(2006/12) December 2006 MTBs

Shihui & dora,
u both also water retention ar? Me too. Very serious somemore. Like pig legs. then hor when i press my feet the flesh wont pop out liao. will go dented. hahaha . I went to foot reflex yday was much better. Think today coming back again liao.
Did u drink cold water during the day. if yes stop drinking now i think. I am thinking isit cold water makes us backache more serious. Cos i find that if i dun drink cold i wont feel ache so much & terrible leh.Somemore early moni be4 wakeup to brush teeth & pee, i drink 1 cup of water. it help my back from aching also leh

jackie, QSG,

ur bbs oso make tt nasal sound?at a relief!
this forum is so informative. heh heh...

jackie,

so urs oso cough? hah... maybe flow too fast n too much liao! take it tt it's ur ss increase liao lor! congrats!
tink we're a bit paranoid hor? i oso keeping tinking if mine has caught a cold. will take her temp after every feeding... then feel her here n there, make sure she's nt too hot/cold..

bloom,

congrats! confinement over soon. so CL will go soon too?
then u can do wat u want liao. but go out still a bit hard leh. we're either tied by nursing bb by dd or pumping milk every 3hrly. i oso wanna go out. still haven't gotten my craving for Hard Rock Cafe. if bb just come out 1 wk later, i'd haf eaten it liao! *&&$^@%#@^$(^(%*##

Mandy oso will go all over e place 4 nipple. then must reposition n reposition n reposition. but i find tt if i persist n keep guiding her n she's hungry enof, she eventually gets better n better at aiming. ur CL always make u feed when she's groggy ar? like tt v hard one leh! can latch 4 a few 4evers oso no use one. tink wait 4 her to cry lor!

got time. cannot hao lian, must take afternoon nap then will haf more periods o being energetic. i still play computer games n watch tv sometimes.

609941.jpg

Want 2 post 1 more pix o Mandy cos e other one I posted was w e tube. Looked so poor thing. This is a happy one.

Hi Ladies, I have given birth to my princess. She came out on 5 Dec at NUH with epi c-section. I am now resting at home now and my bb is back with me. Her name is Bethany. I was 39 weeks when she came out.

Congrats to all the mummies who have also just given birth.

Jen,

not sure if they will post or not.

But I've been with those 'Block parties' organised by those Hong Kah RCs, and Dr Amy Khor will give out one by one to those couples/babies lor..

Hi Galz...

I delivered my bb on 08/12...induced natural wif epi...induced at 0900hrs...fully dilated by 1415hrs...hd episiotomy too...wil update more details later...

Caelan weighed 2.895kg at birth...lost wt liao...

Hi Bobianah...

Hee...I find tat my bb looks like yr bb...

Gwendolen, Fizz,
Congrats!!! looking forward to ur birth stories..

Qianhui,
not bad leh.. ur supply oso building up..
so nice..
haha.. government's bonus onli help so little.. :p ya lor.. will be easily used up to pay for bills etc.. luckily bb drinking BM.. else imagine the FM cost... will faint.. :p

ohh.. they give out the blisscard one by one ah?? i thot it's given out on the spot.. :p need to bring bb along anot? or juz one parent will do? :p

Jen,
mine still okie.. can see tt my left is obviously more bloated than my right foot.. :p seldom drink cold drinks leh.. unless room temp plain water considered cold lor.. :p

kimi,
Mandy is so cute..
she looks like u or ur hubby more?

I m back from lunch.. So sleepy & tired.

Now alot of mommies pop liao. they are busy taking care of bb. This forum become more quiet.
So envy bloom for ending her confinement in 2day time. Mine havent even want to come out leh.

Dunno my turn to go labour room will be reporting to u all like mad woman screaming & screaming anot.

juz back fr lunch too..
most of the active mommies hav popped liao... it's so much quieter now.. :p

oh ya.. need to settle one logistic issue.. :p Qianhui, shall i pass the updating back to u if i pop? unless there's not much updating to be done by the time i pop lah.. :p

Shihui,

Actually dun really need to bring BB I think, but all the parents bring leh.. Afterall, it's their darling ma...

Those I saw are informal sessions.. just bring the baby 'on stage' (it's not really a stage lah..) U know? Those block parties, for the resident to buy tickets at $2 - $3, then got some food to eat, magic show, etc.. then the MP made some short speech.. etc.. it's those residents gathering with the MP kind of session. Nothing wan..

Btw, tell u hor, we didn't get to name BB as 'Ji Xiang', but he still got the 'Xiang(2)' but it's 'Ace, Lim Xiang(2) Gui(4)' - the Gui is the 'Ji Xiang Fu Gui' de 'Gui'(expensive)

But on his birthcert, I'll only put 'Ace Lim' and the 3 chinese characters only. No dialect or hanyupinyin. (In case ppl pronouce him as 'xiang(1) gui(2)'!!)

any recommendation for the buffet caterers? Last min decide to celebration my boi full month tis coming sunday. but dunno whether got any caterers will lend tables n stools? cos prefer my guest to sit outside the corridor.

shihui, thanks for the info. actually i don't intend to drink alcohol directly lah...want to steam for 4 hours at least...by then, the alcohol evaporates lio....bb won't get high.

Qianhui,
when shall i pass the updating to u? i will be starting my ML next wk.. realised tt my energy lvl really depleting real fast this wk.. so will start home resting next wk lor.. :p hopefully bb come early.. den i won't waste my leave.. :p

i pass the updating back to u this fri? :p

Good afternoon ladies...

Och,
It must have been really tough on u these few weeks..but glad that you are such a strong mummy..do continue to stay strong for your gal..i am sure everything will be fine after the ops..

kimi, QSG, Jackie,
My boi boi also make those nasal noises and sometimes like breath very heavily..i checked with my PD and he said it is normal for newborn to make these noises..

BTW, I do noticed my boi tend to breath heavier after a bottle feed..is it normal?

Kimi,Philip,
Your BB so cute!!!

Qianhui,
Wah!!! 200ml!!! so envy! I can only pump up to 100ml the max..sometimes only 80ml lor...

Dey,

Me common one is also 80-125++ml normally.. Just that when I sleep over the night without waking, the milk will be more lor..

My BB also breath heavily sometimes, like panting like that

Then, nowadays he just eat and eat.. dun wanna sleep as long liao.

He finishes like 80ml, then, 1 hr later, takes 40ml, still dun wanna sleep, 30 mins takes another 40ml! And while all these happening, he also got take in plain water!

Wau lau.. sometimes cannot tahan his appetite.. So scare that my milk will be not enough for his appetite!

hi qian hui,

my boi like ur boi lor..
breathing heavily also. i even ask the PD whether normal ornot.. like got asthma like tat.. scare me at 1st. he also dun wan to sleep long. always wanna to eat n eat. currently he is 3weeks old liao. he drink around 120ml, then 1 hr later he wanna to drink again. so big appetite. when he wakes up, he will open his mouth search for milk. if no milk, he will cry veri loud lor. sometimes i quickly let him suck my nei nei to keep him quiet. sigh.. my milk supply not enough for him already.

Serene,

Aiyo, we same same.. mine only 12 days old nia..

I now suffering from sore nipples liao.. He drink so fast, my nipple machiam got small holes, the flow not fast enough, end up he prefers bottle I think. Using bottle, he just glup glup glup then finished liao, while if I latch him on, suck 30 mins he also not full type, will cry loud loud and make me so irritated..

I also scared my milk supply will not be enough for him by next week..

Shihui,

Please update for me. Date of delivery : 5 Dec 06 via c-sect epi. Baby weight : 3.525kg Name : Cayden Lim Gynae : Clifford Chan at Mount A. Tks

It has been a long time since I last log into this forum. Here is my 'story' on my delivery adventure :

4 Dec : Went to gynae for my normal routine check. Found out that the water level is normal low. Gynae suggest I wait another 2 days and if no show, will induce. He also suggest that I go for c-sect as induction is only 50% successful.

5 Dec : At 5 am check into Mount Alvernia for c-section epi. At 9.30 am in the operating theatre getting ready to deliver. At close to 10 am, my bb was out... What a relief.

Started with bfing 1 hour after delivery. Everything went smoothly and now happily bfing my little bb boi.

QSG,
Who's ur PD, sound like he's Dr Ong from TMC leh.

My Reyna also don't really wake up for feed, mayb she's a jaundice bb, tends to be more sleepy, but I will tends to wake her up for feed every 3 hourly to ensure my milk supply.... I'm trying to build more than she needs, so that her sisters benefits from it too.... Something very sad, my no.2 forget how to suckle from my breast liao, think my tandem nursing dream had burst liao....

Last nite was my 1st nite with Reyna, haiyo, basically like I nvr sleep like that, cos she keep waking up every 30 mins to 1 hr, dunno issit that the air con too cold for her, hopefully today w/o aircon she's able to sleep better n let me rest well....

Congratulations to all those who have given birth!

Qianhui,
I'm also very sticky n hot, that's y cannot take afternoon nap... very pek chek too, but now I don't really bother abt wind liao, if my mum scold I will tell her if I continues, I will get fever soon, cos it's damn hot n humid....

Hope the cloud will go away soon, cos I still need to sun bath my gal later!! no sun how to bath.... NOW I FEEL LIKE BATHING, BUT MY MAID IS A SPY HERE>.....

serene and qian hui
my boi drink a lot too. not sure how much he drink coz i always latch him on directly. sometimes every one hour...sometimes every 2 hour.

u gals try to drink black bean soup and the green papaya soup la...heard that they can increase milk supply. I have been taking black bean soup every alternate day. so far enuf supply for my 8 day old boy.

Qianhui,

That's the problem when starts with bottle too early, bb will choose bottle rather than nipple, cos bottle the flow is faster and easier to suck while nipple flow is slower and need more strength to sucks, hence once bb knows the difference, they will choose bottle over nipples

Vanessa,

Ya lor, sometimes I also dunno what wind no wind thing.. those angmo also bath everyday, indians also.. they still live til old old leh...

Anyway, I dun care lah.. bath 1st then say, if no bath, I dun even want to express my milk, let alone let BB latch on.

Actually I like to express milk leh.. more got the satisfaction and can know how much he takes in.. Latch on sometimes he sleep, then I thot he full liao, then my mum put him down, then he cry.

But if bottle feed, he finished 70-80ml, then he will guai guai sleep...

Qianhui,
Ya, I also feel like bathing... damn hot n sticky and my hair like apply oil liao like that... I still got so many more days to go b4 my 1st shower....sad man!!

True abt pumping, u will know how much ur bb drinks as well as how much u can produce, but than hor, pumping really need to be very diligent, cos when bb is going thru growth spurt, u will need to pump doubly hard to meet his supply....

my boi hor.. jus now woke up crying.. see his mouth searching for milk again. i heat up my expressed milk. then the cl manage to sayang him to sleep. dunno how shld i handle my heated up expressed milk? can i jus leave it n later heat up for him to drink?

Bloom,
I am still using the tummy blinder during then night...Day time too warm liao

Jen,
I have learn my lesson and lock the door. Problem solve
....I slowly built up the supply by direct latching BB for every feed. Than pump out balance after every feed

Qianhui, Dey, Vanessa,
Most of the time i direct latch BB on. After feeding BB will use hand expression to pump out the balance. For me hor the avent manual pump not really useful leh. What type of pump u ladies using? Any recommendation?

1st week i still guai guai blow the fan at ceiling. Now hor cannot tahan liao, will on the fan though not blowing direct. Yesterday night was so humid, me sweat like mad and had a hard time falling asleep. The only good thing abt the stupid heat is that i sweat alot and that help to clear water retention

To all mummies that has pop

To all ladies who have given birth, congrats!

Bobianah,
I'm so glad that your labour went so smoothly with induction. And Hannah is sooooo adorable.You are my inspiration! Hehe.

Just an update - Today is my EDD and I went to see my gynae just now. My cervix is still not dilated but my gynae said I have quite serious water retention cos my feet are very swollen. So he suggested that I be induced tonite. I'll check in at the hospital after midnight tonite. Will keep you ladies posted...

To all ladies who have given birth, congrats!

Bobianah,
I'm so glad that your labour went so smoothly with induction. And Hannah is sooooo adorable.You are my inspiration! Hehe.

Just an update - Today is my EDD and I went to see my gynae just now. My cervix is still not dilated but my gynae said I have quite serious water retention cos my feet are very swollen. So he suggested that I be induced tonite. I'll check in at the hospital after midnight tonite. Will keep you ladies posted...

Congrats Jlim on ur arrival of bb.

Vanessa,
why u say ur maid is spy?? u do confinement at ur own hse or mom hse ar?

Qianhui,
I believe ur ss is very good liao leh. I so envy u leh.

Shihui,
pls teach how u massage to have 1 drip of colostrum coming out. i everynight if rem to massage i will definetely massage my breast esp the lower part where the underwired is lor. cos there when massage very pain. must be aldy block milk ducts formed liao.

Jackie,

Me bought the Avent UNO pump. However, as it comes with the adaptor to make it a manual Avent Isis pump, which I had been using it since the time I started to pump, I'm more used to the manual Avent pump lor.. changed it to electric occasionally, but very happy using it manually..

Ladies using the manual pump, is it very tiring?

My friend said she wants to sell me her Mandela Electronic Duo Pump. The pumping movements is supposed to be similar to baby's sucking. Has any mummy tried it? It's VERY expensive. About $799 when new. And she offers to sell me at S400.

Hi All Mums

Can I check how much did you all buy for the Nepia brand diapers ? Thanks!

Hi Mae,

Me same as you. Tonight midnight to be admitted to prepare for my c-sec next morning...

Vanessa, ya, Evee's PD is Dr Ong. I got a shock when i first went to his clinic for Evee's Jaundice review. It was so packed with babies and children even on a weekday.

berrysweet, I ordered from Nepia during a promotion for $14 a pack but must order at least 4 for free delivery.

Mae, are you referring to Pump In Style? Bec if it is just Medale Electric Dual Pump, it should only cost $200+ and not as good. I am using Pump In Style, it is good.

Jackie, you very discipline got wear the tummy binder. My tummy still quite big but i find it too hot to wear and troublesome too since need to bf bb.

Jen, according to Mrs Wong from TMC, dun have to really hear the burp then stop stroking.

Serene, you can try neo garden. Check out their website. The tables and chairs can be rented from them.

hi berry,
i think so leh. Last time MBB bot during their promo was $14. But i find it good is they can deliver to u if u reach cetain amt

MBB said she delivered bb Megdelene at 1113am. Wt 3.1kg.

Congrats to MBB!

i won't be loggin in as often for a while... since coming home, hv been hving trouble BFing and hence very tired, not enuf rest. Seems like bb not suckling hard or not latch properly and oso not much BM SS.
now my right nipple like got blister...very pain.
She oso didn't wet her diaper as often, meaning not eating enuf.

Last nite she cried all nite and we all cannot sleep at all. BFg was not successful becos of abv.
This morning we hv resorted to supplement with some FM thru spoon feeding...a slow process, but seem to help. I am very diappointed... day 3 oredi still nothing. Try to pump oso onlu one drop.

Thank God my hb is very supportive and understanding, still encourage me to BF. I dunno wat i'd do without him or when he go back to work. He stay up with me all nite too.

Tomoro we go see the pediatrician and trying to make appt to see LC at Mt A. Hope things improve. If not, and i really have not enuff BM SS for bb, may hv to feed FM liao.

Thanks all for the info..Think Nepia ran out of stock liao for the promotion for $14. Dunno when they will have such promotion again...I heard the reviews were good for Nepia so thinking of buying some to try.

jen,

4 my case hor, must stroke in uprite position then she'll cough. then put her on e tummy for a q while. she hardly really burp out but i realise if i burp her long enof (can b up to 15 mins) then she can latch on n eat again. means she's been going full on air lor! or else put her bk, tinking she's full liao..10mins later cry 4 milk again... v troublesome...

bobianah, dun be discouraged. Milk will take about 3-5 days after discharge to come. Its very tough esp the first few days at home after discharge. Did you massage before pumping? Got take soups or not? It helps too.

Jen, seems a while can already as demo by Mrs Wong when she visited me. Anyway, since then, i also stroke a while only.

mummmies!!

Congrats to MBB on the arrival of her bb girl!

Kimi,

wow your bb so cute leh! so adorable!!

just seen gynae....bb is now 3790gram at 39weeks 4days and its a big bb...gynae said shall see if labour takes place these few days if not will discuss with me the options :p think bb is too cosy inside liao...so big bb i scare natual birth might not be too easy......gynae said can do 'watever'to stimulate labour now.

bobianah,

jia you! persevere!!!
GOD will blessed you success in BF career!!

MBB,

congrats! 3.1kg bb, my dream wt leh!

shihui,

Mandy doens't look like either o us leh... so strange...

bobianah,

jia you jia you! dun stress too much or it'll hinder w building up ss. n i heard tt nt enof rest can oso hinder ss build up.

Mae,

tonite wor! all e best!
like qianhui, i oso prefer manual to electric pump, haf better control.

anyone noes gd tingkat caterer? tinking o ordering tingkat after my confinement. like serene, me oso looking 4 buffet caterer 4 full mth celebration. any suggestions?

choo,
Pig trotter can only takes abt 3 weeks after delivery, that is to ensure ur locia is cleared b4 taking it as after eating the pig trotter, it will suppose to stop the menses abit.

QSG,
If I'm not wrong, Dr Ong also recommended to u by Dr Sim rite? Mine was recommended by her when I had my no.2.

U so good hor, got Mrs Wong to visit, dunno y I didn't have her visiting me leh, mayb I'm suppose to stay in 4-bedded ward bah...

Bobianah,
Don't be discourage, bfing is always not easy, last nite I also didn't manage to sleep. U just need to perserver to be successful in bfing and always believe that u can make it. Once u think u can't, u will definitely fail. Just continue to try hard, if neccessary, supplement 1 nite feed with FM so that u can have a longer rest and drink well, I'm sure ur supply will increase.
Think the main problem is u don't have enough rest and r stressed over the among. Rest enough and make sure Hannah have her mouth open big big b4 putting ur breast into her mouth. Make sure she's taking most of ur aerola in her mouth and she's not nipple sucking. If she's latching correctly, there should not be any pain, else u got to put ur last finger in to break the suction and try to latch her correctly again.