(2007/02) February

smurfy

cherish still at screaming stage.. but when she cries..she will have the "meh meh meh" sounds. the funny thing is when one particular malay sch boy walked past her , she will turn her head and say "eh"

she used to be quite chatty ..but suddenly disappear

Morning mummies...

Garfield, thanks thanks... Managed to upload the clock following ur instruction.

skinny_babe, sorry, not able to help u on maid passport renewal as me no maid. Probably u can call up Indo embassy to check?

Yunxi is a chatty girl also from the beginning. Over past weekend, she kept saying "mum mum" when we eat, and "chat" whenever i read to her. She likes to mumble also before she went to sleep.

And oh... She bites me, on my shoulder! Twice, when she got too excited! She still bo geh but the bites are painful!!!

smurfy

u r rite abt the bumbo seat..
parental supervision is very important, no matter how safe the product is

jas
OuCh..... YX bites u? hahaha another active girl ;)

sop
ehhh hahhaha funny right, that sop onli knows how to call ma-ma-ma-ma when she cries?

stella
be happy that cherish looks at boys!!!

milk strike is over for QY.. can drink back ard 600-700ml a day. think before that was teething .. coz dun wanna drink milk, and was fussy at EATing, and cannot sleep well.. last few days, eat a lot, drink a lot, sleep alot. now i got a very chubby QY again...

smurfy

glad to know QY regain her chubbiness.. cherish got 4 teeth now..the other two upper ones can spot white dots on gums liao..she is very grouchy yesterday..i guess might be teething problem.

cherish looks at boys but all indian and malay..next time my son in law might be non chinese.

smurfy, congrats on finding ur chubby QY back.

Ya... YX bites me! So pain i thot her teeth comes out oredi, but checked, nothing...

YX did a massive poo again yday, this time at my fren's house, and mess up the place. Haiz...

jelly

if YX teeth pops out , the bite is more viscious..cherish bite my nose until till my nose tip bled

STELLa
onli 2 teeths and so much fussiness... still got another 30+ teeth right? ai yo.. think oredi can faint.. whahaha u orediii think soo far arr?

jas
how come YX's poo can shoot here n there n mess up the placeeE?? eeeks hahaha.. oh.. how were ur reacion n ur friends reaction then??

dropped by the clinic and QY weighing a massive 9.46kg @ 8.5mths.

stella, oh my! That must be very pain!!!

smurfy, her poo not shooting here and there lah, but we happened to sit on the sofa wif me holding her, and she pooed until leak out from diaper, kena my shorts and the sofa. And we have to use the toilet to clean up the poo so the whole place stink!!!

QY cross 9kg liao? My aunty weighed YX last week and said YX is oredi 10kg! Unbelievable!!!

Smurfy n Jelly,

wah qy and yx so heavy already ah... weighed ryan using a NTUC weighing machine few days ago. Only 8.7kg.

Lately he hardly drink milk also, dunno why... sigh.. lost all his chubbiness already...

smurfy,
QY can drink so much milk per day?! Haha, no wonder he is so chubby!

stella,
Non chinese son-in-law good leh... then next time your grandchildren will be very cute!

Speaking abt babies babbling, I have a brand new CD for sale. I bought 2 from Amazon (one was using Amazon prime as I didn't want to wait too long and the other using std shipping). Anyway, my bro is bringing them back for me from the US next Sunday so if anyone is interested... just let me know. Preference is self-collect from me :)

http://www.amazon.com/Little-Language-Songs-Ones/dp/B00005RHSD/ref=sr_1_3/103-7295381-7288649?ie=UTF8&s=music&qid=1193635553&sr=8-3

Product Description
Winner of the Education Clearinghouse 2002 Award of Excellence, this fun and fabulous album features 40 minutes of educational songs for your child ages birth to eight. Each song was written with a specific speech and language goal in mind. It has received 7 National Reviews/Endorsements and several local including the Music City's Nashville Parent Magazine. This soundtrack exposes your child to a wide variety of musical styles including jazz, folk, dance, pop, internation, and features fun sound effects and interactive songs too. The most educational songs are paced so that your child will be able to comprehend the lyrics and be able to sing along as well. Developed by a speech-language pathologist, this album reinforces all of the speech techniques taught in the Little Language for Little Ones Book.

Huskie..Sophie still dont like to drink from bottle?
Anyway, I always prefer latch on..its more convenient..n helps me to bond with baby n lose weight cos of the work of making milk done by body to produce milk..haha.
SO Im still want to bf n direct latch Yael at least till 1 year old..then I may consider weaning but still expressing the milk to feed him in a cup.
Yael doesnt mind drinking from the bottle, so I still give him the bottle at nite..or when someone else babysits him.

Jazzcy, how much are u selling? I am interested.

YX is drinking 720ml of milk per day, and 1 or 2 meals of solid (4tsp of rice cereal or porridge + 1 cube of vege + 1 or 2 cubes of fruits). Is it too much or too little?

jas arr.
YX does not seems to eat alot but anyway i am oso at a loss of how much bb shld eat now. my ony hint is that this boy will act vomit when he is full or dun wanna eat oredi.

for lunch, QY can finish one "cheena" bowl of porridge (mixed with brown rice, millet, 1 type fish, 1 type orange colored food, 1 type green vege,), then another 2-3 tblsp fruits and another 2 tablespoon greens.

dinner, he is still on cereals for dinner n pureed foods. think is more gentle on the stomach digestive system. dun wanna him work sooo hard in the nite time..

jelly, i can sell to you at S$13 (my cost price) for self collection :))) is that ok? sms me to arrange for self collection lah. i am on leave 7-9 Nov. U are welcome to bring YX over to my place to play or go to the pool if u like....

weight differs on different weighing machines.. must use the clinic bb type to weigh will be more accurate..
mine weighs 9kg at 9mths.. finally done 2nd dose of peumoccocol... he can have a break wif no injections till after 1yr old.. then have to take several vacs again..

smurfy, maybe becos YX eat less of solid that's why her milk intake is more. She also when full will close her lips tight tight and turn her head away, or if drinking milk, playing wif the teats instead of drinking.

Jazzcy, how to go ur place ha? Me road blind lei, only know how to go from clementi-Pasir Ris-Bedok and vice versa. Haha... Can send to me by post and i will pay u the postage?

Hi mummies! Been MIA (like milkshake said) since Friday. Hehehehe

re: Babies talking
Ben mainly says 'papapapa', 'mamama' and 'gagagaga'. Just now someone was here fixing the piano, and he thought that Ben called him 'uncle' but actually it was 'ah-ga'. So funny.

Huskie,
I don't think I did the cranberry beans very well, but I just did what I do with everything else - steam and puree, skin and all. I used the munchkin, but it was VERY HARD to puree. Maybe I didn't steam it long enough. Anyway, Ben has one cube of the been puree in his porridge every now and then. He's ok with it though I find it a tad bitterish, and coarse in texture. Alternatively, I'd just throw it into the porridge and don't let Ben eat it. Just for the stock. I'm not too sure what to do with it either. Make a soup and keep the soup for porridge stock?
This morning, I was too lazy to express milk, so Ben skipped his breakfast cereal. Instead I gave him wholemeal bread (1/2 a slice) and Kraft cheddar cheese (the one that comes in the blue box). He enjoyed his 'cheese sandwich'! Naughty mummy hor?

milkshake,
My upstairs neighbours didn't play mahjong on Saturday, or at least, they didn't drop ANY tiles. Hooray! Victory for us! I think they just don't have the proper table, or else they are very chor-lor when they play. And the tiles bounce, so very noisy.

gak,
I'm sure there are mould spores everywhere. So should be safe to consume lah.

fat_babe,
You might have to go to the lawyers to do a deed poll in order to change the name. But then, I vaguely recall something about changing bb's name in the first year. Maybe don't need. Check out the ICA website for birth registration.

Today, forum not so busy. I've gotta go. Sarah's got swimming later on, so I must go do all the housework while the kiddos are asleep now. *sigh* I'm soooo tired... kena menses today, and my eye is painful, dunno why.

Hubby complain that Ryan eating lesser lately cos his diaper too tight so cannot eat much.. uurrgghh.. fed up with his nagging so let Ryan wear Huggies L today instead of M... but can't stand the diaper looking so droopy. M actually just nice but the waist there abit small lah...

and guess what, he actually ate alot more today... haha... oops.. he better not read this!

priviledge
gave it to him today..hehe
wanted to buy a new block at NTUC Finest yesterday but most of their varieties OOS lo

smurfy
wonder did u received my PM?
u made pymt for the HT yet??

PVL,

checked it out liao...below 1 yr old dun need to get poll deed...now thinking whether to change the name...or to add alias...like kinda weird if he haf 2 chinese name le...headache..

jello,

eh the baby mall online stuff...if everyone is ok wif the sizes...then nvm la...anyway not like its too small for him..wakakka...somemore if you wan babymall to return..think they may make you bear the shipping le..

today very quiet le..where's everybody...

ask you all huh...

if i rather happy wif my job now...and boss is going to confirm me...but there's another job offer that pays me 500 bucks more...but less "future"....current job will probably take another 2 years for me to reach the new job offer pay...which one will you all choose???

fat_babe, for me i rather go for the job that i enjoy even if it means less $$.. cos i dun want to drag myself to work every morning. being happy with ur job is hard to come by. but tat's juz my point of view. ultimately, u might need to think if the extra $$ is worth it.

Charis,
Yeah, Soph is quite stubborn, still wouldn't take the bottle or anything that resembles a silicon nipple

Heee, I am also very lazy to pump!

PVL,
Thanks for info on the cranberry beans.
Today i made the huai shan, lotus root and cranberry bean soup, then used it as a stock for Soph's porridge - it tastes very sweet, and she seems to like it. The beans were cooked till soft and most of it went into the soup, making the soup thick... quite nice.
How come you put the bean in his stock but not let him eat the bean?

Haha, Ben's cheese sandwich breakfast sounds perfectly healthy to me... if Soph is not so phlegmy and sensitive to cow's milk, I'd have given that to her long ago!
Till now she's still not taking breakfast yet, cos I don't have time to pump... so just giving her an extra latch/milkfeed in the morning.
Once this phlegmy period clears, I'll try to intro breakfast to her.
Looks like I'm the lazy one

fat babe,
I'd also take the less money but more future job... I believe that if you like your job, you'll do well in it, and eventually the money will come :0

FAT babe
take the lesser money if u r happy there and further more it provides u with a better future.

jas/fat babe
regards to bbonline mall. i joined a spree before and they had sent the spree-ist wrong item. the spree-ist emailed them, and she got back the refund n get to keep the item.. (so i got to keep the wrong item, get the refunded money but paid for the shipping lor, u girls wanna a "girly looking feeding bibs frm babymallonline?;) )

gak gak gak
kekeke i just saw ur pm.. try to transfer by afternoon.. i remembered :p just slow in payment n collection onli :p

hi hi mummies, didn't read thru the posts above. wat's the latest gossip???

skinnybabe, u contemplating a job change is it???

Skinny_babe, cherryale and susu, u got mail!!!

skinny_babe, no need to return the wrong size items. Have actually managed to get refund from babymallonline for the items they shipped wrongly and short-shipped items. Told them my fren's babies can't wear as sizes they shipped too small. Hiak hiak...

skinny_babe, i will also choose to stay. Unless the diff is $5000!!!

*Sigh* me in dilemma also, as my big boss is leaving the co soon and new boss coming in and the whole co will be transformed. My current boss is like a father to me. So feel really sad at his departure. But happy for him at the same time he finally can have all the time he wants to do the things he enjoy doing. As for me, i told my other boss I might quit and look for part-time job so that i will have more time to spend wif my gal. Hubby supports me, but also want me to consider carefully on job security as my current job is pretty secured, but if change to another one will be quite uncertain...

These few nites YX refused to sleep!!! Whenever we tucked her in her playpen, she flipped immediately and play on the playpen. we left her in the playpen hoping she will fall asleep after she tired playing, but she end up crying loud loud wanna us to carry! Last nite I told hubby i want to go nazi way, let her cry in the room. But after 10 minutes crying (getting louder and louder) hubby cannot tahan oredi, go in to hug her. Haiz...

jello, okie just read the email, will let u know when i transfer the money.

jello, if u wanna go nazi, u have to go all the way...cannot give in halfway if not it will be in vain. Ur hubby very soft hearted so maybe u have to reconsider your decision. hee hee

regarding your thoughts of doing part time, of cos it's good lah..as long as husband and u are comfy with the arrangement. Regarding job security, i think ur job will be secured as long as u provide what your company needs. Then u can spend more time with YX.

huskie, if i got some cranberry beans, can i just boil in water and let it soften then puree it??? what does it taste like??? should i just put inside the slow cooker to cook?? and if so, cook for how long????? I bought the cranberry beans cos i saw it at cold storage yday....but i don know what to do with it.

EHH can we give beans n legumes now?

cranberry (zhenzhu dou) beans, red beans, green beans, lentils, kidney beans etc?

actually hor, if for me, i would dump the beans into the porridge n make a super porridge kekeke with everything inside..

smurfy
hehe..k
no prob

gd to hear YX's eating more & getting chubby again!

huskie
oic..wow! Sophie can drink from straw liao!
practise makes perfect!
in no time she'll be a pro lo!

gak, i used to puree the porridge for yoori when she was younger...but now she ok with the texture of porridge without pureeing. I guess u just puree first if u are scared he will gag on the porridge.

smurfffyyy, but the cranberry bean so huge, if put inside the porridge, will choke not?????? must mash it up before serving it to the baby is it????

now i'm giving YR apple cubes of abt 1 cm in diameter.....very funny. She so greedy...keeps opening her mouth for more. So i gave her 4 cubes and now she's busy trying to GUM them.....that's why i free to go into the forum now. hee hee

susu, think nazi style does not suit me afterall. Guess will just have to spend more time to get YX to sleep. Normally if we put her to bed at 9.30, she will end up sleep by 10.30pm which is still pretty alright, i guess.

Yes, i want to spend more time wif YX! Working PT will mean up to 50% pay loss from what i am earning now. A big loss financially, but I seriously rather forgo these extra money and earn my time spend wif YX. Hope can clear the remaining outstanding current loans we are servicing now, then more relax financially.

Last sunday i first time feed YX porridge myself, kapo a bit from my nephew's porridge. The texture of the porridge is like wat we adults normally eat as my nephew oredi 2 years old. So i just mashed the porridge with the spoon while fed her. She was eating alright. Weekdays when my aunt fed YX porridge, she grind the grain first before steam it so the texture is more refine.

fat_babe,
Hey, good to know this info. So we can just simply change the whole BC within the first year?

huskie,
Hmmmm your mixed vege soup sounds really yummy. I must go and try too. Did you blend the lotus root and huaishan into the soup as well? How long did you take to boil til everything was soft? No lah, I do give Ben the bean. Just that last time I did it, I steamed the beans alone, and didn't steam them long enough. So they were not really soft and grinding them were a pain. But I managed and he has the bean cubes in his porridge. I was thinking of boiling and giving the stock alone because someone told me to do this. But if the beans soften nicely, then definitely I'd give him the beans as well. I'll try your recipe for stock next week. Heee. Thanks.

I pump about 3 oz for 2 days' breakfast. I always tandem pump - pump whilst Ben is feeding. Easier to get the amt I need. The part I hate about pumping is the washing and sterilizing of the pump and bottle. On Wednesdays and Sundays, I don't give him breakfast cos I'm always in a hurry to go out. So like you, I give him an extra latch. But... now that he can eat bread, I might just carry the bread out with me and feed him while we're out.

smurfy,
I'm giving Ben dahl in his porridge.

gak,
I have not blended the porridge for Ben at all. I use a mixture of red unpolished rice and white rice, with dahl and millet thrown in sometimes. The porridge also has about 3-4 kinds of veges and one meat, either fish or minced pork.

milkshake,
I'm still scraping apples for Ben. I must try him on cubes liao.

MILKie
the brown rice porridge right? normally my maid will wash and soak the grains at ard 6am, half hour later, will put the grains (brown rice, millet etc) + any hard to cook stuffs (e.g. carrots, pumpkin) + flavourings (red dates, wolfberry) to cook in slow cooker. then leave everything to boil until near lunch time, then she open the lid to put the veges n fish. after fish n veges cooked, is meal time oredi.. by then the grains r oredi very soft leh, can mash with spoon... dun need to pureee..

instruction is to dun open the lid unless necessary (to prevent water soluble nutrients loss through water vapor whenever the lid is opened)

Wow! I am lost AGAIN, as usual... Sorry, will try to catch up later when ju goes to sleep..

Guess my boy is really too babyish... still bogeh, cant crawl and small sized (only 7kg thereabout)

Jazzcy, can help me ask your brother to get me a copy of the CD? No problem picking up from your place
Thanks in advance

Chocobabe, yah, Huggies M is too small for my boy and L is way too big for him... Tried L on several occasion, the urine leaked!!! and we had to change his diapers and clothes too! Ms tho small, i must say he looks quite sexy in them. Hahaha.

Smurfy, gak, I missed out HT BP is it? Who is organising it??? Can I still order?? My boy likes HT cereal. Pls fill me in.

Fatbabe, agree with me2baby, experiencing happiness in your job is more important than $$$. For me, I know my salary is halved now that i am on the part time teaching scheme but I am really really happier as it means lighter workload which is equal to more time with my boy

good morn...

only seen some posts... bz now at work

last wkend, zz misadv n feel from my bed

fat babe, still wan info abt renew indon passport? let me know... cos i done it this yr

pvl
what's good abt dahl arr? kekeke i wanna add oats, barley, huanshan to the porridge soon.

ehhh QY dun chew leh, he swallow food, seldom saw him chewing.. lazzzzzzzy boy!

i dun puree food right from the start... and porriadge, i also dun specifically cook softer for cherish..normally when i cook on weekends, i boil a big pot of porriage for adults and bb.

fruits, i scrape for her. I lazy mummy.

smurfy,

qy dont chew? then how he eat his baby bite? cherish loves munching and chewing on baby bites. can eat two pcs at one go.

Garfield, is zz ok? my boy also fell and cried real hard!!! Was sitting on the floor waiting for me to dress up for work. Refused to turn his body to look at me. Lazy boy just looked up and 'pong' he went to the floor. Cried like mad but ok now la

Mummies!
Last few days, whenever ju did something which was not too right (like putting his legs on his high chair's tray), I looked at him firmly and gave a rather loud 'NO! Dont do that!' Guess what, he pouted with his lower lip out and then 'weah!' cried bitterly till i picked him up and sayang him a bit. Then i told him why it was wrong of him to do certain things. I had so much fun seeing that till I kept saying the firm 'NO' to him. That was the time my hb stepped in and said 'you made yourself hated only! Dont do that anymore la' gently to me. I realised my mistakes and never continued having my fun anymore.

graceofgod

no offence ...but i do not like when other people purposely "irritate" or make cherish angry. i personally think it is bad influence to the kiddos, cos they will not be able to differentiate between when we are kidding or when we are really discliplining them. And somemore kids copy wat we do, we also dun want them to "irritate" us purposely.

For eg: my hb likes to use the small bolster to play hitting cherish bum. One day i noticed that cherish imitate him by using her toys to hit him.

my hb saw the cause and effect and he is more careful with his actions.

Hi Stella!

No offence... dont worry
I know my mistake now but it's just that at those few moments, julian was so cute and responsive that I had to 'irritate' him. I wont do it again unless he makes mistakes that are serious enough for a firm 'NO!'Thanks for your advice.

grace of god,

zz is now ok. yesterday i was guilty so i stay at home with him lor.

these 2 nites he also woke up at 11 to 12 plus and cry uncontrollingly... hope tonite will be better.

HHmmmm.... my boy also dun like to chew leh... only swallow...

milkshake, how u train YR to chew ah?

I scared to give him things like apple, scared he choke, at least baby bites can dissolve.

Thank you mummies!
i'm actually giving him more chunkie food lo
sometimes can see it in his poo!
think he dun gum his food b4 swallow..

milkshakes
isn't apple quite hard??
YR's able to gum them?

GraceofGod
i'm organising

juz PM u the details!
email me ur orders today k