(2007/02) February

actually, i think ryan will get tired of his diet very soon.

This are his solid meals everyday:
Breakfast: cereal
Lunch & Dinner: Porridge cooked with dried scallops with vege cubes and threadfin.

He has this everyday, occasionally he'll have pureed potato, carrot and chicken meat.

Tried making spagetti but he dun like leh.... maybe cos I didn't puree so more difficult to swallow.

Any other food ideas?

milkie, PVL,
I think can just boil the cranberry beans for about 20-25 mins then mash it up to give babies.
Today I dumped the beans when making the pork stock together to double boil for 1.5hrs, and they turned out real soft, then just mashed and gave Soph. Very nice and sweet, she likes it.

As for blending the lotus root and huai shan... eh, you mean blend as in puree? I didn't puree them... just dump lotus root, huai shan, cranberry beans plus a pc of pork into a crockpot and cook on High for 3 hrs, then the beans turned really soft and mushy, and some of the beans "melted" into the soup. I then use some of this soup to make Soph's porridge. My hubby says the soup tastes nice

Woah, apple cubes ? Heee, I'm too lazy to even scrape apples... I just puree them cos the blender is so easy to wash... lazy mommy! I must try scraping and cubes soon!

PVL,
I dunno how to tandem pump leh, cos too many things to handle... tell you a secret, I still don't really know how to cradle carry Soph to bf... I'm still using the bf pillow till now!

So thinking of trying Goat's Milk for Soph's breakfast instead of cow's milk... just asked for a sample, hope it doesn't smell too "goaty"

GOG,
It's nice taht Ju is still babyish mah... can enjoy this period more!
7 kg is OK lah... haha, Soph is only 6.9kg

smurfy,
You can start with red lentils before going on to beans if you're afraid baby may not get used to the gas. Lentils is the mildest of all beans/legumes. Red lentils is high in fibre and protein

can our bb eat raspberries now? I bought raspberry yogurt last wkend.

he still got cough n my mama is nagging me to stop all his vegi now... she say vegi is cooling.

call me to let him eat the coarse rice n milk only... cough cannot eat any puree meh??? she call me to trust her. cos she say the vegi is cooling, but carrot, spinach, pumpkin, caixin all these cooling?

huskieeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
i tot i was the onli one who dunno how to cradle breastfeed baby. whahhahahaaa :p yah yah i oso used the nursing pillow until QY grew too big on that.. then after that he oso dun wanna latch on liao.. sometimes i play with him in the weekends arr.. chase him with my breasts on the bed.. trying to make him drink.. tat boy look at me, come closer to me.. then roll off another direction -_-;

Graceofgod

i use the small metal spoon to scrap. yah sometimes it is abit difficult when it is too hard. i buy those apples that are not too hard..(Those which looks like mini fuji apple)

smurfy,
waaaahaaaaaaahaaaaaaaa..... you chased QY with your breasts? haha, it must look like some scene from some primitive movie!!!
Yeah, luckily Soph is still small and lightweight enough for the bf pillow.... dunno how I can do without the bf pillow man!
QY must feel grown-up liao lah... that's why don't want your breasts anymore!

garfield,
Green veges cooling meh? I thought mostly roots are cooling... like lotus roots, carrots, parsnip, squash etc.
Some say fish causes phlegm too... I think a PD told me and today an auntie told me. The auntie recommended me goat's milk cos cow's milk will cause phlegm, that's why I asked for goat milk sample.

Eh, the old folks also say if got cough, don't feed cold stuff leh, so I think your mum will stop you from feeding yoghurt?

jello, i highly suspect u will quit your job and take a part time job.

i tink u just have to let YX get used to sleeping on her own. next time she'll be a pro at it and then she'll plop to bed very soon after u put her in. YR normally will sit up and stand at the cot whenever i put her in bed now...and then i'll just say ok goodnight see u tomorrow..love u and then i just close the door. I don know what time she really sleeps cos i dont bother as long as she keeps quiet there....:p

PVL, yup i tink bread is a much easier option to give babies. Also it adds to some variation to their diets. NOwadays i do give white bread, wholemeal bread, pita bread as some of the bread variation. Otherwise, still giving rice krispies, cheerios, huggie bears, organix biscuits for breakfast and sometimes the baby cereals. actually i never scrapped apple or any fruits before cos i am just too lazy to do it. :p

smurfy, why must we put flavourings in the porridge?? is it necessary??? so far my porridge is basically plain white/brown rice with nothing inside....then i'll just feed her the porridge plain with the rest of the ingredients (already frozen) . It's basically like teochew mui..hee hee

chocbabe, i didn't train yoori to chew leh. She just did it naturally. same as how she used the straw cup. I think certain things it's quite instinctive to them ba? it's kinda weird cos she only has 2 teeth at the bottom now....but she still does the action of chewing. maybe u try to give less pureed stuff to ryan, see if he is ok with it. just watch him in case he chokes.

gak, yup yup..YR managed to eat the apple. I saw her mouth empty then i fed her somemore apple cubes..hahahaha

chocbabe, sometimes it's not that the baby doesn't like the food...but it's new to them. so ryan maybe not used to spaghetti since u seem to be feeding him almost the same stuff daily. that's why i read that u have to provide quite a wide variety of foods for baby so that they don get picky abt food in future. u should try spaghetti or abc pasta on ryan again...i'm sure he'll take to it soon.

so far, i've tried risotto, couscous, spaghetti, abc pasta and she ok with them....i wanted to try semolina but have to find out how to cook it first....

huSKIE, u jialat lah...u still haven't mastered the art of cradling to b-feed?? lol....then when u go out how??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

orange cat, i tried raspberry on YR when she 8mths i think. I think shd be ok ba. she likes it. can try blueberry too.

graceofgod, sorry... can't buy it for you as it may not reach his hotel on time :-( They take at least 2-3days to retrieve this CD from store. My extra copy has been sold to Jas.

jelly,
Milkie is right... the beginning will be tough, but in the long term, it's better for baby if she can learn to fall asleep by herself.
But I understand how it feels to hear baby wailing... I used to watch the clock and time how long Soph cries, then once it hits 10mins, I'll run in and sayang her.
But now no more liao... I just go cold turkey with her.

milkie,
Heeee, if you heard a mummy struggling with a wailing baby in the bf room, you'll know that's me lor!
That's why I'm so thankful for the GF schedule which tells me the feeding timings so I can go out at other times

milkie
not exactly flavoring lar.. i dunno a good word for it.. just that these 2 items (wolfberry n red dates) r used widely in the chinese soups preparation coz of its good, healthy properties (dun ask me now, i cannot recall straight , but wolfberry gd for eyesight) and they have a natural sweet taste... so when added to baby's porridge, porridge will not be that bland or fishy (espeically if is fish porridge)... ehh teochew mui still can see the grains right? cantonese mui is the more thick n cannot see grains type. QY's one is the cantonese mui.

huskie
ehh the nursing pillow gd right? cannot do without it hor? but i tell myself, i wanna try cradle method for my next baby.

stella
QY lets the babybites melt in his mouth.. or he will act gag when it gets stuck on the top of the inside mouth.

jas
actually a part time job would be a ideal scenerio for most mummies leh.. u have some spare cash coz u work, but u still get to spend more time with the baby.

smurfy,
I tried cradle-holding my baby to bf her leh, but always fall asleep during the nightfeeds, then latch became dislodged, then kenna those white blebs on nipple lor.

Red dates is good for blood circulation... high in iron too

smurfy

when cherish eats the baby bites, i can hear the munching sounds, like we eat keropok like that.

maybe when QY got his front teeth, he will chew like a rabbit

huskie,

my mum is not keen to see my boy eatin vegi or fruits. I have stopped feeding him apple and never feed him banana n fish as well. but vegi can rgt?

for yogurt, i never serve too cold or i mix with others. but i already told maid dun feed him liao and see how.

my mum only wants my boy to eat the coarse rice n milk onli! my nephew eat tat until he over 1 yr old! imagine how they try to feed him everyday till he so sian...

garfield

milk + coarse rice only ..no fruit no veg... like that got enuff vitamins meh?

gals

do u all intend to switch to full cream milk after our bb turn one yr old? i wanted to, but my hb insisted on formula milk

susu, YX used to be an easy baby when come to sleep until recently when she suddenly refuse to sleep whenever i tuck her to sleep. I suspect it was becos nowadays she has become very sticky to me. Whenever i put her in her playpen and left the room, she will flip over and play herself. I dun care her too as long as she does not make noise. But after playing awhile she will start crying. So I will go to her, flip her back, and with her awhile b4 leave the room again. When she become very cranky refuse to sleep, she will only stop crying when i carry her. My hubby carry she will continue to cry. I think she need some kind of security b4 she will fall to sleep.

I will still be working FT for at least 6 months as the co is under some changes now. Can't leave.

smurfy... yes yes, i dun mind 50% pay cut by taking a PT job, so that i can spend more time wif YX. But of cos by then need to cut back on BP and sprees liao. Haha...

Jelly,

prob YX is having sep anxiety or just fighting sleep.

u may get her a sleeping buddy (eg blanket or a plush toy) whenever it time for her to sleep so that she will have some security and she will sleep by herself.

garfield
i think moderation is still the key to everything leh.. no fruits n veges not healthy leh? u still gotta add, and if ur mum insists, maybe u add a little of everything so that it is slightly more balanced?

stella
have not tot of the milk issue.. will want QY to go on EBM for as long as i have milk.. finally .. or sadly.. my supply decreasing these days...

jas
if u r doing part time, ur hands n legs will be busy chasing after YX liao.. no time for sprees n bps.. :p err how abt going back to the good old days of patting her backside to sleep? it is still better carrying her to sleep right? t

smurfy,

i already told her it ok to feed but she nag at me almost everyday.

she told me last time my nephew also never eat like tat n the coarse rice v nutritous liao... blah blah blah

luckily I never live w her. I still feeding zz his vegi. imagine u know food w/o salt and sugar is v good for u but u must eat it everyday... u also sian rgt??

garfield, she has a daisy bear, a micky mouse, a bolster and 2 pillows to sleep. She will play her bear for awhile then get bored and wanna play other things and want me to carry. She was actually very tired oredi (as did not sleep after her afternoon nap which was 4.30pm) but just refused to sleep.

smurfy, YX refuse to let us pat her to sleep! She will shake off our hands!!! This gal ha, very stubborn.

garfield

old people thinking lah..they think coarse rice ALONE is very healthy liao. They dont understand the food pyramid logic.

jelly

cherish last nap will end at 4 plus.. 7 pm she will start to rub eye. She also started her separation anxiety last sat. glued to me even though my hb is ard

jelly,

zz also like to shake our hands off when we pat him sometimes. that is when he is v cranky n he knows wat we trying to do. but we keep trying all sort of ways if he fussing.

first time fuss, we will ignore, if for a while, we will try patting and I will give him the common pillow and his piglet.

if still continue fussing, continue pat even if he shove me away, but tat is all he will get for all the fussing.

if he calm down ignore him. if his fussing turns into crying, or if he has been crying for more than half hr, then we will have to pick him up and calm him down.

but so far, he manage to sleep before the half hr lor before he fell from bed lo. but these 2 nites v cranky so have to pacify him lor. i also guilty conscience so when he is crying v badly until no sound, I hug him lor.

re: seperation anxiety

last night my gal had some struggling time falling asleep. she cried with her eyes shut..(very sleepy + cranky)

As i got no choice but to add on another 2oz to her feed, i got daddy to carry her.. immediately she scream out Maaaaa maaaa... wahhh i was happy and also heartache hearing her crying bitterly for me.. hehe the feeling of my BB calling Mama out loud is real good hahaha..

jello...your bank account is dbs toa payoh is it??? i transferred the money to dbs toa payoh cos they asked me which branch....then i see your a/c no. starts with 005 which is toa payoh branch code...is it correct????? :p

Reference No. 20071030571636
Date 30/10/2007 20:52
From Account Savings Account 501-3-116321
To Account jaslyn jello 0058066328
Amount SGD 2.00

correct right????

lala, i guess if u not sure if cherish will take the pasta, just puree it ba. Right now i will puree but it will still b chunkier bits...if u cut into small bits hor, i think u don need to sleep already. hee hee Just puree lah..makes life much easier. U can try on the weekend....then if she ok with it, next time u can just puree not too much to change the texture when cherish is ready for more textured stuff.

huskieeee, hahahahaha ok, next time i listen up for wailing babies in nursing rooms hahahahaha

smurfy, ya ya YR's porridge still can see the rice grains one piece one piece. How long do u have to slow cook QY's porridge in order for it to become cantonese porridge???? For YR's porridge, i will put in the slow cooker at 2pm then by 450pm, it will be that texture that i give her. then if u put fish inside the porridge, whendo u add it in?? and hw big a piece do u cut the fish into????

orange cat, nonsense lah. If baby don't eat vege and fruits, baby won get enuff nutrients leh. And my PD said babies should eat when they reach 6 mths and we should try to give them a big vaRIEty of foods so that they don't turn picky about foods in future. if u tell your mum the doc says so, do u think she will give in??? I think just give all types of foods in moderation lor.....then baby won't get heaty or too cooling or what mah. right???

hmm regarding babies getting separation anxiety hor....i actually just ignored her when she did that....:p :p

garfield,
Your mum probably thinks that if your nephew grew up on coarse rice and milk and is OK, then zz should follow suit lor. But like that really not enough nutrients lah.
btw, a PD once told my friend (she's got asthmatic kids) that when the baby coughs, cannot take Del Monte banana, Fuji apple and barley, so you may want to take note of this to avoid any arguments with your mum.

Hi garfield!

Glad zz is alright. I know that guilty feeling we have when our babies hurt themselves

Think you need to feed zz with veg no matter what. It's true that some veg are more cooling than the others but I think zz needs the nutrients. Green leafy ones should be alright, according to my mum. I agree with Milkshake that we need to give them a variety of food so that they wont be picky in the future. My friend told me that her girl now goes for veg/salad before anything else and that's because she started giving her veg at every meal after her girl turned 6 months.

Huskie, so we both have smaller babies
Well, if they are healthy, we should be happy yah? Sorry, i am very suangu one... whats lentils? Havent seen them before. Care to let me know so i can introduce this new food item to my boy?

Jazzcy, it's ok. Do give me a thinker if you or anyone is ordering it

Milkie, I steam the fish separately, mash it and add it into my boy's porridge which is cooked using a slow cooker. For the size of the fish, I cut into 3cm cubes. Dont dare to give him much cos just started him with fish not long ago and also cos of high mercury content big fish contain. According to a doctor friend of mine, she advised me not to give too much fish, esp those big ones cos of mercury content and she told me that there is this school of thoughts that says this mercury content can cause autism in children.

Chocobabe, I gave my boy ABC pastas. Just boil it like porridge. It will become soft but the texture will still be there
My Ju loves it! Also, I gave me boy some mee sua (mianxian) this afternoon. The silly boy, cant chew but when I shoved the meesua into his mouth, he could still get those which were dangling outside his mouth in!!! What a greedy boy! Actually the mee sua was for my lunch but I decided to let him try so I washed the mee sua in warm water so that it was not salty. According to my mum, the mee sua, in its uncooked stage, is salty so she suggested I boil it first to get rid of the salt in it. I am going to try feed him a full mee sua meal tomorrow.

Jelly, thinking of doing PT??? Yes, you will definitely have more time with YX. Honestly, it was difficult for me to accept a 50% deduction in my pay at first as I knew I had to change my lifestyle to a certain degree. However, after being able to see Julian's development at different stages, I told myself it's worth it... just that now I have to really cut down on my expenses, esp shopping... Overall, I am a happier person now

well, my boy seem to have preference for guys to carry him.. nowadays if me or my MIL want to carry him, he refuse... so sad man...

he only want my hb or FIL to carry... maybe it's a man thing... haha

but when he wants milk or sleep, he'll let me carry him... ungrateful fella.. urgh!

smurfy & chocbaby
my boy oso nv chew & swallow during meal times!
sometimes can see in his poo wat he ate lo *yucks*
but if i tell him must chew then he sometimes will listen sometimes not..
when snacks like teethers, he'll chew most times
those he had trouble, he'll spit out lo

gak, u can get cheerios from cold storage. :p mine is the yellow packaging which is the most disgusting flavour i guess...the original. They have apple cinnamon and another flavour...but i guess should give them the original since babies supposed to eat horrible tasting foods.

organix biscuits i think u can get from cold storage at vivo or the organic shop at great world.

actually nowadays i am a bit more relaxed with what i give her. i've tried apple with strawberries today and she loves it.

huskie, me2baby, jello, smurfy, grace...

thanks!!...think i will probably stay in my job la..it matters to when colleagues are nice...but however oblige to go for the interview...keke..coz my previous agent like painstakingly arrange for it..n seems like i am the only candidate..no harm finding out more..rite..keke

jello,
i recieve the postman card oredi..means items are here!!...i will TT the money over to you later okie..paiseh...n thanks sooooo much...tyler is flood wif rompers liao..wakkaka

garfield!!!..

yes yes..i still need advice..read from the web if the passport haven reach 5 yrs max can juz extend...no cost..you tried dat?? where particularly to take photo huh?? rememebr someone said only 1 place to take the photo..

PVL,

baby below 1 yr..dun need deed poll...which will cost around $150...depending on law firm..but change the BC wif ICA...still need to pay $60.. but well...if need to i will change la...kekek

milkie...

i think i wun change for now la..if not my resume look like i am a job hopper...kekeke....juz want to find out wats the new job offering..as in benefits..n future lor...coz i know the pay they offering..dunno detaisl yet...its beauty industry again..

garfield, i also bu she de to let YX cry for so long. Last nite hubby, me and YX were inside our room at 9 plus and play until slightly after 10. Then i took out her sleeping bag, put on the bed and told her time to sleep. She looked at me then at the sleeping bag then began to cry. So I picked her up, sing song for her for awhile then put her into her sleeping bag and the playpen. She still fussed, so gave her some warm water, then gave her pacifier and left the room. When i came back, she was at another side of her playpen, eyes closed but hands still playing her pillow. Soon she fall asleep. Maybe past few nites i tried to put her to bed b4 10pm which was her usual bedtime so she won't sleep.

susu, yaya... Toa Payoh branch. Thanks ya...

Grace... So happy for u that u are happier now despite some adjustment to ur living style. I hope one day soon i will tell u gals the same thing too!

skinny_babe, how come u receive the post card? I send by normal mail in A4 size envelope. Maybe too bulky for ur post box? My YX also flooded wif rompers which she cannot wear yet.

fat babeeeee
what u do inside beauty industry?? *curious*

huskie/pvl
what is red lentils ar? i dunno what to intro tomorow.. but i flipped thr the super baby book... said that grains and legumes will form complete proteins?? so me interested to start some legumes?

milkie
the maid wash n soak the rice at ard 6am, 630am she put them to slow cooker, 11am she throws in fish n vege.. 1130pm is lunch.. but she told me this brown rice i got, can turn real soft..(dun ask me the brand, i know it is long grain, organic n bought from four seasons market) the fish right? she cut into small tiny pieces for easy cooking and to make sure no bones inside. the green leafy veges a little hard to mash with spoon.. so usually i put in finely cut french beans, asparagus or broocoli.. then the green leafy veges is served separately (steamed n blendedO)

QY got no sleeping problem :D.. thankfully.. yesterday he slept onli 2 hrs in the daytime.. evening time played n played n played.. until mummy is tired but he is still soooo excited. i gave up..put him on the bouncer, stuff him his pacificer, n gave him a pillow. and and this boy eyes' turned small immediately..within the next one min fell asleep oredi??? ended up drinking milk in his sleep state again. (which i knw is very bad especially when they have growing teeth now)

is it okieeee to have fish once every day?? either cod fish or threadfin fish??

gak arr.
my boy will oso either filter out the big pieces of food he cannot take...(the filtering process very funny n cute n i cannot stop laffing whenever he does that). or he will gaG and aCT vomit ar.

gak arr
i saw that u r joining the bps for the books? if not urgent, maybe u ought to check out the books at kinokuiya.. might be cheaper, especially when they have the 20% discount for members.

2 weeks ago, i brought my boy to kino and luckily they having the 20% discount.. they have very limited selection of baby einstein products but i got a shock lor.. coz the actual price is oredi slightly cheaper than the bps .. so imagine with the 20% discount, it is even cheaper lor? then some of the other books which the bps is offering is oso higher than kino.... haiz.. but i oredi got those books frm the bps... but then i spent another $170++ buying more bks hahahahaha

smurfy, i think the brand is lundberg...:p :p hee hee

eh, i know fish good for dha lah..but everyday eat a bit too much right??? i normally give twice a week. The rest of the times i will give chix, beef, lamb or red lentils for protein.

wanted to buy turkey but singapore like don't sell turkey in smaller chunks hor??

smurffffyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy, when QY sleeps on his bouncer then how?? u have to transfer him to the cot ah??? does he wake up when u do the transfer???

milkie ar
i have not started on the rest of items u mentioned leh.. for proteins, it's onli fish n tofu now..not even egg yolk.
yah yah.. the maid changes his clothes.. then i carry him back to the cot.. still asleep ;) hahahahhahhaa

smurfyyyy, your QY really can sleep man. can even sleep thru a change of clothes. hehehehehehe

eh, i'm also thinking of starting on egg yolk...but dont know how leh. I'm thinking whether i can just scramble the egg yolk with some milk and fry it with butter???? anyone tried scambled eg yok on baby before????

milkie,
I thought you started YR on egg yolk already? Haha, scrambled eggs with butter sounds yummy!

smurfy,
Wow, Kino cheaper than BPs?! Hmm... seems like BPs are not such a great deal afterall?

You're so lucky... QY no sleeping problem... hope my next one (if I have) will be like that too!
Soph hates to be changed... but when she is naked, she is happy. Once I put her hands thru the sleeves, she'll cry at the top of her lungs! Dunno why like that... my mum thinks it's cos we're too rough on her.

For red lentils, yep, any kind of legumes combined with grains will give a complete protein... that's how the vegetarians (esp. the Indian vegetarians) get their protein. I'm cooking it today

milkie
u r adventurous in food prep. but good idea and better choice than plain hardboiled egg yolk right?what milk r u using? (FM?) n which butter r u using? (YR tried the butter before?). yah yah QY funny boy.. hahaha

huskie
yah, try going to the bookshop n select the books urself is better lor, if u have the time to go down. (but u can check out the bps for the better authors and books :p). i wanna buy someeee legumes today.. see how it goes..

Today fed Soph breakfast for the first time... she only had 2 tsps of oatmeal (measured when dry). Gave her FM but she took 2 sips then gave me funny downturned face and didn't wanna take anymore!

smurfy,
Yes, try the red lentils! It's very sweet and yummy.

huskie, and smurfy, hahahahaha i haven done eggs on YR before. BUT I'm feeding YR with yolk with butter and milk scrambled egg now..hahahaha she likes it leh. finished 1 yolk.

i'm using just normal uht milk cos just now i realized the organic milk i bought is off so bobian just dug out a small pack of uht milk from the pantry. and for butter, i'm using just normal unsalted butter by anchor.

Hmm Yr had tasted butter and olive oil before cos normally in my other dishes for her, i will use these 2 in the dishes mah..hehehehehee