(2007/02) February

Koh, if I got it right, the explanation is:

By right, maid shld pay for this $1.9k. So instead, we, employer can choose to pay for the maid 1st, then we break dwn into 1st 6mths for the maid to repay us, so 1st 6mths basically she has no pay.

Alternatively, we can still give her the pay, bt she will pay the agt directly herself.

Liao bu liao?

Koh - hb say he's nt used to stranger walking ard in our hse. Then he said no privacy, dunno safe or nt then blah blah blah.

He said if give my mum to help look after, then he also wanna bring bb back everyday. Then like tat having a car is essential cos I calcuated taking cab everyday incl wkends to PIL hse we need abt $600+ nt incl when we bring bb go out shopping. Bt having a car will def dbl up wat we r gng to spend on having a maid + still hv to add allowance to mum leh....... Wah, I can jolly well b SAHM le.

So I m calculating all the costings like he sending me to wk & etc, many many options. My head is getting bigger & bigger already. I need to do a spreadsheet to sort out all the possibilities.

ah ger,

actually im not concern abt not been able to shed the weight gain. It was becos previously i got GD thats y i tend to be more careful with what i eat cos the chance that I will get GD again for this pregnancy is very high.

Maybe u have not experience the strict diet that GD mom to be have to go thru' thats y u may not understand.

Too high sugar level may actually cause harm to the bb, thats y im concern.

Last time i used to gain 3kg every time i go to see gynae for review...think thats y he send me for OGTT. Thereafter when they confirm i got GD, i have to control my diet very strictly...admit that im a really paranoid then with the strict diet, always seemingly empty stomach, needles pricking for sugar testing, etc.

In the end, i gain only a total of around 12kg.

koh,

ya .. maid is around tat price ..
but indo maid is cheaper ..

but also need to factor in her accomodation & food ..

giggler,

shouldn't be under weight ah ..
he he ...
i'm pretty fat now ..
my arms r fatter .. ha ha ..

ah ger,
i finally got call from clinic liao ..
detailed scan is on 18th Oct afternoon
then doc's appointment is 20th Oct ..

Saphira,

Yep realise we are with the same gynae....

So did gynae adv u to control your food intake?

im not taking any antenatal course leh...i attended one in KK during my 1st pregnancy but due to SARs then, the course was cancelled halfway....but i think its good for 1st time mom to go.

JC, I only put on 8kg for my 1st preg but this time round think I'll put on more than 10kg liao. I also not sure why leh cos I still take 3meals as per normal, nothing much leh.

Sophie, welcome!!!

nana, you having flu? Take care

Starlite, my gynae will also nag if there's wt gain of more than 2kg per month.

Jas, I guess if gynae didnt mention anything abt your wt means it's ok bah.

koh, heard that filipino maid is better is taking care of kids but more scheming? Indo more innocent? Think you need to pay abt $5-600 for maid's salary and levy per month.

cherryale, maybe you can add in afternoon snacks? Got to rush home to take care of my gal cos my mom gg for dinner tonite.

ck, I've frens that told me I've grown wider and face looks rounder now. I didnt put on much wt but its seem very obvious for all leh.

Confinement lady is so much expensive during CNY (before 15th)!!! Called one CL from jb just now, the charge is RM3700 if during CNY, and RM2500 after CNY. Thinking to ask her to come only after 15th so if pop during CNY, get whoever can help to tahan a bit first loh. RM1200 is a lot of difference.

Wah I m gone for awhile then so many postings?

JC - me nt a gd planner lah bt then I hv to do my sums right. Tats the way it has to b esp when u r nt RICH + men dun feel the pinch when it comes to $$, so the wife has to do all the calculations lor.

Starlite - if u ctrl ur sugar intake then u wun get GD right? Isn't tat so?

CK - maid is already staying @ our hse mah, so no diff lor. Electricity bills maybe will shoot up alittle bit higher cos she will cook & do more housewk.

Wah CK - *envy* I know nothing yet. Hopefully tis Sat I will know everything liao. *cross-fingers*

Gig - u only put on 8kg? Tats very little leh....... hw to ctrl? My wt just kip going up like tat? Or r u someone who don't put on wt easily?

Koh - if u r getting a maid, make sure she is married & w/ kids, so tat @ least she knows she has to handle w/ TLC.

Yest mum commented other than my stomach is getting slightly bigger, body wider & breasts maybe bigger, I din change much incl the buttocks. My colls say my face became abit chubbier. I told them I put on abt 5.5kg le bt they all quite shocked.

Jas - yes, CL during CNY period is exp! Bt CL in M'sia is cheaper as compared to Sin. I rem tat time somebody actually asked on the pricing & it's abt S$2.5k. W/ tat amt I can pay for a maid for almost 5 mths.

Jas, its already much cheaper than spore. I called the CL (the Ivy's CL that I mentioned b4). She is charging $2600. The one that I have booked charging $2500.

Ah ger, your friend gave u the contact number of the CL already?

ah ger,

not necessarily i think. the GD may be trigger by the changes in hormone. controlling diet may reduce the chance of getting it, but think no guarantee.

now i contemplating whether to take another OGTT challenge again...

i always find myself not at ease when i eat. and will feel guility if i eat sinful foods like char kway teow, oily stuff, etc.

bitbit,

did your gynae advised u to go for OGTT again?

if not, do u intend to go for one?

my gynae tested me once a few weeks back - the 2 hr test after a meal - i ate vege rice like fish, bittergourd and bean sprouts, the sugar result was ok then at 109.

Starlite, GD will b tested only at later stage right?

I also eat those things bt I dun eat often. In rtn I try to balance myself thru plain water, fruits & more veges. Does tat help?

ah ger,

ya la .. but u need to give her a room ma ...
less one room .. then less privacy ..
then plus need to provide food .. insurance ... medical check up ...
haiz .. is like paying for another bb ...
everything marnee ..
my head also big big ..

ah ger, cherryale is asking to meet u tonite leh ..
did u see her posting ?

Jas, thats why I thot of getting cf food catering instead of CL.

Ah ger, I took 3 meals per day without snacks/supper that time lah. I'm someone who gained wt easily but very diff to lose wt type leh. Actually this preg, I'm doing the same leh, only take 3meals per day but wt gain seems like more leh. Also puzzled lah.... Me different leh, everyone seems to notice my wt gain.

ck, I agree with you on maid leh... It's ok if you managed to get a gd maid but it'll be nightmare if you got a bad one. Sigh....

giggler,

ya ya .. u get experienced one with hubby and kid also headache ..
she miss family .. then wanna go home kind how arr ?
i will miss my bb .. cause i planning to put her with my mum in malacca ...
then only go back weekend to see ..
hopefully every 2 months my mum can bring bb here .. so i can see see also ..

CK - yeah lah, def will spare a rm for her one.......

Medical chk up is every 6mths once lor, think abt $100. Food - she will eat wat we eat. Insr - wat insr? Do we hv to do tat? I din hear anything frm my gf though.

I speed read the posting - did she say meet me? She ask if Gig wanna right?

Cherry - overlooked the posting on the CL contact. My gf is currently still monitoring the CL. Hence I dare nt give u her number yet.

Though she is gd @ handling bb & her, bt there were 2 things she commented, she said dunno is it the CL is 2 experienced or is my gf herself too precious of her gal, when the CL handles the bb like 2 fast & abit rough. 2nd, she finds the CL abit 4getful, she 4got to off the stove one day.

Therefore I do not want to give u her # 1st. Hope u can understand.

SG definitely more expensive, it's just i find the few days diff (during and after CNY) cost so much. Hope my girl girl only pop after CNY. I got no one to take care of me during confinement period so bo pian have to seek for CL loh.

Come to maid, we never thot of getting one, as ah ger's hubby said, dun like to have stranger at home. If got a maid, need to get someone to monitor the maid also or else "bu fang xin" to let the maid to stay at home with kids alone.

Gig - tats y hb is scared of getting a maid lor. If he is ok to put bb @ mum's plc then we dun hv to get a car. Bt he insists on bringing bb hme daily.

ah ger,

think the max is 120 reading with 2 hrs after food intake.

actually whether will get GD or not is very dependent on individual and family history. Higher risk for those with previous GD experience, family with diabetes history, overweight woman, woman above 35 yrs.

some pple just eat anything they like during pregnancy and gain weight like nobody business but in the end still ok...

i forgot when did i take the OGTT (Oral glucose tolerance test) in my 1st pregnancy. But i think as what ah ger said, its during the later stage but i cant remember around which week leh.

Anybody knows?

Starlite

I c............ hmm, I think my late grandpa has diabetes. bt during Mar when I did my full body chk up, my sugar level was normal, & during preg, I dun hv sweet tooth also. So I assume I shld b on the same sife?

I think GD test is taken @ ard Wk 28 - tats the 7th mth onwards. I read frm the bk, is tat the glucose test where they make you drink alot of water then test one?

Jas, see below for details:

Time:
Weekday classes : 7.00pm to 9.00pm
Saturday :
2.00pm - 4.00pm
4.30pm - 6.30pm
7.00pm - 9.00pm
Sunday :
10.30am - 12.30pm
1.00pm - 3.00pm
3.30pm - 5.30pm

Charges (with effect from October 2005)
Delivering at TMC
Six Lessons (Weekday Classes) S$168
Six Lessons (Weekend Classes) S$189
Two Lessons + Doctor's Talk
(For weekdays & subsequent deliveries only) S$147

Delivering at Other Hospitals
Six Lessons (Weekday Classes) S$189
Six Lessons (Weekend Classes) S$210
Two Lessons + Doctor's Talk
(For weekdays & subsequent deliveries only) S$168
Prices inclusive of GST

someone was asking how many sets of maternity clothes ..

for me i have about ..
6 tops, 3 dress, 5 skirts .. intend to shop for 3 - 4 more cloth .. so i can ask my mum make a few more dress for me ...

talking about washing ..
i also wash once a week .. 1 time dark and 1 time white, beige ..
but now like got soo little clothing ..
i gotto wash 3-4 days once ..
then dun even have time to iron .. wear crumpled one to work .. ha ha ..

every morning - bread or pao, 2 slice of cheese, alternate days with yogurt, 1 cup of milo ..
noon - mixed vege porridge, fish soup, noodle ..
dinner - noodle ...

a bit bored

Starlight, Ah ger,
Yah, the Glucose Tolerance Test should be done around Wk 28. Is it a routine test here? I forgot to ask my gynae. In the US, where I had my #1, it was routine. We brought home a bottle of orange glucose, like Gatorade, and then reported to the clinic 2 hrs after drinking it for a blood test.

PVL,

Its not a routine test i guess. Gynae will decide whether to adv the patient to go for the test thru' family history and also weight gain.

Somehow i guess they r experience enough to tell who is more at risk of getting it.

Ok, maybe i will check with my gynae again in the visit after next. I would actually like to take up the test again though i know that the chance is high i will get it. at least, i confirmed it via a test so i can tell myself to be stricter with my diet for the saftey of the bb. As my friend has said, dont do anything that put the bb in jeopardy.

m&m, thanks for the details! Is the charge for couple ya? Think i only able to attend weekday one. Gotta check with hubby whether he want to come wif me or not.

ck, ur mum made dresses for u ah? So good... U from malacca?

Does anybody here got any English Confinement Food book to share?

I also intended to get a maid....wont be getting CL...so need to get the maid a recipe book for confinement so that she knows what to cook.

ah ger,

ya cherryale asking giggler ..
ha ha ... i saw wrongly ..
he he ...

jas,
ya my parents r from malacca ..
i'm born in kuantan ...
my mum seamstress ..
she retired liao ..
only do for me ... he he ..
but she very ks .. all make big big ..
ha ha .. 2 dress she made soo big .. now can't fit into it yet ..

today i soo blur .. i'm wearing a dark red top and black skirt .. i'm wearing a pair of white flats ! should be black flats instead ..

ck, you'll also send your kid over to Msia?

Jas, when's your EDD? I'll def pop before CNY so too ex to get CL.

Ah ger, let your hb try to bring home daily for a while and see how lah. He'll def complain cos it'll be very tiring.

PVL, I dun think it's a routine test cos I didnt rem doing it for my 1st preg.

giggler,

ya ... tat's the plan ..
when old enough then send to childcare ..

me and him also no time ..
both studying ..

my short trip is cancelled ..
cause he just started lesson ..
and his schedule is like mon-fri and sat whole day ... so can't go anywhere liao ..
feel a little sad over this ..
by the time his term break .. i'm already 7+ month liao .. how to go ?

ck, so ur bb will be a sporean or msian? Mine most likely will be a Msian as plan to give birth in JB. Will apply Spore PR for her then wait till she grown up then decide whether wanna take up Spore citizenship.

Giggler, my EDD is 26/2, still within the 15th day. Got possibility a doggie bb loh. But hope for a piggie as we both prefer piggie bb.

Giggler,
Thanks for the welcome

As for confinement catering... think I read on some other threads the reviews not so good leh... cos at first I rounded down to Natal Essentials & Neo Garden. Now probably will cook myself.
Are you going to do a trial first?

Starlite,
Don't feel that you will definitely get GD this time round. Even if you don't confirm it yet, having a healthy food intake will be good for you and baby. Maybe if you start this healthy food intake early and continue it religiously, you may not get GD this time round! Like you say, food intake is also one impt factor. Must be positive OK?
My mum's family mostly has diabetes - think I better inform my gynae too.

For confinement Book, I've got the "Recipes for Pregnancy & Confinement" by Patsie Cheong. Think it costs only $15+ at Popular.
My sis has the other one by Ng Mui Siong, more expensive at $20+ I think.
I like the Patsie Cheong ones cos it's got both English and Chinese, plus a picture for every recipe (therefore lesser total no. of recipes in the book) whereas the Ng Mui Siong one has only random pictures but more recipes (in English only). Personally, I also find the Patsie Cheong recipes healthier, but maybe not so yummy to some who are not used to it.

About the OGTT (Oral glucose tolerance test), my gynae told me to take the test next monday. Next monday will be my 24 weeks plus.

ck, if ur hubby a singaporean and bb gg to born here, mostly likely ur bb will be a sporean. Not too sure whether you can choose. U may want to call up ICA to check.

good morning gers

another bad day for me. diarrhoe 4x yesterday in the morning. by afternoon guo da li was oredi a zombie. luckily dun need to get involved in anyting else yesterday and managed to rest.

mama made me some pao sheng yesterday, suppose to give me more energy. but useless body cannot take it. woke up this morning with a headache. hopefully can finish my reports today and go back n rest.

morning ladies,

any of u intending to get the elancyl cream ?
guardians having sale .. and the price after 20% is 37.05 cents ..
i just got an additional tube yesterday ..
heartpain buying ..
but i do realise .. it seems to lighten my exisiting stretchmark at my thigh area ..

yesterday i wasn't feeling well after eating curry vege hor fun ..
ended up in the nite throwing the food out ..
indigestion i guess .. lunch time food still can throw out some ...
then later in the nite .. stomach ache also ..
feeling so much better after throwing out ...

ah ger, ya ya ..
my belly button getting shallower ..
bb movement can feel stronger ...

smurfy,
must take care .. and try not to exert yourself ..
my office work also kind of busy this 2 days ...

ck, when do you intend to send bb to Msia then? Aiyo... you tempting me to get the Elancyl cream leh. I threw out when I took too much curry too. I think I cant take coconut this time round, sure get tummy ache one. You better today?

Jas, if you deliver later than your EDD, then it'll be a piggie...

Sophie, ya lor... I saw the reviews from the other threads too. Think cos cf food is quite limited? The other time, my mil did the cf for me and I seemed to be eating the same food every other day. Me most prob will choose Neo Gdn for their variety and will get their trial nearer to the date lah. Cos if I cater cf food, then my mom doesnt need to do marketing and cook for me. If you cook yourself then who will do marketing for you? You must share with us what are the food we got to take during cf leh. I always go to the 'cooking..." thread for tips.

smurfy, maybe ask your mom to dilute your tonic since your body cant take it? So you rest at home today?

morning gals............ tired. tis morning 5+ leg cramp. Kaoz....... disturb me & hb's slp, cos I gave a sudden shout to hb, then he got shocked. ha ha ha.........

Starlite - u wk ard Orchard area is it? Tat time I bought this Confinement book for mum to cook for my sis. It's in Eng & Chinese. I think also show the steps. It has 2 sections - pregnancy meals & confinement meals. then @ the back has info on wat drinks to drink & for wat purpose. Think the bk cost less than $20.

I bought it @ Orchard Emerald where they always hv those mini bookfairs.

ck, Giggler,
My mum says coconut milk causes "wind" in the stomach, so said try not to take so much curry during pregnancy. If really have to eat, make sure curry is freshly cooked and hot.
Elancyl cream sounds tempting... esp. at this price

Smurfy,
Take care and rest well OK? After all that diarrhoea, drink lots of fluids and just eat non-oily food for today.

Giggler,
Yeah, I'm afraid after 1 week, no matter how much variety the caterer has, I may be tired of their cooking "style". I think I'll ask my MIL to do the marketing for me, then for the first 1 week, she can just steam fish for me... after that when I am strong enough to cook, she can help do marketing and I can cook by following confinement book recipes