(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

HI ladies, haha, I mia for a few days and many speculate that I deliver liao. Not so soon. Still lots to do.

Crsytallized, so far my saty with inlaws quite pleasant, though I miss my privacy, my freedom is not totally lost.

Aspialle, sometimes we really can't control whenbb will be out, sweet talk him tell him to wait for daddy to be back ba.

Talking abt confinement, I think if CL don't give me problem, my mum and MIL should be easy to handle. They all know I can go into deep depression if I don't get things my way so I'm likely to have it the way I want it. And hb is totally with me cos he also afraid of my mood swing. I can just cry and cry and cry and faint. So they prob won't force me to do what I don't want.

Vivian, envy you leh. My gal won't have a room fro herself since our place is not ready, that's why I didn't buy the wallables, and never really do up any baby room, shall place her cot beside my bed, hope in future she won't refuse to sleep in her own room. This is the small regret hb and i hv, can't let bb go back to our own home...

Wendy I'm still eating the same multivit that I've always took. Actually, my situation not too bad lah, I can always eat bfast and lunch so bb should be still getting what she needs.

Thanks weikuan, crystallized... hee..

I also dun care when he come out lah... 7th mth or 8th mth doesn't matter... as long as he is healthy can liao...

Crystallized, we are so similar, I last nite told my hb say if his mother force me some more, even if I can tahan the taste or smell of the confinement food, I also die die wun eat one lor... just dun force me mah... and you know what he say... "aiya... they also want you to be good mah... just take lor...listen to them lah" Argh... so angry until dun want to talk to him...

I already told my MIL that I will be BFG liao but she keep saying can one lah... she herself raise 4 kids also no problem... and then she start to bring out my SIL liao lor... she win liao lor...
My eldest SIL now doing confinement, TAKES EVERYTHING!!! Food... herbal bath and EVERYTHING!!! somemore told my MIL very good some more... wanted more... aiyo.. she really spolit market man...
Then my second SIL opposite, when she doing her confinement last year, ALL DUN TAKE... but becoz she got back injury... super weak now.. sometimes even carry her own gal also cannot... so my MIL put all the blame to her not listening to her during confirement lor...
NOW, I need to suffer becoz of them liao... sigh...

Welcome GingerCat...

Coral...
dun need to envy me lah... Rhys's room now is in a mess also... Lots of things inside... machiam like store room like that...

and me and hb intended to sleep in the same room once the CL leave so that we can be close to him and dun need to shift the furnitures. (we already got a sofabed in his room)

So same same lah... as what my friend say, as a bb, they also dun know how to appreciate the room... so when they grow up a little more, you can then do a nice nice room for your little precious liao lor...

And I believe when your lovenest is ready, sure very nice one...

Wendy
Yep, i am all geared up to meet my little fellow.
but told him to come our only aft next wk.

i haven found the tea bag to filter away the raspbery leaf, so i cant start drinking yet. ur raspberry tea comes in bags alrdy?

Coral
I agree wif u. though we all stay together, my privacy isnt totally lost since they dun barge into our room.
glad u r coping well.

heeee, ur family noes ur pattern so not likely to force u, which is gd. we dun need more pressure during confinement liao. rather they shld support us.

Vivian
my mum is the one tt said confinement fd is 4 my own gd and i muz listen to my CL & MIL when they cook 4 me. i juz go "i'll try but no promises"

i oso kept drilling my BFG ideas into my mum & MIL's minds as i dun wan to hear a sgl word of discouragement when i am trying to establish my supply. i will get super fed up one. but i doubt wat they say will affect me since i am quite well-prepared 4 BFG alrdy.

my MIL dun nag and i do noe her intentions r good. dun think she will force me to do wat i dun wan, so not tt stressful. anyway i alrdy told my hb he will b my shield during confinement. if he dun give in to me and i go into depression, more hell 4 him. hahaha

i 4got if u engaging CL or who doing confinement 4 u? Thats precisely why i dun wan MIL to do my confinement. lest in future she say coz i nvr do this or tt, so i suffer blah blah...

oh me same like Coral lor, no rm 4 our little one exclusively, so i dun really bother doing up. i hope will hv chance to deco for my 2nd baby.

btw... I just received one of my favorite gift from a friend... erh.. considered as an early advanced gift coz she was planning for me to receive thru post right after I deliver one...

But in the end, UK side sent it early and I got it first before Rhys is born... haa... but really happy...

She ordered a personalised tatty bear for me from UK online. She knew it is my favorite bear... Still got my name on the bear some more... very cute... I told her, I am going to bring it into my labour ward and grab it while I PUSHED... haa...

513102.jpg
513103.jpg

I know my mum and MIL's intention is for my good lah.. but I just dun like to be forced on lor...
And I also dun want to go head-on with them... Sigh... now got to see how lor...
Me also engaging CL... wah, if my CL joined my MIL&mum's gang plus my hb not on my side, I think I sure go into depression sia... sob..

HI all,
first of all, thanks for all the posting that u gals have been contributing here in this forum. it never fail to uplift my mood whenever i come in to read. i've popped on 27 Aug 06 when baby was 34 weeks. so far, baby is growing well.

i'll like to share my birthing experience with the rest of u...
water bad bursted on 22 Aug and i called my Gynae who suggested that i go to KK instead of Thomson(initial plan was to pop at TMC) as the medical bill could be as hight as 12k if i were to delivery prematurly at TMC. thus i rushed to KK and started my 6 days of nightmare...

as the baby was only 34 weeks then, i was put on medication and IV for 5 days to stop contractions. i must say that i am utterly disappointed with the service at KK. can u imagine urself in pain when contraction starts and having to take ur own initiative to time and record ur contractions on a piece of paper u managed to dig from ur own bag and hand it over to the nurse who only response when u press the bell? can u imagine urself in so much pain tat u dilated to 4cm without anyone attending to u n later put on drip again to stop the contraction and wait for a few more days before u delivery? can u imagine urself in the delivery suite and alomost pushing the baby out alone with ur hubby alone when the mid-wife took so long to response (so long until the staff from the counter have got come in to see why i was pressing the bell so urgently and finally rushed out to get the nurses in) to your pressbell when they keep assuring u that they will monitor u from outside?

Well, it happened to me... it was so distressing and i really cried while delivering. not because of the pain but because of the helplessness and disappointment... i've totally lost faith in KK and i wish i was never there then. these were not the only issues and there are actually many others....

so gals, before u enter the delivery suite, equipment urself with as much knowledge as possible. Knowledge is always power. know the correct way to breath when contractions starts and know the correct way to push our darling out. it will save urself from lots of pain cos while i was there, the nurses did nothing to assist me in that. all they did was to tell me to breath n push... i m thankful that i attended the antenatal course taught by Mrs Wong from TMC. like what my hubby said, if we din attend the course, we really won't know what to do...

on a different note, there are a few nurses in KK whom i really appreciated and i'll be sending a card to thank them for it.

here, i wish all mothers-to be a super fast and smooth delivery. have lots of rest cos labour is super duper exhausting and caring for our darling after that is equally bad. Add Oil yeah!

Vivian
WoW! u got v sweet frens leh. i wld hv been so touched.
big enuff 4 u to squeeze during labour pain.

Hey now ur tummy looks more obvious. the last pix u posted cant really see. ur tumym like mine, round round one. many guessed i am hvg a girl instead of a boy.

same lor, no one likes to b forced upon. somemore its during the time we r most vunerable. cannot take too much stress else will kee siao one. tts why when my mum or MIL say things, sometimes i juz nod though i dun agree. no pt aruging at times.

u muz brainwash ur hb. he gotta support u, no matter how.

hi hi coral..
ok..as long as u r eating well then will be ok..got to take gd care ahh..

hi hi vivian..
just listen selectively ba..as long as u r comfy..as for my case, my mum will be doing confinement for me..i just hinted to her that for the 1st 12 days, i hope she will not force me to touch pork liver & kidneys..just let me have fish & vege to let me get used to the confinement for a start, then aft that watever she's cooking, if i think that day i can take, then i will eat lor..i dun mind if she just cook fish..she got also ask me if i will be BFG..then i told her ya, i will want to..so hopefully we can give & take from here lor..hopefully by then when my granny comes & stay with us..she wont comment much ba...

hi hi crystallized..
not leh..mine in a ziplock bag packet from MIM..i just use a spoon to scoop up the tea leaf..haha..very manual method lor..haha..at least u r prepared for ur prince's arrival..aiyo..hearing what u said makes me excited leh..gd..gd...gd..thks for sharing..

hi Koh

Thks 4 sharing ur birth story with us. It was a bad experience and we hope none of us will encounter that. I hv heard abt the bad svc fr KKH and thus had not intended to deliver there.

But do they allow u to admit so suddenly when all along u were not with them for consultations?

Am glad to hear tt the classes u attended with Mrs Wong was fruitful and u did not 4get wat was taught. frankly speaking, all i can rem was to practise deep breathing and do 'pant pant blow' to control the rate of pushing twds the end.

Am sure u and ur baby r both doing fine now.

Hi Koh,

Sorry to hear that you have such a horrible experience from KK. But so glad to hear that your bb is growing well now.
Now it is over, so dun think too much. Cuddle your bb and kiss him for us...

You have lots of rest too yah...
Thanks for sharing all these with us. I also believe knowledge is power... and that is why we are here too... share knowledge, experience and our feelings... so do drop in as often if possible so that we can learn from you too...
You know, you are our very FIRST mummie leh...

wendy
if its ur mum tt is doing confinement 4 u, it will nvr b as bad as ur MIL. though my MIL is nice, but still i will v much prefer my own mum. u can argue and tell ur own mum u dun like this and tt, and most times, ur mum will actually noe u dun like a particular dish even b4 she asked u. so everything is easier. dun worry lah, it will b a breeze wif ur own mum.
she cant bear to see u upset during confinement oso, i am sure.

mine oso fr MIM leh. but how u drink? juz stir inside and let the tea leaf settle then u drink ah? if in tt case, i might do tt oso. else if i wait somemore hor, might not hv the chance to drink it liao. hahaha
do u add honey? else bland bland no taste one.

hi hi koh..
congrats to u that u have popped!i must say that it's really not easy for u to go thru all these..u must take gd care of urself..was ur gynae at TMC the one that delivered u at KK?did he try to help u out during ur stay?sorry but can i clarify that ur waterbag burst on 22nd & they dun deliver u till 27 aug?i guess at least now u r cuddling ur baby in ur arms..this makes everything worth..hugs!how's ur milk supply now?take gd care for now..ok?cheers~

Vivian
Deep breathing v easy one. its literally deep breathing lor. take in deep breathes of air inside ur lungs then breathe out slowly. practise now ah! tt day when i got false alarm, i almost 4got how to use this.

as 4 pant pant blow, er, this one more difficult to explain leh. u imagine urself panting aft running, do 2 times of tt and then blow. this will help to control the rate of pushing so u wun suffer a huge tear suddenly. hope i din teach the wrong thing.

hi hi crystallized..
actually got to see my mum's mood one..coz if she happy ahh..then she will listen nicely..but if not, then no need to negotiate further lor..somemore my granny (father's mum) will be coming over lor..i think now i can "manage" to convince my mum, also got to see if i can pass my granny's round lor..u know that time when we abt to get married, my granny can suggest that my mum got to buy live chicken for my GDL..wah-lau, i tell u..i almost faint man..if the real chicken is to be bring back to my MIL's place..she surely scream then faint on the spot one..i wanted to get a wire mesh but got no time to do it..so i thot, aiya, just use a spoon to scoop out the tea leafs will do lah..i just drank it like that..didnt add honey..but thks for reminding me..

Thanks for the warm welcome.

Hi Babyzucchini, hehehe, i always pop by Sept and Oct 06 thread to read abt the birthing stories. Just to get myself prepared especially after the gynae tells me that abt 95% she is inducing me when baby is abt 37weeks.

Hi Selina, this is some of my infos for u to update. Thanks in advance!!

Baby's Gender : Prince
Baby's name : Ignatius
EDD : 28 Oct 2006
Weight at Birth : 2.16kgs @ 33wks
MTB Age : 27
Gynae : Dr Joycelyn Wong
Hospital : TMC
Lovenest : East Coast

Hi wtan, hahah, wat a coincidence! My hubby also love a 3 syllabus name. Actually, during my 12th weeks pregnancy, he gave the baby this name and if the baby is a princess, he will name her as Silvia.

Hi Coral, thanks thanks!
I ever visit this thread before and ask a question in regards to hospital bag a mth ago.
But on off, I will pop in and read and view ur lovely pictures.
All mummies look so radiant

Vivian
Actually these few days, i oso feel my little fellow more active. i believe its due to his lack of space in my tummy liao, thus his movements r more obvious.

Wendy
Even if ur mum got mood, i belive it wun b much of an issue. u dun worry so much lah.
later when ur granny comes over, u juz try to obey her. even if u dun agree, dun do it in front of her can liao lor. live chicken?!
hehehehee...

GingerCat
i oso pop by the earlier threads to read on the birth stories and get prepared too. some really hv fast labour. envy them.

i saw ur gynae at one of the antenatal talks by TMC. she came across as a gentle and nice gynae. so tt means u r most likely to b induced at 37 wks which falls on 28 Oct? i am sure gynae has her reason for inducing. hv to trust them lor.

hi hi Gingercat..
ya lor, so far, that's the only one we both like for 3 syllabus..coz i have a "bad dream" with my earlier 2 syllabus, we decice to change it to 3 syllabus instead..so see how ba, if we cant get to think of others, then we will use that as well..keke..we only start to think of the names when we get to knw the gender aft my NT Scan at my 13th wk..it's very sweet that u get to call him by names aft u confirm the gender..i can only call him by boy boy ever since the bad dream till now..

Wow, another not so smooth delivery. Realy getting me very anxious.

Koh, so sorry to hear abt your bad expereince. I must say it's not uncommon. I've had both good and bad experience in Glen E and KKH last year. So I'll say it really depends on our luck. There're some very caring nurses, but sometimes we kena the can't be bothered type too. In KKH I had some very caring nurses who keep popping by to check if I'm fine, but also I have those who ignored my requests and feel that they know better and leave me to fend for myself like they did to you. So I cross my fingers and hope the irresponsible ones won't be my mid-wife when I deliver.

Ginercat, I see. That's why i remember seeing your nick.

hi hi crystallized..
see how ba..in fact, i told my dad to tell my granny not to come to stay over at my parents' place for the 1st few wks, if not the house very crowded, got me & the baby, my hubby (i sure wants him to stay over), my parents, my younger sis & my dog..so ahh..very crowded leh..coz now granny already on "stand-by mode" at my 3rd uncle's house liao..

Wendy
i understd how u feel... overcrowded. thats wat will happen to me when my baby comes and with the CL. will b crowded too. and i dunno how they will handle the laundry. gotta fight over the use of the bamboo poles!

but i tell myself these r unavoidable and hopefully temporary until they move out. and at this pt in time, i got better things to worry abt. so dun think abt it.

mew_mew,
is your gyane at kkh with u?
my god, my last lesson is 2mth ago and I kind of forgotten and hope hubby still remember.
Must test him tonight.

Hi wtan,

My gynae not allowed to practice in KK. he can only go top pte hospital. but he did give lots of encouragement n advise when i call to update him on the progress n for advise. yes. waterbag leakage on 22 and deliver only on 27. during this period, it was total bed rest. foot was never on the ground. milk supply was pathetic on first 2-3 days. counting the drops... now, i can get 290-300ml per pump. storing it for later used. now my freezer is nothing but btls n btls of milk.

For those who intent to BF, muz perserver n be deaf to negativity. some nurses at KK keep pouring cold water when they see my supply was not there the first few days.

Coral,
pray. pray that u'll have a smooth delivery and that good pple will be around to help u. i'm starting think when i'll have the next one. hopefully next yr. the pig n the dog makes good siblings. n this time, i'll rather give bith at home than at KK. Thomson will still be my first choice.

Koh
those nurses at KKH muz b so outdated wif info tt they r not encouraging twds BFG. yah, luckily u turned a deaf ear to their insensitive remarks.

heee, yah i oso heard dog & pig makes gd combination.
u still got time to try for a piggy baby.

Hi Crystallized,

Dr Wong is a very gentle and detailed doctor. Both hubby and I like the way she work, very professional and precise.
Actually, she plans to induce me in the 2nd or 3rd week of October (37 or 38 weeks) because my baby is quite big now and she worries that he may hit 4kgs plus when he is full term. Dun really like the idea of inducing cos it may not be 100% successful. Anyway, just see how things go... so long baby healthy can already. One funny thought, I was thinking of how to make my cervix dilate.. hahahaha!!!

Hi wendy, never mind, at least ur bb still have a nickname call boy boy... Actually we are still calling him "baby" and only once in a blue moon, we will call him by his name.
Do you often get bad dreams during ur pregnancy? I always does and after been scared awake by the dream... hard to sleep again and my DS will be playing ard in my tummy. zzzzz

GingerCat
Thats the feeling i get fr her as well. V gentle and comforting.

I oso dun like the idea of inducing. but sometimes no choice, juz hv to go along wif gynae's decision as i believe all gynaes will wan their patients to hv the best they can.

oh dun worry, u r not the only funny one. i am oso thinking how to make our cervix dilate, coz its the crux of the whole delivery. till date, haven found out yet. they say squatting will help but not sure how helpful. guess all depends on individual.

hi koh
sad to hear ur experience. think i read a similar case in another threat, so ur is not the only case. dont be sad over it any more, just concentrate on ur bb. r u going to share with us ur bb's pic?? We all just had one round of excitment yesterday, now u giving us another one.

hi Gingercat
welcome. i just went into Dr Wong's thread today and saw ur name. my case is diff. i had sudden heavy bleeding and was warded for 3 days, and it continue to hv slight bleeding for the next 2 weeks. since the cause is not known and bleeding still continued, she suggested to induce at 37 week lor. but now my bleeding has stopped and in my last visit she said if bleeding dont come back then i can just wait for natural contraction. she told me she will not encourage induction if not necessary so u dont hv to worry too much lor. if in the later weeks ur bb didnt put on too much weight then i think maybe no need to go for induction liao leh?? just curious 2.16kg at 33 week consider v big meh? do u or ur hb has a very big frame that's why she is worried?

wendy/vivian/crystalized
i think it is always a problem when too many women get together lor. guess the impt thing is to put things nicely. we all know that mother/MIL always has the good intension. i know it is not going to be easy, esp during confinement period. if u dont want to eat/do certain things, just say in advance. if u dont mind eating certain things and it is good for u and bb dont just go against it for the seek of going against it lor, cos it is impt for u to stay happy during this period, esp if u r going to BF.

just curious, anyone attended Mrs Wong's Thur class with doc talk ended on 22 Aug? i just wonder if i hv actually been in the same class as some of u.

Koh
How did u deliver eventually?

CoolMum
Yah 3 women make a market liao!
juz need to give and take a bit, 1 ear in, 1 ear out, then endure, and its over. hahaha...

oh i was at the talk on 22 aug, tts when i saw Dr Jocelyn Wong. She came across v smoothing and assuring to me.

crystallized,
not true that kk do not encourage.
my gyane insisted I must BF for at least 6mths and discourage taking the pills even very pain and said will test my knowledge abt BF next appt.
she even want me to try to remember all the things abt BF.

koh
why must delay the delivery by 5 days? thot it is quiet safe to delivery at 34 weeks? just curious cos i normally only hear pp delay for 2 days.

Wei kuan
i am not saying all the nurses in KKH dun encourage. i was saying those tt Koh happened to meet r juz wet blankets.

Its gd tt ur gynae is pro-BFG.

Generally, ppl dun hv much gd comments abt KKH. i hate the long waiting queue. unless u r wif TPS, else i think it really depends on ur luck if u meet gd nurses & midwives. when i was wif them, i feel the nurses r usually quite unfeeling and they dun really care, thus upon pregnancy, i switched to TMC.

Very very busy today and very pissed off with some idiots in my company!!!

Selina,
Choy choy, wat no. 2 on the list. Sekali is false alarm haha...

crystallized,
sorry, no time to reply your sms... even no time to go toilet...and drink water...

Koh,
so sorry to hear what you have gone thr at KKH! And also congrats on the arrival of your bb. Hope everything is fine now!

Gingercat,
welcome on board!

wei kuan,
Wats the difference to give birth in 7th or 8th mth lah? After all is just a date of birth nia.
I think you prefer boy to gal right? Since the early stage, you mentioned you want a boy? So is that why you keep having doubts on the scan? If the scan shows the 3 lines, it is confirmed gal gal. So what if pop out is boy, boy can't wear pink meh? My gal also wear blue clothings mah. Most ppl can't define NB is boy or gal one lah.
Realised you have been posting 1 post at a time leh, why dun you post all in 1 post, easier for us to read.

only 1 day didnt logged in & the forum is so active.

Koh,
thanks for sharing ur story & must take good care.
my collegue who warded in KK last thursday till today still haven giv birt yet. she oso in her 34th weeks. all along her bb in brench position & decided c-section early coz 1st birth also c-section. but when she warded last week, bb head down & doc ask her wanna try to natural birth but take risk. my collegue refuse. so, doc suggest wait another few days & hope bb can hold. doc gav her medic to hold bb to come out. but d bb wanna come out early as my collegue throw out all the medic doc gave. so, doc decide wait till next day. but end up, till todate, bb no sign to come out liao. and doc wanna her to stay for 2 weeks for observation & ope can induce when she reach 36 weeks. i found it's very dramatic lol....

Crystallized, my hubby already buay tahan me now and then... trying to find methods to dilate. He asked me just leave it alone and it will dilate. I was telling him, if I dun dilate by 37 weeks, induce also no use. Later go into long labour or emergency c-section.

I think sometime during last week, i was reading the Sept thread and some mummies were saying the "ahem" method... keke!! I kept on laughing non stop and my hubby read it too. Immediately, he asked me to brush off this idea. :p Think i will try the squatting method from next week.

Coolcoolmum & Wei Kuan,

Coolcoolmum, hope u are getting better now. You are right, my hubby and i have quite a big bone frame and moreover I have regular contractions with pain. Presently, taking nifedipine to control the contractions. When Dr Wong scan my baby, she says baby's is not fat but on the bigger frame side and she says if i waited the baby to due during the full term, i may not be able to push. Next week going for check up again and sees what she says.

Hi Jenny, thanks for the welcome.

Tomorrow I'm going for gynea visit again. 35th weeks +3days. Will keep u all update of the growth of baby.

I am Having bad rashes on both my thighs. sometimes not able to sleep well due to the itch.

I think I experience contraction once on sunday. I am not sure whether is it how it suppose to feel. The whole tummy tighten and feeling discomfort for only few seconds.

This week I feel the discomfort whenever I walk around. Mmm, the heaviness, or the engaging?? I dun know.

:mad:

Thanks coolcoolmum...
If you want the cross stitch diagram, let me know...
can pass to you...

Emily,
I think what you experience on sunday is BH. Contractions are painful. Tightening and discomfort is definitely BH. Looks like your engine is starting liao... haa...
Keep us updated on your bb growth ok?

Vivian, can pass me the x-stitch diagram? Really love the Baby and the stitch for the words. I susually do my own design so can't come up with something so pro.

Esther, Jo., Selina, Vivian, I've added your blogs to my blog links, hope you don't mind. If not, I'll remove the links. You ladies really put in effort for your blogs. I'm the kind who blog every few months, a lazy blogger. :p