Support group - Miscarriages

ya.. he's adorable and also a gd boy to me.
When he's in my tummy.. i talk to him daily and play with him. He loves to kick =)

I hate myself for being late to the hospital.
I will sure be more careful next time and never take it easy anymore.. feel anything's wrong must really go to gynae.

thanks for your courage. luckily both of you were save. You got to take care of yourself k? you have your baby picture? dont mind showing us?

Hi d woof, yes..she's my 1st child. My gynae is Dr Lim Teck Beng fr Mt E med centre. Though He's almost in his 70 but a very experience gynae. If u gals r interested, i can give u the contact.

Charlene. U juz hang on there ya, U'r still young so there shldnt be any problem trying for another 1. Same to all here, nv give up trying.

Here's a pic of my precious little gal. Hope tis pic can cheer u all up.

472989.jpg

hi charlene/Pinky_dollie,
Finally got time to chat with you. Sylvia told me about your case. I had 2 stillbirths lost at 35 weeks. My first one I tot it was a cord accident, but when my 2nd one also lost, my gynae suspected a blood clotting disorder. The blood test is called Thrombophilia screening. You can ask your gynae to do such a test for you. Go read Support Group - Stillbirths on my story

Beth,
your bb so CUTE !!! kawaii~`

java,
oh..so sorry tO hear about yours..so sad
sigh.. i will check with the doctor.
you're a strong women, we all should learn from you. Take care! i'll go and read your story.

Dear ladies, it has been quite a while since I came in. Congrats to all preggies out there!

Charlene, I m sorry to hear about yr loss. I lost my boy at Wk 21, no reasons found. For my second pregnancy, my kiasu but kind gynae gave me hormone pills n double dosage of folic acid for 1st tri, mild aspirin n continue with folic acid for 2nd tri. The aspirin is to improve the blood flow from the placenta to bb. Very much like those taken by heart disease patients. I think what she did was to make me feel confident with the 2nd pregnancy again. Do rest well and bu your body. Oh yes, exercise when yr gynae gives the green light. Will help bu yr Qi. Oh yes sexual intercourse will be painful after delivery coz vaginal area is dry, try to use lubricant. Soon will be wet again. Jia you jia you! Ok...

Ryes, congrats!

BB dust to all ok!

me also quite a while no come in here liao....quite happening here leh....

btw my mens just come not long...quite heavy....feeling uncomfortable ......back aching like hell

Droopy,
Oh really? Vaginal area is dry?
Ok.. thought there's problem with me.
Oh, so when my next pregnancy i sure also
be kiasu!! mild aspirin is a medi?
improve blood flow?? Sounds good huh..
yours is Boy or girl?

hi charlene,
aspirin is taken by heart patients to prevent the blood around the heart from clotting. My gynae send me for further blood test and found that I had a blood clotting problem too. I was referred to see a haematologist and was prescribed aspirin and heparin injections so that I can carry my baby to full-term. But I was too scared so I still deliver my baby early. Please ask your gynae to do a Protein-S deficiency test for you. The more I read your posting, the more I believe you have a similar blood clotting disorder.

really? i'm scare!!
I dont have a gynae.. i just go KKH for checkups.
hmm~ i be going to get my blood test report.
ya, i sure will ask the doctor. Thanks for telling me.. My poor thing baby is beacuse of me? so confusing, i really want to know the reason! god blessed!

Java,
hope you remember me,
how did you suspect Charlene has blood clotting problem?
I read the net that Vitamin B12 actually can sort of overcome this...

ya Charlene,
update us your blood test result

Will pray for you!

Hi cheezel..

Good that yr menses came finally. Usually 1st cycle is very heavy.

Hi ryes..

How are u?

Hi charlene..

Take care. I hope u are coping..n u doing a mini-confinement to build up yr body. My girlfriend who jus lost her baby at 24 weeks, few weeks back..is also slowly coping..she doin confinement..n staying home for 1 month to rest..she also doing the indonesian massage.

Hi Charis,

I'm busy at work and after some unpleasant incident in this thread, aiyah, I need some time off.

All in all, I'm fine, doing well. Probably drop you an email when I am free tonight...

hi ryes,
what happen? anyway, dun et urself upset over remarks or incident cause by others.......remember to take care leh.....

Charis,
my mens fri last thurs till now still quite heavy.......last so long.....like tap like tat...but today see that the flow not so heavy liao.....

hi charlene,
Its not any normal blood test. Its called thrombophilia screening. Pls do investigate further. I'm not trying to scare you, but just sharing with you my experience. My first one the gynae diagnosed as cord accident and I din proceed with autopsy either. My second preg I went to another gynae, and when I lost it again, my gynae suspected a blood clotting disorder, then send me for blood test. This blood test is not included in normal routine pregnancy tests. Imagine if it was, my second stillbirth could have been prevented. Usually 3rd tri lost is due to thrombophilia/cord accident/preclampsia. Previously there was a lady I know from this forum who lost her bb at 36 weeks with no known cause. I advised her to do the blood test and she did, end up she also had PSD. I recommended her my haematologist and we went thru the heparin injections together in our next pregs.

hi Valerie (happyger),
I don't know about Vit B12 helping to ease blood clots, but I also read that fish oil helps. Its better not to self-diagnose medication or vitamins but to follow doctor's professional's advice. So far for PSD, taking clexane shots (lovenox) is the way to go.

Hi ryes.

OK. Take care. Keep me updated ok.

Hi cheezel..

My first menses after the m/c was very heavy too..for about 2 days then it tapered down..by 7th day no more flow already. Its good that its heavy also cos it will clear any leftover blood n tissue.

Charis,
ya. my gynae told me that the 1st mens will be heavy. mens ending soon i think...

hey gals,
i go buy the bai feng wan today. anyone took ginseng pearl pollen bai feng wan b4?? .....i bought 2 of it today. didnt go see the expiry day until when i go home. the auntie give me the stock thats going to expire aug 2006 which is this month. wah lao......should have check first. anyway, no choice i will take 2 this month.

how come the thread so quiet recently liao??

Charis,
actually i also not very sure...just know that since young after mens, my mom will ask me to take the bai feng wan....so i continue to take it now.....read that it is used for general weakness, relieve fatigue, tiredness, gidiness and regulate mens.

i stopped taking for quite some time and only started to take when decide to ttc .....

hows our preggie ladies here doing now ah?
hope everything is fine.

Charis should be into 12 weeks soon? very fast hor......

now my workplace got 3 new preggie ladies.....feel happy for them but at the same time i feel sad for myself......sometimes at night b4 sleep...still ask y it happen to me.....haiz......

hi ladies, i m gg for my D&C next tues. very scared. first pregnancy, now 8wks pregnant. gynae cant detect the bb. only water bag. sought 2 opinions alr. both the same result. said bb din develop. cried for days. blamed myself cos wondering if its my PCO that caused the loss.

read one of the threads n someone mentioned no ML aft the D&C? its painful? really?

is mini confinement really nec? thot gynae would jus give a few days MC to rest then back to work we go. wil the gynae tell us how to do the mini confinement?

many thks in advance...

I'm new to this thread and was so glad to find that there is actually such a supporting group out there for all these sad, gieving mummies to comfort one another.

Exactly a month a ago, I had a miscarriage. My Baby was 8 weeks then. Sign....

I still remember the joyous of families from both Hubby and MIne as this was our first Bb and the eldest grandchild for him and the 1st for our families.... Everyone was talking and looking forward to his arrival...

The news came too sudden for all of us. I remembered I cried days and nights after 3 July. Friends and relatives keep telling me that I'm still young and can try again but they will never undertaking the emotions, psyco and mental torture that I'm still going through now.

Charlene, Cheezel, Ryes, Java, Doggy, Sylvia and many others out there, I know how you all feel over the incident and I know you will all understand what I'm going through right at this moment. And I'm glad that I can find some console in this thread.

Well now, I'm back to work but when night comes, I still grieve and cry for my poor Bb. I feel so sorry for him. Hubby and I had planned and look towards his arrival, but I failed my duty as a Mummy to bring him to this world...Day by day I would still count If only my Bb was still around, he would be 12 weeks today - at least the first trimenster would be over.

A gieving Mummy

Hi shine..

Truly sorry for yr loss..I know how u feel. I lost my baby at 1st trimester also.

Im expecting again..hope all will be well this time.

hi Shine,
as wat Charis felt, I m truly sori. However, i m sure your future bb will be like ur nick "Shine"
Take care

Charis,
wow....11 wks liao.....never put on wt....well put too much oso no good, will cause difficulity in delivering....itz ok not to put on wt at this pt of time izzit?

Hi Leeloo,

me just went thru d/c last weekend
the pain is similar to menses cramp but double of it. Some may experience bledding after it.

Mine should be in 8th weeks but size at 6weeks, also first pregnancy. Both gynaes confirm not growing and was given a week of HL after the d/c, now resting at home doing a mini confinement. The gynae didnt advise what to eat and what not to.... In-laws say NO aircon room, all meals must have gingers (like sesame ginger chicken, ginger with liver etc) and most impt is to boil the longan,red dates and ginger drinks.

Take these to remove the "fong" that goes into your womb during the d/c. This is to keep your womb warm and ready for second trying after months later.

someone up there has better plans for us, take care.

Hi Be Positive,

thank you very much for your reply. mine is exactly the same case. now shld be 10wks, but gynaes put it at 8wks.

how long did the pain last? actually, i m very scared of the aftermath. i even worry i wont dare to ML anymore..scared of the pain..

thanks for the tips on the mini confinement. i lost my mum when i was v young, so actually, this pregnancy stressed me out also. i had no one to seek advice from and now this D&C, if not for this forum, i hv absolutely no idea all these mini confinement thingy!!

thanks a lot ladies. thanks alot Be Positive.

hyello leelo

sorry to hear abt it. I guess during this mini confinement, you can drink tons of longan tea for blood circulation. If you want to cook some herbs, then maybe you can seek help from the Chinese medical hall. My mum doesnt know what to do so she went to Eu Yang Sang to ask. Hope this helps!

Hi be positive n leeloo..

Truly sorry for yr loss. Its not easy..we all know..there is sadness n grief..hard to explain..n others may not understand..but jus know that we all hve experienced the same loss n grief..n we understand. Hang on there..n take care.

Hi Shine,
tho i'm expecting now, when i think of what i have gone thru' the d&c and that moment when i broke the news to my mum, i cant help but cry. I understand what your are going thru and i'm sure the rest will as well. Even when I'm trying to console you now while writing, my tears just roll down when I think of that moment again.

anyway, suppose to ask you to be positive, be well and take care. You will be like us again, expecting good news soon

HI Charis,
so so good, nvr put on weight ya? me in my 11wks plus too and going for my gynae visit tomorrow. Wonder how's Ryes & thewife?

Hi missk, thanks for the advice. i went to one medicinal hall jus now n they told me to eat ginseng....haha..something my gynae's nurse told me not to eat now for fear of m/c. For the ladies out there expecting now, not sure if you heard of this. My gynae's nurse told me not to take ginseng (american & korean), red dates, milk, dang gui and longan drink. All these help to boost blood circulation n for fear of m/c, i was told not to eat these things for the first tri.

thanks for all the support.

java,
Oh really thanks for telling me.
how much is the thrombophilia screening?
I really thought it's only a normal blood test.
Monday be going to KKH.. god blessed!

Hi Shine,
Be strong Ok.. rest well.
Sure have a Cute healthy baby soon..Be positive.

I'm thinking of having babies like crazy!!
I really want to Thank you all of you for the support!

Charis,
During that time, I'm also same like you didn't put on weight..
But you must eat more ok? take care!! jia you ar!

Hi Leeloo, when my sis in law was expecting, she took ginseng, longan and red date drink throughout her pregancy. She had two healthy kids. But I have also heard that ginseng may be "too heaty" for pregant ladies. Guess depends on individuals. As for dang gui, is a definite no no for preggies cos it cause the uterus to contract.

Doggy, as my recent loss was due to incompetent cervix, i read up about this killer condition during 2nd trim. It could be due to previous D&C that shocked the cervix, hereditary, and some other i can't rem liao. I had a D&C done 9 months prior to my last pregnC. So i urge that you high light the previous D&C to your gynae and make sure he/she monitors your cervix.

My TCM even said CI could be due to my history of asthma which didn't recur for the last 10years.

Ladies out there who has asthma please do not take it lightly.

leeloo
eat & drink in moderation.

my sil had ginseng, drank chinchow, red dates, ate sushi/sashimi (these are raw but in s'pore the standard of these are well-kept, so rather safe to eat in moderation) and she had a very healthy boy.

there are known certain food restictions which should be avoided e.g:
liver due to high risk of contamination of it's blood and high levels of vitamin A.
oysters are from, as some can be high in Polychlorinated Biphenyls (PCBs) levels or other pollutant chemicals.
swordfish, shark, king mackerel, and tilefish, which have higher levels of mercury
advised to avoid eating ripened soft cheeses of the Brie, Camembert and blue-veined types, whether pasteurised or unpasteurised.
because of the risk of listeria.
(You can enjoy hard cheeses such as Cheddar and Cheshire. Cottage cheese, processed cheese and cheese spreads can all be safely eaten during pregnancy)

hi shine
same experience as u, bb didnt develope, looking back im glad tat we found out early, at least i had not seen the bb yet. im pregnant again 3 months after D&C, i also have PCOS, may our bodies are just not ready in the first round, take care okie.
hi doggy mar,
i've just started 9th week, i've been feeling down due to MS, very poor appetite and bad digestion. Hope to pull thru fast.

hi kim and gd facts,

i m not sure abt the red dates, ginseng n stuff. my gynae's nurse gave me tt list for fear of my m/c then cos i had PCO. guess each indiv is diff, but am so glad they are not like totally TABOO!!

thanks gd facts for the extra list of foods. hope i can refer to them v quickly aft this d&c....

thewife, really happy you are pregnant again so quickly!! read in many mags its helpful to take some biscuits in your bed abt 20min b4 waking up, so the blood sugar isnt so low. poor appetitie stil must eat!! bb nds nutrients!

heard during first 3 mths, the bb develops the brain. subsequently then the body parts. so i guess first tri v impt in nourishing foods as well. so must try to eat, ok? drink LOTS of water.

Can i ask a question?
Is it if there's abit of pain contractions feeling, means going to give birth ?
But no blood discharge lei..
Why other people still can delay time to go for a bath before going to the hospital?

I'm really depressed if is my fault.
Take vit B can prevent anything?
Any medication to prevent the baby from heart illness?

thewife,
Hey congrats ya!!
So happy for you..
I also wish to be preggie again, cant wait!! heex
Take care ya! =)
How long do i have to wait if i want to try for another baby? finish doing my confinement about 2weeks ago..
I dont care about the pain of giving birth already.. i want to hear gd news, am scare to hear bad things happen again.. never again, sobx

Just cant help dropping my tears, sign. My mother in law sounds like blame me for this cause. omg, how can i be positive? ; _ ;

thanks leelo and charlene
heard that its easier to conceive after miscarriage. it's better to let your gynae check again and ask if you are ready to try again. and dun give yourself too much pressure when ttc again. i suggest going for a trip after the confinement, most importantly must be happy again.

Hi Shine/leelo

think all of us here will undertstand how it feel when such thing happen to u ...its like a piece of good news for being preggie and the next moment u have the gynae telling u that bb is not growing etc....

my case is quite similar to leelo.....no bb detected ...only water bag....i was at 8 weeks then . 5,6,7 weeks all cannot detect bb heartbeat....n water bag not growing when at week 7-8.

no pain after D&C.....my bleeding stop the very first day n the subsequent 2-3 days only slight spotting. ML a week after.....no pain la....so no worry....

remember must rest well n take those tonic soups, vits etc.

Had my first mens 5 weeks after dc....just over...so now taking Eu Ren Seng pai fong wan......

regain back health first and then try again ba....

Agree with thewife.....go for a trip after confinment.....i just back fr hokkaido not long....going for holiday really relax ur mind, body n makes u feel happy n well again.

Charis,
very fast hor 11 wks liao.....now worry abt weight for the 1st 3 months la....most impt is the bb is growing well.

Charlene,
ur 1st mens come liao?? dun worry abt what ur mil think or said......u r the one who will give birth to ur own child n not her......i always tell myself that whoever said nasty things or sound like its my fault....just ask them to get preggie n have their own child if they can...mind their own business.....

nope, my 1st mens haven't come. Must wait for my 1st mens then can try for bb?

why bb not growing?
Must eat alot??
I cannot lose my bb again.. touchwood!!
I should be positive.. wont happen.. sigh

hi Charlene, dun bother abt wat your MIL says. Most impt is yourself. You must be strong and be happy. Go do spa, facial, read mags, shopping, hol, whatever that makes u happy.

why bb not growing? i dunno. for me, bb prob not there fr the beginning. gynae only sensed the water bag all along. no foetus, no heartbeat. he explained for a fertilised cell, its made up of 2 cells (sperm n egg). the outer layer of the fertilised cell forms the water bag, the inner layer forms the bb. in this case, the outer layer is formed, but not inner layer.

gg for my D&C tmrw. a bit scared..cos gynae says must put some medicine inside cervix to dilate it. nd to wait one hour. can imagine how long tt one hour wil be. hopefully GA starts alr!!

cheezel, i din know menses start so long aft. thot its immed aft d&c. despite this loss, i stil hv to say i learnt a lot of things, to better prepare me for the next pregnancy. n i m very happy to know that there is this forum thats so supportive!! thank you all!

Hi charlene n leeloo..

Take care. Must build up yr bodies first before TTC again.

Hi cheezel..

Ya..my gynae say its ok..later on may put on weight. I really dont like the idea of putting on weight leh..Funny that I didnt put on-but my pants seems tighter..aiyah.

Hey ryes..

How r u? Have not heard from u the past week..

mai i know how long is the suitable time to try for BB again after miscarriage? I had an early mis on May this year, may i know when is the suit timing for trying again. I having back pain now, and seeing chinese sinseh to re-adjust my period.

piggy mummy
in general, gynae advise to try only after 3mths (or to be certain after 3monthly cycles). it will take a while for the body to regulate your period, so it's best to let 'nature' takes its own course... not necessary to see a doc or sinseh.
but there are some ladies, who rest and recover for at least a month before trying for a baby...

gd facts
i visit sinseh because my backache and tiring..it was 3 months liao, but my period not back to normal yet..My gynae said can try after 1 month, but we don, coz i feel like my body still very weak..