(2006/09) SEPTEMBER 2006 MTB

<font color="0000ff">brenda</font> THATS <font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">NANO</font></font> SECONDS LAH!

<font color="aa00aa">emoments</font> Thats a GORGEOUS photo of Dylan. so nice! u took it urself or its studio shot? but thats not a real mag right? :p

<font color="119911">edksd</font> i mix meat with all kinds of vege leh.those recc combination just taste specially gd but doesnt mean diff combi not nice. i have tried pork and chicken so far, and have mixed either with at least 2 of the vege pumpkin, carrots, spinach, xiao bao cai, brocoli, cauliflower, green peas, zuchinni, sweet potato.

nope i dun freeze any cooked meats. actually you can do it, just that i dun.

<font color="0000ff">brenda</font>, ask you. you know i dun freeze my meat right?? I buy fresh ones and keep for 3 days then throw. so i always buy the smallest strip in NTUC. i dun go to delicattassen counters leh, ntuc dun have right? i dun buy the frozen/thawed ones lah. okie, my question, does freezing meat causes some nutrients to be lost? thats my fear thats why i dun freeze my meat. frozen meat dun taste the same as fresh meat. and same as frozen EBM, once frozen, antibodies are gone. so are we compromising quality of meat by freezing huh? i wish to know coz freezing is def mroe convenient for me lah.

To add on to your list of safety/hygiene, can I say that IF ANYONE chills or freezes COOKED meat, pls make sure your food cube or puree is heated up to PIPING hot and allow to cool b4 serving baby? coz i think many of us here may just warm up our vege/fruit puree from freezer/chiller before serving. but for meat, bacteria growth is more and also more risky if you dun heat the meat to piping hot. just my 2 cents worth.

<font color="ff0000">Questions about Porridge</font>. Can I check, u guys who feed porridge, how much porridge to ingredients do you feed? I am asking coz I noticed my ingredients to porridge ratio is usually around 2:1. is that correct huh? i tend to worry am i feeding him enough proteins/nutrients (ingredients) but yet am i depriving him of carbohydrates (porridge). Can I know HOW MANY SCOOPS/TBS of porridge grains do you cook? I cook usually 1.5 chinese soup spoon of rice grains and it comes up to about 1 bowl of porridge and 1/2 bowl of ingredients. and J can finish most of it usually. is this the right amount/combi?

<font color="ff0000">questions about FM</font>, i m intending to start Jovann on FM at 11mths. to get him used to the taste coz i plan to stop BF-ing at 1 yr old.

1. What FM are you guys using?
2. Why did you choose that brand?

Pls advise. THANKS!

<font color="0000ff">PG</font> YOU ARE HILARIOUS LAH! hehehhehehehehheheh!!!!!! concave indeed! heheheee...many of us will be too then!

<font color="119911">gladys</font>, hope evangeline recovers soon....

i must be one of the suay ones to have to take pills to stop bf lah! no matter how i reduce pumping/latching, my ss didnt seem to stop! no choice have to take pill! but worst, not only it didnt stop flow, it clogged up my ducts and i had the worst mastitis ever! but thats not worst. the worst is my size i think now down to AAA cup!!

Buttons

actuallY i also dont know much abt choosing FM so I just follow suit. So far the popular brands (to me) are Similac, Enfa, Dumex, Friso, NAN. I tried Similac on Rachel but she doesnt likes it and it has lotsa bubbles which I dont quite like it.

So I tried Enfa and I feel that it taste v similar to my EBM and Rachel take it w/o complains so I stick to this brand now.

I heard that all FMs are the same and the difference lies in the marketing strategy.
Not sure how true it is.

Gladys
Damien had the same as Evan high fever for days n then fake measles will appear I didnt give himcold showers...Poor evan so poor thing. When D have the fever hor so sticky had to keep carrying him even when he was aslp he must slp on me.
But my pd already predicted for me when the fever will subside n the fae measles appear so I wasn't that worried when it happened. They will disappear by themselves within 3 days dun have to apply anything. Hope she's fine now.

Buttons,
I let Wayne tried Dumex before. But now, Wayne is on Enfa. Yes, i agree with ilovebb... it seems that all FMs the same.. juz give a trial and error.. u can either start Jovann with Similac or Enfa.. and see how it goes.. if he is fine with it, then continue to let him drink.

buttons

i started with similac for chloe since she is 2 mths old, but i hv switched to Enfa abt 1 mth ago coz she refused to take in milk during that time, not sure y, could be due to teething or 'sick' of the taste liao?? anyway now she is fine with Enfa. i believe all FMs the same, just different brand, but basically they all contain whatever nutrients an infant needs, only some may varies.

<font color="ff0000">VIVO CITY COLLECTION </font>

Date: 7/6/07 (Thur - TODAY)
Time: 1250pm
Venue: Outside Burger King (opp. Toys R Us)

<strike>1. Doreen - Wed. Thur can? </strike>
<strike>2. Peachie - Wed. Thur can? -$19.02 </strike>
3. M Goh - Thur <font color="ff0000">$16.65</font>
4. ilovebabies - Thur <font color="ff0000">$44.93</font> (VCD)
5. Sha - Thur
6. emoments - Thur

<font color="0000ff">Peachie</font>, refund you $18.22 (less out postage)
07 Jun 2007 10:03 AM Singapore
To Account DBS Savings Plus
009-9-024163 peachie
Amount S$18.22
Transaction Reference 1208941183

Buttons,

wrt the teaser, my brain as rusty as you le, I can't remember too! In fact, the answer was given by my hub cos I cant remember the complete one. hee

Brenda,

Thanks Thanks!! Looking forward to the montage!!
and HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU!!! Enjoy!!

Button, me too like most of them initially use the Similac formula milk but i dun like the bubblesss so changed to Enfapro. I asked my PD before which formula brand is better, he said is all the same lah, most impt is what brand our baby prefer and want to drink, so you got to let them try. Get those samples from ur PD, it is free.

Mommies who using freezer cube,
This came across my mind suddenly, can i use the same freezer cubes for cooked/steamed and uncook food??

Brenda, i sterilised my freezer cube but in the end most of my freezer cube cannot close properly like previous leh. So i dun dare to sterilise it liao. I just use hot water to rinse before use. Is it ok?

Rexbabie, am thinking of going down after work, but not sure whether it is worth the trip or not..
Mummies who have been there, update the offers and perks ok? =)

<font color="0000ff">Melissa, Thanks for the advice!</font>

<font color="ff0000">Buttons</font>, <font color="119911">Adele started with Friso initially. But decided to switch to enfa coz my sis n quite a no of frens told me that babies on Enfa tend to put on more weight. Not sure how true it is but decided to give it a try as Adele was a little underweight. Since then, she has been on Enfa right up till now. You can go to Enfa's website to get free samples to try first. Its www.meadjohnsonasia.com. Hope this helps!</font>

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">BM</font></font>, heehee AAA! stop complaining la! mine is -A worse! hahaha!!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Puppylove</font></font>, thanks for your compliments!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Eling</font></font>, sorry I make myself clearer.. should be 'freeze your food as soon as you can'. Remember after I chunk the RAW pork and fish in your house, I asked your helper to quickly put them into the freezer? that's what I meant.. As for cooked puree, it's better to cool them at room temp first in order to 'save' the other foods in the fridge as well as the fridge. Just bear in mind that warm food will spoil your other foods in the fridge cos the moment u put warm food into the fridge, it changes the temp in the fridge and therefore other foods in it will suffer. Actually, I've also explained to Ling in my earlier post on the consequences of all practices.

About the <font color="ff0000">cubes</font>, I don't produce them le.. so I don't know what's the best advice.. what I understand from the packaging is, they're supposed to be sterlize-able, isn't it?

I do not practise sterilize anything else except milk bottles and their teats. Other than that, I use HOT water as in just boiled to rinse everything else.. The reason why I sterilize my milk bottles/teats is becos bacteria growth in milk is rapid under our hot weather and also if there's left over so washing alone is not good enough for my hygiene standards..

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Emoments</font></font>, WOW! Congrats to Dylan being on the cover of a mag! is the mag on sale?

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Buttons</font></font>, OOOPS! heehee NanoNiNoNanoNaniNona!

Somehow I can't remember NTUC has a delicatessen counter or not le.. mmm but I'm sure they've meats that weren't frozen.

I'm not comfy with freezing COOKED meats though it's ok to do so.

Generally freezing doesn't lose nutrients as according to my understanding from those info I've read.

Raw meat maintain their quality longer (if freezer temp is maintained at 0 degrees) and better than cooked ones because moisture is lost during cooking. Hence, the taste and flavour might differ.

Freezing also preserves food for a longer period of time because it slows down the growth of microorganisms which is what causes the food to spoil. But if you keep the food in the fridge area which also means in higher temp (usually is 4-7 degrees) then the microorganisms will of cos harvest faster than in the freezer of 0 degrees.. Freezing (at 0 degree) also paralyzed any microbes, such as bacteria and also slowing down the enzyme activity that ripens fruit/veg..

Whatever it is, since we often open the doors of our fridges, it's better if the foods we keep are consumed within a week of storage la..

I can't tell u which practice is better, my understanding is simply put this way:
If I leave the meat in the FRIDGE area (maintained at 4 to 7 degrees) - TBConsumed within the next 3 days
If I leave the meat in the FREEZER area (maintained at 0 degrees) - TBConsumed within the next 7 days

Just my own COMFORT guidelines la..

So to say, if u want to compare:
<font color="0000ff">Meat kept in the FRIDGE for more than 7 days</font> vs <font color="119911">Meat kept in the FREEZER for more than 7 days</font>, of cos the <font color="119911">latter</font> will be of better quality..

<font color="0000ff">Emma, Buttons and Brenda</font>

Thanks for the compliments too bad its not a real mag hahaha buttons, you are alert to detect it immediately.. .heehee.. bopiah.. no chance to be on real mag, so superimposed one myself lor heehee. Actually I stumbled upon this site and decided to play a trick on my hubby. He got so excited and went round searching for the mag (I asked him to go & buy more copies) heehee. He was so disappointed at the end of the day to realize its a prank I played on him. Heehee.

<font color="0000ff">Hi Phoebe</font>

It's ok. Me blur lah.. I took the package and kept telling my col the stuff looks strange.. but cos most of the stuff belongs to my friend, so I thot maybe it's correct.

Paiseh.... but luckily you got hold of me b4 I board the bus.... *phew* (my bus came when I was toking to u).

Hey, I thot u have my hp thru the last BP? Maybe I'll pm u?

Thank you to all mommies about the FM replies!
really appreciate. so it seems like most of the time its the babies who decide huh? hehehe.i think most of u here are feeding similac or enfa, more on enfa.

brenda, i know u feeding promil. any reason why u prefer that? i heard promil heaty, is that true? but i know arianne dun have any poo-ing problems at all leh, so thats good.

yuna and peachie, what FM u feed?

yes i also feel that the expensive FM is coz of advertising leh. btw, many of u mentioned NAN as a good one. is NAN under nestle? how come i heard nestle is cheap? but apparently NAN is not?

brenda, yes yes i agree. meat frozen for 7 days and meat chilled for 7 days of course frozen ones better! i always throw my meat after 3 days lah. hhhmmm.....can share with me where u read that frozen meat wun lose nutrients? i wish to know, thanks! sorry for being so anal hahahahaaa....

emoments, wah u so sly manage to trick ur hubby! u must be a good liar hahahaaaaa....if its my hubby he will know immediately coz if i submit any photos of Jovann i sure will tell him hahahaa......notti lah u!

how come no one ans me on my porridge question huh?

Buttons
Paisey can't help in that porridge area though I've been feeding D porridge for a while liao. I always agar agar the rice n veg amt. For fish I use half slice n I realised it seems a bit TOO much for that amt of porridge n always end up throwing so much away.
So now I use 1/3 of 1 slice n he seems to like it better. But anyway he always finis his porridge 1 lah so no diff anyway...keke

buttons

Both babies C are taking Similac (hee...i kpo for Peachie again).

I heard that Dumex and NAN = chubby baby. hahah...

wrt to your porridge question, i agar agar one, abt 6-8 chinese soup spoon of cooked porridge and 1 veg (approx 1 1/2 cube) and 1 meat or fish every meal lor. but if feeding her brown rice porridge den will be lesser scoops cos brown rice tend to be more filling den white rice.

buttons, I heard from my ex colleague that NAN taste horrible.. She fed her baby with NAN and her baby refused to drink it and she took a sip herself and knew why her baby rejected it, coz it tastes horrid!

I have never tried different FM brands to Hannah. first time gave her Similac, she took it and did not give her constipation so we stick to it eversince. Similac is like milk capuccino. So many bubbles. So far Abbot always call me to give sample in tins. I still got their sample. Then they called to follow-up and promised me that if Hannah is 1, they will give me the Gain IQ sample. I think that since I'm partial breastfeeding and putting her on 2x solids a day, 1 big tin of Similac lasts for more than 3 months hehe.

Also I want to share one strange thing that has happened to me. i have begun to experience engorgements. I dunno if my milk duct is blocked but everytime i pumped, i get 4-6oz and then i feel that my breast if empty. I found out that I get engorged after eating chocolates. Dunno why i started liking eating chocolates, maybe b'cos my hubby is a chocoholic. But I guess that's how my milk supply increase. Now before I go to work, I pumped and at work, i pumped once. So with 2x BM, it totally replace that 1 FM she has every noon.

In a way, it's so economical lor.

Hi Phoebe & Emoments,
actually, it was my hubby who alerted me as he exclaims "how come you buy so much clothes for Chavez?" I was like "got mah?" and then started checking the suff. But it was quite fun. just hope that you all are not late going back to work.

buttons,

Yun is on dumex, when we discharge from TMC tat time, they gave me some sample of dumex so when i decide to stop bf, we continue giving her dumex. Try similac, alot of bubbles even more then dumex therfore stick wit dumex.

Porridge i never measure, jst use 4 chinese spoon of porridge mix with 2 cube of diff veg. She still on vege meal as allergic to fish, pork but sometime we add abit of ikan bilis to her porridge.

Any mummies here brought their babies for the pneumococcal jab already? I called the clinic just now, the nurse told me:
1<age<7 months - 4 jabs
7<age<11 months - 3 jabs
11<age<23 months - 2 jabs
23<age< 9 years old - 1 jab

So am wondering when I should let her take her jab.

hi smiley,

tt was the qn i was asking few mths ago.

anyway, i brought kai for the jab at 8mths old. im opting for the 3 jabs one.

next 2 jabs are scheduled in 10th and 12th mth.

edksd,
it's hardly opened and i'm not the kind who follows what the instruction said. hehe. anyway Hannah's fine and putting on weight very well. i don't want to follow strict hygiene rules else she won't have the kind of immunity and resistance that i desire. fyi, i hardly sterilize her milk bottles and pump parts too. b'cos my mom has been doing that to me and hence it has become like a passed-down practise. i have no health problems too and hardly get sick. but if u have low immunity, don't risk it lor.

<font color="0000ff">edksd</font>, sorry I wasn't following the thread actively, and I am too lazy to search through the archives, so pls bear with me, heehee =P
Are there any side effects after taking the jab like lost of appetite, lost weight, fever etc?? You took baby to PD or GP for the jab?

hi melissa, i was just curious for asking tt. anyway, i respect ur parentcraft. for me, i prefer the 'prevention is better than cure' way. whatever i can do, i'll

Melissa, I still get my maid to sterilize all bottles. I know it is not required after babies start to be more mobile and putting things into their mouth, but I am worried my maid will not wash the bottles clean enough, so I rather she do more than less.
For you, if Hannah does not finish the milk in an hour's time, do you still re-heat the milk and let her drink it? Usually I follow very strictly and discard the milk after shortly, a bit wasteful, but I dare not take the risk leh.

smiley, it's ok, no worries, the archive is so huge, impossible to search thru.

so far no side effect leh. in fact for all the other jabs, oso no side effect on kai.

we went to PD.

Melody,
Have you tried feeding chicken instead of pork? Chavez is allergic to pork (at 6months) but ok to fish and chicken. I intend to try pork on him agin later.

Smiley
I brought Chavez for pneumococcal jab at 7months. My PD told me for babies below 12 months, needs 3 jab. His next pneumococcal jab is due now at 9months. Not cheap, it costs me about $100 plus per jab (incl. consultant). reason I decide to bring him for this jab is because he develop ear infections when he was about 2 months - 1 ear after another. Chavez did not develop any fever but found that he was quite 'mang jang' after it. Previous jabs, he was fine.

smiley,

i read tt cleaning the bottles and sterilising the bottles are 2 different matters.

i cant rem exactly what's said, it's something like this: cleaning has to rid the milk 'residue' (??) whereas sterilising is to rid the surface xxx (??).

pardon me for forgetting all the impt words :p

so we shld still clean the bottles thoroughly and not thinking if not cleaned properly, just sterilise it and it'll be v clean alrdy.

my fren who bring her child to polyclinic doesnt seem to be v aware of this pneumococcal vaccine. then i read a magazine tt says this vaccine is not avail in polyclinic. is it true?

ive been sending her article abt the importance of this vaccine.

<font color="0000ff">edksd</font> ohhh, is that right? Hmmm... our maid has this problem of not cleaning the bottles clean enough. [There was this time I even found algae in between the bottle screw cap and the stopper (the Avent bottles for storing the EBM ones)]. I was so mad! We warned her already cannot let us find such a thing happening again. To play safe, my hubby and I thought we have to insist she sterilise the bottles so that even if it is not that clean, at least the germs are killed..
Hmm... think I better go and inspect all the bottles she clean again.

<font color="0000ff">M Goh and edksd</font> The gap between each jab is 2 months? Does that mean that baby needs to complete ALL jabs before considered immuned?

edksd,
I also respect every mommy who practises high hygiene method too. My approach is for her to develop better resistance against the common household germs. So what better way to do it then exposure. Actually in any forum I tend to agree to disagree. B'cos sometimes there's no right or wrong answer to a certain approach. You take what's best and what most suit you.

smiley,
after milk is prepared and hannah can't finish it, i will discard. for that, i won't compromise. bacteria thrives very well in moisture so that one is a no-brainer lah. oh by the way, i clean the bottles and accessories using that Kodomo accessories cleanser. i find it to be very good in removing milk stains.

pneumococcal,
i always see this poster in the clinic i go to. but i will probably wait till Hannah is much older than just give her 1 jab. meanwhile, i minimize taking her out of the house. i might consider giving her the flu and chicken pox jab though. but i think those are available after 12 months.

edksd,
yeah, this jab is not avail. at polyclinic. I remember asking polyclinic cos my PD charges me $180(!) per jab.

Smiley
I think as with all vaccines, got to take ALL jabs before considered immune.

algae?!! I better go and check the bottles NOW.

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Emoments</font></font>, thanks for the bday greetings
u so funny! your poor hub! heehee..

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+1">Buttons</font></font>, my Chloe was also on S26 then Promil and I've never had any chubbiness problem or constipation problem or 'heatiness' problem, in contrast to some people's belief. To me, if Arianne is taking it well so I just continue with it lor. And you know what, the best person to consult about this is probably <font color="ff0000">Phoebe, our Purchasing Director</font>! My advice for u now is to collect as many samples as possible! then just try try la.. whichever Jovann shing shangs, then u invest la. Also, now that Jovann is almost 9 months, you're only left with 3 months to the next stage progress milk. So don't stock up too many tins. If he's going to be on 600ml per day, 1 tin can last about 8-10 days..

If u just do a search on 'frozen foods', 'freezing foods' etc.. u'll see aplenty info, such as:

http://www.fsis.usda.gov/Fact_Sheets/Focus_On_Freezing/index.asp#4

http://www.frozenfoodinfo.com.au/html/s02_article/article_view.asp?id=106&nav_cat_id=141&nav_top_id=59

http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/news_and_events/events_seasonalglut2.shtml

From wholesomebaby.com which most mums from this forum swore by this site:
http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/FreezePage.htm

I didn't say 'freezing won't lose nutrients', I said 'Generally, it doesn't' as in comparison to other methods of preserving foods, like leaving the foods at room temperature or to putting in the fridge compartment itself.

Aiya no 'anality' la.. it's good to clarify!

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Melissa</font></font>, my understanding of discarding milk powder or even your milo within the 4 to 6 weeks after opening, is not so much on the hygiene (if you're handling the tin right). It's more like maintaining the 'freshness' of it. I don't have any scientific supporting info for this but I can imagine the air that's been introducing into the tin once it's open might just lead to 'un-freshing' the milk powder, hence might cause the milk powder to lose its nutrients. This is just my wild imagination, don't know how true la.. But I rather be on the safe side..
I agree on not following strict hygiene, I also 'feed' Arianne germs off the corners of my walls and our parquet flooring and carpet heehee.. BTW she loves eating my dropped hair! uuurgghhh

Eh your choc = engorgement thing does make medical sense to me le.. cos supposedly when eating choc, your body will release endorphins and that might 'excite' you, therefore the engorgement la.. heehee I can imagine how happy some mummies are going to be upon reading this! heh (J@@n?! Peachie?! Are u girls going to chomp down chocs for lunch today to increase ss?? heehee..)

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+1">Smiley</font></font>, pleasure!

<font color="0000ff">Hi Buttons</font>

No lah cos I hardly lie to him.. .usually he can detect my lies immediately mah this time, I sent him the pic thru email and asked him to buy thru email. So more convincing mah hahaha. He knows Im very into photo, mag & contest thingy mah.. .so he thot my effort finally paid off hahaha..

<font color="0000ff">Nepia diapers selling for $14 per pack + 4 free pieces each pack at Motherhood Fair.</font>
Wanted to buy but by the time I went back to the booth, it was all SOLD OUT for the day!! It was soooo popular! So if u want to buy, pls grab first, then leave your purchases at the booth if you don't want to lug them around while u browse other booths.

<font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">Smiley</font></font>, I also took A for pneumoccocal jab. No side effects at all.. She yelled for like 2 seconds while the jab went through and it was all over. I think it's more like us who were frightened of it.. heh..

Also, I think in terms of hygiene practice, I'd think it should depends on individual bbs' system, instead of ONE practise suits all la.. I also do the 2 hours grace for milk, discard after that, xim tia but better be safe than sorry!

However, some bbs tend to fall sick easier, while some immunity systems are stronger. So far my A has not fallen sick at all since birth, not even a hint of flu (only the strange rashes she had but now totally out of sight) and I still take as many precautions as I can, especially if they're scientific! Mambo jumbo aunty tales I can leave without!

To add on to <font color="ff0000">Melissa's</font> practice using the bottle cleansers to wash milk bottles/teats, I also use mainly warm water to wash..

<font color="0000ff">Brenda</font>
Hmm... am considering either to bring her for the jab tomorrow, or to wait till she's 11 months old then take so that she only need to take 2 jabs instead of 3... (I am very scared of needles myself..)
How about Cloe? You also took her for the jab when she was very young?