(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

rena,

my sis suppose to stay for 3 nights for her c-section but ended staying for 4 nights because baby has jaundice. I think for c-section, normally is 3 nights 4 days. normal delivery is 2 nights 3 days.

Rena,
Thanks for informing everyone here!

I'm back with BB Isaac.

Birth Story (19 Dec):

7.30am - Doing laundry and felt trickle of water into panty liner. Check and found pinkish tinge. Ignore it for while and when stnading up, can feel a small gush. Water bag burst liao. Quickly go put on disposable panty and pad and called gynae. Gynae said no need to gan cheong and go down to his clinic at Sun Plaza (which is 5 mins away by car) to do the scheduled CTG.

9am - went to have prata at Thomson. Feel like eating prata.
Beginning to feel slight cramp in lower abdomen. But lasted only 20 seconds and not coming in regular intervals. Didn't think it's contractions.

10am - CTG of BB is good. Dr Ang said since no contractions, can go home and wait. No need to admit first. No chnage in plan to admit at 10pm, if labour does not start, will still be induced.

1pm - Cramps getting worse. Spread a bit to the upper thighs. Begin to time the interval. Pain coming in 15 mins interval. Confirm contractions liao. But surprisingly can tahan. Feel like bad menstrual cramps only. Real labour starts now!

3pm - Trying to sleep but contractions coming intense and fast. Every 5 mins. Quickly grab hospital bag and went back to gynae's clinic. He checked cervix for dilation and admit NOW! Said will definitely deliver before 10pm. Gynae tells nurse to start postponing appoinments.

5pm - admitted to labout ward, strapped on CTG and contractions monitor. Contractions hitting max 100! Buay taha, use the laughing gas which provides comfort but does not take away the pain. Can actually still tahan, so never ask for any other pain relief. Think too late to ask for epidural anyway. Nurse come in and check dilation, says I'm doing very well, 8-9cm dilated! Says will call Dr Ang immediately.

5.30pm - Moaning and groaning. Damn jialat the pain. Every contractions comes with feeling to push (feeling like really need to pass big motion). Keep telling nurse I need to push.

6pm - Dr Ang burst in and said "it's ok, I'm here!" Wah, felt really glad. Tell me to push towards anus as if need to pass motion during constipation when ever contraction starts. At first I think didn't quite push properly lah. Throughout can feel his fingers in my cevix trying to feel for BB's head. That's worst than contractions! Damn uncomfortable coupled with the contractions and pressure in pelvis. He explained that BB head's is high and to use vacuum cup. He injected anaesthetic and did the episiotomy (can feel the cut but not painful) and can feel him pushing the vacuum cup in! Told me vacuum cannot, have to use forceps and told me I have to push very hard cos ultimately BB has to be pushed out by me even told assisted.

18:35pm - So 123 push 123 push, finally got the BB out! Throughout the process I was crying and sweating non-stop. Isaac was crying really loud! I felt really relieved, more because BB is out than because he's crying!

They let me hug BB for a while, and then whisked him away, my HB went with the BB. Left with Dr Ang and me in ward to sew up the stitches. He told me it is a very difficult birth. Said BB head is too high up and pelvis a bit small. Said fortunately that he had scanned and confirmed BB is small enough to go natural delivery. Cos if he is more than 3kg, will have to C-sect. Said he also 'traumatised'. Haha... only get 1 or 2 of my kind of case amongst his 800 or so patients a year. And I was like thinking wah... this fella has 800 over patients a year!

So that's basically my birth story. Very long winded.

Isaac is 2.47kg and 48cm long.
Pictures to come later!

mashybrain - my hubby also fei fei but guess he didnt follow after him. haha..

queen - thks for sharing the story...yeah can't wait for the pics!

hi queen,
congrats!! ur labour seemed to progress really fast and i think it's amazing u went thru it all with hardly any pain relief!! how did u manage? did u use the breathing techniques learnt during antenatal class?

wow for your gynae to say that he's traumatised means must be quite difficult! But difficult in what sense? that baby's head is high up? was your baby's head engaged prior to labour?

meanwhile do take care and thanks for sharing ur birth story!!

Queen,

Your birth is really tough.. you can feel that the doc is cutting and sewing you.. oh man.. how?? I am so worried about my C section.. so scary...

is it true that the camera cannot have flash as it is not good for bb eyes?

Just some info.
Stayed in 1 bedded at TMC. Was glad to take 1 bedded cos hubby can stay very late. Also had lots of visitors. Room is also nice loh, meals also good.

1st night I slept in the hospital gown cos very so tired after delivery and the episiotomy cut was so uncomfortable and bleeding alot. 1st night used the kotex loop pads provided by TMC and their disposable pants. Cannot sleep well as can feel the episiotomy no matter which position I slept in.

2nd day, I changed into my own clothes. Bleeding slowed down, think 1 night safe pad can wear up to 6 hours. Used only about 2 or 3 disposable panties only.

queen - did you pay for extra 63 bucks for your hubby staying over? does TMC provide bathing towel? how much is your total cost? i have also booked TMC for single bedded.

Durianlover,
Yah, I tried some breathing techiniques my friend taught. Whenever feel contractions starts, I'll take in a deep breath (in 2-3-4) from the stomach (can feel stomach expanding) and than exhale slowly 'through my torso', not deliberately through my mouth and nose. Actually, not sure if it works but I keep telling myself that it does and helps me relax through the contractions. But when I'm at the labour ward, heck the breathing lah! I was like 'give me the gas'! Yah loh, I think starting when contractions come regularly at 1pm to birth, only 6 hours of labour.

Gynae says difficult cos BB's head is high up (not engaged I supposed) and pelvis is narrow. He had to used both vacuum and forceps to try to pull the baby out cos my pushing is not doing good at first. At one point, there's blood spurting out everywhere, onto his face and onto the nurses and my hubby. I could even see the blood spurting out! But didn't know what was going on. My hubby said he quite steady lah. Never hesitate when doing things. Very confident of what he's doing. I wouldn't know...

Rena,
Yah loh, can feel the stitching and cutting, but not painful due to the anesthesia. I think for C-sect, if you opt for epidural, will not feel anything at all! So don't worry. I think aftermath of the surgery is the painful part. Be prepared!

SSF,
my hubby did not stay over. 1st night he left at 11 pm cos I told him to go back and have a good rest. 2nd night he left at around 1am.
I think no need to HB to stay lah, unless you scared of sleeping alone. Anyway, at night I put my BB at the nursery cos I really wanted to rest but the nurses will push BB in 2 times a night for Breastfeeding. After that can ask them to bring BB back to nursery. BB is only with me during the day.

My bill after medisave deductions came up to be ~$1100 I think (normal delivery plus assisted).

Hi SY/SSF,

Yep, it was good to go kai kai with HB. Bought stuff at Ikea for the Xmas party. On top of that, look-see other things for Cephas room. Now that my wound has healer, going out is also painless & easier than those days when I had to run around when Cephas had jaundice.

Hi Queen,

Congrats on the birth of BB Isaac! We are all bz popping away
Supposed to be in Jan. So far 3 in Dec already

Congrats Queen...
wow, so envy... no epidural and fast dilation... the price u paid for $1100 sounds reasonable n good for 1 bedded... does it include bb's charges as well???

Hi Queen,
It was very brave of you not to have epidural. Your bb was how many weeks when u popped? My bb also haven't engaged yet and I'm already 36 weeks.. getting a little worried.

Queen

Congrats!!! Wow! You're amazing, actually did it without epidural. Wanna see Issac's photo...When ah? How's breastfeeding for u?

Haha, so it's really you that I saw at the prata shop. I was telling my hb, u looked like 'queen' and coz u posted your photos with hb b4, seems right. Told him that you're probably going to give birth after that meal. hehe.

queen,
haha the way you describe 'blood spurting out' sounds gross!! u mean it spurt to gynae's face as well?! wow din noe wld be so 'powerful'!! heard that gynaes wear boots when they go into delivery suite...maybe that's why...to prevent the blood from spurting onto their nice shoes!
did they give you painkillers for your episiotomy?
and another question - did you walk around during your first stage of labour? (ie. from 1pm onwards) Or did u just lie down in bed?
Hee sorry got so many questions to ask! Actually want to ask you abt breastfeeding, etc etc also. ha

<font color="aa00aa">Congrats, Queen!!!</font>
Wow you seems to be doing very well huh. And you can still response to our msg so quickly? how are you doing with your breast feeding and taking care of Issac? Is he sleeping now? Yeah can't wait to see his pics soon.. Have a good rest and update us when possible!

hi all - just called my gynae abt my pelvis pain. he said to come down tmr for checkup. so bringing fwd my checkup to tmr morning. he said maybe due to muscle strain but as long as aby moving is fine. so will update all again. ok, gg for my wedding dinner soon. catch up tmr!

Queen,
Wow... reading your birth story was like watching an action-packed movie... my heart was actually racing as you described your labour!! That was really amazing and VERY VERY BRAVE of you. CONGRATS &amp; rest well and we're are looking forward to hear from you again soon!!

congrats queen! so brave of you! luckily u were not induced. somehow, feel that induction coz the contractions to come fast and hard but the dilation follows at a slower rate so most mothers who are induced need epidural. I also hope I can go without epidural.

Hi Queen,

Wow!! It's really an amazing birth story! U are really "sart sart" man, no epidural @ all!!! Your story sounded very "exciting" and it makes me feel as if i'm there to "witness" his birth too

Well, pls have a good rest and am looking forward to see BB Issac's photos... =) Congratulations again!!

Congratulations Queen! You are so brave!!!!

Another booster jab to all the mummies here!

The blood spurting part sounds scary! almost faint when reading man!

HI Ladies,
only managed to log in now, my home internet having problem

Queen,
congrats on the birth of Issac... you fanastic can do without epidural!

SSF,
take care, and update us on your visit tomorrow...!

Queen,
congrats!! your birth story sounds very exciting. wow, your labor is really short and fast. 6 hours for first kid is considered short. u r really brave to tahan without epi. but by the time u wanted it, it's too late also right cos u dilated pretty fast....did u do a lot of walking before that to dilate faster?

good to hear that Isaac is doing well...how's your bf?

i always think the after birth is harder than birth itself. must be quite uncomfortable the first night.

how come got a lot of blood spurting ard?

was your bb considered engaged when u delivered?

oh, got another thing to ask. you mentioned that your pelvis is quite small. your size quite petite? just want to have some xin li zhun bei...

SY,
Its a tradition that you cannot repeat characters used by your elders (father, mother, aunts and uncles, etc) as a form of respect for them. Since you and your siblings are your bb's elders, you cannot use characters that are already used in your name and your siblings' names. As for your cousins, well.. it depends on how close you are to them.

Wendy,
so it has nothing to do with bad luck or stuff like that right? my mum din say any reason just say not good to use. but it's a different way of writing. just that it sounds the same.

SY,
Some folks are very particular. Even characters that sound the same are not allowed. They take it showing disrespect for them.

rena
my colleague who did C-section got her binder from her gynae. maybe u can ask your gynae. usually, it's a surgical binder.

mashy
ya, your bb is qt big leh.

Queen
Congrats!!! and thanks for sharing your birth story...it's very exciting and wow, no epi. v brave. your labour was qt short for 1st birth. Hope to hear from you again soon.
take care.

SY,
I heard that bb will share the luck of the elders and the elders will lose luck.

CONGRATS to QUEEN for your brave act! I wonder if I can do that without epdiural or not. As I intend to ask for it once I am in.

I am only 1.58m, am I petite to give birth to a girl which is 3.4kg? (This is the weight of bb during birth estimated by my doc during the last visit)

Queen
congrats!!! haha quite hilarious especially the part Dr Ang popped in and said "I'm here" ha ha ha :p it sure must ahve lighten up the mood....hee hee :p Update ur bb's pictures for us to @@ k. IN the meanwhile take care....

I think pelvic bone size is not entirely dependent on your body size. Some petit women can have big bums too. A good way to judge is by looking at the size of your bum.

Big bum = wide pelvic bone = easier to give birth

That's why in the past, people look at the bride's bum to determine if she is "fertile" or not.

Rena / Rachel / Ivory,
Oh ya.. forgot to mention that GHL does not allow video taking at all times in the delivery room. Only still pictures are allowed after the bb has popped. You can only take videos in your own room.

Hi Wendy
really ah...big bums equals tro wide pelvic bone and easy to give birth? My bums before pregnant already a bit big one ha ha ha :p

I think most hospitals also dun allow u to film all the time right...only when bb is popping out that part if not the rest are quite grossy isn't it??

Good morning ladies! it's friday! no half day for me but we are having christmas lunch from 11.30pm to 2pm.

actually, I am not very sure about the big bum equals to big pelvic. one of my colleagues also have big bum but ended up in c-section because her pelvic too small for her baby. it depends on the baby size as well.

wendy, I asked my gynae about filming at GHL and he says no problem. ask the staff to give him a call if we have problems. one of my colleagues filmed his wife delivery from the side when the baby slide out after a gush of water spurt out. it's really nothing R-rated. it depends on the angle they film. She was staying in raffles hos.

mongs,
how about C section? can take pictures of filming?

I am very sick today.. Down with flu and sore throat...

Very sad as tonight have christmas dinner... so cannot enjoy..

I am quite worried tha tif I dun recover by next week, can I still go for my C section?

Morning all...

Rena : take good care wor.. take vitamin C and warm honey water...

Yipee!!! me on half day today, then going xmas lunch wf colleagues... aft tat going buy stroller for Baby Celeste wf HB at Robinsons...

Update on Baby Celeste : went gynae yest and WOW! she weighs at 2.615 kg now at week 36.. doc says shes quite BIG..haha
b going weekly visit from next week..

baby Celeste gave me a BIG scare tis morning when she did not move for an hour! i tried ways n means and was so so worried... i prayed, i bathed then she started shifting..whew... it was such a relief... oh man, the panic attacks are coming, like what Yuki mentioned before...

gd morning ladies!
am on leave today
wow if big bum = wide pelvic bone then i'm a little worried. Gynae also said my pelvic bone quite small. Anyway baby also not too big so shd be ok to fit thru lah.

rena,
oh so poor thing...are u gonna see a doctor for ur flu n sore throat? Hmm will it affect your C-section if u're not well? Thought it shouldn't affect but i'm not sure. Take care!

Rena,

Better rest well, drink lots of water and try to take some Vit. C... when I went to buy my rasberry tea from nature's farm, the sales lady told me that one of her friends took a lot of Vit. C to help her through her delivery without pain relief. Anyways, the vit. C will help boost your immunity!

If you have flu, you may not be able to go for GA, but epidural should still be ok.

I don't think you will be allowed to film a C section except maybe from the top, also, cos its surgery, it might put you off to see your abdomen being cut and the manipulation..also I think even if your hubby is with you they are only allowed to watch from the top (the surgical field has to be kept sterile so he may not be able to stand so close to take a good video) but you better double check with your doc to see if he will let you film the part when the baby comes out...

Re: filming
i think it's not allowed really, unless u can manage to do it discreetly without the hospital staff being aware! Esp for C-section...confirmed not allowed one! Already for normal delivery most hospitals don't allow it. But still photos after baby is born shd be ok

SY,

My baby's chinese name is a combination of my mom's and my MIL's name... luckily they are quite modern, they weren't offended but flattered instead... I think its becos if you end up calling your child by your senior's name and u scold your child, it sound like you are scolding your senior with the same name?!

It doesn't matter how big you are. Big is not equal to big pelvic nor small means small pelvic. My friend who's petite, gave birth to a 4kg boy naturally! And big butt also not equal big pelvic, also have to see cross section.

rena,
my fren was also down with bad flu 2 weeks before her c-section. better check with gynae on whether u can still proceed. she was slightly better just before her c-section but still got a bit of flu. do see a doc and drink more water and rest lots.

re fliming
think it depends on hosp right? but most allow once u r out of the delivery suite i guess...

tabbiesus,
my mum never use to say anything until my auntie told her not very good. she very funny one lah...believe some things, dun believe in others.... but your mum and MIL so cute.

May,
i also dunno whether that is the reason. maybe will sound my mum out and see whether my dad will be unhappy abt it.

etelle
i think it also depends on the flexibility of your pelvic bones. some small size pple have flexible pelvic bones so they can also give birth to big babies without going thru c-section. but i wonder how we know whether our bones are flexible...

god's child,
sometimes my bb dun move for 3 hours or so and i get paranoid too...but after telling him we will go see doc if he doesn't move, he will move super hard and a lot....