(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

garfield
salmon sashimi helps but not by a whole lot. how often do you eat it, and how soon after do you see the effect?

Puppygal: It is very impt to sterilize bottles. My baby had milk thrush in his mouth when I didn't sterilize properly...use a steam strerilizer. Boiling is actually the best, but one o my avent bottle melted when it touched the side of the pot...

piggyb
mind me asking how much you're getting per day? i'm exclusively pumping and my ss does go up every week but by very very little. it'll stay around the same (just go up slightly every week) for a few weeks then i'll see a bigger jump. i noticed this pattern for my pumping and ss.

lilyn
i cant find the packaging cos took it out to wash more than 3 months ago. i'll ask hubby if he knows where it is later, we may have tossed it already.

Hi leooh! I missed all of you too...I've been so busy, as my parents went on holiday to Tibet last 2 weeks, and I had to manage the baby on my own most of the time...on top of that I had guests from M'sia and USA staying with me throughout the 2 weeks and with more coming this weekend...sigh!

ng/looh
please share your review on the wipes after you use it for a while. pigeon is good but expensive, we're going through them like crazy.

settes/an_gal

i called steven for the angel wipes already,his number is 81387434 as given by Loh.he'll be delivering the wipes to me tomorrow morning.ordered 21 packs ($42) so that have free delivery and free 14 small packs.

will share half with my bro since SIL delivering in Jan already.but its a lot!!!will use and see how,since must use everyday one.

and haha i asked him about the pulling sheets out problem.he said its common for all brands which are not in boxes.and there's a technique for pulling sheets,just pull at the side.will try and see how.

settes
my girl sleeps on her back with both hands up, like surrendering.

pst
my poop was like that for a long time after my c, maybe a month. after that back to normal.

chatty

no wonder so long never see you,sounds really busy!u take care ok!share your baby's photos when u have time..

chatty
i've tried fish soup, fenugreek, milk tea, dont seem to have any significant increase. my ss does increase but by very little, for example last week's avg vs the previous week is 0.25oz more only.

everyone i know who have the mini electric dont think it's good. i like the lactaline ok, find it as good as the swing except it saves me time for dual pumping. my letdown is faster now but not sure if that's due to the pump or just progress since once we pump longer, the letdown should come faster. yeah the swing just takes up too much time but it is a good pump. i thought of selling it but hubby said to keep it for travel or if we're at my mom's or bro's place.

if i didn't buy the swing, i may have consider the avent duo, cos it has a hospital grade pump. since i've already dropped $320 on the swing, i didn't want to spend another $799 on a 2nd pump. mainly decided on the lactaline cos of the good reviews and the price tag.

Angelwipes contact:
Steven 81387434 /[email protected]
If u juz want to get a pack to try, departmental stores like John Little shd hv.

Leooh, the rates that i chk is mainly for 5-in-1 leh. anyway, i will e-mail to u. u roughly can agar agar which is more ex.

jete

i tried attaching the video,but its 27.6MB no wonder cannot.teach me some way to shrink it?or is there some place i can place online?my hubby's laptop is a ibook...any software for shrinking the video's size?

lilyn
found!
small
7 - 14lb
19" - 26"

large
15 - 22lb
26" - 30"

apparently i have the 100% cotton flannel one. it prob does have the slit at the back for car, i've never noticed it before.

garfield, does eating the salmon sashimi increase your ss by only the next pump, or for a few pumps at least? or best - permanently??? kekeke... am hungering for salmon sashimi already!

oh! is there anything we shouldn't be eating since we're breastfeeding? when I was pregnant, I thought that we wouldn't be able to eat raw food (sashimi, medium rare steak etc) - but now, seems like I don't see any written material that says that we can't eat that... so it's ok?

jete, you do hand expressing while pumping? isn't it a bit messy? or do u mean massaging? when I pump I massage the breasts, even then I find it a bit messy as the milk is on the breasts etc - so sticky and icky.

settes, yeah my baby sleeps like that too. well, I keep a close watch lor. my MIL not in favour, specially told my hubby that baby can't sleep like that. so when we go PIL house, we put Isaac sleeping face up. dunno how my MIL gonna cope next time, coz if she always put him face up, he wakes up more often - she is the one who shiong only.

also, can't recall which mummy was the one who mentioned it... but coz my bb likes to sleep on us too. So we usually carry him walk walk, rocking him to sleep (he must like that, can't sleep on his own), then when he's three-quarters asleep, we can sit down, then slowly lean back, and he's on our chest/stomach. then when he's 90 - 100% asleep, we transfer him to the bed - keeping him in the same position - which is face down. whenever we try to put him down face up, he'd wake up.

pst

jete: i tried the salmon sashimi once only and i feel engorgement soon abt 30mins later. but i not sure i got engorgement is due to the salmon sashimi or because i din pump for 5hrs. i always pump 3hrs regularly. so when i reached home after the sashimi which is already 5hrs interval, i can pump out 11oz. i think is because of salmon sashimi cos my 5hrs interval pump at nite doesn't yield 11oz, the most i got is only 8oz.
am trying the salmon sashimi this weekend to try again..hehe

pst: i used to pump 3-4oz/3 hr interval but eversince i ate the salmon sashimi i managed to pump 11oz/5hrs (immediately after the salmon sashimi) and then from then now, i can pump 5-6oz/3hr.
however, i have to ensure i have sufficient water and rest/sleep if not, my ss per pump will drop.

Leooh: I would love to post my baby pics online. Problem is that I don't know how to reduce the pic size even when using the editing software, so can't upload onto this website...sigh! Anyone can help?

Jete: Thanks for the review...u mentioned $799 for a pump, r u referring to the PIS? I'm considering that as it has stimulation, but the price is pretty steep. Cheapest place so far is Robinsons at $688, after 5% discount, and the $50 voucher I will get with the chops from purchasing it, it would cost about $603.60, which is still very expensive...I wanted to get a second hand one from parentcraft, but they don't have any in stock, just new ones that cost $754. Isetan is selling it at $738 with freebies...

As for guests, most mornings I just do what I need to do, such as breastfeeding baby etc, and they just need to entertain themselves...at night, when my hubby's back, I can entertain them more easily as he's able to help with the baby...

How do you hand express?

Last night's fish & papaya soup had wintermelon with skin added to it as well, so I'm not sure if that additional ingredient made a difference or not to my milk supply. We added the wintermelon in because 2 months on, I still have very bad water retention in my feet. It never went away after delivery, and in fact got worse, so much so that my toes hurt. My Chinese physician suggested wintermelon with skin to help with the water retention...

Adelynn

got the email,thanks heaps!!oh no,now i'm in a dilemna...dunno if i should go to singapore bb and child clinic at AMK central.heard good comments abt there too but its always so crowded.will ask hubby tonight...

btw u prefer us to call u Ng or Adelynn?

chatty

do you have photoshop?if so,open that file,then go to image-image size.then change the image width to somthing like 300,and it'll adjust accordingly.

then click okay,and save as a new file name.

see if it works?

wah within one morning so many posting heee

re te bor:

my mum call me that now..every thing when bb cry for milk while she is carryign, she will say..go find ur te bor for milk...but i ok la..cos my own mother ma. dun think my MIL will call me that ..we very polite to each other ..right now my mum is helping..think after i start work she will too.

re: dream feed

lilyn and jete, last night still dun work, again she woke up at 330am after i fed her at 12 am. think i will leave it as it is. put her to sleep at 9 pm, then see wat time she wants to wake up..then feed her, anyway she still less then 3 mths, maybe i too anxious to make her sleep thru at night liao..i must be more relax

but i wll also make sure that she will not sleep more then 3 hrs per nap in the day. in fact, tracy hogg say typically for bb 1-3 mth, they shld sleep 3 naps (1.5 hrs each nap) and 8 hrs at night..hmmm...

i got a feeling my ss went down, even when i dirct latch and pump only once at 12 am. dunno why... maybe cos of putting jaelynn on routine, so every time she only drink 1 side (at most 15 mins) evry 3 hrs. like not enough to simulate the breasts.

my ofc called me yday to tell me that i starting work on 12 nov...so fast..one more mth only. thinking how to get my mum to feed her frozen EBM..haiz..

die la..next fri my brother wedding, cant find anything to wear in my wardrobe now cos cannot fit in...haiz..need to go shop for someting to wear..but buy anything now also dun look nice ..cos my tummy still flabby le..sianz

tks leooh,
dats a lot 21 packs...gd value for money..if place too long..don noe will dry up cos i probably got no more to share wif..currently my pigeon ones oso finishing soon..so nid to quickly replenish!

jete,
saw Paige's postcard for dr wong pinned up at the waiting area...i like tat little pink t-shirt
oh ya, combi high chair is still display outside TMC pharamacy...if i rem correctly is $100+

an_gal,
ur foto wif dr wong was pinned up in her room...

u all use wet wipes to clean the bb? i use cotton ball wif water to wash her gential area leh..haven touch the wet wipes tat i bot...

Leooh, no worries, me oso dilemma now. coz need to go Kinderclinic for my gal. duno if shd do it for Nic as well since appt is fixed for both of them. If not, got to arrange another date to bring Nic for the jab with another PD.........headachez..
It's ok, Adelynn or Ng also can.
Yah, the AMK clinic is always so so crowded, guess location is centralised bah.

Chattypayling, u v "chin chai" hor. for me, i rather be alone with bb than with guests around in the house. Even with cf lady last time, i dun feel dat comfy. prefer to hv my own privacy esp need to bf.

Garfield, frozen milk is abit soapy one, also it smells more fishy. Chilled one no smell one but it's ok to take as long as it's not soured.

jete

i uploaded on tinypic and sent u the link already.but i tried to view the video and its so slow to view.hope u have better luck!

leooh
should be able to send by email leh, just that it'll take a long time to send. other ways.... if you upload to youtube, it should compress the video for you. must ask hubby abt it if still cannot.

Ng

then i call u Ng,cos fewer characters to type haha.
really headache,see how.i'll let hubby decide haha

woof

ya i use wet wipes.cos more convenient ma..

pst
sort of. as i'm pumping, i use my hands to press and push the milk toward the nip. no leh, not messy. whatever comes out goes into the supershield i'm using. it's just helping the pumping if i do the hand expressing motion.

jete

just realised,if i upload to tinypic and youtube,anybody can see the video right?oh no,then my baby is all exposed!(she's naked at one time...)

yahoo mail can send max 10MB's attachment...

chatty
i'm referring to the avent duo (i think that's what it's called?) as for the PIS.... there are 2 more popular hospital grade pump by medela, one is symphony and one is lactina. both of which you can rent from moms n babes. PIS has professional grade pump. PIS has 2 "models", one is advance and one is original. this original is a new original. last time there used to be an original but that one was discontinued and this is a new original. (is that confusing enough? :D) any way, PIS advance is the step down model of symphony, and PIS new original is the step down model of lactina. price wise original is $599 and advance $699. if you buy it from moms n babes, you get 10% using your FBI card. advance has the 2 min stimulation thingy that the swing has. if you have time, can go down to the moms n babes at united square, there is a shop lady there that is very knowledge about the diff models.

of all the pumps sold in stores, avent duo is the only one with hospital grade pump.

i'm not sure if it's what is considered hand express. i squeeze and push the milk towards the nip. think that's how you do it if you're hand expressing. i do it as i'm pumping but it's not easy with one hand, can end up breaking the suction. some times when i feel i have more clogged ducts, i'll seek for hubby's help. i can hold the bottle so prevent the suction from breaking and he can do the hand expressing motion.

what software are you using to resize. see if choco's thread helps.

how to?

if you're using photoshop, i can help you with it.

inu
slowly. i haven't really been following the book, just picking the book for ideas on certain things, like putting the bb to sleep. my bb used to sleep 4-5 hours stretch for a long time, started prob about 3w old. this past 2w then completely sleep through the night. last night fed her at 11.15pm. she fell asleep at 11.45pm and woke up this morning at 10.30am.

woof
hah? we got banished out to the waiting area? haahaa.

thanks for checking out the combi chair.

leooh
thanks! i'll check it out later and see if i can view it.

can choose to make it private or not?

i seldom use yahoo, didn't know they have a limit.

Harlow mummies...

Was wondering if i could join you all..have been reading this forum since i gave birth in aug but didnt post anythin coz didnt know how to register..only has the registered name now coz my hubby juz did it for mi...

today's the first time Im pumping and surfing the net! Yipee! This is what I call relaxation! For the past 1 week I always find it so hard to find time to punp cos eventough MIL around she's always bz w housework so Im always stuck w my boy so I end up pumping only like 2-3 times a day! but now I want to try to b hardworking and pump every 3 hrs again..

Re. Breastpump (Ameda)
I have to say that thanks to Hwei of Mumsfairy who came to guide me and help me adjust the supershields and handsfree..pumping is now a breeze! and I can pump for as long as 1hr and my nipples wouldnt feel sore at all!

Re. BM Supply
Good news! I have no idea what is the main reason but my ss has increased! it used to be 40 ml all the way even if I pump every 3 hrs but now i sometimes can get 120ml or at least 70ml per session.its not alot lah but at least better than b4! I've been drinking Frisomum milk,fenugreek seeds boiled in water and learining how to relax while pumping..ohhh!! right now Im pumping, I just realised I have 150ml already! hahahaha!! Woohoo!!! Oh! After pumping I will still hand express whatever remainder there is...

Re. Vaccination
Im getting worried..what this abt 6-in-1 having more deaths and more fever etc? Gosh...in this case should I let my boy take 5-in 1?but he missed his 2nd Hep B jab liao..cos I wanted to brg him for 6-in-1..how? Btw, who lives in Punggol? Where are u all bringing ur lil' ones to for jab?

Re.Sterilizing
I sterilise all the bottles,teats,pumping accessories after every use..is that very kiasu?haha!Plan to do this till my boy is 1 years old.

Re.Baby SLing
I need help! I dunno how to use the sling! How? The person tot me when I bought it at the motherhood fair but I forgot already...I bought mine from Moms'r'us..

Harlow Mel, my bb gal was born on the 12th aug @ Gleneagle...(natural w epidural)..so she's coming to 2mths liaoz...also breastfeeding her via pumping ah..but my supply not as much as you leh..hehe..now is abt 120ml/3hrs..sob sobz..juz enuff to cover her..will be meetg hwei also this sun to buy the handsfree kit and stuff..hopefully, wil make my pumpg session more enjoyable.haha.

Anyway, juz to check...how are you gals going to continue to pump 3hrly once you start wk ah? I've started working already..and the strange thing is if it's a 5hr gap, the amt is stil abt the same ah...

Oh ya, i lives in Sengkang...so i tink it's quite near punggol..hehe..i'm not seeing any PD..juz bringing my gal to my family GP...didnt hear him say anythin abt the 5-in-1 or 6-in-1..only took him for 2nd dose of hep b and i know tat there's another 2 jabs for oct and nov..

lena

jaelynn is also born on 12 aug at glen e le.. heee..they shared the same bday n place of birth. which gynae you use?

jete

ur bb 5 wks old can sleep thru liao...envy le.

mine coming 8 weeks this sun...still like that. i guess every bb differnt...i just let her use her own time to adjust i guess..

harlow inu...wat a coincedence! Haha...my gynae is Dr. Fong...i know that when he was delivering my gal tat day, he also has two other mothers...do you think we happen to have the same gynae too? haha...

H Mel, i stay at Punggol and i bring my bb to PD, Dr. Lilian Lim. Her clinic at Sengkang. My hb and I were deciding between GP and PD, finally we decide to go to PD.