(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

astro,
think u are right abt the 'hole' thing. just to look nice..coz i rem i use normal pan before..also okay..

jaxe, astro,
see.. even within this small community in our forum, the 2 bakers have differing opinions! that's why i say, when i go to online sites, it's even more confusing. i did go to allrecipes.com, baking911, joyofbaking, people's blog sites etc.. terribly confusing..

my friend say i should attend a real baking class! oh well..

Astro,
i think cream is more like what Jaxe said, not FOLD.. anyway.. i have both a mixer and an electric whisk.. the mixer, i just found it in my cabinet yest! actually it's funny right.. for someone who is so clueless, i actually have all these equipment lying in my house!

Kiddo,
the float u bot for ZY looks very pro! did she like it? then still wear swimming cap.. wau, full protection!

autum,
i think u have a magic cabinet leh. or a baking fairy godmother..everytime u need something..u will find it in ur cabinet the nxt day...

autum: look at the following definitions of creaming, folding and beating? ..
---
Cream: (1) To work one or more foods until smooth and creamy with a spoon or spatula, rubbing the food against the sides of the mixing bowl until of the consistency of cream. ...

---
(does this sound look like folding to u? of course.. if u read the def of foling below.. got a slight diff.. :p)

--

Beating: Process of mixing food to introduce air and make it lighter or fluffier. Tools utilized to beat an ingredient or mixture include a wooden spoon, hand whisk or electric mixer.
---
Folding: Process whereby one ingredient or mixture is added to another, using a large metal spoon or spatula. Gentle process that often keeps mixed air fluffed throughout a mixture.
---

if 'cream' and 'beat' is like what that instructor instructed jaxe that time.. .. then inherently. there is no diff liao.. right? coz he instructed and defined 'creaming' as mxing the butter, somehow, till creamy hence 'cream'.. but i can also 'fold' till my mixture creamy mah.. so fold also = cream??

coz that time.. the context was with butter.. not with egg whites and such.. i thinking of creaming more in the context of mixing the different things together.. anyway.. yes. CONFuSinG!!! kekeke.. u have many tools lying around.. i think u have 'no excuse' not to bake! :p

jaxe,
wah haha.. baking fairy godmother! yesterday i went to Ikea to buy some plastic mixing bowl and a spatula.. then i asked hubby should we buy a rolling pin (even tho i dun think i will like to make pastry).. and hubby told me "we already have that".. heh heh.. so ya, maybe i really have a baking fairy godmother in my cabinet. :p

Astro,
i hate u! U are totally not helping lor.. u are making me more n more confused!!!! HELP!!! kekekekeekke...

yvonne: the taste and texture text next..hope it will be nice. but this is considered failureliao.. wah lau. u got see chiffon cakes got grand cayon before or not?! :p.. if i sound this to my FIL.. sure gena suan till cannot make it ah!!! wah liew.. :p

autum: pastry not diffciult. .. horrible.. u really have a lot of things tucked away in ur cabinet.. got gold or not ah? :p

Yvonne,
u try baking too la. buy a small oven like me.. or u already have? last time i hear u bake fish for Bel..small oven is cheap and won't take up too much space. then u can also experiment.

autum: dun forget what module i am taking?! *winks*.. whahahah. my students always say..other facis 'wash their brains with soap',, slightly irritating but ok.. but i wash their brain with acid.. make them think and think and it hurts after the lesson! whahahahahaa..

autum,
i wan to bake.. but not my house lei... if i go invest a oven, no place to place... tt time i toast the fish... not bake... lol... cannot any how buy and any how place in this house la... no authority...

hahaah she dun really want the float anymore after i expose her without the float... she wannt walk herself in the water....
the float is very cheap think $10 bucks from toy r us still got others pict ...
her bikini cme in with everything but i din put on any sun block for her hahahahah bad mummy....
i bringing her to swim on Tue.... hope weather would be fine on that day...

astro.. teach ur mum play online swimming save ur $$$... but hor if she is pro player she will prefer to hold the tiles... hahaha
my mum love to play.. mabbi can get a few ah ma who love to play then we can open a mini mums & ah mas gathering hahahah

sorry think too much...

Yvonne, my plans for tmr is breakfast dim sum at je 200+++ coffeehse there then later in the afternoon go see movie so long never watch one.... .. then tue morning go mount faber safra club for swim then if ZY okay not tired will go ikea shop shop .. Wednesday go bugis pray pray and shop shop ... then thur rest day coz daddy need to work at nite... friday shopshop at JP mabbi can frens to have coffee at JP... sat & sun rest coz monday start work... seem very short time flies not enuff time to enjoy... haizzzzzzz
anyway if u wanna join in juz let me know!!

autum: whahaha! the diffs i thrown at u.. were the definitions.. from baking 911.. the site u intro us here! .. the very site u recommened me to get the diff between cake-like muffin and bread-like muffins! whahahah.. ok. but i find that those defs. not precise enough. wait. i go unmould the cake.. shower.. and have lunch. thenif got time.. before teng wakes.. i find more sites with more precise defs for u!

Yvonne,
for now, u can just buy a small oven (like mine is $49).. my oven is about 1.5times the size of a toaster oven so it's quite small. Then next time after u shift to your own house, u can invest in a bigger and better oven (those few hundred dollars type). Alternatively, u go to Astro or QQ house to bake! whaahhahah... then ask them to give u free lesson. :p

Astro,
if i find gold in my cabinet hor, then i dun need to bake liao.. heh heh, use the gold to buy all the perfectly-made cakes/pastries from outside!

yvonne ... wah good ler.. so next time bring bel out no worries to bring all milk barang barng out..
u 21 olendi rite can go see see house and apply lor so by next yr afte NO2 cme out and ur confinement over u can start shifting in .... thenu can have what u want!!!

autum: if u really find gold in ur cabinet.. then pay me to bake for u?! whahahha

<font size="+2">pple pple!! there is GOLD in AUTUM'S cabinet!!!</font>

kekeke

ok.. i should go shower..

i dunno can weat tees and shorts or not i suppose can bah... the water is not high at all 0.5m only.. so u can stand around often is play round the edge or the stairs so i think not an issue bah

yvonne,
swimming is good for preggies..can help to relax. can buy those special swimming costume for preggies..

autum: whahahaha! :p

anyway. PRESENTING my 'DONUT'
(inverted.. the 'grand canyon' gets concealed.. so not too bad.. :p

1489547.gif

texture and cross-section:

1489548.gif
1489549.gif

1489550.gif

taste test: not too bad. taste like the ones outside.. (wah.. such arrogance! kekek) but.. the texture is too dense. u all can see it from the pics lah.. guess i overbeat the egg white.. long time no bake.. too impatient. never slowly add the sugar to the egg white as i beat.. so took too long to 're-whip' till stiff..i look at the mixture when in midst of whipping. i know there goes this cake liao.. too dense liao..and i was right! jialat. such a 'fundamental' mistake ..*shake head*

kiddo: my mum is a pro in manjong.. her nick is manjong_pro.. haiz.. sian.
i did think of teaching her online majong. but i think wun hae the kick for her.. coz no hard cold cash mah.. haiz..

astro- wah piang ... so pro the cake makes me drool.... so hungry now... thinking of my maggie mee...

hahaha my mum too... she say no hard cash no hard play no fun...

kiddo: wah liew..better not let ur mum know my mum. wait they become manjong kakis! and there goes all my hard earned salary!

irin: hilo! wah.. congrats giolyn?! why ah? i should go and read archvies.. long time no catch up.. later tonight..

giolyn.. congrats.. ehh. why ah? becoz.. (let me guess) u got mei mei this time round? .. u went for gender check liao or not?

ok. going out.. my boy (aka sleeping_pro) still not waking up yet...

i hope i resist the impulse to rebake another chiffon tonight ...to make up for the mistake!!
the things i do.. to get things right! *sigh* the perfectionist in me!

tata.. yak later tonight..

giolyn
congrats! how come u kept saying its most likely a boy? u must be overjoyed!

astro
is this a HUGE donut?

angel, sq
not lah, im ok wif rina wearing pants. just find it funny tat she mentioned black men will ask ask for her name if she wears skirt.

SQ
my grandma has lots of grandchildren, so im not exactly very close to her. she's a very nice and gentle lady, senile and weak for the past 5 yrs. so i hope she joins my grandad in heaven now.

my mum of cos very upset, when i saw her swollen eyes, it pains me. now that im a mum, somehow it pains me more. i thought of scary things like wat if 1 day my mum leaves me, or i have to leave leia, wow dun know how to take it.
we decided to bring leia there, tho my mum said dun bring cos she's small. when she saw leia, so happy kept telling her ah mah misses her. hmm...at least little leia can make her happy lo.

oh ya, my galfren told me the lombok villa i chose is very very nice...hmm..

angel
wat kimono? show link?

today had father's day lunch with FIL. he said he saw leia eating fried chicken strips with rice only, not nutritious. i asked rina, she said great grandgranny dun let her cook, so leia eats adult food. think i have to cook every morning and bring over instead.

ok today very lor soh...hahhaa
this is leia's badly cut fringe, by granny and rina, and it had to happen before the coverlook shoot. hiaz...

1489676.jpg
1489677.jpg

Got the Jinbei suit from Linda. Size 80 is so BIG! I thought can let YT wear already since she is already 76 cm. But but... Sigh. YT is really too small in size lar. Means the 3 dresses also going to be too big. Sad.

mejo
i ordered sizes from 80 to 100 from jshoppers.
since i've never bought before, i bought a variety of sizes

angel
i love you! <muack!> let me know when to pay okie.

pink
ya, hair cut before photoshoot is dangerous
how about next time we have a gathering at lombok?
so you can try out your villa

astro
your cake makes me crave for my mum's.
shall ask her to do this weekend

audrey
i'm also tempted to order again. lucky i dunno how to. and right now, i have two KS on the way. think i'd better wait for them to reach me first

Astro,
Your chiffon looks delicious.. Yummy.. Yummy.. Yummy... U gals r really hardworking.. Baking during your free time.. I love baking, but simply lazy to bake.. Hee.. Anyway, I dun hv oven here.

Germaine,
Congrats...

pink,
2 weeks ago, my mom gei kiang go cut josi's fringe..then got scolded by me coz she cut slanted, and very short! maybe for the shoot, just put some water and pin up the fringe..dont worry, she's still very cute!

mejo,
size 80 is big arh? oh no..i ordered a few size 80..and more size 90! sigh, guess have to keep them for later...

SQ,

You have ordered the training pants during that round with Linda right? Can tell me whether they are like just nice for YE or WAY too big? If you have them already that is. Thought I should order that in preparation for toilet training.

Jaxe,

I'm not sure about the size of your ger but YT is one of the smaller babies so maybe cannot compare. She only 8.8 kg on last weight measurement yesterday.

mejo,
oh..ya..josi is a little bigger. 10kg now. their smallest sizes are 80 rite? coz i didnt see smaller than that for dresses. nvm..bigger is always better than smaller..