(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Jasmine,
eih, I mean NOT forever :p
Nope, intend to let him get natural immunity

A friend just shared this which i find it really meaningful

<font color="0000ff">Penelope Leach, a child psychologist remind us: Child development is a process, not a race....we behave as if a child who walks earliest will walk fastest...We are schooling our children to be winners, but winners at what we are still not sure of.</font>

wah... lots of nice photos to see leh...
*envy envy*... i also wana bring A to lots of places (e.g. beach or sentosa, zoo, chinese garden, etc etc...), but recently weekends very bz... only manage to go airport last weekend...

a couple of weeks ago, we went to Changi Village for dinner mah.. so b4 tat went by to e beach whereby we can be "underneath" e planes when they r landing at Airport lor... during tat trip, A got scared by e planes as it was very very loud... n e first time he saw e planes being sooo HUGE...
then last week went airport, A got to see all e planes in e "comfort" of e viewing mall.. then no noise... can see his amazement at all those planes moving around... till today, he will still remind us now n then about aeroplanes.... n go "wwwooooooo....".. hehehehe...

for some updates... A still not walking.. but he managed to pronounce some words by imitating us... (im sure he doesnt know wat he's saying yet.. but he's observing our mouths when we speak, then repeating e same sounds..) i guess his "first words" are considered to be: "open", "apple", "balloon", and "blender"... hehehehehe.... so much for hoping it to be "ma-mee" or "deh-dee" liaoz lor...

some recent photos of A to share...

after being "scared" by e airplanes at Changi beach...
977248.jpg

977249.jpg

977250.jpg

Starz,
A looks really like daddy in the first photo
What a happy baby
K is still not walking either. haha.

Oh talking about airport, K also get really excited when he sees the planes in the airport. He will point to each and every plane in sight. Now whenever we say "aeroplane fly", he will raise his hands high up in the air. Haha. It is a pity that after they do renovation of the viewing gallery, we can no longer see the runway in full view.

Hi jenny,
Hah, my boy's birthday also at that time fr 12 - 3pm so wont go.

My sony is the basic model lah. T20 during comex but good enough 4 me already.

Hi jenny,
Hah, my boy's birthday also at that time fr 12 - 3pm so wont go.

My sony is the basic model lah. T20 during comex but good enough 4 me already.

Chicken Pox Vaccine
===================
Will let my boy take cos my greatest fear is he might catch it while he's still young. Very difficult to expect him not to scratch or worse, might develop complications. So even if the vaccine doesn't last a lifetime, at least he wont catch the virus in the near future.

<font color="ff6000">pups</font>
u still remember how my hb looks like ar... hehehe.. ya, nowadays most pple say he look like daddy liaoz.. and i'm happy.. cos daddy got better complexion than mummy, n i been wishing since preggy tat A will look like daddy... only thing now is, his eyes not reli "there" yet... cos daddy got "deep-set" eyes (for an asian lah..) but A's eyes like mine, puffy puffy 1...

<font color="ff6000">freshpoison</font>
actually my hse also always hear aeroplanes.. but mayb not as loud bah.. so tat day when we are directly below e plane, A got a "scare" lor... somemore e 1st time he's being carried by daddy.. daddy didnt know how to "prepare" him for e noise... but after a few planes later, A's alright liaoz....

i also already scheduled A's pnuemoccocal + chicken pox jab a few days after his 1st birthday... PD said can take together.. my thinking like u, scare A get chickenpox when he's too young, dont know how to "control" himself...

starz,
I actually do not remember exactly how your hubby looks like but when I see A, the resemblence is quite striking! Eih, never look at your hubby in the eyes so don't know how deep-set his eyes are. Haha! I know what you mean.. hubby has very good complexion whereas mine is full of potholes. So during pregnancy, I told hubby if he doesn't pass his good skin genes to K, I will make K blame him next time! Haha.

Gemini,
PG only have sesame street, forever friends and some dunno wat figurines. I know your candle is which one, I wanna get it at first but after some thinking, I cancelled all my order keke...
Ya lor $15 very good to earn. Cos they only do the cake and design. All the stuff are provided by us.
I'm also doing a Pooh garden theme
Hope it turns out nice. I actually requested them to do something similar to smiling orchid's pooh picnic theme, dunno if they can do the same design. Chan Yun said can.. but I doubt haha.. so I'm praying hard!!

Starz,
You mean A is going to take pnuemoccocal + chicken pox jab few days apart or together?? My doc told me to rest the jab 1 mth in between wor.

Pups, Freshpoison,
Hei hei... I bought camera liao. After thinking pups and my colleages feedback... and most impt, advises from boss from Parisilk, I settle for panasonic! I got a good buy, save me $100 from buying at Best Denki
for the same model, oh yes, I got Limux FX30. Boss said no need to take FX100 which has 10x optical zoom cos going to obselete soon, though is a new model. I dunno why lah.

Chicken Pox Vaccine
<font color="0000ff">Grace</font>, that's what I heard too. But over the years, the virus for chickenpox is unlike our times. Now it is more "fierce" and more xin ku leh. Kids who take the chicken pox jab won't develop high fever. Some very serious case led to death. Last time where got hear kena chicken pox will die?

Taking the jab is not for prevention and it is not lifetime like what Pups has mentioned. Still will have chicken pox but not those serious type.

Oh yes, Jaslyn picked the dollar note... cos got wind at my place, the $ keep flying off from table, so I used a scotch tape to tape to table haha... and she couldn't pull it off, she went to take 2nd option which is the pen.

Pic taken today

Jenny,
Had fun with your camera?
Hey, you mastered the art of doing collage already ah! Jaslyn looks so angelic in her white dress

talking about cake, i am sooooo excited and cant wait for sat to come to see how caleb's birthday cake will look like. i am more lucky cos the baker did not charge me for design since i provided her with the cake kit n design n all she had to do is do some enhancement. the cake cost me $260 n i really hope it taste good n look good.

<font color="0000ff">bbgrace</font> i really like the reminder u posted. guess as parents we tend to compare too much n end up stressing ourselves n our poor lil one.

<font color="0000ff">jenny</font> what are the items for bb to take? wanna try on caleb for the fun of it.

<font color="aa00aa">laughing baby</font> hb just showed me this video. wanna share. so cuteeee.... reminds me of caleb's laughter when i played ball with him some time back.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cXXm696UbKY

<font color="aa00aa">best actor</font> this is so hilarious.
http://youtube.com/watch?v=lKeR2TG6QEQ

Chicken pox vaccine
===================
i dun intend to let tricia take it now, maybe when she's in childcare. same as pups, i will prefer nature to take its own course...

hi jenny,

not bad, next time jaslyn will have lots of $$ to count... hehee
did ask my mum whether want to let tricia take the items, she say up to me. i'm a hokkien but my hb is teochew....if ask my MIL, the answer definitely no...

Pups,
Not yet having fun. Still charging battery. Anyway was busy with the prayers for Jaslyn yday. I loaned my sis's camera to standby in case mine dead haha...
Oh the collage ah, ya lor, asked my colleagues for advise yesterday. Still learning
stupid me never think to ask him for consult haha.. He's q good in this area, did a video clip for my wedding.

Selina,
Wah liew, yr cake so ex!
For my home tradition, the 5 items are chicken drumstick, measuring tape, pen, calculator, dollar note. I just placed them on the table and waited for Jaslyn to walk over and picked up lor.

Gemini,
I dun believe lah, but did it for fun nia haha

Jenny,
You meant Photoshop is it? I am hopeless at it. I think if I do a collage, I will follow Selina's method of using powerpoint.

What is the meaning for measuring tape? Long life? Isn't longevity represented by a red thread?

Hi Ladies..

Today Kyra's First Lunar Birthday wor.. heehee... so excited for her.. but she's unwell... haiz...coz the Jie Jie go cough cough and sneeze on her face.. nevertheless.. she's still happy.. i'm happy, everyone is..

FIRST LUNAR BIRTHDAY

I placed five items for her to choose.. supposedly to put the adult calculator, but REALISE there's none at home.. Haha.. so put Jie Jie's Toy Calculator instead.. anyway, she chose the book.. so guess it doesn't really matters.. heehee.. I made her crawl from a distance before she reaches the stuffs..she ponder awhile, before she decides which to choose..heehee.. so serious..
978366.jpg

pups,
yes, photoshop. I'm an IT idiot when comes to this haha... wanna learn this super chim software, but no one to teach me, and I dun wan to go for lesson cos sure forget after the class. This kind of software needs time to muster mah. I rather figure out myself =P

Measuring tape - Tailor/Engineer

In fact, I was told by the elderly that the 5 items are:

Calculator - Accoutant
Drumstick - Good food in life
Pen - Good in study
Dollar - Business line
Measuring tape - Tailor (last time)/Engineer (now)

Haze,
Happy 1st Lunar Birthday to Kyra!

My A chose the calculator and later took the
dollar note and hold on to it till he left my mum's hse....

My mum oso let him taste the drumstick after tat.

Think measuring tape means tailor or designer next time ....
but my hb dun wan it cos he say later "a quah" ... joking only...
luckily A didnt chose...

Jenny,
I was about to post something abt the cam and who knows I end up working non-stop all the way from morning till the moment I go in the car without my lunch then work at home till 2.30am. If Rhys never woke up crying at 2.30am, think I will work till even later liao... sigh...
But anyway, congrats on getting a good deal for your new cam... dun worry lah... lumix leica lens quite good... I am using a Sony T30...
As for the balloons, I dun know any place that can pump up helium ard North area leh... so can't help.
I also end up decided to blow my 10 latex balloons myself coz I already got 4 helium mylar balloon... how to bring so many floating balloons? My 4 mylar balloon already took up my back seat place liao, even I have to be buried under it thruout the journey to and from the chalet... haa.... cannot imagine 10 more latex leh...

BTW, I teaching Photoshop to my students now... if need any help, feel free to ask... hee...

Pups,
so envy K can drink from straw sia... Rhys still waiting for the straw to suck up the water for him... haa....

Jasmine,
Rhys took pineapple before. Let him suck on a piece coz very sweet. He "zu" until got loud loud sound somemore... very funnie... btw, I gave fresh one lah, not from those can one...
Oh... thanks for the tip on the NTUC offer... but think I dun need to buy diaper liao coz that time already stock up during the giant offer... now my store room still have a few more packs.

Starz,
Ah seng so cute... like the last pix...

Selina,
Wow... your cake so ex! Must be very impressive... rem to post the pix leh...

JABS
====
Think I same as some of the mummies here, will only let Rhys take the pneumoccocal jab when he goes childcare. As for chicken pox, hmmm.. think think first... but most likely yes... anyway, maybe I should take also... I haven had my chicken pox yet!!!
But I do agree with pups that articles from internet, read read can lah... coz you never know where is the source and how reliable...

morning mummies...

eh, u all "scaring" me leh.. cannot take pnuemoccocal + chickenpox together 1 ar??? e PD (Dr Lim) at Kidsclinic say can leh.. she e one who suggested taking together, so A doesn't hv to suffer for 2 seperate days... but she did mention take together might hv risk of fever lah....

aiyoo.. these whole week hor, A keep waking up crying at night leh.. me & hb reli bth liaoz, but we try everything liaoz, stil doesn't help leh...
my mum suspects its due to A's "big teeth" (is it called molars? e ones behind) coming out.. cos nowadays when we "massage" his gum with e "toothbrush" n teething gel, he pushes it right behind.... plus his poo poo abit more runny these days...
but then, last friday nite i had a "scary experience" in e middle of e night (hb not at home).. till now, i still dont know if its reli "dirty things", or i was "hallucinating" cos too tired liaoz... i keep thinking abt it, and wondering if A's this week's night crying was due to it or not.... *haiz*.. think i too tired liaoz, "hu si luan xiang" leh....

<font color="ff6000">rhys de mummie</font>
u know hor, sometimes bbs are juz so amazing.. i already got e mag mag cup for A with e straw top hor.. tried a few times liaoz, he dont know how to suck... then last weekend i was drinking a packet drink, he keeeeepppp staring at me mah.. so i thought "he dont know how to suck, no harm giving him" right... who knows, he sucked up e chrysanthemum tea n seem to enjoy it somemore ar!!! "spoil" my plan of not feeding him "sugared" / soft drinks liaoz... hehehe.. mayb u try giving R a packet drink n he will "show" u, he actually knows how to drink from straw.. hahaha...

Vivian,
hee hee... I already settled by trouble thinking over balloons. I only want a mylar 1 shape balloon + 4-6 latex balloon if I can get helium top up on the day itself. My sis has volunteered to go get the balloons done up. Cos I dun wan to carry myself like wat you said! See, I have 2 kids with me, need their barang barang, the bag of goodie bags, and I bought extra paper plates etc, drinks (decided to bring some extra can drinks), cakes and oneh oneh. My hands and in fact I think my car are fulled. Asked sis for help this morning and she said ok, she asked her bf to go collect the balloon haha... now I just need to place order but I bo eng to go raffles city wor.
Wah, good ah, I got a xian cheng lao shi here to teach me photoshop!

Jasmine,
oh ya forgot to reply you on pineapple. I never give cos this is very acidic.. and I never like pineapple at all.

Starz,
I dunno if can take the 2 jabs together but mine dun encourage. He already told me must rest 1 mth for both jabs. Thats why scheduled for chicken pox at 13 mths and MMR at 15 mths. But the 2nd jab is MMR not pnuemoccocal.
Re: Mag Mag cup with straw. Jaslyn dun like to use. She only likes to use big water bottles with straw. So, I let the 2 gals share the water bottle lor. Then I lazy mummy no need to carry so many things to go out =P

<font color="ff6000">jenny</font>
oic.. i also dunno y Dr Lim rec A to take these 2 jabs together leh... i juz "blindly" thought since PD says so, i juz listen n follow lor...
talking abt mag mag cup.. i also dunno y, we've already let A use e soft spout for so long liaoz right, he will still "choke" on it 1 leh... then after e weekend my mum let him use e straw top.. he also "choke"...

Vivian,
Did you tell you before that last time i trained Joshua to drink from straw using packet drink? I actually went to buy those kids size soya drink, empty the contents, fill with water and then squeeze the pack to let a bit of water get into his mouth. That's why he managed to learn.

For Emma, strangely don't need to teach, just pass her the mag mag straw cup and she suck liao.

STRAW CUPS
On the topic of straw cups, I stop using the Mag mag cup liao cos Emma prefers the one that gor gor is using. So i bought a similar one for her but she still goes after gor gor's one.
The sippy cup from NUBY is very good. it has this valve that prevents backflow so when the child has food in the mouth and drink water, the food bits dun get back into the water and make it cloudy. But this straw is harder to suck, so use it only if the child is proficient in sucking.

alamak, seems like tricia is really a lazy girl, though she's one of the early Oct baby, till now, she still do not know how to suck or better still, do not want to hold her milk bottles.
did let her try the mag mag cup, she dun want it. as for the straw one, have not let her try.

maybe should try <font color="0000ff">starz</font> & <font color="0000ff">bbgrace</font> method, use packet drink.

Starz,
K also choke on the fluid but I take it that he has to learn how to control so if the choking is once in a while, I leave it.

I think most of us have taken for granted how to suck up a straw and drink. But if you really think about it, there is a lot of co-ordination required! have to know how to suck, swallow, suck and at the same time breathe! Not easy leh! So, don't force baby to do it
In my case, I tried a couple of days using the mag mag cup before K learn how to suck something up. Then after a while, he doesn't want to use the straw so I changed back to the soft spout for a few weeks then reintroduce the straw again.

Straw Cups,
Sheen knows how to suck from straws but sometimes she v lazy so just bit the straw oni. She same as K. first few days try she wants to suck but later didn't wan. so sweet to soft sprout. oni introduce back recently and is sucking well.

Sheen's 1st bday invitation card
Hubby make a flash invitation card for my girl. Happy viewing...

http://users2.titanichost.com/limchinsg/index.htm

Going to beach
After seeing so many cute bbs gg to baech, I hv this urge to bring sheen to beach too. hv not brought her to beach yet..Told my hb this sat go beach...hahaha

Mag Mag
=======
Well, my lazy boy only drinks wif this soft straw. Conventional ones he dun like. He prefers to chew on them. Dunno izzit cos he doesn't noe or doesn't wanna try.

<font color="0000ff">jenny, vivian</font> ya lor. hb also say i xiao spend so much on the cake but... just me lah. wanted a cake to fit the theme so no choice n we having some 70-80 guests so need a cake big enf to feed everyone. will definitely share some pixs. really cant wait to see the cake in a 9 hrs time

<font color="0000ff">cneo</font> very nice invitation card. your hubby very good at this thing. impressive.

<font color="aa00aa">Caleb's Pirates Party</font>
<font color="aa00aa">just done finishing up the Thank you gift for the guests. went around shopping for the missing items for the party favours. FINALLY! Now over excited cannot sleep
balloons sent to Grefio in for filling n they will deliver tmr. went to spotlight to buy iron-ons to be ironed on caleb's t-shirt to make it look more piracy.

my sis composed a song for caleb's birthday. so touched. (Lyrics) The pirates came to see see see, to see what they could see see see, but all that they could see see see, is Caleb's birthday party-ty-ty. Will get my niece & nephew to sing n record n post to share.</font>

hi Storm,
for a moment, i tot i saw Coral's Char. they look alike.
sweet girl..

Vivian & Jenny,
Thanks for the reply on pineapple.
actually me oso no fancy to pine apple. but my family love it & ask me can feed A or not.
but at the end we didnt feed him.

Cneo,
can see ur hb put a lot of effort on Sheen birthday. very nice clip

Selina,
wow...really waiting for Caleb's birthday pics.
sound so interesting...

<font color="0000ff">Happy birthday to Caleb in advance!</font>

Gemini,
R is a Sep baby and he still DUNNO how to drink from straw, he hates the sprout as well. i gave up... tried giving him packet drink, it dun work. he let the strawm sit on his tongue n he dunno how to suck fr there. coz my boy is not greedy! he dun give 2 hoots abt adult food or drinks.
its bad. hard to make him learn anything. when i asked him to wave goodbye to whoever, he refused to obey. no matter how much i coax him, lift his hands to "remind" him how to wavem he refused to do it. when the person goes off, then he happily wave goodbye! *faint* i hv a rebellious son!!! my mum says R is v KL! hahaha

HI all...

CY wishes all korkors and jiejies...and two little didis (kaelen and Ayden)...a wonderful crazy birthday!!!!!!!!Happy Happy Birthday!!!!!!

Have a whale of a time for your coming birthdays!!!!Eat a lot and make a mess!!!

982061.jpg

Hey...havent been posting here for long...

ALl your bbs look so grown up liaoz..CY still looks lk a bb...cant help it.He's bumped up his weight recently, so am quite happy...heh heh heh...but he is still featherweight lah...

hi jenny,

i'm here too, normally, monday quite busy for me.

hi crystallised,

the problem is, i have a greedy girl. she will watch us intensely at what we are eating. and EXPECTED us to feed her. try letting her hold on to a Gerber biscuit, she refused. waiting for us to put into her mouth. if we refuse, she still will get angry. BTH her.

yesterday tried letting her drinking from a straw. she just bit on it, dun know how to suck...

hi cneo,

saw ur invitation card, v well done!

hi storm,

ur girl can walk quite stable already...

Gemini
Hehehe my problem here is R is not greedy at all. When u put him n my niece together, they r both poles apart. One is super greedy while the other is super fussy. Watever R refused to eat, it will go straight into my niece's mouth. When R is still enjoying his 1st bite of bread, my niece is alrdy down with her 3rd or 4th mouthful. Thats how fast she is!
And because she is greedy, her pincer grip skills r v v gd (she needs the skills to grab little bits of food). She can master the pincer skills at 9 mths old. i considered tt advance coz R now still dunno or rather not willing to learn a lot of things.

R will at times look when we r eating but when u try to feed him, most times he will turn away. Think he juz wants to enjoy looking but he dun really eat. I dunno if this is gd or bad.

hi crystallized,

wow, indeed your niece is v fast at her motor skills. my girl is greedy but lazy. just waiting for us to feed her. just like her milk feed. scream for her milk but waiting for us to hold her bottle to her mouth.
btw, can PM me your neogarden member#? i will be ordering from them, so if need to, will use your membership#.

thks in advance.

Hi all big bbs,
Happy birthday or belated birthday to all. My girl will be celebrating her lunar bday tis sat and act first bday next sat.so looking forward...

Selina, Jasmine, Gemini
Thanks for the compliment... My hb will be v happy to hear this. Of cos he puts in lots of effort. She is his precious daring. He even make a magazine cover for her. Quite funny. Post for u all to see later.

Storm
Ur girl can walk v well at her age. so cute...

Gemini
Sheen is also v greedy. She has the same behavior as ur girl. When she see anyone of us eating, she will either stare at us moving her mouth or 'ah ah' very loudly to ask us to feed her. But, she also lazy to take on her own. Once I give her bb bites n she refuse to hold but wans to eat so wans us to feed her. Haiz... Greedy and lazy girl

lilboymum,
wow! CY really makes a big mess on his face... hahaha...

Crystallized,
Maybe girl at tis stage more greedy loh. Also girl tends to develop faster than boy so not to worry too much. As long as R's weight is within the percentile than dun need to worry too much. My friend daughter is also a very small eater but she is growing well. But she likes to drink milk.