(2007/02) February

milkie

cherish is one horrible bb ..now that she got all her front teeth..she really bite till i bled.

she likes to target my nose.

Re: Cheese

Like GOG, I'm planning to intro cheese to J next week. Egg will be this week. 1/2 a hardboiled egg yolk to start with right??

What brand of cheese u gals are using?

plase advise.

susu, the brand of the cheese is Cheerios izit? Must go and find.

Ya, babies are innocent and forgiving. Can't remember how many times we knock them here and there while we mishandling them, but they still come to us for comfort and their first word is always "ma ma".

huskie, that was wat i was thinking of doing also...buy ready made crust. HEE HEE HEE great minds think alike.

eh, btw..i gave YR a cube of the cranberry beans..she likes it leh....I put the cranberry beans in the slow cooker to slow cook for about 5 hours....i think it's about right lor the consistency. I pureed the cranberry beans with some of the liquid to make it a bit smoother..if not the consistency of the beans alone wil be too thick and too jelak for the baby. And then the rest of the liquid i froze it in cubes also so that i can use it as a stock base.
I damn smart right?? hahahahahaa

Yo, so did sophie sleep at all after the 40 mins??? or was she just playing in the cot till 230pm????

smurfyyy, yes yes Of cos i'm happy lah...i mean it's kinda like she finally acknowledges her mum. hahahahahaha It's very gratifying when u see the babies grow up learning little things along the way....We better enjoy them now while we can...before they turn into horrific creatures in future...:p :p

I can just imagine notti QY pretending to cough lor...i would also be laughing if i were u.

YR likes to dance . Everytime she hears music (can be MTV or TV jingles or FP learning table songs or CDs or just me singing), she will stand up and either shake her butt or bop herself up and down as if to the beat of the songs. Very cute......

Just now my PILs saw her dancing to the Ellen Degeneres tune and were really amused.

GRACE of god and JELLy wolly....YES YES my dear girls...u can buy PRE-SHREDDED cheese from supermarket nowadays!!!! Walau...u 2 really come from the mountains is it?? :p :p I think cold storage has them. U can either buy their house brand or else just buy Bega shredded cheese. It's good enuff lor i feel. then when u become more adventurous, u can buy cottage cheese, the laughing cow cheese etc....Cottage cheese was the 1st cheese i gave YR and she was ok with it...but it's a bit messy to give lah...that's why i rather give shredded cheese or the party cube thingy....more convenient.

LALA, poor u...maybe u have to teach Cherish NOT to bite u. It must really hurt lor....*sayang sayang* Don't let her make it a habit of biting u....very jialat leh i can imagine....

Sunsweet, try bega cheese lah...alrady shredded so easy to give...
I think Smiley J will love it. she seems like an easy eater....

Ms JElly, no no xiao jie....cheerios is the cereal...u try bega cheese for the shredded cheese. Eh, but u can try to buy cheerios too...it's very good as a snack for them cos it really tastes like paper.....I don like cheerios lor...too healthy tasting....:p

Huskieeee and Jello, u know just now i went to GWC's organic shop to buy YR raisins, then the lady very nice. She gave YR a box of cookies by snikiddy???? at first she only gave YR a packet of it that is retailing for 2bucks...then later on, she suddenly asked me to wait and gave YR a box that contains 5 packets of that...:p :p

milkshake
wah! so soon??
wld u be supplementing with FM? or juz fresh milk?
me the most 2day-rule :p sometimes 3day if not much stuff in fridge to give him..keke

huskie
kk
me still waiting for the supplier to get bak to me

smurfy
actually i nv confirm with the organiser cuz i juz told her i'm interested..
think will cancel my orders ;P

re: biting
my boy bites too but i'll tell him dun bite mommy, pain pain..& seems like he understood cuz he'll stop

think cuz everytime he hurt himself, i told him pain pain so he knows wat pain is! hehee..

*ouch* bite till bleed???
so painful!

jelly
u can try giving ur bb the cheese as a snack
no need to cook into a dish
i oso lazy to think how to include cheese into his meals..
so most time now i give him as a finger food

he loves it!

gakkkk, yes...YR loves cheerios...she has gotdisgusting taste and she is a greedy guts...only 2 bottom teeth have emerged and she has no problems taking in 9 TB of that stuff for breakfast.

milkshake
9 TB??? wow!
u mixed with FM for her?

smurfy
compasspoint, where is a good place to meet uh?
me very long nv go lo..scared landmark change liao

milkie,
Haha, yes, the cranberry beans make a good stock!
Hmm... YR takes 9 tablespoon of cheerios for breakfast? Even I don't take so much cornflakes leh!

Eh, Soph didn't sleep at all after she woke up.... so she only slept 40mins for her afternoon nap, then by 345pm, she was cranky and sleepy, so bo pian, I put her to nap and she only napped 20mins.
I think she is too tired cos I woke her up at 10am. Cos hubby said when he woke up at 6am, she was already talking away in her cot! Means she prob woke up at 5+... then I woke her up from her morning nap, and that got her cranky and overtired thru'out the day that she could not nap well anymore *sigh*

gak, am thinking of giving her fresh milk and maybe formula as supplement when she turns 10 mths...then when she reaches 1 year, i'll probably just go with fresh milk.

hmm 9 TB with FM or EBM plus 2 cubes of fruit purees and a small tub of yogurt...

huskie, but now the thing is that u are trying to get Sophie to sleep till 7am right??? I really don't know where it's going wrong.

normally u let her sleep what times and what duration????

milkie,
I currently let her sleep at 7pm leh and she'll wake up at 5+.
I tried to let her sleep later at 7+ to 8, she also wake up at 6 or 6+.

Do you think my baby just needs less sleep than normal babies?
Cos during her colicky period, she sleeps very little due to the discomfort... maybe that got her used to sleeping lesser?!

Eh, you still pumping out EBM for YR now?

gak, u try to give the cheerios with formula or ebm..it's ok one...babies can take it cos the cheerios turn soft. also u can give cheerios as snacks for tea break etc...

huskie..maybe u started on the GF schedule later...u just try to maintain the schedule as much as u can...and see whether Soph will sleep longer at night? Previously YR also will wake up at 5 plus or 6plus but the trick is not to let them out of the room till 7am. Sooner or later the babies will learn that it's not time to wake up i guess.

I suspect u giving Sophie too much naps in the daytime

i'm not pumping anymore lah my dear girl. But i have excess stock in the freezer mah..hahahahahaha last time i kiasi kept pumping out to store....

milkie,
Her daytime naps is only a maximum of 3 hrs leh... in fact, normally only 2.5hrs.
Woah, how much excess do you have? I only have a miserable 3 bottles of 60ml each... now so long liao, think better throw away!

huskie, i forgot wherei read from but i remember i read that sleeping habits can be nurtured upon babies when they are still young. that is also the reason why i think u can 'train' soph to sleep longer. Sleeping is good for babies and toddlers...so i think it's good to let them form this habit. Sleeping makes them grow better and keeps them well rested and all. So i'm very pro babies/toddlers sleeping more .

huskie, maybe sophie just needs to get used to sleeping...just persist on ???? can tahan or not u????

by now she should b doing 2 naps. at 9am to 945am and the other one at 1230 to 230pm right???

for my case, i've actually let YR sleep from 9am to 10am...and then i'll let her take her 2nd nap from 1215pm to about 145pm - 215pm. It ranges lah for the 2nd nap depending on her mood. But it suits me fine cos once she is up, i'm mostly on my way out with her.....

gak, i vary her breakfast everyday....... so she got quite a big variety of foods..hee hee

yes...i am very into freezing foods..:p :p cos i super lazy lah....

i have frozen apples, pears, red pears, red dragonfruit, white dragonfruit, watermelon, rockmelon, red plum, black plum, prune, avocado, apricot, blueberry, raspberries, strawberry + pears, mango, peaches, nectarines, green kiwi, papaya...

re: sleeping
i oso try to let my boy sleep @ 7pm
but in between he'll still wakes up in sleepy state & need to pat him bak to sleep...
is he feeling insecure??

he'll wake up around 10.30pm for another milk feeding though..
& another abt 1am..
morning he wakes abt 6+am, i'll give him his milk & make him sleep again..
he'll wake up abt 9am then

are ur babies like that too???

wwwaaahhhhh milkie.... what a variety of fruits... but i even lazier than u, too lazy to even freeze it.. I just scoop the fruit straight to give him. that's why I only give fruits like dragonfruit, kiwi and papaya... he loves to hold his own strawberry and chew it... here's him eating strawberry...

1050953.jpg

so how u prepare these fruits? you steam it first? or just put them in blender then freeze?

I called Gymboree regarding Birthday Bash today - here're the details:

Combined Birthday Bash at Gymboree
Cost: $320 for 10 kids i.e. $32 each
Additional kids at $15 each
(So if we have more than 10pax, costs will be lower than $32/pax)

Duration: 1.5hrs (1hr program and 0.5hr party)

Food & Drinks: Not provided; have to bring our own finger food and drinks (no hot food)

Cake: Gymbo the Clown cake at $36/kg (optional or we can bring our own)

Goodie Bag: Everyone will be given a small goodie bag, but there will only be 1 special birthday goodie bag which contains a beachball and some bubble blowing stuff.

Note: We can tell the instructor that it's a combined birthday bash so he will not single out any specific birthday kid.

* The price above is if one of us is a member and uses the member's name to organise it.

huskie..u still using bf pillow?! Hahaha..amazing..but its useful I guess.
I dumped it when Yael was around 4 months..he jus got too huge for it..It wasnt easy for me at first..I had to see an LC cos he couldnt latch on properly.but my fren bought the pillow for me rather early so it helped, but after tat he could latch on well, n in any position, upside down also can..haha..only problem is he jus doesnt drink much!!

Combined bday bash?
Sounds fun..

PVL..can our babies eat dhal? I know its the kind u can put in curry..it has lots of protein right?
Anyway dhal is a lentil? Or a bean/seed? Haha..

chocbabe, i think at ryan's age, don't have to steam the fruits already. He looks matured ,looks like a toddler. His hair so thick!!!! he looks like he is enjoying his strawberry too...hee hee

gak, for the mummies who are using GF's schedule, i think the napping and feeding times will be like so:

7am: wake up, milk + breakfast
9am: nap
945am: wake up & play
1115am OR 1145am: Lunch (no milk feed)
12pm OR 1230pm: NAP
2pm OR 230pm: wake up (milk feed)
5PM: DINNERRRRR
630PM: MILK FEED
7pm: SLEEP.....and bye bye till 7am

gak, I have stopped steaming the fruits since YR turned 7 mths....apples and pears do turn a little brown if u keep them outthere for too long, so u try to quickly peel the skin and quickly puree and put in freezer. Even if it turns brown, it's still edible. Papayas can be frozen. Initially YR didn't like it that much, but nowadays she just eats it as it is. I only give her fresh fruits if husband happens to want to eat some fruits and it happens to be her snacking/feeding time then. :p :p if not, too bad lor. :p :p

susu, me china gal, seldom cook or buy cheesy stuff mah.
I know why the organic lady go get 5 packets one. Becos she knows u will steal from YR! Haha...

Okok, will go get some bega cheese, hopefully by to9. Thank u gals for all the advice.

susu, ur freezer compartment must be HUGE to store so many frozen fruits!!! Can give dragonfruit to 8 months old baby? Will intro peas to her this weekend. My fridge only left red plum and peas purees. Better go supermarket to stock up more fruits and vege to puree.

Eh, u all let babies sleep at 7pm doesn't that mean not much time for the daddies and babies to connect to each other? 7pm sleep time is basically quite impossible for working mums like us. By the time I pick up YX from my aunt's place and reach my house, almost 7.30pm. Then take dinner, shower, do laundry, play and read a while for her is oredi 9 plus...

Gak, YX has her last milk feed at 9pm, sleep at 10pm, then wake up for her morning feed at between 5.30 to 6.30am. Then continue to sleep most of the time till 9.30am.

chocbabe, ryan looks so grown-up eating the whole strawberry! He seems to enjoy it!

huskie, thanks for the info on gymboree birthday bash! But what is the $320 included? The venue and activitiy kits?

jellooooooooooooooooooo!!! :p :p oy, anyhow say...I don't eat baby biscuits okie..:p :p i only eat ice cream. hahahahahe ya, u should go try bega cheese, u can even eat it for yourself as a snack lor. My husband and i used to buy bega cheese just to snack on esp when we watching tv and mouth feeling itchy. It is a healthier option than chips all the time lor.

my freezer compartment basically is just for YR's food now....no space for our things...i take a pic of it and forward to ur email lor later...then u see what it's like.

girl, i think can give dragon fruit to 8 mth old ba?? that time i remembered PVL's ben was eating it eons ago...that's why i decided to let YR try it too. :p :p

Eh, u should try to give the red dragonfruit...damn happening the color. Looks like blood. hahahaha

hmmm my hub comes back from work at ard 3plus to 5pm so he got enuff time to connect with YR. Even if he occasionally comes back after her bedtime...then it's ok lah. YR still enjoys being with him cos he never disciplines her.

My hub also prefers to spend quality time with me earlier so that's why he very onz about putting YR to bed early. Weekends he can play with her 2 whole days mah. Hee he

but for working mummies cases, it is hard to put the baby down at 7pm lor....cos of work issues etc. So i guess u just have to be comfy with the whole schedule arrangement.
Most impt is you happy, hubby happy and YX happy mah. Right???

milkie,
Don't just send the pic of your freezer to jelly lah... post it up here!
Yeah, red dragonfruit looks like beet hor? Poop comes out red too... heee, won't tell you whose though!

Woah, has YR finished all the 5 packs from the organic lady?

jelly,
The $320 for 10 kids (i.e. $32/kid) is the price of the birthday at the gym itself. Includes 1 hr of gym and entertainment by the instructor plus "small" goodie bag... and of course the venue itself cos we're using their gym. But of course if we do a normal catering at someone's function room, cost will be cheaper cos that will "bao" our food

Just a suggestion... anyway, our babies' birthdays all fall around CNY... lots of us may not be able to make it, so this combined BD bash may not happen

Charis,
Yeah, bf pillow is really good. Soph is a bit big for it... each time I put her on it, the pillow sinks, so I just hold it up with my thighs. Lengthwise, I slant it so that her head is at one end and her bum on the other, with legs hanging down. Think she prefers the bf pillow too, cos she gets really uncomfortable when I cradle hold her

Jelly

i did not train cherish to sleep at 7pm..but once the clock hits 7 or 7.15..she will be rubbing eyes and cranky . This started when she is ard 2 to 3 mths old. Luckily i knock off early and reach home ard 6. Everyday one hr with her only.

since she sleeps early, i got to push all my other activities after her sleeping time. Eat after she sleeps..bathe after she sleeps.

NURSIng pillow
whahaha i recall QY's big head makes the nursing pillow sinks and his head lower than the rest of the body.. that's when it's out of the pic.. coz he hates that posture

sleep, eat n play
i agreet the gina ford method works best for sahm, so i never put qy on a schedule. in the end, he came up his own which suits us hahaha. FOR weekdays, it something like:

8-9am - wakes up
9-10am - play, drink milk
10-1130am - play, nap (nap only 1/2 hr)
1130-12pm - wake up, eat lunch
12pm - 2pm - play, bath
2pm - 230pm - play n drink milk
230-4pm - (nap ard 1.5 to 2 hr)
4pm - wake up, play
5.30pm - dinner
530pm onwards, play until 9pm ++

depends on what time the daddy comes home, i will try to let him play with the daddy for a while, drinks milk then sleep. usually he can continueeee playing until we put him to sleep :p, so if the daddy coming home at 10pm, QY plays until then... but 1030pm is the max lar.. if the daddy still not home then, QY will still drink milk at 1030pm then go to sleep.

weekends is a mess
usually QY naps outside, in the car when we go out and nite time return home is oredi 10pm- 11pm, by the time he finishes his milk oredi coming 12am. then he sleeps.. :x

anyway he loves playing too much arr.. very unusual, he will get cranky coz he wants to sleep..

usually we have to "put him to sleep" by rocking him or putting him on the cot... at times i feel soo bad for him seeing his dark eye rings

Susu,

my timing abit like GF except for the last few hrs i.e

6 p.m he will have dinner
9 p.m - milk feed then bye bye till 6.30 to 7 a.m timing

cos I dun reach home early and still want soem time with him. but i make sure by 8 plus we dun play w him anymore so as not to overstimulate him.

last nite, he sleep at 830 p.m though cos we see tat he is already rubbing eyes. then this boy actually wake up around 4 plus to 5 to play by himself... he keep making eh eh sound to see any return response to him. but i ignore him. my stupid hb then go toilet and on light. then walk over to him and smile at him and eh back...!!! i told him off as this is his sleepin time. dun go and irritate or rouse him. hb say "my child also cannot play meh"

luckily zz still quite happy w playin by himself. after a few eh and talking blah blah and scratching the playpen, he doze off i guess cos very quiet. until 6.45 a.m when i make milk then he wake up. also accomodate my time lor cos after 7 a.m too rush for me liao. then he can see papa for a while too b4 he go to work.

btw, any1 heard of HomeCamera?? I saw a mailer that the service is free and can monitor yr bb at home...

btw,
he has a baluku yesterday!!!!! i ask my maid n she say zz might have fell onto toys while playing in play yard.... so now got a pinkish thing on his forehead... not handsome liao...

smurfy, i agree wkends abit messy as we go gia gia. but i realise after i train zz to sleep at 9, he starts to rub eyes around the time liao. sometimes he can even sleep earlier while we r still outside.

then when we came back, we will try to change him, sometimes he wake up and cry so we do quickly. then we make milk and then he continue sleepin lo.

smurfy

i like QY schedule leh..so flexible. can nap inside car.. cherish can nap inside the car, provided the distance is long enuff. cos once we reach the destination , she will wake up liao.

and when the clock strikes 7 , she go to be in her room and her favourite(which is also my most hatred) yao lan

garfield
a baluku is a big thing and zz would have cried out loud right?.. and ur maid says "might have fell on the toys only???" doesn't she feedback to u on the daily happenings???

side question
do u think a frosted glass door for master bed room toilet entrance will work? anyone done it?

oh yah..

something more optimistic abt cherish: she finally knows how to leopard crawl already.and she is trying to crawl using her four limbs also. but failed after one or two steps

and she can getting into sitting position from her leopard crawl.

smurfy

i have seen lots of new flats with frosted glass door..

it looks very nice but i think more suitable for couples only family. unless u dont mind ur children looking at ur shadow when u r inside..real life potty training session..haha

frosted cannot see one mahhhhhh hahahaha or at least that's what i think :p

ohhh finally cherish up on her fours.. now u will be busy and wish for the sweet old days :p i give up. QY's a master crawler using his hands to push his whole body forward.. tummy forever on the ground.. dun think he will want to try the proper method.. is too slow for him whhahahaa. con- he will not have the chance to master his hands/legs coorination.. pro - he will have sturdy n strong arms for ladies to rest their heads on in future hahahahaha

Huskieeeee, i don' tknow how to post here. it always says too big...and don ask me shrink pic cos i don know how to. :p i'll send to jello lah..then see if jello wants to post here not. :p :p huskie, u don see YR too up leh. I havent given her any of the cookies from the organic lady. i have to do a taste test on it first...to er hem make sure yoori can take it. :p :p

orange cat, zz baluku big not??? YOori's baluku from that day disappeared already today. :p yday it was still visible but no longer dark...so my PILs didn't know she fell..:p :p anywayz hor, i think my PILs not so bad as my parents leh....they very open minded and very cool about babies stuff.

For eg hor...they say Yr's bath water too hot for her (hmmm i beg to differ lor, cos the bath water is more like room temperature water)....they ask me to do colder water for her....So i guess for these few days YR will have to bear with colder water lor.

just now my mil saw me chug the whole party cube into YR's mouth then she said it's too big....I told her it's soft so it's ok. Then i showed her how YR can eat a raisin and cranberry. Then i told her if she can handle harder stuff like raisin and cranberry, soft cheese is not a problem. :p

Smurfy

perhaps ur frosted and wat i saw is different..those that i saw can see the "outline" of the person..esp when the lightings inside the toilet are switched on.

but its good for couple mah..spice up life..heehee

my boss penthse, the bathtub is outside the toilet..very nice.

ehh..

no leh..i rather she crawls, so i dun have to carry her to get wat she wants

susu, smurfy,

his baluku not big. I came back home then maid tell me. then i ask when happen and what is he doing lor. any vomiting or dizzy...

then she ensures me tat it happen in the play yard. but she like also not sure how he got it cos she say he cry and then she saw him lying on the mat and then this baluku lo. then she apply aleo vera to him.

this morn i see not so obvious but it still there.

frosted glass? rather nice but I stick to hdb 1 since it is free and it not so ugly lor...

i change my kitchen and bathrm tiles though cos the ones that come is super slippery!

susu, yes, i want to see ur freezer. Haha...

huskie, susu doesn't know how to post. Later i post here for all of u to see.

susu, ur hubby can leave office so early? *envy* If my hubby in sg, i will pick him up from his office at 7.05pm (after ERP hour) after I pick up YX from my aunt's place. Then we will go for dinner b4 heading home. Yday first time YX wanted my HB than me.
Reason being daddy=hug + play; and mummy=read + sleep.

Now YX is finally 8 months old, and I more dare to let her try different kind of food. Like two days ago we have fish head for dinner outside, so i let her taste the fish, then a bit of corn from my ice kacang.

huskie, guess everyone will be busy near to cny. So we all must try to make our xmas gathering a success k?

stella, sometimes i wish YX can sleep earlier so that i have more time for myself. But apparently she will only want to sleep after 10pm.
Congrats on Cherish's new milestone!

smurfy, Yunxi also play and play and play until 10pm rite b4 i put her to bed, maybe that's why she need at least 30 minutes b4 will fall asleep. She is extremely playful recently, and hubby and my younger sis, including myself just can't help want to play wif her and see her giggling all the way.

garfield, how come zz got baluku and ur maid didn't tell u immediately? Must be knocked quite hard to have baluku rite?

YX is learning to "walk" this week. She will hold on to the edge of bed and sofa and "walk", with our supervision. She can take quite a few steps too when i hold her fingers. But but, she still can't crawl properly as in on all four, instead of leopard crawwwl... How come ha?

smurfy, my aunt has not set up the playyard.
Think she still feels the playyard is too bulky and afraid YX will knock her head to the playyard.

Eh... I am supposed to post Miss susu's freezer, but then, i prefer to post these pictures of her princess

1051693.jpg
1051694.jpg

milkshake
i made pear puree once, all turned brown even though i freeze immediately after puree so i throw away..
Thanks for the GF's schedule!
but then 7am milk + breakfast??
won't it be too much?

jelly
it's rather tough uh?
if baby sleeps at 7pm, dun get to spend much time with him hor
but i heard that as the child grows older he/she wld sleep lata & lata..
but i really do wonder y they wake up so early even though sleep late uh?

smurfy
my boy oso needs to be carry & rock to sleep..
but if he's in a familiaar place, once he's drowsy
i can put him on the bed & he'll sleep lo

when my hubby around, his schedule oso all mess up cuz out whole day!!!

garfield
i'm still trying to get him to sleep in his cot..
currently he's sleeping on the bed with us

sometimes i got squeezed till no space!

last nite my boy oso wakes up 2-3times & played by himself le..
izit a trend now? hahaa..
dunno wat's gg on