TOA PAYOH mummies

BabyRainbowz, I think your son might be too young...by right the teacher's only taking in those who are 4 and above for this group. Sorry.

Pooh, you want to let your daughter join the age 4 group? Currently 2 boys in the group. I will confirm the trial class timing again, currently it is set on Mon 730pm but if there are 3 in this group I may request for Mon afternoon, or one of the weekday afternoons.

Babygenius, you daughter confirm joining the trial art class? Mon evening 730?

For more details re the teacher, pls check out the website http://littledesigners.sg

OK, that leaves Christine and Pooh. Christine I know yours confirmed, Pooh? The class is relatively small so will keep the trial fixed on next Mon 23rd evening 730 - 900. Unless anyone else want to join?

JTS - i'd just found out the former 'yum cha' rstn had changed name to 'swotau' teochew rstn and there are also few new eateries sprouting out at the former food court, like a chinese rstn, killney and bbq chix rstn, quite interesting. ystd evening went to chk out the swotau rstn @ mezzanine lvl i must say they serve yummy food. we r satisfied for most of the dishes we ordered however, is a bit pricey thou.
fried 'cheong fun', crispy sweet sauce chix, fried mee sua, hor fun (must try) and mix veg (fried egg plant, long beans) these r dishes we ordered ttl abt $73 (including beer).
I dun mind going back again for their dim sum

Talking about food, there's a new place behind Tiong Bahru pau that sells baumkuchen (German version of "lapis"). It was featured in Friday's Urban section, or was it Sunday Times...anyway, one or the other. And yes, as Dor mentioned there's Swatou serving Teochew cuisine and downstairs there's another restaurant serving Fujian cuisine. Of course there's also a few eateries at OrangeTee building which I know ARE has tried!

j_foo,
i'll prob try out the german style lapis this sat when i bring my gal to class.
I'd tried the 2 eateries @ orange tee except for the 'luvvy' (western food) will not miss out this one as i like the ambience hee!

ivy,
- childcare (exclude infant care), 18mths onwards but varies depending on the childcare ctr.
- presh (N1-N2), 21/2-3yo on wards
- K1/K2, 5yo onwards

at times, i really hope tpy hub cld bring in more retails stalls brand such as cotton on (adults & child), fox, mphosis, mango (fat hope hee!)?.....Is a welcoming sight to finally see a rstn cum drinking plc @ tpy ctr hope it is here to stay and brings in a few more such theme rstn/pub like brauhause....into our neighbourhood. hmm wonder how many mummies here share the same sentiment.

dor... brauhause!! yes, yes!! i long to go find a place to hv an after din drink but most places cant go, or not suitable cos need to bring ger. finally, got hog's breathe, but the atmosphere there not that nice, and to carry ger and stroller up the stairs is a spoil-spoilt. so we oni got botak jones lor. but then hor, they dun sell local beer and i dun like their beers, so oni drink margarita, which can be a bit too strong, esp if ah ger decides to tekan me tat nite and not sleep. & they dun serve finger food?! so its juz downing the magarita, and watching tv, which is a bit "err..." dor... if you like beer, the western rest @ orange tee (tot its wavvy?) has a very nice beer.

jfoo... i think the place u mentioned took ovr the poor thing no biz korean rest. u muz try the orangetee rests lah! hehe... my hub is keen to bring his parents to try the hokkien rest, cos they hokkien ma. but dor, is the swatau rest food spicy?

actually the new food court @ basement of hub is also not bad, but the bread shop is quite lousy leh. bought things there twice, the cakes sucks so bad, i force myself to eat 2 bites then throw away. even easy-going hub also say not nice. i still like bread of life. recently they were featured in papers for selling a new hokkaido cupcake @ a whopping $2 each! am still contemplating whether worth to try. but i love their charsiew bread, bread-cake, crsipy cake. yumz!

tats why i volunteered for YOG duty. my job is to stationed around central and guide the foreign visitors where to find food and the train. very appropriate hor? hehe... :p

hi all mummies,any one of u intend to get Drypers Pants?I got L size of 36 pieces, but boy grow up liao so not really can wear le..so intend to sell away with $12 or exchange with XL size..anyone interested?

hi jfoo

Thks for the link

my gal jst turned 4 couple mths ago.
but i can only join the class if it is scheduled to in the noon like 4pm kind of timing.

Pooh, you want to come and join the trial first afterwhich you can decide whether you want to commit. If yes, I'll suggest to the teacher to switch the younger ones to an afternoon timing and then my daughter to have it separately in the evening.

are,
u so funny. i guess u r rite abt the spelling bah am nt sure jus rem the rstn ended wif '...avvy' haa! i fully agree tat beer served @ botak sucks leh...

swatau rstn food has non spicy ones as well quite a no. of varieties to choose fm. but i mus say the balacan is good and food serve is truely teochew style. o so the rstn below is hokkien style...i'll chk it out too.

btw where is 'bread of life' located and do they hv a branch @ vivo? apparently i tried the bread fm the bakery shop at basement of vivo wow taste yummy soft and chewy. me too hardly get bread or cakes fm tat shop at the basement foodcourt of tpy interchange.

shld chk out the korean stall there too they serve nice and fresh bbq saba (fish) set at $4.90 comes wif soup worth it. the soup is nice as well taste like home cook.

Are, i went to the SwaTou restaurant today to eat dimsum, its teochew food for lunch & dinner. Ok lah.

DOR, thanks for the info! And if the shops u mention comes to tpy haha, i will be happy too. But do u all feel that recently tpy central so crowded?? I can hardly breath...

The HDB interchange basement food court, i tried the bimbiba, i hate it.. taste like rice mix with chilly sauce.

Long time no drop by here...

need some advice from those who went to malaysia via coach.

Can we bring milk powder in? Any suggestions on how to pack the milk powder for 4 days? Was thinking of getting those sample sachets that the company gives out.

Ryes,
how many feeds you need per day? If quite a fair bit, you may want to consider buying those small tin ((400g). Else like what precious suggest, put in those air thight container. I brought my hot water flask on coach cos places they stop for breaks may not have hot water.

Ryes,
Milk powder are allowed to bring in for infant/tods consumption no worries. like bbygenius mentioned, i brought along a 400g tin for 4 days consumption still have balance. but if bth your kids are consuming maybe is better to get an extra can or transfer into a air thight container.
Agree wif bbygenius, bring along a hot flask. Always refill your hot flask b4 moving on. during my trip i got the hot water fm fast food or cafe (such as starbuck) outlet as u can witness while they fill-up the flask (more for hygiene purpose).

Ryes,
o dun 4get to bring toilet paper and wet tissue when u and kids visit the loo, th my experience most plcs dun provide toilet paper.

Ryes,
Bring along hand sanitizer spray, and pack 1-2 packets of baby wipes. Hard to find changing station too.
Also bring along milk bottle detergent wash, brush etc.

If there are too many things to bring, you can get some vacuum bags, especially their diapers, extra clothings.

Yes, hot flask is very important.

Which part of Malaysia are you going?

Ryes
I also brought milk powder to Msia. But I am quite a freak when it comes to water. I bought mineral water bottle there and boiled them for my girl. For adults, we just drink the boiled water from their tap lor.

Ivy
Agree that my first skool at central is crowded. Their fees cheap, principal also nice. My coll's son there from IFC to CC till now in student care liao. I am still on wait list leh.... haha... 40 pax in front of me i think. I alr gave up liao. BTW, they opening another centre at Blk 54/55.

Babyrainbowz
Goodness. I will cry if it's my girl who got bitten
. Sometimes, I also worry if she will be bullied in her playgroup coz she is so small built, being a year-end baby.

Glad to hear that your boy likes the environment at Carmichael!
Oh, didn't know they have trial. The principal is a nice lady, only spoke with her over the phone. Let me know if you intend to sign up ok?

Re: Cotton on Kids
Yes yes, I hope they open one shop in TPY! Hehe. Only United Sq has it now.

Surf, ya lor, big got big pros & cons. Location is convenient, fees affordable, but dunno as a preschool or kindergarden level, do they teach well? Can u ask your colleagues how is the education there? Cos if i intend to change i will change right after IFC, if not take a long time on waiting list at other school too. Some even 2 yrs!

HEy ladies,

thanks everyone for the great advice.
I am going to bring my portable mini kettle along to boil the water there, so it should be safe to drink for the kids right?

I'm heading to Colmar Tropicale and KL via coach. Morning 830am, estimated to arrive at KL around 2pm. My kids are not great fan of milk powder and I really have no idea if they will even nap on the coach.

If they do (pray hard they will), then I will need to make milk for them to drink and that's where the good advice to bring hot flask comes in!

At home, I try my best to give them 3 feeds per day, otherwise at most 2 only. To bring the 400gm powder x 2 tin abit too much for us to carry lor, that's why I thought of the sachets. Otherwise use lock lock container like precious advice.

Precious, I think I will forgot the bottle detergent & brush. Will use hot water to sterilise. Too many things to bring and no hands...

Noted on the toilet roll, wet wipes, hand sanitizer. We were thinking diaper go there and buy instead of lugging over. Can right?

Ryes,
pardon me, may i noe wat they have at Colmar Tropical?
Diaper - advice to bring some for stdby afraid you might not have time or opportunity to shop for diapers should you follow a tour grp. A matter of fact diapers can also vacuum pack hee!

Ryes, if you're staying at just one hotel for your whole trip, why dont you call and ask if they have a kettle in the hotel room. Usually, if they say "coffee and tea making facilities", that means that a kettle will be provided. Most Asian hotels of Colmar's quality will have a kettle in the room.

Suggest bringing paper and colour pencils to keep them occupied in the bus (esp if there is a jam!) . You can also bring one or 2 magazines (i) for your reading pleasure and (ii) so that the drawing paper doesn't tear if the kids hold it up to colour or if they put in on the seat.

HI Sunny,

Yap yap, I know some hotels will have kettle. But i was reading up on reviews on colmar and someone said kettle was not brought up despite calling the hsekeeping and so to play safe, I better bring mine.

I've been to some hotels where the kettle base is sooo brownish. I dont think I dare to use also lor.

Thanks for the tips on the paper and colour pencil. I'm bringing along their portable dvd player to keep them occupied. I hope I will still remain sane back from the trip.

If any mummies have enfagrow and enfakids sachet, pls contact me k....

hi surf,
think cotton on at anchorpoint is also an outlet that sell sale item. got some clothes for mine gal from there few mths back.

Ryes
Diapers can easily get from Watsons :)
Colmar Tropicale sounds cool! Which travel agent did you book? I brought my gal to KL + Fireflies when she was much younger. It was definitely a nice trip, to be able to shop peacefully and we all enjoyed the night fireflies tour.

Hi mummies, i need some advice..
i'm looking for a venue/room to hold a small/simple birthday party/gathering preferably in TPY (~not more than 20)..Had checked with the Community centre, unfortunately they only allow organizations to book their rooms..haiz. Any suggestion/ideas? My house is too cramped & messy to hold one.
hmm...i think it's going to be difficult.

Thanks very much!

wah.. Colmar tropicale looks great.. will consider when i planning my trip in nov..

ryes,
do feedback after u been there ok?
btw how many sachets u need? and enfagrow wat?
coz i gt a couple of samples which my son refuse to drink n i gave up making for him to drink.. can contact me if u wan.. gt a few brands..

precious,
where is this fireflies place?can share?never heard of it..

charsiew,
if it is jus a normal gathering no frills, u can chk out rstns @ typ ctrl. places like sizzeler or old town cafe abv KFC, eateries @ Orange Tee or the new hokkien/teochew rstns nxt to shop and save. i noe swotau rstn do hv private rooms. the jap curry rstn at orange tee seems to be a nice and quiet plc too.
do chk wif them if they r able to cordon an area for your celebration and try to negotiate a good pckg with them.

Precious,
do u hv prob waking the kids up early for the fireflies/KL trip? initially i hv this idea but when i find out the mtg time for tour pckg, i give up liao hee!

Hi Surf,me also registered for my boy and also under waiting list,and im not even know how many ppl are infront of me!u mean the staff able to let us know?but she doenst tell me tat!thk by the time got available slot,my boy turn 2+!now he already 17mths le...btw,also call to the new ctr at blk54,also been told only can register 1st,but not guarantee will get slot!so strange,they shd tk in those parent who call in register 1st ma...

JTS...

Nestle Milk Powder Promotion at FairPrice

From Thursday, 19th Aug 2010 - Wednesday, 15th Sep 2010

Redeem a $10 NTUC FairPrice Gift Voucher when you purchase a minimum of $100 worth of Nestle Nespray products as advertised.

Participating products:
- Nespray ActivProtec Milk Powder 1+/3+ (Original)/ 3+/5+ (Honey/Original) 600g for $10.45 (u.P. $11.60)
- Nespray Instant Full Cream Milk Powder 1.8kg for $25 (U.P. $26.55)
- Nestle Nesvita Omega Plus Acticol Milk Powder 900g for $17.90 (U.P. $19.90)
- Nestle Everyday Instant Filled Milk Drink 1.2kg for $14.75 (U.P. $16.15)

Accumulation of original receipts is allowed. Excludes all types of infant formula 0 - 6 months.

Terms & conditions apply.

charsiew... i did my ger parties at these 2 places for ard 30 pax & everyone v happi.

- chinese restaurant/cafe @ tpy west cc. they did buffet food for me, food had praises. i took 3 tables, abt 1/3 of the place to myself. had a bit of decor. not good is the place is small & had a lot of echo, so when the kidz are noisy, its really loud. but there is a playground right outside so they kids can go. it was raining during my party so they juz played ard the cc compound.

- botak jones @ the industrial park beside SPH. everyone loved the fact tat on top of the botak jones items i ordered, they can order jap, italian, indian. they set up the area near to the courtyard for us so it was pretty "private". the kidz went crazy with bubbles at the courtyard after eating. the oni thing is no aircon, but they did bring out extra big fans for us so it was alright. everyone was dressed casually in berms and slippers. the botak jones staff wer really friendly and helpful. they suggested that since my grp is small & we intend to order other food, we juz order their main dishes, & they cut all the burgers in half, fish fillets into smaller pieces, and w 2 free side dishes for each order, i had a pretty decent spread tat looked like i catered. ill prob do it there again tis year cos my guests all concerned abt food oni. hehehe... :p

they juz did up their courtyard nicely, and the last time i was there, they were roasting a full lamb on the spot for a function. yumz! :p

the thing i look out for is carpark, since my frens all drive, ample clean toilets (for the elderly and the many kids), and space for the kids to run around after eating since i got no prog for them. the plus to hold at an eatery is you will not hv to worry abt food and drinks. not enough juz order lor. :p and if your group is small, catering might not wan to take the job, or the presentation is really lousy w a few items.

j_foo, I am interested on the arts trial class. My boy is 3 years old this year. It would be good if the trial can be in the afternoon.

Thanks Dor & are for sharing, i think it's a great idea! i will go rece & check it out, thanks so much for your help, really appreciate~~

surf

sorry missed your post! =p
heheh so busy with work that i have only been spending like 5mins online!

heheh still have chance the following year when my #2 starts pre-nursery.

are,
re: the chinese restaurant/cafe @ tpy west cc, is it air conditioned? do you think they do a la carte set dinner? thinking of a place to celebrate my mum's bday next weekend.

ivy... erm... if u considering popular places, then quickly make up your mind else can't book the place you want cos there are oni so many weekends! :p

charsiew... NP. i oso do a small grp & my guests hv difficult taste buds so i oso headache for a while then stumbled upon this idea.

char... it is air-cond, but very simple place. not exactly tat "grand" so u might wan to chk it out first. else, the restaurant @ orange tee has very nice decor, & its very new. air-con is v cold! their food is normal zhi char, but if u go before hand and the lady boss is there, you can work out a menu with her. they can even do restaurant dishes if you order early cos the chef is from hotel last time.