(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

wah audrey, u gave me a very gd idea!!! tmr i will try in the hotel room!!

erm.. wont gor gor and mei mei be curious with each other's body?? kekeke

edde....
kor kor knows mei mei is a girl....not so curious lah...for now. You can also bring a scoop or floating toys or something for anthea to play in the tub...heheheh...somemore ritz....got nice view for the toilet. Shiok also. But normally..i will use super duper hot water to "sterilize' the tub 1st....use soap wif some tissue to wash the tub...dan super hot water to wash..before filling up the tub wif water.
Can do one foam..one without...

audrey, yes yes intend to bring her "beach" toys along to play at the swimming pool. normally i wont dare to use bath tubs in hotels but i guess ritz i can trust lah! haha! i wonder how anthea will react if daddy and mummy join her in the tub!! if the tub is big enuf for all of us of coz! WAHAHHAHA!

think everyone went to sleep already.. i just came back at 11+pm from Giant (at Tampines)..

re: Durian muffin
heh heh, my durian muffin taste delicious! mummies who like to bake, next time u all try to make ok.. yummy!

Michelle,
why WS ask u to keep the green KS bag? because your MIL says it's nice??

autum,
i showed him the pix u posted yest and juz now in the car when MIL told me abt it. said the bag looks nicer with things in the bag. so he ask me to keep it lor. lolz

how come u go to giant so late? EJ sleeping already?

hello mummies, I am expecting a gal!!! Yeah so happy. Hb and i were embarrassing ourselve with joy when were doing the u/s scan. hahha... my mil was so disppointed to know that it is a gal. hahaha.. who cares. Now can start buying pinky clothes liao.

Michelle,
i went to Ikea, then Giant. EJ was with us.. he sleeps late mah.. we reached home around 11+pm.. then gave him milk.. think he just fell asleep at 12+am.. later than his usual time, but ok la, since tonite is Saturday.

Giolyn,
CONGRATS! you must be soooooooo... happie!

autum,
we can tell hor, germ/bigC very happy on that piece of news

EJ can really tong so late. ws went out to play MJ at ten. think only be back ard4-5am liao

Michelle,
yea, EJ sleeps late.. but it's not a good habit la. well, it's convenient for us parents if we stay out late.. but then it's not good for the child bah.

ok, i need to sleep liao. very tired from all the walking. u go sleep too. nite nite.

hi gals..
Wish all fathers Happy Father's Day!

re: MMR
fever comes after 1 week.

re: jshoppers slow
always slow during their free shipping/ handling campaign. damn headache. the only way is to do it late in the nite (after 11pm)...

QQ
thank you for helping me get that pink LF shoes! have i paid u the extra?? so cute. Jo loves it..

Anna is missing the old maid. She woke up last nite, refused to go back to bed and only wanted to play. So we brought her out of her cot. Then she called the old maid's name.. I felt so helpless.. I cried too..

today i'm very excited...going to take singapore flyer with the three nags and my colleagues. Two small nags also super excited....kay climb out of bed and wake kor kor up in his room...kor kor wake up..and climb up our bed...dan kay also climb up..and both nags try to wake both the sleepy parents up...but pulling hair...pinching skin...hitting backside etc.
BOth give up...climb down the bed and go to living room...son gets bike(which is noisy when he rides it around)...kay gets her cooking pots...bring into room...and both make loads of noise...*faint* cannot sleep longer liao....

Haizz...kinda sianz that its sunday already....why can we work 4 days...rest 3 days...

jialat.. i am too rusty liao.. long time no bake! even my speciality, chiffion cakes also so garang gabra.. kekeke.. hopeless!

it is finally baking in the oven liao.. after one hour of whisking the egg white till stiff!! .. already now got big crack appearing on the top (when inverted becomes bottom.. so.. still ok :p).. we will see how :p

Jaxe: u told autum, chiffon cakes no need mixer, use whisk can? wow.. u got power arms? can MANUALLY whisk egg whites till STIFF??

kekekeke..

Audrey
I think free US shipping if items is over USD250.
Can combine wif some interested parties here :p

Hey take more pics n show us the flyers!
Think there is a carnival there today.

I'm juz back from Big Splash! Have bf wif mom & dad...so happy!
Happy Papa's Day!

Astro
U know IT huh? hehehe...
Next time if got gathering, pls bake more cos Kai seems to prefer to eat yr toasted bread than mine :D

angel: ya.. i know IT.. hahaha.. i told myself.. i wun be tempted by IT.. *trying very hard*

kekeke.. kai likes my toasted bread? i think he likes competition leh.. coz teng and him both feverently grabbing the toast.. by himself , teng will also finish but wun grab like the way he did when he saw kai getting it!!! kekeke.. the key word here is "competition".. kekeke

u got spread some cream cheese on ur toast? i did for that time.. maybe bcause 'salty' and sinful? :p

aiyoh.. now the crack 'spreads' and becomes a ring of crack around the middle! CANNOT MAKE IT! whahhaha. *Shakes head.. shakes head*

i think i 'wronged' my mum the other time.. coz i think teng can indeed 'choke' on pasta.. i saw him eat those spiral pasta.. wah he STUFFS it into his mouth CONTINOUSLY one leh.. GIANT mouthfuls.(with many many pasta clumped together on). and then he stops and attempts to chew for a while.. then keep on stuffing!!

.. I was 'horrified' to see him do that.. ok. so i think that why my mum told me teng can 'choke'.. this boy is getting very notti.. jialat..

okok.. so bbs must have competition to eat well.. this theory has been proven twice.. one with teng just starting to finger feed when he saws seth grbbing cheerios.. and now kai seeing teng grabbing toast!

whahaha..

Astro
I think kids find it amusing to keep stuffing things into their mouth though we stopped them.
Kai oso do tis when he ate his bread.
If I'm arnd, he will stuff lots.
If I left him alone to eat, he wont do tat.
Noti boy!

wahahahaha. introducing the GRAND CAYONS!

hopefully it will taste better than it looks!
1489456.gif

1489457.gif

now cooling, inverted.. later will 'update' more..

hahaha.. too hot liao lah my oven.. really long time no bake liao.. oven temp too high liao..hence the cayon..

mummies, i m very tired but i can't sleep. dunno why. last night woke a few times.. then i just tried to take a nap but can't sleep so decide to login.

Jaxe, Astro,
i have a whisk, and my whisk is also electric one. from the Braun blender set. So if i use the use, then i dun need to use mixer is it? now i realised i have equipment but dun really know how to use or what is it for. Is there any baking site that teaches baking-idiots like me? even measurements, i have a lot of difficulty trying to figure out how much is one cup. Cos some sites say 1 cup flour is 125gm, some say 1 cup is 240gm, some say 1 cup is 250gm.. and the worse is, 1 cup flour is not same as 1 cup sugar.. so for sugar, it's another set of measurement.. and then different countries use different measurement. US, UK, Australia.. all different. No wonder so many pple who try to bake fail la.

astro,
can what. and it didnt take very long. i don't like to use mixer for egg whites, coz easy to overbeat. tts what i feel.

anyway, i think the first aid course for infant is very useful. 2 days ago, josi fell off the bed and landed flat on her face. i think she opened her mouth, so her gums were bleeding. i was stunned for a moment, then i rem during the course, the instructor told us if mouth bleed, give the child an ice cube to chew. so i gave josi one, not only did she stop crying, the bleeding also reduce coz of the contraction of the wound..so..moral of the story..go for the course..

Astro,
i have another idiotic qn to ask.. why is it that bake chiffon cake must have a hole in the centre? what is the purpose of the hole huh?

autum,
buy those 'cup measuring tools' from ntuc or cold storage. it's comes with like 4-5 cups, of different sizes to measure different quantities. also got spoons like, for teaspoon and tablespoons measurement! as for flour and sugar..i just follow the instructions. if they say 1 cup sugar, means they already considered difference b/w sugar and flour. if u use those measuring cups to measure, prob wun go wrong. so u don't haf to convert to grams and give urself a headache..

re: chiffon cakes
chiffon cakes dont need greaseproof paper or grease coz they need to 'cling' to the container..so with the hole in the centre right, more surface for the cake to 'cling', so the middle wun sink down..when in type, just google. like 'how to use electric mixer'. u will definitely find something helpful for sure

astro,
ur chiffon cake got 'fire ring' in the centre..haha..so farnie. it's pandan? can vaguely see the green part from the 'ring'.

jaxe,
but even if i buy those measuring cups, it still doesn't help (or does it?). The biggest cup is considered as "1 cup" is it? hmm, then some recipe i read, says "beat" the eggs and butter together.. some says "cream".. do they mean the same thing?

wah.. 'scary' lei this forum. post pics of food.. immediately got pple come in and comment liao! kekeke.. anyway..

autum: u could try .. getting one of those measuring cups.. which have many kind of measurements written on ONE cup.. the one i have.. has liquid written on onse side, for flour and sugar on the other side.. and on it. it has sub divisions of 'cups'.. so real handy. all in one!

go see? i bought it from cwp cs..

anyway. that's the problem with the different kind of measurments.. UK and US.. so for me. when i attempt to bake anything.. the recipe.. i prefer to find one that says in weight. i.e. grams/kg.. must easier for me ..

and yes. u have that.. then i think dun need to by another mixer liao.. my 'mixer' is actually two whisks attached to motor only.. that's how i see it

jaxe: for chiffon.. whip till STIFF leh.. ehh. ok. u young and fit. me, if i have to do that manually. i think i will not bake at all! :p

autum: i am not sure about the hole n the middle. i feel it is purely 'cosmetical' reason.. :p coz.. even with without those moulds with holes in the middle (i.e.) normal cake mould.. the chiffon cakes didn't sink in the middle mah.. anyway. i am not sure about it ..

dun have to waste money buy another cake mould. what u have.. it is just fine

i hiao lah. that time. too eng.. so went bought this mould to make my chiffons look more professional.. kekeke..

jaxe: if u dun grease the mould.. the surface of the chiffon will 'peel'.. and the cake will be like peeling .. like got excezma like that leh..

jaxe: ya.. got cayon. coz my oven set too highliao.. long time no pake chiffon liao. must pardon me! whahah.. ya. it's pandon..

kiddo: *wee yu wee* hot ZY!!! :p

autum,
the cups will haf labels, like '1 cup', '1/2 cup' etc. if recipe says cups, then u use ur cups to measure. if it is metric scale, then u use scale to measure. tt's what i always do. my experience, cakes and muffins are more forgiving than bread. even if measure diff by a little, usually comes out okay.

difference b/w beat and cream cld be 1. some recipes not so specific or 2. different products
during my baking class last time, the instructor told us for butter cake, must always 'cream', which means to beat until butter becomes smooth and almost white, i.e like cream. so muffins and cookies, don't need, hence sometimes u might find that some recipes says 'beat'. did i ans ur qn?

have u gone to allrecipes.com? i find this site very helpful as the recipes are accompanied by reviews, hence u can look thru to find tips from others who tried. and the different recipes are given ratings, so u can choose those with higher ratings to try

autum: if it says 'beat'//then use the whisk..
if it says 'cream'.. it means.. slowly fold till smooth

there are hundreds of recipes online.. only start baking.. when u are absolutely sure u understand every word of the recipe..:p:p

astro,
i was here a while ago. but slient reader! coz i was surfing jshoppers.

re:Jshoppers
i really wanna complain lo. it's testing my patience to the limit man...reload so many times liao!!! arghh

astro,
yes i realised. haha. we are confusing her. my baking lesson not those pro pro one la. last time joined with my mother in one of the CCs..thot it was a good way to spend time with my mom so join with her lo. but can learn some useful techniques..

jaxe: if only my mum will go CC learning baking.. i will go along also! but she likes to throw away my hard earned $ on hobbies like 'dry' swimming! haiz. anyway..