedding dinner or function) and slimming pants S$30.00 (my fats just don't seems to go away so buy to try). Good excuse rite.
Oh! i stay at punggol central, the orange block, near to the punggol mrt station.

Mel, me punggol central, the orange block. your blk is 20something rite? my old unit is at punggol field blk 204C.
Kids clinic at rivervale mall. We opt for 6in1, S$440 (incl assessment). More ex than GP, GP only S$306 but this does not include assessment.

Jete, I also have the combi highchair, tot very gd and my bb like it so much when we bring her to try. Who noes after we buy back she doesn't want it anymore, will just use it as a highchair. We just bought her fisher price link-a-doos... she like it more than the combi. Think because there are toys attached to the link-a-doos but no toys for the combi.

leooh,
dunno ler, never use the wipe b4, but heard got goood review la.

pst,
my stool is same wif my bb...haha...yellowish

Re laosai,
My MIL was so gancheong when i told her i laosai...not bcoz she worried abt me, is bcoz for his grandson goodness seek. She asked me quicily go see doctor, dunno later will affect the bm or not if i got food poisoning....

Jete,
I went to see NUH PD this mornning, she also said must not let bb sleep more than 5hr, must wake him up for feeding even on demand feeding at nite

Loh,
ur BB jaundice not clear yet? thought mine was the longest. only cleared last week.. PD say no ginger, no chinese herbs in my food. then i bath him in the chinese herbs for 5 days, he got better...

i use wet tissue to wipe my bb's backside after he poo but hor i think shld use cotton balls and water at home to save money. shld use the wet tissue only when outside. but my MIL dun wan to use cotton balls. she LOVES to use wet tissues. in fact, she always wet tissue to clean anything!!! she even knows where i keep the extra packets of wet tissue!!!! so angry...*SIGH*.can't wait to move out as soon as possible!

jang,
i feel itz cleaner coz something like wash wif water...

garfield,
i haf the same thot too..use wet tissues outside..at home can use water....let her be lah...close both eyes lor..

RE: laosai
my bowels were loose too during my confinement...den my CL said tat shldnt be..coz wat i eat are heaty stuff..if loose bowels mean tat i m not absorbing well the nutrients from the food....

woof: yah lor...i have been closing 1 eye lor...
my bowel also loose during confinement. it is because i underwent c-section and hence tummy will have a lot of wind. so naturally, bowel will be loose and i tend to fart a lot too.

Ya, i think use cotton balls better coz the wipes always hv the chemicals..not gd to keep using..

anyway, juz wanna chk w you ladies if anyone gain weight after giving birth ah? I gained abt 20kg during my pregnancy..and now even though i'm breastfeeding i've gained abt 3kg in this mth..wanna faint liaoz...alamak..

lena: u ate a lot of good stuff izzit? i gained a total of 16kg during the pregnancy and now i still have 6kg more to lose. I think all the fats are on my buttocks & tummy cos i can't fit into my pre-pregnancy bottoms. however, i can fit into my pre-pregnancy tops without any problem, even for tight-fitting S size tops. so have to work harder on my tummy and buttocks

Adeline,
are you around? last week my Ameda pump, one side suction bad, now both side suction really bad. I turn on full power still very weak, guess both the valve need change? Want to check if i should buy the funnel and membrane to standby also? i think i should be ordering from MIM, cannot wait le. The manual pump is even better then my dual pump now

Me too fart alot these days. Bowels juz resume back to normal these few days. Confinement days always constipated, after dat was dark and lose. Not sure why though. Now seems more normal.

Mummies, did all of u went back to gynae as appointed for pap smear? thinking whether to go back or go to GP will do?

Me using wet tissues coz sometimes, Nic can poo alot, then kena the whole bum. Just tried Angelwipes. i find it gd leh. Though not as wet as Pigeon ones, it's soft . Leooh, abt the "pulling out sheets" prob, i know wat u mean. Pigeon ones doesn't hv dat prob rite, Angelwipes also doesn't hv dat prob. can pull out sheet by sheet. i tried johnson one before, v mafan, always 2-3 sheets come out together.

Pst, i think we can still eat raw food leh while bf-ing. last time preggie got to avoid coz scared contaminate bb. i only know shd avoid liquor n caffine if poss. most impt, healthy diet. for me, i also take multivitamins, fish oil, iron pill, calcium pill as supplements daily.

lena my gynae not the same as urs.. heeee mine is dr chong

woof: i use cotton pad (those that we use to remove makeup) and warm water to clean backside. only when outside then i use wipes.

abt stools:
i think in the beginning the stools were soft due to the laxative the gynae prescribed, after that its back to normal. But i still fart alot nowadays

woof,
in the beginning, i used wipes. very xiong. and its not very effective in cleaning the butt, especially the dried poop. then i read someone using water and cotton. since then switched to that.

lena:

i gained abt 17kg before delivery. Till now, didn't gain any weight. left with 4-5kg to lose. TBF also.

You must be eating alot of good food.. hee

garfield, no lehz..i dun tink i ate a lot la...haha..hmmm, i gained 20kg, then in the 5/6th week after my delivery, i lost all liaoz..then today i weigh..alamak, 3 kgs more..now can wear all my pre-preg clothes already...plus some that clothes tat b4 preg cant wear now also can..but if now i grow steadily at 3kg/2weeks, then v.fast hv to dig into my preg clothes again..haha..

Re: angel wipes
-- are they really good plus cheap ah? If yes, then i wanna try too...Anyway, i juz bought the pampers wipes tat come in a box..my MIL says next time put the wipes into the box, then pull out easier ah? Also dunno if tat's true...

Jang
-- Your ameda pump spoil already? Can you sent it for repair? I'm using Medala PIS now..but tinkin of buyg a 2nd one to put in office..stil considering bet another PIS or a ameda (since i'm going to get the handsfree kit, so if buy ameda cheaper)

Lena, not sure if pampers wipes is the same size as Pigeon? I'm using the Pigeon wipe dispensor for the Angelwipes, fits nicely.

I didn't gain weight but losing it seems, maybe coz of bf-ing. gained abt 10kg during preggie, lose 6kg after preggie. now resume my preggie size liao.

Aiyoh, didn't log on for one day and suddenly this thread is so active. If I miss answering anybody, pls let me know...

Adelynn,
$285 is the full package price. My hb's colleague did advise us that babies who take the 6-in-1 will tend to have fever (because there are more vacines in 1 jab). However, babies will take the least no. of jabs (only 3 to complete the course) if they go for 6-in-1 jab.

pst,
I'm a June 05 bride. I did post frequently in S'pore brides but don't think we've chat before there.

I'm so happy. My mum came over to help look after bb yesterday and I went out for my facial. I even managed to buy a new top! I lost all my preganancy weight and a little more by the 2nd week of confinement. But that's mainly because I only put on 5kg for this pregnancy. Now, I need to do toning exercises esp for my abs coz they look really flabby.

Re: Baby wipes vs Cotton
I use both. The wipes are good when it's messy. For cotton balls, I gave up buying the ready balls. It's too costly. I buy an entire roll of cotton wool and make my own cotton balls.

I gained like 21 kg during pregnancy. my gynae says I top her chart liaoz - I hv the biggest weight gain amongst all her patients! *pengz* hahaha... hb told her that she shd have a plaque with my name on it on her office wall then. hahahhaa... have now about 9kg to go to pre-preg weight. hope to lose more though, coz had gained weight before I was pregnant and wanna lose those too!

lena you lost all the weight, then only now put on 3kg? so net net you only have 3 kg more to lose lah? okay lah very good already, dun complain lah...

those using cotton pad/balls and water to clean bb backside - when bb shit a lot, then you must use a lot of cotton pads/balls then? isn't that tedious.

lena, have you tried the ameda lactaline before? if so, how issit compared to your PIS? am thinking if I shd get a dual pump for office when gg back to work. am using Avent manual now, which frankly speaking is serving me quite well. but tried PIS before and it is really very gentle! is it true that you can yield more with a PIS?

wah since angelwipes doesn't have the pull-out-one-at-a-time problem, then I probably wanna give it a try too. yeah the Johnson&JOhnson one so irritating - a few keeps coming out at a time, expensive too, and I find the material a bit plasticky.

Re: Ameda vs PIS
-- Honestly i hvnt tried the ameda before so i really cant comment on much ah..my first pump is the PIS already, so i also dunno how true is it when pple say tat PIS can yield more ah..been using that since e beg..hehe..but i would tink that a dual pump is better bah..coz saves more time... As for gentleness of PIS, you can adjust the suction ah..but i usually turn to the min can liaoz..

anyway, to conclude, tat's y i'm thinkin if my 2nd pump shld b a new ameda plus the handsfree stuff($320) or another new PIS ($499) or a 2nd hand PIS (which is abt $300). Coz my first one is a 2nd hand model and cost me $320...i thot it's quite worth it

Re: Cotton balls w water
-- i find it easier to use them as compared to wipes coz for a very big big biz, then can juz squeeze more water on the cotton, then the poo comes out pretty easily...

pst, like you i also gained weight even before i got preg...haha..so i'm also hopin that i can lose more ah..was initially very happy when i lost all...tink i got too complacent and started eatg more..tat's y the extra 3kg..haha...

eooh,
let us know after u use the angel wipes. but 21 packs + 14 small packs is realli alot man, i still hav supply at hm but after finishing may consider if angel wipes is ok, cut cost hehe... however, if buy so much n keep dono will it dry up or not..

woof,
realli.. hehe thks for informing.. i shall c whether is still there wen i had 2nd one keke..

as for cleaning, i use wipes leh.. but if bb poo, i use wipes to clean the poo liaoz and bring him wash his buttocks, felt tat is cleaner..

mel,
ur baby looks like eurasian, r u or hubby eurasian?

lena,
welcome
mi too stay in sengkang.. which part u stay, scarly we r neighbours..

ivy,
shop online again :p control control hor :p

garfield,
my mil opp leh, she say use wet tissue waste $$ cos if bb poo, i use alot man...

Hi Ivy
me also bring bb to the kid's clinic at rivervale mall. Is your bb seeing Dr Lilian Lim or Dr Allyson Tan? Brought my bb there this afternoon to see Dr Lim for the 6-in-1 jab. Signed up for the package also. Also think it is quite expensive lor.

Loh
my bb is now 6 weeks+ and we actually tried feeding him 150ml at 9.30pm last night and he slept till 5am this morning to drink again. when we talked to the PD about the sleeping hrs, she said as long as bb is more than 2 weeks old, it is all right for them to sleep for more than 5 hrs as long as we have fed bb enough.

if my bb poo a lot , i use tissue paper to put over the whole buttock to clean up the wetness. then use cotton pads and water to clean lor. then use anoter tissue paper to wipe dry but i must say that wipes are easier and faster.

anyone wan to share buy the angel wipes??
i stay serangoon...

i use the pigeon wet tissue like toiler paper. finish the 6 packs in a mth..... siong

i dun mind sharing ah..hee...

this 2 days got high fever...so cant go near bb..felt so sad...esp so jealous when MIL kept playg w her or feeding her...alamak...mixed feelings

i scared later she also got fever lor..coz my fever quite high lehz..reach 40 deg last nite...initially wanted to wait til mornin then go c doc, but hb says muz go hosp immediately, so went to CGH...arrgh, only 1 person in front of mi and i had to wait for an hr!

Leooh, thanks. Problem is that Im using a Macbook and I dont have photoshop, although I have iPhoto. H/w, I can't seem to find this function in iPhoto...Anyone has any idea?

Woof: Ive been using wet wipes, but recently my mum and aunt asked me to use cotton with water as its easier to reach the crevices

Ng(Adelyn): No choice lorI cannot tell them not to come as theyre all relativesso I just have to make do.

Jete: Wow! I didnt know that there were so many models of PISmust check it up tomorrow. Ive actually tried both PIS and Avent Isis Duo at Parentcraft, as I had mild engorgement during my hosp stay and Mrs Wong sent me down to pump out the milk. Her asst let me try one of each simultaneously. I prefer the PIS because after 2 mins stimulation, it starts pumping and the milk actually flows out, the Avent Duo just stimulates for a really long time but very little milk comes out. The Avent Duo is gentler and more comfy though but not as effective as the PIS. The lady told me that Caucasians prefer Avent Duo because they like the longer stimulation, but Asians prefer the PIS because of the quicker pumping actionmaybe Asians have less time to sit and wait for the milk to come out : )

Thanks. Will check out Sneakys thread too. If u know how to edit photo to correct size using iPhoto, it would be a great help...

Lena Soon: Sob, sob. I gained 15kg during pregnancy, and I'm still 10kg overweight with water retention in both feet 2 months after delivery...

chatty,
hi there fellow mac user! u can edit photos in iphoto using export function, under file export..just make the file quality not as good i suppose? altho size wise sometimes it doesn't fit the specs of this site

Wow, today thread very active and my PC was down since yesterday evening till now. Hubby finally managed to temp fix it and let me use for a while.

Abt the BCG.
Yap, mine was on the arm by KKH jab on the second day of birth. Currently got abit of swollen and reddish. But no need to bother since it is normal and according to KKH, will take max 3mths to clear.

Abt weight gain
Think i gain abt 10kg during pregnancy. But as I was already fat after the delivery of my elder gal, the 10kg was gone plus another 2kg. So i still need to loose another 5kg, if possible. Tummy still very flabby...

Abt BM ss
My ss remain at min 150ml to 250ml per pump (base on 2 breast) at an interval of 7-8hours pump. Total i need to use about 20mins to 40mins for both side as using Medela Mini, so can only pump one side each time. However, think is better to pump one side and rest the other cos i found out that after few mins of rest, the breast will produce abit more milk. Hehee..
Bad thing abt pumping one side only is tat it really takes longer time... Imagine 40mins of pumping for both breast (20mins each).. Am i taking too long?

Choc, i heard if got fever, can spread to BB. So better not go near BB.

inu,
I was told by NUH PD today tt still can take 5-in-1 for my bb as he is 5weeks now. But dun recomment to wait too long for the jab.

jang,
hav to go back to NUH for jaundice blood test again next week. Luckily got referral letter fr polyclinic, if not the bill v ex. Tried sugar cane, herb bath, sun bath....jaundice still there.

Re Angal wipe,
Think expiry date is 2009....am using 100sheets per week when bb was 1 month old...hmm, may be now bb older, poo lesser, hope can reduce the usage.

Remembered first time bb poo and leaking, the poo stained on the cloth diaper which i used to wrap him, i so scared of the shits and straight away throw the cloth nappy, dun even want the wash it...but now not scare anymore as bb poo so frequent, hahaha. immuned liao

inu
yeah, we think we are quite lucky but we had our stretch of frustration. when she was sleeping for 5 hour stretch, the 5 hour is nice, but she was sleeping from 5am onwards. so from 1am-5am she was wide awake. only starting 7w then start to sleep earlier and longer.

woof
she did the pap smear at my 6w appt. so i wont see her until next year for the next pap.

loh
dont know leh. the pd i went to said it's ok to let bb sleep through the night. she has her own clinic at mt e but i believe she's a prof at NUS.

jang
you can go down to the distributor and buy it from them straight away. my friend just went to them yesterday and bought the pump and valve (stand by).