(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Alhtough nw i go back MIL hse once every week, i felt its a torture cos she is raising the old issues.........those things ringing in my ears...my hubby no longer wants to talk abt it and want me to just forget whatever she has said

i just can't stop thinking abt those remarks haiz

-as i dun allow ted to eat all nonsense food, she make it sounds as if im wrong as my BIL let 8-9 mth baby eat ice cream and almost everything, and why im so particular....

-she is the person insists to introduce pacifier to baby, my hubby is the one wants to stop it now.....she is also the one asking me dun give pacifier to ted if he did not shout for it........yesterday she is also the one saying cannot stop giving pacifier at such young age.

-she feels im "torturing" ted by not giving him childhood as i have the thinking that have to cultivate kids frm young frm reading and studying....she feels sending them to nursery at 18 mths is too young and the kids shld be given the childhood to play till they go KK

- My ted at 8mths can sit for a while only but cannot stand on his own yet, he is not ready and not steady........yet she put him on those push walker and motorbike meant for 3-7 years old kids.......

-she keeps nagging y im taking cab to my mother's hse frm boon lay to bedok, she feels its a waste of money and i shld take mrt and train ted to be used to it (hello, she did not even ask abt hw is my dad getting on and yet she first think of is cab fare.......and hello im going my parents' hse sometimes once a mth only)

above mentioned are only part of it only....can u all feel what im going thru? Am i really too much as a mother to care for the best for ted?

Wow, that is a lot of photos of cute babies! And I realised that our babies are slowly losing their baby looks already! Would love to share a picture of K but I am in office and do not have the photos with me.

GATHERING
I have not joined in any gathering and will be happy to join in the upcoming one if mummies in NGM do not mind

PLAYGROUP/GYM/CLASSES
Looks like I must be one of the lazy mummies who have yet to bring K for any of the above. Oh dear. Must start bucking up!

Starz,
Will telling your mum that another baby of A's age can already drink milk using the soft spout from mag mag cup encourage her to let A use it? K has already been using the soft spout to drink milk for quite a while. Though he knows how to clump his gums down on it and slowly when we use that for water, when it comes to milk, he still uses the suckling action though it is the same soft spout! *faint* So habitual....

Babygrace,
Thanks for such a comprehensive write-up on how to go about getting a maid. We are still DIYing everything but the temptation to get PT help is very strong on my part though hubs feels that we can do without one. I feel damn stressed out seeing parts of the house so unkept cos I have to prioritise my time for other things. Sigh.

SLEEP WOES
K refused to sleep last night until 1.30am last night! The two old folks cannot take it if he goes on like this...

Oct thread is coming alive again!!!
All the babies looks so grown up liao...
miss their baby days..

Sat Gym Class,
Sorry gals, desiree suddenly running a fever so have to postponed her gym class, hope you all have fun, post more pic ya...

Gathering in Jul 07
I want to join in ... do keep me posted ya.

babygrace,
Me no time to read the details in the BP for photobook. What's the cost for the delivery charge ah?
Maybe will do one (definately not with BP cos sure not in time), but I dun have the time to do the pics... siong man!
Wah, your points for the maid very detailed and clear!

Coral,
Hee... you still remember to take the pic to show me, I forgot abt it!! Xie Xie Ni.
BTW, then what C wears for the top?

Selina,
I like C's 2nd pic, looks cheeky keke

Doreen,
Remember I mentioned b4, very fast no more baby liao. Time flies hor?
Ah, potluck again ah, die man, I have no idea what to bring!!

starz,
chey, when you mentioned "all i need to do now is come up with a boy's name", I tot your No.2 is boy. Err I tot you know sex at 12th week scan already, is boy??

JWT Pics
======
Wah, really like what babygrace said, recess time. Really grown up le!

aspialle,
You are too stressed up with ppl's remarks. What I can say is, either you ignore your MIL's remarks or dun go to her place to avoid hearing the remarks that you dun want to hear. Yr hb no longer wants to talk abt it, meaning he is tired of hearing the same old issue and he dun want to further discuss. If you continue to nag/talk/complain to him abt these, it will stain your relationship. Think further for the future. You can't stop ppl's mouth, but you can stop hearing them. The choice is yours. Kid is yours, no one can interfer how you look after him.

food intake - I close one eye with what my mum, sis, hb and aunties feed with my gals. Moderate is ok but if I think is too much, I will voice out. Jaslyn already taking egg (yes plus egg white) and mee made from wheat yesterday at a japanese restaurant. In fact, Jaslyn took outside food much earlier (at 7th mth) than Jolene who took at 12mths old. Though I told my mum during Jolene's time not to feed egg white, but she did feed b4 Jolene turned 12 mths. she said must prepare for the MMR jab. I mean I know lah, but Jolene's has allergy cases, so I dun feel comfortable giving.

pacifier - I'm the one against it, but my mum said must give. I gave in in the end. Though I gave in, I still worry abt the weaning part. My mum gives pacifier to Jaslyn almost all the time to stop her from crying. Me, takes it off and only gives to her when she cries or wanna sleeps.

education - sorry hor, I've the same views as your MIL. I wanna my kids to enjoy their childhood as much as possible, cos once they step into pre-nursery, it means studying all the way till 20s+. BTW 18mths is playgroup or childcare, not nursery.

toys beyond the age - my hb did the same thing as your MIL. As long as got supervision, I think is ok. Dun say I bian tai lah hor, I have this kind of thinking, let the kids fall once to learn from mistake. So they will be more careful with such push walker or anything with wheels (non stationary items)

cab fare - I'm another cheapo mum. I will bring my gals to take train or even bus when my hb is not available to ferry us around. Unless the gals are super tired, eg need to sleep during the journey or I too tired, then I will take cab. Cab fare now very ex leh.

Giving the best to your kid is good. I mean which mum dun do so? But sometimes we need to watch out. We may keep giving giving and giving, and cross the border line, which will turn out to spoilt the kid. For me, I sayang mine when they are good. I beat and scold them when they are notti. We, as parent, need to have a firm stand. I dun want my kids to grow up like the youngsters nowsday. If you take a look at the streets, the youngsters now have no manners at all. Proud, arrogant and spoilt. They talk loudly w/o consideration for others. They dun press the lift button when ppl are entering. They cut queue. What cause them? It's parents' overprotective that caused them to grow up in this manner.

jenny
i understand wat u mean
to me if my hb is too tired to hear her own mother's nagging, i m also tired mah

as for education , i dun mean to put stress to kids, but i just want to cultivate the learning environment and not like wat my MIL said let them play all the way

cab fare
i understand its expensive...but not that i never tried just tat my boy just cannot sit still in stroller for long journey and weekends is overcrowded. Not that i always take cab, sometimes i only get to go there once a mth, sometimes once in 3 mths...what i feel is that is she more concern of $$ or my dad's condition? she never even ask abt hw my dad's cancer is getting on then she rattle on the cabfare, that is wat im mad abt

Of course when i say giving best for the kids , i did not mean to say spoil them. That's y i watch out to what food im giving him, what type of life philosophy im educating him......

i think i shall not post my unhappiness here to affect the rest too, think u all are tired to hear too , like me, im sorry abt it........i shall just stay silent. thanks for lending me ur ears all this while

Jenny,
Well said!!
I like the part how u teach our children. same as mine.
i realised i make too much mistake in the past. hope tat i get the lesson frm it.

y'day i just talk to my in-laws part. they kept on saying A very notty ...blar blar (but i know they love him more). althought i quite agree this A sometimes quite no patient, want milk cry..want to sleep cry...sometimes i feel like he 'jia jia' cry one.
Then they concluded tat baby should give <font color="0000ff">pacifier & sleep into 'yao lan'</font> which i didnt gave both.
yes, i indeed tat baby will sleep longer in the yao lan. but A's problem was he didnt sleep well is not because he didnt sleep in yao lan but his sleep place. tat's my fault. for caregiver convenience, i let him sleep on the mattress on the floor which ppl will always walked by. think tat make him keep on wake up. i very 'ti ki' -- stubborn. i still believe baby can sleep well if we train proper w/o sleep in yao lan. <font color="ff0000">AM I RIGHT?</font>

<font color="0000ff">A always wanted ppl carry & don't want to b alone.</font>
when i back to work after maternity, think same as Starz 's mom, A's caregiver aka mil also scare A hurt himself while crawling or scare he will cry, so they always carry him instead of put him on the playmat tat i bought (became white elephant now!)
so, this A make afraid to be alone. he still want ppl with him inside play yard ALL THE TIME!! faint**

A stick like super glue once clock knock 7.30p.m (others than tat, he was ok w/o me). but i still need to do hsehold work, rite? told them let him play in play yard instead of carry him. if he cry, let him used to. but they bu ren xin. how??? i quickly finish my work everyday like mad woman. sigh...

even hb too...scare he will fall, hurt himself. i tell him, we must let them learm from mistake e.g fall once..

sorry for the long posting in the early morning.

Jenny
i guess the only way now is hope tat i find my new hse soon

cos even if i dun go her plc, she comes my place almost every day to check on my maid and giving "advices/comments" that drives my maid crazy already.....thus its hard to ingore cos im hearing it almost every other day.....anyway i shall stop here.......tink i will treat myself as deaf for the time being

aspialle,

Never let your MIL's comments cause a strain to you and your hb's relationship! Dun ever give it a chance! Man are like that. When they are sandwiched between mum and wife, they turn deaf. Worse, they run away. Then you know what happen next lah.

I can tell you hor, man are selfish one. they sick to hear their mum's complains, they will push all the faults to us, the wivies. Then husband and wife start quarrelling and so on.

I'm not saying the way you do are wrong. But we can't expect ppl to treat us the way that we like. Correct? You mentioned abt your MIL din ask abt yr dad's condition. Let me tell you hor, my 2 gals sick like mad for the past week, even my mum, my hb and myself are all down. My ILs din even ask if we can manage, or is the gals are ok. I can't be bothered with them. They wanna ask, they ask lor. To me, I rather they dun ask. Cos what's the use of asking when they can't help? Talk only mah. I rather they keep quiet, if not they just make my blood boiling nia. Oh yes, dun say abt sick nia, that time Jolene admitted hospital, they also din ask mah. I can't be begging ppl to ask me how my gals are. They wanna ask, they will ask from their sincere hearts.

My ILs have much more problems with yours. Not just my ILs alone, my BILs, SILs are driving me nuts. Basically I just IGNORE them. Got gathering or meetup, I go but I just sit there quietly. I try to avoid meeting them. See no evil, hear no evil. Like that my blood pressure won't shoot up keke..

Your MIL wanna talk, let her talk. Do the opposite and show her. See how long she can tahan. Basically, you just do your way, ignore her. She wanna quarrel, let her quarrel herself, dun talk back. See her one hand can clap for how long. After she knows "mei xi ke chang", she won't heck to care less le. This is my tactic towards my ILs. I very bad hor?

Aspialle, learn to relax and see more "open". Dun stress up yourself ok?

morning mummies...

hehehehe... stil got more mummies havent come back to "report strength" leh... lets make e thread bz bz bz again...

im home today, cos mum not feeling well, she scared will faint, so i gotto take leave n stay at home with A..

<font color="ff0000">thank you EVERYONE who shared info on maids with me.. have saved e info for my hb's "reading pleasure" liaoz...</font>
i know exactly how hard it is to get a good maid, sometimes harder than striking 4D.. cos i've heard plenty of horror stories from friends/colleagues n especially from my mum. she's also very against getting a maid.. but dont get, she definitely cant cope 1 mah.. now she keep telling me every morning she sees e maids tat comes to e agencies at Hougang Green.. aiyyooooo.. as usual, full of complains.. all i can do is listen n agree with her lor...
thankfully for all e info u all shared with me, seems to me like a myanmar maid is more suitable for me, as my family, no pork can die 1... my mum makes a couple of really really good stew pork belly dishes... so, if e maid cant eat/handle it.. think my dad, bro n hb will suffer.... wow.. seems like alot of $$$ involved upfront... jia lat liaoz.. i nv win TOTO last friday leh...

<font color="ff6000">jerene</font>
yupz, its only a small kiosk tat sells lotsa balloons ya... i was expecting a party supplies shop.. anywayz, have already tompang order with selina's spree... n shd b making a trip to concourse too... hehehe.. thanks!

<font color="ff6000">dor</font>
hehehe.. no prob lah.. i was waiting for bbgrace to confirm she can get e function rm 1st mah...
eh, can dont do potluck or not??? y not we see e turn out, then either order a mini buffet (like e time organise at my hse 1), or if turn out not too many, then juz order pizza hut/KFC, etc... hehehe...
eh, D reli look like toddler in e photo leh.. his look so cool somemore, machiam posing leh...

<font color="ff6000">bbgrace</font>
aiya.. now then i remember, i forgotten to ask hb liaoz... paiseh.. hehehe.. will ask n let u know..
thanks so much for e detailed explanation n info...

<font color="ff6000">aspialle</font>
thanks for e contact...
re ur MIL, im afraid i wont b giving u "good advice" here... im a super stubborn n "fierce" person when i want to.. n when unsolicited advise is given to me (with the exception of my own mum of cos),i'll simply bo-chup.. or i will rebuke... e "lucky" thing for me is i dont speak/understand much hokkien (which is e only language my MIL speaks), so most of e time we get along quite well, cos we dont speak much... since i also love to read, i've read alot on babies, all e way to toddler stage, so i hv my own opinion on how i want to bring up my child... all i can do is, ask my mum to follow as much as possible, n e rest of e time, i'll hv to reinforce it myself... i pretty much "dont give face" 1.. but tis my character lor.... e other "lucky" thing is, i hv my hb's full support for whatever i want for my bb....

<font color="ff6000">pups</font>
hehehe.. i started "training" A to use e cup liaoz.. but he hv a tendency of getting choked drinking from it.. as it e same when we change his teat to e large hole 1... so taking it slowly lor.. at least i start using e cup liaoz, my mum will start to follow suit..

<font color="ff6000">jenny</font>
ya, my gynae did give me a probability at 3mths checkup tat its a boy... but 3mths was stil a tad bit too early to be a "confirmed" fact mah.. so i decided tat i rather be an "ostrich" n hope for a surprise on e day i deliver lor... abit "unrealistic" i know.. but like tat stil got some "hope" mah... hehehe...

Jasmine,

The "yao lan" issue hor... every time I go my auntie place, she will bring this topic up, saying Jaslyn if sleeps in yao lan will sleep longer and well. I just keep quiet. My mum also said the same thing to me during Jolene's time. I told her, I can give in to pacifier but not yao lan. Cos my place dun have one, and I dun feel secure using those mobile type. FYI, I used to sleep in yao lan till kindergarten hor. So, I dun want my kids to be like me, so used to it. Anyway, the other reason is becos I very hway kia one, dun stay at home. So sometimes will stay over at ppl's place. I will die first if there's no yan lao at other ppl place and hotel hor. For me, I dun care, I make sure my gals sleep on mattress, like you, train them to sleep in noisy place. If not, we outside how??

Jaslyn behaves like A. When I'm not ard, she can play alone or with Jolene or whoever. Once I walk pass her, die liao. She will scream and cry for me. If I'm busy, I ignore her crying. She wants to cry how long is her problem. She can cry till like tearing down the whole house. I think my neighbours must be wondering why haha... You can say I hard hearted, but what to do? I have to train her to be independent. If she cries a bit, then I go to her, what's going to happen when she grows up? I can't be there to pacify her everytime mah.

My mum was telling me there's a bb staying at her blk dunno which level lah. Tat bb is abt Jaslyn's age, dunno 2 mth older than Jaslyn. Till now, the bb still dunno how to crawl. The ah ma (caretaker) was asking my mum if Jaslyn knows how to crawl. My mum told her yes. That ah ma was surprised, then she asked my mum how to cos it seems that her grandchild is very much slower. My mum asked her, if she let the grandchild crawls on floor. You know what the ah ma said? She said no leh. She said they never let the child crawls on floor, cos floor cold, 2ndly they scare child will fall and kok her head, but she said the child crawls very fast on bed. My mum told her, on bed, of cos can crawl lah, cos bed is soft, bb hand dun need too much energy. Whereas floor is different, it is hard. BB needs to train their hand and arm by pushing against the floor and so on lah... the ah ma then told my mum, no wonder her daughter only learnt to start walking ard 16 mths.

I mean yes, we need to take good care of the children, but being too protective only make the children feel less confident of themselves. They need to have some falls and knocks before they know what are the dangerous stuff, so they won't repeat the errors again.

<font color="ff6000">gathering</font>
i'll start e ball rolling n let's see hows e response on tis gathering shall we???

Date: 21st July (Sat)
Time: TBC (most prob in e afternoon, ard 2-3pm start)
Venue: Compass Heights Function Rm (TBC on availability)
Logistics:
Food: to be decided upon confirmed headcount
Bumpermat: need a couple of kind mummies to bring along their playmat/ bumpermat cos otherwise we'll all be carrying our babies/put into stroller.. they dont reli get e chance to interact..

Attendance:
(1) Starz + Ayden (HB TBC)

p.s.: if those mummies who cant make it tis date but are keen, put down ur name as well with an alternative date so we can have a "back-up" date to plan with???

p.p.s.: i wont be able to login too often, but will pop by as and when i can... so say PAISEH first if tis gathering doesnt turn out as well organised as previous gatherings hor...

Logistics:
Bumpermat: need a couple of kind mummies to bring along their playmat/ bumpermat cos otherwise we'll all be carrying our babies/put into stroller.. they dont reli get e chance to interact..

Attendance:
(2) Delphine + Desiree + Desmond

Jenny,
ya lor...SIANZ with the 'yao lan' issue. but luckily hb stand with me on this issue. we will not give 'yao lan' if we hav 2nd bb. w/o yao lan, i hav no problem to bring him back to m'sia (altho sis hav 1 set) or travel. but u r luck than me, jaslyn sleep thru the night, right? me still hav to wake up 2 or 3 times a night. @_@
agree to you, we must let them learn everything instead of scare they will fall or hurt as long as we more careful.
but hor, if A cry, sure a lot of ppl came to carry him. my hb said i'm 'hen xin' to let him cry. but i want to train him more independent ma..so, nowsday once i free, i just place him into play yard & play.
for all the comment, i just one ear in, one ear out and close with one eye. hahah....sometimes can't tahan, will talk back lor. notty..

Doreen,
thanks for the explanation on 9 mths assesment. my pd only ask me come back when he reach 1 yr. sob sob...will check with hb see whether he wanna bring A for the check up lor...
D looks like a big boy in tat pics. soooo cute!!

Starz,
So long didnt see Ayden pics liao. he grows so much. he quite tall hor.

u hope for a gal huh?

Jasmine
My aunty feeding kim with mee sua and dang hoon. Cause kim refuse to eat porridge when seeing us eat other things so my aunty let her try and she loves it. Think she got bored of porridge everyday.

Dor
Wah why damien suddenly look like adult!! So cute when he standing like this. Eh my MIL keep telling me dun let kim stand later bow-legged. Dunno true or not but i will let her stand at least 10mins per day to practice her muscles.
Kim on 8 mths is 8.6kg and 73cm. Think she is tall but i dunno how to see the percentile thingy..

Starz
I can bring bumper mat as my house is only opp.

Attendance:
(3) Adeline + HB + Kim

Adeline,
thanks thanks...

my mil will happy if she know it. because A refuse to eat porridge too. he take very little porridge each time. lately even reject FM. die man..i tot i can slowly stop pumping liao.
sob sob..think my A about Kim's weight now. he will oficially 9 months 2molo.
oo..ya, do u know how ur aunty feed Kim mee sua or dang hoon?
i dunno how true they will bow-legged if let them stand now. but A love to stand now. he will get angry if i push him down while he stand in his cot or inside play yard.

Vivian reporting in, Mdm!!

Me today start school liao, which also mean I can log in here everyday regularly liao... haa...

CORAL!!!!
Miss you leh!! So long never see you and Char liao... glad to hear that you love your new job.
Try to come in here often and post more pix of Char hor...

Selina,
R's heng dai getting handsomer and handsomer leh... grew taller too!! I want to hug him!!!

Starz,
aiyo... ah seng pix so cute!! Loved the second pix...

Aspialle,
Think you care too much liao...Since whatever you do, she also not happy, then ignore her entirely.
I agree with Jenny. Just dun care abt your MIL. Since your hb dun care, you can also dun care.

Jenny,
Like your views and post! Like your style leh... Way to go gal... And btw, I also never bring R to any classes...
Hee...

Logistics:

Attendance:
(3) Adeline + HB + Kim
(4) Vivian + Rhys + Chengliang (Need bumpermat, let me know)

Post bb pix where can go without me!
But I left my camera at home today...
Got only 1 pix interesting...
Tomolo then post more... got Rhys disguise as Transformer leh... haa...

1. This is how Rhys cries... (believe me, you wun want to hear the audio for this pix...)
873710.jpg

Hi Babygrace,

JWT Playgroup
==============
May I know what is the name of the program that your baby went on that day?? Which outlet did you go? How is the program like, is the snack time included in the session?

I have won a 10 session kid program from JWT, this was the 11st prize from the March Baby Fair held in Suntec City this year. The 10 session have to be completed in East Gate branch, I was thinking to sign up for Saturday classes, can provide me more information on the program.

Anyone know is Selina out of town today? I have not received her excel spreadsheet for the order of the Birthdaydirect Spree..

Aspialle,

I used to be like u. Taking MIL's words too hard. And I got stress up and frustration. In my own opinion, we are bb mum, sure we can control situation like - stop them from feeding bb ice-cream etc. Don listen too much of comments. We can never please all. The most impt is we must be happy. Cheer up..

hihi all mummies

I have been super busy with work these few weeks.. so tired.. manage to login today as boss not in town this week.

All the Sep & Oct babies are such big babies now.. time flies....

starz: is there a need to sterilizer the training cup? My boy also dunt noe how to drink from the training cup.. haiz...

Logistics:

Attendance:
(3) Adeline + HB + Kim
(5) Kareen + Brayden + Hubby

hehehe... seems like i preggy woman got some "face" hor.. hahahha... "bu yao lian" i know...

eh, thanks for e offers of bringing e bumper mat hor.. we'll decide once we confirm on all e details who shall hv e "honour" of bringing it.. heheheh...

jasmine,
ya, even for my 1st pregnancy me n hb were hoping for girl.. initially i had tons of worries abt having a boy, but reli reli thankfully, i hv a very good boy in Ayden.. otherwise i might reli be "scared off" having another kid liaoz.....

karen,
i dont sterilise e cup leh not sure if can tahan cos mine e bottom got no indication leh.. first time i use e pigeon bb detergent to wash everything liaoz, then use hot water (from e flask) to "soak" a few rounds.. then now everytime after use, i juz make sure wash thoroughly, n run thru once with hot water lor....

littlekid,
eh, i received e order spreadsheet last week leh... e only email addy that i cant identify is starting with "[email protected]".. so i'll try n send to tat email addy okay.. if it belongs to some other mummy, SORRY... i too kaypoh liaoz...

ah beng's mummie...
hehehehe... eh, ah beng look so cool at home 1 ar.. wear bandana somemore.. he got lots of toys hor... ah seng see liaoz sure envy... can ask wat brand/where u buy e train toy??? is it e fisher price 1... i wana buy more toys for A.. always kena controlled...

Starz
I also have the mag mag cup and i use sterilizer wor.. so far so good. Kim refuse to drink using that anyway hehee.. But me and aunty training her to gt used to it.

Adeline,
can sterilize mag mag cup huh? same as Starz, i use hot water to rinse after wash.

Starz,
yes..u r luck mommy lor.
as u told us tat Ayden sleep thru the night since he 1 month old, right? think he is a very handful baby ma..
talking about my A hor, headache lel. he hyper active liao...wahaha...

adeline,
thanks for sharing... i dont use steriliser mah.. using e "traditional method" of boiling everything in a pot of water... so worried e cup might not be able to take it.... i also 'training in progress'.. but A tends to choke on it quite often..

oh on tis note, been wanting to ask, is every mummy still sterilising e bottles n teats after every use?? i been wanting to slowly stop tis, not so much of being lazy, but thinking since my boy is growing up liaoz, dont want him to be "too protected" in a certain sense.. tot he'll eventually get exposed to some level of "dirt" once he starts eating outside anywayz.. after reading up on it, decidedto do it when A hits 1yrs old... so juz asking out of curiousity....

Starz
We dun sterilizer everytime. 1 day once is enuff. Ever since she newborn we keep doing that wor.
for the traditional method u boil the water 1st then throw the mag mag cup in. dun boil with the fire on. Should be ok one.

Jasmine
Ya lor.. i always just throw in sterilizer. My sterilizer can put 8 bottles ma.. so just dump all the milk bottles in and sterilize. Basically it's ok one.

jasmine,
now A also quite hyper mah.. when he's awake, muz hv things/toys to entertain him... then he's also used to at least 2 trips downstairs for him to "bus/car-watch".. his daily routine quite fixed liaoz.. but of cos during his teething time (now) he's especially cranky too.. my mum always tell me he cries bloody murder when im not ard.. but tis weekend n today, he didnt... there r occassions where he'll wake up in e mid of e nite too, like if he didnt have a "full" last feed or if he's been to somewhere (i started noticing like where we went to tat day if he fussed in e night, and hv started noticing a pattern in e locations...) but these are few n far between.. so i reli hv no reasons to complain...

hi starz,

for me, i only boil once a day and like what adeline said, just boil water, put all the bottles in and left it there. i dun boil with the bottles in it.

Starz,
yah man...then i cant complaint my A after saw ur posting liao. i tot my A hyper active after my family memeber describe to me wat he do during daytime. think all the babies are same.
i keep on telling my family memeber babies are like tat when they said A very notty blar blar..
i shld attend next gathering then can tell them more than A behave as a normal baby!!!

hi jasmine/starz,

guess all babies at this stage is the same. you would rather have an active baby than one that stay still and always so quiet, that's what my mum/MIL say. if they are like that, then you should worry liao how come the baby so quiet.

Hi Jasmine,

come lah, join us for the gathering!! i'm sure it must be fun now since they have learn how to sntach, eat, crawl and even stand.

Hello ladies

Baby feeding
============

Zac nearly drove me to the wall during the weekend feed. he refused to sit in his highchair to eat his porridge, carry him to eat he also dont want,his new "pattern" is to crawl and stand near the door and eat.

i was so pissed with my parents cos this was the result of their doting of their favourite grandson. my dad was unlucky to call me when i was feeding zac and he got a piece of my mind. after the conversation, it seem like they are going to continue... haiz. his conclusion and theory: anything to make zac eat and u cant make the baby cry too long.

hyperactive
===========

we suspect that zac may turn out to be a hyperactive child and i am now sick with worry, all thanks to my hubby. he was the one pointing out to me that all the babies can sit still in the gym class except zac. now i am starting to do some read up on hyperactive child and pray hard that zac will not turn out to be one... haiz
does anyone know when and how can we assess if the baby is going to turn out to be hyper active?

discipline
==========

it the big "D" question. when should we discipline our babies. do you ladies think that babies of their age can reason? i left zac to cry in the high chair cos he refuse to sit in it and eat. but this boy is super stubborn and beyond reasoning. his cry lasted for almost 20min in the highchair and no sign that he understand what we are trying to tell him. should i continue to discipline him? i am torn. cos the moment i take him out of the highchair he stopped crying and he really look pathetic. not sure if he knows why we are doing that to him.

gathering
========
Logistics:

Attendance:
(3) Adeline + HB + Kim
(6)Shirley + Zac

Thanks, aspialle, Jasmine...

Ah Seng's mummie,
Ah beng wearing bandana coz we bringing him out actually. So wear for fun. I love babies wear headwear. So Rhys got lots of caps, hats and bandana. Hee... no choice lah... not girl mah...
As for the train toy, is from fisherprice. Relative gave for full mth celebration. Actually I din buy a lot of toys, in fact I bot more books lah... this beng hor, got a small small library in his room... haa...
As for sterilising bottles, yes, I still do. Actually little effort from our side so I dun mind doing that till he is 1 year old. Hee...

Shirley,
FEEDING
=======
Rhys sometimes also dun want to sit in high chair to eat so we got to on his favorite nursery rhyme VCD and he will stay put. I insisted that cannot let him walk and eat at the same time. No carrying and feeding as well coz we dun him to have that habit. My mum understand coz her neighbour got 1 kid need to walk a few blocks just for 1 feed leh... very shiong...

HYPERACTIVE
============
I think it is quite normal for kids to crawl all over the place. Cannot sit still doesn't mean hyperactive in medical sense. But if you are very worried, maybe can ask PD to help assess him or maybe ask for his advice on this issue.

DISCIPLINE
========
Actually my hb also use the crying method when Rhys refused to sleep or behave. And this Rhys is so stubborn that he just kept crying and screaming lor. Basically, this method doesn't work for Rhys or maybe he just too young to understand what are we trying to do. Whatever it is, I just cannot stand him crying non-stop until whole face red. Sigh... can only hope that they grow older and understand what we are trying to do.

Shirley,
To answer you initially i thought that kim is hyper also. So when i went for my checkup with Dr Tan, she told me that you cant tell if ur baby is hyper or no cause at this time, they would love to explore things around them and crawl about cause all are new to them. The actual time to tell is when they know how to walk like 3 years old.
By then if they cant sit still wherever u are, you have to start worrying.

Jasmine,
ops missed out yr qns. mee sua is salty, dun give too much. bee hoon hor, I find it hard to chew, so maybe wait till another few more mths. For mee sua, is ok to give but you need to find those not so saltish kind. Msia a lot, you can check it out. BTW give moderate for mee sua, it contains some sodium blah blah blah, not too good for bbs. But hor, Jolene eats a lot since bb time, she loves mee sua.
Aiya, your A is the 1st grandchild right? So, the adults will gan cheong with him mah. My gals are not the 1st grandchildren for my hb's side, but is the only parental grandchildren. My IL dotes boys more than gals lah. However, they are the 1st and 2nd grandchildren for my mum side. My elder bro and younger sis still not married yet.
Ha... if only your hb sees how I deal with my 2 Js, then he won't use the "hen xin" wordings on you kekeke...
BTW, if bb tends to be too quiet, we also worry if got zi bi.

Vivian,
haha... dun follow my style, I only teach the "bad stuff" against MIL nia hahaha...

Littlekid,
Email Selina lah, she may be too busy till she forgot.

Kareen,
For cups, not really necessary need to sterilise.

Starz,
I stop sterilising the milk bottles long ago. I only sterilise once in the morning nia, basically to get rid of the oily stain.

Shirley,
I ever let Jaslyn cried for an hr cos I was very busy and had no time for her. Anyway I know she only want me to bao bao nia. Once I carry her she will be ok. She's just trying her luck lor. So tat day, I couldn't tahan, I leave her alone to cry.

Gathering
========
Sorry ah, I KS + KNS ah, dunno if I can make it or not, but put down my name first kekeke...

Logistics:

Attendance:
(3) Adeline + HB + Kim
(6)Shirley + Zac
(7) Jenny + Hb + Jolene + Jaslyn (TBC)

Starz,
thank you but that is not my email. Can you email to [email protected] Sorry for the trouble. Do you know when is she submitting the order?

Jenny,
I have email her and sms her but no reply, I saw 1 of the post that she is going to submit the order yesterday, I tot no chance liao, going to miss the spree. Some of the items are specially requested by my boys, hope to get it for them. Btw, how's your LBS photo? Did you put them in the yahoo group?

thanks for the fast response. i really need some assurance and advice from the mummies here if not i will sick with worries.

i think i need to find things to keep zac interested but he is not interested in watching tv leh.

vivian
what nursery rhymes cute bo? i played brainy and find it quite boring. can let me know the title may i can go and buy to see if it will arouse his interest. haha
if only his feeding is as easy as the sleeping haiz....

jenny

1 hour! think my hubby will go crazy, actually i can tahan one but my hubby xin luan. but i just dont know if it is effective method to teach him cos he may be so agitated that he doesnt know why we are doing that to him.

adeline

kim doesnt look hyperactive to me at all. u made a comparison to zac she is a far cry haha. haiz mayb i worried too much. btw did u receive my PM? i need the contact for the banner, think selina is interested as well.

littlekid,
Oh is it? I dunno when Selina is submitting the order. Maybe you check with her again?
The LBS pics not ready yet. Still waiting for studio to call me leh. Me eagerly waiting kekeke...

Shirley,
Haiz... I also dunno if thats a good way or not. But bo pian lah. Actually hor, I can't tahan bb cryings and screamings one. Once my 2 gals do that, I turn crazy haha... my hb more patience. Oh yes, not forgetting to tell you this, Jaslyn super li hai than her mummy lah. She can keep crying and screaming till she vomits, so her bad mum surrender with white flag.

Adeline,
Dun worry, your Kim still baby look and chubby, I like haha...

<font color="ff0000">LITTLEKID</font> Sorry I totally forgot. Can I email to you first thing tmr morning cos the file is in office. Nv bring my laptop home today cos too tired to do work at night. pai sei hor. Getting the payment part straighten out soon so will submit once i get that done.

<font color="0000ff">caleb's heng dai's mummy</font> Rhys is so much taller than Caleb. Next time we meet make both of them wear bandana ok.

<font color="aa00aa">bb upbringing</font> think my way of discipling is quite similar to my mum so we have no issues here. just some little things which i have my own thinking n i will insist but most times i will explain to my mum my rationale n thankfully she understands n will try to follows.

i personally agree to letting bb cry for a period instead of picking them up immediately. i believe in letting them know that you dun get your way just wif crying. it doesnt work in the family

also, i believe in letting bb fall as i think this is one way of exploring. they will nv learn if they nv fall cos they wont know what it feels like to fall. but of course the fall must be within our control, i.e. in a safe environment n bb is under close supervision. personally i cant stand some of my friends. got 1 friend, hb & wife practically follows the child everyway he goes eventhou confine to a room environment. i simply cant stand that. but i dun say anything cos not my child. another friend son is 3 years old eat noodles still need to use scissors to cut into small small pieces machiam what i give caleb now. my niece same age knows how to slurp noodles on her own n use her teeth to cut them.

<font color="aa00aa">yao lan & pacifier</font> i have no qualms giving pacifier cos like vivian i believe easier to correct than allowing bb to suck thumb. n hb also thinks if it is invented to pacify bb, he will use it. but yao lan is 1 thing i strongly against not that there's anything wrong but like jenny i very mobile n i dun want caleb to depend on yao lan. he slps on ti lam on the floor but in the room so wont have prob abt pple walking ard n disturbing his slp. altho getting used to noise is good so bb more adaptable when outside, i believe in bb having sufficient slp cos that helps them to grow physically n mentally. hence as much as i want him to rough it out, i will try to make the environment conducive for his slp. i know i sound contradicting but i believe in balancing in certain ways. hope i am clear. i dun even know what i am writing.... WAHAHAHAHA!!!!! oh 1 thing is caleb can still slp well outside with all the noise cos we always bring him out n he used to slping outside so no issue that he is used to quite places n cannot adapt. think bb more adaptable than adults.

<font color="0000ff">jasmine</font> i gave caleb mee sua over the weekends. i use pork ribs & carrot to boil the soup. use the soup & carrot to cook spinach & mee sua. caleb loves it n finishes 1 entire bunch of mee sua in a single meal.

<font color="0000ff">aspialle</font> i also very stubborn on my own so for me whatever i dun like to hear, esp from ILs, i will show black face immediately n i make sure they sense it. i wont tell them y cos i dun care a damn. i am caleb's mummy n i decide how i want him brought up n how i run my family n how i spend my $$$. SIL bought a jumper for caleb that looks like a table cloth. right in front of her n all the nieces n nephews i kept saying "aiyo ask caleb to dress like table cloth" i dun care lor so ugly want my son to wear, over my dead body lor.

GATHERING
=========
Logistics:

Attendance:
(3) Adeline + HB + Kim
(6)Shirley + Zac
(8) Selina + Les + Caleb + Worldmap

Sorry i only avail on 21 Jul cos coming wkend got 3 birthdays to attend n 28 jul will be just back from kl n need to attend hb's coy activity. if have to change date, plse go ahead will just give it a miss n join the next one.

<font color="ff0000">once gathering confirm mayb someone can help to sms wei kuan cos think she dun login anymore n really hope to see RF soon. sorry i dun mind doing it but scared i wont login in so might forget. so if someone else can help will be great. tks</font>

<font color="0000ff">shirley</font> dun think zaczac is hyperactive lah. if comparing caleb to zaczac i shld starting worrying if caleb is autistic right cos he dun interact like damien. so dun worry ok. he just loves to explore his environment. do u think cos either u or caregiver moves very fast in watever u do that's y he also very active? sorry i dun mean anything but looking at how fast u move zaczac from 1 play area to the next i very chuan cos i cannot catch up n cant seem to get caleb to be as fast. so just wondering.

oh about drinking, i let caleb tried my soya bean milk (wifout sugar) yesterday n allowed him to drink via the normal straw n was surprised after exploring with the straw for a while he started sucking n he managed to drink some of the milk but think the straw too long so he needs more effort to suck.

then dinner time i let him drink water from the glass using a straw n this time he sucks much better n faster.

strange thing is i let him suck his magmag but he just refused. dunno y like that. dunno if it is the mug or just the thrill of drinking like adults.... he actually pushed the magmag away

<font color="0000ff">pups</font> welcome to join our gathering anytime. gatherings not exclusive to NGMs cos not all mummies here participate in NGMs so usually we will come up with ideas during NGMs than post here to see response. so do try to make it ok

<font color="0000ff">Viv, Dor</font>
Thanks for your IT advice this afternoon, we finally bought 2X Toshiba Portege M600 and are happily transferring files now. 3 year warranty, labour and part.

<font color="0000ff">GATHERING</font>
=========
Logistics:

Attendance:
(3) Adeline + HB + Kim
(6)Shirley + Zac
(8) Selina + Les + Caleb + Worldmap
(9) jerene + alexis + either helper or adrian (any wkend except 21st)
(10)