(2007/02) February

winnie, no lah I am nt frustrated, just tat I wonder hw cme bad things all happened at the same time.

Hb's bn getting headache, something like tension headache. Doc said either nt enuff slp or over stressed. gave him some med to take & if things dun go better, he has to go for a scan.

Nw everytime he will just get pek chek when A runs to him & try to make him run ard w/ him. So I hv to take over lor.... he can tell him "daddy v tired leh, dun play already can?"

u think toddler can understand meh, "tired" is nt in their dictionary lor.

Catz,so happy for Timo that he doestn need to cut under the knife.
Your dad is nice to you.

PVL, I also thot I can feel bb's movement but gynae said it's too early for me to feel it. How's bb? Know the gender liao?

Charis, I just got one keyboard for Vane too.

Winnie,congrats on knowing bb's gender.
Sherwin is having didi too. Hehehe... Every one in my family is so happy that Sherwin finally has a play mate soon.

Ah ger, what happened at home? Hope you solved the issue liao.

winnieeeee, eh u don't be silly lah. I'm short leh, u are tall. so obviously u will be heavier than me mah. I put on 25kg with YR. :p I didn't lose all my weight the 1st time. I actually was 3kg above my pre-preg weight but i was ok with the weight gain lah cos at least the face had more meat and so did my ass.

i think after we give birth, we will then have a discussion on how to lose our weight then. hee hee right now, i'm just gonna pretend that all the weight i've gained is from water retention and from TR.

My husband says i look like a walking siew mai. hahahahaha

giggssssssssssssssssssssssssss, wah seems like our thread this time round having quite a number of baby boys.
how many weeks are u????

My edd will be november 26.

Gig - niece had an op on Mon, which was y I was on AL for the las 2 days, to take care of A. She has a lump on her face, near the ear. the Prof said it was TB (nt lungs lah bt bacteria infection which is also known as TB) & had to b remv.

When he did the op on her, the lump actually already burst inside bt thank god it didn't lead to infection, otherwise, he would hv to cut away the skin & replc it w/ skin frm somwhere else. nw in the recovery stage.

V proud of her being her auntie cos she's a brave gal, din even cry when they took blood frm her for testing. She only said "pain pain". When she came out frm the op theatre & saw my mum & my sis, she din cry either. When they remv her dressing yest, she did nt cry out bt my sis could see her tears rolling down continuously.

Mum said she's getting better now. Someone bought her a drum set, my sis lent her the guitar frm Xbox I think, so nw my sis's hse is like a mini concert hall w/ all the playing instrument.

Ah ger,
Poor thing lah you. *sayang, sayang* But bo pian lor, you'll need to be more tired and take over until hubby feels better. Hmm... make your niece tire A out in the day by running around with him more maybe? If you really cannot tahan, just let the TV babysit him for a while so that you can rest for a few minutes? I know that's a little unhealthy but it if it helps you to keep your sanity then maybe you can try?

Giggler,
congrats too! Is vane and sherwin happy with having a didi? Last week when I came back from the ultrasound I asked Ethan, "You want didi?" He nodded yes very enthusiastically leh. Then you know what he did next? He went to take my alarm clock from my bedside table and gave it to me! He meant he wants to play with the alarm clock cause it goes "didi, didi...". Aiyoh, don't know how to react

Juicy milk,
change your nick to Mrs Siew Mai want?

Ah ger,
just saw what you posted about your niece. Read already also feel heart ache for her. Hope she'll get well soon.

Winnie, when the 2 comes together, they will fight & snatch things frm each other. My boy is nt a TV freak... backside also sharp one.

winnie, ethan is so funny. How come u didn't bring ethan along to see his didi when u went for check up?

I tried tellin YR she's gonna have a bro soon, but i really think she doesn't know what's going on. I think she'll really be confused when she sees another baby in the house.

U good, still ask me change nick to Mrs Siew Mai. Later u see me get admitted to IMH horr. hee hee

Ah ger, just hang in there lah. the 'bad' times will pass and soon everything will be fine again.
Your niece sure is one brave girl.

Juicy, I'm 14weeks now, me putting more this time round too. Appetite is too gd liao. My EDD will be 9th Feb 09 (Sherwin's bday). Hehehe....

Ah ger, so sim tia when the kid has to go for op hor? Your niece abt the same age as Vane rite?

Winnie, hahahaha...... Ethan is so cute!!!
Vane is very happy cos she has 2 mei-meis (my bro's gals) and 2 didis now, balanced.

i am very happy again. Later a friend coming over after her meeting nearby my place...hee hee hee so i got some companion again.

how come i'm so easily satisfied ah...kekeke

AH!! I feel so frustrated! Everytime I make extra effort to cook something for Yael he always end up dont want to eat..I pan-fried a nice piece of angoli fish for him just now..and he just ate a few pieces! I sent him to bed as punishment..no milk no play..anyway Im weaning his naptime feed first, replacing it with packet milk or cheese stuff, which he doesnt take much either..SO Im worried that if he doesnt have enough for his meals, he'll wake up more often at nite for milk..which I so cannot tahan!
Last week I prepared potato salad n this boy just ate it for 1 meal..subsequent meals dont want liao! Dont know wat to do lah..becoming so fussy nowadays.

Catz..Dont think I'll go next week lah..wait for u to come back then following week then we go for the class..Anyway doubt its transferable..Im sure they want to earn $$$..haha.
Anyway u have a good holiday! Dont bother about the kids too much..Im sure the kiddy club got things for them to play..n hope u get to do all the massage, pedi etc haha!

Yes we enjoying the keyboard..even caught Yael pushing the chair so he can get to the keyboard!

Giggler..What kind of keyboard u bought for Vane? Those proper playing type or more for kids to bang on? Haha.

Ah ger..Hope yr niece is ok now..poor thing so young need op.

Juicy Milk..Oh ginseng chicken? IS the ginseng taste really strong? If so then not for me.. haha.
Any other ready nice meals I can get?

giggs, 9 feb means baby will be a rat or an ox???? wah, so qiao...the edd is on sherwin's bday.
u will go for natural right?

charis, join the club of fussy eaters. Hey,n u already lucky that Yael took one serving of potato salad lor. My silly girl doesn't want to take mashed potato or potatoes in boiled/steamed form now. She only like hash browns and french fries now. Disgusting girl.

charis, don't feed yael if he wakes up at night for makan/milk lah. I was telling catz yday that i've started being more firm with YR on her picky eating habits. Now whenever i serve her her meals, i will give her less than what she normally eats (maybe half the amt of rice) n then tell her that that's her dinner and she has to finish it before i let her down of her high chair.

1st day was horrendous cos she cried and wailed so fiercely for an hour on her high chair before she decided that I meant what i said and then ate up all her food. 2nd day she decided crying won't help but she tried to just refusing her food by closing her mouth. I had to remain seated in my seat till she finally gave up and ate her food. 3rd day was a bit better too....4th day was also good. yday was a bit of a problem again cos my gf was ard and she probably thought there was someone to help her out again, so she ended up crying for about 15 mins or so before she decided that no one's helping her out so she ate up her food again.

I hope she won't try to be funny later during dinner cos i got another gf here soon.

chari, i never felt the ginseng chicken soup taste wAS very ginsengy leh....plus the ginseng they use is very little and puny so not much smell. Don't worry. I also don't like ginseng taste. so i think it should be alright with u.

hmmmm they sell ready made rice too that can be popped in microwave. Kimchi is ready made stuff. hee hee hmmmm, they do sell sachets of soup base stuff for soon dubu, kimchi jigae and stuff like that if i remember correctly. so u can buy those and just add in your tofu or whatever ingredients u like inside when u are cooking.

Gig - my niece has just past 3. Vane is abt 5?

Charis, yeah, when we heard she has to go for the op, we were all so sad, dreading the day as it came closer. Bt thank goodness everything is over & she is on her way to recovery.

Nx yr CNY is end Jan right? So it will b an Ox lor.

Ya, next yr CNY is on 26 Jan. Falls on Monday, so will have long weekend.

So many preggie mommies here...admire all of you. I really dun have the energy liao.

jojo... my main concern is $$ issues for now. energy - I think can still spare abit lah. ha ha ha..........

I wonder hw govt gets the statistics & feedback.. they go do survey on wokring & non-working moms?

hope they gv more rebates/ subsidies on maids' hire & also childcare, & also more childcare leave cos alot of Co dun allow employees to use kids mc/ hl as our mc/ hl. If tats the case, ware we find so much AL to spare each yr? esp for kids at young age, they sure sick on/ off... nt say 1 day will recover one.

of cos - more bb bonus & ML will be xtra attraction bt I prefer something more in the long run rather than short-term.

food n milk
maybe i am lucky, QY is not picky abt food n he still eats porridge.. and snack on our foods during our meal times.. but my problem is tat this boy dun wanna drink milk.. last time i used to think it's because he hates my breastmilk, but no loh.. he's hates all milk leh, i tried a few brands of FM and even fresh cream milk, he all reject them. nowadays, he onli takes milk for his breakfast - which is mixed into his cereal, tea break of avocado milk or banana milk. he had stopped nite feed for one mth plus oredi.. mrs wong told me to give him cheese n yohgurt, which i am oredi doing. my mum tells me QY follows me and that i weaned off frm milk at a young age as well.. and whenever i voice this concern, ppl look at QY's size and built, tell me dun worry, this boy is growing well.. but how not to worry??????? when calcium is important for their bone development now?

any kiddos stopped drinking milk oredi?

smurfy - wat milk hv u tried on him? dad ever told me similac milk is slightly sweeter, & till nw whenever A c his milk coming he will still quickly lie down for it, as if it's time for his drug. ha ha ha....... & I always purposely make him say "milk milk" b4 i put the btl in his mouth. bt sometimes he will b pek chek tat he'll throw his temper at me & scream for his milk.

Ah ger, A can say milk milk? My gal still cannot speak

Smurfy, don't have to worry if QY is growing well. They can get calcium from other sources...Have you tried flavoured milk? Mebbe he doesn't like the taste of plain milk.

jojo

yes, A can say words like car, light, plane, milk milk (nen nen in cantonese), tu tu (pacifier), gu gu (pronouced as gd gd for water), bag, eat, buy. all the short short simple words lah. I feel, he's still nt v gd in his speech.... more for improvement.

Yest I fed A w/ Scotts cod liver oil. tried him w/ teaspoon only instead of 15ml as instructed on the box. Dunno he likes or nt cos after tat he went to grab his water le.

milkie
yes, he takes tofu abt 2 times per week or 4x if i buy 2 boxes kekeke. i tell u hor, this boy is sooo silly with adults food, i tried to give him fries, he dunno how to eat such a long stick, in the end, slowly spits out, n he is happy enough with his baby bites biscuits. i give him yakult, he plays with the straw onli kekeke.

ah-ger
i tried enfalac, gain 1Q, bellancy organic, karimhome goat's.

usually I give A toufu, all kinds like egg toufu, tau kwa, then fish - all fish. A likes fish alot... tat time we went tou & eat, we ordered a small pc of cod - $20!!!! & tis boy had like 3/5 of it!

in terms of drinks I do not gv A drink by himself cos tis boy - he likes to pull out the straw while sucking, may end up giving himself a shower. ha ha ha... there was once he turned the cup over when drinking frm a cup. bt the rest like food & fruits, I let him self-feed.

hv u tried friso? maybe can call them & send u a sample instead. or else - pediasure? I heard tis one quite effective in making children drink milk. Bt dunno if they hv 1yr's milk or nt.

ah ger, tt's very good already. Jerlene only says 'Papa' and 'Goal' (whenever she sees a ball).

yes, pediasure has 1 yr's milk. Got both chocolate and vanilla flavor. The PD recommended me to give pediasure to Jerlene to help her grow, as pediasure is a higher-caloried milk. But somehow, Jerlene does not like it at all.

Charis, we got a Casio keyboard with 61keys for Vane.

juicy, my bb shd be rat ba cos I'll be having c-section so have to give birth 2 weeks before my EDD.

smurfy, Sher still taking milk as usual but he also very picky with food now. He doesnt like soggy food.

jojo - i tot A's considered slow cos I know some of the kids at his age already can say quite a no. of words liao.

He doesn't like to call us... bt he can call papa, mama, po po, ah gong, jie jie. Even though he seldom talks, bt he can identify things pretty well & hv gd memory. tats wat mum says. ha ha ha, he's a man of few words!

smufy - or can give QY Vitasoy???????? I tried feeding A w/ soya bean milk, he didn't really want.

bt anyway tis boy craves for bao bao (bread) so we always buy the hi-calcium milk bread NTUC brand for him to eat lor. Mum's really worried his stomach might explode one day cos mins after milk, he asks for bread. *faint*

Juicy Milk..I tried the "stay on your high chair till u finish yr food" punishment..but he just refuses to et..dont know why lah..i think if those times he is not tired then I guess he just doesnt like the food..i learn a trick..its to give another choice..that day after "struggling" with him over the potato salad, I decided to I offer him a chicken pau..n he gobbled it up..haha..my sanity is kept, his stomach is filled..thank GOD!

Rgd milk..Yael doesnt want fm at all..n cos he never drank from a teat bottle since 9 months old I find weaning off bm a bit harder leh..
Anyway he's drinking packet milk n soya milk.

smurfy, be thankful lor..i think it's good that QY ok with bland food. do u put any dried abalone or don know what when u cook his porridge or is it just plain porridge with the ingredients?

Nowadays the most plain food YR will wanna take is yong tau fu with no tofu hor. She will eat the fish cake, fish balls n egg tofu only.

Just fed her her dinner and she finished her dinner with no fuss today in record time 10 mins. hee hee so i guess the 'training' did work *touchwood*

Hey, u can try giving QY beans too. Black beans, canellini beans etc...they sell them in organic shops in canned form. Those also have calcium right?

regarding milk, maybe he just sian of his milk or he eating too much solids? try giving him other milk and see if he will go back to it. that time YR dropped her intake of her milk partly cos her food intake was too much and maybe cos she didn't like meiji milk that much. But after we switched her to masters, she drinking fresh milk like a master. Now that she is easily clearing 500 - 600 ml of milk a day which i already think is a bit too much.

i still prefer kids to eat more solids and drink enough milk cos they can't possibly be drinking so much milk all the time.

giggler, hee hee ya giving birth via c-section means we cut ourselves up at 38 weeks. Means our babies will both be rat babies.

charis, don't give in to Yael regarding his food fussiness. I did the same thing as u - as in gave in to her and gave her other things and she became worse and worse until I had to do such a drastic way of making her eat. It was quite painful to watch her struggling and trying to get out of her highchair whilst screaming and crying like mad. At the end of the day, she had red marks all over her shoulder cos of the straps on the high chair. but it is worth it i guess.

i think it's a test of wills at this point cos the kids can really be very trying at this stage of their lives.

Juicy, you'll be gg for c-section too? My cousin told me tat she's praying hard that hers will be rat bb. Her EDD is 1st Feb 09 and gg natural so praying hard that bb pops early. But she doesnt want to reveal what's so fantastic abt a rat bb.... Congrats that you succeed in making YR sit on high chair for her meals.

Ah ger, A can afford to eat lots more lah...

milkie
ehhh i have not changed QY's recipe for a few months ago.. he still eating his bland porridge mixed with everything.... veges.. roots... wolfberry, red dates, yeasts, millets. lentils, barley... cheese... tofu.... fish... minced meat , chicken .. not everything on a same day lar.. sounds so digusting right? i cannot bear to eat such foods... but QY's still okie with them hahahaa.. nowadays he will snack alot of adult foods when i eat my dinner lor but these are after he had his full normal dinner...

what milk is YR drinking now?

giggs, yes i'm going for c-section too.
i very heng cos my week 38 means that baby will be due mid november which makes him a scorpion baby. I love scorpions. hee hee eh rat babies are good cos suppose to be smart and don know what else lah. u go read up on internet...just type 'chinese horoscopes' and see what is the general characteristics of each animals lor. these are just generalizations lah..so may not be true...but oh well. hahahahaha

giggs, ya..i'm just thankful she has been eating well and proper these few days. So touchwood. hee hee

smurfy, eh...qy's meals are very good leh...u don't have to worry about milk intake at this point. I think it's better to let him have normal milk or milk with not much flavourings cos if u start, he will want it all the time which is not what u want right? just be a bit more patient lah....maybe it's just a passing phase.

YR taking masters fresh milk. she clears a litre of the carton in 2 days that's why i'm pretty sure she takes ard 500ml a day at least. hee hee

i drank the horizon milk that was given to her. eh, not bad leh..hahahahaha but so exp.

Juice..I left him on the high chair for half an hour leh, n also firmly told him every few minutes to eat, n if he spits out the food or throws food on the floor, I cane him or flick the mouth..still dont want to eat leh..think I no patience to wait haha..So my guess is he just doesnt like the food or jus too tired to eat..anyway thing is I get really stressed up..when he doesnt eat..so if I can give something else that meets his calorie and nutrients intake I'll gladly offer..been doing that actually..n on most days he'll eat his meals that I cooked..so I'm not too worried on that.

Yes its definitely a trying time haha!

jojooooooo
forget to add. ehh i think ur blog got virus or what leh. that time i opened it.. then it keeps on opening new IE screens

charis, if u not too fussed about his fussiness then i guess it's your call.
i basically left her on the high chair for an hour and left her to scream and cry and struggle for that long too. I won't hit her or scold her, i just kept quiet and just twiddled my fingers. i remained calm throughout the whole hour and just reminded her she's not getting out till she's done with the bowl of food. then on and off i will try to feed her and each time she rejects the food, just remain patient. I also kept the bowl just below her mouth while attempting to feed her cos she tried to spit it out after putting it in her mouth. so i made sure she finished all the food and not try to waste food by spitting it everywhere.

Gig - A can sit on high chair for his food also bt once he's full or getting full, he will start climbing out of the chair, doesn't even bother if we r done w/ ours or nt.

He arh - better to eat now, nx time when he gets older, metabolism rate drops better eat lesser, if nt bcme fatty bom bom. ha ha ha....

Juice..Actually YR can be disciplined leh..good wat..n u really got the patience to sit with her so long..I keep thinking that I just have too many other things to do haha.
Anyway, Yael is really something at times..cane also no use..esp with food..I just have to find a way to work around it..haha.

charis, i also think YR can be disciplined. I've just been too lax with u previously. Actually now i'm of the view that all kids let alone toddlers can be disciplined. hee hee even the hardest core convicts can be reformed, let alone a less than 2 year old kid. but u just have to be consistent with how u 'discipline' them i guess.

i also sstill not sure which way i want to discipline her regarding her other bad habits lah...but i guess when i know, i'll have to stick with it lor. that's why i also don't dare to do it too fast lest i regret and then very hard to backtrack in future.

Hi smurfy,
Does the IE problem still happening now when you visit the blog? Btw, if you have forgotten, I'm Jerlene's daddy and also the one maintaining that blog. I will be concerned if the blog is giving my "fans" problem.

Would appreciate any details that you can provide. Thanks.

Wah, suddenly yesterday afternoon the thread revived. Hehehehe.

Had my gynae appt yesterday. Everything is going well as far as we can see. Thank God. Couldn't see the sex of the bb. Naughty bb was sleeping with his/her back to the ultrasound. Could see the spine very clearly but most other features were hidden. Will have to wait til next month's detailed scan. Doc said that I already have a boy and a girl so never mind what I have this time, right? Yeah. I'm just wondering which child to move to the bigger room at this point in time, and which child has to share room with the new baby
. Waited quite long (1 hour+) to see the doc yesterday. He had a backlog cos he had an emergency earlier. 3 of his children and his wife came along with food for him.... so sweet. Cos at night he still had to do the AMK KK clinic. Hehehe.

Giggler, winnie, congrats on having boys

Juicy,
Are you sure you put on 25KG??? That's more than 50 lbs! I'm hoping not to put on too much weight this pregnancy. But then I'm not even monitoring. So I just try to keep up my exercise regimen and not to eat too much carbos.

I think our todds are going through feeding issues these days. Ben will always start off his meals very well, eating hungrily, but after he's had about half of his allotted portion, he will start to refuse food. Have to distract him by giving him his fork to feed himself. We don't tolerate him not finishing his food, so he has to eat til he finishes the whole bowl. I use various methods. Sometimes I use the cane, sometimes I spank. Sometimes I just scold him, and stare at him. Whatever works. I think he's looking for some independence, and wants to feed himself. But that takes very long and is quite messy, so I don't like it. Mrs Juicy (hey, can you change your name back? I'm so not used to this leh) seems to have a good method going mah. I would do the same. We just need to be firm and consistent, stick to your guns, and don't give in
. At the same time, 'protect' yourself from the negative consequences like spitting and messing. Hehehe.

Wah, Catz, enjoy your holiday.

Morning mummies!!!

So busy whole of yday until i almost wanna to explode. Boss leaving the company soon so he didn't care much so everything i one leg kick. sianz...

dear mrs juicy, 1 dvd oredi last abt 1 hr. We used to play once a day on Sat and Sun when we were wif her. But stopped since last sun.
But well, she got to watch the show everyday (i think ard 11.30am) from tv at my aunt's house so oklah...

Did u manage to order from jshopper? mummy_zeen told me they got free shipping on all amount for nissen items but only till yday. And yday i was sooooo busy, no time to even surf the net, not to say the stupid lousy jshopper webbie.

Re: Nathan's dd. Actually i dunno who is who yet. Haha... but seriously, i dun see any big dd for the 2 hi-5 guys lei(becos of wat u said then i go notice k???) since they do not wear tight jeans or wat in the only dvd which i have. Btw, mine is A Wonderful Journey.

Re: weight, i have put on 4kg based on my last gynae visit and last weight was 51kg. But think now i definitely heavier than 51kg as i feel my skirt/pant is getting tighter and tighter though still can zip up. Think soon gotta wear maternity wear liao.

chocbabe... We have not decided to enrol her to kinderland yet. My aunt just asked me on tues do we really want to enrol ah-xi to school oredi? She think not necessary yet at this stage. But i hope ah-xi get to mix with more kids and used to the idea of gg to school so next time if i need to enrol her to full-day cc will be easier.

catz... so nice, free air tkts. U gg to phuket or there oredi? My hubby also got lotsa krisflyer points, so we thinking of go free and easy to either aust or nz.

charis... next round ur hubby got another promotion can buy u a piano.
I also waited so long now only has a piano of my own. I started learning organ when i was in P1 and my dad bot me an expensive organ (RM12k is pretty ex at that time) which is collecting dust now in my parents' house. But my real interest is on piano so i started to learn piano only when i was in Sec 4. By the time i went to pre-U, only managed to finish Grade 6.

Winnie, another prince for u? I dunno the gender of this bb as my last scan, still can't see from his/her position.

pvl, i thot i felt a few times big kicks from my bb. The most recent kicks were last nite when i carried ah-xi to the car. Wah, quite pain though, like he/she is kicking my tummy using his/her legs in full strength.

ah ger, ur niece is really a brave little gal! Can tahan the pain and not crying and throw temper like other kids...

gig, congrats on another boy! I wish i know my bb's gender soon too...

smurfy, ah-xi is still a milk addict. Whenever she saw me making her milk milk, she will quickly run to our bed and lie on the pillow waiting to drink.

Juicy, actually there's no plan for this bb so doesn’t matter if it's rat or ox lah, as long as he's a healthy and happy bb.
Hope your wish will come true to have a scorpion and rat bb.
I agree that 'consistent' is the key word.

Ah ger, Sher can sit on high chair during meal at my place but not at my parents' place.

PVL, thanks... You've alr have plan on sleeping arrangements? I still dun dare to think abt it leh. Sigh...

Jelly, you take care of yourself, dun work too hard leh. Guess you'll be able to know gender next visit?