(2007/02) February

CK - wat I meant is - during booking, u ask them to set a req for ur boss 1st, so tat SQ knows someone is requesting for tat seat. Then upon issuing, ask the agt to try again. If they manage to secure a seat, when u get either paper ticket or e-tic, u will c a seat appointed for him. if it's nt wat he wants, then u fax to SQ & do pre-chk in @ the same time indicating the seat he wants.

Liao bu liao?

Aiyah, talking abt 29 arh........ I dunno lah, dun wanna think so much....

Bt sure I will ask all the qns. Heng I got the full set of skincare w/ me then hb no need to *blur* wat to bring later. I just ask him bring ATM card, then my appt card & the Unity Folic acid box pking can le. Then I worry he may 4get so ask him put all on the table.

Catz, maybe I shd get one bb listener...hmmm

Ah ger, there's not much symptom to let you know that bb is suffering from cord strangulation. I had cousin who suffered from it and her bb was alr 38weeks old. And it just happened recently, that's why I very scared abt it. Will your gynae give u mc for tom? Rem to ask abt the facial pdts hor? TIA!

JC, yup, I also having boy. Not true for me leh... when I was having my gal, my tummy also small. My tummy only obvious in the 3rd trimester. But my appetite is better now compared when having my gal. We really got similar tummy leh.. LOL... Every morning, I dun feel preggy at all cos tummy not obvious. The tummy will 'grow' after my meals.

Sunsweet, wow... E cup now!!! That's very big leh. Dun be disappointed, you'll be able to know your bb's gender next mth.

stella, that's what happened to my cousin lor. She only discovered during gynae's check-up.

ck, it's good that you can feel bb's movement liao... at least you know that bb is doing well inside.
When are u gg to start your next semester? Me gg to start Japanese course next mth.

AH GER,

tell u hor.. cos we always buy fruits for praying. so i use the fruits for praying, plus white fungus, rock sugar, red dates ,melon strips etc etc and double boil..kekeke.

for my hb to "lun" his lungs ..

wow..giggler..u so hard working.

Oh dear ...so sad to hear tt ur cousin. almost time to come out already but...........

let's just pray tt of of us had a smooth preggy & delivery. "Mu zi ping An" that's more important right.......

Got this off ivillage.com

Here's a homemade recipe for anti-stretch-mark skin cream:

In a blender, combine: 1/2 cup virgin olive oil, 1/2 cup aloe vera gel and six capsules vitamin E oil (opened). Keep this oil refrigerated and massage into areas with stretch marks at least once a day. (You may want to sit this jar in warm water to take off the chill before applying.)

yah i v scared abt cord strangulation or placental abruption.. my sis friend carrying twins after long infertility. Just one day before her scheduled c-section, her placenta separated out and she had to deliver the bbs (thru c-section) and bury them. Seeing the 2 white coffins really make ppl so sad

ok choi choi..

giggler, yah lor, u can consider.. quite fun to listen (but hor, can hear your stomach digesting also..kaka)

ck, u are v early to feel bb's movements.. last time i only felt at 21 wks.

Giggler - dun worry, the skincare I cfm will ask one cos I will pack the stuff & bring tare 2mr. 2mr machiam like shifting hse. ha ha ha.......

my appt changing back to morning. Haiz.......

Stella - my hse no an shen, so watever fruits we hv are those taken bac frm PIL hse. Bt of cos we will also buy some fruits dwnstairs for own consumption.

Sunsweet - Dessert - white fungus + red dates + rock sugar then? Hw to cook? Hw to buy/ choose gd fungus? I can learn to cook it mah.

I like to eat the barley + gingko + beancurd skin. It is supp to b gd for complexion.

Hey gals,
I think there is no pint worrying so much. We do our best and the rest is up to God.

Have u all start letting bb listen to musics yet. I read it is very good for bb.

Last night, I felt back pain while sleeping. I was facing up. I feel so uncomfortable sleeping on one side. No choice now cause bb getting bigger.

tat day I was @ Mothercare, then I heard this CD like Muppet Babies songs one, like very cute.

There was one night I was alone @ hme then I was @ my PC then I listened to my instrumental music. To me is nothing lor, just trying to hv a peaceful mind b4 I slp.

My back all along also pain le, esp in the day. Night time I m used to slping side. Sap - get a bolster if u dun hv, Aussino one veyr cheap, then u use it in betwn ur legs, it's shld b more comfy.

Thank you Ah ger.

Every night now I try to put on headphone to my tummy. Hope baby can hear. I read that bb's ear will only be fully developed end of 5th month.

ah ger..

white fungus are mostly in dried form... can get from ntuc. most of the time i dont choose, cos all in a packet. One packet can last for quite long.

I dunno abt others, but when i cook i dbl boil. not very good at cooking desserts.. heehee

Now thinking of wat to cook for dinner cos hb going thr dental treatment, cannot bite too hard things and he is a fussy eater!!!

saphira

i listen to music for bb..haha... cos i find it soothing and relaxing. I try to listen b4 i sleep, so next time bb will "know" the established routine. Listen to that piece of music = sleeping time

stella, ya.. it's very sad for the family. That's what I'm doing too... Hopefully that CD can help to soothe bb

JC, very sad cos bb is supposed to be due anytime liao. You're right that "mu zi ping an" is the most impt thing.

smurfy, my cousin went to see her gynae for weekly check-up. And it's only during the check-up that the gynae found out abt bb.

Catz, what's placenta separation? Never heard of it... so sad that she carried the twins till full-term liao hor? You so fast, buying rompers for your gal liao?

Ah ger, aiyo... your gynae so busy hor? Same here leh... I keep looking for the barley+gingko+beancurd skin dessert but haven managed to find it.
Saphira, I'll try to play the bb CD every nite before bed lah. In ofc, I also listen to bb CDs but it's via earpiece, not sure if bb can hear or not. Hehehe

saphira,

dun put headphones on ur tummy. Read somewhere there have been reports of bb born deaf due to putting headphones on tummy.

They dun like loud noises and prefers soothing music.

Also for sun-tanning, bb can sense the strong glare from sunlight during sun-tanning and will tends to turn away from these lights.

ah ger,

u can buy the white fungus from either medical hall or provision shop. Most are fine.

I like my fungus soft so i tend to choose those with larger "leaf" (dunno what u call that). Cos there is one kind that is grown more closely together I have not tired but think they are more crunchy.

steps:
1) Soak the fungus in water to let it expand and also loosen dirt trap within. Soak the red date too. Both will take about 20 - 30 mins

2) Wash the fungus and snip off the "Head" (harder part) of the bloom also cut the fungus to smaller bite size, For the red dates, remove the pits (heaty) and half them.

3) Drop both in pot and add water to it as you desired. Boil the contents on High flame for 15 mins and later small flame for 30 mins or till the fungus are nice and soft.

If you are intending to use slow cooker, just let it boil till the fungus are nice and soft.

4) Add rock sugar to taste.

the soup will have a slighty "sticky" texture due to the high protein content of the white fungus.. its good for the lungs and also complexion.. without the pits of the red dates i believe this dessert is quite nutural for mummies to take..

Yup i read b4 that a lady in China place headphones on tummy and play music for BB and bab end up having damange eardrums.

Baby can listen to their enviroment even when they are in the stomach. cos our body and the fulid surrounding them allows sound to be passed thru..

Like said whatever the mum does, eat, drink. speaks, listens, watch and experiences the baby will sense it exactly..

SO PLS DUN PLACE HEADPHONES ON YOUR TUMMY..

Sap - I read someware dun put the headphones to the tummy wor cos the vol might b 2 loud for them although u think it is soft. Best is u just on it like a radio & listen to it.

Stella - my NTUC dwnstairs like rather limited leh. Bt I will go fint it.

Oh, Sunsweet - sounds quite easy to cook leh. I will try tat out. Thks. Anybody knows hw to cook the barley + ginko + beancurd skin one? beancurd skin I think must take a long time to soften it right? Then some they also add egg inside one - like the dan hua.

If hv, can share w/ me the recipe? Also ginko - buy those must shell one better right? Rather then the canned ones - too artificial.

GINGKO NUTS & BARLEY SOUP
(A traditional soup for expectant mothers. It is believed to help give baby a fair & glowing complexion. And also for a cute, chubby baby!)
100g shelled gingko nuts
50g pearl barley
50g dried beancurd strips ("fu chok"), broken into 2inch pieces & soaked for 15mins until soft
100g rock sugar, rinsed
4 hard-boiled eggs, shelled (optional)

Put in all ingredients into a crockpot . Fill 3/4 full with HOT water. Boil for 2 hours. Serve with the hard-boiled eggs.

"SHUET-YEE" (SNOW FUNGUS) SOUP
(For expectant mothers who have just gotten over morning sickness, this soup helps restore their appetites & improves general health.)
40g snow fungus ("shuet yee"), soaked in warm water for 1 hr, trimmed stems, & tear into florets
40g Pak-Hup / "bai he" (lilium brownii) (optional)
10g "Lam-Hang" & "Pak-Hung" (sweet & bitter almond mixture) (optional)
Handful of Red Dates
100g rock sugar, rinsed

Put all ingredients in crockpot, fill 3/4 full with HOT water. Boil for 3 hours. Serve hot/cold (although for expectant mothers, it is advised that they do not eat cold stuff).

"SHUET-KAP KO" (SNOW FROGS GLANDS)
(This soup is good for building up the bodys stamina & resistance. Also for strengthening the joints)
20g dried snow frogs glands, soaked in warm water & deveined (cleaned).
10 red dates (hung choe), stoned
80g lotus seeds
80g rock sugar, rinsed
1 stalk Pandan Leaf

Scald the soaked & cleaned snow frogs glands in boiling water for 3 mins. Drain.
Put all ingredients in crockpot & fill 3/4 full with HOT water. Boil for 3 hours.
Discard pandan leaf before serving.

My comments: Personally, I did not try puting panda leaf during cooking. It still taste good.

Ah Ger my mum commented that canned Ginko are better than those u buy from the veg section at supermarket (Vaccumed pack).. but of cos i think there would be more preservative in the canned ones..

wow....so many receips...think gotta to try out one this weekend.

Tks gals.........

Drinking milk now....so lazy to drink.

me love soup for dinner every nite.. but only when i go to mum's place then i get to drink soup.. else i got to boil them myself.. hehe me a bit lazy lah

almost time to go home......yeah...

2moro Fri liao. Ah ger hope tt u can see ur bb gender. update us ok when u r back.

sunsweet - canned one more preservatives yet buy canned ones r better???? *confused*

bt gals - thks for all the recipes. I m printing them out then c if I get a chance to try tis wkend.
If nt will b some other days.

Catz,
my ger is going to be 2yrs old in 2wks times. We stayed at Equatorial Hotel. It is quite far from the town. But if u stayed at the town area, abit those run down hotels. Yar she enjoyed alot. Esp at Genting the theme parks..she can keep on take those rides.

Even now we r preg, still can go there as very relaxing trip! I also enjoyed myself.

Giggler,
Try not to worry about baby. I also have the same concerns. I thought that cos this is not our first pregnancy, we should be able to feel baby's movements already. I too try desperately to feel the movements. But none yet leh. So I was comforted to read your posting that you also cannot feel movements yet.

Blisse, thanks for the update
Wow, about 1.5 months after my son turns 2, my daughter will be born.

Listening to music - bb definitely responds. I remember Timothy kicking to the beat when I was watching mamma mia at 38 wks.
The bb listener also can be hooked up to a CD player but hor, the volume is controlled, won't deafen baby. But I guess if u are playing from another source, then better watch the volume.

Good morning ladies. It's Friday!

I am planning to get some pregnancy pants tomorrow. I will be at Orchard. Can anyone recommend a place where I can find good clothings and not too expensive?

Priviledged, don't worry. I read that if this is not your first time pregnant u will feel the kick later. And for ladies who are on the thinner sides, they will feel it earlier.

I have been reading a pregnancy book which is quite good: http://cgi.ebay.com/WHAT-TO-EXPECT-WHEN-YOURE-EXPECTING-A-BABY-3RD-EDITION_W0QQitemZ330028005435QQihZ014QQcategoryZ29315QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

saphira,

me oso got this book, reading it these days coz not watching TV. But this book all words, quite sianz after a while. So I got another hardcover pregnancy book, that one got a lot of colorful pics. both books complement each other. i like

boyboy say must read more books now, so bb next time will also like to read. Then I told him in this case, i must read the political and world section of the straits time everyday lor :p Then i ask him can put newspapers in front of my tummy for bb to read, he say next time bb think inside cars must always cover newsapapers (think those ulu carparks in East coast parks :p)

saphira,
no idea where r the maternity shops in orchard. never take notice of them before and since pregnant, no energy to shop there.

but how abt JURONG POint? Any nice maternity shops there? me going there after work today.

Yeah. Finally it's friday!!!!!

Saphira, that book is the pregnancy bible
It's really good.. very reassuring.

smurfy...haha
glad u sound more upbeat!

Giggler, yah lor, since she's a girl, better buy some pink stuff for her, if not so poor thing.

Hi Gals.....

Good morning. Finally Friday liao.

yesterday when i was lying down preparing to sleep then felt some light movement from bb. Maybe he doesn't like the particular position so he protest .......

Saphira....in fact i am looking for cheap clothing too. As u knw this is my last burst so don't want to spend too much $$ on it too.
I happened to pass my This Fashion & saw tt they hv some pants quite suitable cost abt $20.

If u happend to come across any good & cheap pls let me know too.

catz,
so long as dun think/do abt wedding and house preparations can liao

whahahah if i remember correctly, this is ur last day at work right? so envious of u. what time u going off today???????

JC, u can try Tom & Stefanie, they hv maternity stuff too, cheaper than the normal maternity shops

smurfy, yes yes last day.. woohooo!! Guess I'll leave before 5pm lor.. hand in laptop and pass and zoom off..

HI gals

for casual wear (ie: to neighbourhood shopping centres) wat do u all wear? cos i find it weird to wear working maternity clothes. so i am looking for suitable shorts leh..but cannot find.

catz,

If it's me, i would leave after lunch!!!! But oso depending on how u feel towards the company and ur colleagues.

kekeke good good, now prepare for the next phase of ur life - SAHM

smurfy, u think it's ok to leave after lunch? i was considering lah but dunno whether can or not since i am actually clearing leave and my last day is 24th sept (but intending to do clearance today)..

Aiyoh, my parents had a conference with me last night. Asking how often they will get to see Timoty lah.. etc.. hint hint tt they will come and fetch us if hv no car (my BIL is taking my car rom next Friday onwards until they get their new car delivered) etc..
Hehehe.. so funny. Hv to learn how to handle their expectations 'cos i told them tt i want to go it on my own but of course they can spend time with Timothy if they come over to my place.

stella, i actually hv a few pregnancy capris and berms to wear as casual stuff.

catz,
shld be okay, just tell them u got something urgent need to settle, usually last day they cannot do anything to u oredi. and dun think they will be mean to cut off half of ur day's pay.

stella,
me oso wearing those pregnant capris and usual top/t-shirt

Catz,
For my parents, they are quite satisfied to see Sarah once a week, when we go over on Saturdays. My sis and BIL and their 2 kids are over then too, so the three cousins get to play. Of course, if I bring Sarah over on other days, they enjoy it too, but they have their own lives and can be quite busy.

My MIL I think expected me to 'dump' Sarah with her and go back to work. Initially made a lot of snide remarks about 'tak chek aneh zuay, mai ki zo kang' (Study so much don't want to go and work) and other aside things about being lazy, etc etc. She's given up on that tactic now that she sees how Sarah has developed, and also how hyperactive Sarah is. She surely can't cope. Her house is FULL of stairs. She then expected us to go over to her place every day for dinner, like my hb's sis & BIL who 'dump' their 2 children there anyway. So she also used to criticize us for not getting a place near her, and also not wanting to stay with her after our marriage. Haiz. Can't please her at all lah. Anyway. Now, she has to be content with just a 2x a week visit. Enough for us. Very tiring already. My hb wants to cut down to just once a week when the bb is born. Don't know what she'll say to that.

These things have to deal with lah.

HI Smurfy,

I went to check out Jurong point last week. There are maternity clothes at Ma Ma Shi Jie and Kiddy Palace only. I dun find anything else ard there unless u dun mind the XL shops ..

My preference of maternaity wear/ pants is from Blossom. You can find them at OG maternatiy section or Kids Mall (I only been to the one at IMM). They are not too exp

For the Ginko Nuts, canned is more tasty however thing is the preservatives in there.

PVL, you know what??? I also very comforted to know that you cant feel bb's movement yet. I also thot that 2nd time mummy can feel bb's movement earlier ard 16weeks. Nvm, I'll try to bear with it till my appt on 19 Sep then. Think of the positive side lah... at least your pils want to see Sarah more often than not at all rite?

Catz, does that mean that bb cant hear the music if I listened via headphone? Dun you think that it's too early to buy the rompers now? You must feel very happy today hor? Hahaha... think your parents start to miss your ds liao.

smurfy, you can try Kiddy Palace at JP, they sell maternity wear too. There's also Mother's World but I find their clothings not very nice and ex.

JC, This Fashion also sell maternity pants?

stella, I got some maternity capris from those neighbourhood shop.