(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

It's Friday, and close to X'mas!

Rena,
take care, and drink lots of water, I was on MC yesterday and today, also flu... but today feel better liao. Rest as much as you can

cel cel
which pram are u getting? I just saw from the Robinsons brochure that they're having sale for one of the Aprica prams at $400+ next Mon and Tues. Their sale is on 26 &27th.

Rena
ya, take care to get ready for your big day next week.

krissie

im getting a Graco one which is only bout $269 (company budget for baby gift )
Aprica will be too over the budget already... Thanks for the info anyway
kao_smile2.gif

SY

bb sometimes do'shock' us hor... haiz... reali cant wait for her to be out and stop worrying bout wats going on inside... not only me get panic attacks, my HB also start to ask me this n tat, if the placenta is ok, the cord is long enough...

cel_cel, SY,

My baby is like that too.. will move like crazy for awhile, then 3 hours of nothing...and then she'll move again. I think she is getting into a sleep-wake cycle already.. when i panic, I feel so bad for waking her up... :p

god's child, tabbiesus,
yah, same here...will keep patting him until i sense movement...so bad hor...next time when they are out, we will wish that they sleep longer and more!!

i realise my bb likes to sit car. everytime he doesn't move for some time, once i get into the car, he will move....

SY,
My bb also move alot whenever I sit in hb's car. Think she got daddy's genes.. likes cars.. Or maybe she doesn't like the safety belt tightening around her..

Videofilming:
It was the hospital staff who told me cannot video in the labour ward. Can only video in your own room. If you really want to video, I guess you can bring along and try see if they allow. At most tell them you taking pictures with the video cam. Kekeke.

Rena,
For faster recovery, you may want go see a GP and take some Chlorphenylamine (Piriton) and antibiotics. Its supposed to be harmless to baby and the GP prescribed it to me during my 1st trimester when I was down with flu. In any case, you better inform your gynae and see what he says as it is not advisible to give birth while you are sick. Taking warm honey lemon will help too. Please take care.

Update on Cord life :

just called them to make appt, apparently they gona increase their price come 1 jan from $1200 to $1400, so mummies who wana store the cord blood, act quick!!!

and also for those delivering in TMC, when u apply for the FBI card now, Citibank is offering a discount at $98 oni, instead of $168 ( for 28wks preggie n above )... this card gives a $80 (2 bedded) and $100 (1 bedded) off delivery bill. Gynae involved in FBI programme gets to have 5% off delivery charges and PD visits at 10%. Oh yes, most imptly, with the FBI, you get to have $50 discount off your annual cord blood storage fee for 9 years...

I had initially wanted to store cord blood but after discussing with my husband, we decided not to because we forsee that 30 years from now, DNA theft is going to be one of the major crime issues. Storing cord blood is one convenient way for others to steal your DNA, be it for research or for crime.

Well, nothing is impossible. Less than 50 years ago, people felt it was impossible to carry a pocket sized telephone around. Less than 50 years ago, it was impossible to clone anything.

Just our views on the future.

like wat was mentioned before, Cord life has accredition...and yest when i ask gynae, he says most gynaes and even he himself stores wf Cordlife, so we just decided to go wf his views...

my hubby and me are also discussing whether to store bb's cord blood, but there are few grey areas and qns that we are looking at:
1) Being a P/L company, what will happen to the Cord blood if the company folds up? Will we pay for nothing in the end?
2) Does the company have any real life cases which are proven success using the cord blood which they have stored?
3) How does the company ensure that they store the cord blood effectively, and what happens if after 20 years, it is not suitable for usage because of incorrect or careless handling?

So we are still evaluating whether to do it or not...

thanks for the advise. I will be seeing a GP .. I am so worried that I am not recover fast . Especially when I am down with flu, it will take me two weeks to recover ..

Hi all mummies!!!
its going to be xmas soon! wishing all mummies n babies a very very merry xmas!!! have a wonderful weekend n hoilday!!

To all mummies who have not pop- enjoy the wonderful food n celebration before the final Big Day comes to meet face to face with your little darlings!!

To all mummies n their little darlings- fully enjoy the very first xmas you mummies are going to spend w your little ones!

Hi Rachel,

Ha Ha! My intended message is exactly like yours! So i shall not repeat it again.

Wishing all a Merry Merry Christmas! Ho Ho Ho

hi mummies...went and visit my gynae in the morning abt my pelvis pain and he said uterus is OK and most likely its my ligament tat was stretched. asked me to rest more, walk less and it will take some time to recover. he also prescribe some painkiller for me. so at least now i know that baby is fine and not my pelvis that is small. will monitor for another week and see how. he also confirm baby is not engaged yet.

rena - pls take care of yourself and rest more.
enjoy yourself this season with your hubby!

Merry xmas to all and may the spirit of this special season be with you and your love ones!

Would like to share with you some info I found on storage of breast milk and glass bottles. I posted this in answer to someone else's question in another thread.

Research is conflicting about the advantages and disadvantages of storing milk in glass versus plastic. However, glass bottles or containers are best for freezing breast milk because it offers the most protection from contamination. The second choice is clear, hard plastic, and the last choice is the cloudy hard plastic containers. Wait to tighten the caps or lids until the milk is completely frozen.

You may want to take a look at this website for more information.
http://www.womenshealth.gov/Breastfeeding/index.cfm?page=237

I m back. MIA for few days cos I delivered my boy on tues 20 Dec. Just discharged today. Boy boy is still in TMC Special care unit cos he was born underweight. Doc say he is not sucking very well so got to leave him in special care.

Will post some pics later.

Take care everyone! Have a Blessed Christmas!

CONGRATS WENYL!!!
Oh if I'm not wrong think your boy will share the same birth date as Bao Bao's?? Waiting to hear more from you. = )

Had my gynae check up today... Gynae asked if BB is moving n I said yes, did a scan & she said BB's head is low. I asked if BB is engaged yet she say wouldn't be able to tell unless do a vagina scan as estimation by hand may not be accurate... then she said since BB is moving well no need to do CTG n we'll wait for another week. HB & I didn't know what else to ask n it was all over in less than 10mins.... felt abit lost after that coz I was expecting to do the CTG and was even prepared to be told need to induce. After we walked out of the clinic then realised we forgot even to ask what is BB's weight... But i guess since gynae dun see anything wrong with BB, waiting for her to come out naturally would be better than having induction. Oh HB did ask when is the latest BB must be out and gynae says by 7 or 8 Jan. Sooo... we shall wait.

CONGRATS WENYL!
Any experience to share with us?

MERRY X'MAS to all the Soon-To-Be Mummies..next year we will be celebrating with our little darlings! Let's look forward to it together! May God Bless all of us to have a smooth delivery and a healthy baby!!!

Wow! So many posting to read. (read until until my eyes rolling liao) My Server broke down the last 2 days. Wish all mummies A Happy & Blessed Christmas.

Queen - Congrats. Thanks for sharing your birth story. You are a brave mummy

Wenyl - Congrats to you on the arrival of your baby boy

MERRY Christmas to all the mommies here... I wonder if anyone will pop over Christmas!!

Wenyl,
Congratulations.... hope your baby will be able to go home with you soon...

Wendy,
I tried your oreo cheesecake recipe, its very easy to make and tastes great!! Thanks!! I think i have a big sweet tooth now, so i put in extra oreos... yummy!!!

wenyl- wah congratulation!!!! i thought u suppose to be due on 18th Jan...which is after me lei 15th Jan and now ya pop out already. hehee..

gee cannot wait to hear your birth story. and yes pictures please

<font color="ff6000"><font size="+2">Congrats Wenyl!!!</font></font>

yes all mummies,
really can wait for all ur little ones pics.. will defnitely make us happier and more gan cheong.

Dear Mummies
Wishing all a blessed Christmas to you and your little ones.
May God's peace, love and joy be with you all always.

cel cel
are u getting the Graco Citsport? We shortlisted that earlier, but it's a bit heavy for me.

Wendy
thanks for the card.

dear mummies,
Blessed Christmas to all!!

wenyl,
congrats! Do share more with us on your birth story and your baby's progress when you've the time yah!

clare,
well i guess u can just wait for ur baby to arrive naturally then! Since gynae never said anything's wrong with baby, then just wait lor
i think it's better than induction too, coz induction tends to cause the contractions to be more painful! Enjoy the food while u can!

Hi Wenyl,

Congrats to the birth of your baby boy! Do take care &amp; rest well

Have a jolly X'mas! Enjoy yourselves! I am preparing for my party as I type this message. Have a Blessed &amp; Happy 2006! Just opened all of Cephas Xmas presents. Too many under the tree and no more space to put them. So decided to open and keep the clothes, shoes, toys, etc.

351054.jpg

Merry Xmas Rae/Isaac &amp; Wenyl's baby!

Wenyl,
Congrats!! Hope your bb can come out from special unit soon. Do share more with us when u r more well rested and settled down.

Merry xmas to all!! For mummies who have popped, it will be the first xmas with baby...special
for mummies (including me) still waiting to pop, hee, last xmas before bb comes..

Merry Christmas to all!

Thanks for all the congrats!
And congrats to prettycloud and Wenyl for the arrival of their BBs! So I'm actually the 4th one amongst us!

Mashy brainz,
What a coincidence! We actually having prata at the same shop on 19th?

god's child,
My bill of ~$1100 (after deduction) includes BB's fee.

durianlover,
I was given painkillers for the episiotomy though I didn't think it did much good cos the feeling is not really sharp pain but a persistent feeling of pressing on a bad bruise.
I could still walk around in the house during first stage of labour (which should be when contractions come in regular intervals).

SY,
I'm quite an sporty person pre-preggy and my job as an engineer requires me to walk around the production plant quite a bit. I can be on my feet for 2-3 hours stretch to the day I'm on leave. But not sure if this is the cause of the quick dilation or not.
I dunno why there's a lot of blood spurting out leh. Just that I could see it spurt onto my gynae's face and also the nurses. My gynae actually apologised to them for that! But don't think the blood spurting is due to the episiotomy.
My BB is not engaged.

Re. epidural
From the start, I want to try going without. The main reason is that I really wanted to be able to feel the process of labour, pushing etc.
But I think my gynae 'helped' in a way. I had thought of going to TMC immediately after water bag burst. He was the one who told me to wait at home, saying that even if I go TMC, it would just be hours of waiting. So I guess by staying at home, there's no temptation to take any pain relief. And I really made the effort to do deep breathing to get through the contractions. Another thing is, I'm quite lucky that the dilation came very fast after contractions became regular such that I just 'ride' along with the pain. But now having gone through the process, I'm not sure if I want to repeat it for my next birth cos that my gynae has warned me that it will not be easy especially if my next BB is 3kg and above. It's tough, this delivery. I even burst a vein in my right eye due to over exertion during pushing. Got bleeding in my eye now but doctor said it'll fade by itself after a while.

Re. BF
Did not have much milk during the first 2 to 3 days. Even though Bb is brought in for BF every 3 to 4 hours, it is more for encouraging lactation and to supply colostrum to the BB. I decided to go TBF even though Isaac is a little small. So for the first 2 days, he is basically just relying on his own reserves. Fortunately milk started to flow on the 3rd day and engorgement sets in. Quite uncomfortable. I tried to express (but not much comes out) in between feeds and use warm towel to soothe the engorgement. My massage lady also helped to unblock the milk ducts. Now milk flow is pretty much established. I can express about 70 mils now using the manual pump.

Taking care of Isaac was tough at night. He's been waking up at 2 to 3 hours interval for feeding and sometimes will refuse to sleep immediately after feed.

Today Isaac was found to have too high level of jaundice (had his blood tested at polyclinic, didn't go to a pediatrician) and had to be admitted for phototherapy. I opted to go to KK instead of back to TMC. Feels so sad to have BB admitted to hospital, even though jaundice is common in BBs

Mummies who have given birth,
How's your episiotomy wound?

Wendyl
CONGRATS!!! Wow, what an early birth. Merry Christmas too. Take care and update us again.

Queen
Wah, didn't know that your case was so serious. still burst a vein in the eye. ya loh, that's how noble mummies are.. *pat pat on your back*. Dun be sad, bb will be back with you once his jaundice level is ok.

Queen
isaac is so adorable...hee hee never let him wear the mittens ah....?? He be fine with professional care no worries k

Etelle,
The mittens are a bit big for him. So always fall off. And he can be so mang zhang when he wakes up, struggle in the blanket and the mittens will come off. In the end, we cut his nails so that he wouldn't scratch himself.

edd2jan,
He's 2.47kg when born.

krissie,
I'm supposed to have the same EDD as you...
how are you felling? Must be very excited! I'm also quite eager to hear all the coming birth stories.

I think the bursting of vein could be due to me shutting my eyes very tight when pushing. Could also be because initially I'm not pushing correctly. Initially I was pushing towards my throat instead down to my anus. That will exert a lot of pressure in the face.

So mummies to be, remember to push correctly. Push DOWN into the anus.

Merry Christmas!

Queen,
congrats on the birth of Issac! He is so adorable! Take good care of your eye..

This thread is getting exciting, can't wait to see who will pop next...

Clare,
hang in there, your gal gal probably still enjoying her time in your tummy

It's a quiet Christmas for me, just attended midnight mass yesterday and dinner with the aunties and Uncles-in-laws tonight...sigh...I'm getting a little crazy staying at home today... feeling super man zhang and cannot settle down... went for gynae visit yesterday, bb head is in the correct position for delivery, hope she doesn't move around, but my gynae thinks she will come out only in January... not early... think I am growing impatient...

Have a Good Weekend all!

Re. Pelvic bone size
I always thought I have big bum, not like it's extremely wide, but definitely fleshy. So how come my pelvic bone is narrow? So maybe not related to bum size?

Rena,
My HB stayed until 1 am on 2nd night. Actually, we quite sneaky lah, thought can get away with not having to pay. But when the nurse brought the BB in for BF at 12 plus, she saw my HB sleeping on the couch and asked whether he's staying over. So we decided that HB should leave loh. Anyway he complained that the sofa bed not comfortable also. I don't think they will ask HB to leave lah. If they still see HB around after midnight, they'll probably just check and ask whether he wants to room in. Take it as a subtle hint loh.

Queen,
Think its the width, not the protrusion that counts. If your pelvic bone is wide, you'll naturally have a wide bum, ie, big bum. Fleshy bums are sexy but not necessarily wide. But a wide and fleshy bum is definitely BIG.