(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Wendy,
actually quite conflicting right? some say cannot walk too much also...think will ask gynae again. the last time he told me not to walk too long, stand too long or remain in same position too long for my backache.

hee, i know if i go shopping without aim, i will be very tempted to buy one....when i shop with aim, i always can't find anything. but it's the opp when i shop without aim...

Mongs,
She told me the package will be automatically upgraded (ie, assisted delivery, epidural, etc). If ur labour last more than 10 hours and require emergency caeserean or any other emergency, then you have to pay additional based on normal hospital charges.

SY,
Its true u shouldn't walk too much thats why walk only about 20min a day as exercise ma. Anything in excess is not good ma. Whatever pains u have, better clarify with your gynae to put your mind at ease. That's what we pay them so much for isn't it? We all want peace of mind and someone to trust in for our pregnancy.

Wendy,
yup yup i agree.

hi mummies...today went and cut my hair coz tmr got wedding dinner..and gee i was really limping my way to the salon. but no choice have to cut coz very messy. aiyo still pain lei my pelvis..not sure how to go to wedding dinner tmr. haiz...3 days already and still so painful. not sure when this pelvis thing is gg to end.

SSF,
Do you sit alot and walk around very little? Sounds like your pelvic bone is quite weak. If you're near term, better be careful. Ask your gynae to prescribe you some calcium tablets so that you don't get post-natal osteoporosis. If not near term yet, better start doing daily exerciese like SY to strengthen your muscles.

wendy - in office i do sit down a lot..but after work,..i do walk alot.. in fact i was shopping my way over the weekend. yeah i think my pelvic bone is quite weak. i am still taking the calcium pills and milk as well. i dun think i can do any exercise not walk too much now. hopefully the pain will go off my this weekend or not my next gynae visit is next tues

SY
ic... so take this time n rest at home before go back to work in Jan. exercise your muscles too. for me if i not tired will get on all four n exercise my back muscle coz my back been the one giving me problem. so far pelvis still ok, not painful. only when getting up to pee my two side of tummu will be painful.

SSF,
My gynae asked me not to take the calcium and iron pills with milk leh. If u take milk in the morning, then take the pills at night and vice versa. Think got some chemical reactions and absorption problem if you take milk together with them.

SSF,
yup, agree with Wendy. dun take together with milk.

rachel,
yup, think will take the time to finish up whatever i need to finish. but think still got to do some work from home. so many pple on leave during this period....

SY - i told my gynae abt it but he didnt check for me and i also didnt ask. tat day the pain was still bearable. ya trying not to take together..so when i eat milk and cornflakes..i take the calcium pill in the noon.

today i tried driving..but seems that i need more bed rest and walk less.

SSF,
sometimes when i tell my gynae abt the pain, he will tell me to expect more pain. guess as long as when they scan everything ok, they won't really check?

better dun drive in this state. can be quite dangerous for you. do try to rest more.

Hi Mommies!
I'm new here. 4 mths pregnant, very nervous!

I've been borrowing pregnancy books to read, and I read that we will be given enema before giving birth. Is this true and the procedure is it painful?

Thanks a lot!

Hi Berlinda,
congrats! Dun think enema is painful...it just helps to clear bowels right?

MH,
why is enema disgusting??

SSF & SY,
do take care of ur pain. i think what you all say abt gynae quite true...they don't really 'care' if u complain of pain as long as it's not premature contraction pain. They'll say it's part n parcel of pregnancy. Think to them as long as baby's fine n growing well, they will say it's all ok

i just came back from gynae's visit. Put on 0.8kg since 2 wks ago!! Wow! Total weight gain is 6kg+ as of now. And at almost 35wks baby is 2.1kg+. Last time gynae measured a bit inaccurately that's why seems like baby didn't put on weight. But he said it's coz he didn't do an accurate estimate that's why. Am a bit relieved that baby isn't so huge. Gynae says my baby shd be at least 2.5kg upon birth at full-term...which is gd coz easy to deliver
And baby's head is engaged already! No wonder i hv to wake up 3 or 4 times each night to pee.

Enema is to clear your poo poo b4 u deliver so that u don't make a big mess while pushing.

Dunno whether painful or not, but it shouldn't be as painful as contractions. And, it's either u poo in the loo, or u poo while giving birth. I think it's kind of embarrassing when u poo while pushing.

durianlover - gee you engaged so early at 35 wks. i am already beginning my 36 wks and havent engaged yet. but i am suspecting baby is trying to engage as i am having pelvis pain already.
so did the gynae said when you be due?

enema: so this thing is to help us clear our poo before we give birth la. but does it oso help to soften our poo so we can easily release?? cos since preggie my poo has been hard n everytime go big business is always uncomfortable

2 of my colleagues poo during pushing. it's really embarrassing but they both did it without epidural and they don't care about the mess because the pain was really their main concern. I think they went into the hos a bit late and wasn't given the chance to take enema, which is also why they didn't take epidural because they were in so much pain that they can't be still to take epidural.

just wondering if there are charges to this enema? also i was thinking it be embarrassed if we were to let off gas while pushing? :p

Hi Berlinda,

enema is usually given if you are still in early labour. I've seen baby's being delivered when mummies come to the labour ward too late for enema and not so nice cos as the baby comes out... sometimes land in poo!

Enema should not be painful, its just a laxative... maybe like tummy ache, but if in labour already, may not feel the difference?

I think i'd rather take the enema and poo before bb comes out. Don't want bb to be full of my poo when born..

Tabbi,
Its one of the easiest cheesecake recipes cuz you don't have to bake it. There are also sour cream variations but I like this one so far. Let me know what you think of the recipe after you've tried it. Give me your comments

SSF,
hmm dun think there're charges to enema...or perhaps even if there are, it won't be too ex. Hmm let off gas ah...yah embarrassing but no choice right?

i was also surprised that baby's head is engaged already..i mean i didn't suspect it other than the fact that i've gotta pee more frequently now. But i'm glad lah, means that can give birth soon (hopefully)! heh. i hope to deliver earlier (of course not too early - mabbe 37wks or so) coz am feeling really uncomfortable with such a huge tummy!

mongs,
oops poo during delivery? oh my isn't that messy n embarrassing? i've been wondering what if i pee during delivery too...

tabbiesus,
nothing to envy abt my weight gain lah. Gynae also said coz i'm small-sized, so naturally won't put on a lot of weight. Anyway we'll prob lose the weight after delivery, so no worries!

wendy,

I like your receipe, I've tried the sour cream versions before but I find it too soft, i like the firmer richer kind of cheesecake...

I think i will make it tomorrow cos I have a christmas eve party, it'll make a nice dessert.. will it get too dry if I make it 1 day in advance?

durianlover - yeah with the pain i am now in, i wish i can deliver asap coz i can barely walk already and havent really gain much wgt. only 13kg so far and i have always been at a slim side.

hehe.. i think when we are in labour.. we won't have much time to worry about the embarrassing things.... prob will be too focused on pushing baby out!!

Hi tabbi,
I'm not too sure abt that cuz my cheesecake finishes the night I make it. Never had the chance to keep it overnight before. But, I suppose you can cover up the tin with the cake inside with cling wrap or aluminium foil to prevent it from drying up. If u want the cheesecake to be firmer, can add abit more cheese.

OOPS.. just realised I got a typo in my recipe. Sorry mummies, should read 380g cheese (1 1/2 block is correct though).

Also, if u like the cake to have a stronger flavour, can add more vanilla essense. If u like a stronger cheesy smell, put less vanilla essense.

just wondering...if we are in the sitting down position during delivery, u mean it's possible for the poo to come out? Thot our anus will be blocked coz we're sitting down...

SSF,
yah your pain sounds bad...well can only comfort urself by telling urself that it's the last lap already! just a few more wks to go

durianlover

i think we will be at a 45 degree position... even if poo rite, i dun think will stain bb cos the gynae will be down 'there' to guard bb when bb starts lightening and makes theor grand entrance... bb will land up in gynae's hands instead...

tabbie,

tis a firmer kinda cheesecake but it requires baking though... but it tastes reali rich n nice, not soft or creamy... add more lemon juice if u want it to be stronger...i always add kiwi onto it before serving..looks pretty n good...

Cheese Cake

Crumb crust:
1 1/2 cups (5-ounces) finely ground graham/digestive crackers or cookies such as
chocolate or vanilla wafers or gingersnaps
5 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted plus butter to grease springform pan
1/3 cup sugar
1/8 teaspoon salt

Filling:
1 pounds cream cheese
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon lemon juice
2 eggs

For the crust, stir together crust ingredients and press onto bottom an 1-inch up side of a buttered 24-centemeter spring form pan. Fill immediately or chill up to 2 hours. Preheat oven to 325 degrees. For the filling, use your mixers lowest speed. Using a paddle attachment, if your mixer has one, beat the cream cheese smooth, no more than 30 seconds. Stop the mixer and scrape the bowl and beater (or paddle.) Add the sugar in a stream, mixing for no more than 30 seconds. Stop and scrape. Add the vanilla, lemon juice, and 1 egg; mix only until absorbed, no more than 30 seconds. Stop and scrape after each addition. Wrap aluminum foil around the bottom of the spring form pan so it comes at least 1-inch up the sides. Pour the filling into the pan over the crust. Place the pan in a jelly-roll or roasting pan and pour warm water into the pan to a depth of 1/2-inch. Bake cheesecake for about 60 minutes, or until lightly colored and firm except for the very center. Remove from the pan of hot water. Remove the foil and cool completely on a rack. Wrap the cheesecake in plastic or foil and chill overnight before unmoulding.

mummies:

enema: they pump the liquid up the anus and it will cause u to go poo...even if u have it before u deliver, it does not guarantee that u will not poo when u push (if there is a long time gap)....

http://www.childbirthrevolutions.com/prep.html
http://www.motherfriendly.org/MFCI/references/6/#Abs3

of course, some mummies will still prefer to be 'clean' when giving birth. But for myself, I feel that it is a bit degrading and intrusive. I would only have it if there is a medical need.

I went to the bank to do the baby bonus thingy today. One thing led to another
. I went to Ikea to pick some stuff cos having a X'mas party at my hse this Sat. Aft that, I went to Centrepoint to pick up my halter-neck from Marton Bell. I will try to wear it this Sat although it was meant for the pregnant me. Not now pregnant, it's really loose on the tummy area. Aft that, went Cold storage to buy ham & chocs for my party. Wow, I am still shopping during my confinement. So notti huh?!

Today went to see my gynae.. baby breech position and he mention that the chances of bb turing back is samll and it may be due to the cord preventing him to turn. so have fixed the date for C section.. 31 December..

now I feel more stress..

sysac,
u really good leh..still shopping during confinement. but it must feel good to be able to go out to walk for a while...

Rena,
that's very soon. you can see your darling soon! dun be stressed. u have most of your things already so try to relax to look forward to birth of bb. in fact, my fren just told me she can't thikn of going thru natural birth after her c-section cos it was so quick and easy!

re: enema,
i guess i rather have it also so won't make too much of a mess. hee, wan my bb to come out clean clean looking.

today went for my checkup. bb is now at about 2kg at 34 weeks+. gynae said my amniotic fluid is a bit on the low side. normal is 6 and i m at 5.8. anyone able to share what's the reason for it being low? i asked him what to do and he told me to just eat normal. but if drop below 5, need to be induced. so got to fatten bb up quick in case it happens

Rena
dun be stressed. at least, u can prep for the big day. Rem to get the tummy binder if you're going for the C-section.

SY
yes, rest and eat well. think that will fatten bb.

SFF & Durian Lover,
I am 36wks too but baby have not engaged. Occassionally do have pelvic pain. My doc say baby is abit too big.. she will be 3.5kg when she is born. So scared to eat much lately cos I hope I can thru normal delivery rather than c-section. I have already put on 17kg... =P

Rena,
Why choose 31 Dec? 1st Jan will be more memorable isn't it??

Wendy,

i did my pre-admission on monday and the lady told me and my hubby...just produce any reciept from Dr's clinic. Even during hospital tour, the lady also told us the same thing. Any reciept, any amount will do..

As for the seperate billing thing, i am quite blur about it also. Cause during hospital tour, the lady told us that seperate billing will only occur when PD admits baby for jaundice etc... But the lady at the counter told us that she will arrange for seperate billing as to claim another $600 more for neo-natal. *blur*

May,

As 1 jan is a holiday and if choose this day I will have to pay addtional for doctor's fee. Actually I wanted it to be 27 or 28 dec but when we suggested 31 dec doc was a little reluctan as he want 3 jan..

How ever as a parent i was worried coz I could not see what is happening inside and worried that if he turn down and try to come out naturally will the cord stop him from coming out.

My hubby suggested the doc to do turing for me so that the bb can turn down but he rejected saying that the bb turn up and down for reasons as the cord may be too short for him. and he has a case in London that when they tried to turn the bb down , the cord was too tight and bb could not make it.. so I was more worried..

Wendy,
Do you know when we have c section, is the cost of edpidural inculded.. ? I ask the nurse at the clinic they mention that it is but when I went back home to read on the package.. it seems that we have to pay..

I was until yesterday I realise that If you want to choose the date for bb birth, than you will need to pay extra 1000 dollars..Wah.. so expensive..

how are you all this morning... I went to hanabi yesterday for buffet dinner and was so depressed seeing all the sashimi... and cannot eat...

Cel Cel,
Thanks for the advice and the recipe... maybe I'll try making both... So greedy!! :D