(2004/09) Year End (Sep - Dec) 2004 Mothers-to-be

SLK, angelia, glad you both enjoyed your classes, hubby and me also enjoyed our classes very much!

Jen, if your digestive system not working well yet, then dun take dumplings, its too oily and rich, not easily digestible too.

Durian season ia here, over the weekend, hubby and me went to the durian place at chinatown (next to CK) and had some lovely durians- yum yum! durain lovers, check out that place soon!

<font color="ff6000">jen</font>
wah .. at least ur hubby is interested in gg
my hubby say, "need to go meh?"

i may not attend any class at all ...

does anyone here took obimin (maybe i spelt incorrectly) b4? was told it will aggravate MS and dr advise me to take only when my nausea subsided....

but then my MS is on and off so i am at a loss as to when i should start taking as i am only having my folic acid currently. no other vitamins yet. at which wk should i start to take them?

hi dolphina

i started off taking obimin from the day i cfm my pg. + folic as well. Obimin is a muti-vits..but i do heard some preggies say tat after taking got consipation but not sure abt effect on nausea. Since dr advise u to take after ur nausea subside then mayb u sld follow his instructins.

Jen (jenjen)
i am so envious.....i am also 4 plus mth pregnant, but hor at my 2nd-3rd mth, my pants are totally out liao

anyone will use normal cloth nappy, disposable or velcro nappy? i got all of them, but i dunno what to use

thanks guess jan,

does that means that your MS is not worsen after taking them? did you take it together with your folic acid in the morning or should i take it at nite so that it will not aggravate my MS.

Sorry for the many questions

<font color="ff6000">mngo</font>
u can use normal cloth nappy during the day
u can use tt velcro nappy (hopefully its the same kind im tinking of) to secure the cloth one instead of using pin to secure
at night u can use disaposable instead

<font color="aa00aa">jen,</font>
only got 1 EDD in Jan, &amp; wk is 13 only mah. anyway, i only data collection, din do data analysis lah.

will try &amp; do an update after this

u call the hospital to tell them u wanna enrol in the pre-natal class, they'll let u know when to start. if going for TMC, rem to ask for Mrs Wong's class

and the gum bleeding, it's common in pregnant women.

<font color="aa00aa">rochelle,</font>
i mean, for those who dun/can't take milk, can take soyabean

<font color="aa00aa">slk,</font>
hmm.. i rem the green top, but can't remember the face

ya, ya.. rem the "nice back" comment, but din take a good look at the face too, cos too buzy trying to get the posture right *hiaz*

so, i'm juz next next to u during the exercise section, hmmm....

<font color="aa00aa">chihiro,</font>
wow, u saved tonnes of $$

<font color="aa00aa">kypf,</font>
hahaha.. i din know i din consume enuff calcium.. it's Mrs Wong (antenatal class instructor) who said i din consume enuff

but hor, think i din consume enuff oso lah. cos i only drink 1 glass of milk in the morning, then not much calcium intake after that.

my gynae din give me calcium pills, only prenat-vit which he says hv enuff calcium alr, but i dunn what's the content lor.

<font color="aa00aa">berry,</font>
i thot durian season here for few wks alr? now like not many liao.

last wkend i bought 1 for $7, not good one. not going to patronise that stall anymore

<font color="aa00aa">mngo,</font>
i wanna get nappies, but dunno which brand is good

111065.jpg

<font face="courier new"> <font color="0000ff">as @ wk 28-Jun
.. .. .. .. .. . EDD .. . Week

aurora ......... 08/09/04 wk 29
cubbiebb ....... 12/09/04 wk 30 MAH / B
expecting_mum .. 12/09/04 wk 30 TMC / B
lilo ........... 20/09/04 wk 28 TMC / G
mom ............ 20/09/04 wk 28 MAH / B
little_devil ... 21/09/04 wk 28 MAH / B
berry .......... 22/09/04 wk 28 TMC / G
bebechic ....... 26/09/04 wk 27 MAH / G
ww ............. 29/09/04 wk 27 KKH / ??
pets ........... 03/10/04 wk 26 TMC / G
angelia ........ 04/10/04 wk 26 TMC / G
SLK ............ 08/10/04 wk 25 GEH / B
yingzi ......... 10/10/04 wk 25 MAH / G
heather ........ 10/10/04 wk 25 GEH / B
blisse ......... 11/10/04 wk 25 GEH / G
are ............ 12/10/04 wk 25 MEH / G
mtmtmt ......... 18/10/04 wk 24 ESH / G
dee ............ 22/10/04 wk 23 GEH / ??
micky .......... 23/10/04 wk 23 GEH / B
yeeyee ......... 24/10/04 wk 23
AC ............. 06/11/04 wk 22 GEH / B
cosmo .......... 08/11/04 wk 22
cirtusfruits ... 16/11/04 wk 20
young jes ...... 18/11/04 wk 20 MAH / ??
joyful ......... 20/11/04 wk 20 MAH / B
peg peg ........ 22/11/04 wk 19 MAH / ??
melbb .......... 26/11/04 wk 19
sybil .......... 26/11/04 wk 19
deer ........... 29/11/04 wk 19
chihiro ........ 02/12/04 wk 18 ?? / G
leo29 .......... 02/12/04 wk 18
TBL ............ 02/12/04 wk 18 RH / G
rochelle ....... 02/12/04 wk 18 RH / B
plong .......... 08/12/04 wk 17 KKH / ??
woof ........... 08/12/04 wk 17
kypf ........... 08/12/04 wk 17 GEH / ??
emma ........... 09/12/04 wk 17
jen ............ 09/12/04 wk 17
chantelle ...... 12/12/04 wk 17
guess .......... 12/12/04 wk 17 MEH / ??
mngo ........... 12/12/04 wk 17 MAH / ??
melody ......... 20/12/04 wk 15
wendypooh ...... 22/12/04 wk 15 GEH / ??
oranges ........ 22/12/04 wk 15 TMC / ??
jov ............ 05/01/05 wk 13

<font color="ff0000">GEH - GlenE, MAH - Mt A; MEH - Mt E; ESH - East Shore; RH - Raffles</font>
<font color="119911">remind me if I left u out or get ur date wrong</font>

</font></font>

angelia, maybe i blurr... :p paiseh...

mngo, why envious? i tot tummy bigger better? i quite worry bb not enough nutrition...

chihiro/angelia, re: classes at TMC, will dr adrian have the schedule? or advice when i should start? btw, how much do the classes cost huh?

Re: Durian, this is one fruit I can take... haha... I "complain" to my grandma that hubby dun want to buy too much for me to eat... my grandma then tell him must buy... haha...
other fruits will aggravate my gastric churning and sometimes lead to puke...

we gotta call up &amp; check ourselves. Dr Adrian dun co-ordinate that.

call ParentCraft (Angeline) at 6251 4090 to check the schedule.
http://www.thomsonmedical.com/PS_ante.htm

she'll advise u on the date to start (which might change after she check with Mrs Wong again

btw, the start date at the site above is the start of 1st lesson, but they can arrange u to start from 2nd/3rd/4th/5th lesson onwards, then go back to 1. e.g 3rd, 4th, 5th, 6th, 1st, 2nd.
not die die oso muz start at 1st lesson.

jen
i did apply lei, though it was only lately that those ugly marks start to appear then i more 'qin lao' lor. earlier, i only apply as and when i feel like it, should slap myself for that ***

berry
u dun make me drool lei, i cannot take durian coz of my gestational diabetes. sigh

chihiro
i dun dare to sign up for the antenatal course, coz my hubby always flying ard, somemore glen E class onli on weekdays and start at 6pm..me only knock off at 6pm.

anyone knows of classes that has weekend ones?

chihiro,
I do look into my full length mirror almost every day too, cos I can't see my stomach underneath and need a mirror to see if those ugly marks is out. Thank God...so far so gd...heee...but will still dutifully apply my stretchmark cream.

It's true tat pregnant woman has softer gums, I do hv gum bleeding too..so I'm brushing twice a day.

Dolphina, I hv been taking obimin since wk 16 till now. Got a smell which will worsen ur MS if u still hv. Take it when u feel better and like me, hv a sweet with u to neutralise the smell and gobble with milk, soya bean or juices instead of plain water. Will help

<font color="ff6000">micky</font>
tink TMC n Mt.A offers wkend classes

same like u, sometimes my hubby will kena calls from work and he got to go.. tts y he not v.keen to attend.. even on wkends oso like tt

Jen, Chihiro

my gums also started bleed so now I use a mouth wash before brushing my teeth. the gums did improve.
also change to a softer tooth brush. bleeding gums is more due to vit C deficiency than calcium deficiency.

hi angelia,

i remember tat there was once u was down on flu and u mention taken some medicine that doc prescribe. i down with serious flu since last thurs and was on MC for 2 day last week can ttake mc anymore again but still very sick. can u still remember wat mediicne u eat? i just take one tablet of flu mediicine and stop cos really worried thta will affect bb. my ms seem to be back again during these few day. i hadve drink plently of honey, barley and eat organges but still cant receover

<font color="ff6000">rochelle</font>
i oso use mouthwash at times
sometimes its like my system will tell me dun swallow any mouthwash down .. then i will start trying to puke out watever mouthwash tt stays ard back of my mouth/throat .. so dun always use them now

so, its lack of vit. C .. ok.. pt taken !

Chihiro,

dont worry, my hubby look at the cost for the class and also say "need to go meh, see video can already". but if I would feel more confident attending than he would go with me.

Jen,

I also didnt wear any maternity clothes yet. I got only one maternity overall. now I am wearing M size dresses and pants which are very comfy.

my mum was also small-for-dates when she was having my 9 pound younger brother so my hubby not worried.

dolphina... my MS was pretty bad so doc told me to take obimin @ nite, aft food. u might want to try to see if its better. now i take all my vits @ nite, except calcium, juz in case stomach churn in the morn cos i oni take breakfast when i reach offc.

<font color="aa00aa">wendy,</font>
let me go back &amp; check tonight.

but if gynae/GP prescribe &amp; they know u'r pregnant, it shld be alrite.

mine is some yellow pills....

Rochella/Chihiro,
personally i think attending the class is quite good. on our 1st lesson mrs wong taught hubby how to 'communicate' to bb via light massage on our tummy, "butterfly up" movement etc, quite fun! then my hubby actually practice it b4 we sleep. i think it's a way to improve baby-daddy-mummy relation lor.

hi angelia,

thank u so much. my was also tiny yellow pill tink is call chlorophenine cant really remember too quite close to this.she oso gave me cough syrup, mouth rinsh for sore throat and sweet to suck i never take any except one flu tablet.

nowaday i very careful on medicine cos was once overdose before preganant.

really feeling terrible now, really feel like sleep. cant take mc anymoe boss is having black face

called glen e and they only hv weekday classes..so inflexible.
somemore start at 6pm..sigh think can forget abt the antenatal class liao.

TMC and mt a too far for me. me staying in the extreme west...

I bought the BebeSound Prenatal Heart Listener during the weekend. its too early to be able to hear our baby's heartbeat but we had a fun time listening to our own. didn't know my heartbeat shot up to so fast already until I was comparing heartbeat rate with my hubby's.

micky, personally I find the antenatal class we attended at tmc very useful, not just 'textbook info' but alot of practical day-to-day tips. we also staying in west but went all the way to tmc. you'll find what you learn there very useful and handy for all first time parents.

sigh...I think my third-tri symtoms are starting liao. back aching since this morning, my digestive system seems a little slower, and generally feeling rather lethargic and sian even though i had quite a restful weekend. Can feel my baby actively tumbling/rolling/kicking just inches below my breasts.

wendypooh... tats the med i took when had flu too. my GP says tats all preggies can take. wld suggest u take for a few days so can ctrl the virus. if u take &amp; stop a few times, the med might not be useful liao. dun worrie, i've seen a few GPs (co. dr always change) tat say tis med is safe. my family doc even ask me to take with panadol (plain) to speed up recovery.

<font color="0000ff">those wif UOB Ladies Card &amp; intend to deliver @ TMC</font>

It's worth to sign up their <font color="0000ff">First Born Incentive</font> if u have not done so.

me still considering cos i like a bit too late liao, missed a lot of the discounts such as

- 10% off Fetal Assessment services
- 10% off ParentCraft services classes
<font color="119911">e.g antenatal class, breastfeeding counselling, infant care training, confinement nanny</font>
- 10% off retail pharmacy
- 10% off health screening, x-ray &amp; ultrasound
- 10% (or 5%) off selected inpatient services
- 10% off (or 5%) paediatrics

- 1 time off hospital bill
-- $100 for 1 bedded
-- $80 for 2 bedded
-- $60 for 4 bedded

- vouchers
-- $54 books voucher
-- $50 health screening voucher
-- milk powder voucher
-- some voucher from some jewellery shop

if ur gynae is 1 of their doctors, u get 5% off delivery pkg if u sign after 19 April (cos that's when the promo starts)

<font color="ff0000">hiaz... so wasted i din sign up earlier

<font color="119911">din manage to note all down cos my shorthand not good lah.

for more info call Mary at 6358 0055

berry
they hv weekend classes? i think if i am not delivering there, it will be more expensive right?

yuru
that's what the nurse told me also, start two mths before that

<font color="aa00aa">wendy,</font>
ya, ya, think that's what i was given too.

for cough syrup, i was given some fennal with honey syrup. taste horrible. i juz threw away last wkend cos can only keep for 1 mth after opening.

<font color="aa00aa">micky,</font>
me not so near, not so far.. went TMC from Yew Tee.

if u take wkend 2pm class, shldn't be a problem mah
dun be lazy lah, muz exercise a bit

micky, yup, they have weekend classes. if you're not delivering in tmc, I think its only $20 more. When i was attending the classes, there were at least 10 couples in my classes who came to attend mrs wong's classes even though they're not delivering there.

yuru, I think 2 months before EDD is a little too late, cause maybe by then you are not as mobile, and not convenient to move around much.

are,

thank for the advise. u were given the same flu medicine oso? so far i have taken 1 cos cant sleep at night block nose. i try drinking honey but still no help.

angelia,
my cough syrup is the normal black colour one.
i buy "wood" sweet to suck see the packaging only normal sugar tink should be ok.
really so upset tend to feel sick so easily nowaday. is week 15 consider trimester 2? my ms still not ok yet

can we take honey? cos' my friend say pregnant women not suppose to.. but the medical hall assistant ask me to take honey to prevent constipation!

Just called up Mary regarding this first born incentive package, there is a current promo going on with UOB ladies card but non-ladies card holders can also join this program at a small fee of $130+++(forgot exact price). I already asked mary to send me the brochure. So those of you who are not UOB ladies card holder and keen on this, can also call them up to enquire.

wendypooh.. i was oso falling sick every wk cos everyone in my offc was dwn w flu. had the same med given to me which i take for a few days then stop. i oso take @ nite cos drowsy in the day.

dun think too much &amp; stress yourself okie? most impt is get well soon so u can start to eat normally and 'feed' your bb well mah. my MS oso weaned off slowly ard 15-16wks. u r already in 2nd tri.

called TMC and mrs wong class is all FULL! sob sob..they can only slot me into this sun class (5-7pm), other instructor which they told me also taught by mrs wong..and they are starting me off from 2nd lesson instead coz i'm too late. but they will stay back after that to go thru with me for 1st lesson..

how? shld i sign up>? anyone here that is in TMC antenatal class and under other instructor?

wendypooh,

chlorpheniramine (piriton) is safe as long as you dont exceed dosage. makes you very sleepy. I had flu when I was 4 weeks pregnant so the doctor told me what is safe. Benadryl for cough and colds is safe also. Panadol is safe for fevers.

Hi TBL,

Mine not exactly tiny red dots. More like rashes kind but not big patch. My fren told me it's due to skin stretching. My next visit to gynae is in 2 wks time.

jen, most credit cards offer free first year subsciption to entice people to sign up. just ask them to waive first year fees if they dun offer.
BTW ladies, Mary told me that the UOB ladies card promo for the first born incentive is only valid for 3 more days and then it ends.
going for a pedicure now, talk to you all later!

skyblue,

use a moisturing body bath and wear loose clothing when not working. if yours is more like rash it is probably due to the increase in sweat during pregnancy.

i not sure now got 1st yr free or not. but if u want to sign up the card for the FIB, think can't make it alr.

<font color="aa00aa">micky,</font>
aiya, long time alr mention muz sign up early early for the class cos <font color="ff6000">Mrs Wong</font> class always full very early.

i'm with her, 1st lesson was last Sat (21 Jun), same as <font color="ff6000">slk</font>

<font color="ff6000">tbl</font> is attending the 4:30pm class. she also starts last Sat, oso by <font color="ff6000">Mrs Wong</font>

the other instructors R all taught by her, so we were thinking (back then) if that's the case, might as well opt for the instructor's instructor's class