(2007/02) February

fat_babe, u r really calm but then u got experience liao... cos u mother of two liao...

then u got the knowledge n number... for me, i just freak when new things arise... hahaha

but cough i not so worried unless it for weeks... cos he always coughing...

garfield, usually if by now (b4 detailed scan still cant see, then mostly gal. happens for most of my friends, so let us know if its true for you

babe, thanks for the hotline
Actually u are right, certain things through experience we will know if it warrants immediate emergency attention. Hopefully next time when i have #2 i will be as cool as you
anyway, hb not ready to have #2, so i dun know when that day will come

stella,

today i went my gym @ GWC to check out le...i suaku..nvr knew dat there's one there..keke...quite impressed by the facilities and big space..but the trial about ex le..$45 lor..you think??...is woodlands one the same..??..i cheapo mummy..wakkaka...go for value for money.. they say sign up for 10 sessions is $355 or sumthing like dat...and you get free access to use baby gym facilities whenever there's no class...

but wun be of use to me coz i working le...

garfield,
hehee...can i wish for a minnie mouse for you??..or you prefer mickey??..yah la quite true...coz i got tyra to "experiment"...so you #2 keke you will be "calmer" too!!...

cherry,

can la...join smurfy try for moo moo la..if aim moo moo like year end..2009 yr end..you still haf very very long way to plan...by then A oredi quite mature & stable!!...so calendar yr still 2 yrs difference...but actual is almost 3 yrs difference...more relaxin for you..hee

hihi ladies, just came back from Dim Sum Dollies.. fantastic.. highly recommended. It was soooo hilarious

fatbabe ah, my goodness, I see Tyler's accident I also freak out and I am quite a cool cat (haha.. obviously
)... my parents will surely have me thrown into jail man.. and my in laws.. aiyoyo, I don't even know what they would do (although my FIL is a real champion :p) Poor Tyler.. hope he gets better really quickly so his handsome face will be unblemished once more.

Batches 1 and 2 of Old Navy have arrived.. today too busy to unpack... will do so tomorrow
.. so sleepy now *yawn*

fat babe

the facilities at GWC is way better than at woodlands. but i gotto choose woodlands cos of accessibility. woodlands trial is only s$30.00 and fees is 300 for 8 weeks.

actually to me bb gym facilites is of minimal use to me also as i am working. and for normal daily play, i just bring cherish to playgrd..i also cheapo mummy.

gals,.... those who bbs have fever b4 like gak, huskie...

does fever come back again after disappearin??

since sat, his fever subsided but it seems it came back again last nite... n today his temp reach 38.9

sob sob...

garfield
how many days oredi? that time QY's fever developed on friday nite... saturday we bring him see pd...diagnosis was throat infection then.. the fever comes onz and off .. and tuesday we brought him see another pd.. diagnosis was that it escalated to ear infection.. understanding is that throat infection will easily escalate to ear infection...but his fever was controlled.. never going abover 38.5 after the very first visit?

(IN between we brought him to KKH coz of the rashes n we tot it was allergic reaction to medicine, but they were saying they r more afraid of other dunno what illnesses asscociated with fever that goes onz and off for many days). how many days of HIGH fever oredi???

*whisper* today must work, boss coming back tomorow kekeke

morning mummies!!!!

jellooooooo, i sent u the email butthen it got returned to me. don't know why...what's your emaillll???

wait ah...i need to go bathroom to do a number 2.........

smurfy,

thur - start to feel feverish. aftn over 38 degree
fri - alomost whole day above 39 degree
sat - no more fever. around 36 plus or 37 (we use ear scan)
sun - no more fever. stop med
mon - no more fever
mon nite - 37.9 degree took med
this morn - 38.5 to 38.9. took med. now just call n it around 37.3

how how? he also have red spots??? but the other gals say it fine?

garfield,
Yes, Soph had it once like that.
She had fever on a Tue and Wed (no more than 38.5), then by Thur OK, so PD gave go-ahead to go Malacca for the weekend.
When we came back the following week, she got fever again on a Tue, and went up to high of 39 on Thu and 40 on Sat night.
Thu: Went to PD, Did a swab test to see if it's common cold virus... it's not. So PD says fever come and go, probably some infection somewhere, and gave antibiotics Klacid.
Sat night: When fever reached high of 40 even with antibiotics, we took her to A&E. Did a blood test, shows high white blood cell count, so definitely some infection somewhere (likely throat). Doc switched antibiotics to Augmentin (with PD's approval cos I called up PD) and her fever went down from there. But PD says it's not totally AUgmentin's credit, but cos Klacid normally takes about 2 days to work, so even if we stuck with Klacid, her fever could have come down if we waited a bit longer.

She still had fever on Sun and slightly on Mon, but the highs are never as high as 40... i.e. the "highs" should get lower in the recovering stage.

garfield,

the fever will always come & go one...tyler oso like dat..when he haf viral fever...accompanied wif flu and phlegm..his fever up at night..goes down by the day..continue to play ..at night fever again...this go on for like 1 full week...and it comes wif pimple like spots too!!...i tot its chicken pox oso...but coz it disappear after 2 days...i think its ok...

however if you are still feeling unsure..then bring ZZ to doc lor..at least rest your mind...coz fever can be due to many many reasons...

garfield,

if its juz fever...docs may recommend alternating medicine like paracetamol and ibuprofen..so dat they wun overdose on 1 medicine...

smurfy,

by dat time QY knows how to play liao..then you can use the "QY needs a playmate" excuse to go for #2...muahahha

garfield,
Forgot to tell you - if it's a viral fever with no infection (i.e. no need antibiotics), then it will normally last about 5 to 7 days.
Peak will be around 2nd to 3rd day.

Anything longer than that (like Soph's 2 week one), PD will normally suspect infection, then no choice give antibiotics. Normally my PD don't recommend antibiotics unless really no choice.

huskie, i c... he got a bad cough so maybe throat infection? he also start to have running nose

but he takin med for them liao. but yesterday he took chinese med to try.

his doctor also perscribe antibio but advise me to take if his fever dun go down after 1 day tat time. then tat time i went KK, the doctor told me dun feed him cos he havin viral infection.

i will monitor today n if the fever is still above 38 after med, i will go for another review again.

hallo everyone,

garfield, aiyoyo... poor ZZ.. yah I think maybe throat infection - might need antibiotics if his throat is infected. That could by the reason for his yoyo fever. Rashes is normal lah but aiyo, poor guy.. just after his first birthday too!

fatbabe, you can come and collect your stuff liao

milkie, your monster shipment is here.. Courier? You gotta sms me your address again. My phone went kapoot.. I will get the guy to come tomorrow to collect and you pass the $7 to your security guy?

*yawn* still very sleepy siahhhhhh...

fat_babe, zz case same as tyler! yes doc also give me two type of med for fever to alternate. one dhamol and the other Bifen.

huskie, yes viral fever dun eat antibio lor but if goes on for 2 wks then i know it might be other infection liao... but 2 wks long rgt?

garfield,
Yeah, keep monitoring him... if no choice, then take antibiotics lor... don't wanna scare you, but my nephew's infection (lots of phlegm) was once so bad he had to be admitted to hospital and had the mucous sucked out through some tubes... woah, very traumatic for him!

Chinese med works, but takes longer, therefore not so effective in times of high fever.
Also, there should be at least a 2 or 3 hr gap (I can't remember how long, but take 3, safer) between Western med and Chinese med yeah?

garfield, when he gets well, his appetite will be like a pig, don't worry wan.. just get him better first.. weight loss is normal. Timo's worst weight loss was 1.5kg!! Imagine that! He stayed at 9kg for a looooong time.. until he was past 18 months I believe :p So don't worry about zz's weight.. just help his body fight the infection first. Gosh, you'd better take care too.. you also cannot crash leh. I also say if you cannot 'fang xin', then better bring him to a good pd.

smurfy, ya maybe... since cannot solve... today need to monitor again. cos he doesn't have a fix PD. the last PD he went was not so good. eat his med two bottles also no cure for his last cough last time. so i went for the GP at dawson which was not bad, eat n cure so this time I also bring him go.

cos the two doctor i went say his throat n lungs look ok...

then both suspect viral fever.

garfield,
Yep, 2 weeks is too long liao... you monitor today and tomorrow, if really still fever, then better to take antibiotics or bring to another PD.

Also, antibiotics may cause loose stools, so you can feed him Lactefort (probiotics) so keep his intestinal flora healthy. Can start Lactefort when you start your antibiotics. Can be bought from pharmacy.

Is he still active? If active but skinny, OK lah... Soph arms and legs were like sticks when she fell sick that time... even hubby thought she was longer, but she was just skinnier. But she was still crawling about once her fever was down to 38.5, so we're not taht worried. They'll eat lots and put on weight real fast when they've recovered!

garfield, better to find a good PD and stick with them so that you can work with that PD to find a good solution. 2 weeks is too long to depend on GP liao. Can also give him yoghurt to settle his tummy if he's on antibiotics if not like huskie says, sure got lau sai. But you gotta time the yoghurt, to be 2 hours before and after meals..

gar
agree with catz on sticking through a same PD or even a same GP. coz they have the past records etc.

catz.
me swayed off frm Dr ek ong. he's too famous.. spending 4hrs waiting when u have a sick kiddo is too much for me. me now at their sis clinic at mt.A, Dr Chan.

garfield, men and women are totally different wan.. heh.

smurfy, EK Ong is really too busy lor.. but I choose my timings
Worst case, I will bring to SBCC AMK which takes appointments.. I usually try to get there for the first appointments before the waiting times get too long.

yes we used to go to one pd which my mum recommend. but so far zz is never so sick u see. then the last time he went to the pd, he didn't get cured even when he finish two rounds... imagine the expense n the waiting too cos he also have many patients.

then i give up n try the GP downstairs, but feel they r inexp so i went only one time n never take their med.

in the end, took chinese med until ok.

then later he has another cough i think, so i went to the dawson one and it work for him n the GP was v patient w kids n the waiting time was alrite. the med he gave is also kids med.

then last mon when he have mozzie bite, i took him to see him again. tat time no fever.

this fever i went to see him too n he gave me those med. in fact these med work when zz eat them. but I gan jiong n bring him to kk too... then eat kk med which i thot should be better. in the end, didn't work. so i switch back to his.

catz,

yeah!!...i saw my shipping is $10++..this one is before offsetting from maidenform?? let me know how much i haf to tt to you can??..

i wun be able to collect tonite la..kekke...so maybe later part of the week...heee..

btw, heard the similac ad is out... any 1 watch it? i haven't n heard there r many shots omitted includin my zz hand...

wow imagine the whole day filming but so few shots make it...

but i got a video of zoe playin w my son... keep for memory.

catz,

i calculate liao..think is -$10.42 + $7.05...so i still owe you $3.37..hee.

smurfy,

you bought walking wings and selling it away??..
why ar?? you tried on QY not?

fatbabe
me ambitious mum. bought it when he was ard 7 0r 8mths arr.. tried putting him in there once.. and he make noise.. so kept it away.. until was re-discovered recently by the hb... now he oredi walk dun need that liao :p u wanna???? i got so many white elephants sitting at home.. must go dig them out one of these days..

smurfy
ar??..

dat one is to learn how to walk one ar??...kekke no wun need dat too...tyler oso walking liao...i tot its a leash...and i think I SERIOUSLY need a leash to keep him beside me..wahahaha...

babe, that sounds right
Just lemme know when you wanna swing by lah..

garfield, zz is getting so tall lor.. believe it or not, i hv not switched on TV for the past few nights, never see the ad either! Now I'll keep my eyes peeled for zz's hand!

Bethany is walking everywhere now.. so scary!!! She can walk really long distances but sometimes she still falls and suay suay my sister's dog is always in the way.. haha.. think the dog got broken bones and brain damage from my daughter's big and heavy backside falling on her :p

garfield
zz really seems to be enjoying himself and learning abt the spades and pails.. so envious..

catz
has tim n beth gone to the beach?? :p i think my hb will definitely say no for QY
.. ehh check with u hor, when i order via vpost..and under the invoices received, the product description is "books".. will i by any chance be charged under "books" catergory and not "other - toys" category for the shipping?? (1st time ordering, learning)

catz,

yes he rather tall but thin. argh... my mum say she can't find any hand in the commercial... hahaha
she only saw zoe carryin the boy that all...
actually there shld be some crawling too from the boy but my mum say nothing... so guess the ad must be really short... cut so many shots mah... in fact shld be zoe seein a photo album too... but my mum say nothing... anyway, we get paid n luckily they release my boy earlier...

smurfy, noe I know y u envious. bring QY to beach lar! i sure he will enjoy it. first he will explore the sand n then later see the adults playin n using the tools, then he follow. zz reaction v funny. the moment we place him on sand.... he goes eeeee..... hahahha then after a while he places his hand and legs into the sand.

smurfy, er.. I'm not a big fan of vpost 'cos of this category thing.. not too sure leh. But sounds like yeah, they will charge acc to invoice. Tim hates sand.. Beth, not very much contact. At Port Dickson, they didn't really hv much contact with sand. Heh.

garfield,
zz looks really tall! He's not skinny lah... just lanky!
The last I measured Soph, she's still 68cm... arghhhhhhh... hope she doesn't inherit my hubby's Liliputian genes!

Haha, Catz, how come the dog doesn't know how to dodge Beth when she sees Beth coming?
My cats runs away from Sophie when Soph gets too rough, and my mum's dog (heavy like a little piglet) likes to step on Soph's toes and Soph cries from it! Not so much luck for Soph with animals!

garfield,

keke...ZZ is sure enjoying himself!!...he like getting more & more handsome le..ekkee..maybe coz got more hair??/

i oso feel like trying beach outing one day but i suspect tyler will but putting all the sand into his mouth..wakkaka??....

catz/fat babe
how does ur kids walk? slow, steady steps? or rushing forward? QY walks like going to run or leap forward?

garfield
yah.. i always envy babies who can have real good fun.. just like ryan and the water fountain.. zz n the sand.. but i dun think hb is ready (err me oso)..

catz
oh i hope they charge it based on books, instead of toys ..otherwise it's a hefty learning process for me.. :p

huskie, my sister's dog is very stupid..haha.. no lah, she's just very lazy to move :p Never move, too bad lor.. get Beth's big stinky butt plonked all over her. Teehee.. poor Soph!

omg, my work is gettin so heavy for me... forever cannot finish...

fat_babe, tyler is also one handsome boy... so dun make his face so full of scars lar ;p

smurfy, we like our kids to play under the sun... somemore ours is boy so should be more exposed. more tan more handsome hahahah i like tanned guys.

smurfy,

he walk very fast...as if he's trying to run...weird thing is...he put both his hand behind..as if he's an aeroplane...and start dashing forward...which oso explain why he's forever falling..

kekeke sounds like QY..very scary..coz they dunno the danger..

fat_babe, i think tat good ley. it means tyler not afraid to fall so that means he will learn walkin v v fast... for zz, he scare the moment he walks, he make sure we hold his hands. if we let go of one, he will pause v long before walkin forward 1. v scary cat.