Support group - Miscarriages

i thot i was 5 wks preg, tested wif 5 hpts wif increasing dark lines, but was diagnosed by a&e gynae dat i was not preg at all, cos she din see a sac via u/s & v-scan, & based on my blood test results. is tis possible? or did i jus had a chemical pregnancy? anyone noes wat is a chemical pregnancy? btw, i went a&e cos i had spotting yty, turned out to be af cd01 today

i think it was a chemical pregnancy, but how can i confirm this?

hi miso & juju, for ur reference, extract from http://www.askdramy.com/chempreg.html

What is a chemical pregnancy?
A chemical pregnancy is another name for a very early miscarriage.

When implantation occurs, but the pregnancy fails to develop properly, it is called a chemical pregnancy. That's because you were technically pregnant (you produced the chemical HCG), but a normal pregnancy did not result. You see it as a regular period, or a period that is a few days late.

Chemical pregnancies occur very frequently. That is probably what happens in most of the months that you are trying but don't get pregnant. These are not considered miscarriages (though they are technically very early miscarriages), and have no effect on your ability to get pregnant in the future.

It can take up to a year to get pregnant. That's not because there were no sperm to fertilize the egg. If you are actively trying, there usually is sperm available. The egg is there, too. However, many things can go wrong.

Human reproduction appears to be a very wasteful process. Every woman is born with millions of eggs and each man produces trillions of sperm during a lifetime. Most are never even used. Even when the conditions are right for pregnancy (a sperm meets an egg) many things can and do go wrong. The egg could be abnormal, the sperm could be abnormal or the combination could be abnormal. In any of these cases, the fertilized egg could fail to grow.

Or it is possible for the egg to grow, but then when it gets to the uterus, it doesn't implant. Or it implants, but stops growing and is washed out with a menstrual cycle. Or it starts growing and you miss your period, but then it stops growing. In that case, you would get your period a few days late.

Even after a pregnancy is fully established, there is still a 20% chance of miscarriage.

Hi juju..

I guess its possible it was 'chemical pregnancy'..that means an egg was fertilised but it didnt develop into an 'embryo'..therefore there was no sac..U could see another gynae..probably do another blood test for u n a scan to see if there were any evidence that u were pregnant..from the lining..or blood/tissue or a sac 'site'.

thanks for the info
a faint line appeared after i tested using the home preg kit. however, i started to bleed like menses after that. went to see gynae and my urine was also tested positive at his side.
however he said its prob a miscarriage..
more shocked than sad.

does anyone knows when i can start trying again ?
the doc says after 2 cycles of menses..
anyone here preg after a chemical miscarriage ?

charis,
i'm alrdy having AF full force, will it help to see another gynae now? last nite, the a&e gynae commented my lining was 13mm, but she cld not see anything else...
i dunno wat's wrong

can i start trying tis cycle (cd01 today) or shld i rest 1 cycle?

Hi miso n juju..

I understand..a 'chemical pregnancy' is still a pregnancy n then miscarriage..Its ok if u feel sad..

I think for 'chemical' pregnancy u can start trying this cycle..cos the lining didnt grow very much..But its good to rest 1 cycle too..

Juju..u can still go gynae for another blood test..n a tummy scan..if u want..Usually a pregnancy test is accurate..once there's HCG in the urine, it will detect..so u should have been pregnant..but r u taking any medication? Some medication eg, thyroid..have HCG..something like that..

charis,
thx for the reply.
i had a hcg jab 1 day before ovulation, the hormone shld hv tapered off by by dpo17 cos i tested -ve. +ve hpt on 15dpo shld be due to jab. the other 4 +ves shld be due to hcg hormone frm pregnancy alrdy... cos each was darker than the earlier one. so i believe i was pregnant.
i had a u/s & v-scan last nite, both did not generate any sac.

Hey juju,
think u should be able to try once you recover since baby not formed-u know your body best.
so many such cases esp for 1st time pregnancies.
sometimes, egg not fertilised properly becomes chemical. sometimes egg fertilised but cannot grow properly ends up as blighted ovum. Sometimes egg grow but cannot develop further becomes missed abortion...so dun be too sad okie.

can anyone advise what to eat to recover from miscarriage ?
i heard to avoid cold drinks and those `cooling` stuff..

hi juju & miso - i had similar experience in FEB. Was tested positive and hcg level was 700 during blood test. However at the same time i had menses like bleeding. So 2 days later went for a test, although hcg grow but no sac can be seens.
I was confirm with chemical pregnancy 10days later. IT is a very painful process for me as I was bleeding and had pregnancy symptom during that time.

anyway, you can start trying when your AF is clean and you tested +ve with OPK. For my case, i only able to start TTC 3 months later as my menses get haywired.

miso - if you had similar situation like me, try to get some tonic soup to drink or go to tcm to tiao back your body. Avoid too cooling or heary stuff at the mean time while your body recuperate.

Hi ryes..

How are you?

Hi miso..

After my m/c, I did a mini-confinement for 2 weeks..eating dishes with lots of ginger, sesame, chinese wine..

Hi juju..

Wat u mean? Pls dont feel uncomfortable here..all of us had been thru more or less similar experiences..similar ordeals, loss, fears, concerns..at least we can encourage one another.

No lah..u r not..not here..

We'll gladly answer questions..Although some of us are preggie now..we all had m/c before..so we know how it feels..n well basically we can encourage u that dont let a m/c stop u from TTC in the future..n it possible to have succesful pregnancies..there are some here like lyn, hama, who have babies now..right gals? But..after a m/c, u have to build up yr body, health again before TTC..the later the m/c, the longer u need for recovery..that's wat most gynaes would say too..It's also good to take some time to grieve..cos if not the memory of the /c is too fresh..n it can stress u..its all depends on the individual too..

hey Charis
im feeling a bit grouchy today, cos kept having 'gas' waiting to be burbed out, finds it irritating and was so unwilling to meet a client just now, but met already la.

hey juju,
understand how u are feeling, you are still young 78 year lady, im 75 year lady trying for 1st, so you have more time. some of us are preggie but still here cos we had bad experience too, dun dare to move to the Mum-to-be thread yet. it's difficult even after knowing the good news.

hey charis,

I'm here, fine. all is well, thought maybe not very appropriate to "speak" here lor abt my updates...Duncha worry k.

Hey juju, I just got to learn abt what happened to you. Take time off to rest okay, just shelf this aside first, dun give urself pressure..When u and dear hubby is ready, then try again.

Bb_hopeful, happened to read ur posting.. I'm so sad to hear of ur loss...

Pls dun despair and I hope u will recover soon.. Take great care..

sorry ladies, i'm not trying to kick the mtbs out of m/c thread. i'm jus being very bitchy. will not post in tis thread anymore cos i will only make others feel miserable.

thx for the concern

hey d woof,
will be busy this weekend, visiting my SIL newborn baby boy tomorrow, and going for housewarming on sunday....enjoy your weekend too

hw is everyone today. today bad start bad day for me..got frustrated and i know is bad for bb.

; ( some people just dun understand.

hey ryes,
got ur mail...alrite...will follow ur instruction....

juz to update u...din strike this mth....AF was here on late Thurs nite...

Hi ladies..

Got some 'quarrel' in MTM Jan n Feb 07..Haha. Dont know why ppl must bother to 'quarrel'..

I heard ryes..u were 'pissed off' by Mrs Wong? Haha..also dont know how come she like to go here n there..then I guess she 'upset' some ppl..then she 'upset' cos some ppl were 'rude' to her.

Im glad we dont have such things here..we shouldnt lah..

Take care ladies!

Had a good weekend?!

It seems durians are the craze now! I happened to look look at MTM Jan 07 thread n they were posting pics of durians..haha. Yummy yummy. But those preggies..be warned..dont eat too much ok..high sugar content. Hehe.

hey gals - for those with durian cravings, you must head down to the famous D24 XO durian shops along Serangoon North rd. They hv v yummy gd qlty stuff! Enjoy. Slurp.

hey charis,

ur thread also got quarels too? and i tot only the mar MTB have. ; (

Now no where to go liao....sob sob.

I've been craving for durians leh, ate a couple of few leh, so nice and yummy. High sugar content meh? tot is fats...

hey D_woof, triplets yeah yeah!! then u must treat us makan okay!

hi ryes,
read the mar 06 thread....seems like alot of pple is talking abt this Mrs Wong????

anyway, we are all here to share,, dun get too upset abt it...stay cheerful! me might be a Mar mtb too

Sorry ladies in my earlier posts I put MTM..haha made-to-measure..suppose to be MTB- mum-to-be..still not used to using that..

Hey ryes..why dont u join the Feb MTB too? Got old friend good right..a lot of 'veterans' in the Feb MTB..will be nice to have u there..

Oh not reallt big 'quarrel' but its always mrs wong and smoke not on good terms..then got some others that got 'upset' by mrs wong..actually not really..jus that they disagree with her views, etc..then she also not happy say they 'rude'..aiyah..dont know lah..

Ya..high sugar..my diabetic FIL also cant eat too much his doc say..preggies shouldnt eat too much too..cos got such thing as gestational diabetes. So cut down on yr sugars..my dear..hehe. I also trying to control..lots of durian at home..1-2 seeds can lah..dont eat the whole durian okie..

Hi doggy..

Ahhh! Dont leave me alone in Feb MTB...

Help..

But dont get me wrong..the ladies in Feb MTB are nice..

Hey come mrs wong in Mar MTB also??

Hi ryes..

I went to see in Mar MTB..n read the posts..so now I know what happened..Actually in Feb MTB, nobody say anything 'wrong' to mrs wong..But she say some ppl 'rude' to her leh..then smoke told her to jus stick to her own thread..which is Jan MTB..

Dont be upset already..sometimes there are these kind of stuff happening..but jus dont bother..as long we are not the one 'offending' ppl right..

hey doggy!! really? how come leh..when's ur edd?

Well charis, coz my edd is march mah, so i stick to march. but now think dun want join liao and dun wanna hop to feb also lah, not nice.

well, u question me why she in march MTB? I also want to know lor. well, she sld just stick to her jan mtb lah, people wanna find info, will go and read up one.

so anyway, happy tots, happy tots...how's everyone? hubby's sick with high fever. stressed with work, stressed with me n bb, stressed with doing housework, then fall sick liao...

mother still gave me 3 pcs of durian cake at home leh. i ate 1 yummy one yday liao, still got 2 more...oh oh...temptation....

hey gals,
i'm back from hokkaido!!! think its good to go on holiday after m/c. at least it helps brighten up your day.

but sadly to say my first AF haven come leh.....today go for follow up check with gynae. everything ok.....just ask me to wait for mens to come.

but lucky it didnt come also lah..so that i can go for hotspring. hehe.......

okok....very tired.....go rest and settle my stuff.....

hey ryes,
i can't eat lor..think i lost 1 kg already. cannot stand my own perspiration smell, keke. your hubby so sweet hor. my hubby dun really bother, i nauseous he also cant do anything, i think after this fri's scan then he will be more positive and gan cheong.

when i was 36weeks pregnant, my baby boy left me.
He's heart beat stop. I cried everyday..
it happened last month.

a week ago before this thing happen, i went for scanning and doc says baby is healthy and everything's alright.

What happen to my baby??

when i'm 3mths pregnant, i found that i bleed alot and thought i was already miscarriage. But my baby still has heart beat.. I didn't tell the doctor what happen cuz i thought was alright.

wah, cheezel, welcome back. how's ur trip? Must be very very fun!

Hey thewife, hw come, u no appetite? Oh dear. I dun have MS liao leh, duno good or bad. : (

Dear pinkydollie,
I am so sorry to hear what happened to you. Did you asked the doctor what happened? why it happened? at 36, it should be already stable. Was there any explanation?

hello cheezel,
welcome back..so hapi to hear tat u really enjoyed ur trip...how i wish i was there too.....

hello pinkydollie,
sori to hear tat...but hw come at 36th wks..as wat ryes said...thot shld be stable....almost due soon rite? any explaination or tests by the doc?
rite at this moment, do take care......

hello ryes,
rcv the "thing" liao...do email me n tell me wat i shld do next ok?
oh ya, u r really cute har....i tink nt possible to haf triplets lah n i dun tink i hope for tat (cant handle) haha...