(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

<font face="Comic Sans MS">Jasmine,
Bring Alvis lah, he will enjoy de. Actually it never cross my mind if the gals will scare when I first brought them to zoo haha..
The children playground, if you go during weekend, there's a lot of ppl. Maybe you see liao, you won't let Alvis plays liao. 1st few times we went were still ok. The last round, I didn't let them play cos a lot of kids, and they played q rough. Also no chance to play cos the kids will play the swing very long.
I seldom bring the gals to playground cos they won't want to leave when the time is up. But ok with those playgrounds at the park. Last mth, cos they refused to leave, we ended kena a summon ticket for overtime.

Adeline,
hee sisters mah, of cos look alike mah. But mine dun haha..
Aiyo at least yr that method works. I tried on Jolene before, never work. But yours is punishment leh, Jaslyn is doing that for "strike" leh, different issue. Cannot let her be like this, very bad lor, xiao qi ah.
Bo pian liao, you put Kim in CC and see how she takes it.

<font color="ff6000">bbgrace</font>
huh... u were there too!!! i arrived 11+am.. n walked till 4pm.. hehehe.. too bad we didnt bump into each other.. i missed emma...

ya, e childrens' zoo is under reno.. we didnt see any fountain either leh.. think also under reno ar.. cos when we took e tram ride, saw alot of places hoarded up for reno...

<font color="ff6000">jasmine</font>
oh ya, remember to bring stroller fan or those small handheld fan &amp; cap/hat along... i remember to bring cap for ayden (surprisingly he willing wore it!!! cos he won't wear it at all at home!), but forgotten to bring fan along... poor belle..

Oh, dunno leh, we have a lot of things to do at zoo one. Time just pass like that.
Actually not very hot lah, just walk walk rest rest, and drink lots of plain water.
For a rough guide on food expense. The aircon resturant that starz mentioned is buffet, $20++ per head. The food court beside it, most dish eg. chicken rice, fish n chips etc going for $8.50, drinks $3 each, salad or fruits plate think is $4-6 forgot how much liao. If you are using the corporate card, you are entitle for 10% off just like the membership card. Include those stalls outside zoo, eg. ben u jerry, kfc etc.
If you lazy dun want to bring stroller, you can rent the maclaren stroller there, subject to availability, think is $8?? Then still got push kart think $15?

starz,
is company benefits mah. If want me to pay to go in, chey, I won't go. So ex! Somemore they are charging Jolene as kid fare.
Everytime we go zoo, we have never took the tram. We walk all the way one. The 2 gals enjoy lor. Especially the monkeys and polar bear zone. We skip the crawling animals eg. snakes, giant lizards (wat you call that huh, suddenly slip off my mind).

Jenny,
wah.. jaslyn "heng you gu qi" hor..
Think it's only a passing phase, they should understand when they are older.
Desiree worst(think i mentioned before), when i scold her, she will bang her head against the floor.. make you heart pain then go sayang her.. BTH!!

Jasmine,
Bring alvis at least once to the zoo.. they will enjoy de cos this stage they are curious about anything in the world.

<font color="0000ff">Marsden swimming class / trial</font>
im liasing with them to arrange for either a class or a trial...
BUT currently they are very full for weekend slots, but i'm requesting for them to put me into waitlist... can i have a show of hands, if im able to arrange for a trial or full class, who is keen???
i put down both saturday &amp; sunday n u all put ur names under e days u can hor.. cos Marsden is so "HOT"(!), we can only take whatever time they offer... maximum 6 tods per class.. but i'll take in up to 8 tods in case when they revert with e time, some cannot make it...(but if e first 6 can make it then sorry to #7 and #8 hor)
also indicate if you are keen on e trial only, or full class (think its quarterly 3mths).

Charges:
Group class - $25 per 30mins session per child
1 time registration fee of $25
I'm only arranging for e class at Holland Rd cos tats e only 1 with heated pool...

Saturday trial/class:
1. ayden

Sunday trial/class:
1. ayden

those tat are keen, i have some reading material tat they sent me, a short brief abt them &amp; the terms &amp; conditions of their classes... gimme ur email n i forward to u lor...

<font face="Comic Sans MS">Delphine,
I think hor, Jaslyn has inherited my bad temper

I dun want her to be like this. My hb said he used to have very bad temper last time.
Both our temper cool down a lot, especially hb's.
Hb said it's bad for a person to have bad temper cos he/she will never do anything in success.

hi jasmine,

advisable if u want to go zoo, wkdays will be better. for the past 2 times, we went on wkdays. still got quite a number of pple but i think compared with wkends, the crowd is definitely smaller.
ya, i brought along an umbrella, fan and also, we let tricia sit in her tricycle, at least it's more cooling for her as compared to stroller. we take the tram if we are too tired/too hot to walk... so tat another reason why i go on wkdays, cos the tram ride is free!
as to whether tricia is scared by the animals, we let her see those animals that she has seen on VCDs, like monkeys, elephants, polar bears, giraffes..

starz,
aiya wasted, missed you at the zoo.
i think the waterplay area is still open cos saw in one of the kid's blog that i usually read and that kid went last sat too and played at the waterplay area.

lilboymum,
Yes, i grew up in the east, that explains why i die die want to shift back there again. you are right about pple staying put in the east. Each time i go to Parkway, i always end up bumping into pple from my childhood days.

Lilboymum/delphine/starz/gemini/Jenny,
Thanks for all the info abt Zoo.

must let A watch more animals on vcd b4 go there. haha....
hmm..most probably will take leave and bring him on weekday to avoid crowded.
yipee....zoo zoo zoo

Lilboymum,
me also stay at east. where you stay huh?

Jenny,
Alvis also quite hot temper, like his dad. he talk like ah beng (loud), sit like ah beng (翘脚)
tat's why i think to send him to hald day cc. but now change mind.

Wah.. i tempted to brig kim to zoo liao.. hahaa..

lilboymum
yea man.. i understand.. but cant help it leh.. lol.. even hb when see kat also keep thinking of kim. probably cause both of us so long never see kim already.

hi jenny,

if u signed up for Friends of the Zoo, the tram ride is free on weekdays, that's 1 of the main reason why we wanted to go on wkdays.

You may wanna check out zoo website, under visitor's info. Q informative lor, got suggested itinerary etc info. And yes the rental for maclaren stroller is $8 (http://www.zoo.com.sg/visitor/otherservices.htm).

Jaslyn also sometimes 翘脚 while sitting leh.
Why change mind with the half day CC?

Adeline,
haha... today zoo topic tempting hor, I went to book pass le.

Gemini,
Oh yes, for members is free lah. But not for corporate card holders. Anyway we are used to walk. Can explore more places. Partly becos we brought stroller along, sometimes hard to get a space on the tram.

Jenny,
yes, very informative!

but his 翘脚 no one can beat. have you see a toddler who only 17 mths put up his leg high at the table when you go hawker centre or not?
that's my boy..there was once a uncle came and told him '小弟弟,脚不要抬起来' omg...
change mind wif the half day cc cos think he might still young, n he is a fussy eater. maybe wait till next year then see how.

Wah! Just came back from lunch &amp; now so many postings.

Jenny,
In the end I didnt use any movers at all. Not even the one that Shirley recommended.

Actually, we wanted to move a dressing table to my mum's place but she doesnt want it so in the end we dispose it off.

My 2 gals used to do that! I beat their legs until they stopped doing.
But now Jaslyn 翘脚 aka cross legs very sturdy posture, dunno to laugh or angry haha..

jackiejon,
I see. I'm think to use elite movers since got good feedback from a few mummies. See how lah. Sekali shift ourselves? I also dunno. Not much stuff I wanna move, but those I wanna move are q bulky items. Sianz. Regret buying the massage chair

Can I ask a qns? What size diaper/pull up pants your kids wearing now?

I realised Jaslyn's butt is bigger than Jolene!! Jolene only upgraded to XL after age of 2 last time. Now at less than 18 mths, Jaslyn wears L size Mamy Poko Diaper/Pants and Drypants like too small for her! I still got a pack of Drypants and Mamy Poko Pants L size each not yet open.</font>

Jenny,
Jonathan is wearing XXL Mamy Poko pull up pants @ nite. While Joanna is wearing Sealer L size diaper @ nite but in the day she is wearing M size drypers (I think she can still wear Sealer M size).

Joanna is on the smaller size compare to her brother when he was young.

Jenny,
tat time he learn to climb play yard, i beat till i can see all my finger print on his thigh then he finally stop doing tat action. but last mon he did tat stunt again, n nearly fell down. luckily hb managed to catch him.
but this put his leg on the table &amp; shake it really very awful. the more we stop him, the more he want to do it.

jasmine,
actually for half day cc, it's ok if A is a fussy eater cos you can still feed him when he comes back. That's what i do with Joshua. He hates the lunch in school, so he will take lunch when he comes home.
Just make sure he takes a full breakfast and maybe pack some snack in case he doesn't like teabreak also.

<font face="Comic Sans MS">Jackiejin,
Good leh, Joanna got small butt, save on diaper.
Re: Sealer Delivery, not sure now leh, cos I stopped using for sometime liao.

Jasmine,
Read your post and reminds me Jaslyn's finger marks on her shoulder, near to neck.
Last week my mum was on call with my aunt, then dunno what this Jaslyn was doing lah. She climbed around my mum and play with yoga ball at the same time. Suddenly she lost her balance and fell with head down. My mum saw and quickly grabbed hold of her, ended grabbed the shirt instead, leaving scars on her shoulder. At least better than direct fall on head.</font>

starz
the pool at turf city oso heated leh...CY is there sat afternoon 4pm, join leh, the class so small, only four of us max.

jenny, delphine
eih, CY likes it there leh, think coz it's cooler in there..heeeee...not sure if he likes those snakey though

jasmine
i live in MacPherson. not very very east, but east enough lah...

A so cute, think he is trying ot improve blood circulation by lifting his leg up..but so embarrassing to have uncle telling your son off... :p

diaper size.,,
i have unopened packs of L size mummypoko diapers. i was talking to hb that day, and we decide we are never going to use it liaoz. CY is still using Huggies M...can you believe it...his butt is smaller than the chinese soy sauce saucer man.was telling hb he mostly will be toilet trained by the time he upgrades to L size.

hi jenny,

tricia is wearing L size EQ and Sealer now, Huggies Ultra L seems to fit her just nice, so i think have to quick quick use up the Huggies Ultra L. as for Mamy Poko, find that the cutting quite small leh, before tricia turns 1, she's wearing Mamy Poko L pullup pants.

<font face="Comic Sans MS">Jackiejin,
Dun have leh. Lost all the # when I lost my hp earlier.

lilboymum,
Not my gals dun like, is me dun like. Find it so gross that I dun even wanna step into that zone.
Yr L size diaper will have chance to wear but maybe gotta keep for another year. I afraid my unopened packs outgrown haiz...</font>

<font face="Comic Sans MS">Gemini,
I tot Tricia's butt is big cos you mentioned she wears L before 1. Huggies Ultra L fits her just nice? Jaslyn can't wear. Like bao zhong zi.
Me praying hard her butt better dun grow another inch. If not 1 pack Mamy Poko Diaper, 1 pack Mamy Poko Pants and 1 pack Drypants all can't use liao!!</font>

<font face="Comic Sans MS">lilboymum,
CHOY! I won't be so stupid to have #3 just becos of this. Siao ah. Some more if really got #3, the diapers already kept for years before #3 reach that size.</font>

Jenny,
K has already been upgraded to XL pampers. L pampers were starting to be a little bit bikini-cut for him :p

Jasmine,
Don't have to prepare A so much for zoo lah. I believe he has watched children's program or read books which already exposes him to animals like giraffe, elephant, zebras, tiger. He will be thrilled to see them in person
The first time I brought K to the zoo, he pointed to the zebra and went "bra, bra!". Haha.

Mummies who remembered I asked about going on a work trip and leaving baby behind, I am back from my conference trip. According to hubby, K only cried quite a bit on the first night when he realised I am not at home (hubby insisted on bringing him home from my parents' place and looking after K alone at night and send over in the morning). Hubby managed to distract him and he cried for about 15 mins. For the next 2 nights, after his milk he just climbed onto the bed, shifted until he found his most comfortable position and went to sleep on his own! He did wake up in the middle of the night but each time his daddy will just carry him out of the cot onto our bed and he will just guai guai go back to sleep until morning. However, the moment I am home... his pattern changed back to per normal! That is, he insisted I sing to him, pat pat him to sleep, must hold hands etc. Then in the middle of the night when he wakes up, he is not so easily pacified even when I carry him to our bed. He wants me to cuddle him!! Aiyo, this boy is all out to bully mummy.

Delphine
Yah lor so vain hor they now. D also like to pull my hairband off my head n wear by himself then walk to mirror n admire n keep laughing n smilling.....BTH lor boy leh so vain also.
But expose to more languages is good leh when they learn next time will be easier. I also want D to expose more dialects but my stupid hubby dun even know if he speaking hokkien or teochew. N my family dun speak cantonese unless big gathering so D hard to expose now is only english n chinese nia.

Jenny
Dun need to buy lah got ppl have then 'borrow' lor. Cos if they dun like then wasted the money.......hehehe
Damien no gu qi like Jaslyn. When he make me angry hor I tell him I dun want him already. Then he will come n hug me n stick to me 1.......hahahha
Kids central hor I only know weekday timing nia cos weekends we dun watch......hehe
D love the Hi5 at 12.30pm jus nice he bath liao watch 1..... hehehe

Jasmine
Yah lor dunno when then can meetup aah sian hor.
Btw wanna ask u a stupid qns n I cannot remember if I asked already before.
The nepia seal is cut where aah??
Cut the super small seal only aah?? N can post or PM me the address to send to?? Thanx alot.
Must do it before my preggy brain go on strike again. Siao liao lah this preg I like old woman like that keep forgetting things very jialat.

Starz
Good ma belle go Zoo also never waste her tix....hahaha
D last time also like that 1 go out hong sim 1 dun need to drink milk but at home 2 hrly.

Diaper Pants
---------------------------
I forgot I had a pack of Drypants L n when I open it wah piang eeh tight on Damien but I still die die finis using them.......hehehe
So drypants cutting small leh. Then I went to buy the Nepia pants during promo last day at NTUC only have L size left cos now I buying all XL. So think think if the drypants so tight also can wear Nepia 1 still okie ma so this ngiao mummy buy 2 pack of L size lor......hahahha
More wu hua also ma.....kekekke
But he still wearing Huggies Ultra L size jus nice leh.

<font face="Comic Sans MS">pups,
Is like that one. Kids are smart. They know who to bully.
K like Jaslyn, only bully mummy.
I remember pampers cutting is small, cos Jolene used it last time. Her golden butt couldn't use other brand.

Doreen,
Ya, maybe I go check who has brainy bb then borrow to see if they like. Dun want to buy anymore liao. Cos we seldom play for them to watch.
Aiyo, I rather Jaslyn comes to hug me, her that kind of gu qi bu yao ye ba.
Oh Hi5 now change to weekday 12.30pm ah? Think last time is 5pm. Anyway that timing, Jolene still in sch. She used to be Hi5 fan, I stopped letting her to watch for sometime. Tot she forgot, but recently Hi5 got new release. Whenever she sees the ad, she will shout "Hi5".

I kapoh hor, the nepia seal is that tiny seal with a bb pic, I think got 1 point printed on it.

wah liew, you still squeeze Damien to L size! Wait rashes then you know ah. </font>

pups,
see how our kids bully us?
When i put Emma to sleep every night, i have to sit by the cot and pat her. Hubby just needs to dump her in the cot while he lies in bed and watch her complain a bit, flop around the bed a bit and off she goes to laa laa land.

Same thing for Joshua. When he was younger and we were maidless, there were times on weekends where i go off to get some me-time leaving hub with J. It was a breeze for him. He could do his work and own things and wonders why I always complain why J was so clingy and didn't allow me to move away from him.

both kids sabo me lah!

Delphine,
I read somewhere that kids that are exposed to multiple language will be a little slower in learning to speak. Nevertheless, I wish i could expose both kids to English and Mandarin. We predominantly speak english at home and we had difficulty getting Joshua to accept Mandarin. He was totally disinterested in Chinese class when he first started school. It's better now but he still speaks a few words of mandarin with angmoh accent.

eih...
you guys are really adventurous when it comes to diapers hor? i only tried pampers then when they phased out premium, changed to huggies nia. the rest all never use before. dun dare try. one pack so big, if not suitable die ah...

btw, ask one dumb qns hor...eh, how do you know when they have outgrown their diapers? i mean, look at huggies, the cut is so high at the thighs you can practically wear it until the two velcro dont reach the flap anymore....

coz i got some pampers premium from taiwan, and it is supposed to be UK size, and CY wears M comfortably, so i dunno if im forcing him into huggies now...if i am then die coz i have like three mega packs unopened...

can i assume if he doesnt develop rash, he's fine?

Babygrace,
So, till now Joshua still take lunch at home?
I m thinking to send him to half day cc next year. I shld b move to my new hse, tat's easy for me to plan. If not, he everyday also go market n shopping wif ILs n nowsday only take nap at 4.30pm. jialat..

Jenny,
Luckily your mom manage to hold her shirt, if not she fall on head sure very pain one. same as A. luckily my hb managed to catch him. with a active toddler, really 吃不消!

Lilboymum,
ya hor? why i never think of tat? really paiseh when a uncle came and told off, but luckily i was not ard tat time. he was wif MIL. kekeke...

Pups,
K very guai till your hb managed to look after him alone. Now at night i also train my hb to pat A to sleep so tat i can wean him off night feed.

Dor,
<u>nepia seal</u>
on the side of the packaging, there is a small baby head picture, tat's the seal. cut if off and send to:

Nepia Hong Kong Ltd
Raffles City PO Box 1783
S911760

D still can wear L size Nepia meh? I m headache wat size to update if future.

my boy again down with fever and cough...he just recovered from vomitting and diarrea...poor ted

most mummies telling me that teething will LS and its quite normal, i hope he is able to go thru tis difficult period though

sigh!

Babygrace,
oh you only speak to Joshua in English at home?
slowly.. guess chinese is not that easy to comprehend esp with so many strokes in a word which children dislike.

Langauge development

It is true that children in multilingual family learns to speak later. but when they do, they would have sorted out the langauge differences and become fluent in the langauges he/she is exposed to.

a few things to note however,
1. try not to mix languages. coz the child takes it as one language (a person speaking in one langauge to him/her) and chances are, he/she grows up code mixing without realising, and may be unable to communicate fully in one language without the interference from another.

so it is better to have one parent speaking entirely in one language to the child, and another parent/or caregiver speak in another...

2. it is not important the kind of language spoken at home, around the child, as the kinda of language hte child is spoken to...most do not learn to speak a language from watching TV unless chance of communicating in the language is also available. so just as long as the child has someone to speak to, he will pick up the language

but hor, i understand...quite distressing when a child speaks so late...CY is not speaking much, just isolated words...all english...

my only comfort is that his receptive language is quite good...

<font color="0000ff">starz</font> sorry i wont be joining for the swimming class. we bring him to swim on our own with my sis n BIL ard to guide us. he is pretty good now.

just to share. havent brought him swimming for a long time n brought him last sunday. sis managed to get him all comfortable walking around in chest height water. he slowly got used and after that did not want anyone to hold him. we kept showing him how we put our mouth on the water to blow bubble. just as we were abt to end our swim after 1.5hrs in the pool, he started to slowly place his mouth on the water n try to blow like us. he never liked to have his ears in the water but suddenly towards the end, he also started to place his ears in the water. very interesting to see him doing all these.

<font color="0000ff">diapers</font> caleb tried huggies, MMP, Nepia, Drypers. Never tried Pampers cos i think too ex. everything is ok except drypers which i hate. i will let him try diapers cos i never believe in suitable or not.

<font color="0000ff">zoo pass</font> i just joined a bp to get the zoo pass. will bring caleb to the zoo more often now with the pass. so far we bring him there with friends n their children or with my nephew n niece and he enjoys it tremendously.

<font color="0000ff">massage lady</font> anyone has any good massage lady to recommend? Anyone still has madam nani's contact? a galfriend asking me but my personal line phone with my parents who are in taiwan so no access to the info inside.

jasmine,
yes, Joshua still takes his lunch at home. He'll play around with the food and maybe just eat dessert and then the school bus will send him home. The bus ride is just 5 mins away so he reaches home by 12pm just in time for lunch.

delphine,
yes, hubby and I just speak english to him. Originally our plan was that hubby speaks english and I speak mandarin but i'm just not used to it. So he's hardly exposed to mandarin cos my maid and parents speak to him in english also.
It's only now that my MIL who comes on alternate days that will speak to him in mandarin.
Somehow both of them can get by with a mixture of english and mandarin. it's funny to hear both of them communicate. My poor MIL has to learn some english so that she can talk to him and the maid. i think emma will be another one who understands english only.

1st time to T3, wah.. she run round and about cos big and spacious mah.

haiz.. too bad i go cut her fringe the day before. looks a bit goong goong.
1306863.jpg

These are taken before her hair cut. looks more girl...

1306864.jpg

hi delphine,

we brought tricia to T3 last sat evening. same as desiree, she was so happy, running about cos so big and spacious. still dun want to go home, cos if we will try to catch her, she will run even faster, want us to chase after her.

hi dor,

damien can still fit in Nepia L? tricia is wearing XL now, L size is v tight fitting for her.

hi jasmine,

me sua ku har, the nepia seal can be used to exchange things/points?

hi selina,

Mdm Nani: 94562817

hi bbrgace/pups,

think i'm the only mummy who's having it easy, tricia only want her daddy to pat her to sleep, if it's me, she will refuse even to drink her milk.

language development
====================
same as some parents here, i try to let tricia learn different languages. ask my hb to speak to her in english (in the meantime, he can brush up on his english, hehee), whereas for me, in mandarin, my mum in mandarin/hokkien, my dad in malay/hokkien and my maid in malay. but seems like all of us speaks to her in either english or mandarin.

Delphine,
where got gong gong. i feel her fringe just nice.
you brought crocs shoe for her?
hehe...thinking of bring A to T3 this weekend. let him running ard.

Gemini,
10 Nepia selas can exchange $10 NTUC voucher.
heard the promo end this 31/3. but dunno they will extend the promo date cos it's has been extended few times liao.

Babygrace,
me the other way round, i find speaking to desiree in mandarin easier than english. maybe since young not grown up in english environment family.

Jasmine,
yes, ever since brought crocs for her, she dun want any other shoes liao.. think it's light and comfortable.
me using combi since desiree is born but forget the model liao. it is a rather old model.
erm.. you considering for your 2nd one ar?

Delphine,
wanna buy crocs for A lel but hb against it.

no la...checking on behalf of my bro. tot buying one for my niece due this end mth.